(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Pioneer days and later times in Corning and vicinity, 1789-1920"

f 






Comin 




and 



icio 




BY UR! MULFORD 



L ^ 




ART BINDERS 
Bath, N. Y. 






f 




* ■, 



atorttgU Intueraitg Slibtatg 

attjata. New ^atk 



MX&^^e- 



OLIN LIBRARY. - CIRCULATION 
DATE DUE 



OEe-i 



•l^'-^-'T'H 



#* 



IS!sryst*!r^^&l^!'^mn. 




=^3fflPr!59? 



(Vc.X^^^'^'7^ 



|lWf i'*'"** 









"1^ 



441^^ 



^^t99f~ 



'■(""wW'^ 



Mi 



littr 



presented to the Cornell 
University Library by 
Henry Phelps Gage, l1928 



-t'T X / • 



3, '^^^7' 



Cornell University Library 
F 129C8 M95 

iPloneer days and later times In, Corning 



3 1924 028 823 783 
olln Overs 



lyQ 




Cornell University 
Library 



The original of this book is in 
the Cornell University Library. 

There are no known copyright restrictions in 
the United States on the use of the text. 



http://www.archive.org/details/cu31924028823783 



Pioneer Days and 
Later Times in 
Corning and Vicinity 



1789-1920 




By Uri Mulford 



PRINTED AND PUBLISHED BY 

URI MULFORD, CORNING, N. Y. 

PRICE SIX DOLLARS. 



I' KM VI: (;;:n Y 



To the men whose genius created the Corning Glass 

Works, the City's Chief Industry, and the most 

extensive manufacturer of Technical Glass 

in the World, this book is most 

respectfully Dedicated. 



COPYRIGHT. 



! J 1 V\ M 




atJ, (yU'u£f-G24^ 



The AUTHOR to the READER: 
This book was written, the type was set, the pages 
made ready for the press, and the printing done on his own 
press, by Uri Mulford. If I had not devoted a great deal of 
time, during nearly a score of years, to research work, and 
had not purchased the printing equipment necessary to produce 
these pages, this unique, authentic and comprehensive history 
of PIONEER DAYS AND LATER TIMES IN CORNING 
AND VICINITY could not by any possibility have been 
produced. The cost of production would have been prohibitive. 
The major factor in the success of the project, however, was 
my skill as a master printer — a craft that I have followed, 
with minor periods of interruption, for a full half century. 

That some errors occur is inevitable. Those in statement, 
so far as discovered since the body of the volume was printed, 
are noted on a succeeding page. Obvious typographical 
mistakes are passed. The reader's indulgence is anticipated. 

The scope of the subject-matter of the book, precludes the 
preparation and presentation of an epitomized index. The 
book-plan renders unnecessary, and also futile, any attempt to 
summarize details. The chapter titles, which follow in order, 
answer the purpose of a general reference index. 



CHAPTER TITLES. 



Chapter 1—The Land Cast Up From the Deep. 
Chapter 2 — Original Occupants of the Soil. 
Chapter 3— Indian Traits and Characteristics. 
Chapter 4 — Rights of Indians Were Ignored. 
Chapter 5 — Conquest of the Genesee Country. 
Chapter 6 — Wyoming Before the Massacre. 
Chapter 7 — Ruthless Destruction of Wyoming. 
Chapter 8 — Sullivan Expedition Into the Genesee Country. 
Chapters — The Massachusetts Pre-Emption. 
Chapter 10 — The Indian Treaty of Canandaigua. 
Chapter 11 — Indians Renew Complaints and Demand Redress. 
Chaptee 12 — First Settlers of the Town oj Painted Post. 
Chapter 13 — Council Fires Lighted at Tioga Point in 1790. 
Chapter 14 — Cornplanter Makes Direct Appeal to Washington 
Chapter 15 — President Washington Replies to Indian Chiefs. 
Chapter 16 — Washington Sends Proctor On Peace Mission. 
Chapter 17 — Colonel Proctor's Interesting Journal. 
Chapters 18 and 19 — Proctor 's Journal Continued. 
Chapter 20 — Indians Summoned to Council at Painted Post. 
Chapter 21 — Intense Unrest Along Frontiers. 
Chapter 22 — Great Council Fire Lighted at New Town. 
Chapter 23 — The Original Township of Painted Post. 
Chapter 24 — Village of Corning Founded by Albany Capitalists. 
Chapter 25— Captain Williamson Extols the Genesee Country. 
Cnapter26—Col. Eleazer Lindsley and Col. Arthur Erwin. 
Chapter 27— The Log Cabin Homes of Pioneer Days. 
Chapter 28— The Days of Boating and Rafting On the Rivers. 
Chapter 29— Opening of the Erie and Chemung Canals. 



Chapter 30 — The Corning and Blossburg Advocate. 
Chapter 31 — Pioneer Trains on Corning Blossburg Railroad. 
Chapter 32 — Lauren Mallory the First President of Corning. 
Chapter 33 — The Village of Corning Incorporated in 1848. 
Chapter 34 — First Through Erie Train Creeps Into Corning. 
Chapter 35 — Events In and About Corning, 1851 -'55. 
Chapter 36 — Events In and About Corning, 1855-'60. 
Chapter 37 — Events In and About Corning, 1860-'65. 
Chapter 38 — Events In and About Corning, '60-'65 continued. 
Chapter 39 — Events In and About Corning, 1865-'70. 
Chapter 40 — Corning Men Who Served In the Civil War. 
Chapter 41 — Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 
Chapter 42 — Events In and About Corning, 1870-'75. 
Chapter 43 — Events In and About Corning, 187 5-' 80. 
Chapter 44 — Events In and About Corning, 1880-'85. 
Chapter 45 — Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1870-'85. 
Chapter 46 — Events In and About Corning, 1885-'90. 
Chapter 47— Events In and About Corning, 1890- '95. 
Chapter 48 — Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1885 -'95. 
Chapter 49 — Events In and About Corning, 1895-1900. 
Chapter 50 — Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1895- '00. 
Chapter 51 — Events In and About Corning, 1900- '05. 
Chapter 52 — Marriages in Corning and Vicinity, 1900-'05. 
Chapter 53 — Events in and About Corning, 1905-'10. 
Chapter 54 — Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1905-'10. 
Chapter 55 — Events In Corning and Vicinity, 19 10-' 13. 
Chapter 56 — Events In Corning and Vicinity, 1913-'15. 
Chapter 57 — Marriages in Corning and Vicinity, 1910-'15. 
Chapter 58 — Events In and About Corning, 1915 to 1918. 
Chapter 59 — Corning During the World War Crisis. 
Chapter 60 — Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1915-'19. 
Chapter 61 — Events In and About Corning, 1918 to 1920. 
Chapter 62 — Events In and About Corning in 1920. 
Chapter 63 — Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1919-'20. 
Chapter 64 — Events In and About Corning In 1921. 
Chapter 65 — Summary of Social and Domestic Adivities. 



Genesis of Corning. 



AUGUST 29, 1779, the military expedition under General Sullivan 
defeated the Iroquois Indians at New Town, causing the natives to 
abandon the Lake Region and the Chemung water-shed. 

In 1784, William Harris, a hunter and trapper, built and for some time 
occupied a cabin near " the painted post " on the bank of the Conhocton. 

In 1787 Frederick Calkins, of Vermont, erected a log cabin on the bank 
of the Chemung River, within the bounds of the present city of Corning. 
This was the first home to be built by a white man in the Genesee Country. 

In 1788 an Indian Treaty was held at Buffalo Creek, and in 1789 at the 
foot of Canandaigua Lake. These treaties opened the Genesee wilderness 
for settlement as far west as the Genesee River. 

At the close of the Indian Treaty held at Canandaigua in the Summer 
of 1789, Oliver Phelps, one of the principals in the purchase of the Genesee 
Country, deeded the townships that bear their names to Colonel Arthur 
Erwin, of Pennsylvania, and Colonel Eleazer Lindsley, of New Jersey. 

In June, 1790, a colony located in the Lindsley purchase. 

In 1791, the " Treaty of Painted Post " was held, by direction of George 
Washington, to placate the Indians and avert attacks on settlements. 

In 1791 Colonel Lindsley, of Painted Post, was elected a member of the 
Legisture to represent Ontario County — all the State west of Seneca Lake. 

In 1796 Knoxville was the principal settlement in the Genesee Country. 

In 1796 the original township of Painted Post was formed, embracing 
six town plots — now Caton, Coming, Campbell, Erwin, Hornby, Lindley. 

In 1833 the Chemung Canal was completed. 

The village of Coming was founded by Albany capitalists in 1837. 

In 1839 the Coming and Blossburg Railroad began business. 

In 1840 a post office was established in the village of Coming. 

In July, 1840, a weekly newspaper was started in Coming. 

In 1848 the village of Corning was incorporated, with 1726 population. 

Dec. 31, 1849, the first train over the Erie Railroad arrived in Coming. 
The road was opened from the Hudson River to Lake Erie, in May, 1851. 

In 1852 the name of the remnant of the original town of Painted Post 
was changed to Coming. 

The Conhocton Valley Railroad, extending'.from Painted Post to Attica 
was built in 1852. It was later extended to Rochester. 

June 30, 1856, eight acres of the central and westem section of Coming 
was swept by fire and seventy-eight buildings destroyed. Loss, $175,000. 

July 16, 1856, the business center of Coming from Pine street east was 
destroyed by fire. The Lodge rooms af the Masons and the Odd Fellows 
with all their belongings were lost. Total losses by this fire, $200,000. 

On Saturday, June 1, 1889, an extraordinary flood inundated the 
Chemung valley, causing heavy losses. It is known as " The June Flood." 

On March 20, 1890, Coming became a City. First election, April 1, 1890. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



BY URI MULFORD. 



CHAPTER I. 
The Land Cast Up From the Deep, 

IN TAKING up the interesting task of preparing for publication 
this authentic and comprehensive series of historical sketches, 
having to do with the particular geographical section now 
occupied by the prosperous city of Coming and the near-by places 
that were within the bounds of the original Township of Painted 
Post, the question of just where to nfiake the start has been a matter 
of considerable thought. We find that in order to give proper 
setting to the story of the pioneer days of those who broke into this 
section soon after the close of the War of the Revolution, one 
must consider whence the venturesome fathers and mothers came, 
what they had to contend with, take into account the manner of 
life led by the Indian tribes who were the first inhabitants of the 
soil, and also note the origin of the land itself. 

So it seems best, for the purposes of this book, to first consider 
the origin of the land — the source whence came the hills, valleys, 
table lands, and river bottoms of the Chemung water-shed. For there 
was a period, and it was long continued, when this particular section 
of the continent of North America, and all round about, for long 
distances on every hand, was deeply submerged by an arm of 
the Atlantic ocean, a vast bay or gulf, bound by mountain ranges 
on the east and west, with open waters extending far to the north. 

When this condition of submergence began, and how long it 
continued, the mind of man has not been able to determine, but it is 
known that water-borne sediments, brought from various sources, 
formed a series of rock-strata on the deep-sea floor, until in places 
the aggregate deposit was more than a mile in thickness. Then in 

3 



Youngest Section of the Continent. 



the fullness of time there came a squeeze and an uplift, and the 
sedimentary rock-sheets which had formed on the foundations of 
the deep sea were forced upwards, a misshapen mass, and a new 
section v/as thereby added to the new world that was eventually 
discovered by Christopher Columbus. Thus were formed the 
ranges of hills, the many valleys and gullies and the table-lands of 
the Chemung water-shed and much adjacent territory. 

While older sections of the continent were supporting dense veg- 
etable growths, to be buried by later volcanic convulsions and 
produce coal and oil and gas, the earth-crust of the territory of 
which Central and Southern New York is a part, was in process of 
slow formation, covered by thousands of feet of salt water. This 
later formation wherever exposed, as part of a rock-ledge, on the 
top of a hill or at lower levels, contains deep-sea fossils. 

These sedimentary rock-stratas are not part or parcel of coal, 
oil or gas formations. They carry no mineral treasures. The up-lift 
hereabouts was permanent — not affected by later volcanic action 
or general break-up. Evidently the up-lift here took place long 
after the close of the carboniferous period that enriches Pennsyl- 
vania. Central and Southern New York are part of the youngest 
section of the Continent of North America. In this section no trace 
of coal or mineral has been found except under conditions that sug- 
gest transportation by ice drifts and water currents from other 
and older sections of land. In every instance where efforts have 
been put forth to locate gold, silver, iron, lead or other mineral, coal, 
oil or gas, in paying quantities, within the limits of this upheaval, 
absolute failure has been the result. In Corning and vicinity scores 
of test wells have been drilled, piercing the stratas of sedimentary 
and penetrating the original bed rock of the earth's crust, and each 
venture has been a " duster," or has tapped unpotable water. 

The upheaval of the consolidated sedimentary rocks left the 
surface irregular. Many of the hills rise 1,700 to 2,000 feet above 
sea level. The surface of the river flats at Corning is about 925 
feet above the sea, and on the rock floor of the valley are some 100 
feet of " fill "—composed of clay, sand, gravel, pebbles and rocks, 
brought from other sections of the continent by glacial ice and tre- 
mendous currents of water, and topped off in later times with wash- 
ings from higher levels of the Chemung water-shed. Wells drilled 
in this valley invariably reach solid rock of sedimentary formation 
at depths that vary from 90 to 110 feet. 



Chemung River Compelled to Detour. 



However, the absence of minerals, coal, oil and gas is more than 
made good by the excellence of the agricultural lands, the forest- 
clad hill-sides and the never-failing supply of potable water, that 
make Corning a safe and most delightful place of residence, as is 
also the country-side all about. The source of water supply is the 
heavens. The annual precipitation is dependable. The top-soils 
and fills of the uplands and valleys provide ample and efficient water 
filterage. It is only in instances where surface pollutions contami- 
nate wells or springs, or where, due to carelessness, foul seepage 
mingles with water drawn from some other local source, that 
water taken within the bounds of the Chemung drainage shed is 
rendered unfit for human use. It is obvious that water obtained 
from any other section of this general water-shed, or from any 
similar geological formation, would be liable to the same manner of 
befoulment. Refuse dumping grounds, cess pools and sewers that 
empty into streams, are disease breeders and destroyers of human 
life. 

For no telling how long a period, probably for thousands of 
years, a " finger lake " nestled in this section of the Chemung valley. 
Drift, brought from far and near, after the up-lif t, filled valley basins 
and in places built dams across outlets, so that streams were forced 
to cut new channels, as is noted in the divergence of the Chemung 
river at Big Flats to the south of Hawley Hill, its original channel 
having been along the north side of this hill, past Horseheads to the 
Susquehanna. Glacial ice coming from the north caused a dam to 
form and compelled the Chemung river to detour. 

During the period of this impounding of the Chemung for a reach 
of many miles, the lakelet, surrounded by forest-clad hills that 
on every side sloped quite to the water's edge, formed a most 
enchanting setting. It was a picture never seen by human eyes. 
During this period of submergence a top-dressing of alluvial soil was 
deposited on the sands and coarser filling of the valley, later added 
to in times of overflow, and gradually enriched by plant growths 
and the natural activities of worms, insects, reptiles, birds, fowls and 
animals until ready for the uses of man. Thus came the arable land 
highly prized by gardeners and farmers of Coming and vicinity. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
In Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER 11. 
Original Occupants of the Soil. 

ETHNOLOGISTS have been baffled in every effort to discover 
the source of the first inhabitants of the Western World. The 
deductions of the most learned and persistent investigators 
Vfiry greatly. Whether the first human beings to dwell in either 
North America or South America were actually aboriginals, the 
products of evolution, or were immediate creations, or they crossed 
on dry land when the the two hemispheres joined where now flow 
the waters of Bering Strait ; or if from time to time, in the long 
ago, individuals or groups lost at sea, and adventurers seeking new 
fishing and hunting places, found their way across unknown waters 
to the new world, are matters of speculation. 

Thousands upon thousands of years rolled by, following the big 
squeeze and attendant convulsions of Mother Earth, that cast up 
from the depths of the sea the sedimentary rock stratas that gave 
place and shape to the hills and valleys of the Chemung water-shed, 
ere surface soils were in place and plant and tree growths ready for 
the coming of man. Sweeping and swirling waters, glacial ice 
drifts, beating rains and winds had part in the task of smoothing off 
the broken elevations and filling depressions. Plant life and tree 
growths supplemented the work, and in the fullness of time Indians 
drifted or were driven this way from the older sections of the North 
American continent. 

While variations in type among the native Americans indicate 
distinct lines of racial ancestry, the differences forbid the selection 
of a distinctive standard. There are such general admixtures of 
blood, such physical characteristics among the Indians, as to bafHe 
attempts to connect any New World tribe with a race of Old World 

6 



Indians Form a League of Nations. 



peoples. There is no ethnic affinity between Europeans and 
native Americans. 

The Indians of North America, when the Europeans first broke 
in upon them, were in a class by themselves. Minor variations in 
type, habits, domestic life, methods of wresting their living from the 
natural sources of supply, and in means of self-defense, were due to 
the accident of environment. And the most advanced type of 
the tribes, physically, mentally and morally, were the members of 
Iroquois Federation, commonly known in modem times as the Six 
Nations. It was from these Indians that the land hereabouts was 
wrested by the whites. 

With a view to mutual protection from attacks from without the 
lands inherited from their ancestors, to augment their fighting 
strength when on expeditions of plunder or revenge, to maintain 
peace among themselves, five nations or tribes of Indians occu- 
pying each its own definitely defined section of lands that extended 
from the Hudson river to the Great Lakes, and westward to the Ohio 
valley and the Mississippi river, and southward to the mouth of 
Chesapeake bay, about the year 1550, formed a league of nations, 
known as the Iroquois Federation. The headquarters of the league 
was near the lower end of Onondaga Lake. There a council house 
was maintained where sachems of the Iroquois tribes, from time to 
time, circled a fire kept alive year after year by successions of at- 
tendants. The opening ceremonial of a council was the uncovering 
of the smouldering coals and building of a glowing fire ; at the close 
of a council the fire, permitted to bum low, was covered with ashes. 

When for any reason the site of the council house was changed, 
the living coals of the council fire were carried to the new place of 
meeting, with precise and impressive ceremonials, in which all the 
federated tribes were represented. Thus the continuity of the life 
of the council fire was preserved. It typified the perpetuity of the 
Iroquois Federation. 

A change of location of an Indian village was made when repeated 
croppings had exhausted the soil and firewood was no longer near at 
hand. But the Great Council House of the Iroquois was kept in the 
general vicinity of the southern end of Onondaga Lake. 

Each tribe of the Federation had a council fire of its own, located 
within its own bounds, where councils for the consideration of tribal 
affairs were held, and each clan of a tribe also had its own council 
fire. The Iroquois believed in and practiced the broadest possible 



8 Tuscaroras Admitted to Federation. 

measure of self-government, the nation as a whole being a federated 
democracy. The women had equal voice with the men. 

The Federation was first composed of five tribes— Mohawks, 
occupants of territory drained by the Mohawk River ; Oneidas, whose 
hunting grounds were about Oneida Lake ; Onondagas, whose lands 
were next west ; the Cayugas, whose territory included the lake of 
that name and extended westward part way to Seneca Lake ; and 
next was the land of the chief tribe of the federation, the Senecas, 
whose dominion in early times embraced the whole of the present 
State of New York west of Seneca Lake ; extended to the northwest 
beyond Lake Erie, and included all of the present State of Pennsyl- 
vania. Among the Iroquois the Senecas were known as " Keepers 
of the Western Door of the Long House," — as the country of the 
Federation was descriptively known. 

When the Iroquois Federation was formed, the Tuscaroras, then 
occupying the Carolinas, although a kindred tribe, were not included. 
Later the Tuscaroras made futile efforts to overcome encroaching 
white settlers, sustaining great losses. During the years 1706 to 
1712 broken and impoverished remnants of the tribe came north and 
were admitted to membership in the federation, which thereafter 
was known as the Six Nations. Hunting and fishing privileges were 
allotted to the Tuscaroras to meet the requirements of their various 
clans. 

It was with the Senecas that the first white settlers of the Gene- 
see Country had to contend. The Senecas were the dominant tribe 
of the Federation. They were of stalwart frame, muscular, active, 
courageous and intensely devoted to their families. Their love for 
the land of their fathers was ardent. The wars they waged with 
invaders of their lands, whether against enemy natives, the French 
when the conquest of the Iroquois was attempted from the north ; or 
against British soldier or forces of settlers, were battles fought by 
patriots for the defense of their homes and to prevent the destruction 
of their means of subsistence. 

Under pretense of befriending the Indians, both the French and 
English used them to serve their own ends, causing divisions among 
the natives, resulting in their destroying each other ; the French and 
British also induced bands of native warriors to become their allies, 
although the whites were in fact their common enemies. It was due 
to such crafty machinations that most of the Iroquois finally became 
allies of the British, when the French sought to dispossess these 



Indians Exploited By Sir William Johnson. 9 

white rivals and secure exclusive control of trade with the natives 
of about Lake Champlain and throughout western New York. 

A3 a result of tha manipulations of crafty Sir William Johnson, 
Indian Commissioner by appointment of the King of England, the 
Senecas and other more powerful of the Iroquois tribes, came to the 
belief that the War of the Revolution was waged by the colonists for 
the purpose of gaining possession of the lands held by the Indians, 
while the Red Coats had no such intention, merely desiring to trade 
with them, and would continue to be their true friends. Taking this 
view of the matter, although Sir William died before the events at 
Lexington and Bunker Hill, the Iroquois, with the exception of the 
Oneidas and a few scattering bands of Tuscaroras, were allies of the 
British to the end of the Revolution, and let no opportunity pass to 
wreak vengeance on white settlers not known to be friendly to and 
therefore under the protection of the Crown. 

When Sir William Johnson died, Juy 14, 1774, at his castle on the 
Mohawk, he left the Six Nations a broken and a subject people, 
without initiative, no longer able to fight their own battles or to 
provide for their own natural requirements. 

In their primitive condition, the Iroquois were strong of frame, 
muscular, and mentally well-balanced. They saw to it that deformed 
infants and weaklings did not survive. Children were taught to 
perform the services that were allotted to their sex. Men and 
women were equal sharers in the burdens of life. The males did 
the hunting, fishing and fighting ; the women cared for the wigwams, 
prepared the clothing, did the planting, made baskets and other 
utensils and were the cooks. 

During nomial conditions, before the War of the Revolution, 
the Seneca Indians had villages surrounded by or convenient to cul- 
tivated bottom-lands at Tioga Point, Owego, Chemung, Newtown 
Big Flats, on Seeley Creek, at Painted Post, near the foot of Mud 
Lake, at Coopers Plains, Addison, Canisteo, and near the confluence 
of the Tioga and Cowanesque rivers, at the foot of Canandaigua and 
the foot of Seneca Lake, and on the east side of Seneca Lake a dozen 
miles above the outlet. They raised corn, squashes, melons, beans 
peas, had apple, peach, plum and cherry trees, and gathered edible 
plants, roots and berries that abounded. Wild game and fish were 
abundant. Hunting and fishing was done by the men and boys, 
while tilling the soil and gathering its products was the work of 
women and girls, and old men. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER III. 
Indian Traits and Characteristics. 

THE INDIANS were within their rights in claiming ownership 
of the soil. This right has without exception been upheld 
by the British government, by the various colonies, later 
by the individual States, and by the United States. American courts 
have so held in every instance. But in finally passing on deals 
that Indians entered into, by which they were cheated by the whites 
time and again, legislative bodies and courts have universally favored 
the intruding race. The Indians were deceived or forced into 
deals with white adventurers, that had no basis in equity ; they did 
not comprehend the significance of treaties entered into by which 
their lands passed to the ownership and control of individuals and 
organizations of whites. The crowding-out process has persistently 
continued until there is not in all America a section of land left to 
the American Indian where he and members of his tribe can enjoy 
life in their own way, without interference. The whites are in full 
control. Hunting grounds are gone. The conquest is complete. 

Africans were enslaved individually and the Indians impounded 
by tribes, by men who worshipped at the shrine of Liberty, and 
startled kings with the bold declaration that " Life, Liberty, and the 
Pursuit of Happiness " are inalienable rights. 

No treaty was ever entered into between white men and Indians 
where the reds did not get the worst of the deal — that did not 
involve the surrender beyond recovery of some " inalienable right " 
of the natives and hasten racial dissolution. 

The inbred characteristics of the natives fitted them for the 
conditions that prevailed prior the time the first white adventurer 
set foot on the western hemisphere. As years passed, wars with 
the whites, and trade, and friendly relations, wrought changes to 
an extent that the Indians in a measure conformed to European cus- 

10 



Maximum Strength of Six Nations. 11 

toms. Guns displaced bows and arrows, clubs and tomahawks were 
cast aside for iron hatchets, the keen-edged knife succeeded the crude 
wedge of stone, and log cabins were numerous. Agricultural imple- 
ments were secured from the settlers. Iron kettles were used in 
cooking and sugar-making. Blankets, articles of clothing and 
personal adornment, supplied by traders, distributed at treaties, or 
gathered in raids, were much in evidence among the natives when 
Sullivan's army invaded the Genesee Country in 1779. 

The natives of the Genesee Country who in 1608 for the first 
time saw a pale face, heard a gun fired and witnessed its destructive 
power, were a far better type then their descendants whom the 
pioneer settlers diplaced. The first white men to enter the Genesee 
Country found it occupied by an independent, brave, physically 
strong, self-governing people, masters of a large section of territory 
with an abundance of natural resources. The Senecas numbered 
about 10,000 in 1650, and the relative strength of other nations of the 
Iroquois Federation was : Onondagas, 4,000; Cayugas, 3,000; Onei- 
das, 3,000 ; Mohawks, 5,000. At the end of a century of intercourse 
with Europeans, the total population of the Iroquois nation had 
diminished one-half, the Mohawks, occupants of lands nearest the 
frontier settlements, having wasted away the most rapidly. 

In 1612, when the Genesee Country was invaded from the north 
by a French army, bent on conquest, accompanied by a large force 
of Huron warriors, the Senecas stood their ground and repulsed the 
invaders, inflicting great loss. The French soldiers were armed 
with guns; the Senecas with the crude implements of warfare used 
for ages by their ancestors— bows and arrows, spears, war clubs, 
stone tomahawks and darts thrown with throngs fastened to sticks. 

The ruthlessness with which Europeans over-ran the New 
World, showed utter disregard for the " Golden Rule," and indicated 
lack of conscientious appreciation of the common rights of man. 
No class of invaders may be excluded from the condemnation. Each 
sought and attained the same end whatever the means or methods 
used. This saying applies to William Penn, the Pietist ; to Sir 
William Johnson, the Crafty Adventurer ; and to Captain Mason, 
the Butcher of the Pequots. 

The original inhabitants of the Genesee Country were hunters, 
fishers and planters. The land was their mother. Their religion, 
domestic relations, community adjustments, all harmonized with the 



12 Line of Descent Was With the Mother. 

actualities of environment. They wanted peace. To this end 
their Federation was formed and maintained until they were over- 
come by an invasion of superior human beings who founded a great 
nation most solemnly dedicated to the principle that all men are 
created equal and are endowed by their Creator with certain 
inalienable rights, among which are life, liberty and the pursuit of 
happiness. 

Among the Iroquois the line of descent was limited exclusively 
to the mother. The child was of the tribe of the mother. Land 
could not be transferred without the consent of the squaws. A 
Seneca could not marry a member of the same clan, no matter what 
the tribe might be. The Senecas had nine clans— Wolf, Beaver 
Bear, Turtle, Hawk, Snipe, Swan, Deer, Doe. Other tribes of the 
Federation were also divided into clans. Either the husband or wife 
could dissolve the marriage relation. The Iroquois League rested 
on the tribe. The whole system was interwoven and common 
interest kept alive by the mothod of cross-marriages required. The 
males inherited nothing ; each male had to win his way. 

The Iroquois squaw was neither a druge nor a slave. She had 
specific duties, as also the brave, and each was required to render 
faithful service to the family and the tribe. An Iroquois woman had 
absolute control of her person, whether married or single. The old- 
est woman of a tribe nominated a brave to succeed a chief in case of 
death or removal from office. The clan and tribal councils and the 
chief council of the Iroquois Federation were composed of members 
of both sexes. There was occasionally a female chief, or queen. 

In the eyes of an Iroquois, every member of his own clan, in 
whatever branch of the Federation, was as much his brother or his 
sister as if children of the same mother. In reality, the Federation 
was a league of tribes. 

The name of an individual was changed to meet changed condi- 
conditions in life. In each nation the name of a member indicated 
his tribal relationship. When an individual was raised up as a 
Sachem, his name was changed to that of the particular sachemship 
to which he succeeded. Names were changed when individuals 
assumed minor offices. When the celebrated Red Jacket was 
elevated to the dignity of a Chief, his name, 0-to-ti-an-i, meaning 
" Always Ready," was taken from him, and in its place he was given 
the name, Sa-go-ye-wat-ha, or " Keeper-Awake," having reference to 
his power as an orator. 



Indians Had No Written Language. 13 

Warriors were chosen for the war-path only after demonstrating 
by individual achievements that they were qualified. Public cere- 
monies marked the examination and elevation. No young Indian 
could go on the war-path without the consent of his mother. 

The Indians had no written language. Their symbolisms were 
vague and each record of an event or agreement was a distinctive 
arrangement of beads strung on throngs and woven into the form 
of a belt. These records were interpreted by Indians who cared 
for them, and instructed succeeding record keepers. Each design, 
variation of bead color, knot in a throng, was a distinctive part of the 
record, to be recognized and interpreted, and given its proper place 
in the document as a whole. The Indians placed implicit confidence 
in their records and record keepers. Where a wampum belt was 
designed to record a series of inter-related events, the memorizing of 
the record was distributed among groups of record keepers. The 
Indians distrusted the written and printed records of the whites. 

Property among the Indians was held in common, except imme- 
diate personal effects. Strings of small sea-shells, known as wam- 
pum, were their only means of exchange prior to the coming of the 
Europeans and the opening of trade between the two races. The 
manufacture of wampum became an industry in various sea-cost 
settlements. 

The religious instinct found expression in many ways in the 
legends and the activities of all the American Indians, and in no tribe 
was it more pronounced than among the Senecas. They believed 
in a Great Spirit, supreme over all, the source of their being ; also in 
benificent spirits of less degree ; and in evil spirits, who caused 
various afflictions and disasters, crop failures and scarcity of game. 
To the mind of the Indian, everything he came in contact with, 
whether animate or inanimate, possessed spirit life and magic power. 
Illness indicated the presence of an evil spirit, to be propitiated and 
persuaded to depart, or to be circumvented and driven away. Scor- 
cery was practiced, witches a cause of concern, and belief in the 
exercise of occult powers universal. The central idea of their faith 
was a Happy Hunting Ground of boundless extent above the skies, 
a land of eternal summer, of peace and plenty. 

In order to stop blood-feuds among themselves, the Iroquois 
decreed that the individual taking the life of another member of 
the Federation, must pay to the bereaved family ten strings of wam- 
pum, each a cubit in length, as the value of the life taken, and in 



14 Independence of the Iroquois. 

addition must redeem his own life, which was considered forfeited. 
The kin or family of the guilty one could make reparation. So great 
was the value placed on human life among these tribes, and so ardent 
was the desire to augment the strength of their nation, that it might 
continue dominant in the Federation and have ability to defend itself 
from attacks by alien tribes, the Senecas extended the practice of 
adopting members of defeated enemy tribes until remnants of eleven 
different tribes had been absorbed. 

The various Iroquois tribes occupied positions of absolute equality 
in the League, each having the same rights, privileges and duties. 

The federated tribes prior to the white invasion, made the best 
of their opportunites and succeded well, all things considered. Of 
them Lewis H. Morgan, corresponding member of the New York 
Historical Society and author of a history of the " League of the 
Iroquois," wrote in 1851 : 

" The spirit which prevailed in the nations and in the federation was 
that of freedom. The people appear to have secured to themselves all the 
liberty which the hunter state rendered desirable. They fully appreciated 
its value, as is evidenced by the liberality of their institutions. The red 
man was always free from political bondage, and, more worthy still of 
remembrance, his free limbs never wore a shackle. It would be difficult 
to describe any political society in which there was less of oppression and 
discontent, more of individual independence and boundless freedom. In 
adaptation to their mode of life, their habits and their wants, no scheme of 
government could have been devised better calculated for their security 
against outward attack, their triumph on the war-path, and their internal 
tranquility." 

In early times, before the formation of their federation, the 
villages or tribal centers of population, were siurrounded by protecting 
stockades, in some instances several acres of land being enclosed, as 
was the case at Spanish Hill, near Waverly. When the power of 
the Iroquois had become established, with their warriors a guarantee 
of safety from aggressions from without, the stockades were neglect- 
ed and permitted to decay. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER IV. 
Rights of Indians Were Ignored. 

TTTHEN THE colonizing of North America was in its earlier 
y Y stages, three powerful and equally trade and land-hungry 
European nations laid claim to and undertook to secure 
possession of the territory occupied by the Six Nations : The Dutch, 
who founded New Amsterdam, at the mouth of the Hudson River, 
crowded up that stream and along the Mohawk, establishing trade 
relations with the Indians as far west as Onondaga Lake ; the British, 
who claimed the continent from ocean to ocean by right of discovery 
and had granted Plymouth and Connecticut colonies parallel strips 
of land " from sea to sea," and also claimed all lands to the north ; 
and the French, who by right of discovery and exploration, claimed 
territory both north and south of the St. Lawrence River, including 
the region of Lake Champlain, the land of the Iroquois, the territory 
of the Great Lakes, and the Ohio and Mississippi valleys. 

The Dutch gave way to the British in 1674. 

In 1763 the King of France surrendered New France to the 
British, and acknowledged the Country of the Five Nations of 
Iroquois Indians to be under the dominion of the British Crown. 
Thence till the American colonists fought and won the War of the 
Revolution, the Board of Trade of Great Britain exploited these 
natives, supported and abetted by the Crown. In this the Board of 
Trade in London and its agents in America, were not alone. Inde- 
pendent adventurers and groups of people, seeking geiin, flocked to 
the New World, and none seemed to have regard for the rights of 
the Indians to the soil or anything else on which the natives depend- 
ed to sustain life. 

The policy of the French, in dealing with the Indians, having 
gained a foot-hold, was to win their friendship by giving presents, 
and then to establish general trade relations. They sought to 

15 



16 Natives Deceived by Indian Commisioner. 

bring the natives under the control of missionaries, supported by 
and ever loyal to the Crown. 

The policy of the British, zealously maintained by Sir William 
Johnson, military adventurer and Indian Commissioner, was to fel- 
lowship the natives and induce them to believe that the Great Father 
across the sea was their friend and protector, and for this reason 
the Indians should become allies of the British and help destroy the 
French, who were in aUiance with the enemy tribes of the north and 
west. And Johnson used these same pleas to induce the natives to 
aid the Red Coats when the colonists rebelled. 

Indian nature could not be changed in the twinkling of an eye. 
AH in all the Indians were intensely human. Their ignorance of 
the ways and wiles of the Europeans, was taken advantage of on 
every hand by the whites. Those who fled from the Old World to 
the New, because they could not endure oppressions, did not consider 
that the Indians had inalienable rights that should be respected. 

Like the struggles of a person cought in quicksand, every effort 
on the part of the Indians, either to destroy or to enter into deals 
with the whites, or to by any means regain possession of land 
taken by artifice, worked to their hurt and hastened the end. 
This was equally triie whether it was welcoming traders, making 
treaties, or extending hospitalities to and acting on the advice of 
presumably well-intentioned missionaries. 

The first volume of the Massachusetts Historical Collections 
contains an article descriptive of conditions in Western New York, 
in 1792, which closes with these words : 

"I cannot help being of opinion that Indians, or what are called Red 
Men, never were intended to live in a state of civil society. There never 
was, I believe, an instance of an Indian forsaking his habits and savage 
manners, any more than a bear forsaking his ferocity. The Rev. Mr. 
Kirkland, who acts as missionary among the Oneidas, has taken all the 
pains that a man can take, but his whole flock are Indians still, and, like 
the bear which you can muffle and lead out to dance to the sound of music, 
becomes again a bear when his muffler is removed and the music ceases. 
The Indians will attend public worship and sing extremely well, following 
Mr. Kirkland's notes, but whenever the service is over, they wrap them- 
selaes in their blankets, and either stand like cattle on the sunny side of a 
house, or lie before a fire. This is their mode of passing life. Even the 
bold energy of their forefathers, which was conspicuous in the chase, is 
unstrung in their descendants, and instead of sliding to the grave ' like a 



Indians Distrust White Missionaries. 17 

shock of com in its full ear,' they become ripe for it in youth and often find 
it by most disgraceful means." 

Distrust of missionaries in general was engendered in the hearts 
of the Indians, because many of the missionaries inclined to give 
" aid and comfort " to the whites whenever there was a clash of 
interests. The French missionary, during the da}^ when New 
France was in the ascendant, was constant in his support of the 
French crown; the missionary under the patronage of the British 
crown, shaped his teachings to abet British interests. The learned, 
courteous and courageous Kirkland, tireless in his efforts to convert 
the Iroquois, used his influence time and again, to induce the natives 
to enter into treaties that worked them irreparable injury. 

At a treaty held in July, 1755, called by Sir William Johnson, 
with a view to adjusting certain troubles due to encroachments by 
■whites on hunting grounds along the Susquehanna River, the chief 
spokesman of the Six Nations said : 

" Brother : You desire us to unite and live together, and draw all 
our allies near us, but we shall have no land left, either for ourselves or 
them, for your people when they buy a small piece of land of us, by steal- 
ing they make it large. We desire such things may not be done, and that 
j'our people may not be suffered to buy any more of our land. Sometimes 
land is bought of men who are not the proper owners of it. The land 
which reaches down from Oswego to Schahandowana (Wyoming) we beg 
may not be settled by Christians (whites.)" 

On this occasion the Indians gave notice that they would not 
consent to white occupancy of Wyoming, in the most solemn manner 
declaring they would not cease killing the whites so long as they 
intruded on these lands, saying the settlers ftightened game away 
and spoiled the hunting ground. 

The Iroquois were also an agricultural people. A large portion 
of their food was vegetable. They sought to keep possession of 
hunting grounds, the fruit, nut and berry producing lands, and soil 
suitable for cropping, sufficient for their requirements. The balance 
of population throughout the Iroquois territory was carefully arrang- 
ed, each tribe having an equitable allotment of land. So nicely was 
the adjustment, that when asylum was given the Tuscaroras, and 
these refuges from the southern sea-board became the sixth nation 
of the Federation, to avoid undue crowding, they were distributed 
at various points throughout the territory of the Six Nations. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER V. 

Conquest of the Genesee Country. 

THE LOWER Susquehanna was discovered in 1608, by Captain 
John Smith, of Virginia, but he ascended the stream for 
only about forty miles. The first white men to navigate 
the east branch of the Susquehanna were two venturesome Dutch 
traders, who, in 1614, came through the wilderness from Albany to 
Tioga Point, where the Tioga, (now the Chemung River), flows 
into the Susquehanna. There they were made captives and held by 
the Indians for about a year, and then allowed to go down the river 
in a canoe, to Chesapeake Bay, thence returning to Albany. 

At the time William the Conqueror invaded the British Islands 
and subdued the native Britons, the Indian tribes of New York State 
were warring upon each other when not being warred upon by tribes 
from elsewhere. This condition had continued for ages. Finally, 
to defend themselves against predatory attacks, the Senecas and 
other tribes of the Iroquois blood, established well constructed places 
of refuge, reminders of the walled cities of the Old World. Having 
no iron tools to work with, the Indians first burned trees down, then 
burned the trunks of the trees into sections, next took these sections 
and stood them on end, side by side, in trenches dug for the purpose, 
filled in the earth, and thus erected palisades that in some instances 
enclosed several acres of land. Inside these stoutly constructed 
fortresses, each with a single opening arranged to be closed in case 
of need, wigwams were erected and stores of com, dried berries and 
fruits, nuts and cured meats were stored. Such enclosures were 
located where water was available, in most instances where there 
was a dependable spring. 

The first white settlers of the Land of the Iroquois found the 
remains of such Indian forts at Canisteo, near Elmira, near Waverly, 
near Geneva, and elsewhere in Central and Western New York. But 

18 



French and British Interests Clash. 19 

not one of these forts had been occupied for six or seven centuries, 
according to the story of the forest trees found growing amid the 
ruins. This indicates that some seven or eight centuries ago, the 
most intellectual and progressive tribes of native Americans reached 
the conclusion that peace by mutual agreement produced more satis- 
factoryjresults-than^everlasting strivings. The building of these 
forts, and their strategic distribution, demonstrate how the various 
Indian tribes, in the long ago occupying the soil of two-thirds of the 
present State of New York and a large portion of Pennsylvania, 
joined hand in hand for common defense and mutual help. The 
Five Nations thus drawn together were invincible. They prospered 
for a time. But as the centuries rolled by, for want of practice, they 
forgot the art of collective warfare, and became as children. 

When the French gained a foot-hold to the north, they began to 
exploit the land of the Iroquois. Incursion after incursion of armed 
French maurauders, accompanied by scalp-hunting Indian allies, 
wrought havoc in the land of the Iroquois. These acts of ruthless 
aggression cost the French the friendship of the Five Nations — later 
augmented by the admission of a sixth tribe, the Tuscaroras — and 
caused the Iroquois to welcome the British as their protectors. Thus 
the French lost their hold on the American Continent. 

In 1687 Dugan, the Colonial Governor of New York, was directed 
by the King of Great Britain to protect the Iroquois tribes, or Five 
Nations, as subjects of the Crown. Efforts thence on were put forth 
by both the civil and military branches of the British Government to 
circumvent the plans of the French and bring the natives under 
actual " subjection." In the controversies that followed, the French 
claimed the Iroquois country by right of discovery and exploration, 
holding that the natives went with the soil ; the British declared the 
land was theirs by prior discovery, also that the Indians had sought 
the protection of Great Britain and had become British subjects ; and 
furthermore maintained that the soil went with the natives. 

At times British military and civic authorities failed to work in 
harmony, but nevertheless the encroachments of the whites on the 
lands of the Iroquois were persistent and unyielding. Gradually the 
frontier lines moved forward. The British erected and garrisoned 
forts here and there in the wilderness, ostensibly to protect the 
natives, in reality as outposts for the protection of intruding traders, 
settlers and land speculators. And until they fought and won their 



20 Indian Paths and Navigable Streams. 

independence, the settlers of the various Colonies were no less " sub- 
jects " of the British Crown than were the natives. 

The position of the Indians was the more unfortunate, in that 
they had no personal or property rights that the Crown, the Colonial 
governments, settlers, traders and adventurers generally felt bound 
to respect. 

During the War of the Revolution the frontier settlement nearest 
the site of the present City of Coming, was on the broad flat-lands 
of Wyoming, on the East Branch of the Susquehanna. The Iroquois 
were sorely aggrieved over the settlement of Wyoming by the whites. 
The eastern outpost village of the Iroquois Indians, at the begin- 
ning of the War of the Revolution, was at Tioga Point. This Indian 
village was soon thereafter abandoned. 

Coming is located a short distance below points where three 
streams, much used as water ways by Indians, unite and form the 
Chemung River, which flows into the Susquehanna at Tioga Point— 
the Tioga, Canisteo and Conhocton. The mysterious " Painted Post," 
stood on the north bank of the Conhoction where it flows into the 
Chemung. Along these streams were Indian trails, parts of a con- 
necting system of pathways that extended westward to the Niagara 
River; along lakes Erie and Ontario; crossed the Allegany Moun- 
tains into the Ohio basin ; through central and northern New York, 
and along the Chemung and Susquehanna rivers to Chesapeake Bay. 
At the " Painted Post " four trails, or " war-paths," joined. On the 
streams that drain the Chemung water-shed the natives paddled to 
and fro in birch-bark canoes in times of peace and when at war. 
" The Painted Post " was a place for assembling and fitting out war 
parties. There the Senecas also met to observe tribal ceremonials. 

The Wyoming territory was early claimed by the Colony 
of Connecticut as theirs by virtue of their charter, granted by the 
King of Great Britain, which explicitly extended the territory thus 
granted, " from Sea to Sea,"— meaning westward to the Pacific 
Ocean. Wyoming territory was also included in a Crown grant, of 
a later date, made to William Penn, and was passed on to his heirs 
and assigns. By agreement between the colonies of New York 
and Connecticut, the latter relinquished claim to a strip of land 
across the fomier Colony, embraced in similar confiicting Crown 
grants. But holding fast to its claim in the Pennsylvania matter, 
Connecticut colonized the Wyoming territory. The result was 
bitter strife, leading to incendiarism, killing of stock, destruction of 



Natives Were Cheated On Every Hand. 21 

crops, periods of open warfare, and much vexatious and expensive 
litigation between settlers assigned lands by the opposing factions. 

The Indian right to the soil, involving also authority to dispose 
of it under treaty with the whites, was a matter of long contention 
between the Senecas and some lesser tribes who had made sales of 
extensive tracts of agricultural land and hunting grounds along 
both branches and the lower Susquehanna. The Senecas also com- 
plained that both the Pennsylvania and the Connecticut adventurers 
had secured titles to lands owned by their tribe, by deceit and fraud, 
and had even made land purchases of Indians who had no right to 
make such a deal. 

These land transfers were most earnestly discussed at various 
treaties attended by Indian chiefs, representatives of the British 
Crown, and various white claimants to lands by virtue of deals with 
natives which were in dispute. Sir William Johnson, the Indian 
Commissioner, with characteristic craftiness, adroitly made use of 
these contentions to strengthen the confidence the natives reposed 
in him, but without affording them relief. He placated them with 
promises. In a commuication to the British government, however, 
Johnson charged the Pennsylvania Proprietors with having defrauded 
the Indians, and urged that lands in dispute be given up, " at least 
for the present." This suggestion was not complied with. 

In 1763 a treaty was entered into by the kings of England and 
France, whereby the latter renounced all claim to the territory of the 
Six Nations. The resident natives went with the soil. Again, 
when the British King entered into a peace treaty that acknowledged 
the United States of America to be a free and independent nation, 
the Indians went with the soil. They had no voice in the matter. 

The Indian land titles in the Wyoming were as conflicting as 
the Crown charters. The natives did not comprehend the difference 
between granting the right to fish and hunt, agreeing to an option, 
or selling outright. When Chiefs of the Six Nations met Pennsyl- 
Commissioners, in 1754, to sell some Susquehanna lands, they made 
reservations and served notice as follows : 

"We will never part with the land at Shamokin and Wyoming; our 
bones are scattered there, and on this land there has always been a Great 
Council Fire. We desire that you will not take it amiss that we will not 
part with it. We have heard that our Brother Onas [Pen], and our Brother 
of New England, have had some disputes a^out the lands of Susquehanna. 
We desire you would not differ with one another about it, for neither shall 
have it. We will not part with it to either of you." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER VI. 
Wyoming Before the Massacre. 

THIS SERIES of sketches would be lamentably lacking, if the 
Story of Wyoming was not included. Among men and 
women who brought the " frontier " up the Chemung River, 
when the Genesee Country was thrown open for settlement, and 
established homes in the Painted Post section, were survivors of 
the massacre, sons and daughters of the slain, and also men and 
women who took part in the struggle between Pennsylvania and 
Connecticut contenders for possession of that territory. 

The first settlers in the Wyoming came from Connecticut, some 
250 miles, enduring extreme hardships on the journey. They con- 
sidered this new land of promise a part of Connecticut Colony, and 
took actual possession of the soil without saying to the natives, " by 
your leave." These colonists held that they were going from one 
section of Connecticut territory to another. Both Pennsylvania and 
Connecticut claimed the Wyoming territory by grant direct from the 
King of Great Britain, and the Iroquois Federation claimed that their 
right to the land had not been surrendered, and therefore all the 
white settlers were intruders. 

The charter of the Colony of Coimecticut was derived from the 
Plymouth Company, by grant made in March, 1621, to Viscoimt Say 
and Seal, Lord Brooke and their associates. The grant covered one 
degree of latitude, and extended from the Atlantic to the Pacific 
ocean. This grant was confirmed by the King of Great Britain in 
1662. The grant of the Plymouth Company was made to Lord Say 
and Seal and associates, fifty years before the Crown grant to William 
Penn, and the confirmation of the grant to Connecticut was nineteen 
years prior to the grant to Penn. The Crown patent to Penn covered 
a portion of the grant to the Colony of Connecticut, equal to one 
degree of latitude and five degrees of longitude. The Wyoming 
territory was included in these conflicting grants. 

22 



Connecticut Adventurers Invade Wyoming. 23 

In 1753, Connecticut people formed an association, called the 
Susquehanna Company, with a view to settling the Wyoming lands, 
and agents were sent there to make surveys and cultivate the good 
will of the Indians. On learning of the presence of the Connecticut 
men at Wyoming, the proprietors of Pennsylvania lost no time in 
laying claim to that territory and denouncing the Connecticut pros- 
pectors as intruders. 

In 1754, at a Great Council of chiefs of the Iroquois tribes, held 
at Albany, a tract of land that extended seventy miles north and 
south, including the entire Wyoming valley and the country west- 
ward to the sources of the Allegany River, was sold by the Indians 
to the Connecticut Company. Later Sir William Johnson tried to 
persuade the Indians to revoke the sale. 

Representatives of the Pennsylvania proprietors appeared in 
Albany at the time this Great Council was held, and meeting some 
of the Iroquois chiefs in secret conference, induced them to sign a 
deed conveying lands along the Susquehanna River and extending 
across the Allegany Mountains to Lake Erie. The consideration 
was $1,000. Later these chiefs denounced the transaction, saying 
they did not understand that the matter was a sale and transfer 
of these lands, but that they were given to understand that they 
were entering into an agreement to give the Pennsylvania proprietors 
first consideration should the Indians desire at some future time to 
dispose of the lands. 

In 1756 the Onondaga Indians appealed to Sir William Johnson 
to protect the Wyoming from encroachment by white settlers, and 
urged that no forts be built there, saying : " We are informed the 
English [Pennsylvania troops] are building a fort at Shamokin. We 
can't comprehend the method of making war which is made use of 
by our brethren the English. When we go to war, our manner is to 
destroy a nation. There's an end of it. But the English chiefly 
regard building forts, which looks as if their only scheme was to take 
possession of the lands." 

In 1762, about two hundred men from Connecticut spent the 
entire summer in Wyoming, building log cabins, clearing lands, 
cultivating gardens and planting field crops. With their season's pro- 
ducts cared for, they returned to Connecticut for the winter. The 
next spring they returned to Wyoming accompanied by their families, 
and additional home seekers, bringing movables and live stock, and 



24 Delaware Indians Raid Wyoming, 



all engaged in making permanent betterments on lands alloted by 
the Connecticut Company. 

In November, of that year Indian Commissioner Johnson sent a 
letter of remonstrance and warning to the Governor of Connecticut, 
saying: 

" I can not avoid giving you my sentiments, as I formerly did, that the 
Indians insist upon the claims of the people of Connecticut to lands on the 
Susquehanna as unlawful, and the steps taken to obtain the same unjust, 
and have declared themselves determined to oppose any such settlement. 
I am, therefore, apprehensive any further attempt at an establishment 
there, will not only be severely felt by those who shall put the same in 
execution, but may, (notwithstanding my efforts to the contrary), be pro- 
ductive of fatal consequences on our frontier." 

In October, 1763, Delaware Indians raided the Wyoming settle- 
ments, killing about thirty of the whites, burning their cabins and 
farm buildings, putting the survivors to flight, and taking possession 
of abandoned stock and other belongings. In turn, Pennsylvania 
troops drove the Indians out, the reds retiring up the Susquehanna 
River and establishing villages in the vicinity of Tioga Point. 

Six years later the Connecticut Company resumed the coloniza- 
tion of Wyoming. In 1768, at an Indian Council held at Fort Stanwix, 
[Rome, N. Y.,] the Pennsylvania proprietors secured from the natives 
a deed to all the Wyoming region. In 1769 furious strife began 
between Pennsylvania and Connecticut settlers for the possession of 
of the territory. The Pennsylvania proprietors made repeated 
attempts to evict the Connecticut settlers. Force was met with force 
and collisions occurred in which lives were lost. Buildings were 
set on fire, farm stock killed and crops destroyed. But in 1771 the 
Connecticut settlers had so increased in number that they were pre- 
pared to defend themselves. Then came a truce, followed by peace- 
ful adjustment of the conflicting land claims of Connecticut and 
Pennsylvania. 

In August, 1775, when war clouds gathered, and the colonists 
were preparing to sever relations with the British government, the 
men of Wyoming held a town meeting and resolved, " that we will 
unanimously join our brethren of America in the common cause of 
defending our Country." 

The warriors of the Iroquois tribes in alliance with the British 
were not brought into actual service against the Colonists until the 
summer of 1777, but thence on while the war continued, these 
reds harrassed every frontier settlement as there was opportunity 



Indians Endeavored To Recover Lands. 25 

having been induced to believe that by so doing they were defending 
their hunting grounds and agricultural lands from further encroach- 
ments, and that territory thus redeemed, or saved from intrusion, 
would be theirs forever. 

Says Chjirles Minier, in his " History of Wyoming," 1845 : 

" Lights and shadows alternately brightened or obscured the Wyoming 
sky during the year 1777. The gloomy aspect of affairs along the seaboard ; 
Burgoyne with his powerful army descending from the north ; the accession 
of the savage interest to the cause of Great Britain, carrying with it the 
certainty that the frontier settlements — as in the old French War — ^would 
be one line of conflagration and murder, awakened in the breasts of the 
Wyoming people great fears for the general cause, and extreme anxiety 
for their own safety." 

The Senecas were the most numerous and the most active of the 
Indian allies of the Red Coats. From their villages along the Niagara, 
where they were under the immediate protection of the British, war 
parties took trails to the head waters of the Canisteo and Conhocton 
rivers, and made use of paths and streams between these points and 
frontier settlements. The western section of the Genesee Country, 
from the Genesee River to the Niagara frontier and Lake Erie, was 
an unbroken wilderness, abounding with game, the principal hunting; 
ground of the Senecas. In its interior there were no Indian 
villages. But on the Genesee flats, and thence eastward along the 
shores of lakes and on bottom lands of various navigable streams, 
to the vicinity of encroaching white settlements, that marked the 
western bounds of advancing civilization, there were Indian villages; 
surrounded by, or near to, well cultivated and exceeding productive 
plantations. These lands were cared for by the squaws, old men 
and children. 

Harried on every hand, realizing that the soil was slipping from 
beneath their feet, as the War of the Revolution progressed, the 
Iroquois warriors in alliance with the British sought to take advant- 
age of the unprotected condition of the frontier settlements, and by 
surprise attacks to regain possession of their former hunting grounds. 
It was with this object in mind that in 1778 they perpetrated the 
Wyoming and Cherry Valley massacres, and brought upon them- 
selves the devastation wrought the following year, by the military 
expedition led into the Genesee Country by General Sullivan. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Coming and Vicinity 



CHAPTER VII. 
Ruthless Destruction at Wyoming. 

THERE ARE no darker pages in American History than those 
that tell the story of the heartless raid upon the white 
settlements of the Wyoming Valley, in July, 1778 ; not alone 
because several hundred helpless women and children were slaugh- 
tered, and many others compelled to flee for their lives into the 
wilderness, under most heartrending circumstances, but also for the 
reason that the raid was planned and conducted as a military meas- 
ure by officers of the British army. The attack was made by a 
force of about four hundred British soldiers, sixty Tory settlers of 
the Wyoming, and nearly one thousand Indian warriors, mostly 
Senecas. 

The main body of the attacking force started on the nefarious 
expedition from Fort Niagara, where the British maintained a garri- 
son and where many of their Indian allies found refuge when driven 
form the Mohawlc Valley and other frontier points on the outbreak 
of the Revolution. Several sons and daughters of Sir William John- 
son—whites and half-breeds— with their families and mongrel des- 
cendants, were refugees under British protection on the Niagara. 

Estimates place the number of white inhabitants of Wyoming 
—men, women and children— at the time of the massacre, at about 
one thousand. The settlements occupied the bottom lands of the 
Susquehanna for a distance of about twenty miles. Fearing attacks 
by roving bands of scalp-hunting savages, a constant danger along 
frontiers, as well as to be forehanded in case of an uprising on the 
part of warriors of the Iroquois Federation, six or seven stockades, 
a number of them provided with substantial block-houses, had been 
been erected, at intervals, as places of refuge and defense. Most of 
the fighting strength of the settlements was serving in the Continen- 
tal army, and these brave men, risking all, had taken along their 

26 



War Parties Assemble at Painted Post 27 

guns and equipment. There were less than four hundred old men, 
men physically unfit for military service, and mere boys, left to 
defend the settlements. The supply of guns was limited. Amunition 
was scarce. No such an attack in force as that made by the British 
regulars, their Indian allies, and some sixty treacherous Tory 
neighbors, had been deemed possible by the Continental Congress or 
at Colonial military headquarters. Hence requests that a regular 
garrison be stationed at Wyoming were ignored. Petitions for a 
supply of guns and amunition were without result, for many of 
Washington's soldiers were in need of these essentials of war. 

A mraiber of weeks before the storm broke, several hundred red 
■warriors, led by British troops, set out from Fort Niagara for the 
descent upon hapless Wyoming. The British sought military 
advantage, to divert the attention of Washington from movements 
elsewhere zmd mayhap induce him to divide and weaken his fighting 
forces; the Indians sought to regain possession of their gateway to 
the South, and immolested to occupy the ancient hunting grounds, 
■wrongfully taken from them by the white settlers. 

On reaching the Genesee River, part of the expedition followed 
a trail direct to the foot of Seneca Lake, thence by water or trail to 
the head of the lake and over the carrying place to the Chemung, 
and down the Chemung to its confluence with the Susquenanna 
River at Tioga Point This was a place where the tribesmen had 
for ages gathered to organize expeditions into the lands far to the 
South, to prey upon their own kind. Another portion of the force 
took a trail from the Genesee to the head of the Canisteo River, and 
on the fiats near the site of the present village of Canisteo built a 
large number of birch bark canoes, in which they made the trip to 
the general rendezvous at Tioga Point, a portion of this war-party 
following the Canisteo, Tioga and Chemung trails, by way of the 
Painted Post A third section of the expedition crossed the Genesee 
Flats and over the divide to the head of the Conhocton river, and 
followed that stream by trail or floated in canoes to the junction of 
the Conhocton and Chemung rivers at the Painted Post, where were 
a small Indian village and cultivated lands. Here this contingent, 
joined by a small band of Seneca warriors from the village at the 
outlet of Canandaigua Lake, fitted out for the raid on Wyoming. 
Each section of the expedition was joined en route by additional 
warriors, summoned by runners. The main body, accompanied by 
the major portion of the British force, went down the Susquehanna 



28 Militia Make Brave Attempt to Save Wyoming. 



from Tioga Point in canoes and on rafts, while others went on foot 
along trails, and still others joined the main body a few miles above 
the outpost stockade of the Wyoming settlers. 

Most of the Indians were armed with flint-lock guns, keen-edged 
iron tomahawks with spike-like pointed heads, and each carried a 
scalping knife. Some of the natives, not provided with guns, carried 
spears mounted with iron heads. The brain of every one of 
these red men of the wilderness was on fire with lust for blood and 
the desire to uttlerly destroy the white intruders, that once again 
a council fire, to be forever kept alive, might be kindled at the 
Southern Door of the Long House of the Six Nations. The Wyom- 
ing had been settled imder sanction of the British Crown ; and this 
attack on the settlement was planned and lead by officers of the 
British Crown. 

There were no settlements contiguous to the Wyoming, upon 
which the people might call for aid in case of such an emergency. 
It was not merely a frontier outpost, but was an isolated community, 
almost embosomed in the country of a savage enemy. To Sunbury, 
the nearest inhabited post down the Susquehanna, was sixty miles ; 
through the Great Swamp and over the Pokono range of mountains 
to the settlements on the Delaware, a pathless wilderness, was also 
sixty miles. The Six Nations,, ever the most to be dreaded of natives 
when upon the war-path, occupied all the upper branches of the 
Susquehanna. The only means of defense consisted of militiamen, 
the greater portion of whom were too old or too young for regular 
service. There were siji or seven stockades, called forts, used also 
as places of retreat for women and children. 

The enemy arrived within striking distance of the old defense. 
Fort Forty, July 2d. As soon as the danger was known, the militia 
assembled at Forty Forty, which stood on the west bank of the 
Susquehanna, three miles west of Wilkes-Barre. There many of 
the women and children sought refuge. 

A council of war was held at Fort Forty early on the morning of 
July 3d, and it was decided to march forth and meet the enemy, 
hoping to make a surprise attack. At 4 o'clock that afternoon the 
little force which was moving with caution, feeling its way, came 
upon a much stronger number of the enemy lined up ready for battle 
on a plain partly covered with small oaks and scrub pine trees. 

The battle opened at once and proceeded determinedly, the 
little band of courageous Americans not knowing how greatly they 



Indians Spare Neither Man, Woman or Child. 29 

were outnumbered, standing their ground in face of the British 
regulars, until attadced on a flank and in the rear by the main body 
of Indians. The rout of the Americans was complete. Only about 
fifty survived. These were led in their escape into the wilderness 
by Colonel Zubulon Butler, the officer in command. 

The British did not follow. They made no further attack that night. 
But the Indians took and murdered many prisoners and scalped the 
all the dead Americans. Wounded Americans were killed. 

The Indians moved fonvard and continued the slaughter during 
the entire night. They spared neither man, woman or child. They 
set dwellings and farm buildings on fire on every hand, and killed 
cows, oxen, horses, hogs, and farm stock generally. 

The next day Fort Forty was surrendered to the British com- 
mander under pledge that the lives of the women and children 
should be spared, the men paroled, and the wanton destruction of 
property should cease. But the Indians continued their work of 
rapine and plunder. Every house not belonging to a Tory, together 
with the farm buildings, were laid in ashes. Farm stock was killed 
or stolen and crops destroyed. Many of the women and children 
perished in the Great Swamp. The whole nimiber of Americans 
killed and missing was about 300. 

An attempt at re-settlement was made after the invaders departed 
and remnants of the crops were cared for. But there was little 
repose for residents of the Wyoming until the close of the war. 

In March, 1779, a new fort erected near Wikes-Barre, for the 
defense of the settlement, was surrounded by 250 Indians, accompan- 
nied by Tories, but the enemy was defeated by resolute and deter- 
mined action. 

That the British commander at Magara was responsible for the 
attack on Wyoming, is shown by documentary evidence preserved 
in London. It was only one of similar acts in a general plan of 
campaign, carried out by the British form the begining to the end 
of the Revolution. 

Lieutenant-Colonel Mason Bolton, in command at Niagara, in a 
letter dated " Niagara, July 14, 1778," gloatingly wrote to Captain 
Le Maistre : 

"Sir : 1 have the pleasure to acquaint you with the signal success 

of the Rangers and Indians with Col. Butler, over the rebels at Wyoming, 
where they had no less than ten stockaded forts, and were defeated. En- 



30 Hartley's Expedition Up the Susquehanna, 



closed I send you the particulars, which I request you will lay before His 
Excellency. I received them this moment from Lieut. Hare, of the 
Rangers. [Signed], Mason Bolton." 

Extract from a letter from Sir Henry Clinton, to Lord George 
Germain, dated "New York, August 12, 1778," relative to the expedi- 
tion against Wyoming : 

"Reports, which seem to be credited, say that a body of Indians, 
assembled under the command of Colonel Butler, have destroyed a number 
of settlements upon the frontiers of Pennsylvania, and repulsed what 
troops the rebels had collected to oppose them. When I receive certain 
intelligence of their proceedings, I shall take the earliest opportunity to 
acquaint your Lordship therewith." 

Under date of "New York, September 15th, 1778," Sir Henry 
Clinton wrote Lord George Germain : 

" I have at the same time, my Lord, the honor to transmit to 
you, a copy of a letter from Colonel Butler to Lieutenant-Colonel Bolton, 
which I received from Gen. Haldiman a few days since, giving an account 
of the proceedings of the former upon the frontiers of Pennsylvania." 

The enclosure was a copy of the above letter of Col. Bolton to 
to Capt. Le Maistre. 

In order to drive the Indians away from easy striking distance of 
the Pennsylvania frontier, Colonel Thomas Hartley led an expedition 
of about 400 men, the latter part of September, up the Susquehanna, 
to Tioga Point, destroying every Indian village and laying waste 
their crops, including the long-established native settlement on the 
" Arrow Head " at the junction of the Susquehanna and Chemung 
(Tioga) rivers. In a battle with 200 red skins the latter were put 
to flight. The expedition reached Wyoming on October 5th, having 
completed a circuit of near 300 miles through enemy territory in 
about two weeks. The native warriors were shown that the 
settlements could and would be protected. 

Tioga Point continued to be a place of rendezvous for Indian war 
parties. The expedition against Cherry Valley led by the Mohawk 
War Chief Brant, and the British Captain, Walter Butler, started 
from Tioga Point. 

With the coing of Spring the Indians renewed their stealthym 
attacks along the frontiers. July 20, 1788, about 60 Indians and 
half as many tories, destroyed the settlement at Minisink, with 
great loss of life, and retired to Tioga Point with prisoners and booty. 

Then the Continental Congress decided to carry the war into the 
Genesee Country. The Sullivan Expedition followed. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER VIII. 
Sullivan Expedition Into the Genesee Country. 

THE INVASION of the Genesee Country, as the territory of 
Western New York was generally known, was not ordered by 
General Washington as a matter of revenge for the massacres 
at Wyoming, Cherry Valley and Minisink, by the natives, abetted 
by the British, but rather as a military measure, and part of a plan 
of campaign of wide scope, for breaking the hold of the British on 
the united American colonies. 

The fertile bottom lands of the Genesee Country and the lake 
region of Central New York, were made use of to provide supplies 
for the British as well as to sustain the natives. The Indians were 
provided with agricultural implements by the British. As the war 
progressed, through their division of labor, the Indian hunters and 
fishers, and those who looked after the crops, made the Genesee 
Country a dependable source of food supply for the British, and 
rendered themselves self-supporting. Invasion of the Iroquois 
country by a powerful army, and the destruction of their villages 
and crops, forced the entire Indian population to flee to the British 
at Niagara for protection and food. It also lessened the perils of 
settlers along the American frontiers. 

By direction of General Washington, early in March, 1779, Gen- 
eral John Sullivan, a native of New Hampshire, and a distinguished 
officer, was placed in command of the expedition. It was decided 
to provide a force of 5,000 men. General Sullivan experienced great 
difficulty in organizing and equipping the force. 

On July 31, the main section of the expedition started up the 
Susquehanna from Wyoming, 3,000 men on foot, with 1,800 pack 
horses, and driving several hundred fat cattle, to be butchered for 
food. A flotilla of 214 boats, manned by 450 expert river-men, set 

31 



32 Indians and British Defeated at Newtown. 



out at the same time, carrying artillery, amunition and supplies gen- 
erally, with nearly a thousand soldiers aboard, to afford protection. 

The first objective was Tioga Point, 80 miles up the Susquenanna, 
where General Sullivan was joined by General Clinton, who came 
down the Susquehanna, from Otsego Lake, with 212 boats, carrying 
about 1,400 soldiers. Tioga Point is about 40 miles east of the 
junction of the Chemung and Tioga rivers, where stood the " Painted 
Post." A brief stop was mode at Tioga Point, to complete prepara- 
tions for the invasion. There a substantial fort was built, with 
block-houses, store houses for supplies, and a hospital. It was 
named "Fort Sullivan." There a guard of 250 men remained 
during the absence of the main army in the Genesee Country. 

On August 26th the expedition moved up the Chemung into the 
wilderness, no one knowing the dangers to be faced. It was certain 
that their progress would be contested, and the artifices of Indian 
warfare must be taken into account. Indian spies lurked in front 
and on either hand of the invading force. 

Sullivan's army reached the Seneca village of Old Chemung that 
afternoon. It was deserted. There that evening scouts brought 
him word that a large enemy force was erecting a fortification on a 
hill overlooking the plains, only a few miles ahead. The next day 
was devoted to making final arrangements for an attack on this 
enemy position, a determinate battle seeming assured. 

Early Sunday morning, August 29th, the Americans advanced, 
and upon the brow of a steep hill, near the Indian village of 
Newtown, four miles east of the present city -of Elmira, the crudely 
•constructed fortification of the Indians and their British and Tory 
associates, was discovered. 

The Indians made several attempts, by front attacks, to lure the 
Americans into cunningly contrived ambuscades, but without 
any measure of success. Then the Indians retreated to their 
fortification on the hill, and there awaited the attack, that soon 
began, and three hours later the enemy was on the run, the power 
of the Six Nations broken forever. 

In this battle about one thousand Indians, fifty British regulars 
and two hundred Tory rangers faced the Colonists. The enemy 
was imder the command of Colonel John Butler, his chief officers 
being his son, Captain Walter N. Butler, and Captain MacDonald. 



Cornplanter Denounces Red Jacket. 33 

The natives were commanded by Joseph Brant, the Mohawk War 
Chief, and Cornplanter and Red Jacket, War Chiefs of the Senecas. 

Joseph Brant held a commission as Colonel. His Indian name 
was Thayendanegea, meaning, " He Puts Together." His sister Molly 
was the second wife of Sir William Johnson, and mother of a family 
of half-breeds that included a number males who were intensely 
pro-English. Brant when a lad was sent to a missionary school, he 
early took the war-path, and in 1775 visited England, where he was 
received as a prince and given much attention. 

Cornplanter, Garganwahgah, also known as John O'Beel, was 
the son of a Dutch trader and a full-blood Seneca. He was given 
no attention by his father, who resided at Albany. He was born at 
Conewaugus, on the Genesee River, about 1740. 

In the battle of Newtown, three Americans were killed and 39 
were wounded. The enemy loss was larger ; the exact number of 
their dead and wounded could not be determined, owing to the Indian 
practice of concealing bodies and removing the wounded. Twelve 
of the enemy slain were abandoned on the field of battle. 

The main body of the enemy retreated up Pine Valley to the Lake 
Region, and thence with their squaws, children and old men, contin- 
ued in terrior-stricken flight to the Niagara River. Every Indian 
village was abandoned. 

Indian runners hurried from the scene of battle, up the Chemung 
and its various branches, warning their tribes-people in the various 
villages, that all was lost, and leading them in flight along the trails 
to Fort Niagara. Detachments of Continentals followed after for 
some distance, and destroyed crops and Indian huts at Big Flats, 
little Flats, Painted Post, near the mouth of the Cowanesque River, 
at Canisteo, and at Bath. 

Cornplanter sought to rally the retreating Indians and make a 
stand against Sullivan's men, on the shore of Canandaigua Lake. 
But on the approach of the pursuers, a number of Indians, including 
Red Jacket, began to retreat. Seeing the ill effect of this movement, 
Cornplanter endeavored to rally the fugitives. Placing himself in 
front of Red Jacket, he tried to persuade him and his fellow refugees 
to turn back and fight, but his efforts were fruitless. In anger, the 
baffled War Chief turning to Red Jacket's young wife, exclaimed : 

" Leave that man; he is a coward !" 



34 General Washington Congratulates Army. 

From that intense moment, these two Chiefs were implacable 
enemies, and Red Jacket on various occasions, opposed measures that 
Complanter favored, having to do with tribal affairs. 

Sullivan's troops penetrated the Iroquois territory into the bottom 
lands of the Genesee River, and to the north throughout the Finger 
Lake region. Every Indian village was burned and all crops laid 
waste, among the number being Little Beard's Town, a Seneca 
village, on the Genesee, with 128 well-constructed cabins, surrounded 
by 200 acres of com fields and vegetable patches. Having accom- 
plished the purposes of the invasion, the Americans retired from the 
land of desolation, for service elsewhere. 

General George Washington, in general orders, dated " Moore's 
House, October 7, 1779," thus spoke of the Sullivan Expedition : 

" The Commander-in-Chief has now the pleasure of congratulating the 
army, on the full measure of success of Major-General Sullivan, and the 
troops under his command, against the Seneca and other tribes of the Six 
Nations, as a just and necessary punishment for their wanton depredations, 
their unparalleled and innumerable cruelties, their deafness to all remon. 
strances and entreaty, and their perserverance in the most horrid acts of 
barbarity. 

" Forty of their towns have been reduced to ashes, some of them large 
and commodius ; that at Genesee alone contained 128 houses. Their 
crops of corn have been entirely destroyed, which by estimation, it is said, 
would have provided 160,000 bushels ; besides large quantities of vegetables 
of various kinds. Their whole country has been over-run and lain to 
waste, and they themselves compelled to place their security in a precipitate 
flight to the British fortress at Niagara. The whole of this has been done 
with a loss of less than forty men on our part, including the killed, wound- 
ed, captured, and those who died a natural death." 

The Indian view of the invasion, was presented at a Council 
held by Washington with noted Iroquois Chiefs, in Philadelphia, Pa., 
in 1790. Addressing President Washington, Cornplanter said : 

" Father : The voice of the Seneca Nation speaks to you, the Great 
Counselor in whose heart the wise men of the Thirteen Fires have placed 
their wisdom. It may be very small in your ears, and therefore we entreat 
you to barken with attention, for we are about to speak to you of things 
which to us are very great. When your army entered the country of the 
Six Nations, we called you 'The Town Destroyer,' and to this day when 
that name is heard, our women look behind them and turn pale, and our 
children cling close to their mothers." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER IX. 
The Massachusetts Pre-Emption. 

LIKE THE neighboring Colony of Connecticut, Massachusetts 
held tenaciously to its claim that under the original charter 
granted by the King of Great Britain, its lands extended from 
the Atlantic to the Pacific ocean. Massachusetts disputed the right 
of New York to territory extending further westward than Seneca 
Lake. Finally it was mutually agreed to submit the matter at issue 
to a commission, each State to have equal representation. The 
commissioners appointed by the respective States, met at Hartford, 
Conn., on the 16th of December, 1786, and came to an amicable 
agreement. The sovereignty and right of jurisdiction over the 
whole territory in dispute were confirmed to New York. To Massa- 
chusetts was conceded the right of pre-emption from the Iroquois 
Indians, of all the territory embraced within the present limits of 
the State of New York, lying west of a line beginning at a point in 
the north line of the State of Pennsylvania, eighty-two miles west of 
the northeast comer of that State, and running thence due north 
through Seneca Lake to Lake Ontario ; excepting from the above 
tract, a strip of land one mile in width, extending the whole length 
of the Niagara River, which was conceded to New York. It was 
also agreed that Massachusetts should hold the pre-emption right to 
a tract of 230,000 acres, equal to ten townships of six miles square 
each, between the Owego and Chenango rivers. This tract was 
known in settlement days as "The Massachusetts Ten Townships^" 
Other territory in dispute, east of the pre-emption line, was acknow- 
ledged to belong tol New York. 

The Sullivan Expedition so completely crushed the Six Nations 
that they never again were a potent power ; and becoming a 
burden to their false-friends, the British, many of the native^, drifted 
over into Canada, there to remain, much to the relief of the first 

35 



36 Oliver Phelps Enters the Genesee Country. 

whites to establish homes in Western New York, After their defeat 
at Newtown, on the Chemung, the warriors of the Six Nations did 
not again venture a concerted attack on a frontier settlement, but 
strolling bands of scalp-hunting savages continued to wreak vengence 
along the frontier, from Lake Ontario to the Ohio, while the war 
continued and for many years after its closed. Settlers of the 
Genesee Country were in constant fear of Indian attacks until the 
reds were placed on reservations, no lon^r permitted to roam at will. 

Western New York was Tiot thrown open for settlement till 
1790, and then only the section extending from Seneca Lake to the 
Genesee River. In the spring of 1788, the Legislature of Masachu- 
setts sold to Oliver Phelps and Nathan Gorham, for themselves and 
others, the pre-emption right to the entire Genesee Country, from 
Seneca Lake to Niagara River and Lake Erie, for practically one 
million dollars, to be paid in three equal annual instalments, in 
Massachusetts currency, to be taken at par. This currency was 
then worth only twenty cents on a dollar. 

When/the deal had been consumated, Oliver Phelps, accompanied 
by a few business associates and a number of prospectors, set out 
from Boston for the Genesee Country, going direct -to Seneca Castle, 
an Indian village near the foot of Seneca Lake, where in former times 
the Council House of the Seneca Nation was located. There Oliver 
Phelps, who arrived June 1st, with the expectation of holding a 
treaty with the Indians, waited in vain seventeen days. Although 
native runners had been sent to all the Indian villages in the Genesee 
Country requesting attendance, only a few natives appeared. This 
was later found to have been due to the influence of land speculators 
who had by direct treaty leased the Indian lands for 999 years. 
The Indians having failed to respond to any considerable number, 
Oliver Phelps, disappointed but resolute, with remarkable courage, 
went to Buffalo Creek, and there succeeded in holding a treaty. But 
he was not granted land west of the Genesee River, the Indians 
declaring they would never dispose of that territory, but would keep 
it forever as their hunting ground. All the land from the pre- 
emption line westward to the Genesee they relinquished to Mr. 
Phelps, on his agreement to pay $5,000 in cash, and $500 per year 
forever. The Indians understood that their annual stipend was to 
be $1,000 per year, and when the first annual payment became due 
were greatly displeased, and claimed they had been cheated. 



Astounding Scheme of Land Speculators. 37 

The Treaty of Buffalo Creek was signed by 55 chiefs and eight 
squaws. Many other chiefs and a large number of squaws, who 
should have been consulted, were not present at the treaty, and had 
no voice in the deal. The attacked they legality of the transfer. 
The objections raised by these absentees made it necessary for 
Phelps & Gorham to hold a supplementary treaty. This second 
treaty was held in 1789, at Canandaigua, when the Treaty of Buffalo 
was confirmed and the way cleared for the immediate throwing open 
of the Genesee Country for settlement, from the pre-emption line to 
the Genesee River. 

The right of the Six Nations to possession of the soil of all 
Western New York, from the established frontier of the period of the 
Revolution to the Niagara River and Lake Erie, was, under the 
Treaty of Fort Stanwix, held in 1784, restored. They had the right 
under solemn guarantee of the Government of the United States to 
refuse to let any man take possession of an inch of the lands of their 
fathers, and their fathers' fathers, which, according to Indian tradi- 
tion, it was their most sacred duty to hold for their children and 
their children's children. 

And yet, within three years after this restoration of their lands, 
and only one year before the coming among them of Oliver Phelps, 
Six Nations entered into agreement under which they leased to 
John Livingston, Caleb Benton, Peter Rykman, John Stevenson and 
Ezekiel Gilbert, for themselves and others, " all the land commonly 
known as the lands of the Six Nations, in the State of New York, and 
at this time in the possession oj said Chiefs and Sachems," for the 
term of 999 years, excepting only some small reservations, and hunt- 
ing and fishing privileges. This agreement was dated " November 30, 
1787," and was designed on the part of speculators to evade State 
and National laws that prohibited the purchase by individuals or 
corporations of land direct from the natives. The consideration was 
a promise of $20,000 in cash and a yearly rent of two thousand 
Spanish milled dollars. Among the Indian chiefs who signed the 
999- Year Lease were Farmer's Brother and Red Jacket. 

At the time the " New York Genesee Land Company " was 
organized, with headquarters at Hudson, for the purpose of leasing 
and exploiting the Iroquois Indian lands east of the Massachusetts 
pre-emption, a branch concern, known as the "Niagara Genesee 
Land Company," was organized to take over and exploit the lands 
of the Genesee Country. The principal members of the Niagara 



38 Lessees of Indian Land Make Trouble. 

Company were John Butler, Samuel Sweet, John Powell and James 
Barton. This branch organization brought all Iroquois Indians then 
Under British influence to the support of the scheme of the Lessees. 

In 1788, Governor Clinton issued a proclamation warning land 
purchasers that sales made by the Lessees would be annulled, and 
sent runners to all the chiefs of the Sbc Nations, warning them 
that fraud had been practiced and the Lessee agreement was void. 

But the influence of the Lessees over the natives was so potent 
that Oliver Phelps found it necessary to deal with them before he 
could deal with the Indians. A compromise was effected, the 
Lessees being permitted to share in lands of the Phelps and Gorham 
purchase in consideration of aid given in securing from the Indians 
surrender of their right to the soil, to these new comers. 

Soon after the Treaty of Buffalo Creek was made, the 999'Year 
Lease between the Indians and the New York Genesee Land Company 
was changed, so that instead of paying the natives " two thousand 
Spanish milled dollars " annual rental, the amount should be " pay- 
able in cattle, at reasonable prices, to be delivered at Kanadesaga 
each year." 

Colonel Eleazer Lindsley, of Morristown, N. J., one of the 
Lessees, met Oliver Phelps at Kanadesaga, June 1st, 1788, with others 
of the New York Genesee Land Company, by appointment Lindsley 
found there " not more than fifty or sixty Indians, and no likelihood 
of a treaty coming on." So he set about surveying lands on the east 
side of Seneca Lake, which he described, in a letter, as being " the 
most beautiful lake I ever saw ; the land abounds with mill-seats 
and small rivulets of exceedingly good water." 

While Oliver Phelps tarried at Kanadesaga, awaiting develop- 
ments he wrote to a friend in Massachusetts : "I am well pleased 
with the country. Here we propose building a city, as there is a 
water carriage from this place to Schenectady, with two carrying 
places of one mile each." 

Mr. Phelps then thought that Kanadesaga, (now the site of the 
city of Geneva), was within the bounds of his purchase, but it was 
about a mile east of the Massachusetts pre-emption line. 

By the treaty of Buffalo Creek the Indians conveyed to "Oliver 
Phelps, of Granville, in the County of Hampshire, and Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts, Esq., and Nathaniel Gorham, of Charlestown, in the 
County of Middlesex, in the State aforesaid," land extending across 



Massachusetts Approves Treaty of Buffalo Creek. 39 

the State of New York, from Lake Ontario to the Pennsylvania line, 80 
miles north and south ; and extending from Seneca Lake a distance 
of about 46 miles west, embracing about 2,600,000 acres. The con- 
sideration, as written in the agreement, with the Indians, which was 
really a deed, was " two thousand and one hundred pounds, lawful 
money of the State of New York." No mention was made in this 
conveyance of the payment of an annual stipend ; that seems to have 
been a matter merely discussed at the Treaty, without a definite 
understanding being reached. 

The Council at Buffalo Creek was attended by Rev. Samuel 
Kirkland, from about 1765 a missionary who dwelt among the 
Indians countinually except during the period of the Revolution, and 
had mastered the dialects of the various tribes. He represented the 
State of Massachusetts. He had great influence with the reds. He 
was assisted by Elish Lee, of Boston. There were numerous inter- 
preters at the Council. Both branches of the 999-Year Lessee 
Company were represented by their leading men, and the oflScers of 
the British garrison at Fort Niagara also attended. The price to be 
paid the Indians for the land, by mutual agreement, was fixed by 
Colonel John Butler, a member of the "Niagara Genesee Land 
Company," who had a secret understanding with Mr. Phelps under 
which his lessee interests would be protected ; Joseph Brant the 
Mohawk War-Chief, and Elisha Lee, as Referees. 

In reporting to his New England associates the outcome of the 
treaty held at Buffalo Creek, Oliver Phelps wrote: "You 
may rely upon it that itlfe a good country. I have purchased all that 
the Indians will sell at present, and perhaps as much as it would 
be profitable for us to buy at this time." 

This Indian grant was confirmed by the Legislature of Massasa- 
chusetts, by an act passed November 2d, 1788. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity. 



CHAPTER X. 
The Treaty of Canandaigua. 

IMMEDIATELY following the signing of the Treaty of Buffalo 
Creek, Phelps & Gorham set surveyors at work laying out their 
purchase into township tracts, with few exceptions each six 
miles square. They- opened a land office at Kanadesaga, of which 
Oliver Phelps took personal charge, and widely advertised the lands, 
giving glowing descriptions of the beauty and riches of the same, 
Jand the golden opportunities that awaited settlers. 

The surveyors soon discovered that Kanadesaga was located a 
mile east of the pre-emption line, and was in the " MiUtary Tract " 
of the State of New York. Thereupon Oliver Phelps changed his 
land office and general headquarters to Canandaigua, where a log 
cabin was occupied. The name was first spelled Kanandaqua and 
Canandarqua. It was an inconsequential Indian village, occupied by 
Senecas. Not a white person spent the Winter of 1788-'89 there. 

In the Spring of 1789, Joseph Smith moved his family from 
Kanadesaga to Canadaigua, occupying a log storehouse. Soon 
Nathaniel Gorham, Jr., and Oliver Phelps arrived with a party 
of surveyors and a number of settlers from New England. Then an 
additional number of habitations were erected, some of them log 
cabins and others mere bark huts. 

All the northern section of the purchase had been surveyed into 
township lots the preceding Fall. The surveyors were now sent to 
the southeastern section of the Genesee Country. They made their 
headquarters at Painted Post, in a log cabin said to have been built, 
for a time occupied, then abandoned, by William Harris, the trader. 

That year a few score prospectors and actual settlers came into 
the northern and central sections of the Genesee Country from New 
England and along the Hudson River; and others of the land hungry 

40 



Rival Chiefs Fan Flames of Contention, 41 

came from New Jersey and eastern Pennsylvania up the Susquehanna 
and Chemung rivers, to explore the Painted Post region. 

Among the prospectors who came up the Susquehanna and Che- 
mung were Col Eleazer Lindsley, of Morristown, N. J., accompanied 
by two sons-in-law, Dr. Ezekiel Mulford and Captain John Seelye, 
of Wyoming. All three had served under Washington in the War 
of the Revolution, and Col. Lindsley had been a member of the New 
Jersey Legislature. The year before he purchased of the 999- Year 
Lessee Company a large tract of land on the east side of Seneca 
Lake, and had spent the Summer season surveying this land into 
farms, and in doing surveying in that region for the Lessee Company. 
He laid out a village about midway down the lake, overlooking the 
eastern shtDre, known as Apple Town, where Sullivan's men had 
destroyed an Indian village and cut down several hundred apple 
trees. Early in 1789, Colonel Lindsley disposed of his Seneca Lake 
holdings, having decided to purchase of Phelps & Gorham a township 
in the Genesee Country, on a navigable branch of the Susquehanna, 
and there to plant a colony. Under date of " New York, February 
26th, 1789," Nathaniel Gorham wrote to Col. Lindsley: "By report of 
our agent in the Genesee Country you are returned as the purchaser 
of a township, and Captain Allen informed me that I might expect to 
see you at this place. As I am desirous, from your character, to do 
everything in my power to accommodate you, I should be glad to see 
you here before the 8th of March, as I shall then leave for Boston." 

Colonel Lindsley was engaged by Oliver Phelps to assist in 
making the original surveys of township plots in the southern portion 
of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase, and also to conduct land sales. 

In July, 1789, while at Painted Post, engaged in this work, Oliver 
Phelps summoned Colonel Lindsley to Canandaigua to assist in 
conducting a treaty with Indians, made necessary by a spirit of 
bitterness among natives dissatisfied with the Treaty of Buffalo 
Creek. Some of the prominent chiefs claimed that they had been 
deceived and cheated by Oliver Phelps and John Livingston. Rival 
Chiefs fanned the flames of contention, notably Red Jacket, Farmer's 
Brother, Joseph Brant and Complanter. This agitation grew apace, 
fears of an Indian uprising spread, land sales fell off, and emigration 
to the Genesee Country ceased. 

Furthermore, a strife arose among the Indians, some of their 
inflential chiefs claiming that Indians who took part in the Treaty 
of Buffalo Creek, and agreed to the land sale, acted without authority 



42 Two Thousand Natives Attend Great CounciL 



and therefore the sale was void. These objectors held that some of 
the Senecas, and a few members cf other tribes, unduly influeneed 
by the whites, had made a deal with Oliver Phelps, that was contrary 
to Indian usage— that a treaty to dispose of land was not binding: 
unless every tribe had a voice in the council, and the squaws gave 
consent. The squaws now insisted on their right to be heard. 

The business outlook became discouraging for Phelps & Gor- 
ham. Their expenditures had been heavy. Failure to make land 
sales in face of growing trouble with disgruntled Indians, and an 
unexpected rise in Massachusetts currency, in which they expected 
to pay a million dollars for their pre-emption right at 20 per cent, 
to 80, increasing the purchase price of the pre-emption right three- 
fold, made even their first payment impossible. Under the circum- 
stances, and taking more especially into consideration the fact that 
Phelps and Gorham had failed to secure from the Indians surrender 
of pre-emption lands west of the Genesee River, the Legislature of 
Massachusetts took back the lands not included in the Treaty of 
Buffalo Creek. This release by Massachusetts left Phelps and Gorham 
about 2,600,000 acres of the Genesee Country on which to pay for 
the right of pre-emption, and tided them and their associates over a 
crisis that would have resulted in a business failure of far-reaching 
extent and most distressing consequences. 

Having decided that it would be necessary to hold a second 
treaty with the Indians, Oliver Phelps sent notices to the various 
chiefs, to assemble their tribes at Canandaigua early in July, 1789, 
to brighten the chain of friendship and adjust all matters in dispute. 
He collected at the meeting place, near the outlet of Canandaigua 
Lake, an abundance of the kinds of supplies most aggreeable to 
Indian eyes and appetites, including fat cattle, strong drink, blankets 
and trinkets. He laid in store a large assortment of " presents," to 
be displayed while treaty councils were in progress, but not to be 
distributed until a treaty had been completed. 

The natives came, two thousand strong ; hale, hearty and hungry. 
The Treaty of Canandaigua opened the middle of July and lasted 
twenty days. Some of the Indian chiefs, during the early period of 
the discussions, were decidedly bellicose, making hot accusations 
against Phelps and his associates at Buffalo, charging trickery and 
bribery. But these orators tempered down as the days of feasting 
wore by, and finally conclusions were reached that were embodied 



Indians Confirm Treaty of Buffalo Creek. 43 

in a supplementary treaty, which ratified and confirmed, the Treaty 
of Buffalo Creek. This was signed by twelve Indian chiefs, and was 
witnessed by Samuel Sweet, the Niagara trader, and Lemuel Wilmet. 
It follows : 

" We, the Sachems, Chiefs and Warriors of the Mohawk, Qnondago, 
Cayahuga and Tuscarora Nations, for ourselves and in behalf of the four 
Nations aforesaid, have heard read and explained in public Council at this 
place, the papers passed between Oliver Phelps, Esq., and the Five Nations 
of Indians, in full and public Council, at our Great Council Fire at Buffalo 
Creek, in July, 1788, and find said papers confoirmable to the agreement 
then and there made between the said Phelps and the Five Nations, and do 
hereby ratify and confirm said agreement, as being fairly and properly 
done, agreeable to the ancient custom of our forefathers ; and having given 
up to the Seneca Nation our several portions of the payment now due and 
offered to the said Five Nations by said Phelps, in a just and proper man- 
ner, in a full Council of the Five Nations, viz : two thousand five hundred 
dollars in cash, and that certain tract, parcel, land and territory purchased 
from the Five Nations by said Phelps, agreeable to the deeds given him, the 
i^d Phelps, by the Five Nations aforesaid, at Buffalo Creek ; and to all 
moneys, goods, or other payments whatsoever, due by said Phelps for 
said lands, except always and reserving our just share and portion of five 
hundred dollars, the annual rent to be paid on said lands forever. 

" Given under our hands and seals, at Canadqua, this 4th day of 
August, in the year of our Lord, one thousand seven hundred and 
eighty-nine." 

Red Jacket and Joseph Brant took part in the councils at Buffalo 
Creek, in 1778, and at Canandaigua, in 1779, and signed both the 
treaties, facts to be borne in mind in connection with their later 
acts of opposition to Oliver Phelps in the matter of the land deal 
involved, and the trouble these chiefs made for the early settlers of 
Western New York. 

The story of this gathering of Indians at Canandaigua, is of 
direct personal interest to many descendants of first settlers of the 
Painted Post section of the Genesee Country, because of the connec- 
tion therewith of the original owners of the townships of Erwin and 
Lindley— Colonel Arthur Erwin, of Erwina, Pa., and Colonel Eleazer 
Lindsley, of Morristown, N. J., both officers imder Washington in the 
Bevolution. 

Colonel Erwin supplied Oliver Phelps a large drove of fat cattle 
to feed the Indians attending the Treaty. The cattle were driven 
from Bucks County, Pennsylvania, via Tioga Point and up the Che- 
mung Valley to the Painted Post, thence direct to Canandaigua. The 
cattle were delivered to Oliver Phelps in part payment for the town- 
ship Erwin purchased— a tract of land six miles square, known and 



44 First Settlemmt In the Painted Post Territory. 

described, according to the original survey, as " Township 2, Range 
2, of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase. The deed to Colonel Erwin 
was dated, " Canandarqua, County of Ontario, State of New York;" 
July 18th, 1789 ; the consideration was " one thousand four hundred 
pounds, lawful money of the State of New York." The deed to Col. 
Lindsley, of " Township 2, Range 1," was dated August 13. 1789. 

These were the first deeds given of lands within Steuben County, 
following the transfer of Indian ownership to Phelps and Gorham. 

Referring to the proceeding at Canandaigua, Colonel Lindsley 
wrote : " About 2,000 Indians were assembled. I attended for 
sixteen days. The Indians behaved exceedingly well and we tran- 
sacted all our business and parted in great friendliness." 

At the conclusion of business matters connected with the Treaty 
of Canandaigua, Colonel Lindsley returned to Painted Post, where he, 
remained seventeen days, and sold seven farms from his purchase. 
He then mounted his horse and set out along the Great War-Trail 
for his home at Morristown, New Jersey, going by way of Tioga 
Point and Wyoming, to arrange to bring on a colony. 

The next Spring, as soon as conditions of travel would permit. 
Colonel Lindsley brought up the Susquehanna, Chemung snA. Tioga 
Rivers, in flat boats built for the purpose, a colony of 37 persons 
and formed a settlement along the sloping side of a hill, overlooking 
the bottom lands of the Tioga, about a mile north of the Pennsylvania 
line. The colonists reached the end of their journey the 7th of 
June, 1790. This was the first settlement to be planted within the 
bounds of the present County of Steuben, and the coming of the 
Lindsley Colony moved the frontier line up stream from the jimction 
of the Susquehanna and Tioga rivers, to the junction of the Tioga 
and Cowanesque. 

The boats on the trip up from the point of embarkation, near 
Wilkes-Barre, Pa., were accompanied by a drove of neat cattle and 
a number of horses. In addition to household effects, grain and 
vegetable seeds for planting, and farming implements, Colonel 
Lindsley brought the equipment for a saw mill, including the shaft 
for an over-shot water wheel to run the same. This saw mill, the 
first one to be erected in the Genesee Country, was built on Watson 
Creek, half a mile from its junction with the Tioga River, a few 
months later, and for many years supplied the demand for lumber 
for floors, doors, door casings and interior finishings of the log cabin 
homes of the pioneers. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XL 
Indians Renew Complaints and Demand Redress. 

IN THE SPRING of 1790, there was a renewal of complaints by 
Iroquois Indians that they had been deceived and cheated out 
of their lands by the whites. As the season advanced the 
spirit of unrest became deep-seated and wide-spread, and by mid- 
Summer involved all branches of the tribes of the Six Nations. 

A specific charge that Oliver Phelps and John Livingston, and 
other whites having to do with the Treaty of Buffalo Creek, and the 
later Treaty of Canandaigua, had conspired together and deliberately 
cheated them, was spread among the tribesmen by their principal 
chiefs, and methods of redress were discussed at council fires. 

It was nothing new in Indian methodology few them to deny the 
conditions of a treaty under which they had surrendered land, and 
to cry out that they had been deceived. The same charge was 
brought against William Penn, with all the power of eloquence that 
the most noted Indian spokesmen could command. The seat of 
trouble was inherent with the red skins. Their want of foresight, 
childish cupidity, vaunting vanity, and natural stupidity, rendered 
them easy victims of the white man's artifices. The lack of sense 
exhibited by Indians would seem inexcusable, but for the example of 
Jacob, the Israelite, who bartered his princely birth-right with Essau 
for a mess of soup; and for the example of the well-bred white of 
these latter days, who yields his business, his home, his character, 
and eversrthing worth possessing, in unresisting response to the 
cumulative demands of some self-destroying appetite. 

The Indi^is were physical giants, but mental pygmies. Their 
brightest minds did not seem able to comprehend the import of land 
grants made to the whites. A few weeks of pow-wowing and feed- 
ing, with fire-water placed inside their ribs and gew-gaws dangled 

45 



46 Indians Reserve Right to Fish and Hunt at Will. 

before their eyes, and " Lo, the poor Indian," was ready to agree to 
anything his white brother might suggest. Then, as time passed by 
arid the natives who were parties to a treaty thus entered into, once 
again got hungry and thirsty, the cry of " fraud " and a threat to " dig 
up the tomahawk," was all that was necessary to bring about 
another round-up, anothet season of feasting, rum drinking and 
oratory, with gifts of gew-gaws, and the signing of another treaty, 
with its inevitable surrender to the whites of additional " native 
rights to the soil." Thus the strong overcame the weak, and the 
whites pushed forward, never yielding a point once gained. 

It was hoped by the land speculators and the settlers directly 
interested, that the Treaty of Canandaigua, supplementing arid 
ratifying the Treaty of Buffalo Creek, would be followed by absolute 
and imquestioning compliance on the part of the Six Nations, with 
the conditions under which the Indian title to the Genesee Country 
had been surrendered. But the Indians did not realize that in 
surrendering their lands to Phelps and Gorham they had thrown open 
the jdoor to all other whites, who might in turn secure from these 
first-hand purchasers the right to enter and become permanent 
occupants of the soil. The Indians in their grant to Phelps and 
Gorham reserved the right to fish and hunt in the entire territory 
covered by the treaty ; but settlers objected. The whites fished 
and hunted at will, and their betterments spoiled hunting grounds. 

Twice before the Treaty of Buffalo Creek fixed the frontier line 
at the Genesee River, the whites had made treaties with the Six 
Nations fixing a permanent frontier boimd, only to crowd over it, and 
then demand additional lands of the natives, compliance being 
secured by subtle artifice or open coercion. 

During the fall of 1788, on word reaching the sea-board and 
the interior settlements of the New England and more northern 
cblonies, of the abjustment effected with the Six Nations at Canan- 
daigua, hundreds of prospectors rushed into the Genesee Country, 
and the land office at Canandaigua became a busy place. The next 
Spring settlers came on with a rush, the larger number from New 
England, via the Mohawk valley, occupying lands in the northern 
^nd central sections of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase, from 
Seneca Lake to the Genesee. A goodly number of land-seekers came 
UP the Susquehanna ancl Chemung rivers, and located in the 
Painted Post section of the Genesee Country. A land office was 



Pioneers of Painted Post Fear Indian Uprising, 47 

maintained at "The Painted Post " for the accommodation of settlers 
coming by the southern route. These were mainly from Pennsyl- 
vania, southeastern New York, New Jersey and Rhode Island. The 
lands east of the Massachusetts pre-emption line, extending from 
Seneca Lake eastward to the frontier line of the Revolution, which 
crossed the State at Fort Stanwix, (Rome), were the scene of like 
activities. 

This general invasion of the Irequoian " Long House," caused 
extreme unrest among the natives. At this time appeals came to 
the Iroquois from their old enemies, the Indians of the Miami and 
the Wabash, also being crowded by the whites, and then at war with 
the United States, to rise and make common cause for the extermin" 
ation of ,Ithe intruders. Fears that the Indians would attack the 
settlers of the Genesee Country, made land sales slow and checked 
the tide of emigration to near the zero point. 

During the Summer of 1790, Red Jack^ and Joseph Brant, who 
were wards of the British, spread among the Iroquois a story that 
Complanter was in secret aUiance with the United States, and in 
support of the charge, cited favors Complanter had received and the 
4istinguished consideration paid to him by officials of the States of 
New York and Pennsylvania, This accusation caused, among the 
Indians not dirctly connected with Complanter, such an intense 
distrust, that he did not dare to travel in the Indian country unless 
accompanied by a strong guard of carefully chosen braves. 

This state of affairs, doubtless, had much to do with influencing 
Complanter to join with the malcontents in renewing the charge that 
Oliver Phelps had cheated the Indians in his treaty making, for 
getting possession of their land. The situation became serious. 

As a consequence, Phelps and Gorham found themselves again 
in financial straits. Land sales were slow, payments uncertain, and 
expenses heavy. For these reasons, early in the year 1790, after 
having disposed of fifty townships, many of them on credit, Phelps 
and Gorham sold 1,264,000 acres of the Genesee Coimtry to Robert 
Morris, of Philadelphia, Pa., a man of wealth, noted as the financier 
of the War of the Revolution. The consideration was thirty thou- 
sand pounds sterling, New York money. Under date of April 11th, 
1790, Oliver Phelps wrote Colonel Eleazer Lindsley: "We have 
deeded to Mr. Morris all the lands we had not sold at the time we 
deeded to him, excepting certain towns reserved for ourselves." 



48 Irate Seneca Chiejs Make Summary Demand. 

The actual conveyance to Robert Morris, was executed in Nov- 
ember, 1790, by Nathaniel Gorham and Rebecca his wife, and Oliver 
Phelps and Mary his wife. 

On June 27th, 1790, an Indian was killed on Pine Creek, by three 
white men, Henry, Joseph and Benjamin Walker, brothers, with 
Samuel Doyle as onlooker. The Indian had boasted of his success 
in killing whites, and had some time before killed the father of the 
Walkers. While he was brandishing a tomahawt, and showing 
how he had slain the elder Walker, he was struck down by one of 
the sons. 

On the 12th of August, 1790, Oliver Phelps wrote from Canan- 
daigua, to his partner, Nathaniel Gorham, residing in Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, as follows : 

"The Indians are now in great confusion, on account of some Indians 
being inhumanely killed by white people. I am this moment setting out 
with an agent from Pennsylvania, to make them satisfaction for the two 
Indians murdered. I hope to be able to settle the matter. If I should not 
succeed they will retaliate. I nevCT saw them more enraged than they 
are at the present time." 

The killing of the Pine Creek braggart by the Walkers, and the 
slaying about that time of other Senecas by border men of Penn- 
sylvania, greatly exasperated the Indians of the old-time Federation. 
The trip taken by Oliver Phelps, for the purpose of ai^jeasing their 
wrath, was without avail. It was an exceeding hazardous venture. 
On August 12, after having refused to consider proposals made by 
Oliver Phelps for a settlement of the trouble, four Seneca chiefs. 
Little Beard, Red Jacket, Gis-Se-Ha-Ki and Ca-Un-Be-Son-Go, sent 
by runner from Genesee River Flats, to the Governor and Council of 
Pennsylvania, a summary demand for redress for the blood of their 
tribesmen slain by the whites. They said : 

" We are sorry to tell you, you have killed eleven of us since peace. 
And now we take you by the hand, and lead you to the Painted Post, as far 
as our canoes can come up the creek, where you will meet the whole tribe 
of the deceased, and all the Chiefs, and a number of warriors of oin: Nation, 
where we expect you will wash away the blood of your brothers, and bury 
the hatchet, and put it out of memory, as it is yet sticking in our heads." 

This insistent appeal, closing with a veiled threat, caused great 
alarm, for at that time the Indians on the frontiers of Virginia and 
Western Pennsylvania, and the united tribesmen of the Northwest^ 



Washington Directs Pickering to Meet Indians. 49 

were waging fierce and bloody wars upon the whites. The petition 
of the four chiefs closed with these words : 

"Brothers: It is our Great Brother [President Washington] who 
must come to us, as we will never bury the hatchet until our Great Brother 
himself comes and brightens the chain of friendship, as it is very rusty. 

" Brothers : You must bring the property of our brothers you have 
murdered, and all the property of the murderers, as it will be a great satis- 
faction to the families of the deceased. 

" Brothers : The sooner you meet us the better, for our young war- 
riors are very uneasy, and it may prevent great trouble." 

The situation became so critical, the danger of an Indian uprising 
that would result in the massacre of settlers in the Iroquois territory 
so imminent, that President Washington took hold of the matter. 
On September 4th, 1790, he wrote to Timothy Pickering, authorizing 
and directing him, as a Commissioner of the United States, to meet 
the aggrieved Indians in Council and assure them that these murders 
were displeasing to the Federal Government, and to take such action 
as Indian customs required. 

Colonel Pickering decided to hold a Treaty at Tioga Point, 
having a double purpose in mind— to pacify the angry relatives of 
the slain Indians, and to prevent the Six Nations from being persuad- 
ed by emissaries of western Indians then at war with the United 
States, to dig up the tomahawk and make common cause. He sent 
notices to the Senecas, saying he had been appointed by President 
Washington : — 

" To wash off the blood of our murdered brothers, and wipe away the 
tears from the eyes of their friends. For these purposes I will meet the 
relatives of the deceased, at Tioga [Point], on Monday, the 25th day of 
October next. Our Great Chief [President Washington], desires that the 
Chiefs of the Turtle tribe, and other great men of your Nation, will on 
that day come to Tioga, with relatives of the deceased." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XIL 
First Sutlers of Township of Painted Post. 

AMONG THE WHITES, before the County of Steuben was 
established, all the territory drainedlDy the Chemung River 
and its tributaries was known as " The Painted Post." Later 
the term was used to designate the section of the Phelps and Gorham 
Purchase lying south of the Finger Lates and east of the Genesee 
Water Shed. Writing at Morristown, N. J., in the Spring of 1778, 
one of the first men to come into this section to settle, said : " I am 
about to start for the Genesee Country ; I shall go to the Painted 
Tost." Thus the general name continued in use until the County 
of Steuben was organized by act of the State Legislature, in 1796, 
"followed by the organization of the Township of Painted Post. The 
township included the present towns of Lindley, Erwin, Coming, 
-'Campbell, Hornby and Caton. 

When Winter set in, in 1790, there were only three settlements 
dn the Painted Post section of the Genesee Country : — The Lindsley 
Colony, on the Tioga River near the Pennsylvania line, with six 
families and 34 persons, including seven Negro slaves ; Erwin, five 
families, 25 persons ; Corning, (then without a name), ten families 
and 59 persons ; a few pioneer homes on the fiatlands of the upper 
Canisteo, and a few isolated cabins occupied by families of squatters 
or individual woodsmai. At that time the entire white population 
of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase was about 950. The fighting 
strength of the Indian occupants of lands west of the Genesee, who 
had refused to sell, was about 2,200. The fighting strength of 
the exasperated reds then in Western New York was four-fold 
greater than that of the settlers. Of the white population of the 
entire Genesee Country— as enumerated in 1791 at 1,061—524 were 
males over 16 years of age ; 345 were women and girls ; 192 were 

50 



Negro Slaves Brought From New Jersey. 51 

boys under 16 years of age ; there were nine Negro slaves. The 
total number of families— homes where there was a woman— was 139. 

To be told that there were slave holders in Steuben County in 
pioneer days, will doubtless surprise many of the descendants of 
strenuous Abolitionists of the Civil War period. However, be it 
called to mind that slavery in its beginning in America, was as much 
a Northern as a Southern institution. The first white settlers 
bunched together at Jamestown, Salem, Lynn, Boston, Saybrook, 
the Hamptons, Manhattan, etc., along the seaboard, for mutual help 
and protection. They took advantage of the most convenient natural 
conditions. Their children, and later comers from across the ocean, 
crowded gradually back from the coast, up the rivers and around 
lakes, gleaning their livelihood from forest, land and water. Thus 
the frontiers moved westward, on and on, from Sea to Sea. And 
there were few men among these pioneers who cared to toil for 
the going wages of the times, when Nature's most bountiful offerings 
were theirs for the taking. Some of the pioneers induced Indians 
to work, but Red Men did not take to the class of labor desired by 
the founders of this Republic — it was squaw work. So black men 
and women and children were brought from Africa to the Colonies 
of Massachusetts Bay, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Virginia, 
Pennsylvania, etc., to help the founders of this Republic plant the 
Tree of Liberty. Thus slavery became an American institution. 

There was not a fort or a fortified place of refuge for the 
isolated settlers, in all the Genesee Country. No soldiers were 
stationed at any point along the Chemung River, or within striking 
distance, should there be an uprising of the threatening savages of 
Western New York, 

British garrisons continued to occupy Fort Niagara arid Fort 
Oswego, and these British were hopeful that something would 
happen to enable their government to wrest the Genesee Country 
from the United States. The intermeddling of British officers at 
these and other forts, along the international boundary, in the Indiein 
affairs of the United States, and their constant harking the natives 
on, was as much a factor as troubles at sea, in bringing about the 
War of 1812. 

Helpless, indeed, would the first settlers of Coming and vicinity 
have been, if the Six Nations, during these days of unrest, had " dug 
up the hatchet " and engaged in a war of relentless destruction. 



52 Skulking Indians Kill Settles and Steal Children. 

niustrative of the dangers that beset white intruders on lands 
claimed by Indians, and which the natives sought to retain for their 
own exclusive use, the following examples of their unprovoked at- 
tacks are presented : 

In 1763, Seneca Indians ambushed two military conpanies con- 
voying wagons loaded with merchandise over the carrying place at 
Niagara, killing 60 privates, the officers and teamsters, and capturing 
the outfit. The Indians scalped all the dead and robbed the bodies. 

On an afternoon in the Fall of 1777, Captain Greg, an officer of 
Fort Stanwbc, accompanied by a Corporal, strolled into the nearby 
forest to shoot pigeons. While they were taking aim at some 
pigeons, Which had alighted in a tree, two shots were heard nearby 
and the two men fell to the ground, some distance apart. Captain 
Greg saw an Indian approach, tomahawk in hand, and while simulat- 
ing death, was struck several times on the head with the tomahawk. 
The savage then drew a knife, cut a circle through the skin from 
Captain Greg's forehead to the crown of his head, and drew off the 
scalp by taking hold of it with his teeth. When the Indian had gone 
away, Captain Greg, suffering intensely from a gunshot wound in his 
side as also from the condition of his head, managed to reach the 
body of the Corporal, and found relief in pillowing his bleeding head 
on the breast of the dead man. After a time a little dog from the 
garrison approached. Captain Greg managed to induce the intelli- 
gent animal to seek help. It went to a fishing party of three men, 
a mile or more away, and brought them to the rescue. Captain Greg 
was carried to the fort and recovered from his woimds. 

On November 2d, 1778, two white boys, orphaned by Indians, 
were engaged in grinding a knife near the door of a settler's home 
not far from the fort at Wilkes-Barre. Mrs. Slocum, who had givea 
them a home, while about her household duties, heard a cry of dis- 
tress. Going to the door she saw an Indian scalping one of the boys 
with the knife the lads had been grinding. There were three Indians.. 
They then stole two of the Slocum children, one of them a girl five 
years old, and took to the woods, and were not seen again. This 
stolen daughter lived among the Indians to an old age, becoming the 
wife of a Chief and raising two daughters. Her father, Jonathan 
Slocum, and an uncle, were killed and scalped by Indians, soon after 
her capture, while in a field foddering cattle. 

In July, 1779, three men and two boys at work in a com field,^ 
near Fort Freeland, Pa., were attacked by skulking Indians. Three 



Seneca Warriors Torture Helpless Whites. 53 

of the whites were taken prisoners and one escaped. Benjamin 
Vincent, aged 10, hid himself in a fuirow, then while running for the 
■woods nearby to hide, was captured. An Indian thrust a bloody 
scalp in the lad's face, and he recognized the hair as being that of 
his brother Isaac. 

As a number of settlers were leaving their homes near Fort 
Freeland, for fear of the Indians, they were fired at Mrs. Dunham's 
infant was killed by a bullet while in the arms of its mother, wiho 
fell wounded. An Indian struck her on the head with a tomahawk 
•and then removed her scalp. After the Indians had disappeared 
several men came to care for the dead. Mrs. Dunham raised up 
^and asked for a drink of water. One of the men brought water in his 
"hat from the river and gave her to drink. She was taken in a canoe 
to Northumberland, cared for by Dr. Plunkett, and lived 50 years. 

^On the '26th of April, 1779, thirteen inhabitants of Fort Munsey 
while himting horses that had strayed away, went about five miles 
into the woods, when they vwre attacked by a large number of 
Indians and aB killed or taken prisoners except one man. 

No authenticated act of extreme brutality on the part of Seneca 
warriors revealed their unrestrained rage and their resourcefulness 
in torturing a helpless victim, more clearly than the manner in which 
they killed Lieut. Thomas Boyd, whose detachment of 29 men was 
ambushed west of the Genesee River, September 13, 1779, while 
moving in advance of the main body of Sullivan's army. Boyd's 
force had been sent forward to reconoiter. They spent the night in 
an abandoned Indian village. The next morning, while in pursuit 
of a small body of Indians, they were ambushed by several hundred 
reds. Only nine of the Americans escaped death. Six bodies, 
tomahawked and scalped, were found at the place of ambush. Lieut. 
Boyd and seven others were taken prisoners, and compelled to suffer 
the most -cruel tortures, prolonged till human endurance was 
exhausted. Lieutenant Boyd and an Indian serving with him as a 
scout, were taken four miles eastward, to an Indian village, stripped, 
tied to trees, severely whipped, their tongues cut out, their finger 
and toe nails pulled out, their eyes plucked out, pieces of flesh cut 
from their bodies, their scalps stripped off, pitch-pine splinters stuck 
in their bodies and set on fire, and finally their heads were cut off. 

Throughout the year 1780 killing of whites was of frequent 
occurrence all along the northern and western frontiers of Pennsyl- 
vania. Near Fort Pitt, in August, 1780, five men cutting grain saw 



54 Treaty After Treaty With the Six Nations. 

a few Indians. Following after them these settlers ran into an ambush 
of forty warriors. Four of the whites were killed and one taken 
prisoner. The next day the captive was rescued. 

On the 7th of April, 1782, Indians took a woman and four child- 
ren away from the Wyoming. 

At Hanover, July 8th, two Jameson boys and Asa Chapman, 
were riding horses from Nanticoke to Wilkes-Barre, when they 
suddenly saw some Indians, who immediately fired. John Jameson, 
pierced by three bullets, fell from his horse dead ; Chapman, mortally 
wounded, clung to his saddle whUe his horse ran. He reached home 
and died several hours later in his wife's arms. The otlier Jameson 
boy escaped. Three weeks later a man, woman and two children 
were murdered by Indians near Catawissa. 

Major John Erwin, wrote to a friend from Fort Pitt, [now Pitts- 
burgh, Pa J under date of May 12th, 1791 : " We have got perfectly 
easy on the subject of tomahawking and scalping, as it happens 
every two or three days. It is probable I may not have the pleasure 
of writing you again, as I believe my scalp would be very acceptable 
to our swarthy neighbors." 

With the renewal of Indian hostilities in the northwest at the 
time the Six Nations were disputing the right of the whites to occupy 
the Genesee Coimtry, and attendant attacks by roving war-parties 
upon isolated settlements, there was every reason to justify fears 
of like savage atrocities along the frontier of Western New York. 

It was not xmtil the fifth of a succession of treaties had been held 
with the Senecas and their associated tribes, that the grievances of 
the natives were so placated that they agreed to a complete 
and final surrender of the soil of the Genesee Country to the whites, 
giving settlers assurance that homes would remain free from 
attacks, and that the scalp of a solitary white, whether traveler, 
hunter or farmer, would not be stripped off and carried away as a 
trophy, by some revengeful or blood-thirsty savage on a stiU hunt. 

The first of the series of treaties was that entered into at Buffalo 
Creek, in 1788; the second was the Treaty of Canandaigua, in 1789 ;. 
the third was the Treaty of Tioga Point, in 1790 ; the fourth was the 
Treaty of Painted Post, in 1791, and the fifth was the Second Treaty 
of Canandaigua, held in November, 1894, under which all former 
agreements entered into by the Iroquois were recognized and ratified. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 

CHAPTER XIII. 
Council Fire Lighted at Tioga Point in 1790. 

OWING TO THE critical situation in which frontier settlers 
of Western New York were placed, due to wide-spread trouble 
with Indians along the New York, Pennsylvania and North- 
western frontiers, on request of Secretary of War Knox, made soon 
after Robert Morris purchased 1,264,000 acres of the Genesee 
Country, the pressing of land sales ceased, pending adjustment of 
grievances. In this matter Secretary Knox was given the earnest 
support of President Washington. 

The Council was held at Tioga Point with a view to drawing the 
Indians likely to attend, as far as possible away from the Niagara 
Frontier, and to render unlikely the presence of Joseph Brant, the 
Mohawk War-Chief, who was wielding great influence as leader of 
bellicose members of the Iroquois Federation. 

Having sent notices to the Indians interested in the matter, ta 
attend a treaty meeting at Tioga Point, Colonel Pickering arranged 
to have on hand the custumary supplies of food and drink, and a 
large and varied stock of presents for his guests. Five thousand 
and eight hundred weight of treaty goods were shipped up the 
Susquehanna River in boats, to Tioga Point, by Matthias HoUenback, 
pioneer Indian trader and merchant of Wilkes-Barre and Newtown. 
The invoice included four barrels of rum, one keg of spirits, one 
cask and two kegs of tobacco, a box of pipes, a barrel of hoes, and 
numerous bales and wooden packages. These articles were in 
addition to the fat cattle, com and other provisions necessary to feed 
about 700 savage guests, each with a stomach capacity of three ordin- 
ary human beings, from the time of their arrival at Tioga Point 
until the last Chief had had his final say, a treaty had been signed 
and every link in the chain of friendship brightened by the handing 
out the gifts. 

Colonel Pickering and his party arrived at Tioga Point the 17th 
of October, 1790, to conduct the treaty. After twelve days of wait- 

55 



56 Col. Pickering Entertains Chiefs and Their Squaws. 

ing Indians began to straggle in. On the 15th of November about 
300 Senecas arrived. Writing to his wife, Colonel Pickering said : 
"They are of all ages, some very old and some infants. Last 
evening, agreeable to my invitation, the Chiefs came to smoke a pipe 
with me, drink grog, and eat our bread, butter and cheese. This 
morning they have sent me a message that their ladies would make 
me a visit I did not invite them, but I must receive them in the 
same manner I did the Chiefs." 

Jesse McQuigg, who settled at Owego, in 1788, saw a large num- 
ber of Indians pass down the Susquehanna River by that place to 
attend the Treaty at Tioga Point In after years he recalled the 
incident saying : " I saw the Indians coming in their canoes. There 
was a large number of canoes ; four to six Indians in a canoe. There 
were a good many squaws and young Indians. The canoes were 
of bark." 

While Samuel Cook, an early settler of the town of Erwin, at 
this time, was working his way up the river in a boat, with his wife 
and children walking along the shore, at the Chemung Narrows they 
met a party of Indians on foot on their way down to Tioga Point 
At first the wife and children were greatly frightened, but the Indians 
saluted them kindly. The Indians had their hunting outfits, in- 
cluding tomahawks and scalping knives ; some of the braves carried 
flint-lock muskets. Leggings, loin-cloths, blankets, feathers in their 
hair, moccasins with various porcupine quill and bead ornaments, 
completed their costumes. 

On November 16th, 1790, the Indians lit the Council Fire, and 
Colonel Pickering made the opening address, saying : 

"Brethren, Sachems, Chiefs, and Warriors of the Six Nations: 
I bid you a hearty welcome to this Council Fire, and thank the Great Spirit 
who has brought us together in safety, although I sincerely lament the 
cause of our meeting. I mean the murder of our brothers of your Nation 
on Pine Creek." 

Colonel Pickering then presented his commission and had it 
interpreted and explained. He declared he came to give satisfaction 
for the murders that had been committed by the whites, and to 
brighten the chain of friendship. 

Farmer's Brother arose and replied, saying in part : 
" Brother : We thank the Great Spirit, who has appointed this day in 
which we sit side by side, and look with earnestness on each other. We 
know you have been long waiting for us, and suppose you have often 
stretched your neck to see if we were coming." 



Red Jacket Indulges in Impassioned Oration. 57 

Red Jacket, in a preliminary speech, said : 

" You have pulled the hatchet out of our heads, but have only cast it 
behind you. You may take it up again. Brother, while the hatchet lies 
unburied, we cannot sit easy on our seats. Brother, from the time we have 
made peace with the United States we have experienced more trouble than 
ever before. The United States have also had their troubles." 

Colonel Pickering, replying to Red Jacket, explained that he came 
in the name of the President of the United States and the Council of 
Pennsylvania, not only to pull the hatchet out of their heads, but to 
bury it ; that " the United States has no wish but to live with you as 
brothers in perpetual peace." He then drank their health and served 
them each a drink of rum. 

Then, on request of Farmer's Brother, the Council was adjourned 
for two days, to await the arrival of Fish Cafrier, from Grand River. 

Red Jacket was the principal advocate of his race at the Treaty 
of Tioga. He was neither a hunter nor a warrior. Once asked by 
a white man respecting his deeds of bravery. Red Jacket drew him- 
self up proudly and exclaimed : " / am an orator; I was born an 
orator P' When it came to moving his people at a Council Fire by 
the power of speech, and nerving the warriors to take the war-path. 
Red Jacket had no equal among the Indian chiefs of his day. Corn- 
planter did not attend this Council, which continued eight days. The 
most of the Indians present were Senecas, for it was largely their 
affair, but Oneidas, Onondagas euid Cayugas were on hand in goodly 
numbers, also a small party of Chippewas, and and a number of 
Stockbridge Indians with their Chief, Hendrick Apamaut, a firm 
friend of the Americans. The chiefs most active were Red Jacket, 
Little Billy, Hendrick Apamaut, and Fish Carrier. 

Red Jacket brought up the land grievances in a speech which in 
part follows. He spoke in the Seneca tongue. Much of the pith 
and point of his address was lost in the interpretation. Enough of 
the speech was recorded, however, to convey a clear idea of the 
occasion. Said Red Jacket : 

" Brother : Now begin to hear the situation of our lands. Mr. Phelps 
and Doctor Benton came on to rake open the Council Fire again at Canade- 
sago. After they were come there, Mr. Phelps went to Niagara, and there 
went to our old friend Colonel Butler, whom he met at a tavern. Colonel 
Butler asked him his business. He answered that he came to kindle a fire 
at Canadesago. Then Colonel Butler told him that Canadesago was not a 
fit place in which to kindle a fire, and that it was our custom to kindle a 
fire at oiu: own Castle. Colonel Butler told him he thought he must build 



58 Red Jacket Declares Indians Were Deceived. 

a fire at Buffalo Creek ; and if 'he did, that he should attend the Treaty. 

" Mr. Phelps expressed his fears that if he held the Treaty there he 
would meet with some diflftculty. 

"Then I, Billy, and Heap-of-Dogs, went to Canadesago, took Mr. 
Phelps by the hand and led him to our Coimcil Fire at Buffalo Creek. 

" All these people here know what speech Mr. Phelps sent us. — [Point- 
ing to Farmer's Brother, Billy and others.] — ^These went to Canadesago to 
see what the business was. These all know, and Mr. Phelps knows, that 
Mr. Phelps held up a long paper, with a seal as big as my hand. When he 
opened his mind to us, we took it hard. We wanted to keep a piece of land 
but it was not in our power. 

" Mr. Sweet, [pointing to him seated on a bench], you know very well 
a Treaty was held all night to fix the boundary, and the price of the land. 
These men, Mr. Smith, Farmer's Brother, O'Beel [Cornplanter], Little Billy 
and Heap-of-Dogs, China Breast Plate and I were there, — know very well 
the proposal was that Mr. Phelps should give us ten thousand dollars for 
the purchase, and five hundred dollars annual rent. That was the agree- 
ment made that night. 

" The bargain was not finished till morning, and just as we went out of 
the house the sun rose. Then we sought for persons to draw the writings. 
The persons chosen were Mr. Kirkland, Colonel Butler and Captain Brant. 
Mr. Street was not then present. 

" After this, the bargain being completed, Mr. Street took our papers 
with him to Niagara. 

" And last Summer, a year ago, we came to Canandaigua, expecting to 
receive ten thousand dollars, and then found that we had but five thousand 
dollars to receive. When we discovered the fraud we had in mind to apply 
to Congress, to see if the matter could not be rectified ; for when we took 
the money and shared it, everyone here knows, that we had but about a 
dollar apiece for all that country. 

" Mr. Sweet, you very well know what our land came to was but the 
price of a few hogsheads of tobacco. 

" Gentlemen who stand by : [looking around and addressing himself to 
the white people who were present]: do not think hard of what has been 
said. 

" At the time of the Treaty, twenty broaches would not buy half a loaf 
of bread, so that when we returned home, there was not a bright spot of 
silver about us. 

"The last Spring, General Chapin stretched out his hand to us to open 
a little Fire at Big Tree Flats; and then I had a little talk with him, and 
finding that we had but a shilling apiece to receive, we desired him to shut 
up his hand again. This is all we have to say of that time. 

" Mr. Street knows how hard it is for us to part with our land. 

"And this we have said because we want the Preadent to know how 
we have been treated. 



Indians Want Chain of Friendship Brightened. 59 

"Now Brother — [addressing Colonel Pickering] — of the Thirteen 
States; You must open your ears. You know what has happened 
respecting our lands. You told us that from this time the chain of friend- 
ship should be brightened. 

" Now, Brother, we have begun to brighten the chain of friendship, and 
we will follow the steps of our forefathers. We will take those steps that 
we may sit easy, and choose where and how long our seats should be. 

" The reason we send this message is, that the President, who is over 
all the Thirteen States, may make our seats easy. We do it that the chain 
of friendship may be brightened with the Thirteen States, as well as with 
the British ; that we may pass from one to the other unmolested. 

" Brother : This is what your brothers. Chiefs and Warriors, have to 
say to you, relative to brightening the chain of friendship. We wish to be 
under the protection of the Thirteen States as well as of the British. 

" Brother : Mr. Phelps did not purchase, but he leased the lands. We 
opened our ears and understood the land was leased. This happened to 
us from our not knowing papers. Here they are and you may see what 
they contain." 

Here Red Jacket handed to Colonel Pickering certain papers, 
including a copy of the deed that was given to Oliver Phelps at the 
treaty of Buffalo Creek, and an accompanying bond for five hundred 
dollars a year annual rental, vi^hich Mr. Phelps gave the Indians at 
that time. 

Without doubt Red Jacket, acting under the advice of his British 
friends at Fort Niagara, went to Tioga Point determined to make 
trouble. But for the good nature, self-control and tact of Colonel 
Proctor, and the support of other Americans skillful in dealing w^ith 
Indians, Red Jacket would have broken up the Council, in which 
case there is no telling where the resulting flames of strife would 
have spread to. 

Thomas Morris, whose father, Robert Morris, of Philadelphia, 
had purchased of Phelps and Gorham a large share of the Genesee 
Country, was present at the Treaty, and his deportment so pleased 
the Indians that they formally adopted him as an expression of good 
will. 

The final meeting of the Cormcil was held November 23, when 
the ceremonies terminated with mutual pledges of friendship. The 
land grievances were discussed but no action could be taken. 

Colonel Pickering at once left for Philadelphia, the seat of the 
United States Govenmaent, to make his report. He advised that a 
Great Council of the Sbc Nations be held, to clear up all questions in 
dispute and strengthen the bonds of peace. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XIV. 
Cornplanter Makes Direct Appeal to Washington. 

WfflLE COLONEL PICKERING, by direction of President 
Washington, was arranging and conducting a Great Council 
with the Iroquois Indians at Tioga Point, in 1790, to " wipe 
the tears from the eyes " of relatives of Indians slain by whites, in 
Pennsylvania, Cornplanter arranged for a conference with "The 
Great White Chief of the Thirteen Fires," in Philadelphia, to take 
up the larger question of the right of the Iroquois Confederacy to 
occupy, in peace, so much of their ancient hunting grounds and 
agricultural lands as might be necessary to their existence. 

Cornplanter fully realized the position in which the Indians were 
placed, as the result of the defeat of the British by the United States, 
and feared the destruction of his people if they should disturb the 
white settlers. He was mindful of the interests of the Iroquois, and 
sought by diplomacy to gain from the United States the greatest 
possible concessions. He was the constant target of envious rivals 
of his own race. He was forced, in order to hold the support of his 
people, to make demands on the United States that he must have 
known could not be granted. 

Cornplanter went to Philadelphia, accompanied by the Seneca 
Sachems Half-Town and Big-Tree. All three were noted for their 
earnest striving to keep their tribes quiet With them officials of 
the Federal Government held a series of conferences, beginning in 
December, 1790, and ending in February, 1791, At that time an 
Indian war cloud was looming up large and black beyond the Ohio, 
where some 5,000 savages in war paint were practicing the most 
extreme cruelties upon the whites, regardless of age or sex, when- 
ever occasion afforded them a chance to use gun, torch, tomahawk 
or scalping knife. Their aim was to compel the United States to 
make the Ohio River a permanent frontier boundary line. 

On the 1st day of December, 1790, the three Chiefs met Presi- 
dent Washington, and after an exchange of courteous greetings, 

60 



Phelps Threatened Indians With Immediate War. 61 

presented a signed address. They stated their grievances in the 
most pathetic language and asked for redress. The document was 
long. We present portions having to do with Indian affairs in the 
Genesee Country : 

" Father : When your army entered the Country of the Six Nations, 
we called you The Town Destroyer; and to this day, when that name is 
heard, our women look behind them and turn pale, and our children 
cling close to the necks of their mothers. 

" When you gave us peace, we called you Father, because you promised 
to secure us in the possession of our lands. Do this, and so long as the 
lands shall remain, that beloved name shall live in the heart of every 
Seneca. 

" When our Chiefs returned from the Treaty of Fort Stanwix, and laid 
before our Council what had been done there, our Nation was surprised to 
hear how great a country you had compelled them to give to you, without 
your paying anything for it. Everyone said that your hearts were swelled 
against us for what had happened during the war. But your anger must 
by this time be cooled. 

" Your Commissioners when they drew the line, which separated the 
land then given up to you from that which you agreed should be ours, did 
most solemnly promise that we should be secure in the peaceable possession 
of the lands which we inhabited east and north of that line. 

" Our Nation empowered John Livingston — [head of the 999-Year Lease 
scheme] — to let out our land on rent to be paid to us. He toM us he was 
sent by Congress to do this for us, and we fear he has deceived us in the 
writing he has obtained from us — ^for, since the time of our giving that 
power, a man of the name of Phelps has come among us, and claimed our 
whole country northward of the line of Pennsylvania, under purchase from 
that man Livingston. He claimed the whole country north of Pennsylvania 
and west of lands belonging to the Cayugas. He demanded it; he 
insisted on his demand, and declared he would have it alL He threatened 
us with immediate war if we did not comply. Upon this threat our Chiefs 
held a Council, and they agreed that no event of war could be worse than 
to be driven, with their wives and children, from the only country which 
we had any right to, and therefore, weak as our Nation was, they determin- 
ed to take the chance of war rather than to submit to such unjust demands, 
which seemed to have no bounds. 

" Street, the great trader at Niagara, was then with us, having come at 
the request of Phelps, and as he ahvays professed to be our friend, we 
consulted him on this subject. He told us that our lands had been ceded 
by the King, and we must give them up. 

"Astonished at what we heard from every quarter, with hearts aching 
with compassion for our women and children, we were thus compelled to 
give up all our country north of Pennsylvania and east of the Genesee 
River, up to the Fork, and east of the south Une drawn from that Fork to 
the Pennsylvania line. 



62 Red Jacket Closes Address With Pathetic Appeal. 

"Phelps agreed to pay for the land ten thousand dollars in hand and 
one thousand dollars a year forever, but he paid only two thousand five 
hundred in hand, and last Spring when we went to Phelps to receive oiu" 
money, he offered us no more than five hundred dollars, and insisted that 
he had agreed with us for that amount to be paid yearly. 

"We could bear this confusion no longer, and determined to pass 
through every difficulty, and lift up our voice, that you might hear us, and 
to claim that security in the possession of our lands which your Commis- 
sioners so solemnly promised us. And we now entreat you to inquire into 
our complaint and redress our wrongs. Are you determined to crush us? 
If you are, tell us so, that we may know what to do. One Chief has said 
he would ask you to put him out of pain ; another, who would not think 
of dying by the hand of his father or his brother, has said he will retire to 
the Chaieaugay, eat the fatal root, and sleep with his fathers in peace. 

" Before you determine on a measure so unjust, look up to God, who 
made us as well as you. We hope he will not permit you to destroy the 
whole of our Nation. 

" Father, hear oin: case ! Many nations inhabited this Country, but 
they had no wisdom, and therefore they warred together. The Six Nations 
were powerful and compelled them to peace. The lands for a great extent 
were given up to them ; but the nations, which were not destroyed, all 
continued on these lands, and claimed the protection of the Six Nations as 
the brothers of their fathers. They were men, and when at peace they had 
a right to live upon the earth. 

"The French came among us and built Fort Niagara ; they became our 
fathers, and took care of us. Sir William Johnson took that fort from the 
French ; he became our father and promised to take care of us, and did so 
until you were too strong for his King. To him we gave four miles arovmd 
Niagara as a place to trade. We have already said how we came to join 
against you ; we saw you were strong ; we wished for peace ; you demand- 
ed that a great country be given up to you ; it was surrendered to you as 
the price of peace, and we ought to have peace and possession of the httle 
land which you then left us. 

" The lands we have been speaking of belonged to the Six Nations. No 
part of it ever belonged to the King of England, and he could not give it to 
you. The land we live on our fathers received from the Great Spirit, and 
they committed it to us, for our children, and we cannot part with it 

" Innocent men of our Nation are killed, one after another, and of our 
best families; but none of your people who have committed the murder 
have been punished. 

"Weareashamed that we have listened to the lies of Livingston, or 
have been influenced by the threats of Phelps, and would hide the whole 
transaction from the world and from ourselves, by quietly receiving what 
Phelps promised to give us for the lands they cheated us out of; but as 
Phelps will not even pay us according to that fraudulent bargain, we will 
lay the whole proceeding before your court." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XV. 
President Washington Replies to Indian Chiefs. 

PRESIDENT WASHINGTON, on December 29th, 1790, submitted 
a reply to the address of Complanter, Half -Town and Big- 
Tree, in which he assured them he had received their speech 
with satisfaction, and had given it careful attention, as also the 
speeches that had been delivered at the Council held at Tioga Point 
the last month. 

President Washington informed the Indian chiefs, that the 
power to treat with them for the disposal of their lands, had been 
vested in the United States. He said : 

" No State, nor person, can purchase your lands, unless at some public 
Treaty, held under the authority of the United States. The General 
Government will never consent to your being defrauded, but will protect 
you in all your just rights. 

" The General Government considers itself bound to protect you in all 
the lands secured to you by the Treaty ot Fort Stanwix, on the 22d of 
October, 1784, excepting such parts as you may have fairly sold to persons 
properly authorized to purchase of you. 

" You complain that John Livingston and Oliver Phelps, assisted by 
Mr. Street, of Niagara, have obtained your lands, and that they have not 
complied with their agreement 

" It appears, upon inquiry of the Governor of New York, that John 
Livingston was not legally authorized to treat with you, and that every- 
thing he did with you has been declared null and void, so that you may 
rest easy on that account. 

" But it does not appear, from any proofs yet in the possession of the 
Government, that Oliver Phelps has defrauded you. If, however, you 
have any just cause to complain against him, and can make satisfactory 
proof thereof, the Federal courts will be open to you for redress, as to all 
other persons. 

" The murders that have been committed on some of your people, by 
some bad white men, I sincerely lament and reprobate ; and I earnestly 

63 



64 Chiefs Declare Government Agents Dishonest. 

hope that the real murderers will be secured and punished as they deserve. 
This business has been sufficiently explained to you here, by the Governor 
of Pennsylvania ; and by Colonel Pickering, in behalf of the United States, 
at Tioga. The Senecas may be assured that the rewards offered for the 
apprehension of the murderers, will be continued until they are secured for 
trial, and that when they shall be apprehended, they will be tried and 
punished as if they had killed white men." 

President Washington concluded with an appeal to the Senecas 
and Six Nations, not to be drawn into the murders and depredations 
being committed by the " several tribes who reside at the Miami 
village," who had long continued attacks upon the frontiers lying 
along the Ohio River, saying : 

" My desire is, that you would caution all the Senecas and Six Nations, 
to prevent their lash young men from joining the Maumee Indians ; for 
the United States cannot distinguish between the tribes to which bad 
Indians belong, and every tribe must take care of their own people." 

President Washington promised to have an agent of the United 
States dwell among the Senecas and Six Nations. A sum of money 
or goods was promised to Cornplanter, " as a mark of esteem," and 
" suitable presents to the other chiefs in Philadelphia." 

On January 19th, 1791, the three chiefs, still remaining in Phila- 
delphia, held another conference with President Washington. They 
reiterated their dissatisfaction with the Treaty of Fort Stanwix, and 
said too much land had been taken from them. They asked to have 
portions of this land, lying in Western Pennsylvania, returned to 
them, saying : 

" Father : It is the land in which Half -Town and all his people live. 
They grew out of this land, and their fathers' fathers grew out of it, and 
they cannot be persuaded to part with it. We therefore entreat you to 
restore to us this little piece. 

" Father : You say you will appoint an agent to take care of us. Let 
him come and take care of our trade ; but we desire that he may not have 
anything to do with our lands ; for the agents which have come amongst 
us, and pretended to take care of us, have always deceived us whenever we 
sold lands;— both when the King of England and when the States have 
bargained with us. They have by this means occasioned many wars, and 
we are therefore unwilling to trust them again. 

Father : We are ashamed that we have listened to the lies of 
Livingston, or been influenced by threats of war by Phelps, and would hide 
the whole transaction from the world, and from ourselves, by quietly 
receiving what Phelps has promised to give us for the lands they 
cheated us out of. But as Phelps will not pay us even for that fraudulent 
bargain, we will lay the whole proceeding before your court. When the 



Indians Ask For Vocational Teachers. 65 

evidence which we can produce is heard, we think that it will appear that 
the whole bargain was founded on lies, which he placed one upon another ; 
that the goods which he charges to us, were plundered from us ; that if 
Phelps was not directly concerned in the theft, he knew of it at the time 
and concealed it from us, and that the persons we confided in were bribed 
by him to deceive us in the bargain. 

" Father : The blood which was spilled near Pine Breek is covered — 
[alluding to action taken at the Council held by Colonel Pickering at Tioga 
Point] — and we shall never look where it lies. We know that Pennsylvania 
will satisfy us. The chain of friendship will now, we hope, be as strong as 
you desire it to be. We will hold it fast, and our end of it shal} never rust 
in our hands. 

" Father : You give us leave to speak our mind concerning the tilling 
of the ground. We ask you to teach us to plow and to grind corn ; to 
assist us to build saw mills ; and to supply us with broad-axes, saws, augurs 
and tools, so that we can make our houses more comfortable and more 
durable ; and that you will send smiths among us ; and, above all, that you 
will teach our children to read and write, and our women to spin and 
weave.'' 

Nine days later. President Washington again gave audience to 
Cornplanter and the chiefs associated vyith him on the mission, and 
made a brief reply to their second address. He said in part : 

" While you complain of the Treaty of Fort Stanwix, in 1784, you seem 
to entirely forget that you, yourselves — the Cornplanter, Half-Town and 
Big-Tree — with others of your Nation, confirmed by the Treaty of Fort 
Harmar, upon the Muskingum, so late as the 9th of January, 1789, the 
boundary marked out by the Treaty of Fort Stanwix, and that in consider- 
ation thereof, you then received goods to a considerable amount. The lines 
fixed at Fort Stanwix and FortHarmar must therefore remain established." 

President Washington promised to promote the prosperity of the 
Senecas, by having them taught agriculture and the care and use of 
domestic animals. 

On the 8th of February, 1791, the Cornplanter, New-Arrow, 
Half-Town, Big-Tree and their associates, left Philadelphia for home. 
They were provided with money, provisions, and a liberal supply of 
presents. They sent word to President Washington, from Pittsburgh, 
while on their way up the river, under date of March 16th, 1791, 
telling him that while they had been well treated and helped 
"through the whole Quaker State " until they came near Fort Pitt, 
nevertheless one of their wagons loaded with presents had been 
detained. In the same communication these chiefs complained : 

" Since we came here we find that some of our people have been killed 
—the good, honest people who were here trading. Three men and one 



66 Indian Chiefs Robbed By Force of Militia. 

woman have been killed at Beaver Creek. Our word is pledged to you 
that we would endeavor to make peace with all warrior nations. If we 
cannot do it, do not blame us ; you struck the innocent men first ; your 
people have first broke good rules." 

In a separate message to the President, Complanter said : 

" We part to-day in this place. Big-Tree is going among the cross 
Indians, to see if they will make peace, and I go to my own people to call 
them to Council." 

Secretary of War Knox, under date of March 28th, 1791, answer- 
ed this letter of complaint, promising that Major-General St. Clair, 
the Great Warrior of the United States on the Ohio, would inquire 
into the matter, " and will comfort the relations and friends of the 
persons who were killed, and will make compensation for the horses 
and other property that were taken at Big Beaver." He added : " By 
this time, it is to be hoped, that Colonel Proctor will have set off for 
the Miami Indians. Take care of him, and assist him in the good 
work of peace." 

Later, while Cornplanter and his party of Indians were going 
up the river, one of their boats, containing a large amount of goods, 
was taken from them and they were turned back to Fort Pitt, by a 
company of roving Militiamen, commanded by an over-zealous officer. 
Major Guthrie, of Westmoreland County, in an official report to the 
government described the plundered boat, as "belonging to the con- 
tractor, on its way to the garrison at Venango, and which had on 
board the goods which the United States and the State of Pennsylva- 
nia presented to Cornplanter and his party." 

The Secretary oi War on learning of the outrage, at once 
ordered that restitution be made to the Indians. 

It was in connection with the series of conferences held with 
these Iroquois chiefs in Philadelphia, that President Washington 
directed that Colonel Proctor be sent on a mission of peace to the 
Indians of the Northwest. 

While Cornplanter and his associates were en route to their 
homes, by way of Fort Pitt and up the rivers. Colonel Proctor was 
journeying by way of Reading, the Wyoming, Tioga Point, New- 
town and the Painted Post, up the Conhocton and over the divide 
to the Genesee, thence to the home of Complanter on the Alleghany 
River, and to Indian villages in the vicinity of Lake Erie. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Coming and Vicinity. 



CHAPTER XVI. 
Washington Sends Proctor On Peace Mission. 

PRESIDENT WASHINGTON, before the War of the Revolution, 
on various occasions was in command of troops in Indian wars. 
In these campaigns he achieved prominence that led to his be- 
ing chosen by the Continental Congress as Commander-in-Chief of the 
American forces. During the war with Great Britain, in addition to 
fighting the red coats, he had long frontier lines to protect, as best 
he could, against the warriors of various savage tribes who were 
continually stirred to action by British officers and British emissa- 
ries. The British furnished arms and supplies to their savage allies, 
a practice followed by Sir William Johnson, when in charge of Indian 
affairs prior to the Revolution. Johnson even paid premiums for 
scalps of French and of Indians in alliance with France. The net 
result of this long-continued policy of the British was to nourish 
animosities that took firm and deep root in the breasts of the 
Iroquois Indians and associated tribes, and rankled long after the 
independence of this Nation was acknowledged by the Crown. 

The most perplexing and difficult problem that confronted the 
administration of President Washington, was to reach an under- 
standing with the natives that would render possible the peaceable 
and progressive settlement of their lands by the whites. To this end 
his knowledge of Indian characteristics, and his skill as a diplomat 
and a military strategist, were directed. He prevented Indian 
uprisings, and warded off the shedding of blood, by keeping up nego- 
tians and holding treaties with disgruntled Indians, whenever pos- 
sible. But, nevertheless, there were some bitter Indian wars waged 
during his occupancy of the Presidential office. 

The Treaty of Tioga Point, in 1790, and the visit of Complanter, 
Half -Town and Big-Tree to Philadelphia soon after, were important 
links in the chain of events that led to the holding of the Treaty of 

67 



68 The Whole Northwestern Frontier Aflame. 



"the Painted Post," in the Summer of 1791. A third and important 
link in this chain, was the journey of Colonel Thomas Proctor, as a 
special representative or commissioner of the United States, to the 
Indian villages of Western New York, immediately following the 
conferences held with Complanter and his party, by President Wash 
ingtcHi and other Federal officers, at Philadelphia, Indian grievances 
were then at high tide. The trip required courage, for west of the 
Painted Post it was through a wide stretch of territory whose only 
inhabitants were savages, the men eager to take the war-path and 
repeat the scenes enacted at Wyoming, 

The turbulent tribes "ncHthward of the Ohio Rfver and south- 
ward of the Great Lakes" numbered 5,000 warriors and 15,000 
women, children and old men. This enumeration did not include 
the Indians of New York and Pennsylvania. These Indians of the 
Northwest insisted that the United States " keep trappers, traders 
and settlers " from crossing the Ohio. Matters had gone from bad to 
worse, until the whole Northwestern frontier was aflame. 

On September 18th, 1789, President Washington requested Con- 
gress to make provision for raising and sending troops against the 
Wabash Indians. In the Fall of 1790, a military expedition was sent 
to punish the defiant Wabash Indians and their allies. This expedi- 
tion, 1,453 strong, crossed the Ohio, and up to November 4th, 1790, 
had succeeded in destroying a number of villages, killing 120 war- 
riors, burning 300 log houses and wigwams, and destroying a large 
amount of corn and vegetables, with a loss of 180 soldiers. But these 
aggressive acts stirred up a hornet's nest, and the year closed with 
the Indians of the Northwest unconquered and defying the United 
States. 

On January 15th, 1791, Secretary of War Knox, in a report to 
President Washington, declared it to be incumbent upon the United 
States, " to prepare immediately for another expedition against the 
Wabash Indians, to impress them strongly with the power of the 
United States." 

At that time the Sachems and War-Chiefs of the Northwest 
were calling upon all other tribesmen within reach of their runners 
to hasten to their aid. Joseph Brant, the Mohawk, constantly 
encouraged in mischief-making by the British Commander in Canada 
and various underlings, was endeavoring to bring about a union of 
all the tribes of the Northwest and Canada with the Six Nations. 



Brant Presses Indian Federation Propaganda. 69 

Joseph Brant had for a number of years been pressing this project. 
He had the sanction of a number of influential chiefs. 

Crown officers in command of forts at Niagara and Oswego, 
were nourishing forlorn hopes that a general rising of the Indians 
would somehow enable them to add a slice of Western New York 
and the Northwestern territory to the Province of Canada, 

In conducting the propaganda to bring about a federation of the 
various tribes, a ceremonial pipe was sent from the Six Nations 
to the Indians of the Wabash and the Miami, passed about at Council 
Fires, and smoked by every brave, squaw and child in each and all 
the tribes, as in like manner it had been passed through the tribes 
of the Six Nations. The purpose of the transaction was to signify 
that " We are all of one blood, and one family, and the Great Spirit 
is the Father of us all." 

During the Summer of 1790, runners were sent by the warring 
Indians of the Northwest to the Indians of Western New York, 
urging them to rise, saying that united they could overcome the 
encroaching whites and recover the lands of their fathers. 

In the Fall of 1790, the Shawnee Indians sent word to the Senecas 
that unless they declared immediate war on the white people, they 
would be cut off. The Shawnee chiefs charged the Six Nations 
with insincerity, saying that when they met in Council with them, 
the Chiefs of the Six Nations " Spoke from the outside of their lips, 
and not from their hearts, because they were beguiled by the whites.^' 

It was due to these gathering clouds of war, that ^' The Great 
White Father of the Thirteen Fires," in December, 1790, invited 
Complanter and other friendly Seneca Chiefs, to come to Philadel- 
phia. There it was made clear to the Cornplanter that the United 
States was able to and would punish all unruly Indians. It was 
agreed that Complanter should, with other friendly Indians of prom- 
inence, accompany Colonel Proctor on a message of peace, from 
Western New York to the Miami and Wabash Indians. 

On the 11th day of March, 1791, Secretary of War Knox handed 
a letter of instructions to Colonel Proctor, saying: 

" Having offered you the execution of a mission on the part of the 
United States to the Miami and Wabash Indians, and you having accepted 
the same, you are to receive these instructions as the rule of your conduct." 

Colonel Proctor was instructed to— 

— " immediately repair to the Complanter's residence, which is upon a 
branch of the Alleghany River, near the creek called Oil Creek, and make 



70 Colonel Proctor's Famous "Grasshopper." 



known to him your intentions, and deliver to him the speech herewith 
delivered to you for the Senecas and other Six Nations." 

Colonel Proctor was requested to induce as many Iroquois 
Indians as possible to go with him to meet the Northwest tribes 
The Secretary continued : 

" It is of the highest importance that you should set out without the 
least delay. Every moment after you set out on your journey must be 
most industriously employed, your reasonable expenses shall be borne by 
the public, and on this point you will be careful to set down your daily 
expenses. You shall be allowed $5 for each day while you are actually 
employed on this business. If you succeed in bringing the real chiefs of 
the Miami and Wabash Indians to a treaty, you shall receive the further 
sum of $500." 

In case of disability while on the mission. Colonel FVoctor was 
was to receive the pension of a Lieutenant-Colonel ; in case he lost 
his life, seven years' half -pay as a Lieutenant-Colonel was to go to 
his orphan children. 

" Captain Michael Gabriel Houdin, a French officer of reputation, who 
served in the late war in the Massachusetts line, will accompany you to the 
prosecution of this business. Your route will be from thisi city taSunbury, 
and thence either directly for that part of tbe Alleghany where the Corn- 
planter lives, or to Tioga Point, as you may find best.. If you go through 
the Wyoming, inquire for a Captain Baldwin, who has agreed to keep 
school among the Senecas, on account of the United States. You will keep 
your business a secret, and enjoin the same on Captain Houdin. You will 
keep a journal of your daily occurrences, and deliver to me a copy thereof 
when you shall deliver a report of your proceedings." 

Colonel Thomas Proctor commanded the regiment of artillery 
that accompanied General Sullivan on the expedition into the 
Genesee Coimtry in 1779. Pfoctor's artillery consisted of eight brass 
pieces, namely : two six-pounders,, four three-pouncfers, two howit- 
zers, and a light gun called a cohom, (for carrying either shot or 
shell). Colonel Proctor put legs (mi the wooden block with handles 
on which the cohorn was mounted, and placed it in a light boat that 
led the fleet up the Susquehaima River to Tioga Point. The cohom 
was fired occasionly to scare the natives. At every discharge of this 
quaint gun, it tumbled over backward in the boat. Hence it was 
called " the grasshopper." 

On that trip Colonel Proctor had charge of 214 loaded boats, 
manned by 450 members of his own regiment and 250 other soldiers. 
He also had a regimental band. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XVII. 
Colonel Proctor's Interesting Journal. 

THE JOURNAL of dciily occurrences kept by Colonel Proctor on 
his venturesome trip, is interesting, and of great value to one 
who desires to glimpse conditions in the land of the Iroquois 
at the most critical period of pioneer times. The quotations that 
follow summarize features and incidents that illustrate the joys 
and vicissitudes of first settler days in the Genesee Country. The 
"Journal " is of too great length to permit its presentation entire : 

March 12th, 1791.— Left the city of Philadelphia, accompanied 
by Captain M. G. Houdin, under a heavy rain, fully evidencing our 
intention to stop at no difficulties until we shall gain the settlement 
of Complanter, alias Captain O'Beel, one of the chiefs of the Seneca 
Nation, residing on the head waters of the Alleghany River. 

Our first setting out was big with difficulties, and forboded some 
extraordinary events, for on crossing the Perkiomen, Captain Hou- 
din's horse, after tasting the water, (which is customary with him), 
laid down in the same, and we were both nearly covered. On the 
horsd'rising immediately afterwards, the Captain's foot being fast in 
the stirrup, the horse made several lashes at him with its hind feet 
before he could disengage himself. Dined at Norrington. Staid 
this night with Major Swaine. 

March 13th.— Laying on double soles on pair of boots, 4s. 9d.; 
shoeing a horse, 3s.; horse feed, wine and bitters, 4s. 6d.; dinners, 
&c., at Pottsgrove, 9s. 4 l-2d. Halted for the night at Cimleses' 
Tavern ; 13s. lOd. 

March 14th.— Breakfasts, &c., at Reading, 9s. 4d-; purchase of a 
tomahawk, 3s. 6d. Proceeded to Caraher's Town. 

March 15th.— Set forward this morning on our journey by day- 
light ; breakfasted at Orwick's Tavern, 6s. 9d. Haller's Tavern, 

71 



72 Colonel Proctor Narrowly Escapes Drowning. 

refreshment, 5s. 7 l-2d. Halted for the night at Tresher's Tavern, 
With some danger forded the Little SchuylkilL On this day's journey 
we crossed tiie Blue Mountain. 

March 16th. — ^Dined at Leidenburg's Tavern. Lay this nijght at 
Hughsburg, at the house of George Knefferberger. 

March 17th. — Crossed the East Branch of the Susquehanna ; fed 
horses, &c., at Miller's Tavern, and paid, including ferriages over 
Fishing Creek and shoeing a horse^ 17s. 3d. Lay this night at Ber^ 
wick, a small town on the west side of the Susquehanna. 

March 18th. — Proceeded on our journey up the west side of the 
Susquehanna above 12 miles, and in endeavoring to go through the 
narrows, the river being exceedingly rapid, had a narrow escape of 
drowning myself and hor^, as was the case with Captain Houdin, 
With great difficulty we mounted the summit of a steep precipice^ 
being unable to return by tiie same defile we had passed through. 
From this I endeavored to go around the mountain which lay along 
the river, and after traveling one hour and a half, over the most 
rugged ground, and seeing no end of the ridge of mountains, we 
shaped our course through the woods to the place from which we 
started in the morning ; and, by the entreaty of our host, the ferry- 
man on the oi^x)site shore of the Susquehanna was prevailed upon 
to venture over the river with his flat, which he did with the 
assistance of four other men, and conducted us across. From thence 
we proceeded on the road to Wilksburg, by way of the mountain 
path, as dangerous for man and horse as possible to encounter. At 
9 o'clock at night we reached the first house in the settlement of 
Wyoming, but there being no feed for our horses, I hired a guide to 
conduct us to a place to lodge. 

March 19th.— Arrived at Wilksburg about 11 o'clock. Halted here 
for the night m order to rest our horses, which were much jaded. 

( I should have mentioned in its place, that I did not open the 
instructions I had received from the Secretary or war, before my 
arrival at Reading, owing to an intention with me that no person, 
not even any of my family, should know what errand I was sent upon.) 

Spent the afternoon at our lodging with Colonel Butler and 
Captain Grubb. The former was an officer of the Connecticut 
line and stationed here during the late wan Later in the evening 
I met Colonel Pickering, Prothonatory of the County, and late Adju- 
tant of the armies of the United States. Much show fell. 



Many Miles of Slashed But Uncleared Roads. 73' 

March 20th.— Set forward for Captain Waterman Baldwin's and' 
arrived there this evening. Halted for him part of two days as I had 
orders to take him with me to the residence of the Complanter, to act 
as instructor for the Indian youth. He was made a prisoner by the 
Cornplanter, and treated by him with remarkable tenderness. 

March 22d.— Ferriage to Captain Jenkins, passing the Fu-st Nar- 
rows of the Susquehanna, 7s. 6d. Paid for gammon, bread and 
spirits, 32s. 6d, to John Davis. Encamped in the woods 13 miles 
from Lahawanock, on the water of the Buttermilk Falls. 

March 23d.— The Susquehanna being so extremely high, and all 
the waters leading thereto, compelled us to leave the river road and 
go by that lately cut, (but not cleared), by John Nicholson, Esq., 
Comptroller-General of the State of Pennsylvania. Took dinner at 
the house of Ebenezer Stephens and purchased of him two bushels 
of oats he had for seed. Encamped this evening with some sugar 
boilers. The conductor of the works two days before lost most of 
his provisions by the upsetting of a canoe in the main branch of the 
Lahawanock, but of the provisions we had we gave them what we 
could spare, preserving what we thought would take us to Tioga 
Point, supposed 86 miles. 

The taking this road, which is cut about twenty feet in width, 
the trees lying across the same and in every direction, was not a 
matter of choice but of necessity, for the river road was impassable. 

March 24th.— We arrived at the cabin of Richard McNemera. 
Fed our horses with the com that we brought with us, for he had 
none but about two quarts for his own use. They, however, provid- 
ed us with a dish of rye coffee, (made fine with the pole of an axe 
on a smooth stone), and maple sugar as bright and well-tasted as the 
best 8d. sugar in Philadelphia. 

We were encamped early this afternoon under a very heavy 
storm of rain, thunder and lightning ; and, what is very remarkable, 
the snow was in general 15 inches deep. 

March 25th.— We still traveled the Nicholson's road, till we 
reached the one cut by Mr. Ellicott, Geographer of the United States, 
which leads to the Great Bend on the East Branch of the Susque- 
hanna. To describe these roads is hardly possible ; but to say the 
least, there is none can equal them for height of mountains and 
swampy valleys. Encamped ten miles from Tioga Point; heavy 
rain, as usual ; our horses worn down and ourselves more than com- 



74 Proctor Enters Warrior's Path at Painted Post. 

monly fatigued ; had naught to eat ourselves or for our horses. I 
may say, till we arrived at Tioga Point, to save our horses, we 
traveled on foot more than half the way from the town of Reading. 

March 26th.— We arrived at Tioga Point ; crossed to the flats ; 
paid carriage, 3s. 9d.; repair of horses' shoes, 5s. At Tioga Point I 
was compelled to purchase a pack-horse, as the route we had to take 
from the Painted Post to the Genesee was not inhabited — ^which by 
computation was 99 miles. Captain Baldwin also purchased another 
horse. From thence we proceeded on our way to Newtown Point; 
I took a guide named Peter ; in his own language, Ca-ya-u-tha, there 
being nothing but a blind path to the Genesee River. My 
retinue at this time amounted to three white men, one Indian and 
five horses. 

Sunday, March 25.— Dined at Mr. Isaac Baldwin's and halted 
for the night. Reviewed the ground on which the British and Indians 
were entrenched, better than a mile, against the forces under Major- 
General Sullivan. I saw many traces made by our round and grape 
shot against them, and a large collection of pieces of 5 1-2 inch shells 
which I had the pleasure of causing to be exploded among them. 

March 28. — Took breakfast at William Runn's ; four persons, 
6s.; oats and spirits, 7 l-2d. From thence we proceeded to the 
Painted Post, or Co-hoc-ton in the Indian language. Dined and 
refreshed our horses, it being the last house we should meet with ere 
we should reach the Genesee River. Here I was joined by George 
Slocum, who followed us from Wyoming, to place himself under our 
protection and assistance, until we should reach the Cornplanter's 
settlement on the headwaters of the Alleghany, to the redeeming of 
his sister from an unpleasing captivity of twelve years, to which end 
he begged our immediate interposition. 

On leaving the Painted Post we entered the Warrior's Path, on 
the north side of the Tioga River. We had not gone five miles upon 
the same, before we fixed our encampment, having completed 35 
miles this day, which was more than we had done any one day in 17 
days since we left Philadelphia, it having rained or snowed every 
day. Rained this night, as usual. 

March 29th.— Continued our route by the aforesaid path this 
day, through level land covered chiefly with hemlock timber and 
interspersed with sugar-tree bottoms, through which we frequently 
encountered deep sloughs and morasses. In one of them, which had 



Arrives at the Squawkey Hill Indian Village. 75 

the appearance of a long pond, varigated with shrubbery, Captain 
Baldwin, while leading our forage horse, was by a sudden check 
brought backward from the horse he was riding and immersed in the 
water so as to be entirely covered. The same fate had nearly hap- 
pened to myself, my war-horse's feet fastening between two trees, 
which lay on the bottom, of which he fell. All this night we had 
rain and with much difficulty could light a fire. It was piercing cold. 

March 30th.— We began our journey before sunrise ; on our way 
we discovered in many places fine land; and on this day passed three 
principal mountains, the last of which was the Alleghany, which 
divides the Tioga River from the Choshequa. The latter river runs 
through a fine flat. Here Captain John resides, and one white family. 
The next principal water we crossed is called in the Indian language 
the Connessegaro, from which it is called 12 miles to the Genesee 
River, where we were conducted by our Indian guide to the house of 
Captain Ebenezer Allen, about 10 o'clock at night, having rode hard 
and constant to reach it. I purchased of an Indian squaw one and 
a half bushels of com at the rate of a dollar and a half per bushel. At 
this place there was neither hay nor grass for our horses. 

March 31st. — This morning I found myself in a settlement of 
Indians called the SquawkeyTribe, but a branch of the Seneca Nation. 
Having no interpreter with me, I wrote a letter directed to Captain 
Allen or Horatio Jones, and sent it by a runner, by the way of Conne- 
wago, or at such place as where he could meet with either of them, 
requesting that whoever received it should repair to Squawkey Hill to 
meet me ; and should they meet any Indian chiefs or warriors, to 
invite them to meet me also, I having business of importance from 
General Washington, the President of the United States, to lay before 
the Nation. I at the same time dispatched two other runners, one 
to go to the several sugar camps adjacent, to give them the like 
information, and the other to repair to the habitations of Chiefs Big- 
Tree and Little-Beard, who resided about seven miles from hence 
and were deemed to be principal chiefs. To each runner I paid one 
dollar for his services. 

By the middle of the afternoon, and in the evening, several 
Indian warriors and chiefs arrived at Mr. Allen's habitation ; among 
the latter, Little-Beard, Stump-Foot and Black Chief; said Stump- 
Foot being the leader of the Squawkey settlement, located on high 
lands above the Genesee. 



76 Council Fire Uncovered at Squawkey Hill. 

April 1, — ^Horatio Jones, Indian interpreter, arrived this morn- 
ing, and about 11 o'clock there were about thirty-odd Indians collect- 
ed, agreeable to my invitation. Shortly afterward I convened them 
in Council, and introduced my message by some prefatory sentiments 
■touching on the candor and justice of the United States, and of the 
unexampled conduct of His Excellency, the President, in the late 
interview he had with the Complanter and others, who appeared as 
representatives of the Six Nations, by restoring to them all their 
lands which they feared was held from them by the power of 
the United States, by which act their situations in life were made 
comfortable ; and, as lasting, they should demean themselves friends 
of the United States, and by such a becoming deportment it would 
entail lasting happiness to their children's children. 

This simple introduction being ended, I read the message to 
them from the Honorable Secretary of War. They signified their 
approbation in their accustomed manner. Their answer was deliv- 
ered by Chief Little-Beard, their principal speaker, who said : 

" Brother of the Thirteen Fires : Hear what we have to say to 
you. The Great Spirit has spared us this day to meet together, and 
for you to let us know what has been done at Philadelphia for our Nation. 
You say that our lands are secured f oi us, and that the grant given by the 
Great Chief, General Washington, will last as long as the sun goes over us. 
This is the reason why we give great thanks — our lands being secured to 
our children's children ; and great reason we have for doing so. 

" Every one of us will wish well to the Great Chief, and our women and 
our children will thank him, and will look up to him as a strong sun for the 
protection of the right of their lands to them forever. 

" And you tell us what there is in a great paper in the hand of O'Beel 
[the Complanter], for us. Now we want you to show with your finger — 
[Make a map]— how large the lands are that are given to us." 

Colonel Proctor complied with this request, by tracing a rude 
map in the earthen floor of the Council place, and then he called to 
the minds of the Indians certain grants of land they had made. 

Chief Little-Beard said that their great warrior. Chief O'Beel, had 
arrived at Fort Pitt, from Philadelphia, and had sent out runners 
from there to summons the chiefs and warriors of the Six Nations to 
Buffalo, where he desired that the Great Council Fire might be 
kindled, and where he would lay before them all the business that 
had been done by him at Philadelphia, and the papers he had receiv- 
ed for the Six Nations from President Washington. This information 
induced Colonel Proctor to start for Buffalo the next morning. He 



Council Fire at Buffalo Covered For One Moon. 77 

wrote : I urged upon the chiefs to accompany me to Buffalo, as the 
design was big with advantages to every Indian. Five of them im- 
mediately offered to attend Captain Houdin and myself, and accord- 
ingly appointed a sugar camp eight miles distant, the place of meet- 
ing in the morning. I now made inquiry whether it was easy to 
obtain a good interpreter at Buffalo, and being informed there was 
no interpreter there but those under British pay, I considered it a 
duty incumbent to engage Mr. Jones for my business, and I agreed, 
in behalf of the United States, to pay him the customary wages. 

April 2d.— Departed from the Council Fire at Squawkey Hill, to 
proceed by the way of Tonawanda to Buffalo, presumed distance 
being between 90 and 100 miles. Agreeable to my promise to the 
chiefs yesterday, I had to call for them at their sugar camp. On my 
way thither, I stopped at the hut of Stump-Foot, with the Black 
Chief, who accompanied me. Just at that instant a runner arrived 
there from Buffalo Creek, who brought the information that the 
Council Fire at that place had been quenched by direction of the 
chiefs who had lighted the same, at the instance of O'Beel's message 
to them, and the same Fire was to be covered for one moon, in the 
words following, which he had received from the Great Council, 
directed to the Chiefs and Warriors in this settlement, namely : 

" Brothers : We know from our former intimation to you to meet us 
here, that you are rising in your seats, with your backs bent bearing your 
loaded hoppas ; but on hearing us speak, you must sit down again on your 
seats and remain one moon, until you shall hear that our Great Warrior, 
O'Beel, shall arrive at Buffalo and light it again." 

Upon this information I concluded to change my route and go to 
the oil springs near which the Cornplanter had his residence. I felt 
my intended interview with the chiefs of the Six Nations would have 
the most happy effect of being instrumental in preserving the lives 
of many hundreds of our fellow-men, when staying one month longer 
might prove forever too late ! 

I proceeded to an Indian village eight miles distant, called 
Nondas, and halted for the night at the hut of a white woman, who 
had been with the savages from her infancy, and had borne to one of 
them nine children, all of whom were living. Two of her daughters 
I have seen ; they possess fair features, and incline to the side of 
beauty. Her second son had lately been adopted a Sachem, and 
named, the "Promoter of Peace." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XVIII. 
Colonel Proctor's Journal — Continued. 

SUNDAY, April 2d, 1791.— Arrived this day at an Indian village 
called Canaseder, on a high bluff overlooking the Genesee 
River. It consisted of about 30 houses, and some of them done 
in a way that showed taste in workmanship. The town was vacated 
by all the Indians save only one squaw and a young girl, who were 
left on guard, while tbe rest were out providing sugar. 

This day we were compelled to swim our horses three times 
across the Genesee River, and at one of the crossings, Capt. Houdin's 
horse took him down with the current, he having crossed the reins 
in mounting, and were it not that he left the horse to its own man- 
agement, the Captain must have certainly drowned. 

April 4th. — This morning we again swam our horses across the 
Genesee River, and crossed it again 10 miles higher up, near the 
emptying of a lake. We had the assistance of a canoe each time. 
At this village resides Mr. Latta, a trader, from whom I purchased 
bread, sugar and some spirits. From this place we had scarcely a 
trace of a bridle path. We stopped for the night at on old Indian 
encampment, where the covering of their wigwams served to shelter 
us from the inclemency of the weather. 

April 5th.— We gained an Indian settlement called Gbhishew, on 
the waters of Oil Creek, the emptying of which into the Alleghany 
was about 200 yards below the hut. In crossing Oil Creek at a very 
steep shelving place, my horse fell backward into the water. I hap- 
pily disengaged myself from falling under him, but got wet through. 

We entered the cabin of an old Seneca Chief , John Hays. I knew 
him well, 32 years before, at Fort Pitt. I gave him to understand my 
business. He seemed very cheerful and assured me I should see him 
at Buffalo as soon as the Council Fire should be lighted. From him 
I bought two hams of fresh venison. We had no salt. We camped 

78 



Proctor Hastens to French Creek to Meet Cornplanter. 79 

this night at the great bend of the Alleghany, on a tract of fine level 
land covered with plum trees. Here we discovered the ruins of a 
number of Indian huts ; it was called Dunewanga. 

April 6th. — This morning we met two Indian runners, from the 
Cornplanter, to the Indians at the head waters of the Alleghany, to 
inform them that several Delaware Indians had been killed by white 
people ; that in resentment the Indians had killed and scalped 17 
white people on the Alleghany above Pittsburgh ; that Cornplanter, 
New Arrow and other chiefs coming up the river under escort in a 
garrison boat were overtaken and forcibly carried back to Pittsburgh 
with all their property. I engaged one of the runners to go with me 
to O'Beel's Town. Our guide conducted us in safety ; we arrived 
about 10 o'clock at night. The town contains 28 tolerable well-built 
houses. They provided us plenty of provisions for the night, such 
as boiled venison and dumplings. 

We found that all the chiefs and warriors had gone to Venango, 
hearing that their War-Chief, O'Beel, and their Sachem, the New 
Arrow, were forced to take sanctury in Fort Franklin. None 
remained in the town, on this account, but three very old men and 
the women and children. 

I secured a canoe and a guide, to go to meet the Cornplanter. 
At daylight we set out, two young Indians attended me, and with us 
my interpreter and Captain Baldwin went for French Creek, distant 
about 130 miles and arrived there on the 8th day of April, about 4 
in the afternoon, as we worked our canoe by turns all night. I had 
no sooner arrived at French Creek than I received a visit from the 
Cornplanter and those Indians who accompanied him to Philadelphia. 
I told them I would appeal to the Secretary of War, who would see 
that ample justice was done them. I desired him to bring into the 
garrison all the head men of the nations then met. They met me, 11 
in number, and in the fullest manner I informed them of the message 
I was charged with. I met them again, with their people, in their 
encampment over French Creek, early in the forenoon. Seeing that 
I had no alternative, I requested that they would prepare them- 
selves to leave this place and proceed to Buffalo, on to-morrow, which 
they complied with. 

On this occasion, the Cornplanter said : 

" We have met our brother here, and I believe he remembers what we 
said at Philadelphia, that we would try our friends, the Wyandottes, once 
more, as there were bad people among them, advising the use of the 



W Deplorable Condition of a White Ptisoner. 

hatchet. There we said if would be well for one man to go with us from 
the United States, to hear what we should say to the Wyandottes. 

" Now the Great Spirit has spared us to this day, to meet our brother 
who has been sent to us from the Thirteen Fires, and to join our hands 
with his to have justice done. 

" We should have been glad if he were with us on our way to Pittsr 
burgh, for then our wagons would not have been stopped, our goods taken, 
and our liquors drank, and that by people whom we thought to be our 
friends. And when we go to Fort Pitt, more and great trouble began on 
us, by the men of the Big Knife. When we started from Pitt, with all our 
goods and writing with us, to show what we had done for our Nation, the 
white people seized upon pur gairison boat, belonging to French Creek, 
which had our goods in, and several canoes, and forcibly took us back to 
Pittsburgh, and deprived us of all that was necessary for the comsort of 
<mr women and children — and we are sick of them. 

" Now the chiefs of our Nation have made their choice, and we must go 
to Buffalo, where our head men are waiting for us, and where the Council 
Fire has been long lighted and put out again, and we must light it next 
week. There we shall finish our minds, and shall have plain faces, where- 
soever we turn against those bad men, and shall be strong. 

" Our friend sent by General Washington, must not think hard by our 
requesting of him to wait for us ; for this is the last speech the unfriendly 
people can have. It is a heavy matter, and we must take time to do the 
business well and sure. 

" Now we shall send a runner right off, where the Great Fire is to be 
lighted at Buffalo, so that our great men of the various tribes may assem- 
ble all the people. And now we have determined to start from here in the 
morning, although we have left all our papers behind us. But we shall 
leave some of our young men to bring them after us to the Council at 
Buffalo Creek." 

The Cornplanter closed with a request that the goods taken 
from him and his companions on their way up the river be sent for. 

A few days previous to my arrival at Fort Franklin, the settlers 
at Conneaut and on French Creek, were driven into the garrison, as 
as also those at Cassawaga. 

At Venango I was called upon by a white prisoner named 
Nicholas Deanhoat, to give him a blanket, as he needed one much. I 
did so. He was dressed in Indian garb. His ears were cut and each 
hung with a considerable weight of lead. He told me his relatives 
lived at Schenectady, where his father dying had left him a consider- 
able sum of money. He declined to go to his relatives, saying he 
could not live as agreeable with white people as with the Indians. 



Firewater Supplied O'Beel and His People. 81 

April 10th.— We set out from French Creek up the Alleghany 
River with 30 canoes, leaving with Lieutenant Jeffers for the defense 
of the garrison 15 Indians to act as scouts, the garrison being very 
weak only for the addition made to it by settlers. Neither had they 
any flour, on account of the detention of the garrison boat spoken of, 
but what was supplied by David Mead, who had brought some from 
his mill at Conneaut. Likewise there was some hundred gallons of 
whisky, which was dealt out to the garrison and inhabitants as 
they required it. 

Halted this night at Oil Creek. Lieutenant Jeffers came to us at 
midnight with letters received from Fort Pitt that evening, and word 
for the Indians that the garrison boat was returning with their 
Sachem, the New Arrow, under escort of a proper guard. 

April 11. — About 10 o'clock took up our journey, the Complant- 
er taking the lead. I took my place next to his canoe. We arrived 
this evening at an old Indian settlement called Hog's Town. 

April 12.— I took breakfast this morning with Captain O'Beel 
and his squaw, etc. Our repast was boiled chestnuts and parched meal 
sweetened. His daughter made us some tea, boiled in an open kettle 
and disagreeable to the taste. Arrived about 1 o'clock at Munsee. 
Indian women came forward with kettles full of boiled rice and 
bear's meat and placed it before O'Beel. Then each family of a 
canoe received their stipend. Captain O'Beel requested my interpre- 
ter to inform me that it was expected I would partake of what was 
prepared. I did so to prevent displeasure. Supplied one gallon of 
whisky for O'Beel and his people. 

Captain O'Beel informed the Delawares the busieess I was on 
and I was invited to their Council Fire. There I presented the 
message of the Covemment and Chief Snake replied, saying : 

" Brothers :— We are thankful to the Great Spirit for the safe arrival 
of our brother among us. We are glad to see him with such good inten- 
tions. It makes us fed warm in our hearts and easy in our minds that 
such confidence is placed in our Nation. But the request he makes of us 
to go to Buffalo, we cannot give an immediate answer to, as our head men 
are not present." 

Colonel Proctor was urged by- Captain Snake to remain over 
night, the latter saying he would rally his followers and light a 
Council Fire. Captain O'Beel also urged Colonel Proctor to tarry 
and attend a Council. He consented to do so, and Captain Snake 
at once started runners out to notify absent chiefs and warriors. 



82 Indian Doctor Applies Wonderful Poultice. 



At 9 o'clock that night Captain O'Beel, tlie Delaware chiefs and 
the Senecas, called Colonel Proctor into Cbundl, when Captain 
Snake made a speech, saying : 

"Uncle,"— [addressing Captain O'Beel,]— "we have determined to go 
with you and your brother, who brings us these good tidings, to Buffalo, 
and there meet our nations at the Great Council Fire. Blood may be upon 
us while we are going, but now we give you our hands, as we promised, 
and we will lie down and rise together. 

" Uncle :— In three days we move our women and children, and all 
that we have, to your towns. They are to remain with your women until 
our return." 

April 13th.— Our fleet of canoes set out from Hickory Town 
and reached Log-Trap Creek, ten miles distant, and encamped. 

Rained the whole night and not a dry thread of clothes ort 
myself or companions. 

April 14th.— Proceeded up the river. Encamped near the 
mouth of Casyonding Creek, it being the place where in 1779 Colonel 
Brodhead fought the savages. 

April 15th.— Overtaken with rheumatism pains, I was obliged 
to have assistance to convey me from the canoe to the fire. Cold 
and rainy. 

I informed Complanter that I should leave his fleet and proceed 
to the lower town to procure assistance. Arrived there in the night 
after a very laborous day's work by the Indians, the current of the 
stream being so much against us. I applied to an Indian doctor, 
who prepared poultices of roots and herbage and applied to my foot,, 
the power of which over the part affected threw it into my knee,, 
which produced the most excruciating pain. I felt that it shortened 
the sinews under my ham, upon which I applied it no more, fearing 
I might be crippled for life. 

I next went to New Arrow's Town, where I left Captain Houdin 
and Indian Peter, the guide I brought from near Tioga Point, and 
also our horses, when I departed for Venango on the 7tti of April. I 
found Captain Houdin in an enfeebled state of health, owing entirely 
to the hardships he underwent before his arrival at this place. 

April 18th.— A runner came from Fort Franklin, saying New 
Arrow had arrived there, and asking that canoes be sent down 
sufficient to carry the goods brought forward by Complanter from 
Philadelphia. I sent a letter to the commander of Fort Franklin, 



Great Council Fire Aglow at Buffalo Creek. 83- 

asking that the Indians with the canoes be hurried forward on their 
return, reahzing that unless the New Arrow was hastened home the 
Ughting of the Great Council Fire at Buffalo would be delayed. 

April 19th.— Captain O'Beel and chiefs arrived from the lower 
town and ordered their conch shell to be sounded through the village 
to summon their head men into Council. After spending some time 
in Council, all the head chiefs came to my hut, I being unable to 
leave it, to pay their compliments to Captain Houdin and myself. 

April 20th. — A runner arrived from Buffalo Creek, bringing, 
word that the Council Fire of the Six Nations had been lighted by a 
number of their chiefs and warriors, and that they had been stirring 
it long to keep it alive waiting for the Sachems of the Senecas and 
their brothers who were sent by the Great Chief of the Thirteen 
Fires, " who we want to hear speak to us." 

On receiving this public message, I was requested by Captain 
O'Beel and other chiefs to write an answer in their behalf, they 
hearing that the British Colonels Butler and Brant were at Buffalo 
waiting our coming. I complied and directed my letter to Farmer's 
Brother, Kuysutta and Red Jacket, chiefs of the Six Nations, at 
Buffalo Creek. 

April 24.— This morning the whole town was prepared to have 
a grand feast, to return thanks to the Great Keeper of All Men, for 
their being spared to meet together once more. Several of the 
chiefs called upon me and gave me an invitation to be present. Their 
speaker advised us to be prudent while they worshipped, and not to 
be guilty of laughing or gesturing, though the manner of it might 
differ from our our own mode of worship. He also told us we must 
bring our ear, meaning my interpreter, to testify that they taught the 
true principles, and that their teachers, both men and women, ad- 
monished their hearers against thieving, lying, and speaking lightly 
one of another. 

In every house they provided large quantities of provisions, the 
more varied the better. Each partook of food prepared by another. 
They proceeded to a statue, erected in the center of the village, that 
bore some proportion to a man and was painted as the Indians are, 
but had no weapon of war about him. The figure was about nine 
feet in height and stood on a pedestal of about eight feet. It had on 
a breech clout, leggins, and a sash over its shoulders, and presented 
a very terrible appearance. 



84 Young Warriors Indulge in a Brag Dance. 

Under this statue were placed two chiefs, termed the women's 
■speakers. Each held in his hands the shell of a large tortoise, the 
belly part covered with a thin skin stretched very tight, and having 
inside several small stones. These shells being struck upon a deer 
skin stretched between the two chiefs, who beating them together— 
accompansmig the same with their voices — ^made such melody that 
that the whole of the assembly were deUghted. 

The old men and yoimg women danced aroimd the image in a 
circle, the men following, using gestures that would have made a 
saint laugh had he forgotten that he was in a place of worship. 

The women looked meek and humble while they moved in con- 
cert in the dance, sliding their feet and folding their hands before 
them, in a half-circle, looking at tte same time steadfastly on the 
ground while inclining their heads. 

The last of the worship was performed by what they called a 
"brag dance." The yoimg warriors retired to a house adjacent, 
where there were paint, feathers and red clay. They ornamented 
their hair with feathers, their faces with paint, and their bodies with 
reddish clay. Some painted one-half of their faces black and the 
other red, in order to look more terrible, for in this manner they go 
to war. When these matters were adjusted, their leader gave a long 
yell, as when a scalp is taken, and when the third yell was given it 
was re-echoed by the others and all rushed to the place of worship. 
They danced around the statue, throwing their bodies and heads in 
every possible curious position, and bragged alternately of all the 
cruelties they had exercised in war, of the prisoners taken, of the 
thefts committed on their enemies, and of other exploits. 

In the evening Captain O'Beel and the other chiefs told me that 
they were ready to go with me to Buffalo Creek, in the morning, if I 
thought proper. I told them that I was ready to depart at any 
time they would agree to, as much precious time had been wasted 
•since my arrival in this place from the Genesee Country. 

April 22d.— I closed my letters this day for His Excellency the 
Secretary of War, and for Governor SL Clair, and forwarded the 
same by a white prisoner named Nicholas Deamhout. Paid Indian 
Peter for services. Paid Francis Slocum, a white prisoner, 7s. 6d. 
Paid Mrs. Groves, who has been in captivity since her husband was 
kUled m 1761, lis. 3d. She is now too feeble to leave the Indians. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XIX. 
Colonel Proctor's Journal — Continued, 

APRIL 22d.— We left Captain O'Beel's Town at 12 o'clock noon 
and proceeded with a few chiefs and warriors, the whole no£ 
being ready to depart. We took the route to Buffalo through 
Cattaraugus, an Indian village of about fifty houses, on a beautiful 
river about two and a half miles from Lake Erie. We had arrived 
at Cattaraugus but a short time, when I asked the chiefs to assemble 
in Council. There Thyo-Ga-Chee, Chief of the Senecas, made a 
sentimental speech, saying : 

" Brother : — Some time ago there came messages into our country, 
that our people should meet at Buffalo Creek, and should hear our head 
men from Philadelphia, what they had from the Council of Thirteen Fires. 

" About this time they had got to Fort Pitt, and we heard there was a 
great man and a Frenchman coming, also from Philadelphia, in great fear, 
trying to make peace. 

"The next runner said that our head men and those from Philadelphia, 
were coming on the waters together, to have a Great Council Fire at 
Buffalo ; and we that live here sent on the runner and gave thanks to the 
Great Spirit. 

" Now tell the man from Philadelphia to pity us children, for we are 
fearful ; and we say to you, that will open your throats, that you may 
speak fair and clear to us, without any hard thoughts, when you get to our 
Great Council Fire of the full nations." 

In closing his oration the Chief handed Colonel Proctor a belt of 
wampum of three strings, and said : 

" Now wipe the tears from your eyes, and make your throat clear so 
that you may be understood." 

April 26th. — We took up our journey towards Buffalo. In about 
five miles we came upon the verge of Lake Erie, which had a beauti- 
ful appearance, it being a pleasant morning. 

April 26th.— We arrived at Buffalo Creek, having travelled 
through a country of exceedingly rich land from our last encamp- 

85 



"86 Colonel Proctor Arrives at Buffalo Creek. 

ment. The principal village of Buffalo belongs to the Seneca Nation. 
In it the Young King and Farmer's Brother reside, as also does Red 
Jacket, the great prince and speaker of the Turtle tribe. 

On entering the town there were numbers of Indians collected 
at the hut where we alighted from our horses. I found they were 
far better clothed than were the Indians in towns at a greater 
■distance, owing to their intercourse with the British, this place being 
but about 35 miles from Niagara and but six miles from Fort Erie. 
From these places these Indians are supplied yearly with almost 
every necessary they require, so much so as to make them indifferent 
in their huntings. The chiefs, who are poor in general, have to 
look to the British for almost their daily subsistence, not only for 
provisions but for apparel. The Farmer's Brother was fully regi- 
mentaled as a colonel, his coat being red, faced with blue, as belong- 
ing to some royal regiment, and equipped with a pair of the best 
epaulets. So that the after conduct of Farmer's Brother, when he 
threw in his opposition to my errand, may not appear extraordinary, 
he being paid so well by the British for his influence over the Indian 
nations. 

I had not been long in the village when I was invited to the 
Great Council House, with my companion, attended by Red Jacket, 
Captain O'Beel and other chiefs. Just as we approached the Council 
House, they had a two-pounder swivd gun, which they had loaded 
very high, having put in an uncommon charge— which the acting 
gunner being sensible of, stood within the door, and fired it from the 
end of a long pole which he passed between the logs. The explosion 
upset the gun and its fixture. This salute was fired, they said, as a 
treat for our safe arrival. 

Red Jacket gave a speech of introduction, when I had been 
ushered to a seat in the center of the Council, and at the close of the 
speech came forward to me and presented four strings of wampum, 
which he had held in his hands while speaking. 

The more significant utterances of Red Jacket follow : 
"Brother:— It is usual for us to speak and to you we do it as to a 
brother who has been absent a long time. Now we will speak to you, and 
to our head warrior, (Captain O'Beel), who left us last Fall ; and we thank 
the Great Spirit for his and your safe arrival here, and as you are together 
hand in hand from Hon-an-da-ganius, (President Washington), upon great 
business. 

"You have travelled long, with tears in your eyes upon account of the 
hard trails and the bad season of the year. Besides the disturbances 



Brant, Butler and Red Jacket Oppose Proctor. 87 

between the bad Indians and our brothers, the white people, everything has 
been trying to prevent your coming, and to stop your business, and to cause 
you to lose your way. Thus, the big waters might have stopped your 
coming, and the wars might have stopped you, and sickness might have 
stopped you — for we cannot know what is to happen until it comes upon us. 

" Now we set you upon a seat where you can sit up straight ; where 
you are secure from fear of your enemies ; where you can look around and 
see all your friends and brothers in peace. Besides, you have come along 
with your heart and your throat stopped up, to secure all you had to say in 
your body- But now we open your heart with your brother's hands, and 
we run our fingers through to open your mouth to speak clear, and not to 
be molested. Now open your ears and hear what your brothers may say 
after you have made your speech." 

Captain O'Beel, having been particularly named by Red Jacket, 
arose and returned the compliment in tiehalf of us that were 
strangers. I then sv^ggested that as the sun was getting low, it 
■would be a good plan to adjourn the Council until morning. Red 
Jacket arose and remarked that on some occasions persons had come 
to their country representing that they came by authority of the 
Thirteen Fires, {the Federal Government), but of a truth the Indians 
had not always been convinced that such was the case. This insin- 
uation was caused by reports circulated by Colonels Butler and 
Brant, sevaal days before the arrival of Colonel Proctor, that no 
attention should be paid to him; that he did not represent the United 
States. Brant and Butler were acting in the interest of the British. 
They had been in communication with the Indians visited by Colonel 
Proctor from the time he entered the Genesee Country, having run- 
ners at their disposal. 

Colonel Proctor at once, in open Council, met ' the challenge of 
his authority, and gave proof of his having been commissioned by the 
United States to come among them, and present papers and deliver 
messages. Then, upon his suggestion, the Council dispatched a 
runner to summon the commanding officer of Fort Erie to bear 
witness of the truth of his claims. He wrote : 

Soon after the Council adjourned Captain John, of the Ononda- 
gas, came to my hut and informed me, in private conversation, that 
no scrouple was made of the authority I came under to them. He 
had received a Mohawlc education and conducted himself very well. 
During my stay in Buffalo he was attached to me in person, and 
promoted, all that lay in his power, the business that I had before 
the Council. 



88 Colonel Proctor Delivers Messages in Great Council. 

It appears that William Ewing, of Connedesago Lake, an agent 
of Robert Morris, had arrived at Buffalo a few days before, and had 
met the Indians in Council. This over-zealous and indiscreet young 
man had told the Indians that the Six Nations must in the future 
ignore all other claimants to the right to treat with them and deal 
with them and deal only with Robert Morris, of Philadelphia, whom 
he called " the second greatest man in the United States." The ad- 
vent of Ewing was most inoppOTtune. Colonel Proctor knew nothing 
about the activity of this land agent until informed by Captain John. 

In the Indian Council the next day. Colonel Proctor was surprised 
to find William Ewing present. About 150 Indians were in attend- 
ance. Ewing began to open and continue his address, when Colonel 
Plroctor arose and informed him that he was interferring with 
business of the utmost importance to the United States, and to the 
Indian nations in general, saying politely that after the business of 
the Federal Government had been transacted Ewing might take up 
his land buaness. 

" when I would lend him such assistance as was in my power, and 
through which I would evidence my respect for the gentlemen who 
sent him." 

The abashed land agent gave way and Cobnel Proctw proceeded 
to read messages and papers and to explain the same, with the 
assistance of interpreters, taking up the whole day. 

It was revealed to Colonel Proctor that night, by Captain Powell, 
who came over from Fort Erie, that Brant and Butler had for weeks 
been in active communication with the bellicose Indians to the west 
and on the Grand River to Detroit, and had agreed that nothing 
should be determined at the present Council without the concurrence 
of the western tribes. 

The session of the Council held the next day, (Friday, April 29), 
was largely attended by Indians. Colonel Proctor read separate 
messages from Secretary of War Knox, directed to the Delawares, 
Wyandotts and Miamis, and to the Indians of the Wabash, advising 
peace and concord with the United States. He explained that after 
** we had fought for eight returning seasons with Great Britain," that 
nation had been defeated " and the red hatchet between them and 
the United States was buried deep in the earth." He told of treaties 
made with distant tribes, cited friendly negotiations just completed 
with Cornplanter at Philadelphia, and expressed the desire of the 
United States for peace and friendly relations with all the Indian 



Subtle and Evasive Address by Red Jacket. 89 



tribes. He closed by asking the chiefs of the Six Nations to evidence 
their friendship for the United States, by proceeding forward with 
him to the unfriendly Indians of the west, that by their good work 
hundreds of lives of both white men and Indians might be saved. 

Red Jacket made the reply to this appeal. He brought into 
action the subtle and evasive by-play of one performing a double 
part. He was willing to go, as requested, " to the bad Indians," but' 
the question of whether the journey should be "by land or water "' 
must be considered ; the messages of Colonel Proctor to the Wyan- - 
dotts and Delawares should be delivered first, that they might " take 
us by the hands and go to the bad Indians with us ;" he said " all our 
She Nations are not present," and noted that " our brother. Captain 
Powell, of the British, is here, true to us, for he was with us at every 
treaty." This was a furtive suggestion that the advise of Captain 
Powell was to be considered. Red Jacket closed his shifty answer 
by demanding that the Council fire be removed to Niagara. 

Colonel Proctor did not hesitate to make reply to what he 
deemed a very unwarrantable request. He flatly refused to go to 
a British garrison " to transact important business in which the 
United States is concerned," saying with firmness : " Neither my 
principles nor my commission would warrant me in such a trans- 
action." Red Jacket and Farmer's Brother now spoke to the Council 
by turns, and as a result, a runner was sent to Niagara to request the 
attendance of Colonel Butler and some others. Young King and 
Fish Carrier sat on either side of Red Jacket and prompted him 
while he was speaking. Most of the chiefs of the Six Nations were 
so under the influence of the English officers that they were not 
willing to undertake any business of consequence with the United 
States without its " first being sifted " by an officer of the Crown. 

Matters hung fire for several days, the Indians counselling among 
themselves and sending frequent rvinners to Niagara. Finally on 
May 3d, Colonel Proctor invited the chiefs to his cabin for a talk 
before going into Council. He traced on a map his proposed route 
to the western Indians, saying he would now go on his journey 
without further hesitation, as he " plainly saw that they were not to 
exercise their own opinion but that of the British agent." 

Upon hearing this Red Jacket asked permission to speak. He 
said to the interpreter : 

" Tell him that some of his language is soft, but the other parts of it 
are too strong, for the dangers before us are great, and our enemies are 



-90 British Officers Break Up the Council. 

-drunk ; that they will not hear what we say like a man that is sober, and 
we consider whatever number of the Six Nations accompany him, will be in 
the same danger with himself, and it is likely we shall not live long when 
the bad Indians see us. These Indians are not like white men. He must 
attend our Councils and look and hear till we shall speak on his business. 
Tomorrow our head men will meet together and try what can be done." 

While talking with the chiefs, a runner came to Young King 
with word that Colonel Butler with several other British officers had 
arrived from Fort Niagara, and were at the storehouse on Lake Erie, 
where Colonel Butler desired that the Sachems and head men of the 
Indians should meet him in the morning. This surprised Colonel 
Proctor, the more especially as he was not given an invitation to 
attend the proposed meeting at the lake side. 

Captain O'Beel held a meeting of chiefs that evening and advised 
fhem to do nothing to inferfere with Colonel Proctor's plans. 

That day Half-Town and Big Tree, and several warriors 
from O'Beel's Town and Cattaraugus, about sixty in number, arrived ; 
as also Captain Snake with about forty Delaware warriors, attended 
by many o£:their families. 

Colonel Proctor dined with Big Sky, Chief of the Onondaga 
Nation, and gave the social function the following write-up : 

" His castle lay about three miles east of Buffalo, near which were 
twenty-eight good cabins. The inhabitants appeared to be decent and well- 
clothed, particularly their women, some of them dressed so richly with 
silken stroud, etc., and ornamented with so many silken trappings, that one 
suit must be of the value of at least thirty pounds sterling. Some of the 
women attended the feast, which was principally of young pigeons, some 
boiled, some stewed. The mode of dishing them up, was that a bunch of 
sixwas tied with a deer's sinew around their necks, their bills pointing 
outwards. They were plucked, but of pin-feathers plenty remained. The 
inside was taken out, but it appeared from the soup made of them that the 
water had not touched them before. 

"The repast being the best I had seen for a long time, I ate very .hearti- 
ly, and the entertainment was given with much hospitality. 

"Returned about sunset to Buffalo." 

May 4th.— All the head men and warriors repaired to the place 
yesterday appointed by Colonel Butler, to open the Council they had 
intended holding at the British garrison of Niagara. I pressed my 
friend O'Beel to go forward with them by all means, lest the United 
States should not be represented. About 11 o'clock an Indian runner 
delivered me a letter from Colonel Butler, through which Captain 
Houdin and myself received a polite invitation to dine with him and 
his officers. The invitation was accepted. It was found that the 



Indians Spend Day Gathering Young Pigeons. 91 

British officers were in dose communication with the Indians, com- 
manding tiiem to be cautious, so as not to offend the western tribes. 

Colonel Proctor wrote: "A considerable conversation took 
place between Colonel Butler and myself, in the presence of Young 
King and other chiefs, entirely on the subject of peace." But Colonel 
Proctor perceived so much of a spirit of indifference to him as a 
Commissioner representing the United States, that he gave up hope 
of bringing about results. The failure of his mission he attributed to 
the influence of the British. He staid with the British officers over 
night and returned to Buffalo Creek the next morning. 

May 6th.— Red Jacket and Captain O'Beel came to see me, when 
the former acquainted me with the reason why no Council would be 
held this day, saying it was their pigeon time, in which the Great 
Spirit had blessed them with an abundance ; that such was His 
goodness, that He never failed sending pigeons, season after season ; 
that although it might seem a small matter to me, the Indians 
never lose sight of these blessings. 

Captain O'Beel added : "This is the reason why our men, women 
and children are gone from their towns, but on to-morrow our head 
men will return and your business will be taken up." 

At some convenient distance from every one of the Indian settle- 
ments the pigeons hatch their young at this season of the year, and 
the trees which they commonly light on are low and bushy. Pigeons 
are found in such abundance, that exceeding a hundred nests with a 
pair of young in each, are common to be found in a single tree. 
These they take when they are just prepared to leave their nests, 
when they are as fat as possible. After they are plucked and cleansed 
a little, they are preserved by smoke and laid by for use. 

May 7th.— Captain O'Beel called the chiefs together on business 
concerning themselves, to take into consideration where land should 
be selected to accommodate certain tribes and families, who had put 
themselves under the protection of the Six Nations, being compelled 
to leave their former situations, dreading the rage of the Shawanese 
and the Miami Indians. Captain Snake and the Delawares imder his 
<:arewere assigned a place to plant near Cattaraugus ; the families of 
Con-Non-Do-Chatu, a chief of the Messessagoes, and Bear's Oil Chief 
at Conneaut. These last chiefs reported that large bodies of hostile 
Indians were assembled on the Miami, preparing for a descent upon 
white settlements near the Ohio, and that many white settlers had 
recently fallen at the hands of the Indians. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XX. 
Indians Summoned to Council at Painted Bast 

ON THE 7th day of May, 1791, Joseph Smith arrived at Buffalo 
Creek, from the Genesee, with a message from Colonel 
Pickering, informing the Indians of the Six Nations that he 
had received presents for them from the United States, and desired 
their attendance at the Painted Post, on the 16th of June, to light a 
Council Fire and receive the presents. 

In the introductory part of the message, which waslpresented in 
full to the Indians in Council by Colonel Proctor, Colonel Pickering 
referred to the Council he had with their chiefs at Tioga Point two 
years since ; saying that there mutual friendships between the Six 
Nations and the United States were entered into ; that he was happy 
to inform them that the chain between them was held fast by the 
United States and kept free from rust. 
[Note. — On page 59 the name of Proctor should read Pickering.! 

Colonel Pickering advised the tribes of the Six Nations to keep 
peaceable in their villages, and not under any circumstance join the 
Indians who were at war with the United States. 

Colonel Proctor spoke in earnest approval of the message of 
Colonel Pickering, and advised that all the chiefs and warriors, with 
their women, should present themselves on the Conhocton at the 
Painted Post, on the day named, or as near that time as possible, 
and receive the presents which would be bestowed by the Thirteen 
Fires. This the chiefs promised should be done. 

May 9th.— a great dance was performed this day, and worship, 
by the Indians. In the fore part of the day a Council was held, which 
I attended. A speech was made by Fish Carrier, a chief of the 
Cayugas, and the right hand man of Brant and Butler. In this 
speech of Fish Carrier it was revealed that Brant had gone to the 
warring Shawanese, to take council ; that part of the Indians were 

92 



Indian Women Ask to Be Heard In Council. 93 



for war and part for peace ; that nothing would be decided until 
Brant should return ; that Brant on his return would decide what 
towns would be for peace. I announced that I would the next day 
make a reply. 

May 9th. — The Council being reconvened, Colonel Proctor 
answered the speech of Fish Carrier. He gave the Indians to under- 
stand that he considered it useless to stay any longer with them at 
Buffalo, " seeing that those who were in the interest of the British 
had prevented others of them from serving in the cause of the United 
States." Colonel Proctor said : " The matter will be reported in its 
true colors before General Washington, the President of the United 
States, that he might judge how far the Six Nations deserved his 
future attention and care." 

Colonel Proctor did not at once leave Buffalo. It was his aim to 
glean all the information he could about the Indians there represent- 
ed; also to interest as many of them as he could in the proposed Treaty 
at Painted Post. To this end he tarried twelve days more, holding 
friendly conferences and attending several Council meetings. 

It was because developments on the Northwestern frontier and 
the intrigues of the British officers on the Niagara frontier, made it 
impossible for Colonel Proctor to extend his trip, that the plan to 
hold a treaty with the Six Nations on the head waters of the Chemung 
at the Painted Post was decided upon. It was the purpose of the 
Federal Government to draw the friendly chiefs, braves and squaws 
away from the immediate influence of the British. To accomplish 
this, advantage was taken of a petition sent the year before, by Little 
Beard and Red Jacket, to the Governor of Pennsylvania, asking that 
a Treaty be held at the Painted Post, on the Conhocton. And as an 
inducement to the Indians to attend the Treaty, they were given to 
understand that there would be an abundance of food provided for 
their entertainment, and many presents would be distributed. 

Red Jacket and Young King urged Colonel Proctor to remain 
longer, and attend additional councils, but he said it would be useless. 
On May 15th a delegation of squaws called on Colonel Proctor to pay 
their respects, and told him he " ought to hear what we women shall 
speak, as well as the Sachems, for we are the owners of this land, 
and it is ours ; for it is we that plant it, for our and their use. Hear 
us, therefore, for we speak of things that concern us and our 
children." 



94 Squaws Declare For Peace With United States. 

Colonel Proctor granted the request of the Squaws, and heard 
them that day in the Great Council, when an address was delivered 
at their request by Red Jacket. Squaws came from nearby villages. 
The elder squaws were seated near the chiefs. After a short period 
of silence, Red Jacket arose and spoke at some length saying in part: 

" Now listen, Brother : You know what we have been doing so long, 
and what trouble we have been at, and you know that it has been the 
request of our head warrior. Captain O'Beel, that we are left to answer for 
our women, who are to conclude what ought to be done by both Sachems 
and Warriors. So hear what is their conclusion. 

"Brother: The business you have come on is very troublesome, and 
we have been a long time considering it, ever since you came here. Now 
the elders of our women, considering the greatness of your business, have 
said that our Sachems and Warriors must help you over your difficulties, 
for the good of them and their children. Moreover, you tell us, that since 
the Treaty of Tioga with us the Americans are strong for peace. 

" Now all that has been done for you has been done by our women, and 
the rest will be a hard task for us, for the people at the setting sun are a 
bad people, and you have come to us in too much haste for such great 
matters of importance. And now. Brother, you must look when it is light 
in the morning, until the setting sun, and you must reach your neck over 
the land, and take all the hght you can, to show the danger. And this is 
the word of the women to you and to the Sachems and warriors who shall 
go with you." 

In behalf of the squaws. Red Jacket announced the names of four 
chiefs who would accompany Colonel Proctor to meet the Western 
Indians. Red Jacket intimated that it would be necessary to go for- 
ward with the consent of Colonel Gorden, commander of Fort Niaga- 
ra, in a British vessel. But Colonel Gordon would not permit Colonel 
Proctor to take passage in any vessel on the lake. He announced 
that he would not recognize the American officer " only in the line of 
a private agent." At this time the British were establishing new 
garrisons along Lake Erie, within the bounds of the United States, 
for the purpose of controlling the fur trade. 

On May 17th, Red Jacket and a number of other Indian chiefs 
suggested to Colonel Proctor that his Indian friends of the several 
villages were going to have a great dance, and expected that he 
would provide them something to drink. "I readily accepted his 
proposition," the Colonel noted in his carefully kept journal, " and 
ordered eight gallons of the best spirits to be presented for the 
entertainment ; and I desired that the women should be attended to 
particularly, for their valuable conduct in the last Great Council." 



Colonel Proctor Returns to Philadelphia. 95' 

On May 21st, in a speech it the Great Council at Buffalo Creek,, 
on the occasion of leave-taking by Colonel Proctor, Chief Young 
King said : 

" We are not on one side or the other, whether of the British or of the 
Americans, for we desire to be still and to be at peace with both. 

"General Washington, the Great White Chief of the Thirteen Fires, has 
kindled a fire at the Painted Post, and this we expect was done for the sake 
of peace, for he has called all the Indians from the Grand River to Oneida 
Lake. It is our desire to attend the same at the time proposed. We shall 
attend the Treaty at the Painted Post, where the fire is lighted by General 
Washington, and at that time all matters here related shall be talked over 
again. In this. Brother, you have heard the sense of the Six Nations, and 
our sentiments are firm and strong, for amongst us there is not one 
deficient. But we cannot speak for the Indians that reside towards the 
setting sun. We have sent Captain Brant to know their opinion. Should 
he be here before we go to the Painted Post, whatever their intentions are, 
we shall make the same known." 

That day Colonel Proctor left Buffalo Creek to go by way of 
Pittsburgh to Philadelphia. Before leaving he settled his bills, among 
the items being that of " Mr. Cornelius Vinne, for liquors, etc., had 
for the Indians occasionally, twenty-six pounds and five shillings." 

Colonel Proctor arrived at New Arrow's Town the evening of 
the 24th, having encamped in the woods two nights. " I had no 
sooner arrived," he wrote, " than the chiefs were summoned to 
Council by the sounding of a conch shell." 

That night, after a heavy rain had abated, two Indians in a canoe 
carried Colonel Proctor to Fort Franklin, which was reached at 
daybreak. After taking breakfast with Lieutenant Jeffers, another 
canoe was prepared with four fresh hands, and the journey by 
water of 156 miles to Fort Pitt was taken up. In 25 hours Fort 
Pitt was reached. The distance as travelled by Colonel Proctor 
from Buffalo Creek to this point was 411 miles ; the time consumed,, 
going by land and water, was five days and two nights. 

Colonel Proctor set out from Fort Pitt for Philadelphia, on the 
evening of May 29th, and arrived at his journey's end June 7th. He 
found that arrangements had been completed for holding a Great 
Council with the Indians at the Painted Post. 

The day that Colonel Proctor left Buffalo Creek, for prudential 
reasons, he sent his records and dispatches, for Secretary of War 
Knox, under the care of Captain Houdin, by way of the Genesee, 
Painted Post, Tioga Point and the Wyoming route to Philadelphia. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Coming and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXL 
Intense Unrest All Along Frontiers. 

THE MOST intense unrest prevailed among the whites who had 
ventured to establish homes within the bounds of territory 
to which the Iroquois claimed exclusive title, at the time the 
matter of holding a General Treaty at the Painted Post was brought 
to a head by the Federal Government, and Colonel Timothy Picker- 
ing was selected to conduct the same. The first settlers of 
Western New York were despondent Some had vacated then- 
holdings. Much depended on the outcome of the Treaty which it 
was proposed to hold on the Conhocton, where the meeting place 
was marked by a ceremonial post, that like the ancient CouncU Fire 
of the Iroquois Federation in the land of the Onondagas, was 
as ""the Ark of the Covenant to the Children of Israel." A mistake 
was made, however, due to ignorance of Indian sentiment and 
tradition, as regards the mysterious Painted Post, and the place of 
meeting was changed to Newtown — now Ehnira. 

Under date of May 2d, 1791, Secretary of War Knox issued a 
letter of instructions to Colonel Pickering, in regard to the pending 
treaty, saying : 

" The Vice President of the United States and the heads of the Depart- 
ment of State, who are empowered thereto by the President of the United 
States, having deemed it expedient at this time that the Six Nations of 
Indians, so termed, should assemble together for the purpose of cementing 
existing friendships, and that this business should be performed by you, I 
have the honor of giving you the instructions herein contained, which are 
to serve as the general rule of your conduct. 

" It would be proper that you repeat to the said Nations all that has 
been stated by the President of the United States as the foundation of their 
future expectations. It being the sincere desire of the General Government 
that the Indians, on all occasions, should be treated with entire justice and 
humanity, you may give them the strongest assurance on this point. 

96 



Explicit Treaty Instructions Given Pickering. 97 



" The great object of the proposed meeting will be to impresson the 
minds of the Indians, that their interests and happiness depend upon the 
protection and friendship of the United States, and to conciliate their 
affections, to which purpose you will use your highest exertion. 

" It will be difficult, if not impracticable, for the chiefs to restrain their 
young men from indulging in the passion for war. They will, therefore, 
probably join the Western Indians, unless they join us. In case of their 
compliance with your request, it would be proper that you make a decisive 
arrangement on this point, so that a number of their warriors, not exceed- 
ing 50 or 60, join the troops at Fort Harmar, or Fort Washington. 

" If you see Captain Brant at the meeting, you will endeavor by all 
reasonable methods to attach him to the United States. 

" You will have delivered to you certain goods, agreeable to the invoices 
hereunto annexed, in order to be presented at the Treaty, according to your 
judgment ; and, if it should be in your opinion that pensions, not exceeding 
$100 each, bestowed annually on four or five of the principal chiefs, would 
greatly tend to create or increase an attachment for the United States, you 
will please to intimate the same to them, on condition of being hereafter 
confirmed by the President of the United States. 

" You will conduct your business journal-wise, in the manner you 
observed at Tioga Point, keeping written copies of all speeches delivered to 
or received from the Indians ; and, on this point, the delivery of goods to 
the Indians to be witnessed by the most respectable white characters who 
may be present." 

In a communication to Colonel Pickering, under date of June 13, 
1791, Secretary Knox said : 

" I believe the Treaty will be pretty generally attended. Mr. Morris 
will not attempt to purchase any lands at present, although one of his sons 
■will be present at the Treaty. Mr. Morris does not approve of the conduct 
of Mr. Ewing, and informs me that he has ordered Ewing to be discharged. 

" The Complanter can be depended on ; through all the changes of 
policy we must cultivate and elevate him. Brant, the Farmer's Brother, 
and all the rest of them, ought to be treated with the greatest kindness, 
and attached to us if possible. But the Complanter is our friend from the 
solid ties of interest, and we must rivet them by all the ways and means in 
our power." 

In 1791 the United States maintained fortified frontier posts as 
follows : Fort Knox, at Vincinnes ; Fort Washington, at Cincinnati ; 
Fort Steuben, 22 miles above Wheeling ; Fort Harmar, on the Ohio 
at the mouth of the Muskingum River. Not one of these forts was 
more than feebly garrisoned. The length of the northwestern fron- 
tier from the lower Ohio to the upper Alleghaney was 1,100 miles. 

Fearing a general outbreak of Indian hostilities, that would 
result in loss of life and the destruction of settlements throughout 



98 Governor Clinton Criticises Federal Government. 

Central and Western New York, Secretary of War Knox, under 
date of April 12, 1791, wrote to Governor Clinton : 

" I have the honor to inform Your Excellency, in confidence, that the 
present view of affairs upon the frontiers indicates strongly that all the 
Indian tribes northwest of the Ohio, will in the course of the ensuing cam- 
paign be combined in hostilities against the United States. 

" As it is apprehended that the Six Nations may be brought to act 
against us, it has been deemed important to assemble them together, parti- 
cularly the Senecas, at as early a period as possible, in order to brighten the 
chain of friendship and romove all causes of discontent. 

" Accordingly, Colonel Timothy Pickering, who resides at Wyoming, 
and who had a meeting last August with the Senecas at Tioga Point, has 
been requested to invite the Six Nations generally to a meeting at such 
place as shall be most convenient to them, at as early period as they could 
conveniently be assembled." 

The Secretary of War suggested in this letter, that it might be 
well for Governor Clinton to try to induce Captain Joseph Brant to 
use his influence for peace with the western Indians, and also that it 
might be well to try and get Captain Brant to attend the coming 
Treaty. " It is proper," he wrote, " that you should understand that 
a mortal enmity exists between Brant and Complanter." 

Governor Clinton in answering this letter, expressed his regret 
that a " convention of the whole Six Nations " had been " resolved 
and acted upon " by the Federal Government. He declared that the 
Indians should not thus be brought together ; that it would be a 
better plan to encourage animosities and divisions among them. 

Secretary of War Knox in making reply, gave Governor Clinton a 
polite reminder of the supremacy of the United States Government 
over a State Government in Indian affairs, saying : 

" I am sorry that you do not approve the Convention of the Six Nations 
at this particular crisis. The measure appears to be highly expedient, in 
order not only to prevent their joining the Western Indians, but, if possible, 
to induce them, as a security to the contiuance of their friendship, to join 
some of their young warriors to the troops of the United States. 

"It appears to me, judging from experience, that the United States may 
depend entirely on the Complanter's ability, fidelity, and his natural exer- 
tions. Brant's attachment may be doubted and his views dangerous. 

" Colonel Pickering has appointed the Painted Post as the place, and 
the 17th of June next as the time, of his meeting with the Indians." 

Under date of June 9th, 1791, Secretary Knox wrote Major- 
General St. Clair, who was at Fort Washington preparing to conduct 



Joseph Brant Urges Indians to More Vigorous Strife. 99 



a force of 2,800 soldiers on a campaign against the Miami and 
Wabash Indians, that 

" According to Colonel Proctor's verbal report, there will be a pretty 
general attendance of the Six Nations at the Painted Post the 17th instant 
It would also appear from the Colonel's statements, that Brant has gone to 
the western Indians, with the concurrence of the British officers, and that 
his design is peace ; that they expect him back before the 17th instant, in 
which case part of the chiefs will attend at the Painted Post, and go forward 
to persuade the western Indians to peace." 

Joseph Brant was exercising extreme zeal, at this time, as an 
ardent friend of the British. He set out from the Grand River with 
forty warriors, visited Detroit, and went thence to the great encamp- 
ment of the Indians at war with the United States, " to inflame their 
minds to more vigorous opposition to the Americans." 

About this time Thomas Jefferson wrote : " I hope we shall drub 
the Indians well this Summer, and then change our plan from war 
to bribery." He held that the expense of one season's campaign 
would " buy presents for half a century." 

Colonel Pickering said that " pacifying the Indians costs less 
than killing them." 

To Major-General Richard Butler, in command of a body of 
American troops and anxious to fight the Indians, Secretary Knox 
wrote on June 9th, 1791 : 

" You mention taking some measures with the Six Nations. This must 
not interfere with the Treaty which is to take place at the Painted Post, to 
be held there by Colonel Pickering the 17th instant. I am of your opinion, 
that the Indians must join one side or the other, and that the Senecas and 
the others had better join ours than the enemy. Colonel Pickering is 
instructed on this point." 

On the 23d of June, Secretary Knox forwarded a second com- 
munication to Major-General Butler, directing him to observe caution 
in his relations with the friendly Indians, lest the Six Nations should 
catch the war spirit and join the western Indians. He said : 

" Colonel Pickering, who is at this time holding a Treaty with the Six 
Nations at the Painted Post, has directions to aim at the same thing that 
you are attempting, to wit : to obtain a body of these warriors to join the 
army. If he shall be successful, I have directed that the route of 
of the Indians be from the Cornplanter's town to Fort Franklin, and 
that Lieutenant Jeffers would there join them, and proceed as you shall 
direct A party of sixty Indians has been contemplated, but I have men- 
tioned to Colonel Pickering that if more should offer it would not be 
material ; but unless they could be at Fort Franklin by the 20th of July, at 
farthest, the arrangement would be useless." 



100 Groups of Indians Straggle Leisurely to the Treaty. 



Writing to Major-General Butler under date of July 21st, 1791, 
Secretary Knox said : 

" Colonel Pickering informs me that as it would be impossible for the 
Indians to be at Fort Franklin by the 20th instant, he shall not influence 
any of them to join our army, and that he has understood that any such 
attempt would be ill received. The great object of Colonel Pickering's 
Treaty was to keep the Six Nation's quiet, and to prevent their joining the 
opposite side, by drawing them a different way." 

While on his way from Wyoming to hold the Treaty, Colonel 
Pickering wrote to his wife, from Tioga Point, Tuesday, June 14, 
1791: 

" I have arrived here this morning in perfect health. The waters of 
the Tioga [Chemung] River, are so low that the provisions and stores can 
be got no farther than New Town, about twenty miles from this place, 
where, of course, the Treaty will be held. There are many inhabitants in 
that neighborhood, so that living will be more agreeable than at the 
Painted Post. I purpose, however, to visit the latter place ; shall, probably, 
go as far as Colonel Lindsley's." 

The next day Colonel Pickering wrote his wdfe as follows : 

" On the Tioga River, five miles below the Painted Post. I am now at 
Major McCormick's. Before I decide where to hold the Treaty, I mean to 
see some of the Indian chiefs, and if I can make them satisfied will hold the 
Treaty at New Town Point ; otherwise we must draw up the provisions and 
stores to the Painted Post — drawing the loaded canoes with oxen where the 
water is too shallow." 

The following letter, dated at New Town, June 27th, 1791, 
written to Thomas Mifflin, Governor of Pennslyvania, throws some 
light on the leisurely manner in which groups of Indians came 
straggling to the Treaty : 

" Honored Sir : — I arrived at this place on the 18th instant, where I 
found Colonel Pickering and a few Indians, the water being so low he could 
not reach the Painted Post, the place appointed for the Treaty, so he con- 
cluded to hold it at this place. 

" Since I came here there is to the amount of near 200 warriors and 
others of the Oneida and the Onondaga tribes arrived, and yesterday a 
runner caxne from the Senecas, saying there were 682 of them in a body on 
the way, besides a considerable number from other towns who were expect- 
ed to join them ; but the Cornplanter was not amongst them, and the 
runner could not inform me whether he would come to the Treaty or not, 
and as my business here was to see him, I concluded it would be only losing 
of time for me to wait for him, as I have other business to attend to, and 
it does not appear to me that the Treaty will be over this three weeks. 

" I left a letter informing him of my having been here, with an inten- 
tion of doing his business, to be forwarded to him if he does not attend the 



Supplies and Presents For Treaty Purposes. 101 



Treaty, with my reason for not waiting— promising at the same time to 
attend to the same as soon as I came to that country in safety. 

" I am, Sir, with sentiments of esteem, your most humble servant, 
" His Excellency, Thomas MiiBin. JOHN ALDEN." 

As all members of the various tribes and clans of the Six Nations 
and all other natives who cared to come, were invited to be present 
at the Treaty of the Painted Post, as guests of the United States, it 
was necessary for Colonel Proctor to provide food and refereshments 

to supply the appetites of about 2,000 red skins, in addition to his 
associates and numerous whites in attendance. And in addition the 
supply of presents was large. The bulk of the supplies was furnish- 
ed by Matthias Hollenback, pioneer Indian trader, proprietor of 
general stores at Wysox, Wyoming, Tioga Point and Newtown, 
dealer in peltry, cattle and lands, and whose canoes and flat boats 
plied the Susquehanna and Chemung from the frontier settlements 
to the seaboard. 

Bills rendered by Matthias Hollenback, approved by Colonel 
Pickering, and paid by the United States Government, for Treaty 
purposes, amounted to nearly three hundred pounds sterling. Among 
the items were 120 bushels of wheat delivered at grist mill of John 
Shepard at Tioga Point, paid John Shepard 15 flour barrels, 16 bush- 
els of wheat delivered at Wyonkoop's mill, barrels for same, G. 
Maxwell, going to Chenango for some stall-fed beef cattle, three 
days ; carriage of 59 cwt. of United States goods from Wyoming to 
Tioga Point, chocolate, sugar, three gallons whisky, milk, loaves of 
bread, meat, flour delivered to Oneida Indians on the way up, boat 
and hands conveying load of U. S. goods from Tioga Point to New- 
town Point, four rum kegs delivered to Indions, not returned ; carri- 
age of four kegs of rum to Painted Post, 90 34 gallons of whisky 
delivered at sundry times, 30 1-2 gallons and 1 pint of rum delivered 
at sundry times, 33 pounds of vermillion, two pairs shoes and four 
powder horns for Captain Hendrick, 15 1-2 quarts of wine, 7 barrels 
of wheat flour, 62 pipes, expense of four chiefs at Painted Post, four 
bushels com from John Dillon, 3 1-2 dozen large silver, brooches, four 
yards ribbon, 72 bushels corn, potatoes ; com, potatoes and flour 
delivered at various times at both Painted Post and Newtown, salt, 
butcher knives for Stockhridge Indians, two rifles delivered to Capt. 
Hendrick, cambrick cloth, skeins thread, fowls, powder, calico, canoe, 
butcher knives for various Indians, a "kirb" bridle for Chief O'Beel's 



102 Colonel Pickering as Master of Ceremonies. 

brother, hauling grain to and from Baldwin's mill, 101 heads and 
"pluck" delivered to the Indians. The above does not include the 
invoices of blankets, adornments, hunting equipment, kettles, etc., 
and gew-gaws in generous supply, shipped up-stream to Newtown, in 
bales and packages, as presents from the Thirteen Fires to the 
Indians, "to brighten all the links of the chain of friendship." 

Wyncoop's mill and Baldwin's mill, for grinding grain, were 
located between Chemung and Newtown. Colonel Kckering had 
difficulty in getting sufficient grain ground ta meet the inordinate 
appetites of the Indians. 

In connection with claims for sundries and services for the 
Treaty, Mr. Hollenback, in a final accounting, said : 

" In addition to the supplies and disbursements charged in my account, 
I have now closed the same with a charge of £20 5. 0. for purchasing all the 
corn, wheat and potatoes ; for attending the carrying of the grain to mill, 
grinding, getting flour casks, for forwarding the same to Newtown Point, 
with all the United States goods from Tioga to New Town ; for employing 
hands for the boat and canoes, for delivering and issuing the meal, com 
and potatoes to the Indians from day to day, as called for ; going twice ta 
Painted Post to deliver provisions myself, and for sending. Jacob Hart 
twice to the same place from Newtown Point, in all thirty-six days at a 
dollar and a half a day. This charge I trust you will think reasonable, for 
you saw the great trouble which attended the procuring the extra supplies 
of grain from a variety of places, often in small quantities, and in getting 
them transported." 

There was a general attendance of pioneers of the Genesee 
Country at this treaty. Every settlement on the Chemung, Tioga, 
Canisteo and the Genesee rivers, and in the lake region, was repre- 
sented by men, who watched the proceedings with keenest soHcitude, 
and rendered Colonel Pickering such assistance as was possible. 

During all those anxious days, as master of ceremonies. Colonel 
Pickering remained cool, deliberate, calculating, unyielding, ever 
courteous ; a master of the kind of diplomacy required to compel 
desired results at an Indian Council composed of turbulent elements. 

Colonel Pickering was by nature well fitted for dealing with the 
Indians. He was a six-footer, well-proportioned, and a giant in 
strength. He could endure pain without the movement of a muscle. 
The Indians generally liked him, and by them he was given the name 
of Don-Neh-Sauty, meaning the " Sunny-Side-of-a-Hill." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXII. 
Great Council Fire Lighted at Newtown. 

THE PLANS of the Federal Government, to draw the friendly 
Indians and those under their influence, away from the 
British frontier and conduct a Treaty at a point inaccessible to 
malcontent reds generally, worked out so nicely that when on the 
21st of June, 1791, the Council Fire was lit on the Chemung flats at 
Newtown, the success of the undertaken seemed assured. There 
were nearly 2,000 members of the Iroquois tribes present, and 
their principal Sachems and Chiefs with the exception of Joseph 
Brant and a few kindred spirits. 

To the surprise of the whites. Red Jacket was on hand. This 
crafty diplomate and orator, endeavored by all means to secure the 
best possible bargains for his tribesmen. He was audacious in the 
presentation of his claims and the persistence with which he held to 
position after position, but in debate he was no match for the 
brilliant and affable Pickering. The most potent and forceful Indian 
at the Treaty was Cornplanter. 

The prime objects of the Treaty were, to get the Six Nations to 
agree to a lasting peace with the United, to induce them to help win 
over the Indians of the Northwest, and to prevent interference with 
the white occupaints of lands in Western New York, title to which 
had been duly surrendered. 

To bring desired results, it was necessary for Colonel Pickering, 
first of all, to adjust existing Indian grievances, among which the 
dispute with Oliver Phelps over the purchase of the Genesee Country 
was paramount. 

One by one the various treaties between the Six Nations and the 
United States were taken up, in order, and disposed of, until finally 
the Treaty of Buffalo Creek, entered into in 1788, with Oliver 
Phelps, was brought up. 

103 



104 The Phelps Land Deal Investigated at Treaty. 

Colonel Pickering took the testimony of both the Indians and 
of Oliver Phelps and his associates, as to the agreements under which 
Phelps secured title to the Genesee Country. White men of 
good repute, who had personal knowledge of the negotiations and 
dealings of Oliver Phelps with the Indians, also gave testimony. 

At the request of Oliver Phelps, Colonel Pickering asked 
Sha-Ron-Yo-Wa-Nen, the Chief of the Onondaga Indians; and 0-Ja- 
Ge-Ghete, [Fish Carrier], Chief of the Cayngas, whose names appeared 
on the quit-claim deed given to Phelps at Canandaigua in August, 
1789, relating to the contents of the paper. They said they did not 
remember what papers had been read at the treaty at Canandaigua, 
but declared they well remembered that the bargain between Oliver 
Phelps and the Five Nations at Buffalo Creek was this : That Mr- 
Phelps was to pay five thousand dollars for the purchase and five 
himdred dollars every year forever. They said they signed the paper 
at "Konnaudaugua" to confirm the bargain Iwhich had been made 
with Mr. Phelps at Buffalo Creek. 

This contradicted the claim of Cornplanter, Half -Town and Big 
Tree, in their speeches at Philadelphia, that Phelps had agreed to pay 
$10,000 down and $1,000 a year forever. 

It also contradicted the claim made by the Senecas at the Treaty 
at Tioga Point, the Fall before, that Phelps had agreed to pay $10,000 
purchase money and $500 a year rental forever. 

Matthias Hollenback deposed that he attended the Treaty at 
Buffalo Creek, in 1788, and that the price of the lands was $5,000, 
and the sum of $500 yearly ; that "the writings were made according 
to that contract, and were read and explained in public Councils by 
Colonel Butler, Captain Brant, James Dean and Rev. Samuel Kirk- 
land ; and that the Indians appeared to be perfectly satisfied withjthe 
contract as explained to them." 

Elisha Lee testified that there " neither was nor could there be 
any fraud or deceit or unfair management in this whole business at 
Buffalo Creek." He denied that Mr. Phelps had made threats "to 
intimidate the Indians." 

The following deposition by Colonel Eleazer Lindsley, who in 
1789, immediately following the Treaty of Canandiagua, purchased a 
township of Oliver Phelps, was subscribed to at Newtown Point on 
July 5th. 1971, before Jonathan Gazley, a Justice of the Peace, and 
presented in evidence at the Great Council : 



Oliver Phelps Speaks in His Own Behalf. 105 

" I, Eleazer Lindsley, of lawful age, testify and say, that I was at 
Canandaigua some time in August, 1789, and that the chiefs of the Six 
Nations were assembled for the purpose of receiving their pay for the 
purchase of their lands in the Genesee Country, which purchase I under- 
stood was made by Oliver Phelps and Nathanial Gorham, Esqs.; and the 
chiefs then appointed five agents to receive the money and goods for them, 
to wit : Jones, Smith, Rozeeranty, Jack Berry and one Matthews (who acted 
as an interpreter for the Complanter ;) that the agents counted the money,, 
and appraised the goods, and then declared to the chiefs that it was right ; 
that they laid off the money and goods to the amount of five thousand 
dollars, according to the form of the bond, and that the chiefs came for- 
ward and received the money and goods, and expressed their entire satis- 
faction ; and then the Complanter gave up the bond of Ol iver Phelps ; and 
that tliey had received the full amount thereof. 

" I further say, that after the goods were appraised, and the money was 
counted out, by the above mentioned agents, the said Oliver Phelps, Esq., 
insisted that the chiefs should examine the money and goods for them- 
selves, to see that they had received the full consideration of the bond, 
which they accordingly did, and appeared satisfied. 

" [Signed], ELEAZER LINDSLEY." 

Speaking in his own behalf, at the Council, Oliver Phelps gave 
his version of deals with the Indians, going at length into details. He 
made an earnest defense of himself, in which he said : 

" I wish in a friendly manner to state to you the particulars of our 
bargain. When I arrived at Buffalo Creek, the Complanter had leased all 
your country to Livingston and Benton. —[This referred to the 999-year 
lease scheme.] — I had bought that lease of Livingston ; but I found that 
you were dissatisfied, and not willing to give up your country. Although I 
had power to have confirmed that lease and have held your lands, yet I 
would have nothing to do with your lands without your voluntary consent. 
I, therefore, to remove the lease out of the way, and set your minds at ease, 
bought so much of Livingston as covered the Seneca lands, and gave up 
the lease to you, making it void ; so that all the Seneca lands was yours. So 
that by my means you got your whole country back again. I then came 
forward with a speech to you, requesting to purchase a part of your 
country. You were not willing to sell so much as I wanted, but after a 
long time we agreed upon the lines . . After some consideration 
you agreed to the terms proposed, but insisted that I must add some cattle 
and some rum, to which I agreed. Brothers : You know there were a great 
many people there ; they all tell alike— they all tell one story. 

" Now, Brothers, I do not want to pontend with you. I am an honest 
man. If you go to New England and inquire my character, you will not 
find me such a rogue as you represent me to be. I intend to fulfill all my 
engagement to you. I now owe you one thousand dollars for two years' 
rent, which I am willing to pay at any time, at any place you will." 

The proceedings at Newtown were conducted in a leisurely way 



106 Treaty Concludes With a Great Feast. 

and continued for three weeks. Colonel Pickering improved every 
opportunity to impress upon the Indians the idea that the adoption 
of the white man's methods of life would be of great benefit to them. 
This was a matter that President Washington greatly desired to have 
brought to their attention, as he believed that such a change would 
go far towards solving the Indian problem. Cornplanter favored 
Colonel Pickering in this, but Red Jacket was active in opposition, 
and a stanch advocate of the ways and wiles of his fathers. 

The Treaty concluded with a great feast, at which the Indians 
were the guests of Colonel Pickering and his white associates. 
On this occasion Colonel Pickering appealed to the chiefs to introduce 
the arts and customs of civilization among their tribes, saying if 
they would do so, within five years they might spread such a table 
themselves from the products of their exertions as craftsmen and 
farmers. Red Jacket arose and replied in a caustic vein, saying : 

" Brother : You have during these negotiations said a good deal on 
civilization. No Chief present can forget what you have told us. They 
will bear it in mind if they should not follow your advice. 

" Brother : We thank you for your good counsel, and as an additional 
inducement to its adoption, I am happy to perceive that you have introduc- 
ed to our notice several young white men, who will doubtless feel that 
patriotism which your oratory is calculated to inspire— proud that they can 
give a practical illustration of its sincerity by inter-marrying with our 
women." 

Red Jacked had noticed that some of the younger white men 
were on pretty good terms with attractive squaws. 

The Treaty culminated in a general exchange of expressions of 
friendship. Presents were distributed in behalf of the Great Chief 
of the Thirteen Fires. And in closing the Treaty, Colonel Pickering 
extended to the chiefs an invitation to visit Philadelphia at their 
convenience and hold a Council with the the Great Father of the 
Thirteen Fires. This invitation was accepted. 

Commenting on the Treaty of the Painted Post, William L. 
Stone, in his " Life and Times of Red Jacket," says : 

"The speeches interchanged between the chiefs and Colonel Pickering, 
at this Council, have not been preserved ; but the result was favorable in 
yet further diverting the attention of J:he Six Nations from the affairs of the 
Western Indians in actual hostility; while by a liberal distribution of 
presents, the young warriors were checked in their propensity to start away 
on the war-path whenever blood was sniffed in the tainted breeze." 

President Washington continued to cultivate the friendship of 
the Six Nations, satisfied that while they kept the peace, the safety 



St. Clair's Defeat Renews Unrest oj the Iroquois. 107 

of the settlers in Western New York and Western Pennsylvania was 
assured. Arrangements were pressed for the establishment of a 
fort at Erie, Pa., the gate-way between the lands of the Six Nations 
and the tribes of the Northwest. Oliver Phelps and Robert Morris 
at once resumed business relations with the Indians, and settlers in 
large numbers entered the Genesee Country— coming forward from 
New England by way of the Mohawk ; and from Long Island, New 
Jersey, Eastern Pennslyvania and along that seaboard, by way of the 
Susquehanna. In each stream of home-seekers there was a mingling 
of new arrivals from beyond the Atlantic. 

On the Genesee, in August, 1791, in the presence of James 
Wadsworth, Thomas Rees, Thomas and William Morris and certain 
other white men of good repute, the Indians received from Oliver 
Phelps a thousand dollars — (" rising of seven hundred dollars of 
which sum is in cash and the residue in calico and linens, estimated 
at a reasonable price.") 

On the morning of November 4, 1791, just before daybreak, the 
United States force led by General St. Clair, 1,400 strong, was defeat- 
ed by the Indians, about 15 miles from the village of Miami. The 
American lost was 531 officers and men killed outright, 283 officers 
and men wounded — many of them mortally. Not a horse was left 
alive. The disaster was deplorable ; it was followed by massacres 
of settlers and the destruction of settlements all along that frontier, 
and renewed unrest among the Iroquois tribes. About 150 of Joseph 
Brant's best Mohawk warriors took part in the battle, as allies of 
the enemy, as also minor bands of Iroquois Indians. 

Under date of January 7th, 1792, Secretary of War Knox, in view 
of the gravity of the Indian situation, brought about by the defeat of 
St. Clair, sent an appeal to the Complanter and other friendly chiefs 
of the Six Nations, by President Washington's order, saying : 

"' Brothers : The unfortunate defeat of our troops at the westward 
does not dishearten the United States, and I hope it does not you. It is true 
we lament the blood that has been spilt in a war which you know we wished 
to avoid. You know this as well from the mouth of our Great Chief, 
General Washington, as from the endeavors of Colonel Proctor, whom I 
sent to you last Spring. But the number of men we have lost we can easily 
replace, and, therefore, although the continuance of the war will be trouble- 
some, yet in the long run we must conquer. 

" Brothers : The United States must and will protect their frontier 
inhabitants, and much evil will befall the bad Indians. General Washington 
regards you as our fast friend, and he will take care of you. . We 

wish to consider that you and your people are part of ourselves. 



108 Wayne's Victory Ends Danger of Iroquois Uprising. 

" I have sent you a few presents, to replace those things which the bad 
people plundered you of last Spring. Receive them with an earnest of the 
United States ; and let us know what other articles you wish, and they 
shall be sent you. 

" Let nothing shake your friendship, for, be assured, we only seek to do 
that which is right and just." 

A deputation of fifty chiefs of the Six Nations, accompanied by 
Rev. Samuel Kirkland, the missionary, arrived in Philadelphia on the 
13th of March, 1792, on invitation of the Federal Government. There 
was considerable speech-making, and the " links of the chain of 
friendship " were once more brightened by liberal presents to the 
Indians. President Washington assured the chiefs that the United 
States would provide for them. He said : " Let it be spread abroad 
among all your villages, and throughout your land, that the United 
States are desirious not only of a general peace with all the Indian 
tribes, but of being their friends and protectors." 

General Anthony Wayne with a force of 900 men, wiped out the 
disgrace of the defeat of St. Clair, by defeating 2,000 Indians near 
Fort Miami, on the 20th of August, 1794. 

From time to time minor Councils were held by Federal 
officials with friendly head-men of the Iroquois tribes, but matters 
drifted, causing anxiety among the settlers in the Genesee Country, 
for it was known that Joseph Brant and Red Jacket were persistent 
in their efforts to lend aid and comfort to the warring natives of the 
Northwest. However, another Treaty was held at Canandaigua, 
where on the 11th day of November, 1794, an agreement was signed 
by Colonel Timothy Pickering, representing the United States, and 
fifty-nine Sachems and Chiefs of the Six Nations, under which the 
Indians recognized all former treaties and land sales made by them. 

On the 2d of December, 1794, a similar Treaty was signed by 
Colonel Pickering, and fifteen Stockbridge Sachems and Chiefs. 

At a Treaty held at Genesee, in September, 1797, except for a 
few minor reserves, fifty-two Sachems, Chiefs and Warriors of the 
Seneca Nation, sold the part of New York State west of the Genesee 
River to Robert Morris, of Philadelphia, for the sum of one hundred 
thousand dollars, "to be by the said Robert Morris vested in the 
stock of the Bank of the United States, for the use and behoof of the 
said Nation of Indians." 

With th opening up of the extreme western part of New York 
for settlement, all fears of an uprising of Indians of the Iroquois 
federation, or an invasion by western Indians, came to an end. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXIII. 

The Original Township of Painted Post. 

PAINTED POST is a name that oppeals— it means something, 
and has a history that appeals. Its origin as the name of a 
distinctive locality anti-dates the first map of the Genesee 
Country. When the first white man venturing beyond the bounds of 
civilization, paddled a canoe up the Chemung River, at the gateway 
of the land of mystery, where the stream forked, and age-worn Indian 
trails joined, there stood in bold relief a massive, weather-beaten oak 
post. It was a painted post. The design was distinctive. The 
adventurer was deeply impressed by peculiar markings on the post ; 
by evidences that it had sustained rough usage at the hands of 
human beings who had wielded implements ; and also at its extreme 
age. This was a century and a half ago. It was revealed to the 
experienced woodsman, as the result of careful examination of the 
post, and its condition where it entered the light alluvial soil, that 
it had stood there for ages. According to some of the Indians, when 
in settlement days they were questioned about the matter, this post 
had been erected to replace one that had rotted off — a practice that, 
according to Indian tradition, had been kept up from " the beginning." 

The Painted Post Section of the Genesee Coimtry was the name 
by which the whole Chemung water-shed was known from the time 
Sullivan's army hustled the native tribes out of it, until Steuben 
County was formed and named by act of the New York State 
Legislature, in 1796. To bring this about it was necessary to cut the 
heart out of Ontario County — all of that section of the State west 
of the center of Seneca Lake. But the hardy pioneers breathed into 
the new County the breath of life, and it became a living soul. And 
on the 18th of March, 1796, the original Township of Painted Post 
was formed. The town extended from the Pennsylvania line, 18 

109 



110 First White Settlers On the Upper Chemung. 

miles north, and from the Massachusetts pre-emption line 12 miles 
west, and was composed of six of the six-mile square towns as 
mapped by the Phelps and Gorham surveyors, namely : Campbell, 
Caton, Corning, Hornby, Erwin and Lindley, Erwin and Hornby 
were taken off in 1826; Campbell in 1831 ; Lindley in 1837; Worm- 
ley, (now Caton), in 1839. The village of Coming was incorporated 
in 1848, and in March, 1852, the name of the remaining portion of 
the former Township of Painted Post was changed to Corning. This 
cleared the way for the Village of Painted Post to assume the name. 

The first white man to erect a dwelling within the bounds of 
the present County of Steuben was William Harris, a hunter, 
who built a log cabin on the bank of the Conhocton, near the famous 
" painted post," in 1784. He was a son of the Pennsylvania pioneer 
who built and occupied the first house at Harrisburg, and gave the 
place its name. In 1787 Frederick Calkins, from Vermont, erected a 
log cabin home on the south bank of the Chemung River, opposite 
three tall pillars of shale rock, the locality being known as "Chimney 
Narrows." This was the first dwelling within the bounds of the 
present city of Corning. That year Eli and Eldad Meade, brothers, 
erected a cabin on the Conhocton River flats, about two miles above 
the "painted post," and George Goodhue, of Massachusetts, located a 
home on the Conhocton near the mouth of Mead's Creek. These 
men were all " squatters." 

In 1783 John Gould drove some fat cattle from New Jersey 
by way of Tioga Point, Newtown and the "painted post" to Fort 
Niagara, arriving there in June. He said of the trip : " When I came 
through in 1783, 1 saw no white Inhabitant after leaving Newtown, 
till I arrived at Fort Niagara. At Newtown there was one unfinished 
log house. The " painted post " was at the junction of the Indian 
trails. It was a post striped red and white." 

There were two natural routes of travel into and out of the 
Genesee Country— the Susquehanna and the Mohawk. A third, or 
southern route, was added when in 1792 Captain Williamson opened 
a crudely constructed highway from the Ross farm, nowWilliamsport, 
Pa., to the mouth of the Canaseraga Creek, on the Genesee River, a 
distance of one hundred and fifty miles. 

Augustus Porter, who assisted in making the original surveys 
of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase, entered the Cenesee Country in 



Over the Mohawk Route To the Genesee in 1789. Ill 

1789, by the Mohawk Valley or Northern route. The following is 
copied from his biography, a most interresting narrative : 

" In the year 1789, Captain William Bacon, General John Fellows, 
General John Ashley, and Elisha Lee, Esq., of Sheffield, Mass.; Deacon 
John Adams, of Alford, Mass., and my father, having become the 
purchasers of Township No. 12, 1st Range, (now Arcadia, Wayne 
County), and No. 10 in the 4th Range, (now East Bloomfield, Ontario 
County), then in the County of Montgomery, New York, I entered 
into an agreement with them to go out to survey the tracts. I accord- 
ingly, in pursuance of previous arrangements made with Captain 
Bacon, met him at Schenectady, early in May, 1789. Here I found 
that Captain Bacon had collected some cattle, provisions, and farm- 
ing utensils, for the use of settlers who were going forward in 
company with Deacon Adams and his family, whom I also met at the 
same place, and who took charge of the cattle. The provisions were 
taken into two boats. I assisted in navigating one of the boats, each 
carrying about twelve barrels, and known as Schenectady batteau, 
and each navigated by four men. Leaving Schenectady we proceed- 
ed up the Mohawk to Fort Stanwix, (now Rome). In passing the 
Little Falls of the Mohawk, the boats and their contents were 
transported around on wagons. At Fort Stanwix we carried our 
boats, etc., over a portage of about one mile, to the waters of Wood 
Creek. This creek affords but little water from the portage to its 
junction with the Canada Creek, which falls into Wood Creek seven 
miles west of Fort Stanwix, At the portage there was a dam 
for a saw-mill, which created a considerable pond. This pond, 
when filled, could be rapidly discharged, and on the flood thus sud- 
denly made, boats were enabled to pass down. We passed down this 
stream, which empties into Oneida Lake, and through the lake and its 
outlet to the Three River Point, and thence up the Seneca River and 
the outlet of Kanadasaga Lake, (now Seneca Lake), to the Kanadasa- 
ga settlement, (now Geneva). The only interruption to the naviga- 
tion of this river and the outlet, occurred at Seneca Falls and 
Waterloo, (then known as Scoys). At Seneca Falls we passed our 
boats up the stream empty, by the strength of a double crow, our 
loading being taken around by a man named Job Smith, who had a 
pair of oxen and a rudely constructed cart, the wheels of which were 
made by sawing off a section of a log, some two and a half or three 
feet in diamater. At Scoys we took out about half our load to pass, 
consisting mostly of barrels, which we rolled around the rapids. 



112 Painted Post Wilderness Surveyed Into Townships. 

" From the time we left Fort Stanwix until we arrived at Kana- 
dasaga we found no white persons, except at the junction of Canada 
and Wood creeks, where a man lived by the name of Armstrong ; at 
Three River Point a Mr. Bingham, and at Seneca Falls was Job 
Smith. Geneva consisted of six or seven families. There Asa 
Ransom had a small shop and engaged in making Indian trinkets. 

" At Geneva we left our boats and cargoes in charge of Captain 
Bacon. Joel Steel, Thaddeus Keyes, Orange Woodruff and myself, 
took our packs on our backs and followad the Indian trail over to 
Canandaigua, (then called Kanandarque). Here we found General 
Chapin, Daniel Gates, Joseph Smith (Indian interpreter), Benjamin 
Gardner and family, Frederick Saxton (surveyor), and probably some 
half a dozen others." 

Mr. Porter having completed his engagement in surveying the 
northern section of the Phelps and Gorham purchase, he changed 
his field of operations to the Painted Post territory. He wrote : 

" Colonel Hugh Maxwell, a surveyor, had contracted with Phelps 
and Gorham the previous year— [1788]— to run out into townships 
the whole of that part of their purchase to which the Indian title had 
been extinguished. Not having completed the work, he entered into 
an agreement with Mr. Saxton and myself, to survey a portion, con- 
sisting of about forty townships, which now constitute part of 
Steuben County. We entered immediately on this survey, and 
completed it in the course of the season. While engaged in it we 
made our headquarters at Painted Post, on the Conhocton River, at 
the house of old Mr. Harris and his son William. These two men, 
Mr. Goodhue who lived near by, and a Mr. Meade two miles up the 
river at the mouth of a stream since known as Meade's Creek, were 
the only persons on the territory we were surveying. Before we 
left, however, Solomon Bennett, Mr. Stevens, Captain Jameson and 
Mr. Crosby arrived from Pennsylvania, in search of a township for 
purchase and for future settlement, and fixed on Township No. 3, in 
tlie 5th, and No. 4, in the 6th range, both lying on the Canisteo River, 
and soon settled the same." 

By a deed dated November 18th, 1790, Oliver Phelps and Nath- 
aniel Gorhom conveyed to Robert Morris all of their Massachusetts 
Pre-Emption remaining unsold, about 1,200,000 acres. Morris, by a 
deed dated April 11th, 1792, conveyed to Charles Williamson, nearly 
all of these lands. Williamson made the purchase and adminstered 



Source of Painted Post Township Land Titles. 113 



the estate in trust for an association of English speculators, whose 
interests were as follows : Sir William Pulteney, nine-twelfths ; John 
Hornby, two-twelfths, and Patrick Colquhoun, one-twelfth. These 
men being aliens could not at that time take title to the land. Their 
agent, Captain Williamson, was of Scotch parentage ; he landed in 
Baltimore in 1791, coming to America to act as agent for Sir William 
Pulteney and associates, and in order to qualify as a land-holder he 
became an American citizen. In April, 1798, the State of New York 
passed a law permitting aliens to own and dispose of land, and 
on October 21, 1801, Charles Williamson and his wife conveyed 
the estate, with extensive " betterments," including hotels and mill 
properties, to Sir William Pulteney, of London, England. Thence on 
the tract was commonly called " The Pulteney Estate." 

The early land owners of Steuben County generally, {except in 
the towns of Erwin, Lindley, Campbell, Canisteo and Homellsville, 
which were purchased direct from Phelps andGorham), derived their 
titles from Sir William Pulteney and his heirs. The Pulteney Estate 
maintained a land office in the village of Bath from the founding of 
the place until a recent date. For nearly a century its agents leased 
farms to tenants, the "rack-renting" in many instances being 
oppressive, and preventing the proper development of farms. 

Phelps and Gorham derived their title to the Genesee Country 
by purchase directly from the State of Massachusetts ; that common- 
wealth, first known as the " Colony of Massachusetts Bay," by Royal 
Charter, from James I, King of England, who claimed the territory 
of North America by right of discovery and possession made in 
1497, imder a commission from Henry Vllth, King of England, by the 
voyager Sebastain Cabot, son of a Venetian merchant 

The " Historical and Statistical Gazeteer of New York State," 
<R. P. Smith, Publisher, Syracuse, N. Y., 1840), contains the following 
references to the settlement and organization of the townships that 
formed the original Town of Painted Post: 

CORNING— Was formed as Painted Post, March 18, 1796. Its 
name was changed March 31, 1852. Erwin and Hornby were taken 
off in 1826, and Wormly, now Caton, in 1829. A part was annexed 
to Erwin in 1856. It lies on the eastern border of the County, south 
of the center. The wide valley of the Chemung River, extending 
northwest and southeast through the center of the town, and several 
lateral valleys, divide the uplands into rounded hills and narrow 



114 Erwin Was Included in Old Painted Post. 

ridges. Its streams are Borden, Post, Narrows, Clump Foot and 
Winsfield creeks, tributaries of the Chemungr River. The soil upon 
the hills is a heavy, slatey loam, and in the valleys a fine quality of 
sandy and gravelly loam, occasionally intermixed with clay. 

Coming village, incorporated September 6, 1848, is situated on 
south bank of the Chemung River, in the west part of the town. It 
is a half-shire of the County. The Chemung Canal, the Blossburg 
and Coming Railroad, and the Buffalo,^ New York and Erie Railroad, 
terminate here; and the vilage is an important station on the New 
York and Erie Railroad. It contains five churches two newspaper 
establishments, two banks, a State arsenal, and several mills and 
manufacturing establishments, and commands an extensive and 
constantly increasing trade. Population, 4,626. In 1852,, 40,000 tons 
of Blossburg coal, brought by the Btossburg and Ccaning Railroad, 
were transhipped at this place, and 50,000,000 feet of lumber exported. 

Knoxville, opposite Corning, contains two churches and has a 
population of 628. Centerville contains 25 houses. Gibson lies on 
the north bank of the Chemung, one mile east of Coming ; population 
428. East Painted Post is a post office. 

The first settlements ware made in 1788y by Frederick Calkins 
and Benjamin Eaton. Benjamin and Peleg Gorton, Jr., Ephriam 
Patterson and his sons Ichabod and Stephen ; Bradford Eggleston, 
Justus Wolcott; Elias, William and Henry McCormick ; Hezekiah 
Thurber, Jonathan Cook, Samuel Colgrove, and Elias and Eldad Mead 
settled in the town in 1790-'91-'92 ; Jonathan and Warren Rowley in 
1794; James Turner and Caleb Wolcott in 1795; George McCulloch 
and Benjamin Patterson in 1796 and Nehemiah Hubbell in 1798. The 
first birth was that of James Calkins, November 24th, 1790 ; the first 
marriage that of Benjamin Gorton and Rachel Wolcott, in 1794 ; the 
first death that of Ichabod Patterson, in 1794. Ichabod Patterson 
built the first saw-mill and James Henderson the first grist-mill, both 
in 1793 ; Benjamin Eaton kept the first store, in 1791, and Benjamin 
Patterson the first inn, in 1798. The first school was taught by 
Samuel Colgrove, in 1793. The first religious service was conducted 
by John Warren, in 1793. 

£/?W7A^— Named for Colonel Arthur Erwin, of Bucks County, 
Pa., an officer in the Revolutionary War, by whom the township was 
purchased of Phelps and Gorham. Was formed from Painted Post 
on January 27th, 1826. Lindley was taken off in 1837, and a part of 
Coming was annexed in 1856. It lies west of Coming, in the south- 



Lindley Purchased By an Officer of the Revolution. 115 



east part of the County. Its surface is about equally divided between 
high, rolling uplands and the low valleys of streams. The summits 
of the hills are 400 to 600 feet above the valleys. Tioga and Canisteo 
rivers unite in the southeast part of the town, and the Tioga and the 
Conhocton rivers in the northeast, forming the Chemung River. The 
valleys of these streams are one to two miles wide. The soil upon 
the hills is a shaly and clayey loam, and in the valleys it is a fine 
quality of alluvium. Nearly three-fourths of the surface is yet 
covered with forests. The lumber trade is extensively pursued. 

The village of Painted Post, is situated at the junction of the Con- 
hocton and Tioga rivers ; is a station on the Erie Railroad and the 
Buffalo, New York and Erie Railroad. It contains two churches, a 
bank, an iron foundry and machine shop, a tannery and a flouring 
mill. Population, 777. One mile west of Painted Post is a saw, 
shingle and planing mill, that gives employment to 75 men, and turns 
out 8,000,000 to 11,000,000 feet of lumber per annum. 

Coopers Plains is a station on the Buffalo, New York and Erie 
Railroad, and contains a church. Population, 293. 

David Fuller, Eli Mead and — Van Nye settled in the town in 
1791-'92 ; and Samuel, Frank and Arthur Erwin, Captain Howell Bull 
and John E. Evans in 1800-'01-'02. Samuel Erwin built the first saw- 
mill in 1820, and the first grist-mill in 1823; David Fuller kept the 
first inn, in 1792. The first school was taught by John E, Evans, in 
1812. There are four churches in the town. 

L/ArZ)LEF— Named in honor of Colonel Eleazer Lindsley. Was 
formed from Erwin, May 12, 1837. It lies upon the south border of 
the County, east of the center. Its surface is a hilly upland, broken 
by the deep valley of the Tioga River. The summit of the hills rise 
350 to 600 feet above the valley, and most of them are covered with 
forests. The valley is about one mile wide, and is bordered by steep 
hillsides. The soil upon the hills is a heavy, shaly loam, and the 
valleys a rich alluvium. Three-fourths of the surface is still covered 
with forests. Lumbering is extensively pursued. 

Lindleytown, on the Tioga River, is a station on the Blossburg 
and Coming Railroad and contains 15 Dwellings. 

Erwin Center is a railroad station and hamlet upon the river, 
near the north border of the town. 

The first settlement was made in 1790, by Colonel Eleazer 
Lindsley, from New Jersey, the original proprietor of the town, who 



116 Campbell Formed From Town of Hornby. 



located on the Tioga flats. He served in the Revolution. In his- 
migration to his new home he was accompanied by his two sons, 
Samuel and Eleazer, his sons-in-law Dr. Ezekiel Mulford and Captain 
John Seelye, and a man named David Cook. The first child bom 
was Eliza Mulford, August 20; 1792 ; the first marriage, that of David 
Cook, Jr., and Elizabeth Cady; and the first death,, that of Colonel 
Eleazer Lindsley, in June, 1794. Joseph Miller taught the first 
school, near the Pennsylvania line, in 1793 ; the widow of Colonel 
Lindsley kept the first inn, on the west bank of the river* and John 
P. Ryers the first store. The first saw-mill was erected by Colonel 
Lindsley. There is no church and no place where liquor is sold xoi 
the town. 

CAMPBELL was formed from Hornby, April 15, 1831. It is an. 
interior town, lying southeast of the center of the County. Its 
surface consists of high, broken ridges, separated by vsslleys of the 
streams. The declivities of the hiUs are generally steep, and- their 
summits are 300 to 50O feet above the valleys. The streams are : the 
Conhocton River, flowing southeast through the west part of the 
town, and its tributaries- Wolf Rtm, McNutt Run, Dry Run, and 
Meads, Stephens and Michigan Creeks. The valley of the river is 
about one and a half miles wide. The soil is clayey and gravelly 
loam upon the highlands and a rich alluvium in the valleys. Named' 
from the Campbell family, who were early and prominent settlers. 
Settlement was commenced in 1800. The first settlers were Samuel 
Calkins, Elias Williams, Joseph Wolcott, Rev. Robert Campbell and 
his son Archibald. The first birth was that of Bradford Campbell ;. 
the first marriage, that of Asa Milliken and Rachel Campbell ; the 
first death, that of Frederick Stewart, in 1806. Campbell & Stephens 
built the first saw-mill, and Campbell & Knox the first grist-mill- 
Robert Campbell kept the first inn ; Frederick Stewart the first store. 
The first church, (Presbyterian), was organized in 1831 ; Rev. B. B. 
Smith was the first settled pastor. 

Campbelltown, on the Conhocton, is a station on the Buffalo, 
New York and Erie Railroad ; contains one church, three saw-mills, 
a flouring-mill, two tanneries and about twenty houses. 

Curtis is a station on the same railroad. 

HORNBY was formed from Painted Post, (now Coming), 
January 27, 1826. Campbell was taken off in 1831, and a part was 
annexed to Orange, Schuyler County, April 11, 1842. It lies near the 
center of the east border of the County, and its surface is mostly a 



Hornby Formed From Original Painted Post. 117 



high, rolling upland. The streams are: Dry Run in the northwest, 
and Post and Borden creeks in the southwest, all flowing in deep, 
narrow valleys. The soil is a shaly and clayey loam, and of good 
quality. Named for John Hornby an English landholder. The first 
settlement was made in 1814, by Asa and Uriah Nash, from Otsego 
County. Jesse Piatt, John Robbins and Edward Stubbs settled in the 
town in 1815 ; John St. John, Amasa Stanton, James S. and Hiram 
Gardner, Chester Knowlton and Aden Palmer in 1815-'16 ; Benjamin 
Gardner. Isaac Goodsell, Aaron Harwood and John Sayer in 1818. 
The first birth was of George Stanton ; the first marriage that of 
John Bidder and Miss Piatt, in 1816 ; and the first death that of John 
Stanton, Ezra Shaw kept the first inn ; A. B. Dickinson kept the 
first store ; Isaac La Fevre built the first mill ; Jane C. Leach taught 
the first school. 

Hornby Forks, {post office), contains two churches, several manu- 
factories, and 21 dwellings. 

CA TON was formed from Painted Post, {now Corning), as 
Wormly, March 28, 1839, and its name was changed April 3, 1840. 
It is the southeast comer town of the County, Its surface is a rolling 
upland, more nearly level than most towns in the County. A consid- 
erable portion is yet covered with forests. The streams are small 
brooks, flowing northward. The soil is a clayey and shaly loam. 
Lumber is extensively manufactured. A temporary sattlement was 
made in 1714, by Joseph and Charles Wolcott ; but the first perma- 
ment settlement was made in 1819, by Isaac Rowley, from Bradford 
County, Pa. Stephen and Simeon Hurd settled in the town in 1821 ; 
Solomon Tarbox in 1822 ; E. P. Babcock, Edward Robbins and Henry 
Miner in 1823. The first birth was that of Shepard Hurd ; the first 
marriage that of Oliver Wentworth and Elizabeth Hurd ; and the 
first death that of a child of John Rowe. Bennett Bruce built the 
first grist-mill ; Samuel Wormly kept the first inn, and W. D. Gilbert 
the first store ; Edward Robbins taught the first school. The first 
church, (Presbyterian), was organized in 1832, and Rev. Benjamin 
Harron was the first settled pastor. 

The village of Caton, near the center of the town, contains three 
three churches — Presbyterian, Baptist and Methodist Episcopal— 
and thirty-four houses. 

The town was named for Richard Caton. of Tioga Point, who 
in 1804, as an investment, purchased of the Pulteney Estate 4,000 
acres of the best land in the township. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Coming and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXIV. 

Village af Coming Founded By Albany Capitalists. 

THE TERRITORY first comprised in the Emits of the village of 
Coming, — ^as also the village of Knoxville which was annexed 
when Coming became a city — were within the bounds of and 
part of the OTiginal township of Painted Post. The village of Coming 
was so named in honor of the Albany capitalist, Erastus Coming, 
head of the land company that founded the village, in 1836-'37. 

The original purchase of the township, in 1790, from Phelps and 
Gorham,. was by an association of settlers — Frederick Calkins, Caleb 
Gardner, Ephriam Patterson, Justus Wolcott, Peleg Gorton and Silas 
Wood. All of these, with the exception of Silas Wood, built log 
cabins and began farming on their lands. Soon after making the 
purchase there was dissatisf acticwi among these men over the division 
of the land, and a portion was reconveyed to Phelps and Gorham. A 
satisfactory adjustment of titles to the remainder of the land was 
made by a commission composed of William Jennings, Colonel 
Eleazer Lindsley and John Hendy, and then matters moved in a 
normal manner. 

In 1795 a grist-mill was erected on Post Creek. In 1795 Benjamin 
Eaton opened a general store in a log building on the south side of 
the Chemung River, on the highway leading to Knoxville. In 1796, 
Charles Williamson, acting for the Pulteney Estate, built a tavern at 
Knoxville, on the highway leading to Bath — Plater known as " The 
Jennings Tavern." Benjamin Patterson was the original landlord, 
being succeded in 1813 by John Jennings, who purchased the property 
and gave it the name by which it was widely known. Other early 
settlers were, David Fuller, Stephen Ross, Howell Bull, George 
McCullough, Jonathan and Jeduthan Rowley, Abraham Bradley, Dr. 
Phineas Bradley, Elikain Jones, Enos Calkins, James Turner, WiUiam 
Knox, Samuel Shannon, David Heyden, Joseph Grant, Jonathan Cook, 
David Trowbridge, Hezekiah Thurber and Ansell McCall. 

118 



Trade and Transportation Problems in Early Days. 119 

About 1795 the settlement of Knoxville began to take the lead 
in the Painted Post section of the Genesee Country, in the number 
of dwellings and as a trading point John ICnox, for whom the 
place was named, kept a general store, buying and shipping peltry 
and furs, grain, and cured game, including " gammon," — smoked 
deer hams. He sent and received goods by the Chemung and Sus- 
quehanna river route to the seaboard. He was a man of superior 
mind and greatly respected. He was a good neighbor, and his 
advice in matters of business and in the adjustment of disputes was 
usually accepted. In his home the original Painted Post Lodge of 
Free and Accepted Masons was organized. 

The Coming Land Company was organized with a view to 
acquiring control of the trade and commerce sure to develope on the 
head waters of the Chemung. Business men of Albany and New 
York, viewed with much concern the advantage the Susquehanna 
River and its tributaries afforded their Baltimore and Philadelphia 
rivals. The Coming Company proposed to divert the trade of the 
•upper Chemung from the naturd channel through the new Chemung 
canal, thus connecting the new village with the head of Seneca Lake, 
and the Erie Canal, thence to the Hudson River and the sea-coast at 
New York. This was in part accomplished. 

But before taking up the advent of the Canal-Horse, so soon 
displaced by the Iron-Horse, let us consider the travel and transpor- 
tation problems with which the original settlers and their early 
followers were compelled to contend: 

The first settlers to tocate homes on lands of the southern portion 
of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase, had in mind the natural 
transportation advantages — numerous navigable streams, available 
a goodly portion of the Summer season, though ice-bound in Winter. 
No other section of the Genesee Country was so favored. Be it 
remembered that this was many years before railroads, and instant 
personal communication by electric current regardless of distance, 
had been evolved by the mind of man. Fulton tried out the first 
steamboat in 1807, but no such clumsy affair could navigate the 
rapid waters of the narrow and crooked Chemung, going or coming, 
in times of flood — at other times a small flat-boat was the limit. 

With the expectation of bringing the Genesee Country and the 
cities of Baltimore and Philadelphia into neighborly touch with the 
Pulteney lands in the Genesee Country, about the first exploit of 



120 Charles Williamson Succeeds Robert Morris. 

Charles Williamson, on assuming the land agency, was the construc- 
tion of an impossible north-and-south bee-line highway through the 
rugged wilderness from Ncathtmiberland to the Genesee. Of this 
rash undertaking a most interesting account is given in the "History 
of the Settlement of Steuben County, N. Y., by Guy H. McMaster, 
Bath, 1853," from which tihe following is condaised : 

"Charles "Williamson, the first agent of the Pulteney Estate, was a 
native of Scotland. He entered the British army in his youth, and 
diuing the Revolutionary War held the commission of Captain in the 
Twenty-Seventh Regiment of Foot. His regiment was ordered to 
America, but on the passage Captain Williamson was captured by a 
French privateer. He remained a prisoner at Boston till the close of 
the war. 

" On his return to Europe he made the acquaintance of the most 
distinguished men of Eiigland, and was often consulted concerning 
American affairs. On the organization of the association of Sir 
William Pulteney and the others, he was appointed its agent, and 
entered zealously into schemes for colonizing the Genesee Forest. 

" Captain WilliamscHi was a man of talent, hope, energy and 
versatility ; generous and brave of spirit, swift and impetuous in 
action, of questionable discretion in business, a lover of sport and 
excitement, and well calculated by his temperament and genius to 
lead the proposed enterprise. Having landed in Baltimore in 1791, 
and taken the steps required by our naturalization laws, he received 
in his own name, from Robert Morris, a conveyance of the Pulteney 
Estate, and began immediately his preparations for colonization. 
He opened communication with many planters of Virginia and 
Maryland, proposing that they transfer themselves and their house- 
holds from the worn-out plantations of the South to the fresh woods 
of the Genesee. He established his center of organization in the 
village of Northumberland, at the mouth of the West Branch of the 
Susquehanna. 

"In the Winter after his arrival in America, Captain Williamson 
made a visit to the Genesee by the way of Albany and Mohawk. In 
the upper valley of the Mohawk he passed the last of the old settle- 
ments. From these German farms the road was but a lane opened 
in the woods. A few cabins, surrounded by scanty clearings, were 
thence the only indications of civilization that met his eye, till he 
stood amongst a group of cabins at the foot of Seneca Lake. A little 
settlement had been commenced at Canandaigua. The Wadsworths 



Captain Williamson Builds Road Over Alleganies. 121 

were at Big Tree. Jemima Wilkinson and her followers had a 
settlement at the outlet of Crooked Lake— [now Keuka Lake].. 
Wilderness upon wilderness was before him. In the southern district 
of the estate there were small settlements on the Chemung and the 
Canisteo, accessible only from below by the rivers. 

" The following Summer Captain Williamson determined to open 
a road from Northumberland to the Genesee, across a ridge of the 
Alleganies. A road was located from the Ross farm, now Williams- 
port, to the mouth of the Canaseraga Creek, on the Genesee, a 
distance of 150 miles. This road was opened the ensuing Autumn 
by a party of German emigrants. The time when Ben Patterson 
brought the Germans through is yet remembered by a few of our 
aged citizens. The simplicity, the sufferings and the terrors of these- 
Teutonic pioneers were matters of much amusement to the 
rough woodsmen. About 200 men, women and children, direct from 
the Fatherland, destitute and inexperienced, composed the colony 
which it was proposed to send over the mountains to the Tioga, 
thence by the Tioga and Conhocton valleys to the Genesee. Benjamin 
Patterson, and seven stout young Pennsylvanians well skilled in the 
use of the axe and rifle, chosen by him, with the assistance of the 
Germans, were to open the road. Soon the German laborers became 
weary and lame, the discomforts of the woods was to them beyond 
endurance, and their complaints grew longer and more doleful at 
each sunset. When it was night the howling of wolves scared the 
children. The equinoctial storms came on and the dreary rains 
poured down hour after hour, flooding the gorges. Indian Summer 
came on, while the struggle continued, with Commander Patter- 
son insistent and unyielding. The men wept, cursed Patterson, and 
some refused to work, until the sturdy guide and commander 
threatened violence. At favorable places log cabins were built, and 
the road opened for some distance in advance before moving the 
women and children. It was far in November before they completed 
the passage of the mountains. At the place now occupied by the 
village of Blossburg they made a camp, where their baker built an 
oven. Patterson, while hunting in the neighborhood discovered an 
outcropping of coal, which the Germans pronounced of good quality. 
The place where the party next stopped, seven miles onward, was 
named Canoe Camp. When they reached this place their supply of 
provisions was exhausted. Patterson killed an abtmdant supply of 
game, and then went with some of his young men to Painted Post, 
thirty miles or more below. He ordered provisions boated up to the 



122 Helpless German Colonists Winter at Painted Post. 

Painted Post from Tioga Point, and returned to the camp with 
several canoes. He found the colonists in utter despair. Providing 
them with food, the children and some of the women were put into 
canoes, then with the rest of the party clambering along the bank of 
of the stream, the journey was continued. At last the Germans 
feeheld with joy the little cabins clustered around the Painted Post 

" Here their troubles ended. Flour and coifee from Tioga Point 
were awaiting them. It was now December. They had been three 
months in the wilderness and were not in a condition to move 
onward to the Genesee. Patterson, with thirty of the more hardy 
men, kept on, however, and opened the road up the Conhocton River 
to Dansville and the place of destination. The others remained 
"through the Winter of 1793 at Painted R)st. The whole colony was 
conducted to the Genesee in tiie Spring. There was at this time a 
single settler in the valley of the Conhocton, above the settlements 
near the Painted Post. The Germans were well provided for at 
Williamsburgh ; each family received a house and fifty acres of 
land, with a stock of provisions for present use, ard household and 
farming utensQs. Cattle and sheep were distributed among them. 
But they were city bred, knew nothing about fanning and would not 
work. At length they broke out into open and outrageous rebellion, 
which was quelled by a force of men led by the Sheriff of Ontario 
County. Finally they were removed to Canada." 

In 1793 Captain Williamson commenced the settlement of the 
■village of Bath— named for Lady Bath, of England, a member of the 
Pulteney famUy. Before the end of the season fifteen familes resided 
there. A saw-mill and a grist-mill were at once erected, and two 
public houses, a theatre and a race-track soon followed. 

The road through the wilderness between Northumberland 
and the Genesee Country did not prove a success, although it was 
traveled to a considerable extent by persons induced by Captain 
Williamson to take the journey. For settlers entering the Genesee 
Country from sections to the south, the Susquehaima and Chemung 
River route was preferable, and ere long Captain Williamson himself 
sounded far and wide the i)articular advantages afforded settlers in 
the southern section of the Genesee Country, where the lands were 
on navigable streams connecting with the seaboard, affordmg cheap 
and convenient transportation. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity. 

CHAPTER XXV. 
Captain Williamson Extols the Genesee Country. 

CAPTAIN CHARLES WILLIAMSON, as agent of the Pulteney 
Estate was what in latter-day business terminology would be 
termed " a live wire." As a real estate agent he " made things 
hum." He believed in advertising and made extensive use of print- 
er's ink to extol the glories and business possibilities of the Genesee 
Country. He was the author of a series of articles, printed in the 
prominent newspapers and reviews of this country and Europe at 
intervals prior to 1799, and then issued in pamphlet form, entitled : 
" Description of the Settlement of the Genesee Country, in the State 
of New York, in a Series of Letters from a Gentleman to His Friend." 

The following is gleaned from the cunningly devised " Series of 
Letters :" 

" Dear Sir : I with pleasure comply with your request, and 
will endeavor to furnish you with such information relative to the 
soil, climate, situation and present state of the Genesee Country as 
may enable you to judge of the propriety of making it the place of 
your future residence. From the statement of facts, which have 
fallen under my own observation, you may be able to form some idea 
of the rapid growth of this part of the United States. 

" The country now settling is as remarkable for its natural 
advantages as for its fertile soil and moderate climate. . . The 
south part of Ontario County is watered by different branches of the 
the Susquehanna, viz. the Conhocton, Canisteo, Tuscarora and 
Cowanesque, all of which unite at the Painted Post, and are naviga- 
ble from the middle of March to about the first of July, and from 
the middle of September till late in November. 

" The emigration into this country in 1797 exceeded former 
years, a very great proportion of the settlers being the most sub- 
stantial farmers from Pennsylvania, Maryland, the Jerseys and New 
England. The country has been already so far improved that the 

123 



124 Baltimore the Natural Seaport of Steuben County. 

inhabitants live in comfort, and even luxury. The United States has 
established a weekly post for the carriage of letters. In fact, we 
ifound no nconvenience but that the access to the country, for near 
one hundred miles on each side, was through settlements, in point 
iof improvement, far behind the Genesee Country. To improve our 
communtcation with the coast, seemed to be all that was necessary 
to render this the equal to any part of America, for comfort and 
convenience. 

" The Legislature of the State, by act of 1797, has taken the road 
from Fort Schuyler to Geneva under its patronage. A lottery had 
ibeen granted for opening and improving certain great roads, and this 
one was included. Inhabitants of the country through which the 
road passed contributed 4,000 days' work The State Commissioner 
was enabled to complete this road of near 100 miles, opening it 64 
feet wide, and paving with logs and gravel the moist parts of the low 
country through which it was carried. Hence the road from Fort 
Schuyler, on the Mohawk River, to Genesee, from being in the month 
of June, 1797, little better than an Indian path, was so far improved 
that a stage started from Fort Schuyler on the 30th of September, 
and arrived at the hotel in Geneva the afternoon of the third day, 
with four passengers. 

" The traveller of observation cannot fail to be highly gratified 
to find, on passing the counties of Ontario and Steuben, at least 
twenty respectable and distinct settlements, each under the direction 
of some enterprising man, whose greatest ambition, and that of his 
fellow settlers, is to distinguish'^their settlement above the others. 

" To the County of Steuben nature has pointed out a market by 
the Susquehanna River. Several of its branches afford good naviga- 
tion to the most westerly part of the County. They may be naviga- 
ted almost to their source, for five or sbc months of the year, by 
boats carrying five to eight tons ; but when the surplus produce 
requires the carriage of heavy articles to Baltimore, the natural sea- 
port of this part of the country, for six weeks or two months in the 
Spring, while the waters are kept high by the melting of the snow, 
a boat may be made to descend the stream, that will carry from two 
to five hundred barrels of flour. Lumber for the Baltimore market 
can be sent down with ease and at little expense. This places the 
County of Steuben in a situation highly flattering to its future. 

" At the Painted Post, a small village in the most easterly bounds 
of Steuben County, the different branches of the Tioga, or Chemung 



Genesee Country Lumber Rafted to Baltimore^ 125' 



River, form a junction, and all are navigable for a great distance into 
the Genesee Country. The Conhocton River is. navigable to Bath 
for boats of eight tons. Aboi^t five miles below Bath it is joined by 
Mud Creek, so called from a lake that forms its source ; and even 
this small stream is navigable for boats to Mr. Bartles' mills, built on 
the outlet of the lake, eleven miles from its mouth. Mr. Bartles. 
from these mills, rafted 100,000 feet of lumber, last Spring, tO' 
Baltimore, by the Susquehanna, and found the business so advantag 
eous that he is now preparing a much larger quantity for the same 
market. As you descend the Conhocton, from the accession of many 
streams, the navigation betters, untn you reach the main river at 
the Painted Post. 

"The Canisteo, which is the next river to the north, rises 
from a marsh in the northwest comer of the County of Steuben, 
and taking a southwest course, joins the Conhocton at the Painted 
Post. The distance from the head of the Canisteo to Havre de Grace 
is 354 miles. It is somewhat singular that this river is navigable 
almost to its source. From the opposite side of the marsh, the 
Canaseraga also has its source. This is a branch of the Genesee 
River, which falls into the St. Lawrence ; while the Canisteo, a branch 
of the Susquehanna, falls into the Chesapeake. Both are navigable 
for boats of ten tons to within nine miles of each other, and the 
portage now in use may be reduced to five miles.. 

"This country has now drawn the attention of some very 
respectable characters in the mercantile towns on the Susquehanna, 
and at Baltimore ; and there is no doubt but the farmers will be 
induced to turn their attention to those articles which are most in 
demand on the coast. One of the most respectable mercantile houses 
in Baltimore made a purchase, last year, near Tioga Point, in order 
to draw to that quarter the trade of the western country. They 
have built a set of mills, and are establishing an extensive work for 
the manufacture of ship cordage. If we consider the vast body of 
rich fiats on the Susquehanna, where its various branches pass the 
Genesee Coimtry, and the ease with which the produce of the Genesee 
River can be brought to the navigable part of the Canisteo, it will 
appear that the quantity of hemp which may be collected at Tioga 
Point, or the Painted Post, will be incalculable. To forward this 
object it is intended, this season, to begin an establishment at the 
extremity of the navigation of the Canisteo; and to induce the 



126 Ark Carries 500 Barrels of Flour Down Stream. 

fanners on the Genesee River to cultivate hemp and flax, proper 
boats will be built to carry those articles to market. 

"The different communications by water from the Genesee 
Country to the sea I shall endeavor to explain to you in as few words 
as possible : From the country known by that name there are three 
that are now used ; 1st, to Baltimore, by the Susquehanna ; 2d, to 
Albany, by the Seneca and Mohawk Rivers ; 3d, to Montreal, by 
Lake Ontario and the River St. Lawrence. And from the southwest 
part of the Genesee Country, boats may descend the Allegany River, 
which is a branch of the Ohio, to New Orleans. 

" Some years ago the high price of flour and lumber at Baltimore 
induced a Mr. Rryder, a farmer on the Juniata River, to try an exper- 
iment in the mode of transporting flour from his mills to Baltimore. 
He built a sort of boat, which he called an ark ; it was long and flat, 
and constructed of very large timber, such as he supposed would 
suit the purpose of builders. This vessel, or float, carried 300 
barrels of flour. This man had the courage to push through a navi- 
gation then unknown, and arrived safe at Baltimore, where he 
received from the merchants a premium of $1 above the market price 
for every barrel. Thus encouraged, the same person has been down 
every year since, and has made so considerable improvement on this 
sort of boat, that arks are now used which carry 500 barrels. 

" The Susquehanna enters the Chesapeake Bay at Havre de 
Grace. Few rivers embrace a greater extent of territory within its 
various branches, and none afford better navigation to so near their 
source. 

" From the most diligent inquiry, and from the ease with which 
Mr. Bartles carried down his lumber last Spring, there does not 
exist a doubt but that the navigation of the Conhocton and the 
Canisteo will serve for boats of this kind, carrying from 300 to 500 
barrels. As they are never intended to be used but for descending 
in high water, they are navigated with but few hands, and go down 
with great rapidity. It is intended that two shall go from the County 
of Steuben this season. They will be loaded with valuable lumber 
and a few fat bullocks. It is supposed they will reach tide-water at 
Havre de Grace in five days. In a few years flour and every other 
article of produce in demand at the sea-ports, will be carried in the 
same way. 

"In Ontario County there are [1797] 19 grist-mills and 28 saw- 
mills ; in Steuben County there are 10 grist-mills and 20 saw-mills." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXVI. 
Colonel Eleazer Lindsley and Colonel Arthur Erwin,. 

TWO MEN of prominence in early settlement days in the 
Painted Post section of the Genesee Country, and the first 
land owners, were Colonel Eleazer Lindsley and Colonel 
Arthur Erwin. They were thorough-going business men, attached 
friends, and while each conducted land ventures and coloniza- 
tion plans as distinctly individual ventures, nevertheless they had 
much in common. They both served with distinction as commanders 
of American troops in the War of the Revolution. They were both 
in attendance at the Treaty of Canandaigua, where Oliver Phelps met 
the Indians of the Six Nations and induced them to confirm the 
bargain he had made at Buffalo Cireek the year before with certain 
of their head-men for the surrender to him of all the Genesee Country 
east of the Genesee River. At that time and place, each bought of 
Oliver Phelps a whole township plot of land, six miles square, in the 
Painted Post section of the Genesee Country, the lands adjoining — 
now the townships of Erwin and Lindley. These were the first land 
sales made by Mr. Phelps, after he acquired title to the Genesee 
Country from the Indians. Each made the purchase with a view to 
establishing a commercial center on the head waters of the Chemung 
and of profiting by the sale of farms to settlers. 

The career of each of these pioneers was cut short by death, at 
a time when and under circumstances that prevented the carrying 
forward to successful fruition of their wisely planned colonization 
ventures. Sketches of their lives, the materials for which has been 
gathered with patient research, are given herewith, because of the 
important positions occupied in the foimding of settlements in the 
Painted Post wilderness by these heroic pathfinders. 

COLONEL ELEAZER LINDSLEY was bom at New Haven, 
Conn., December 7, 1737. He was a grandson of Francis Lindsley, 

127 



128 Services of Eleazer Lindsley in War of Revolution. 

a solder under Cromwell, who came from England in 1651, and 
settled first at Branford, Conn., and later was a member of the 
colony that in 1666 founded Newark, N. J. This Francis Lindsley 
was a signer of the " Fundamental Agreements," under which the 
new Colony was governed. Later Francis Lindsley settled at Morris- 
town, N.J. His son Jonathan, who was the father of Colonel Eleazer 
Lindsley, married Mary Miller, daughter of Thomas Miller and 
his wife, Margaret Wallace, natives of Scotland and early settlers of 
Morristown. There Colonel Lindsley owned a farm, which was 
■occupied by his family and managed by Mrs. Lindsley while he was 
on duty as an officer in the War of the Revolution. Later he owned 
and operated a grist-mill and a tannery at Morristown, in addition to 
his plantation. These holdings he sold after he purchased the town- 
ship in the Genesee Country on which, in 1790, he planted a colony. 
In his youth Eleazer Lindsley was Ensign of a company of 
Grenadiers, holding a commission granted December 9th, 1762, by 
Jonah Hardy, Captain-General and Governor-in-Chief of the Province 
of Nova-Caeseria, or New Jereey. In the War of the Revolution he 
served as Lieutenant-Colonel in Colonel Oliver Spencer's New Jersey 
Regiment, helped defeat the British at Monmouth, was on detached 
service for a time, entertained Washington and LaFayette at his 
home, and was a member of the Assembly of New Jersey in 1781. 
His Commission as a Lieutenant-Colonel was granted by the Conti- 
nental Congress, January 15th, 1777. It read as follows : 

In CONGRESS. 

The DELEGATES of the UNITED STATES, of New-Hampshire, 
Massachusetts-Bay, Rhode-Island, Connecticut, New- York, New- 
Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North-Carolina, 
South-Carolina, and Georgia, TO 

Eleazer Lin s I ey , Es qr. 

WE, reposing especial Trust and Confidence in your Patriotism, Valor, 
Condudl and Fidelity, DO, by these Presents, constitute and 
appoint you to be Lieutenant - Colonel in a Regiment of foot Commanded by 
Colonel Oliver Spencer, in the Army of the United States, raised for the 
Defense of American Liberty, and for repelling every hostile Invasion 
thereof. You are therefore carefully and dilligently to discharge the 
Duty of Lieutenant - Colonel by doing and performing all manner of Things 
thereunto belonging. And we do stridlly charge and require all Officers 
and Soldiers under your Command, to be obedient to your Orders as 
Lieutenant - Colonel. And you are to observe and follow such Orders and 
Diredtions from Time to Time, as you shall receive from this or a future 
Congress of the United States, or Committee of Congress, for that Purpose 



Colonel Lindsley Member of State Legislature. 129 

appointed, or Commander in Chief for the Time being of the Army of the 
United States, or any other your superior Officer, according to the Rules 
and Discipline of War, in Pursuance of the Trust reposed in you. 

This Commission to continue in Force until revoked by this or a future 
Congress. 

Dated, this fifteenth day of January, Anno Domini, One Thousand Seven 
hundred and Seventy Seven. 

By Order of the Congress, JOHN HANCOCK, 

Attest, CHAS. THOMSON, Secy. President. 

Colonel Lindsley was a member of the " New York Genesee 
Land Company," which was organized for the purpose of securing 
possession of Indian lands under a 999-years lease, and sub-leasing tO' 
settlers. Employed by the Lessee Company he in 1788 surveyed the 
lands on the east side of Seneca Lake into farms, and reserved large 
farms for himself and the members of his family. State interference 
with " Lessee " plans caused Colonel Lindsley to seek land elsewhere. 
Accompanied by his sons-in-law. Dr. Ezekiel Mulford and Captain 
John Seelye, he explored the " Painted Post " section of the Genesee 
Country, and decided to locate on the Tioga River, near the mouth 
of the Cowan esque. He sought the advantages of navigable streams 
that connected with the Atlantic Ocean. There in June, 1790, he 
established a settlement, having purchased a township of Phelps and 
Gorham, for which he paid one thousand pounds. 

The " consideration " named in the deed by which Oliver Phelps 
transferred title to Colonel Lindsley of " the whole of Township 
Number One, in the Second Range of Towns," was " £1,000, current 
money of the State." The subscribing witnesses were Samuel Steel, 
John Calla, Ebenezer Backus and Ezekiel Mulford. 

Early in the year 1791 the State Legislature passed an act 
granting to Ontario County the right to elect a Member of Assembly. 
Upon receiving word .that such action had been taken, Colonel 
Lindsley took the necessary steps to have a " Town Meeting " held 
and town officers elected, in order that a Member of the State Legis- 
lature might be elected for Ontario County— all of the State west of 
Seneca Lake. The " Town Meeting " was held the first Tuesday in 
April, 1791, and under the organization thereby effected notices were 
posted and an election held the last Tuesday in that month, to choose 
a Member of the Legislature. Colonel Lindsley was elected by a 
unanimous vote. He was a member of the Legislature that met in 
New York City in 1972. Thus Painted Post was for a time, at least, 
the Capital of the Genesee Country. 



130 No Post Office in All the Genesee Country. 

It should be borne in mind that in 1791 that there was only one 
post office in all New York State, that of New York City ; that there 
were no envelopes, no postage stamps, no mail routes, no mail car- 
riers, no railroads, no steamboats, no telegraph lines, and in all the 
Genesee Coimtry not a rod of decent pubUc roadway. 

The few settlers in the northern section of the County of Ontario 
and on the Genesee, did not learn that the County had been accorded 
the right of representation in the Legislature, until after the settlers 
in the southern section had duly elected Colonel Eleazer Lindsley to 
the office. 

Colond Lindsley built the first saw-mill and the first grist-mill 
in the Genesee Coimtry. They were located . on the stream now 
known as Watson Creek, which enters the Tioga River from the 
west near a mile north of the Pennsylvania line. They were run 
by the bucket type of over-shot waterwheels, to which water was 
conducted in flumes. 

He died at his home, following a brief illness, June 1st, 1794. A 
signet ring, presented to him and placed on a finger of his left hand 
by General LaFayette, by request of Colonel Lindsley, who never 
removed it, was not taken from the finger after his death. 

His land holdings at the time of his death included nearly one- 
half of the town of Lindley, a large tract of land in Tuscarora, and 
eight or nine military grants in central and southern New York east 
of the Massachusetts Pre-Emption Line. The military tracts he had 
acquired by purchase from former soldiers of the Revolution. 

COLONEL ARTHUR H. ERWIN, who purchased the town 
that bears his name, of Oliver Phelps, while attending the Indian 
Treaty at Canandaigua, July 18, 1789, was born in Crumlin, Ireland. 
In 1768, he arrived in this country with a family of five children, his 
wife having died at sea. He purchased a large tract of land in Bucks 
County, Pa., and estabhshed a settlement, engaged extensively in 
farming and stock-raising, was a land-dealer, and eventually a drover, 
supplying fat cattle for government use. After the close of the 
War of the Revolution, he drove cattle along the Indian trails to the 
British post on the Niagara Kiver. He re-married and five more 
children were added to his family circle. 

Colonel Erwin prospered. He was a keen land speculator. He 
in 1785 purchased lands at Tioga Point, where in 1788 he established 
a settlement, with Daniel McDuffee, as resident agent. McDuffee 



Business Ventures of Colonel Arthur Erwin. 131 

was an Old Country neighbor and much esteemed friend, who had 
followed Erwin from Ireland. McDuffee's log cabin was the stopping 
place of Colonel Erwin when he had occasion to go to Tioga Point. 

In the early Summer of 1789 Colonel Erwin accompanied by a 
number of helpers set out from his big plantation in Bucks County, 
Pa., for the Niagara frontier with a large drove of fat cattle. The 
Susquehanna and Chemung valley Indian trails were followed. The 
cattle were driven leisurely, and allowed to feed on the abundant and 
luxuriant grasses along the river flats. Arriving at the Painted Post 
early in July, where excellent pasturage abounded, a stop was made 
to permit the herd to rest and feed up before taking the Old War 
Trail thence to the Niagara. At Painted Post he met surveyors who 
were engaged in plotting that section of the Phelps and Gorham 
Purchase into townships, each town six miles square. He was called 
on by an agent of Oliver Phelps, and arrangements made for the 
delivery of the cattle at Canandaigua, to supply food for those who 
attended the Indian Treaty. The cattle were delivered at Canan- 
daigua, in fine condition. 

For the township that bears his name, Colonel Arthur Erwin 
paid £1,400 sterling, " lawful money of the State of New York." 
The value of the drove of fat cattle he supplied Oliver Phelps, for 
use at the Treaty was credited on the land purchase. 

In the deed handed to Colonel Erwin by Mr. Phelps, the tract is 
described as follows : 

— — " the certain piece or parcel of land lying in the County of Ontario, 
in the said State of New York, being Township Number Two, in the Second 
Range of Townships, being six miles North of the Pennsylvania Line, and 
SLk miles West of the Massachusetts Pre-Emption Line, being six miles 
square, containing twenty-three thousand and forty acres, known by the 
name of Painted Post." 

In September, 1790, Colonel Erwin and eleven associates bought 
two townships on the upper Canisteo, where several cabins were 
erected and occupied that Fall. In the Spring of 1791 Colon Envin 
brought his sons Samuel and Francis up the river, to arrange for the 
settlement of his township at the Painted Post. On learning that 
Treaty with the Indians was soon to be held at the Painted Post, he 
arranged to deliver a drove of fat cattle at the place of meeting, and 
leaving his sons to manage affairs on his estate at the mouth of the 
Conhocton, he started unaccompanied for his home in Bucks County, 



132 Assassination of Colonel Arthur Erwin. 

Pa., to gather and bring on the cattle. He stopped for the night at 
the home of his friend and tenant, Daniel McDuffee, near Tioga 
Point, and after the evening meal, while he sat listening to Mr. 
McDuffee play a flute, a shot was heard without the open doorway. 
Colonel Erwin arose, started toward the door, exclaimed "I am 
shot," and fell to the floor. He lived but a few hours. 

The assassin escaped and was never apprehended. Several per- 
sons with whom Colonel Erwin had trouble over land were under 
suspicion, and the conclusion was that a " squatter " fired the shot. 

The body of Colonel Erwin was taken down the Susquehanna 
RiverinaboattoWilkes-Barre, and carried thence over the mountain 
to his home at Erwina, for funeral and burial. 

Under date of April 5, 1791, Colonel Erwin sent a letter to the 
Governor of Pennsylvania, telling of his troubles with " Connecticut 
claimants to lands in the County of Luzerne " which " lay upon the 
Tioga above the Point," and requesting redress and protection. Said 
Colonel Erwin in this letter, written a few weeks before he was shot : 

" I have been almost the only man who has, in that country, asserted 
the claims under the government of Pennsylvania, to the lands in Luzerne, 
by which I have not only subjected myself to insult and abuse, but on more 
occasions than one been in eminent danger of my life, not from threats 
merely, but from actual assault, and that of the most aggrivated nature." 

Under date of June 20th, 1791, there appeared in Claypoole's 
Advertiser, a newspaper published in Philadelphia, Pa., the following 
proclamation with offer of reward for the apprehension of the 
assassin, and in connection therewith the annexed notice of an addi- 
tional reward offered by four sons of the deceased and a son-in-law : 

"A PROCLAMATION, 

" BY Thomas Mifflin, Governor of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania : 

" Whereas, Information has been given to me under oath, that about 
an hour after night on Thursday, the ninth day of this instant, June, Arthur 
Erwin, late of the County of Bucks, in this Commonwealth, Esquire, while 
peaceably sitting with sundry other persons, in the house of Daniel 
McDuffie, in the County of Luzerne, received a wound with a bullet, which 
was discharged from a gun into said house by some person unknown, and 
of which wound the said Arthur Erwin then and there instantly died. 

" And Whereas, There is great reason to presume that the said wound 
was wilfully and maliciously given with the intent to kill the said Arthur 
Erwin as aforesaid ; and the justice, energy and dignity of the Government 
require that the most effectual measures be pursued for discovering, secur- 



Governor Ojfers Reward For Arrest of Assassin. 133 

ing and punishing the perpetrator of so heinous a murder, his aiders and 
abettors, 

" Therefore, I have thought it proper and necessary to issue this 
Proclamation, hereby offering a reward of Two Hundred Dollars tc any 
person or persons who shall discover, apprehend and secure the perpetrator 
of the said murder, his aiders or abbetors, to be paid upon the conviction of 
them or any of them. 

" And beside the reward aforesaid, I do further offer and promise to any 
one of the who may have been concerned in contriving and committing the 
said murder, (the actual and immediate perpetrator thereof excepted), a 
a full and free pardon for the same, upon condition that he shall and does 
disclose the name or names of his accomplice or accompUces, so that such 
accomplice or accomplices may be apprehended, tried and convicted. 

" And all Judges, Justices, Sheriffs, Coroners, Constables, and other 
officers of this Commonwealth, according to the duties of their respective 
stations, are hereby required and enjoined to employ all lawful means for 
discovering, apprehending and securing, trying and bringing to justice, as 
well the prepetrator of said murder, as all other persons aiding and 
assisting therein. 

" Given under my Hand and the Great Seal of the State, at Philadelphia, 
the 20th day of June, A. D. 1791, and of the Commonwealth the Fifteenth. 

" By the Governor : THOMAS MIFFLIN. 

" A. J. Dallas, Sec'y of the Commonwealth." 



" IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE REWARD, We, the Subscribers, 
promise and engage to pay Five Hundred Dollars to the person or persons, 
who shall discover, apprehend and secure the assassin who, on the night of 
9th instant, murdered Arthur Erwin, Esquire, of Bucks County, at Tioga 
Point, in the County of Luzerne, on conviction of the perpetrator and his 
execution for the same. 

"[Signed,] JOHN MULHALLON, 

SAMUEL ERWIN, 
JOSEPH ERWIN, 
WILLIAM ERWIN, 
HUGH ERWIN." 



Colonel Lindsley was a member of a commision compose of three 
men, appointed by the Ontario County Court, at a term held in 
Canandaigua in the Fall of 1793, to portion among the natural heirs 
the property in New York State left by Colonel Erwin, there being 
no will. The appointment was on request of Joseph and Samuel 
Erwin, sons of Colonel Arthur Erwin. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXVII. 
The Log Cabin Homes of Pioneer Days. 

LOG CABIN HOMES were as common in pioneer days through- 
out the Genesee Country, as wigwams constructed of small 
poles sheathed with strips of bark were among the natives 
before the coming of the pale faces. The log cabin was built to fit. 
It was a home. The Indian needed no home — in his soul the home 
instinct, born of the spirit, never found lodgment. His wigwam was 
built to fit. When, imitating the whites, the savages erected log 
cabins, they occupied them as savages ; and too often the house 
•of many gables, pillared porches, great hall, broad and winding 
staircase, and a superabundance of elaborately furnished rooms, that 
succeeded the little log cabin of the pioneer, has been as great a 
misfit. When Payne eulogized and immortalized an ideal home, he 
had in mind the home of his youth, an humble cottage standing on 
a quiet street in the village of East Hampton, Long Island, where 
the first English settlers of this State built and occupied homes. 

In the Genesee Country a log cabin could be quickly constructed 
from materials right at hand, even though the prospective occupant 
had no other implement with which to cut down trees and fashion 
the logs to complete the new home, than an axe. But among the 
first settlers, where a few miles of forest between dwellings did not 
matter, there were available for common use, under the system of 
exchanging implements, and of making " bees " and hustling up a 
home, all tools that were needed. These included a broad-axe, an 
adz, a cross-cut saw, and augers of various sizes ; a maul made by 
inserting a stout hickory handle into a cut of white oak, was used 
for driving wooden wedges to split small logs in halves, the face of 
such timbers to be used for joists, the construction of floors, and 
rafters. A drawing-knife was used to shave shingles and to shape 
pieces split from large white pine logs for use in making window 
and door frames, window sashes and doors, pieces of lumber for 

134 



Family Circles and Home Life in Log Cabin Days. 135 

interior finish, and various articles of furniture. A cross-cut saw 
was especially useful in cutting window and door openings and a 
clearance at one end of the cabin to accommodate the fire-place— 
which was done after the cabin walls had been completed. 

Thus the first settlers entered the wilderness and literally carved 
out for themselves and for their families — present and prospective — 
HOMES, where they could enjoy the " Life " and " Liberty " they and 
their fathers had fought for, and could without interruption continue 
the "pursuit" and attainment "of happiness" under the most 
promising circumstances. 

The hunter, or other person, who desired a temporary home for 
his individual use, would erect a small cabin or shack, without floor, 
chimney or window. A blanket or the skin of a bear or deer was 
used to close the door-way. The cooking would be done outside 
when weather conditions were favorable, at other times at a fire 
within the shack, the smoke passing out through an opening made 
for that use. Such shacks were usually the beginning of improve- 
ments that developed into family homes, as they were erected on 
premises where now may be found some of the most elaborate 
mansions within the bounds of the original Township of Painted Post. 

The more substantial cabins were built up with pine logs ten to 
twelve inches in diamater, straight and true, notched at the ends so 
as to interlock and form secure comers for a dwelling, which 
contained a pantry, a curtained alcove occupied by a bed, and one 
all-purpose room. Above was a loft, with a ladder in lieu of stairs. 
Up there the older children slept, as they graduated from a trundle- 
bed nicely contrived to slide under the large bed in the alcove below 
when not in use. At one end of the cabin was a large fire-place- 
where bread was baked in pans covered with hot ashes, cakes and 
pies and the delicious doughtnuts received their finishing course, 
and other eatables were fried, roasted, boiled or toasted. Before the 
flames and glowing embers, attached to a bit of chain or an iron 
hook that was suspended by a rope from a girder above, a fowl, or 
a quarter of venison, a generous portion of beef or other meat 
was hung in such a manner as to receive sufficient heat, as it was 
kept turning slowly round and round, winding one way and then 
the other to accommodate the tension of the rope's twist, making the 
most toothsome dish that ever graced a meal. Such roasts, properly 
seasoned, were basted while cooking, from a dripping pan set on the 
hearthstone underneath. 



136 Family of Twenty -Two Healthy and Happy Children. 

Such were the homes of the first families of Coming and 
Vicinity. They were not spacious structures, but no more comfort- 
able homes were ever erected in any place since the morning stars 
sang together, and in no homes has family life ever been so 
thoroughly enjoyed and the spirit of kinship so well developed, as in 
log cabin days on the head waters of the Chemung. 

Following the building of a dwelling, the next venture of the 
pioneer was to provide log huts for the shelter of his stock, and to 
build about such structures a fence composed of rails or small logs, 
in the zig-zag manner, as a yard to prevent the stock from roaming 
at night, and to prevent the intrusion of deer, which were inclined 
to feed at the stacks of fodder provided for the domestic animals. It 
was necessary to provide folds that could be securely fastened, for 
night shelters for sheep, against attacks by wolves, which were 
numerous. During the days when weather conditions were favorable, 
farm stock was permitted to roam the woods, and on each farm was 
a "bell-cow" and a "bell-sheep," of proven leadership, each carrying 
strapped to its neck a loud soimding bell. This was for the purpose of 
enabling the farmer to locate the animals when he desired to round 
them up for the night or to drive them to shelter. These bells made 
merry music on every hand in settled sections, timing in well with 
the chorous of the axes wielded by the hardy woodsmen, and the 
swish and crash of falling trees. 

As years passed the size of the pioneer family increased. Each 
child added to the family was considered a most precious asset. The 
average number of children in a pioneer family was seven and a 
fraction. The Overhiser family, in the town of Wheeler, was 
composed of the father, mother and twenty-two children. " One 
crisp Winter day," said the late George Renchan, of Renchan's 
Mills, Town of Wheeler, in telling the writer about this wonderful 
Overhiser family, " as I was driving past the home of the Overhisers, 
I stopped my horse and for about ten minutes watched eleven of the 
children — ^five girls and six boys — following each other round and 
round in a path their feet had beaten in the deep show, and sliding 
merrily down a knoll. Each child was barefooted." 

The largest pioneer family of Old Painted Post Township was 
that of Dr. and Mrs. Ezekiel Mulford, members of the Lindley 
colony — fourteen hale and hearty children. With the exception of 
a son, whose death was due to accident, all lived to mature old age. 

A much esteemed woman of Coming, now herself a grand- 
mother, relates how about the time she first began to "keep 



Every Member of a Pioneer Family a Helper. 137 



company," in all confidence she asked her mother's mother, who had 
raised a family of seven sons and four daughters, how she " ever 
lived through it," and received this cheery and reassuring reply : 

" It was no trouble at all for me to get along with my children. 
The boys helped their father, the girls helped me, and we all helped 
each other. In those days after a child got a few years' start it was 
self-sustaining. When my first child had to give up the cradle, I set 
it to rocking the cradle for the new comer. And so it went. Your 
grandfather and I were good managers and I never had to cook and 
wash and patch for a hired man." 

Every member of a pioneer family of sufficient age was a helper. 
In early times all the house-work was done " by hand ;" this included 
the making of every garment worn by child or adult. The farmer 
sowed grain and grass-seed and planted and " hoed-crops " without 
the use of machinery. Plows, harrows, cultivators that were small 
harrows, were of home construction. Scythes were swung by men 
to cut the grass at hay-making. Lodged grain was cut with scythes 
or sickles, and standing grains with cradles, and left lying in such 
neat rows, with heads all one way, that " raking and binding " was 
pleasurable exercise to those crowding after. Each took pride in his or 
her work— whether carding wool into rolls for spinning, turning the 
heel of a stocking in knitting, cutting a clean swath when mowing, 
shaving shingles, chopping wood, or what not. Boots and shoes 
were classed as luxuries and the wearing of them was avoided in so 
far as circumstances permitted, by those who dwelt on farms and by 
many who dwelt in settlements. It was not considered bad form, 
when "meetings" were conducted in log houses, for men and women 
to come bare-footed. And as late as the first Lincoln election, 
" bare-foot " men and women were not infrequent sights on the streets 
and among those trading at the stores, on a Summer day. But no 
one ever saw a hatless person at large— unless, mayhap, it was a 
a case of chasing after an elusive hat cutting capers in a breeze. 

In the Summor season women and girls wore gingam or straw 
scoop-shaped " sun bonnets," with capes attached, and " strings" that 
were tied under the chin, on occasion ; and in the Winter knitted 
hoods were worn. Men folks and lads wore home-made hats of 
straw in warm weather and fur caps in cold weather— coon skin caps 
leading other peltry in numbers and comfort. Every settler was a 
furrier, skilful in hunting and trapping, and an adept in dressing 
hides for any and all uses. 



138 Description of Pioneer Home and Surroundings. 

In the days of and-irons, latch-strings and feather-beds, the 
community spirit ruled. The stranger was always welcome and 
hospitality a source of pleasure, and without price. Before the com- 
ing of the post-boj^, the invention of the telegraph, the building of 
railroads, everybody of a knowing age, living in the Painted Post 
Section of the Genesee Country, knew everybody else, and where 
they lived, and every home was a Community Center. 

The following sketch, descriptive of " A Settler's Home " in the 
Genesee Country, was written about seventy-five years ago, and first 
printed in " McMaster's History of Steuben County." The writer 
of the sketch, who was too modest to permit his name to be append- 
ed, was a man of accurate observation, and most just sympathies, 
himself in early Hfe a woodsman and a true lover of nature : — 

" As I was travelling through the county on horseback on a Summer 
day in an early year of settlement, I fell in company with two gentlemen, 
who were going in the same direction. One of them was the land agent 
from Bath, who was going to the Genesee River ; the other was a foreigner 
on his way from Easton, in Pennsylvania, to Presque Isle, [now Erie], on 
Lake Erie. We had followed in Indian file a mere path through the woods, 
for several miles, passing at intervals a log house where the occupants had 
Just made a beginning ; when having passed the outskirts of settlement and 
penetrated deep into the woods, our attention was attracted by the tinkling 
of a cow bell and the sound of an axe in chopping. 

"Soon we saw a little break in the forest and a log house. As we 
approached we heard the loud barking of a dog, and as we got near the 
clearing, were met by him with an angry growl as sf he would have said 
"You can come no fm-ther without my master's permission." A shrill 
whistle from within called off the dog. We proceeded to the house. A 
short distance from it, standing on the trunk of a large hemlock tree, which 
he had just chopped once in two, was a fine looking young man, four or 
five and twenty years of age, with an axe in his hand. He was dressai in 
a tow frock and trousers, with his head and feet bare. The frock, open at 
the top, showed that he wore no shirt, and exhibited the muscular shoulders 
and full chest of a very athletic and powerful man. 

" When we stepped our horses he stepped off the log, shook hands with 
the agent, and saluting us frankly, asked us to dismount and rest ourselves ; 
urging that the distance to the next house was six miles, with nothing but 
marked frees to guide us a part of the way; that it was nearly noon, and 
although he could not promise us anything very good to eat, yet he could 
give us something to prevent us from suffering from himger. He had no 
grass growing yet, but he would give the horses some green oats. We 
concluded to accept the invitation, and dismounted and went into the house. 

"Before describing the house I will notice the appearance of things 
around, premising that the settler had begun his improvements in the 



Infant Rocked in Cozy Birch-Bark Cradle. 139 

Spring before our arrival. A little boy about three years old was playing 
-with the dog, which though so resolute at our approach, now permitted the 
child to push him over and sit down upon him. A pair of oxen and a cow 
with a bell on, were lying in the shade of the woods ; two or three hogs 
were rooting in the leaves near the cattle, and a few fowls were scratching 
the soil. There was a clearing, or rather a chopping, around the house, of 
about four acres, half of which had beai cleared off and sowed with oats 
which had grown very rank and good. The other half had been merely 
burnt over and then planted with corn and potatoes, a hill being planted 
wherever there was room between the logs. The com did not look very 
well. The chopping was enclosed with a log fence. A short distance from 
the house a fine spring of water gushed forth out of the gravel bank, from 
which a small brook ran down across the clearing, along the borders of 
which a few geese were feeding. 

" When we entered the house the young settler said, " Wife, here is the 
land agent and two other men," and turning to us said, " This is my wife." 

" She was a pretty looking young woman, wearing a coarse loose dress, 
and bare-footed. When her husband introduced us, she was a good deal 
embarrassed, and the flash of her dark eyes and the crimson glow that 
passed over her countenance, showed she was vexed at our intrusion. 

" The young settler observed her vexation and said, " Never mind, 
Sally, the Squire,"— so he called the agent—" knows how people have to 
live in the woods." 

" She regained her composure in a moment and greeted us hospitably, 
and without any apologies for her house or her costume. After a few 
minutes conversation, on the settler's suggesting that he had promised 
" these men something to eat to prevent their getting hungry," she began 
to prepare the frugal meal. 

" When we first entered the house she sat near the door, spinning flax 
on a little wheel, and a baby was lying near her in a cradle formed of the 
bark of a birch tree, which resting like a trough on rockers, made a very 
smooth, neat little cradle. 

" While the settler and his other guests were engaged in conversation, 
I took notice of the house and furniture. The house was twenty by twenty- 
six feet, constructed of round logs chinked with pieces of split logs, and 
plastered on the outside with clay. The floors were made of spUt logs 
with the flat side up ; the door, of thin pieces split out of a large log, 
and the roof of the same. The windows were holes unprotected by glass 
or sash ; the fire-place was made of stone, and the chimney of sticks and 
clay. On one side of the fire-place was a ladder leading to the chamber. 
There was a bed in one comer of the room ; a table and five or six chairs, 
and on one side a few shelves of split boards, on which were a few articles 
of crockery and some tin-ware, and on one of them a number of books. 
Behind the door was a large spinning wheel and a reel, and overhead on 
wooden hooks fastened to the beam were a number of things, among which 



140 Dinner of Corn Bread and Milk Served in Basins. 



were a nice rifle, powder horn, bullet pouch, tomahawk and hunting-knife 
— the complete equipment of the hunter and the frontier settler. Every- 
thing was nice and tidy, even to the rough stones which had been laid 
down for a hearth. 

" In a short time our dinner was ready. It consisted of com bread and 
milk, eaten out of tin basins with iron spoons. The settler ate with us, but 
his wife was employed while we were at dinner in sewing on what appeared 
to be a child's dress. The settler and the agent talked all the time, general- 
ly on the subject of the settlement of the country. After dinner the later 
and his companion took their departure, the one making the little boy a 
a present of a half dollar, and the other giving the same sum to the baby. 

"I have now introduced to the reader one of the best and most intelli- 
gent among the first settlers of the County. He was a man of limited 
information, except as to what related to his own particular business ; but 
his judgment was good, and he was frank, candid and fearles. He belonged 
to that class of men who distinguished themselves as soldiers during the 
Revolutionary War, and who were in many instances the cefebrated " bold 
yeomanry of Old England." 

" The social relations and neighborly intercourse of the settlers were of 
the most kind and friendly character. It was no uncommon thing among 
them to comply literally with the injunction of Scripture which requires us 
" to give to him that asketh and from him that would borrow to turn not 
away." Their kindness and sympathy to and for each other was indeed 
most extraordinary. At the commencement of the sugar making, perhaps, 
some one would cut his leg badly with an axe, making a deep and ghastly 
wound, which would render him a cripple for weeks, and perhaps for 
months. The neighbors would make a bee and do all his work so far as it 
could be done at that time, and then by arrangement among themselves, 
one man would go every afternoon and gather the sap, carrying it to the 
house where it could be boiled by the settler's wife. Again, one would be 
taken sick in harvest time : his neighbors would make a bee, harvest and 
secure his crops, when at the time their own grain was going to waste for 
want of gathering. A settler's house would bum— his family would be 
provided for at the nearest homes, a bee would follow and a new house 
would be built and finished in a day or twoi Instances like these were 
common and the recital might be extended indifinitely." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXVIII. 
The Days of Boating and Rafting On the Rivers. 

DURING THE period extending from the opening of the upper 
Chemung territory for settlement until the Erie Railroad had 
proven its worth, the water route to and from the seaboard 
was the chief dependence of the people of the Painted Post country 
for transportation purposes. Canoes, row-boats, and flat-boats that 
would carry several tons, were much in use, both locally, and for 
trips to and from the seaboard or intermediate points, and for use on 
branch streams. As noted in a preceding chapter, arks, and rafts 
formed of hewn four-square timbers lashed together, or composed of 
six to a dozen cribs of sawn lumber ingeniously lashed together, 
were used to carry farm products, peltry and cured venison down 
stream to market. When steam-boats were brought into practical 
use elsewhere, several heroic but futile attempts were made to use 
them to overcome the twists and turns and swift currents of the 
erratic waters of the Chemung and Susquehanna Rivers in their rush 
from the Genesee Coimtry to the Chesapeake. However, so long as 
"lumbering" continued the chief and most profitable industry in 
Steuben County, N. Y., and along the Tioga and Cowanesque 
branches of the Chemung, rafting continued. A share of the lumber 
traffic was diverted by the Chemung Canal, during " canal days," 
being hauled to the loading docks from near-by saw-mills, or 
transhipped from lumber cars of the " Tioga" railroad. This railroad 
for many years featured a limiber train, known as " the Wild Cat," 
whose screeching locomotive left Coming before daybreak each 
week day morning, leaving empties at various mill switches, the 
crew taking dinner at " Bloss," and then cars piled high with lumber 
were " picked up " on the return trip. That was before the telegraph 
had began to dictate orders to conductors, and when coupling pins 
and hand brakes held sway. " The Wild Cat " had absolute and 
supreme right of way over farm stock, track hands, and any and all 
other trains. It was governed by no speed limit save the power 
of the boiler under full pressure to make the drivers " hum." 

141 



142 Hazardous Adventures in Running Rivers. 

The following references to adventures in running the Che- 
mung and Susquehanna rivers and their branches, demonstrating the 
persistence of the progressive business men of former days in 
efforts to make these streams " navigable," in fact as well as in 
name, are from various trustworthy early writings and records : — 

At the organization of the County of Steuben, all that territory 
which now forms the towns of Tyrone, Wayne, Reading, Barrington, 
Starkey, [and since April, 1836, the town of Bradford,] was erected 
into the Town of Frederickton. The name was given in honor of 
Frederick Bartles, a German, who emigrated with his family from 
New Jersey in 1793, and located at the outlet of Mud Lake, a place 
known far and wide in early days as Bartles' Hollow. He erected a 
flouring and a saw-mill. Mud Creek was then a navigable stream. 
In 1798 Mr. Bartles rafted 100,000 feet of boards from his mills to 
Baltimore. In 1800 he ran two arks from the mills to Baltimore, and 
this adventure was made the subject of the following minute, entered 
by the County Clerk at Bath, in Volume I of Record of Deeds : 

" Steuben County :— This 4th day of April, 1800, started from the 
mills of Frederick Bartles, on the outlet of Mud Lake, (Frederickton), two 
arks of the following dimensions : One built by Col. Charles Williamson, 
of Bath, 72 feet long and 15 feet wide ; the other built by Nathan Harvey, 
71 feet long and 15 feet wide — were conducted down the Conhocton, (after 
coming through Mud Creek without any accident), to Painted Post, for 
Baltimore. These arks are the first built in this County, except one built 
on the Conhocton at White's saw-mill, five miles below bath, by Mr. Patter- 
son, Sweeny and others, from Pennsylvania, 70 feet long and 16 wide, was 
started about the 20th of March, this same year. 

" This minute is entered to show at a future day the first commence- 
ment of embarkation in this, (as is hoped), useful invention. 

" By henry a. TOWNSEND, Clerk of Steuben Co." 

The success of 'Squire Bartles' arks produced a great sensation in 
the County, but craft of this kind were soon abandoned by the 
lumbermen. Mud Creek has failed since the clearing of the forests, 
and the produce of the Mud Lake country seeks the Eastern market 
by canals and railroads. 

Another writer of chronicles of the " ancient of days," wrote : 
" Christopher Hulburt and Nathaniel Cary settled in 1795 at 
Arkport. The former ran, in 1800 or about that time, the first ark 
laden with wheat that descended the Canisteo River, and about 
the same time John Morrison ran the first raft. The honor of 
piliotng the first craft of the kind out of the Canisteo, however, is 
also claimed by Benjamin Patterson." 



General McClure's Adventure With an Ark. 143 

In personal reminiscences written by General George McClure, 
when 80 years of age, who located at Bath in 1793, and was employed 
by Capt Williamson as master carpenter in various building projects, 
the following graphic paragraphs occur, relative to navigating the 
Conhocton, Chemung and Susquehanna rivers, with an out-bound 
ark, early in the Spring of 1800 : 

" Colonel Williamson [1798] ordered the Conhocton and Mud Creek to 
be explored by a competent committee, and a report to be made, and an 
estimate of the probable expense required to make them navigable for arks 
and rafts. The report of the committee was favorable. A number of 
hands were employed to remove obstructions and open a passage to Painted 
Post — which was done, though the channel still remained very imperfect 
and dangerous. 

" The question was asked, " Who shall be the first adventurer ?" We 
had not as yet any surplus produce to spare. I therefore came to the 
conclusion to try the experiment next Spring. I went to work and built 
an ark 75 feet long and 16 feet wide, and in the course of the Winter got 
a cargo of pipe and hogshead staves, which I knew would turn to good 
account should I arrive safely at Baltimore. 

" All things being ready, with cargo on board and a good pitch of water 
and a first-rate set of hands, we put our unwieldy vessel into the stream, 
and away we went at a rapid rate, and in about half an hour reached 
White's Corners, five miles below Bath. There we ran against a large tree 
that lay across the river. We made fast our ark to the shore, cut away the 
tree, repaired damages, and next morning took a fair start. It is unneces- 
sary to state in detail the many difficulties we encountered before we reached 
Painted Post, but in about six days we got there. 

" The Chemung River had fallen so low that we were obliged to wait 
for a rise of water. In four or five days we were favored with a good pitch 
of water. In four or five days we made a fresh start, and in four days ran 
200 miles to Mehontongo, a place 20 miles from Harrisburg, where, through 
the ignorance of the pilot, we ran upon a bar of rocks in the middle of the 
river, which was a mile wide. There we lay 24 hours, no one coming to oiu- 
relief or to take us on shore. At last a couple of gentlemen came on 
board, it was impossible to get the ark off until a rise of water. One asked 
me if I did not wish to sell the ark and cargo. I told him I preferred going 
through to Baltimore. He offered me $600. I told him that was hardly 
half the price of the cargo at Baltimore, but if he would give me $800 I 
would close the bargain. He said he had a horse, saddle and bridle on shore, 
worth $200, which he would add to the $600. We all went on shore. I 
examined the horse and considered him worth the $200. We closed the 
bargain and I started for Bath. I lost nothing by the sale, but if I had 
succeeded in reaching Baltimore, I should have cleared $500. 

" The same Spring, Mr. Bartles and his brother-in-lay, Mr. Harvey, 
made their way down Mud Creek with one ark and some rafts. Bartles' 
mill pond and Mud Lake afforded water sufficient at any time, by draw- 



144 Attempts to Introduce Steam Navigation. 

ing a gate,''to carry arks and rafts out of the creek. Harvey lived on 
the West Branch of the Susquehanna, and understood the management 
of such crafts." 

General McClure was exceedingly active as a general merchant, 
owner of flouring mills, lumberman and dealer in hides and furs. 
He ran arks and rafts down the rivers to the seaboard markets, 
from Bath and Canisteo, for twenty years or more following his first 
venture aboard an ark. In the Spring of 1801 he ran four arks from 
Arkport to Baltimore, each with full cargoes of grain, wheat flour, 
pork, deer hams, etc. Such shipments followed Spring after Spring, 
and when Fall floods favored. Arks loaded with products of the 
farms and fruits of the chase, and rafts of hewn timber and sawn 
lumber, (many of them carrying " deck loads " of products of field 
and forest), also went forward from various ports in the township of 
Painted Post. The principal point of embarkation, when this river 
traffic flourished, was the section of the Chemung within the present 
bounds of the City of Corning. The large cove at the bend of the 
river, at the mouth of Post Creek, commonly known as " Chimney 
Narrows Eddy," was a harbor where arks and rafts coming down 
a tributary of the Chemung, " tied up " and waited for the waters 
of the combined streams to subside sufficiently to make a continuance 
of their trip reasonably safe. But in making the journey seaward, 
of necessity, all took chances, for under the most favorable circum- 
stances, the undertaking was hazardous and wrecks numerous. 

With the invention of the steamboat, brave efforts were persist- 
ently but forth to make steam navigation successful on the Susque- 
hanna and its tributaries, and so solve the problem of making trips 
up stream as well as down. This was a matter in which residents 
of the upper Chemung took a lively interest, while experiments in 
making and trying out— and wrecking— such craft continued. 

In 1826 a steamboat named the " Codorus," built at York, Pa., 
set out on a trip up the river. It was a great day in York. People 
were there from distant settlements and all the scattered betterments 
for miles around. The " Codorus " was 60 feet long, had 9 feet 
beam, her engine power was rated at 10-horse, and she started out 
with 50 passengers. The boat was expected to make four miles an 
hour when breasting the average current. The hull was flat and 
the craft would float in eight inches of water. 

The " Codorus " steamed up the West Branch to Williamsport, 
back to Northumberland, and up to Elmira, heralded by the press, 
praised by orators and acclaimed by crowds. Leaving Elmira 



steamboat Codorus Comes Up Rivers to Elmira. 145 

the " Codorus " rounded Tioga Point and visited Owego and Bing- 
hamton, and then made a run back to York, where she made fast 
four months after having cast off on her maiden trip. Her Captain, 
much disappointed, frankly declared that the boat was a failure. 

Meantime the " Susquehanna," a steamboat backed by Baltimore 
interests, business rivals of the Philadelphia men who had made the 
launching of the "Codorus " possible, was completed and set forth 
on a trade conquest trip up the river whose name she bore. This 
boat had a paddle wheel at the stem, was 80 feet long, 30-horse 
power, and carried 100 passengers. She reached Nescope Falls on 
May 3. There nearly all the passengers left the boat to walk along 
the river bank as she stemmed the rapids. Pitch-pine wood, well 
seasoned, was crammed into the fire-box under the boiler, and stifling 
smoke, myriads of sparks and tongues of fire raced from the smoke- 
stack as the Baltimore boat headed into the rapids and " more than 
held her own." The crowd on shore and the elated passengers 
evidenced their faith in the power of the machinery to force the 
rapids, shouted full-voiced in gleeful hysteria — when suddenly the 
craft stopped, began to drift, turned side on to the current, struck a 
rock, and just then the boiler exploded. Three persons were killed 
instantly and several injured. 

A third steamboat, " The Pioneer," built at Williamsport, was 
abandoned after a trial trip, and thence on the inhabitants of the 
Chemung water-shed, centered their hopes so far as in-bound traffic 
was concerned, in the opening of a canal, to connect the upper 
Chemung with the Erie Canal and thus open an all-water route to 
and from New York City via the Hudson River. Their hopes were 
realized on the completion and opening of the Chemung Canal in 
1833. But arks continued to dash down the Chemung until the 
construction of mill dams made such ventures extra-hazardous ; and 
rafting of lumber continued until the supply of " timber on the 
stiraip " was no more than sufficient to meet local demands. Then 
attention was given to the manufacture of building stock, sash, 
blinds and doors, and finer grades of lumber, for shipment by canal, 
and in more recent years, by the railoads. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity. 



CHAPTER XXIX. 
Opening of the Erie and Chemung Canals. 

MEN PROMINENT in the commercial life of the State of 
New York, whose business interests centered in Albany and 
New York City, noted with concern the endeavors of their 
•competitors in Baltimore and Philadelphia to draw trade from the 
Genesee Country, via the Susquehanna River, or over the William- 
son turnpike. Hence it was that New York and Albany business 
men as soon as a tide of emigration began to pour into the Genesee 
Country, and arks, flat-boats and rafts began to float down these 
streams, most strenously advocated the building of a trunk-line 
canal across the State from the upper Hudson to Lake Erie, with a 
branch connecting with the Chemung River. This was the genesis 
of the Erie and the Chemung Canals. The Erie Canal was com- 
pleted in October, 1825, and the Chemung Canal in 1833. 

The "New York Gazetteer," (Syracuse, 1860), contains this 
reference to the Chemung Canal and feeder: "Connects Seneca Lake 
at Watkins with Chemung River at Elmira, with a navigable feeder 
from Knoxville on Chemung River to Horseheads, on the summit 
level of the Chemung Canal, including slack-water navigation from 
the dam and guard-lock at Gibson to Knoxville. This canal was 
authorized April 15, 1829, and its construction was begun in that 
year and finished in 1833. The total lockages on both the canal 
and feeder are 516 feet by 53 locks, and the original cost was 
$344,000. From Coming, the Blossburg and Corning Railroad 
ascends into the bituminous coal region of Tioga County, Pennsyl- 
vania, and this article forms a very important item in the business 
of the canal. It also communicates with the Erie Railroad. The 
Junction Canal, a private enterprise connecting the Chemung Canal 
at Elmira with the North Branch Canal of Pennsylvania, at Athens, 
19 miles south, promises to become an important tributary of this 
canal by opening access to the coal region. The diversion of Che- 

146 



The Corning Company Organized in 1835. 147 



mung River into our canals has been made a subject of complaint 
and remonstrance by the State of Pennsylvania. Plans have been 
proposed for using the water of Mud Lake, (459 acres), and Little 
Lake, (708 1-2 acres), in Tyrone, as reservoirs to relieve this canal 
from the inconvenience felt in dry seasons from low water. The 
distance from Seneca Lake to Knoxville is 33 miles— the lake to 
Horseheads, 17 miles ; thence to the dam at head of feeder [Gibson] 
14 miles ; to Knoxville, two miles." 

It was for the purpose of establishing a commercial center at 
what demonstrations had shown most conclusively to be the practical 
head of river navigation on the Chemung, that in 1835, the second 
year after the completion of the Chemung Canal and Feeder,, 
the Coming Company was formed, at Albany, by Erastus Coming 
and associates. These practical business men had the courage to 
act at a time when many others faltered, for financial affairs were at 
low tide throughout the commercial and industrial centers of the 
United States. 

In 1835 there were but a few scattered dwellings on the south 
side of the Chemung, within the present limits of the City of Coming. 
Then the settlement, so far as now known, had no name. It was in 
the town of Painted Post. On the opposite side of the Chemung was 
the hamlet of Knoxville, with a pretentious " inn " of the half-way 
tpye, where man and beast were invigorated, and John Knox had a 
store. Upstream about a long mile was Centerville, whose every 
inhabitant from lisping child to the grand-parent, declared that the 
original and only genuine " Painted Post," was standing at the mouth 
of the Conhocton, within the bounds of their settlement, when the 
first white adventurer came that way. And they had a post that 
stood firm, a silent witness, to substantiate their claim. The hamlet 
half a mile further up the Conhoction had a population that from 
the ancient of days as strenuously advanced the same claim — and 
also had a " Painted Post " to show for it. Knoxville, Centerville and 
the settlement now bearing the name of " Painted Post," were rival 
claimants for the distinction of being recognized as the " port " at the 
head of the Feeder of the Chemung Canal, when the Coming Com- 
pany " came, saw and conquered." The new settlement was, by 
common consent, given the name of Coming at the very beginning 
of activities on the part of its founders. 

The associates of Erastus Coming in the enterprise, were 
Thomas W. Olcott, Joseph Fellows, Watts Sherman, Colonel Hiram 



148 Corning Company Purchases Site for Village. 



W. Bostwick, (who was general manager of the Corning Company), 
Ansel Bascom, Bowen Whiting, William A. Bradley and Levin I. 
Gillis. Mr. Olcott was a noted financier. 

The Corning Company first sought to purchase lands on the 
Conhocton, now the site of Painted Post, of the Erwins, but failed to 
consummate a mutually satisfactory deal. Efforts to secure title to 
sufficient lands for their purpose of the settlers of Knoxville and 
vicinity, on the north side of the Chemung, were also futile. Then, 
as a last resort, 340 acres of land were purchased on the south side 
■of the Chemung River. 

In 1835 there was a highway bridge across the Chemung at 
what is now Bridge street and one across the Conhocton near its 
junction with the Chemung. These bridges were roughly built, the 
planks of the driveway resting on heavy timbers, called spans, that 
extended from pier to pier. In order to permit the passage of boats 
and rafts underneath these bridges in time of flood, the supports 
were long spiles, driven firmly into the earth, and the elevation of 
the driveway was six or eight feet above the road level on either 
shore. This necessitated the building of slanting approaches. A few 
rods up stream, from each pier, was a strongly built ice-breaker, held 
in place by driven spiles ; each a crib formed of heavy planks, and 
filled with stones, and so constructed that when the ice; " started " 
it was broken by sliding up the incline of the " breaker," the broken 
pieces floating between the bridge piers as they jostled and crowded 
down stream. These " ice breakers " also protected the bridges 
from being destroyed by rushing masses of ice sent down from the 
upper streams when there was a " break up ;" and also indicated the 
safe course for an on-coming raft to take in passing underneath 
the bridge— an important matter. 

There was a fording place across the Chemung at the foot of 
what is now Walnut street, much used when the water was at low 
stage, prior to the building of the canal dam, by persons who desired 
to avoid paying toll for walking, riding a horse or driving across the 
ICnoxville bridge. There was also a much-used fording place at the 
riffles, a short distance below the canal dam. 

In 1835 most of the tract of land included in the purchase 
of the Coming Company was timber-clad, many of the trees being 
of immense size. Norway pines covered the hill-side except where a 
few openings had been made about the homes of settlers. Dense 
forests mantled the hills on every hand. 



Building of the Corning and Blossburg Railroad. 149 

The building and operation of railroads was " in the beginning." 
In 1831 the first railroad in the State, and the second to be built in 
United States, was opened from Albany to Schenectady. The rudely 
constructed line demonstrated the advantages of the new means of 
communication. The Corning Company had surveys made and 
ascertained that a railroad could be constructed from their new 
village at the head of the Chemung Canal to the coal-region at 
Blossburg, cheaper than a canal could be constructed, and that coal 
could be brought to their docks on the bank of the Chemung for 
reshipment in canal boats, cheaper by rail than it could be floated 
down the Tioga in flat-boats or arks. A charter was obtained from 
the State of New York, for a railroad from Corning to the State 
line at Lawrenceville, a distance of 15 miles. From that point to 
Blossburg the line was built under a Pennsylvania charter, by 
Philadelphia capitalists. The Pennsylvania section of the Corning- 
Blossburg railroad was first known as the Tioga Coal, Iron Mining 
and Manufacturing Company Railroad; next the whole line was 
known as the Corning and Blossburg Railroad, the next change in 
name being the Blossburg and Corning Railroad, and later it was 
known as the Tioga Railroad. 

The railroad was cheaply built. To avoid the expense of 
making fills and digging cuts, the roadbed extended along the base of 
hills, making many turns in order to preserve grade, and where it 
was necessary to cross flat lands of a lower level timber trestles and 
driven spiles were used, to support the cross-ties, timber stringers 
and rails of strap-iron that composed the railroad proper. 

The railroad began business in 1839. Its only locomotive, a 
small affair, manufactured at Albany, was brought to Coming on, 
or in, a canal boat. The passenger and freight cars were made in 
Coming. For a time this train had absolute right of way, under 
any and all circumstances, whether going or coming— for there was 
but the one locomotive. When a second locomotive was secured, 
trains were mn " by guess," when off schedule, for there was no 
telegraph service. Much steam was used in tooting the high-keyed 
whistle of goodly size, as the cautious engineer " felt his way " on 
approaching a sharp curve and rounding a point of land that hid 
from his view a stretch of track ahead. Reverse curves and interven- 
ing points of hills and mountains were too numerous to mention. It 
was the practice of an engineer to move with caution on nearing a 
curve where the view ahead was obstructed, and then " let 'er out " 



150 For a Time Corning Had No Post Office. 

on the strait reaches — the condition of the track permitting. Until 
the Summer of 1864, when a telegraph wire was strung along the 
right of way from Corning to Blossburg, and the stations at Corning, 
Presho, Lawrenceville, Tioga and Blossburg had been " connected," 
the time tables of the Tioga Railroad — ^which invariably bore the 
legend " Issued for the Direction of Trainmen and Not for the Infor- 
mation of the Public " — gave a train headed for Coming the right of 
way when a train moving in the other direction was ten minutes late 
at a regular passing place. It was the duty of the engineer of a 
southbound train to side-track at any convenient switch when he lost 
the " right of way," and wait for the north bound train to pass. 
'This might be a matter of only a few minutes, or of hours, or until 
a " runner " or a party of trackmen pumping a hand-car brought 
"" orders." For a number of years train service was irregular. 

Previous to 1840 Coming had no post office. Residents of the 
settlement, as also the inhabitants of Knoxville, were obliged to go to 
Centerville to receive and deposit mail. The first mail service was 
by men on horse-back, known as " Post Boys," who travelled the old 
Indian trails along the Chemung and Conhocton valleys, penetrating 
the Painted Post territory as far as Bath. It was an every alternate 
week service— weather and travel conditions permitting. Next, with 
the opening of a highway, a stage route was ex;tended from Elmira, 
via the Chimney Narrows, across Post Creek near its junction with 
the Chemung, through the rival and aspiring hamlets of Knoxville, 
Centerville, and Painted Post, up the Conhocton valley to Bath. For 
a time Corning was passed by on the other side, but not for long. 
Under the leadership of men connected with the Corning Company, 
its men of business, farmers, and others interested in developing the 
village, the Chemung was bridged a couple of miles down stream, a 
highway constructed thence through the village to the bridge across 
the Chemung at Knoxville, and stage drivers induced to travel 
through the new village. The head of the postal service gave favorable 
consideration to a petition that a post office be established in 
Coming. Early in the year the location of the post office of " Painted 
Post " was changed from Centerville to the village of Coming, by 
Philo P. Hubbell, the Post Master. In the Spring of 1841 the name 
of the post office was changed to Coming and Major S. B. Denton, 
proprietor of the Corning House, was appointed Post Master. He 
was followed in office in 1845, by John McBumey. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER THIRTY. 
The Corning and Blossburg Advocate. 

THE FIRST NEWSPAPER printed in Coming, was the Corning 
and Blossburg Advocate, the first number of which was 
issued the latter part of July, 1840. It was a six-column, four- 
page paper, the columns being two and one-third inches wide and 
19 inches in length ; the printed page, 19 X 14 14 inches. It was 
printed on a hand press, two pages at a run. Heavy-face two-line 
initial letters, used in connection with a word or two in capitals of 
the body-type, after the manner of chapter openings in this book, 
featured each advertisement, large or small — and advertising lines 
were kept within the single-column width limit. A few of the 
advertisements had a single plain bold-face line for a heading. Most 
of the advertisements bore in signature style the name of the person 
or firm at interest, and invariably in capital letters of the same type 
used in the body of the announcement and for setting the editorials, 
literary matter, clipping and general articles and mentions of the 
paper. The absence of home news and community gossip was a 
characteric of this and subsequent issues of Coming's pioneer paper. 
Brief mention was made occasionally of some local occurrence, but 
wide-world happenings, trade developments. State and National 
politics, communications of a controversial nature, advertisements 
and marriages and deaths had the right of way. Births were too 
common— too inconsequential— to permit the announcement of such 
an arrival in a publication most solemnly dedicated to " the cause of 
intemal improvement " and Whig politics. On the first page, under 
the paper heading and the date line of the issue, this legend extends 
across about four columns of the page, centered, and protected from 
intmsion by head-rules : " Published Weekly by Charles Adams, at 
the Village of Coming, Steuben County, New York." 

However the columns of the Corning and Blossburg Advocate 
carried advertisements that glimpse the business activities and to 
quite an extent reveal the social customs and domestic affairs of 

151 



152 Corning and Blossburg "Spiked Fast" 

the little village and the nearby settlements. The first and a few 
subsequent issues, carried at the head of the first column on the 
first page the following announcement, under the heading, " Pros- 
pectus of the Corning and Blossburg Advocate :" — 

" PROSPECTUS of the Corning and Blossburg Advocate, a new paper to 
be published weekly at the village of Corning, Steuben County, N. Y. It 
may be asked why a paper to be printed at Corning, in the State of New 
York, forty miles from Blossburg, in the State of Pennsylvania, should be 
called The Corning and Blossburg Advocate. The reason is obvious. The 
two enterprising companies which have completed the Corning and Bloss- 
burg Railroad, have brought the two places into such close contact, and so 
united their interests that it would be impossible to advance the interest of 
the one without contributing to the prosperity of the other. Besides, the 
laws of nature, operating in the formation of all that part of Pennsylvania 
drained by the Tioga and its tributaries, ordained that we should be one 
people in all our social and business relations, and the improvements of the 
day have added a force and sanction to those laws that no mere geograph- 
ical divisions or limits of state jurisdiction can overcome. Indeed, it has 
been our opinion that States connected together by their works of internal 
improvement — spiked fast, if you please, with rails and iron — thusfacillitat- 
ing the intercourse of their population, encouraging their business relations 
and identifying their interests, have wrought out and perfected their most 
indissoluble bond of union. 

" The Advocate, in addition to laying before the public the future pros- 
pects, as well as the present business advantages of the two places, 
will open its columns and invite to them well written essays on minerology 
and geology, and all such matters as shall tend to a diffusion of a more 
general knowledge of the vast wealth and resources of the mineral region 
■of Tioga, hitherto so little known and appreciated, but now, thanks to the 
genius of internal improvement, about to pour her treasures into the lap 
of New York, conducing thereby to the comfort and prosperity of her 
citizens and the affluence of her treasury. 

" It will be devoted to the general news and current literature of the 
day, but the pubUsher will endeavor to select such matters only as will 
contribute to the formation of sound and correct opinions, a pure taste, and 
the elevation of the moral standard among the people. 

"Thecauseof internal improvement will find The Advocate a firm, 
consistent, and to the extent of its ability, an efficient friend. 

" In its politics it will be whig ; moderate but firm ; always discussing 
principles with freedom, tempered with a just regard for the rights, feelings 
and principles of an antagonist, and endeavoring in all cases to combat 
error with the weapons of reason instead of contumely and abuse. 

" The Advocate will be printed weekly, on an imperial sheet, at $2 per 
annum, if paid in advance or during the first six months ; or $2.50 if 
payment is delayed till the end of the year." 



Gleanings From the Pioneer Newspaper. 153 

Turning to the advertisments, we find that 

" T. A. Johnson, Attorney and Counsellor at Law, and Solicitor 
and Counsellor in Chancery, will attend to all business in his profes- 
sion, entrusted to his charge, with care and fidelity." 

" Doct. W. Terbell would inform his friends and the public that 
he has removed his residence to the Village of Corning, where he 
will be ready at all times to attend to any calls in the line of his 
profession." [Dr. Terbell had for some months occupied a house 
a short distance west of Knoxville, on the north side of the river.] 

At the " Railroad Store of Coming," Mills & Company " are 
offering a large assortment of dry goods, groceries, hardware, 
crockery, oils, paints, glass, &c., &c., on the most favorable terms- 
N. B. — A few dozen grass scythes, warranted, at $1 each." 

N. L. Somers, proprietor of the " Corning Cash Store," has "Just 
received a new assortment of iron, nails and steel. Also a fresh 
supply of groceries, paints and oils, and a general assortment of dry 
goods. All offered at low prices for cash." 

W. L, Waller has salt and flour for sale. 

John A. Parcell politely says : " Those wishing to purchase 
cabinet work, will please call on the subscriber, a few doors east of 
the Coming Hotel, on Market street, where a general assortment 
will be kept on hand, and orders executed at the shortest notice." 

" For sale, about $120,000 feet of seasoned boards, of different 
qualities, at the head of navigation in Painted Post. For further 
information apply to W. J. Arnold, Coming." 

" To Boatmen and Owners of Canal Boats : Constant employ- 
ment will be given to 100 canal boats during the season of navigation. 
Apply to G. R. Wilson, office of Arbon Coal Company." 

"Coming Foundry.— Mill and railroad castings on hand and 
made to order at all times on the shortest notice. Stoves of various 
kinds, pot-ash kettles, caldrons and hollow ware. Blacksmithing and 
finishing in its various branches attended to without delay when 
ordered. MILLS & CO., Corning." 

C. H. Powers, " Watchmaker and Jeweler," most respectfully 
announces to the citizens of Painted Post and adjacent towns, that 
he has removed his new shop " to the opposite side of Market street 
in the village of Coming." 

George D. Williams, proprietor of the " Canal and Railroad 
Grocery," on the west comer of Pine street and Tioga avenue, lists 



154 Pioneer Business Men of Corning and Vicinity. 



an extensive assortment of goods, including " ale by the barrel or by 
the glass ; Philadelphia porter, brown stout and spruce beer." 

R. O. Jennings offers " One Cent Reward " for the return of an 
apprentice boy, in a bold headline followed by these words : " Ran 
away from the subscriber on the 15th day of July last, George 
Calkins, an indented boy aged 19 years. All persons are hereby 
forbid harboring or trusting said boy on my account." 

" Drugs and Medicines. — ^The subscribers will keep constantly 
on hand at the store of W. L. Waller a general assortment of drugs 
and medicines, paints, oils, dye stuffs and patent medicines, of good 
quality and cheap for ready pay. WM. TERBELL & Co." 

" Landlords can be supplied with all kinds of wines and distilled 
spirits at the store of W. J. ARNOLD & CO." 

This firm also solicited the patronage of those " desiring to pur- 
chase quantities of liquors for use in harvesting crops." 

John Mallory manufactured and sold chairs " at his old stand in 
Knoxville, opposite Coming," and also sold other articles of furniture. 

B. W. Payne conducted the Corning Stove Store, and accepted 
farm products and lumber in payment for stoves, " if delivered at the 
time the stoves are taken." 

Loomis, Fuller & Company dealt in leather and manufactured 
and sold boots and shoes. It was the practice in those days, to 
measure the feet of a customer, who was permitted to select the 
leather to be used. 

P. J. Mallory was Cashier of the Bank of Corning, which on the 
20th of July, 1840, had in circulation $48,692 of its own issue of notes. 
The bank began business the first of that month, under State law, 
with $117,000 capital stock. 

In the Fall of 1840, W. V. Scudder opened a dry goods and 
general store " in the brick building directly opposite to the Coming 
Hotel." 

David Coon was proprietor of a gun shop at Centerville. 

Lewis B. and Levi B. Warner had a general at Painted Post, and 
" solicited the patronage of any who must or would buy goods in 
this part of the country." 

George Gardener came on from Albany in November, 1840, and 
opened a tailor shop. The next month L. D. Haviland and J. B. 
Fithian, entered into copartnership and opened a tailorshop " over 



Corning House "An Ideal Traveller's Home. 155 



the grocery of G. D. Williams, in the block of stores fronting the 
river, nearly opposite the Corning Hotel." 

Frank Hovey and Jacob H. Russell were competitors in the 
harness and saddle business. 

Timothy Rhodes offered to pay one shilling a bushel for 3,000 
bushels of ashes delivered at his ashery in Corning. 
D. R. Davis was the village barber. 

Other tradesmen and manufacturers, mentioned in the Advocate 
in 1840-'41 were James B. Lower, who manufactured railroad cars, 
wagons and buggies; W. P. Havens and Charles Clark, were carpen- 
ters and builders ; L. Davenport, of Coming, and A. B. Wood & Co., 
■of Painted Post, made hats and caps ; J. J. Badger sold " liquors of all- 
kinds for haying and harvesting;" Dyer Ford was a grocer ; D. J. 
Shaw, Jr., had a cash store, known as the " Corning Exchange ;" Jared 
A. Redfield was propritor of a general store ; R. L. Underbill & Co. 
sold books and stationery ; M J. Pace ran a bakery ; G. D. Williams 
•sold ice cream " to ladies and gentlemen " at his home evenings, 
Sundays excepted ; D. Hamner opened a general store in 1841 ; E. P. 
Empie, a draper and tailor, began buaness in 1841. 

Landlord S. B. Denton, of the Corning House, published in 
the new paper the following notice, which was continued for several 
issues, under a " double-head " that read : " Corning House, at the 
Village of Corning :" — 

" THIS ESTABLISHMENT has lately been thoroughly furnished 
and fitted up for the accommodation of the travelling community. 
The proprietor takes this opportunity to thank those who have 
heretofore favored him with a call, and respectfully solicits a share 
of the public patronage. He intends at all times to be able to 
administer to the comfort of his guests, and to make the Corning 
House in truth the Traveller's Home. 

" Since the completion of the Corning and Blossburg Railroad, a 
train of passenger cars leaves Coming every morning at 6 o'clock, 
(upon the arrival of the stage from Bath), for Blossburg, Pa., where 
passengers will find good coaches in readiness to convey them to 
Williamsport by 6 o'clock p. m. of the same day. 

" A stage coach also leaves Coming every morning for the head 
of Seneca Lake, arriving at Jefferson in time to take passage in the 
morning boat for Geneva. A stage coach also leaves Corning every 
morning at 7 o'clock for Owego, in conjunction with a line of stages 



156 Unique Announcement of Railroad Service. 

running to New York ; also, a stage leaves Corning every evening 
for Bath, at 7 o'clock, upon the arrival of the cars from Blossburg, 
and the Geneva and Owego stages. 

Passengers going from the southwestern part of the State, or the 
northern part of Pennsylvania, to New York, will arrive there one 
day sooner than by any other route. 

" Coming, July 31, 1840. S. B. DENTON." 

Miss H. Loveland announced that she " taught a select school 
for young ladies in the basement of the Methodist Chapel," in the 
village of Coming. Later A. Parcell taught this school. 

Under the head " Blacksmithing," Estes Sturtevant announced : 
" The subscriber would respectfully inform the inhabitants of Corn- 
ing and its vicinity that he has purchased the shop formerly occupied 
by H. Hudson, where by punctuality in engagements, and a strict 
attention to business, he hopes to merit a share of public patronage. 

" Wanted, immediately, a young man 16 to 17 years of age, as an 
apprentice to the above business." 

The following unique railroad time-table was printed in the first 
and a number of subsequent issues of the Corning and Blossburg 
Advocate, the name attached being that of the road's civil engineer, 
who at the time was a resident of Corning : — 

"Coming & Blossburg Railroad — Daily Line.— A Locomotive 
engine, with a train of passenger and freight cars, will leave Com- 
ing at 6 o'clock a. m. of each day, for Blossburg and the intermediate 
places, connecting with a splendid line of Post Coaches mnning to 
the Williamsport and Elmira Railroad at Trout Run. Returning in 
the afternoon of the same day. 

" Passengers from Geneva by steamboat will arrive at Coming 
the same day by a line of stages direct from Jefferson [now Watkins] 
to Corning. MILLER FOX, Engineer." 

The three items that follow were the only references to home 
matters that appeared in the issue of August 21, 1841, despite all the 
activities of a rapidly developing village, already the commercial 
center of Steuben County, New York, and the only available gateway 
to the extensive section of Pennsylvania drained by the Tioga and 
Cowanesque rivers, branches of the Chemung : — 

The receipts of coal at Corning for the week ending 19th inst., 
by the Corning and Blossburg Railroad, was 600 tons. Shipments 
during same period, to Albany, Utica, Syracuse, &c., 600 tons. 



Prospectus of High School at Painted Post. 157 



It is expected that the Rev. Mr. Hopkins will preach in the 
Presbyterian Church next Sabbath, the 23d inst. 

The Rev. Mr. Abbott will deliver an address before the Painted 
Post Temperance Society, at the Methodist Church in Corning, on 
Tuesday evening next, at half -past seven o'clock. A general attend- 
ance is earnestly desired. 

In the same issue was the following announcement : 

"HIGH SCHOOL AT PAINTED POST. 

" This School will be opened for the Summer Session the first Monday 
in May next, under the tuition and superintendence of J. B. Wilkinson, late 
teacher in Binghamton. Mr. V/ilkinson comes to us well recommended 
from several different places where he has taught in Academies and Gram- 
mar schools. With proper encouragement and patronage, we have every 
confidence that the school will be conducted with such ability and skill, as 
will meet every reasonable expectation of the friends and patrons of the 
institution. 

" The edifice is amply large and pleasantly situated in West Corning, 
on the great stage road from Elmira to Bath, commanding a view of the 
Coming and Blossburg Railroad, and will when completed command a 
view also of the the New York and Erie Railroad. 

" Each session will consist of two terms of twelve weeks each ; the 
Summer session commencing the first Monday in May, and the Winter 
session the first Monday in October. 

"" TERMS : — For spelling, reading, writing and the commencement of 
geography, arithmetic, grammar and history, $2.00 per term. For geogra- 
phy, arithmetic, grammar and history, advanced or completed, with 
rhetorical reading, $3.00 per term. For philosophy — natural and moral — 
astronomy, chemistry, botany, the higher branches of mathematics, and 
the Latin and Greek languages, $4.00 per term. 

" Speaking and composition will be attended to by all the pupils who 
are sufficiently advanced. 

" Board may be had in the vicinity in good families, and a few with the 
principal, at a reasonable price. 

" John Knox, Robert O. Jennings, John Sly, William Bonham, John 
McBumey, H. C. Tuttle, John Mallory, Trustees." 

In October, 1840. the following professional cards first appeared 
in the Advocate:— 

" Doct. F. Goodwin will attend to all calls in the practice of 
Physic and Surgery. Residence a few doors east of Judge Knox's." 

" Doct. James Cutler would inform the citizens of Painted Post 
and vicinity that he has returned to Knoxville. where he is ready to 
attend to all calls in the line of his profession." 



158 Slow Progress in Constructing Erie Railroad. 

" Medical and Surgical. — S. Brownell, lately from Butternuts 
Otsego County, has commenced the practice of Physics and Surgery 
in the village of Corning and vicinity, and will punctually attend to 
all diseases committed to his care. N. B. — Particular attention paid 
to all surgical operations." 

In the issue of November 6, 1840, P. J. Mallory, Treasurer, gives 
notice that there will be meetings of the stockholders and the direct- 
ors of the Painted Post Bridge Company, at the Corning House, on the 
7th day of December, at 2 and 4 o'clock in the afternoon, respectively- 

At a public meeting of citizens of Coming, held on the 5th of 
December, 1840, at the school house, Dr. William Terbell presiding, 
the following committee was appointed to arrange " a course of 
popular lectures to be delivered in this place the ensuing Winter : 
H. H. Hull, T. A. Johnson, W. L. Waller, P. J. Mallory, W. J. Arnold 
and Rev. S. M. Hopkins. 

In 1841 B. Hall and M, Smith, of Campbell, announced : " The 
cloth manufacturing business wiH be continued at the old shop in the 
name of B. Hall and M. Smith, where they will be glad to accommo- 
date all who will favor them with their custom. They will take good 
clean common wool and manufacture it into good fulled cloth for 44 
cents per yard in cash, or will give one-half of the doth that each 
individual's wool makes." 

A. B. Wood & Co. announced : " A full and fashionable assort- 
ment of hats can now be found at the hat store in the village of 
Pointed Post. First quality of fine brush hats, $4 ; second quality, 
$3 ; muskrat nap, $2 to $2.00 ; coney, $1 to $2 ; wool hats, white and 
black, of all shapes, 6 to 10 shillings ; fine clipped nutras or castor 
bodies, the finest article ever in the country, $5. All kinds of produce 
and lumber taken." 

May 7, 1841.—" The eastern section of the New York and Erie 
Railroad, which the company expected to finish by the first of the 
year was delayed by the January flood, and the intention of complet. 
ing it through the Winter was abandoned, but it is certain that cars 
will be in operation next month. All the remaining portion of the road, 
except a few miles from Binghamton to Deposit, are under contract 
to be completed in two years. Eight spile driving machines are now 
at work between Owego and Hornellsville, and also several grading 
parties. From Hornellsville to the lake the work is going ahead." 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Coming and Vicinity 

CHAPTER XXXI. 
Pioneer Trains on Corning and Blossburg Railroad. 

CORNING'S pioneer newspaper proves such a veritable mine of 
authentic information, that we continue to dig into the early 
issues for facts having to do with the settlement of the village, 
and the social and business activities of the " first comers." 

June 25, 1841. — " The population of this village is now over 600. 
Three years ago only a few families lived here." 

At this time Coming and Painted Post each had a post office- 
S. B. Denton was postmaster at Coming, and William J. Gilbert at 
Painted Post. 

In the Spring of 1841, 567 board rafts, composed of 19,500,000 
of sawn lumber ; and 110 timber rafts were run down the Chemung 
past Corning, many of the rafts carrying deck loads — which was a 
common method for shipping produce and bunched shingles and lath. 

Notice is given in the Advocate that " on and after the 15th of 
August, (Sundays excepted)" a " passenger and freight train," and a 
" coal train with passenger car attached," will each make a round 
trip each day between Coming and Blossburg. Said the time card : 

" NOTE. — ^All way-passengers will be charged at the rate of four cents 
per mile, and all passengers passing over the road or any portion of it, and 
returning the same or the next day, will be charged for the first trip per 
mile five cents, and allowed to return the same distance free." 

" A boat load of rails, for the New York and Erie Railroad, 
arrived last week," says the Advocate of September 15, 1841, adding: 
" This does not look much like the spiles rotting before the rails will 
be laid, as predicted by the opponents of the road." 

Seventeen boats of coal and eight boats of lumber cleared via 
Chemung Canal in six days. 

John Graham, aged 34 years, Chief Engineer of Motive Power on 
the Coming and Blossburg Railroad, died Sept. 15, of bilous fever. 

159 



160 Changes in Editors and Owners of Pioneer Paper. 

The " Tuscarora," a locomotive built at Patterson, N. J., and 
brought to Corning on a canal boat, for use on the Coming and 
Blossburg Railroad, had four driving wheels, and weighed 28,100 
pounds with water and fuel. Weight on driving wheels, 18,650. The 
driving wheels were four feet in diameter ; cylinders, 12 inches ; the 
stroke, 18 inches. On a test trip, in July, the " Tuscarora " drew 
from Coming to Blossburg 43 empty cars weighing 90 tons, and on 
the return trip hauled to Coming 50 cars loaded with 162 tons 900 
pounds of coal — a gross load of 269 tons 310 pounds. 

The " Conhocton," a locomotive manufactured in Philadelphia 
for the Coming and Blossburg Railroad'and boated to Corning, had 
two driving wheels, 4 feet 6 inches in diameter ; cylinders 12 inches ; 
stroke 16 inches ; weight, 27,180 pounds with water and fuel ; weight 
on driving wheels, 13,520 pounds. In August, 1841, this locomotive 
brought from Blossburg to Coming a train of 50 cars loaded with 
160 tons 400 pounds of coal. This was a gross load of 268 tons. 

These coal cars weighed about two tons each, had four wheels, 
and carried about three and a half tons of coal. 

At this writing— (1921)— the New York Central Railroad has in 
regular freight service on its Pennsylvania Division, in and out of 
the city of Corning, locomotives of standardized compound high 
and low pressure type, that weigh 400,000 pounds and haul coal 
trains of seventy-five cars, the average car-load being 50 tons of coal 
and the weight of an empty car about 25 tons— a total of 5,250 tons 
per traiil. Such trains no longer occasion comment. These loco- 
motives have two sets of eight driving wheels. 

On July 22d, 1841, having issued the Corning and Blossburg 
Advocate for one year, Charles Adams sold the paper and its equip- 
ment to Hull & May, and Henry H. Hull, (later founder and publisher 
of the Steuben Courier, at Bath), became its editor. He was succeed- 
ed in May, 1847, by Thomas Messenger, who changed the name of 
the paper to the Corning Journal. In July, 1851, the printing outfit 
and good will of the paper was sold by Mr. Messenger to A. W. 
McDowell and Dr. George W. Pratt. Dr. Pratt purchased Mr. 
McDowell's interest in the business in 1853, and continued to edit the 
Journal and to manage its business affeirs, until the infirmities of age 
compelled him to entrust the work to others, a few years before his 
death. He died October 3d, 1906. 



'Brick" Pomeroy and " Petroleum V. Nashy." 161 



During the period the Journal printing office was owned and 
the paper was edited by Thomas Messenger, two young men who 
during the Civil War achieved Nation-wide prominence as political 
writers and publishers of newspapers of general circulation, were his 
apprentices. They were Mark M. Pomeroy, who as editor of 
Pomeroy's Democrat, printed at Milwaukee, Wis., devoted his great 
talents to Copperhead propaganda ; and David R. Locke, editor of 
the Toledo Blade, printed at Toledo, O., a firm supporter of the Union» 
who contributed material aid to the cause that triumphed, by a series 
of exceedingly witty and incisively keen letters, exposing the weak- 
ness and disloyal attitude of " Secessionists," both North and South. 
These letters were signed, " Petroleum V. Nasby, Portmaster at 
Confederate-X-Roads." They were commended by President 
Lincoln, and reprinted by the many of the loyal newspapers. 

Editor Hull, in the issue of the Advocate dated May 18th, 1842, 
gave the new village of Coming a write-up, in which he said : " Our 
village, which now numbers more inhabitants than any other of 
equal age in the State, and even rivals in its rapid but healthy growth 
the most flourishing villages of the far-famed West, is still going 
ahead. Nothwithstanding the extreme scarcity of money, buildings 
are going up as rapidly as ever. To the eye of the traveller our 
village presents a novel and interesting aspect. Where but five or 
six years since, a solitary dwelling and warehouse were the only 
buildings that graced what was then termed the " Cow Pasture," 
hemmed in on the one side by mountains and the other by the waters 
of the Chemung River, he sees a neat and rapidly growing village, 
with streets as regular and systematic as lines on a chess-board, 
lined as they are with its hundred dwelling houses, its twelve or 
fifteen stores, its neatly arranged and convenient churches, its public 
houses, its bank, its iron foundry, its car manufactory, its warehouses 
and its depot In addition to this the business air and activity of its 
inhabitants, the hum of work-shops, and the frequent arrival and 
departure of cars and stage coaches, and the large number of unfin- 
ished buildings in a state of rapid progress, remind him that he is in 
a place as yet in its infancy, and destined at no distant day to rival 
the most flourishing villages in the Southern Tier." 

Editor Hull greatly improved the value of the paper as a purvey- 
or of general news, but the paucity of home items continued. He 
introduced double-colimin advertisements, using a variety of display 
lines. Dr. George W. Pratt made the Corning Journal a real news- 



162 Fourth of July Celebrated On Temperance Principles. 

paper, its weekly offering of reading matter being well-balanced 
as regards current literature, foreign. National, State, County and 
Village news, and editorial Notes and Comments. He was vigorous 
and incisive in matters of criticism or controversy. 

While in 1891 a letter written in New York City, and addressed 
to " Colonel Eleazer Lindsley, Western New York," passed on as a 
matter of accommodation by persons travelling toward the Genesee 
Country, was delivered with surprising promptness, before there 
was a post-route or a post office in this section or the ihtervening 
territory, yet in 1841 increased population and the development of 
mail facilities was causing confusion. Said the Advocate, September 
29, 1841 : " We would direct public attention to the position of Post 
Offices in this vicinity. The office of Painted Post is not, as is sup- 
posed by many, in the Town of Painted Post, but at the Village of 
Painted Post, in the adjoining Town of Erwin. Letters intended for 
the Town of Painted Post should be directed to Corning. Much 
inconvenience is experienced by letters intended for one post office 
going to another." 

In the month of May, 1842, Miss P. A. Robinson opened a school 
for young ladies, " in the second story of the house formerly occupied 
by Major Denton, situated on the comer of First and Cedar streets." 

David Baker advertised brick for sale at $3.75 per thousand. 

H. Pritchard and H. G. Phelps announced that they would " pay 
cash for wheat, delivered at the Coming Mills." 

In 1842, from May 23d to June 4th, inclusive, 57 canal boats, 
carrying Blossburg coal, cleared from Coming. Average cargo, 55 
tons. Lumber clearances, 24 ; pig-iron from Blossburg, one boat. 

In the Fall of 1841 and for several months following. Coming 
and vicinity experienced a sweeping temperance revival. 

On the Fourth of July, 1842, the Sabbath Schools and " citizens of 
Painted Post and adjoining towns " joined in a celebration in the 
village of Coming, conducted " on temperante principles." The 
member of the Committee of Arrangements were : L. H. Robinson, 
Oliver Arnold, Jesse Clark, Jr., P. P. Hubbell. E. S. Rose, W. L. 
Waller, E. Sturtevant, Elijah Judd, S. B. Denton, J. J. Robinson, B. P. 
Bailey, M. M. Wheelock, J. J. Palmer, Arthur L. Brown, D. S. French 
and Dyer Ford. P. J. Mallory was Marshall of the Day, assisted by 
Andrew Beers and S. W. Pomeroy. There was a parade headed by 
the Painted Post Brass Band. Elaborate exercises followed. There 



Merry Wedding Bells in Pioneer Days. 163 

were more than three thousand persons present. A parade composed 
of " seventy-three wagons, each loaded with four to thirty individuals, 
with banners flying," brought " the Sabbath Schools and citizens of 
Knoxville, Painted Post and Campbell, preceded by the Painted Post 
Band." Refreshments were served free at tables in the pine grove 
on the hill-side, immediately back of the churches. 

The following marriage notices, that appeared in the Advocate, 
in pioneer days, will be read with interest by descendants of the 
" happy couples :" 

In Campbell, September 8, 1840, by Rev. Mr. Smith, Uri Balcom, 
of Erwin, and Miss Jane A. Besley, daughter of Samuel Besley, Esq., 
of Campbell. 

In Lawrence, Tioga County, Pa., September 11, 1840, by Rev. Mr. 
Breck, of Wellsboro, John Cook and Miss Elizabeth M. Somers, both 
of Lawrence. 

In Painted Post, September 29, 1840, by Rev. John Smith, A. B. 
Beckwith, of Bath, and Miss Martha C. Thompson, of Painted Post. 

In Caton, September 30, 1840, by Rev. Ambrose Abbott, Samuel 
Toby and Charlotte Spencer. 

In Erwin, October 1, 1840, by C. K. Miller, Esq., Charles Crane 
and Mrs. Sarah Nobles. 

In Hornby, October 14, 1840, by Rev. Mr. Johnson, Alvin Bacon, 
of Avon, 0., and Miss Amelia Northway. 

In Centerville, October 29, 1840, by Rev. S. M. Hopkins, of Corn- 
ing, Dr. Robert M. Traver and Miss Eliza Young. 

In Knoxville, November 5, 1840, by Rev. S. M. Hopkins, John 
Mallory and Miss Mary Lamb. 

In Erwin, January 29, 1841, by Charles K. Miller, Esq., Willis 
Potter and Miss Mary See. 

In South Coming, January 28, 1841, by Rev. C. S. Davis, Atwood 
Fales and Miss Adeline Pierce. 

In Hornby, March 25, 1841, by Rev. J. Gardner, Russell Stanton 
and Miss Lucy Northway. 

In Coming, May 24, 1841, by Rev. S.M. Hopkins, H. H. Weyman, 
of Coming, and Miss Ruth S. Shons, of Wallkill. 

In Caton, June 2, 1841, by Rev. C. S. Davis, Merritt Lindsay and 
Emeline Apgar. 



164 Merry Wedding Bells in Pioneer Days. 

In Painted Post, July 7, 1841, by Rev. S. S. Howe, Luke Coriell, 
of Hornby, and Miss Martha Gushing, of New Bedford, Mass. 

In Corning, October 11, 1841, by Rev. S. M. Hopkins, A. F. 
Kingsbury, of Rochester, and Miss Hannah M. Calkins, of Corning. 

In Covington, Pa., October 26, 1841, by Rev. Mr. Doane, William 
J. Arnold, of Coming, and Miss Harriet Kress, of Covington. 

In Coming, March 2, 1841, by Rev. S. M. Hopkins, James M. 
Hawley and Miss Eunice Preston, all of Corning. 

In Coming, January 3, 1842, by Rev. Richard Smith, Lucien 
Billinghurst and Miss Hannah Fellows, daughter of John Fellows. 

In Corning, February 16, 1842, by Rev. Amos Hard, Charles 
Ferenbaugh. of Hornby, and Miss J^ucy Sweet, of Catlin. 

In Coming, April 23, 1842, by Rev. Amos Hard, William Hood 
and Miss Catherine Smith. 

In Painted Post, May 4, 1842, by Rev. Amos Hard, Ebon E. Enos 
and Miss Amanda Conkrite. 

In Corning. June 25, 1842, Dr. C. Peebles and Mrs. Catherine M. 
Winans, daughter of Judge Steele. 

In Coming, July 29, 1851, by Rev. S. R. Jones, Matthew M. Sly 
and Miss Marietta A. Maxwell. 

The two marriage notices that follow were printed in the village 
paper, October 15, 1851, with this curiosity arousing note of expla- 
nation : " We understand there was a wager pending between the 
gentlemen, which occasions the mention of the precise time of the 
ceremony in these notices." 

On the 13th instant at precisely 27 minutes past 2 o'clock p. m., 
by Rev. I. N. Hurd, D. Atwater and Mrs. Jane M. Curtiss, all of 
this village. 

On the 13th inst., at 15 minutes before 3 p. m., by Rev. Mr. 
Lightbum, Cranston T. Potter, of Coming, and Miss Louisa Mallory, 
of Knoxville. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXXII. 
Lauren Mallory the First President of Corning. 

THE VILLAGE OF CORNING was incorporated by a decree, 
granted by the Court of Sessions of Steuben County, at Bath 
September 6th, 1848, on petition of H. G. Phelps, James C. 
Davis and Joseph Herron, representing the inhabitants. At that time 
the population was 1,726. An election was held held October 25, to 
pass upon the decree of incorporation, and the result was 118 for to 
five against. The first election of village officers was held January 
12, 1849, when Horace G. Phelps, Lauren Mallory, George T. Spencer, 
Aaron H. Foster and James S. Robinson were chosen Trustees. The 
Board of Trustees organized by electing Mr. Mallory president and 
Thomas Messenger clerk. 

Not satisfied with the provisions of the general law of the State 
for the incorporation of villages, under which the village had been 
incorporated, the villagers applied to the Legislature for relief, and 
in February, 1851, an act was passed " to amend the act for the 
Incorporation of Villages, so far as relates to the village of Coming." 
Thus Coming was granted a Village Charter that greatly extended 
the powers of its Trustees and gave its people a large measure of 
self-government. At that time Joshua B. Graves was president of 
the Board of Trustees and Cyrus Kellogg was clerk. 

The Board of Trustees was given power to levy a poll tax of not 
exceeding one dollar or two days' labor, on every male inhabitant 21 
years of age ; to build and maintain a bridge across the Chemung 
River ; to regulate and control the speed of locomotive engines upon 
any and every railroad within said village, and to impose a penalty 
of not exceeding $100 for each and every violation of any such rule, 
regulation or by-law ; to regulate or prohibit the sale of intoxicating 

165 



166 Ring All Church Bells to Give Fire Alarm. 

beverages in said village ; to regulate and prevent the ringing of 
bells, blowing of horns, and crying of goods, wares and merchandise 
and other commodities ; to organize a police force, and to hire or 
lease a watch house ; and to do many other things deemed necessary 
to preserve order and promote the general welfare. 

Exercising the ample authority conferred on them by the State 
Legislature, the Trustees of the Village of Corning, in July, 1851, 
passed ordinances that provided, among other things, for licensing 
taverns, restaurants and stores; it was ordered that a fine of twenty- 
five cents be imposed on a fireman who neglected to be present at a 
fire ; that sextons of the several churches which are provided with 
bells, shall upon an alarm of fire, " proceed to said church " and 
diligently ring the bell continuously, or at intervals, until a sufficient 
alarm has been rung, and said sextons shall be entitled to all the 
exemptions of firemen ; it shall be the duty of every male resident 
of the village of 16 years of age and upwards, being in bodily health 
and activity, to attend all fires therein and assist in extinguishing the 
same when required by a Fire Warden or Trustee, or by any officer, 
subject to a penalty of $5 in case of refusal or neglect to respond ; at 
fires the Village President and members of the Board of Trustees 
were required to wear a white band on their hat, with the word 
" Trustee " thereon ; the Chief Engineer shall wear a black cap with 
the words " Chief Engineer " thereon, surmounted by a white plume, 
and shall carry a trumpet ; and it was provided that other officers of 
the Fire Department should wear similar head-gear, and that all 
other firemen when on duty at fires " shall wear a fire-cap and coat 
made according to the uniform adopted by the company to which 
they severally belong, under a penalty of fifty cents for each neglect 
without a sufficient excuse therefore." 

There were a number of volunteer fire companies at this time, 
including a company to handle a hook and ladder truck and man the 
ladders, use axes, tear down buildings with a massive iron hook to 
which a rope was attached ; two hose companies, and a fire engine 
company whose pride was a hand lever force pump. The leather hats 
worn by the officers of the Fire Department, and the numerous water 
buckets of the same material, were wonderful creations. The only 
sources of water supply for use at fires, were the Chemung river, 
dug wells, and cisterns. In various sections of the village, usually at 
a four-corners, a large wooden-cistern was set into the ground by the 
street-side, to catch water from the open gutters. Each cistern was 



Coming's First Fire Engine Was a Hand Pump. 167 

covered with a platform of planks, and fitted with a trap-door which 
was hinged and fastened with a padlock, strap-iron catch and staple. 
The hand-pump was elaborately decorated with trimmings of highly 
polished brass, and georgous in bright paint of contrasty colors. To 
induce by-standers to help run this pump when a fire was raging, it 
was the practice to place a pail containing whiskey near at hand, 
in charge of a citizen of ripe judgment, whose duty it was to serve 
a drink from a tin dipper to any man who had first tugged with 
others at the long pump bars. Each man taking a swig was permit- 
ted to repeat the operation so long as his sendees at the pump were 
required — or until incapacitated. To work the pump to its full capacity 
required the services of near a score of men, there being two pump 
bars, so connected that when one was on the down stroke the other 
was moving upward. The two crews of pumpers faced each other. 
It was a constant " Heave ho ; heave ho !" while the flames crackled, 
providing the water and the whiskey held out. 

On Sunday, July 27th, 1851, the steam flouring mill of George W. 
Hathaway, on West Erie avenue, was destroyed by fire ; loss $3,000. 
" The foundry of B. W. Payne & Co., the livery stable of Pew & 
Potter, and the Clinton House were prevented from being burned," 
said the Corning Journal in its account of the fire, " by almost 
superhuman exertion, and almost thirty buildings were in imminent 
danger for an hour. The supply of water with which to fight the 
flames was obtained from the river, six hundred feet away." 

In the same issue of the Journal, the following appeared : 

"A CARD. — The members of Engine Company No. 1, duly appreciating 
the kind invitation of B. W. Payne, Esq., and having enjoyed the deUcate 
and substantial refreshments furnished after the fire by their foreman, D. 
B. Cumpston, Esq., would return their sincere thanks to both gentlemen. 
" By order of the Company. GEO. THOMPSON, Secretary." 

" A CARD. — The members of Rescue Hose Company, No. 1, would 
respectfully tender their acknowledgments to their friends, who so kindly 
furnished them with refreshments at the fire on Sunday last. 

" G. A. MILLS. Secretary. H. B. PALMER, Foreman Pro Tern." 

"A CARD.— Rough and Ready Engine and Hose Company, No. 2, 
would return their sincere thanks to B. W. Payne, Esq., for his kindness 
and liberality in providing refreshments for us on the occasion of the fire 
in our village on Sunday, the 27th inst. 

" J. M. GOODRICH, Foreman of Engine Company. 
" HENRY DEY, Foreman of Hose Company." 

All of which indicates that being a Volunteer Fireman, in the 
good old days, had its compensations. 



168 Village of Corning Three Times Fire-Swept 

Due to fire hazards on account of many wooden buildings, the 
common use of wood-burning stoves, and the use of a highly inflam- 
able fluid known as camphene for lighting purposes, there were many 
fires in Coming's early days, some of them burning over large 
sections of the village. Three extensive conflagrations occurred in 
succession. The first, in May, 1850, when all stores, hotels, shops and 
many dwellings on Market street, for several blocks east and west 
of Pine street, and all buildings on the adjoining and cross streets 
from the north side of Erie avenue to the Chemung River, were 
burned, with most of their contents. The second big fire occurred 
June 30. 1856, when the stores, hotels, factories and nearby houses on 
the flatlands of the western section of the village were burned to the 
ground. This was followed on July 10, 1856, by a conflagration that 
swept the central portion of the village. The Dickinson House and 
a few stores on the north side of Market street, east of Pine, were 
spared. This fire destroyed 40, and the fire of June 30, 78 buildings. 

A glance at Coming at the time of its transition from just a 
settlement on the south bank of the Chemung, at the south-eastern 
door of the far-famed Genesee Country, into an organized village, 
reveals a far different state of affairs from the Coming of to day. 
It was then an up-to-date community — but the up-to-dateness was, 
as viewed from the present point of observation, that of a bygone 
age. Then most of the inhabitants of the country round about 
dwelt in log cabins, where a single fireplace supplied heat for all 
household purposes. In the village of Coming were several log 
cabins, and here and there a " residence," but the most of the houses 
were of the type known as " shanties," constructed of rough lumber, 
the homes of a hardy class of liberty-loving laborers whose coming 
made the settlement grow. 

When Messrs. Phelps, Davis and Herron, representing the 1,726 
inhabitants of the settlement, in the Summer of 1848, petitioned the 
Court of Sessions of the County of Steuben to grant Coming articles 
of incorporation, it was the age of wax and tallow candles and whale- 
oil lamps. Some were venturing the use of camphene-buming 
lamps with wick drawn through a tube, and open flame— some of 
the camphene lamps having two, three, four, five tubes each provided 
with a metal cap that dangled from a bit of chain, ready for used as 
occasion might require. Sometimes the highly combustible fluid 
would creep up a wick so as to overflow the lamp, causing a blaze 
that endangered the home. It was a common practice when a 



Old-Folks Distrust Stoves and Fluid Lights. \&9 

benzene lamp got afire, for one of the family to open an outer door 
and another to take the flaming lamp upon a fire-shovel or dustpan 
and hurl it into the yard. Many householders would not permit the 
use of the fluid in their homes. Tallow candles and wax tapers were 
more common, because more dependable. The candlesticks of that 
period varied in shape from one to hold a single candle, with a 
base the size and shape of a saucer, made of tin and selling at six- 
pence, to an ornamental and high-priced candelbra that would hold a 
score or more of candles arranged in clusters. Candle-snuffers were 
required, that the mildly glowing wicks could be clipped from time 
to time, as wax or tallow burned away. Children considered it an 
honor to be permitted to snuff candles, especially when there was 
company. 

Cast-iron stoves were generally used in the settlement homes 
for heating rooms and doing kitchen work. Some homes had a 
fireplace, as a matter of pride or to please the " old folks," who did 
not like stoves and insisted that the heat from stoves endangered 
health. In the more pretentious " residences " there were a number 
of rooms provided with fireplaces, with mantles and fixtures that 
were works of art. 

Wood was the universal fuel. Edgings and slabs, by-products of 
the saw-mills, generally delivered full length, supplied material to 
keep home fires burning. Farmers supplied cord-wood, largely of 
sound timber cut into four-foot lengths and split into sizes convenient 
for handling. Such wood, whether mill refuse or hauled direct from 
a farm, was in most instances thrown off by the side of the street at 
the place of delivery, there to be prepared for use in stove or fire- 
place, and then stored in the annex at the rear of store or dwelling, 
known as " the wood house." This was a job that kept the boy or 
boys of the family out of mischief— and one that the average boy 
did not like, unless he could make it a source of revenue when hard- 
pressed for money. 

A number of worthy citizens, known as "wood sawyers," made 
a livelihood by " sawing, splitting, carrying in and piling " wood thus 
left at the street side. Between these odd-job laborers there was 
considerable rivalry, and in applying for a job of " sawing, splitting," 
etc., it was their practice to bring along a wood-saw, a saw-buck and 
an axe, so as to be ready to at once set to work. 

The little girls of settlement days were demure misses, with 
dresses that extended part way from knees to ankles, and the skirt of 



170 Advocates of Temperance Were Active. 



the dress was supplemented by white pantalets that continued to 
their ankles, the lower end of each pantalete leg being ornamented 
with insertion and trimmed with lace or tatting. As the distance 
between the waist-line and the ankles of the girls increased, the 
length of their skirt was augumented. by "letting out a tuck" pro- 
vided for such an emergency. The little girls were not permitted to 
gad the streets. These future mothers smoothed their hair back 
from their foreheads, it being held in place by a ribband or a circular 
comb, and thence formed a couple of substantial braids. 

Advocates of temperance were active in proclaiming their views 
when Corning was an infant. In the Spring 1841 the " Dorcas 
Society," an organization composed of women pledged to total 
abstinence, was formed, and soon had a membership of above 200. 
That Summer a temperance society composed of men was formed, 
and this, also, soon had a large membership. Temperance was the 
theme of many sermons by the Methodist and Presbyterian pastors, 
and the occasional teetotal lecturer from elsewhere was sure of an 
appreciative audience and a good collection. 

The matter of proper observance of the Sabbath was a subject 
of much discussion in early days, and pastors delivered sermons of 
warning against " Sabbath breaking." At a meeting of the Presby- 
tery of Chemung, of which the First Presbyterian Church of Coming 
was a member, held February 2, 1841, the following resolutions were 
adopted : — 

Resolved, That the Presbytery deeply deplores the alarming extent of 
Sabbath desecration, and that we consider church members called upon to 
regard their sacred duty with more sensitive conscientiousness. 

Resolved, That we can not reconcile with its due hallowing, social 
visiting, calls at the post office, opening and closing of mails, domestic 
labor, and travelling not imperiously demanded by the claims of mercy, the 
transportation of goods on Sabbath-breaking boats, especially when others 
can be procured ; and that we recommend to each other as ministers of the 
Gospel, to avoid such passing to and fro on that day in making pulpit 
exchanges, as would justly offend the most delicate conscience, or to cause 
our good to be evil spoken of. 

Resolved, That the editors of newspapers within the bounds of this 
Presbytery be requested to publish these resolutions. 

[Attest,] E. D. WELLS, Stated Clerk. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 

CHAPTER XXXIII. 
The Village of Corning Incorporated in 1848. 

DURING the years 1840, 1841 and 1842, financial depression 
swept the land, and there were many bank, corporate and 
individual failures. The construction of the Erie Railroad 
was given a decided set-back. But due to the natural resources near 
at hand, and the certitude of the settlement developing into a prosper- 
ous shipping point and trade and manufacturing center, the men 
who founded Corning " kept the faith," inspired others, and while 
most Central and Western New York communities languished this 
one moved ahead. As the financial skies brightened it moved the 
faster. And in the Autumn of 1848, its leading citizens deemed that 
the time had arrived when the settlement should incorporate, and 
reap the benefits thereby derived. Public meetings were held, an 
enumeration of the inhabitants of the proposed village plot was 
made, and a commission composed of H. G. Phelps, James C. Davis 
and Joseph Herron, was appointed to apply to the Court of Sessions 
to issue a decree of incorporation for the Village of Corning. 
The petition presented to the the Court of Sessions follows : 

PETITION FOR INCORPORATION 

To the Honorable, the Court of Sessions of the County of Steuben : 

The Undersigned, Your Petitioners, respectfully show that they are 
residents of the territory hereinafter mentioned and described, and were 
such residents at the time of making the survey, map and census hereunto 
attached ; and your petitioners further show that they caused the said map, 
census and survey to be made for the purpose of procuring the 
said territory to be incorporated as a village. And your petitioners further 
show that the boundaries, courses and distances of the said territory, and 
quantity of land therein embraced, according to such survey, are as follows : 

All that certain tract or piece of land situate, Ijdng and being in the 
Town of Painted Post, in the County of Steuben aforesaid, and State of 
New York, and particularly bounded and described as follows, to wit : 

Beginning at the northeast corner of the bridge crossing the Chemung 
River between the village of Coming and the village of Knoxville, thence 

171 



172 Village Bounds Described by Petitioners. 

north seventy-six degrees v/est, five hundred and eighty-five feet, to a turn 
or winding in the river ; thence north seventy-one and a half degrees west, 
seven hundred and twenty feet, to a point parallel with Livingston street ; 
thence south nineteen and a quarter degrees west, across the said Chemung 
River, along said Livingston street, five thousand and fifty feet, to the south 
line of the Coming Company ; thence south eighty-six degrees east, along 
the said line of the Coming Company, eight thousand six hundred and 
thirty feet, to the highway ; thence north twenty-eight degrees west one 
thousand seven hundred and twenty-one feet along said highway to a 
bend in the road ; thence north thirty-five and three-fourths degrees west 
one thousand seven hundred and forty-two feet, to the bank of the Che- 
mung river ; thence north three and a half degrees west three hundred and 
thirty-five feet across the Chemung River, to a point on the north bank of 
the same ; thence north eighty -nine degrees west seven hundred feet, to a 
turn or bend in the river ; thence north eighty-five degrees west four hun- 
dred and twenty -five feet, to a turn or bend in the river ; thence north 
sixty-eight and a half degrees west four hundred and fifty feet, to a bend in 
the river ; thence north fifty- six degrees west two hundred and sixty-four 
feet, to a bend in the river ; thence north fifty-one degrees and a quarter 
west three hundred and thirty feet ; thence north forty -five and a half 
degrees west seven hundred and twenty-six feet ; thence north fifty-two 
and a half degrees west five hundred and sixteen feet ; thence north sixty- 
six and a half degrees west four hundred and twenty-nine feet ; thence 
north seventy-three and three-fourths degrees west four hundred and 
seventy-one feet, to the place of beginning, containing six hundred and 
four acres of land and seven one-hundredth of an acre of land. 

And your petitioners further show that the resident population con- 
tained within the bounds of said territory, according to the said census, was 
one thousand seven hundred and twenty-six. 

And your petitioners therefore pray that the said territory may be 
incorporated as a village, by the name of the Village of Corning, and your 
petitioners will ever pray. 

Dated, the 31st day of August, 1848. 

H. G. PHELPS, 
JAMES C. DAVIS, 
JOSEPH HERRON. 

CORNING'S FIRST FAMILIES. 

The map of the territory which it was proposed to incorporate, 
and which accompanied the petition, was made by Rufus Arnold, a 
practical surveyor ; the census was taken by Henry E. Badger. The 
name of the head of each family was stated in the census, " and the 
number of persons belonging to every such family," was indicated, 
as follows : 

James Cooper 4, Harvey Clark 5, John L. White 10, Charles 
Osbom 12, Richard C. West 6, Bradford A. Potter 3, Nathan Tidd 8, 



Census Taken at Time Village Was Incorporated. 173 

Jacob Clark 14, Thomas A. Johnson 9, Philo P. Hubbell 13, Horace G. 
Phelps 6, G. Spencer 9, U. D. Hood 3, E. G. GreemanS, Eliza Wheeler 

9, M. F. Lucas 5, Joshua B. Graves 13, John Brown 2, Azaniah 
Whitmarsh 7, Lemuel Hunt 5, Calvin Abbey 6, Robert Land 8, J. C. 
King 9, Adolphus Chitester 3, Azaph Carr 3, Jerry Lower 9, 0. W. 
Preston 4, H. L. Edson 5, Phebe R. Falkner 11, Elias H. Smith 6, 
James Robinson 3, S. Sanford 6, William Wood 5, Charles Clark 5, 
Daniel Comstock 6, Henry E. Badger 7, George W. Pratt 2. 

Philip Welch 6, J. B. Pratt 2, Thomas Smith 9, John Ryan 9, Levi 
Williams 4, Jesse Campbell 3, George Davis 7, Samuel Chitester 4, 
Hiram Pritchard 6, Edward Steele 4, Joseph Hollenbeck 4, George 
Newton 4, Thomas Messenger 8, Jason Spaulding 5, A. H. Foster 5, 
Alfred Clark 10, L Sturdevant 3. Mrs. Lirry 7, J. Kelly 20, R. Egbert 

3, James Hawley 14, James A. Hayt 6, J. C. Hayt 8, Levi Davenport 

5, Somers Clark 34, James E. Smith 6, Hiram Abbott 7, L. T. Fuller 

10, Isaac Delamater 9, D. J. Shaw, Jr., 4, John A. Porcell 5, C. G- 
Howell 4, G. W. Southwick 7, S. D. Horton 8, Ann McCormick 2, 
John Farr 5, Albert Gillett 3, Temperance Wells 3. 

William L. Curtiss 8, L. S. Thomas 7, H. W. Bostwick 10. James 
C. Davis 6, B. Tomlinson 5, O. A. Howse 7, G. W. Howse 5, David 
Perrington 3, Jonatham Kimball 8, L. D. Dodge 4, C. G. Whitford 3, 
John Emmans 8, John Carr 6, Dennis Leary 3, J. S. Jackson 5, Henry 
Jackson 4, William Clark 11, Nelson Herrington 3, H. P. Uhl 6, Peter 
VanValkenburg 3, J. S. Robinson 6, L. Todd 5, William Gilbert 10, 
J. A. Bedfield 6, J. W. Hunter 11, Daniel Carn 11, G. W. Dickinson 5, 
Thomas Low 4, Israel Martin 5, A. J. Dascom 6, Jesse May 5, Jacob 
Martin 6, Perry Heath 7, S. L. Thurber 3, Patrick Mui-phy 8, Cyrus 
Manning 2, James Ballentine 2, Reuben Graves 10, Henry Williams 
2, George Williams 5, Robert Dickson 5. 

Leman Stockwell 3, Lewis Sumner 3, Peter McNeal 4, Thomas 
McBumey 7, Cornelius Narsh 6, Joseph Herron 6, William J. Arnold 

6, William Houghtailing 3, E. A. Jeffrey 4, N. W. Gager 3, L. N. 
Robinson 9, Millen Robinson 4, T. B. Hudson 3, William Terbell 5, 
E. S. Rose 9. Michael J. Pace 10, Alanson Edwards 2. H. D. Edwards 

4, D. F. Brown 5, John Wolcott 5, S. P. Pearce 4. Nelson Filkins 10, 
I. S. Clute 2, Mrs. E. Stewart 15, S. Stanley 5, Bertine Pew 9, Wm. 
Hicks 2, Jonas Hodgskin 7, Moses P. Little 9, J. Coriell 3, Nelson 
Kingsman 3, John Hazelton 7, J. Skinner 5, John Sergeant 2, James 
Somers 6, E. Calkins 3, Marcus Wheelock 11, Charles Dunham 2, 
T. S. Scoville 4, B. W. Payne 10, William Snook 4. 



174 Census Taken at Time Village Was Incorporated. 

E. P. Rogers 4, Wheelock & Sons 35, Estus Sturtevant 9, Charles 
Preston 4, L. Seymour 13, Charles Somers 6, D. Simmons 6, W. W. 
Bertholf 4, W. B. Whitney 12, Constant White 4, William Lovejoy 4, 
Josiah Weeks 3, Isaac Gray 3, George D. Williams 6, William P. 
Havens 7, William Williams 5, Dennis McCarty 8, Alfred Beebe 8, 
Cornelius Dunevan 5, Timothy Dunevan 5, James Sullivan 5, Daniel 
McCarty 6, John Cochran 5, John Madden 4, Timothy Rhodes 11, 
C. Cooper 4, D. A. Fuller 7, Benjamin Landhart 1, Thomas Broom- 
hall 6, Charles Ganley 12, William H. Montgomery 3, Lawrence 
Mclnrow 7, James Wicks 7, John Khumals 6, John Buck 6, M. C. 
Howell 5, J. P. Hinds 8, Joshua Davis 4. 

Lauren Mallory 12, Asa Lyon 12, Riley Brewer 8, Lawrence 
Thorn 8, Thomas Brown 9, Thomas Eaton 4, G. W. Hathaway 5, 
Jsaac Dobbs 6, Jerome Greenfield 8, Isaac Ridor 13, Shubel Denton 
10, John Bennett 5, Rufus Cole 2, Silas Shepard 6, Hiram Heath 9, 
James Cole 5, John Dolph 3, WiUiam Thurber 5, Joseph Robinson 14, 
A. Huntington 3, Stephen Delamater 2, Peter Filkins 3, Israel Jones 
7, Charles Davis 7, Robert Barnard 7, Jacob Hollenbeck 4, Roxany 
Conger 5, Henry Vancampen 9, Jedediah Degroat 5, Edward Manehan 
5, Charles Divine 4, Mary Brown 4, Benjamin Johnson 4, Nicholas 
Traverse 5, C. Churcher 5, Henry Welden 7, William H. Lucas 4, 
John Talliday 3, Edmund Barber 5. 

Nehemiah Townsend 3, Barry Conley 3, Thomas Callahan 5, 
Edmond Taber 4, Jacob Vanest 5, James Head 4, John Maloney 4, 
Thomas Mix 3, Peter Hart 2, Patrick McCarty 4, Nelson Mean 4, 
John Harrison 6, David Johnson 11, James Linderbury 2, David 
Weeks 8, J. S. Cobb 3, Lake Tulip 3, Jesse Jacobs 4, William Gorton 
7, Orrin Taylor 8, William H. Coleman 5, John Clark 1, Oliver Arnold 
7, Norman Tombs 5, Jesse Clark, Jr., 13, David Wheelock 7, E. H. 
Ellis 4, Deloss Mumford 3, Orville Mumford 9. 

Levi Rowley 6, John McCaffrey 7, Nimrod Rowley 9, William 
Bacon 4, Horatio Pattengill 5, Albert Huntington 3, Philander Cole 3, 
C. H. Card 4. John O'Neil 2, Patrick Goodwin 10, Hannah Doolittk 4, 
Polly Stillson 2, Sarah Morris 2, Hannah King 8, Ann Leary 7, M. 
Goodrich 5, Mr. Pierson 5, George T. Spencer 5, Patrick Holden 4, 
Allen Buttock 5, Betsey Stevens 2. 

The Court of Sessions took favorable action on the petition, and 
" Ordered that the said territory shall be incorporated as a village by 
the name of the Village of Corning, if the electors thereof shall 
assent thereto," and directed that " Stephen T. Hayt, William Hood 
and John P. Shapley, three of the Inspectors of Election of the Town 



Cows Are Permitted to Roam the Streets. 175 

of Painted Post, in which the said territory is situated," conduct such 
election. The election was held at the Corning House on the 25th 
day of October, 1848 ; 123 votes were cast ; in favor of incorporation 
118 and 5 opposed. A decree of incorporation followed, and on the 
12th of January, 1849, the first corporation election was held, village 
officers being chosen as follows : — 

Trustees — Horace G. Phelps, Lorin Mallory, George T. Spencer, 
Aaron H. Foster and James S. Robinson. 

Assessors — Nelson L. Somers, C. E. Osborn and Daniel D. 
Comstock. 

Village Clerk — Thomas Messenger. 

Village Treasurer — William J. Arnold. 

Street Commissioners— William B. Whiting, Nathan Tidd and 
James M. Hawley. 

On Saturday evening, January 20, 1849, the trustees met and 
organized by electing Horace G. Phelps, President. 

The following village ordinance was adopted at a meeting of the 
Board of Trustees held February 20, 1849 : "No cattle, horses, sheep, 
swine or geese shall be permitted to run at large at any time ; but 
this law shall not prohibit cows belonging to an inhabitant of the 
village from running at large between the first day of April and the 
first day of December." 

On Tuesday, March 6th, 1849, the village officers above named 
were re-elected to serve for one year, together with the following 
additional officers : — 

Village Collector— Richard C. West. 

Pound Keeper— James C. Davis. 

Fire Wardens— James B. Lower, John Hazelton and David B. 
Cumpston. 

At a meetmg of the Village Board held August 27, 1849, it was 
"Voted, That the Street Commissioners be instructed to remove logs 
and stumps, and clear a passage through Second street." Also that 
the Commissioners " open a passage-way for teams on Market street 
from Wall street to the old River Road." 

In June, 1850, the Village Board, " On motion. Ordered that the 
Street Commissioners pay not more than seven shillings per day for 
labor, and not more than twenty shillings per day for team work, 
on the streets, and that they be required to labor 12 hours per day." 

At a special meeting of the Board of Trustees, held July 26th, 
1850, it was " Resolved, That the Trustees of said Village purchase 



176 Two Fire Companies Organized in 1851. 

of S. Burton & Co., two fire engines at $600 each, one hose cart at 
$50, and 550 feet of hose at $350." 

This fire equipment arrived the last week in December, 1850, 
and having been duly inspected and found to be well constructed and 
of good material, was accepted, "together with the hose cart 
accompanying the sama" It was decided to organize two fire 
companies, and by resolution of the Board of Trustees, David B- 
Cumpston, Heniy D. Edwards and William Hood were " appointed a 
■committee to procure the names of persons who are willing to serve 
as firemen." The committee reported a list of names, at a meeting 
of the Village Tru^ees held January 4th, 1851, when it was — 

" Resolved, That two fire companies be fcarmed, one to be 
designated Rescue, No. 1, and the other Rough and Ready, No. 2, and 
that the following persons be appointed firemen for said village : 

" Members of Rescue, No. 1— David B. Cumpston, Henry D. 
Edwards, Jacob H. Lansing, Jason K. Snook, William W. Hayt, 
Dwight A. Fuller, Henry M. Northrop, L. S. Thomas, Charles P. 
Cumpston, James M. Hawley, Stephen T. Hayt, George Thompson, 
George W. Dwyre, Henry L. Edson, Tunis Loveless, George Calkins, 
George Blodgett, Charles H. Berry, Charles Card, Edward Greenman, 
Caleb Clark, William Williams, Julius Schermer, James K. Newell, 
Charles Denison, Charles Havens, Whiting G. West, John Brown, 
Asa Coon, Hiram Hawley. Lewis Fortune, J. N. Robinson, Israel 
Clute, Lewis T. Fuller, L. Todd, John L. White, James Lyon, William 
Hood, Parker Sprague, Theodore Gillispie, U. D. Hood, Dennis Lewis, 
George Delamatyr, J. B. Lower, Cyrus Kellogg, Martin Bridges. 

Members of Rough and Ready Engine Company, No. 2— Benja- 
min W. Payne, John M. Goodridge, J. S. Robinson, William Snook, 
William S. Evans, R. F. Brown, George Williams, Oliver Preston, 
E. S. Edwards, Richard Austin, George Day, C. D. Lyon, Willis H. 
Coe, James Bolan, Daniel Fitzpatrick, Edward Fitzpatrick, William 
Cooper, Ed Managhan, George Sergeant, R. P. Thurber, W. P. 
Havens, Alexander Olcott, John Haselton, Albert Sonberger. John R. 
Johnson, George W. Preston, Theodore Pew, Henry Day, Asa F. 
Caulkins, Uriah Pritchard, Michael O'Connor, H. Young, John Swain, 
A. J. Gilbert, C. C. B. Walker. Samuel Walker and C. D. Sill. 

At the annual election held in March, 1851, the taxpayers author- 
ized these expenditures for fire protection : " Hose and hose cart, 
$360; Reservoirs [cisterns], wells, &c., $200; Engine house, $150." 



Stringent Sabbath Observance Ordinance Adopted. Ill 

June 4, 1851, the Village Board appointed Trustees Aaron H. 
Foster and James A. Hayt " a committee to build a reservoir on 
the comer of Pine and First streets, and to enter into contract for 
building such others as may be deemed necessary." 

In July, 1851, the Board of Trustees decided by a vote of 3 to 1, 
that there be no liquor licenses granted. 

The members of the Board at the time vi^ere Joshua B. Graves, 
President ; Aaron H. Foster, George D. Williams and James A. Hayt. 
Mr. Williams was the only member to favor granting liquor licenses. 

The following appears in the minutes of a meeting of the Board of 
Trustees held September 3d, 1851 : " P. T. Barnum applied for a 
permit to exhibit his menagerie and side show in this village October 
3d, next. On motion granted on payment of $10 into the treasury." 

On various occasions the village fire engines, (hand pumps), 
were used by the Erie Railroad Company, " to pump water into the 
tenders of their locomotives." 

At a meeting of the Board of Trustees held May 3d, 1852, the 
following ordinance was adopted : " No person shall on Sunday sell, 
show forth or expose for sale, any wares or merchandise, goods or 
chattels in this village ; nor shall any owner, keeper or other person 
within said village, on Sunday open any store, grocery, recess or 
shop, or place for the sale of any commodity. Any person violating 
either of the provisions of this section, shall for each offense forfeit 
a penalty of not less than five nor more than twenty dollars ; but it 
shall be lawful to sell all medicines and other articles for the sick, 
and for interring the dead, at all hours ; and to dispose of meat and 
bread until 9 o'clock in the morning and from 4 to 5 o'clock in the 
afternoon. 

At a special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Village of 
Coming, held the 26th day of May, 1852, all the members present, it 
was " Resolved, That J. A. Haj^ and J. B. Lower be a committee to 
contract for the building of a Lock-Up or Watch-House, immediately ; 
said building to be of stone, 18 feet by 24 feet, the walls to be 18 
inches in thickness." 

At a meeting held June 18, 1852, the following officers of the 
village Fire Department were appointed : James M. Wood, Chief 
Engineer ; Dexter Davis, First Assistant Engineer ; Justin M. Smith, 
Second Assistant Engineer. 

In August, 1851, the population of the village was 2,340, as shown 
by a census. In Febmary, 1853, another census showed a population 
of 2,858, an increase in 18 months of 518. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXXIV. 
First Through Erie Train Creeps Into Corning. 

CORNING OWES much to its railroads — especially to its pioneer 
lines. The village would never have developed into a 
well-balanced and prosperous city, but for its railroads. It has 
kept pace with the railroads — ^that is the whole story. Factories and 
railroads are interdependent— and the locomotive and the threshing 
machine are kith and kin. No industry lives by itself alone. 

The opening of the Chemung Canal in 1833, and the running of 
the first train of cars from Coming to Blossburg in 1839, was follow- 
ed nearly eleven years later by the arrival in Coming of the first 
train from tide-water over the New York and Erie Railroad— on the 
31st day of December, 1849. 

The Erie Railroad was completed and put in operation between 
Corning and Lake Erie at Dunkirk in the Spring of 1851. 

The formal opening of the Erie Railroad from tide-water to Lake 
Erie took place in May, 1851, when two passenger trains, bearing 
men of prominence and railroad officials, also men of local repute 
who joined the excursionists en route, made round trips over the 
entire line. Millard Fillmore, President of the United States, was 
guest of honor on one train, and Daniel Webster on the other. The 
President was accompanied by members of his cabinet. 

At that time the eastern terminus of the Erie was at Piedmont, 
on the Hudson, 24 miles above New York. The two trains left 
Piedmont the morning of May 14, 1851. They arrived at Elmira 
about 7 o'clock that evening. There two elaborate banquets were 
served, President Fillmore being the honor guest at one hotel and 
Daniel Webster at the other. Each of these statesmen delivered 
an address. 

178 



Daniel Webster's Improvised Observation Car, 179 



The two trains resumed their westward course the next morn" 
ing, stopped for a brief time in Corning, then crawled on towards 
Dunkirk, where they arrived at 4:30 o'clock in the afternoon. 

As an "observation car" had not been thought out, Daniel 
Webster avoided the inconveniences of riding in a stuffy passenger 
car and viewed the panorama of mountains, hills, intervales, streams 
and betterments, on either hand, for most of the trip, while seated in 
a large and comfortable rocking chair, placed on a flat car. Thus the 
great Defender of the Constitution traversed the Genesee Country. 

In the Spring of 1832 there were only 44 miles of railroad in 
operation in the United States. The first passenger train in the 
State of New York was run over the Mohawk and Pludson Railroad 
in August, 1831. When the original survey was made of a route for 
the Erie Railroad, in 1834, there was not a settlement or village on 
the proposed line, from the Hudson River to Lake Erie, that had 
3,000 population, and not 300 persons resided within the bounds of 
the present city of Coming. Elmira, with nearly 3,000 inhabitants, 
was the most important community on the route. About 300 people 
occupying homes of the pioneer type, constituted a scattered settle- 
ment that extended from Canisteo to the big swamp that held up the 
westward expansion of Hornellsville. The entire route was through 
.a wilderness country, the villages being banked on every side by 
forests, broken here and there by choppings of settlers, with occas" 
ional stretches of bottom lands that had been cropped by the Indians 
prior to the coming of the whites. 

The first effort to construct the Erie Railroad brought financial 
disaster to many who invested in bonds issued by the company, and 
also caused the bankruptcy of numerous contractors. Settlers along 
the line suffered losses through furnishing spiles, ties, scored timbers 
and farm products, and doing work for which they received no pay. 

Spiles were driven in pairs along stretches of river flats both 
east and west of Corning, and along the bottom lands on the north 
side of the Chemung River, from the river bank opposite Steuben 
street to the vicinity of Centerville. The Erie Company erected a 
substantial wood bridge across the Chemung at Steuben street. This 
bridge was never used. A cross-head of heavy timber connected 
each pair of spiles, and on these cross-heads timbers were placed 
lengthwise, to support the rails of the track. Wherever there was a 
depression of the surface of the ground that otherwise would require 
a " fill," a spile driver drove such " pegs." 



180 Citizens of Corning Rebuke Erie Officials. 



Edward Harold Mott in his book, " Between the Ocean and the 
Lakes ; The Story cf the Erie," (published in 1899), says of the 
coming to Coming of the initial passenger train on the Erie, when 
Daniel Webster spied out this land of promise while seated in a 
rocking chair aboard a flat car : — 

" At Corning, which since the construction of the New Ycs-k and Lake 
Erie Railroad was begun, had sprung into being literally out of the wilder- 
ness, President Fillmore, Senator Douglas and William E. Dodge addressed 
a few people, who had assembled to greet the historic train and its distin- 
guished passengers. There were few cheers or hearty greetings there, for 
the reason, as a leading citizen of the place has informed the author, that 
Coming was then a Democratic stronghold, and many of the great people 
among the excursionists being Whig leaders, and each one a candidate 
for the Presidency, Democratic Corning did not propose to compromise 
hereself by turning out and shouting for them." 

The " leading citizen " to the contrary notwithstanding, the 
reason thus given for the failure of Corning people to turn out 
en masse and greet the " historic train and its distinguished passen- 
gers" with unbounded enthusiam, was a shot at a venture that went 
wide the mark. The Erie had taken forcible possession of the 
principal residence street through the central section of the village, 
despite the protests of the owners of abutting property and the 
refusal of the Trustees of the Village to grant such privilege. The 
Erie officials, having decided to lay their track directly through the 
village and to cross the Chemung River west of the village, instead 
of making use of the railroad bridge ready for service at the foot of 
Steuben street, ignoring the protests of the villagers, ordered the 
contractor to extend the track along the street they had selected- 
The contractor set men at work grading what is now Erie avenue. 
Irate citizens rallied and threatened violence. It was urged by the 
occupants of dwelling along the street, that sparks from locomotives 
would set fire to their homes, that the noise of passing trains would 
make sleep impossible nights, and would also endanger the lives of 
sick persons in homes along the avenue. 

Thus confronted by a manifestation of " The Spirit of Seventy- 
Six," the contractor called his men off, and the first settlers felt that 
they had won a complete victory. But thejfnlln wing Sundav- mom- 
ing_theyfound that the railroad contractor had stolen a march^on 
them during the night ; that^ ties and_rails were in pl^^^^ 
section of street in dispute. This breasting sentiment and ignoring 
personal and property rights on the part of the Erie explains the 
lack of cordiality when the first through train from the east passed 



Four Railroads Granted Use of Tioga Avenue. 181 



up the broad avenue and stopped at the roughly constructed station 
a short distance west of State street The feeling of resentment thus 
engendered cost the Erie dearly — and, most unfortunately, it was 
only the first of a series of bull-headed blunders of Erie officials in 
matters of mutual concern to the railroad and residents of Corning. 

It was the purpose of those who planned the village, that the 
block on the rise of the hill, bounded on the north by First street, on 
the south by Second street, on the east by Pine street, and on the 
west by Walnut street, should be a Public Park; and that all public 
buildings, including schools and churches, should be there located. 
The Coming Company gave the plot to the village conditioned on its 
being so used. It was also planned that the street now known as 
Erie avenue should be a residence street, that Market street should 
be occupied by stores, hotels, and other places of business, and that 
Tioga avenue be occupied by the various railroads. 

Three railroads were granted the use of Tioga avenue, by 
the Board of Trustees, at a meeting held October 15, 1853, when the 
following resolutions were adopted : 

"Whereas, The Coming and Blossburg Railroad Company have 
heretofore constructed their railroad through a portion of Tioga avenue, in 
the Village of Corning, and in the year 1852 relaid their said road and 
extended the same or a branch thereof through a further portion of said 
street ; Now, Therefore, 

" Resolved, That the said Coming and Blossburg Railroad Company 
be, and they are permitted and authorized, to continue and forever keep 
and maintain their said railroad and branch through said street from the 
point near the western termination thereof, where said railroad intersects 
said street, to a point where the said railroad and branch again leaves said 
street, at or near the intersection of said street with Chemung street. 

" Whereas, The Buffalo, Corning and New York Railroad Company 
are desirous to constmct the tracks of their raih-oad through Tioga avenue, 
Therefore, 

" Resolved, That the said Buffalo, Coming and New York Railroad be, 
and they are hereby permitted and authorized to construct and forever 
keep and maintain the tracks of their railroad through said street, from the 
westerly bounds of the village so far eastwardly as may be necessary for 
their said railroad." 

" Whereas, The Corning and Olean Railroad Company are desirous to 
construct the track of their railroad through Tioga auenue, Therefore, 

" Resolved, That the said Corning and Olean Railroad Company be, 
and they are hereby permitted and authorized to construct and forever keep 
and maintain, the track of their railroad through said street from a point at 
or near the westerly bounds of said village, so far easterly as may be 
necessary for said railroad." 



182 Erie Officicals Continue Irritating Methods. 

In the Fall of 1858, officials of the Erie Railroad Company having 
under consideration a propositicm to abandon Erie avenue, and make 
use of Tioga avenue for its trackage through Coming, on account 
of recurrent damage to its tracks and holding up of trains due to 
floodings frcHn the hill-side and overflows of Monkey Run, the 
village Trustees took the following action : 

" Whereas, The New York and Erie Railroad Company propose to take 
their track in the Erie avenue, in the Village of Coming, from the east side 
of Wall street to the west side of Chestnut street, in the said avenue, and 
abandon that portion of the track ; therefore, in consideration of such 
removal, and in case the same be done, 

" Resolved, That the Trustees of the Village will repair said street 
within the aforesaid limits, and put it in proper condition for use, and also 
take charge of the creek and bridge across the same crossing said avenue 
near Chestnut street. 

" Resolved, That in case the said track shall be placed in Tioga 
avenue, that the said company shall have the right to stop thdr trjiins, and 
trains of connecting roads, in the ordinary course of business, at the foot of 
Pine and Walnut streets in said Tioga avenue in said village." 

The Erie'^ailroad Company having failed to take any action in 
the matter of removing its track from Erie avenue, and having asked 
the village to assume responsibility for any damage to the railroad 
" on account of floods from said creek," the Village Board at a meet- 
ing held January 27, 1859, rescinded so much of the above resolution 
as referred to street repairs and "protection from freshets in 
McCoUough's Creek." At this meeting it was further Resolved — 

" That said Company will be held as heretofore to protect Erie avenue 
from freshets on McCullough's Creek, and be subject to all the personal 
legal rights which the citizens may have against said Company on account 
thereof." 

April 26, 1860, the Board of Trustees granted the New York and 
Erie Railroad Company, their successors and assigns, the right " to 
at all times hereafter use and occupy such portions of Erie avenue as 
may be necessary for running and stopping at the passenger depot 
corner of said avenue and Pine street, and to stop their said passenger 
trains on Pine street for the usual time of passenger trains at said 
station." 

The maintenance by the Erie Railroad of a switch on the north 
side of its main line tracks, on Erie avenue, from Walnut to Chestnut 
streets, has from early village days been a source of annoyance 
to occupants of dwellings along that section of the avenue, and 
continues to be a bone of contention. The Erie has succesfuUy com- 



In the Days of Wood - Burning Locomotives. 183 

batted all efforts of Village Boards and City Councils to have the 
obnoxious switch removed. The Erie was never granted permis- 
sion to put it there in the first place. 

When the Erie Company first bridged the Chemung, where its 
tracks now cross the stream near the western city limits, it was 
necessary to bridge two channels, divided by a narrow island. 
The south or main channel was crossed by a three-span bridge, 
with two piers in the stream. This provided clear-ways for 
rafts and boats. The north channel was crossed by trestles resting 
on spiles ; a dry channel when the Chemung was normal or lower, 
but when it was at rafting pitch or more, affording an excellent 
spillway or auxiliary channel. Here, a short distance east of the 
railroad a large saw-mill was located, logs being floated to the 
mill from a pond above the Erie tracks, in a raceway dug for such 
use. This mill was built a few years after the opening of the Erie. 
Following the " June Flood," of 1889, the Erie filled in this north 
channel of the Chemung, a matter that has occasioned much com- 
plaint on the part of people who occupy the low-lands of Centerville 
and near the junction of the Chemung and Conhocton Rivers. They 
maintain that the Erie Company by closing the north channel of the 
Chemung, as stated, created a condition that dams the stream in 
time of flood, causing their lands to be submerged. 

Thus is shown a most unfortunate lack of reciprocal co-ordina- 
tion on the part of a public service corporation and people whom it 
should serve rather than inconvenience. 

For a dozen or more years after the Erie was constructed its 
locomotives were wood-burners. The smoke-stacks of these iron- 
horses were funnel-shaped, in form suggesting an inverted petticoat 
expanded to the limit by a hoop, after the manner followed by the 
fashion-following women of that period. There was a coarsely- 
woven wire screen, dome-shaped and bulging, fastened atop the 
smoke-stack to keep firebrands from passing out and starting fires 
along the way. The device was not much of a success. People at 
stations and those aboard trains, were showered with live sparks 
when the fireman of the locomotive stirred up the fire and tossed 
into the fire-box its fill of thoroughly seasoned fuel— and this was 
done at frequent intervals. At night there were some fireworks 
when an Erie locomotive passed by. 

A railroad woodyard was on important feature of each stopping 
place. A gang of men was at hand when a train pulled in, with a 
stack of wood placed so as to be close by the tender of the engine, 



184 Some Famous Pioneer Erie Locomotives. 

and these men hurled fuel aboard while the fireman was giving the 
iron-horse a drink and the engineer was oiling its joints. Trains 
were compelled to stop between stations, to wood up, where the 
distance between villages was so great that the amount of fuel that 
could be piled on a tender was not sufficent to supply steam to make 
a station to station straight away run. It was also the practice to 
have quantities of wood stacked at intervals along the right of way 
for emergency use. Farmers and others who had contracts for 
supplying the Erie with wood were considered lucky men, and like 
the lumbermen and captains of canal boats, occupied a prominent 
place in the affections of Corning tradesmen and landlords. 

The first locomotive to be used on the Erie, when the trackage 
only extended from Piedmont to Goshen, was a little jinx of a con- 
traption called the " Orange," which distinguished itself by winning 
a twenty-mile race with a stage coach. In 1846 the Erie put the 
" Steuben " in service, a locomotive with two pairs of driving wheels. 
It evidenced decided progress in the evolution of the locomotive. In 
1849 the trim-built " Tioga," the twenty -ninth locomotive acquired by 
the Erie, began running over the line. It had four driving wheels. 
It could do thirty miles an hour. For a number of years it hauled 
trains through Corning. 

In 1864 the Erie placed in freight service locomotives with three 
driving wheels on a side and a pair of small idlers under the frame 
between the cow-catcher and cylinder heads. In 1866 the " George 
G. Barnard," a four-driver wood-burning passenger engine appeared, 
followed by others of the same type. They were highly decorated, 
fine scroll work and polished brass being much in evidence. Then, 
in 1870, the finest locomotive that ever trailed the Erie, made its 
first appearance in Corning— the " Jay Gould," built for the personal 
use of the railroad magnate whose name it bore. This locomotive 
was a work of art. It had four driving wheels. Seals of the States 
of New York and New Jersey were emblazoned on the tender, and a 
silver-framed portrait of Jay Gould was displayed between the tops 
of the drivers on either side. This locomotive brought Jay Gould to 
Corning a number of times, to meet Franklin N. Drake, the most 
prominent citizen of the village, the two men being personal friends, 
and associated in coal deals of magnitude and railroad and mining 
ventures. 

The development of coal mines at Fall Brook and Antrim and 
of minor soft coal drifts in the Blossburg region, greatly increased the 



The "Fall Brook" In High Favor in Corning. 185 

output and the demand for additional railroad tracks and better equip- 
ment has been met from time to time. The operations of the Magee 
interests, promoters of the Fall Brook Railroad lines and owners of 
extensive coal mines, have done more to " put Corning on the 
map " as a manufacturing center than all the rest of the railroads 
with trackage here. Under the Magees Coming, as village, at all 
times received the most favorable consideration. This policy has 
been most happily continued since the Magee Railroad interests 
were taken over by the New York Central Railroad Company, and 
with added mileage became the Pennsylvania Division of the New 
York Central Lines. The division headquarters, and principal car 
and machine shops, are in Coming ; and train men make round trips 
" over the hill " and " down the creek," out of Coming. The Central 
at the present time employs about 2,500 residents of the city of 
Coming. 

The Conhocton Valley Railroad, extending from Painted Post to 
Attica, was built in 1852, and eventually became a connecting link in 
the Erie's Corning to Rochester branch. In May, 1864, the Erie 
made Rochester the northern terminus of its line, instead of Buffalo, 
a matter that caused much rejoicing in Rochester. 

In July, 1865, John Magee was granted permission to build a 
section of railroad track from East Tioga avenue to connect the 
Corning and Blossburg line with the Erie near Hope Cemetery. This 
connection was known as the " Magee Switch." It was used for 
about twelve years, (or until the Coming, Geneva and Lyons branch 
of the Fall Brook system was built), for the transportation of soft 
coal via the Erie to Horseheads Junction, and thence over the Lehigh 
Valley railroad to Watkins, whence it was forwarded by canal 
boats. Such shipments were necessitated by the failure of the State 
to properly maintain the Chemung Canal. This canal was aban- 
doned about 1876. 

These items of railroad news were printed in the issues of the 
Coming Journal of the dates given : — 

March 5, 1852.— B. W. Payne & Company are engaged in filling 
their contract for freight cars for the Coming and Buffalo Railroad. 
Their cars are built in the most substantial manner and finished in 
good style, under the supervision of J. B. Lower. 

July 16, 1852.— The work of relaying and widening to the six- 
feet gauge the track of the Corning and Blossburg Railroad is 
proceeding with vigor, and will be completed the fore part of next 
month. [The guage of the Erie Railroad was six feet.] 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Coming and Vicinity 

CHAPTER XXXV. 
Events In and About Corning — 1851 -'55. 

THE WEEK AFTER WEEK review of business and social 
events and chronicles of happenings, with editorial notes 
and comments, found in bound files of the Corning Journal, 
supply copious and authentic information of the Coming of early 
days. From this source the matters having to do with affairs in 
and about Corning, presented in this and several succeeding 
chapters are gleaned ; the date indicating the issue of Dr. Pratt's 
paper in which the particular item or more extended article was 
printed : — 

July 23, 1851. — Our village has long stood in need of a large hall 
for public meetings, etc. This want is supplied by finishing the 
third story of the Concert Block. Easy of access and central, it is a 
room of adequate size to meet all ordinary occasions for years to 
come. The length is 75 feet with a breadth of 70. 

We are pleased to learn that Daniel F. Brown has been appoint- 
ed Police Justice of the village. 

The foundations for four new stores are laid in the first burnt 
district. George W. Dyer is adding one to his elegant block. 

August 6, 1851.— The Sabbath schools of Corning and Knoxville 
will hold a union festival on Friday next. The schools of Corning 
will meet at 9 o'clock in the morning at the Methodist Church, and 
after singing move in procession to the Knoxville bridge, and meet 
the Sabbath school of Knoxville. The schools will embark in boats 
fitted up for the occasion and go down the river to a grove, where 
there will be exercizes. A picnic dinner will be served. 

Current Prices.— Winter wheat, 80c bushel ; corn, 50c.; beans, 
$1.00 ; butter, 12 l-2c per lb.; lard, 10c ; cheese, 7c ; eggs, 12 l-2c. 

September 3, 1851.— DICKINSON HOUSE. — This spacious 
hotel will be opened this week for the reception of travellers. It is 
an ornament to the village, and there is occasion for congratulation 

186 



Fraternal Organizations of Corning in 1851. 187 



that Coming can boast a public house inferior to none, in its expen- 
sive furnishings, or numerous well-planned and commodious rooms. 
The building is 70 by 80 feet, and five stories high, including base- 
ment, containing in all over 100 rooms. S. B. Dennis, long and 
favorably known at Owego as a popular landlord, has leased the 
Dickinson House for a term of years. 

Under the heading, " Corning Fraternal Societies," the following; 
notices were printed in successive issues of the Journal : — 

Painted Post Lodge, (Masonic), meets twice a month, on Wednesday 
evenings, at their hall over Dr. Graves' drug store. 

Montour Encampment, I. O. of O. F., meets first and third Wednes- 
day evenings of each month, in Dyer Block. 

Corning Lodge, L O. of O. F., meets every Saturday evening, at their 
hall in the Dyer Block. 

Temple of Honor, meets every Tuesday evening. 

Corning Division, Sons of Temperance, meets every Monday even- 
ing, at Temperance Hall, over J. A. Hayt & Co.'s store. 

September 17, 1851.— The removal of the post office to Corel's 
new building, south of the Dickinson House, gives general satisfac- 
tion to business men and those residing in the east part of the village. 

September 24, 1851. — The enterprising citizens of Painted Post 
are taking measures for the construction of a plank road from thence 
to Erwin Center and Lawrenceville. We hope our citizens will 
exhibit a similar spirit in endeavoring to push forward a plank road 
to Caton. 

The following school teachers attended a Teachers' Institute for 
Steuben County, held at Bath : Alfred Wylark, M. L. Brown, Angle 
B. White, Mrs. Almira A. Sturtevant, Sarah A. Griggs and Cornelia 
Stewart, of Coming ; Mary Jane Haire, of Painted Post. 

December 12, 1851. — If Corning was not so extended in its form, 
the annexation of Knoxville might be feasible and it would doubtless 
increase its consequences, while on the score of morality the good 
name of Corning would perhaps suffer no particular injury. 

D. A. Fuller, late the popular keeper of the " Picayune," has 
leased the Western Hotel and has fitted it up in good style for the 
comfort and convenience of the traveling public. Being near the 
[Erie] depot, and under the management of one so well qualified to 
minister to the wants of his guests, it is certain that " Doc " Fuller 
will secure a good share of travelling custom. 



188 Trains Begin Running Between Corning and Bath. 



January 9, 1852. — Our neighbor, R. E. Robinson, has opened an 
extensive bakery on Pine street, near the post office. 

R. Cobb, formerly of the Corning Hotel, has leased the American 
Hotel, at Homellsville, for a term of years. 

February 6, 1852.— At a meeting held at Monteray, February 2, 
a company was organized to build a plank road " to commence at 
the village of Monteray and continue and terminate at the north end 
of the highway bridge in Port Barton, or Knoxville." A. Gaylord, 
of Monteray, was Chairman of the preliminary organization, and 
Charles H. Erwin was Secretary. A committee of six was appointed 
to solicit subscriptions for stock in the project. 

February 13, 1852. — The following were elected officers of the 
Town of Corning, on Tuesday : Supervisor, William Irvine ; Town 
Clerk, Charles C. B. Walker ; Assessor, Birdsell M. Johnson ; Super- 
perintendent of Common Schools, George W. Pratt ; Commissioners 
of Highways, Lemuel H. Robinson and William Bonham ; Justice of 
the Peace, Butler S. Wolcott ; Collector, Theo. J. Steele ; Overseers 
of the Poor, John McBurney and Russell Hunt ; Constables, Simon 
Van Etten, George W. Dyer, William A. Spencer and Nicholas D. 
Rowley ; Inspectors of Election, 1st Dist., James S. Robinson and 
Charles H. Thompson ; 2d Dist., Alvah Rowley and Anthony M. 
Gibson ; Sealer of Weights and Measures, William T. Rigby. 

Colonel Thomas McBurney has been appointed Canal Collector 
for the Port of Corning. 

February 25, 1852.— The Corning Temperance Alliance, auxiliary 
to the New York State Temperance Alliance, was formed. Officers : 
Charles Lombard, President; J. M. Wood, Secretary; J. B. Lower, 
Treasurer. Executive Committee — Benjamin W. Payne, Bertine Pew, 
J. A. Hayt, George W. Pratt and E. G. Greenman. 

March 5, 1852.— Jared A. Redfield, of Corning, has been appoint- 
ed Superintendent of the Conhocton Valley Railway, and is actively 
engaged in preparations to commence running trains. 

April 16, 1852.— The train over the Buffalo, Coming & New 
York Railroad, (the Conhocton Valley line), made a round trip from 
Coming to Bath, on Tuesday, [April 13]. A few weeks will see the 
road opened to Livingston County. 

June 25, 1852. — Measures are being taken to build a Methodist 
chapel in Knoxville, at the junction of Main and Bridge streets. 

September 24, 1852. — A post office has been established at Knox- 
ville, in this town, and Colonel G. L. Davis appointed Post Master. 



Superintendent Tioga Railroad Killed in Collision. 189 

A Young Men's Temperance Institute and Lyceum has been 
formed. Officers— W. W. Hayt, President ; T. Pew, Vice President ; 
W. R. Hart, Secretary ; G. W. Preston, Treasurer. Members of the 
Executive Committee : The President, the Vice President, George 
Thompson, N. D. Davis and George W. Pratt. 

November 5, 1852.— George B. Bradley, for several years engaged 
in the practice of law at WoodhuU, in this County, has moved to this 
village and opened an office in the Dyer Block. 

November 26, 1852. — Monday afternoon a collision occurred near 
" Six Mile Station," above this village, by which the Superintendent 
of the Tioga Railroad, Peter B. Guernsey, was instantly killed. He 
was going up on a special engine for the purpose of aiding the down 
regular train from Blossburg, v/hich was on time, but which he 
supposed from being heavily loaded could not reach this place with- 
out assistance, as it had been snowing. When passing through the 
woods around a curve the train came upon them, without a moment's 
warning. Mr. Guernsey was sitting on the tender, as the engine 
was backing up, and was caught between that and the opposing 
locomotive, thrown between them upon the track and horribly 
mangled. He leaves a widow and four children. 

December 24, 1852. — S. B. Dennis having retired, the manage- 
ment of the Dickinson House has been assumed by Messrs. Yrtes & 
Hicks, of Albany, who have purchased the furniture and leased the 
building for a term of years. Mr. Dennis is about to take charge of 
the " Picayune " saloon, in the Dyer Block. 

December 31, 1852.— The Tioga Railroad Company is fortunate 
in securing the services of Levi Shattuck, Esq., as Superintendent of 
the road. He has been connected with the New Jersey Central Rail- 
road for a series of years, and was agent of that company at Easton. 

January 7, 1853. — Canal shipments from Corning in 1862 : Coal, 
37,438,000 pounds ; timber, cubic feet, 502,375 ; shingles, 16.300 M.; 
lumber, 51,686,611 feet. Receipts were large, including general 
merchandise, 561 barrels pork, 18,765 pounds bacon, 14,728 gallons of 
spirits, 1,514,198 pounds salt, 6,127,664 pounds railroad iron, 1,738,222 
pounds pig iron, limestone and lime 1,967,783 pounds. 

March 11, 1853.— In this our age of railroads and plank roads, 
we should not forget our common roads— the highways over which 
the farmer transports his produce to market. Scarcely more do our 
railroads contribute to the prosperity of our village than the high- 
ways which intersect it. 



190 Total Abstinence Required of Railroad Employes. 

On April 7th, 1853, Horace Greeley, Editor of the New York 
Tribune, delivered a lecture under the auspices of the Young Men's 
Institute. Topic : " The Literary Vocation." 

April 29, 1853. — This morning at 3 o'clock fire was discovered in 
the third story of the building on Market street formerly owned by 
Southwick, which soon involved the whole structure and extended to 
the east, destroying all the buildings to the corner, viz.: Hood & 
Pierce, grorery store ; U. D. Hood, harness stop ; E. H. Smith, 
grocery store, and the hardware store of William Hart. 

The Corning & Buffalo Railroad, in operation from this village 
to Conesus, 60 miles, is doing a good paying business. Mr. Redfield, 
the Superintendent, requires total abstinence on the part of all 
employed on the road. The company has 20 engines and 300 cars. 

Thomas Adams is landlord of the Railroad Hotel, on the south 
side of the Erie Railroad, a few rods east of the depot. Warm meals 
at all hours. Meals and lodgings 25 cents each. Good stabling. 

May 6, 1853. — ^A day or two since the Coming post office was 
removed to the new building erected on the lot between Concert 
Block and the market of Dodge & Robertson. A desk stands in the 
front office, with the necessary materials for writing. The arrange- 
ments free us from having the post office turned into a retail shop 
for the sale of pop-corn or molasses condy. Postmaster Dyer has 
for an assistant N. S. Ruggles and Charley White as Clerk. 

May 20, 1853. — We are requested to inquire whether there is a 
Hook and Ladder Company in the village. It is stated the organiza- 
tion has been given up, and that the apparatus is scattered about 
town in an unserviceable condition. 

The Dickinson House is again open for the reception of visitors. 
The new lessee is A. Field, formerly proprietor of the Railroad Hotel 
at Narrowsburg, and more recently of the Chenango House in Bing- 
hamton. 

June 3, 1853.— The foundations are being prepared for the erec- 
tion of a large church for the use of the Episcopal Society. The 
location is at the corner of Walnut street and Erie avenue. 

The Clinton House has been repaired at much expense and 
opened under the name of the Corning House. William A. Blossom 
is proprietor. He is a polite and attentive landlord. 

June 24, 1853.— E. Freeman is again landlord of the Railroad 
Hotel. U. D. Hood, harness maker, has moved into his new building. 



A Frantic Widow Drowns Her Sorrow. 191 



August 26, 1853.— E. A. Jefferey & Company are enlarging the' 
capacity of their foundry and machine shop, by the erection of a* 
front 100 feet in width and 35 feet in depth. The business of this 
company has increased to such a degree as to render such an 
addition indispensible. The foundry was originally intended for the 
manufacture of force pumps, but constant application for other 
work, has led the proprietors to add the manufacture of mill gearing, 
horse powers, steam engines, etc. 

Before the Chemung Canal dam was constructed the river oppo- 
site this village was fordable at low water. A married couple lived 
up Post Creek about a mile from the river, both of whom were 
adicted to strong drink. "Corn Juice " was plenty, more than half a 
dozen stills being operated in this town. The husband came across 
the river one day to replenish his bottle at a reservoir below the 
mills. There he tarried some time, became mtoxicated, and while 
wading the river fell face down in shallow water and was drowned. 
The body was found the next morning and the widow notified. She 
ran across the fields and waded to where body was lying on a bar, 
and after a burst of sorrow, rolled the body over and taking the 
bottle from a breast pocket, proceeded to drown her anguish.. 

September 9, 1853.— F. Chaphe having purchased the blacksmith 
shop of George W. Calkins, in this village, has engaged a sufficient 
number of workmen to carry on the business in all its branches. 

Friday night the Phoenix Factory, near the Erie depot, owned by 
Ambler & Ells, was destroyed by fire. It was occupied by their 
planing mill and by the cabinet and chair factory of J. Mallory & 
Sons. Two small dwellings were also destroyed. 

Workmen are now engaged in constructing a telegraph line 
along the Erie Railroad in this section. 

October 21, 1853.— A public meeting was held October 19, to 
consider the matter of establishing a Free Academy. The following 
committee was appointed to consider the matter and report : N. L. 
Somers, George Thompson, J. A. Redfield, George T. Spencer, C. H. 
Berry, Rev. R. E. Wilson, Rev. D. Nutten, Rev. A. H. Starkweather, 
Rev. Mr. Barrows and Dr. George W. Pratt. 

The Lodge of Good Templars is flourishing. 

Friday, November 11.— Rev. Harvey Hyde will commence preach- 
ing in the old church at Knoxville on Sunday. The interior of the 
building has been much improved. It is a matter of congratulation 



192 Wild Deer Seeks Refuge In Erie Station. 

that the inhabitants of Knoxville and Centerville now have a house 
of worship. The slips are free. 

November 25, 1853. — The committe appointed by Governor 
Seymour to locate the County buildings in the Southern Jury 
District of Steuben, has selected Corning. The court house will be 
located on the Public Square, between the Methodist and the 
Baptist churches. 

December 16, 1853. — The new saw-mill of Campbell, Bissell & 
Company, at the north end of the Erie Railroad bridge, above this 
village, is runningly finely. There are two single saws and two 
gang saws. 

The planing mill of Anthony M. Gibson, at Gibson, is turning 
out large quantities of matched and planed lumber. 

On Tuesday a full grown deer, closely pursued by hounds, took 
refuge in the Erie depot. It was caught by Robert Gray. 

D. A. Fuller is again in the field, having opened his new and 
commodious hotel, the Terrett House. 

December 30, 1853. — A telegraph office has been opened in the 
Post Office building, with John L. Wheat in charge. 

January 13, 1854. — David Lane, formerly of the Railroad Hotel, 
of this village, and recently of the Empire House, Elmira, has leased 
the Corning House for a term of years. He is a good landlord. 

C. N. Waterman, Esq., has returned to this village to resume the 
practice of law, in connection with C. H. Berry, his former partner. 

January 20, 1854. — The Chemung kicked off its icy blanket one 
day last week and sent it floating down to the Susquehanna. Con- 
siderable lumber was lost due to the unexpected rise. The river is 
now clear of ice and bank full. 

Married, January 26, 1854, by Rev. A. H. Starkweather, Mark 
M. Pomeroy, associate editor of the Corning Sun, and Miss A. A. 
Wheeler, also of Corning. 

[The groom was the " Brick " Pomeroy who achieved notoriety 
as editor and publisher of Pomeroy's Democrat, issued at La Cross, 
(not Milwaukee, Wis., as stated on page 161), during the Civil War.] 

March 24, 1854.— M. M. Pomeroy has disposed of his interest in 
the Sun office to Rev. Ira Brown, publisher of the Primitive Christian, 
at Penn Yan, which hereafter will be published in this place. Mr. 
Pomeroy goes to New York. 

John Card has purchased the harness establishment hitherto 
conducted by U. D. Hood. Mr. Hood is employed by Mr. Card. 



Death of John Knox, Founder of Knoxville, 193 

David L. Johns, of Canandaigua, has become a partner in the 
stove, tin and hardware establishment of John Hart The firm 
name is Hart & Johns. 

April 14, 1854.— John Knox, one of the early settlers of this 
town, died at his residence in Knoxville on Tuesday, the 11th, aged 
84 years. Nearly fifty years ago he repr^ented Steuben County in 
the Legislature, and subsequently held various offices of trust. 

F. & J. Ferenbaugh have moved their saddle and harness shop 
from Centerville to this village, in the new building adjoining Dn 
Gilbert's drug store. 

April 28, 1854.^ During the past week a large numher of rafts 
floated by this village. Every effort is being made to get the large 
amount of lumber on hand to market during the present 
high stage of water. Westward bound trains are crowded with 
raftsmen returning to their homes. Several raftsmen are reported 
to have been drowned at one of the dams below. Saturday afternoon 
Hiram Wescott, aged 20 years, son of Horace Wescott, of Caton, was 
knocked off a raft at Jack's Eddy, in Erwin, and drowned. 

The Coming Emmet Guards held their first annual ball, at 
Concert Hall, Monday evening. May 1st. Music by Quick's full band. 
Supper was served at the Dickinson House. Military gentlemen 
appeared in uniform. Committee of Arrangements : Captain M. B. 
Stafford, Lieutenant E.Monaghan, Lieutenant E. Fitzpatrick, Sergeant 
C. Cantley, Corporal P. Nash, Privates J. Gernon, M. VaUely and J. 
Martin. P. H. Mattimore, President. 

May 12, 1854. — The two hotels at Painted Post have been closed 
in consequence of the refusal of the Board of Excise of the Town of 
Erwin to grant licenses to the landlords to sell intoxicating drinks. 

The number of the hogs and cattle running in the streets during 
the Summer, forcing their way into yards and gardens, and destroy- 
ing everything green, is a nuisance which ought to be abated. 

May 19, 1854.— We have engaged M. M. Pomeroy, founder of 
and until recently leading proprietor of the Corning Semi-Weekly 
Sun, as foreman of the Corning Journal office. Mr. Pomeroy has 
just returned from New York. He has no superior as a workman. 

Ground has been broken for the new Court House. 

Jonathan Brown's saw-mill, three miles below the village, burned 
the night of May 25th, with a large quantity of lumber. 

June 2, 1854.— The death of James A. Hayt, aged 34 years. May 
24th, produced profound grief. For eight years he was a highly 



194 Corner-Stone of New Court Home Is Laid. 

respected merchant of this village, for several successive terms a 
Trustee, last year was President of the village, was an earnest and 
self-sacrificing friend of temperance, an ardent anti-slavery man and 
a zealous supporter of moral and religious interests. 

Rev. I. N. Hurd, missionary at Rayapoorum, India, has presented 
to the Sunday School of the First Presbyterian Church, a collection 
of articles illustrative of the natural history of India, and a number 
of idols worshipped by the natives. The collection has been placed 
in a cabinet in the vestibule of the session hot^e. 

Monday night, June 5th, fire destroyed the bakery and candy 
factory, residence and bams of R. E. RoHnson on Pine street, near 
Market ; Hathaway's sash and blind factory, the Dickinson House 
bams and stables, the Adelphi Block of five stores and numerous 
offices, Corel's tailor shop and F. Morrow's meat market. 

George K. Hickey, late landlord of the Eagle Hotel, at Lawrence- 
ville, has leased the American Hotel for a term of years. 

R- P. Spencer, of Fairfield, Conn., a brother of Geo. T. Spencer, 
has opened a loan office in this village. 

Richardson & Co. have completed a grist-mill at Caton Center. 

July 7, 1854. — R. E. Robinson is putting up a large stone building 
on his portion of the ' burnt district.' Joseph Hollenbeck has the 
contract. Part of the building will be occupied by a steam flouring 
mill. [This structure, remodeled, is now the Erie passenger station.] 

The new Baptist Church at Caton Center, was dedicated last 
week. The church is large and well built. 

On Thursday, July 20, the corner-stone of the new court house 
was laid. The attendance was large and the exercises impressive. 
It is to be a brick building resting on a substantial stone foundation. 
Davis & Stafford have the contract for the stone and brick work, and 
Charles Clark for the carpentry. Addresses were delivered by 
George T. Spencer and Thomas A. Johnson. During his remarks 
Judge Johnson said : — 

" The location and erection of a court house upon this spot, in thisi 
locality, is a broad, obvious, and distinctive mark in the progress of events 
which make up the history of this portion of our County. 

" Upon this square, where now rise three temples dedicated to the 
living God, and two of humbler pretensions dedicated to the cause of 
education, within less than a score of years stood an unbroken forest. 

" And from this eminence the eye rested upon but one solitary farm- 
house and small clearing, where now it sees this multitude of roofs, 
sheltering sympathies and affections as true, and warm, and elevated, as 
ever graced social life in any land ; and hearts as prompt, and arms as 



Christ Episcopal Church Consecrated by Bishop Delancy. 195 

strong, as ever grappled with its sterner destinies. Then the mirrored 
surface of our beautiful river was broken by the solitary canoe, where 
commerce has now fixed her busy mart, and her small but active fleets 
constantly come and go, exchanging the products of our skill and industry 
for those of far off lands. Since then the locomotive and swift-rolling cars, 
bearing their hundreds daily, have supplanted the solitary stage coach, 
with its single passenger ; and the fierce, exulting whistle of the engine has 
drowned the driver's merry horn, so that it is now recalled only as the 
echo of a dream half remembered. 

" Well may we, then, who have seen the beginning of these things : 
the living witnesses of the old and new : mark this event with gratulation 
and thanksgiving, and rejoice that our feeble efforts have aided in pushing 
forward, instead of blocking and retarding, the car of progress." 

August 11, 1854. — The George Washington Bank, located in the 
Concert Block, in this village, has commenced business. J. N.. 
Hungerford and George W. Patterson are the proprietors. They 
are from Westfield, New York. 

August 18, 1854.— A company of Light Infantry has been organ- 
ized in this village, named the Washington Guards. The officers are 
W. B. Hatch, Captain ; N. T. Colby, First Lieutenant ; J. S. Belknap, 
Second Lieutenant. Arms have been sent for and measures taken 
for uniforms. 

Ambler & Ells have built a planing mill near the Erie depot, to 
replace the one destroyed by fire. 

The post office at Knoxville, over the river, has been discontin- 
ued. The Postmaster General recommends that the inhabitants of 
that vicinity obtain their mail matter at the Coming post office. 

On the 21st of September the new Christ Episcopal Church was 
consecrated, by Rt. Rev. William H. Delancy, Bishop of Western 
New York. 

Saturday afternoon, September 30, 1854, fire started in Arnold's 
bakery, on Market street, which speedily consumed that building, 
C. G. Howell's tailor shop, John A. Parcel's cabinet shop, the store of 
C. Page, the book store of W. W. Robinson and the store of H. L. 
Edson. Several other buildings were damaged. 

Saturday evening, November 25, at a meeting held at the Dick- 
inson House, the New England Society of Coming was organized. 
Officers : T. A. Johnson, President ; H. G. Phelps, J. Brown, A. 
Jones, J. B. Graves, C. C. B. Walker, W. B. Whiting, Vice Presidents. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXXVI. 
Events In and About Corning — 1855-'60. 

THE MAYOR and Common Council and other citizens of the 
City of Rochester, signalized the opening of the railroad 
connecting the two places, by making a friendly visit to this 
village, January 4th, 1855, coming by a special train and accompanied 
by a brass band. Dinner was served at the Dickinson House. 

Local postmasters : Coming, G. W. Dyer ; Painted Post, W. S. 
Rumsey ; Gibson, B. S. Wolcott. 

January 26, 1855. The Corning Sun has been changed to a 
quarto form, and it is now published under the name of the Elmira 
Southern Tier Farmer and Corning Sun. It is published weekly by 
Ira Brown, A. M. Upson and Frank B. Brown, at $1.50 a year. 

Sunday afternoon a deer crossed the lower part of the vilage. 
evidently on a tour of observation. 

At a largely attend meeting held at the Dickinson House resolu- 
tions were passed requesting the State to repair the locks of the 
Chemung Canal, " as an act of justice to the citizens whom this 
canal was intended to benefit." 

February 9, 1855.— Walker & Turner have a contract for a term 
of years with the New York and Erie Railroad Company, to furnish 
wood for the trains stopping here, and advertise for any quantity of 
hard or soft wood delivered at the depot. 

March 2, 1855.— Corning Union School had the pleasure of 
receiving a visit from the Painted Post Union School. There were 
twenty sleighs filled with scholars preceded by one bearing Cowles' 
Brass Band. There were addresses, recitations, singing and music 
by the band at the school. J. McKinney, Principal of the Corning 
School, and E. Williams, Principal of the Painted Post school, 
exchanged the most friendly greetings. 

196 



Over-Flow of Monkey Run Causes Great Damage. 197 

A Choral Society has been formed with a large membership. 
The cultivation of sacred music is the chief object. The officers are 
William W. Hayt, President ; R. P. Spencer, Vice President ; L. 
Ervingham, Secretary ; W. D. Terbell, Treasurer ; Charles Quick, 
Leader. Executive Committee : A. Hickox, W. R. Hart, J. K. Van 
Slyke, B. J. Spaulding and Franklin Pew. 

April 6, 1855. — H. Kellogg, of Mt. Morris, has purchased the 
stock of drugs, medicines. Etc., of Dr. Graves, and will continue the 
business. Dr. Graves is to devote his entire time to his practice. 

April 18, about 9 o'clock in the morning, a remarkable hail-storm 
began, continuing nearly 30 minutes. The hail averaged 13 to 14 tO; 
the pound, though some were much larger. Some were eight to nine 
inches in circumference, the size of a goose egg. 

" Uncle Jack Lindsley," a Negro born in Africa, kidnapped 
in his youth and brought to America and sold into slavery, died at 
Wellsville, N. Y., recently, at the age of 120 years. A former master 
was Colonel Eleazer Lindsley, original owner of the town of Lindley. 

April 27, 1855.— George S. Ellas, of Bath, and George W. Pratt, 
of Corning, have been appointed Loan Commissioners of the County 
of Steuben. 

May 11, 1855.— The Coming Brass Band, under the leadership of 
Captain E. Pier, is to be connected with the 60th Regiment, New 
York State Militia. 

June 22, 1855. Payne & Olcott are filling a large contract for 
freight and baggage cars for the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad. 

Joel Parcel sold his farm on the north side of the Chemung 
River, opposite the village, to B. W. Payne, for $6,000. 

June 29, 1855. A man was drowned in the Chemung River at 
the Chimney Narrows, his horse and buggy in some way getting 
into the stream. In attempting to rescue the horse the man lost his 
life. The body was recognized as that of Benjamin Patterson, of 
Lindley, by a son-in-law of that gentleman, but this has been contra- 
dicted by Mr. Patterson himself, who came down and said it was a 
mistake. It was a man named Simmons, of WoodhuU. 

July 6. 1855. There was a violent rainstorm Saturday, and the 
Monkey Run burst through the masonry above the Erie bridge, and 
tore along Erie avenue for several blocks, flooding the business 
section of the village. The damage amounts to many thousand 
dollars. A passage way was cleared for Erie trains early Monday. 



198 Proposition to Have Free Union School Rejected, 

There was an elaborate celebration of the Fourth of July with 
the largest number of people present ever before seen in Corning on 
any occasion. All the railroads ran excursion trains. 

The population of the village of Corning is 3,626 ; Knoxville, 
628 ; Gibson, 428. Total population of town, villages included, 6,336. 

Efforts to enforce the Prohibiton law of the State, which became 
effective July 4, cause considerable excitement and varied results. 
So-called " patent medicines " with a large per cent of alcohol, are 
sold at saloons and " wet groceries." 

Friday, August 24. — The old bridge between Coming and 
Gibson, which for some time past has been on its last legs, finally 
caved in on Wednesday. A new bridge should be built immediately. 

A proposition to have a Free Union School was lost, 93 to 87. 

The new Methodist Church in Knoxville was dedicated Sept. 6. 

E. S. Tyler, Principal, and Miss J. Cooper, Assistant, conduct a 
select school in the building on the Public Square south of the 
Presbj^erian Church. 

A meeting of locomotive engineers of the Buffalo, Coming and 
New York Railroad, and the Tioga Railroad, was held the evening of 
October 23, 1855, at the Terrett House. William S. Lovejoy was 
Chairman and John Forbes, Secretary. George Sargeant was 
appointed a delegate to attend a convention of locomotive engineers 
to be held at Baltimore on the 6th of November. Other engineers 
present were Huling, King, Granger, Hayes, Barniwell and Gifford. 

January 11, 1856.— At the " Bull's Head " market a large hog is 
attracting considerable attention. Its weight, dressed, is 639 pounds. 

The Building Committee of the First Methodist Church advertise 
for proposals to build a brick church. 

On the 25th of March, 1856, the Court of Appeals handed down 
a decision declaring the State Prohibition Law unconstitutional, for 
the reason that it deprived persons of property without due process 
of law, and denied trial by jury. 

April 4, 1856.— C. C. B. Walker has been appointed Postmaster. 

May 8, 1856.— James S. Robinson, coUecter of canal tolls at the 
port of Corning, has engaged as clerks Thaddeus Hunt and Nelson 
W. Peake, Office over the store of H. G. Phelps & Son. 

Friday evening, June 6, 1856, the steam planing and saw-mill of 
A. M. Gibson, at Gibson, were completely destroyed by fire, with 
coniderable lumber. Loss about $20,000 ; no insurance. 



Two Sweeping Conflagrations In 1856. 199 

Anti-Slavery, (or Republican), Clubs have been organized in 
Corning and neighboring communities, to co-operate with like clubs 
throught the free States. 

The two most destructive fires that ever afflicted the village of 
Coming, occurred in the Summer of 1856. The first, on the 30th 
of June, burned over nearly eight acres, causing losses aggregating 
about $150,000 ; the second fire, was July 16, the losses totaling near 
$200,000. The fire of June 30th started at 4:30 o'clock in the after- 
noon, at the Payne & Oloott foundry. A heavy wind prevailed. The 
fire raged for nearly three hours, seventy-eight buildings being 
destroyed, including the foundry, the Corning House, Potter's livery 
stables, Samuel Hillock's eating house, the groceries of C. D. Robin- 
son, George Farnum, P. Nash ; A. J. Gilbert's wagon factory and 
blacksmith shop, I. M. Qute's wagon factory, Hiram Heath's black- 
smith shop and bam ; drug store owned by Dr. Gilbert, homes of 
R. E. Robinson, E. Dodge, O. K Lacy, Joseph Robinson ; grocery of 
James Gemon, Ferenbaugh's harness shop, a score of small houses. 
Fire companies came by trains from Elmira and Bath but arrived too 
late to render aid. 

The fire of July 16th started about 2 o'clock in the morning in 
the Dyer Block, on the south side of Market street, between Pine 
and Cedar. In its report of this fire the Jovrnal said : 

" The fire extended rapidly, consuming all buildings east to the comer, 
on both sides of market street, and also extended wast as far as the drug 
store of Dr. W. Terbell & Son, on the north side of Market street, and to 
the store of G. Page, on the south side of the same street. Most of the 
houses on Tioga avenue between Pine and Cedar streets were burned. The 
Odd Fellows' Lodge room was on the fourth floor of the Dyer Block ; loss, 
$500. The Masonic Lodge room was in the fourth story of Masonic Block ; 
nothing was saved. The only buildings left standing on Market street along 
the square from Rne srteet to Cedar, which was the business center of 
Coming, are Terbell & Son's drug store, Walker & Tumer's Block of three 
three stores. Concert Block, and the stores of B. F. Farwell, L. T. Fuller 
and C. Page. These buildings are of brick." 

These business places burned : Grocery stores of J. M. Watrous, 
Gillett-& Kimble, P. J. Overacre, E. Spaulding; dry goods, Jones & 
Jennings, H. I. Long, H. G. Phelps; T.H.Emmons, tobacco; Miss 
Brown, dress maker ; W. P. Havens, painter; A. Hickox, Daguerrean 
rooms ; William Curtiss, saloon ; F. & J. Ferenbaugh, harness shop; 
Dr. J. N. Skelton, drug store ; J. K. Newell, boot and shoe store and 
shop; J. A. Parcel, furniture ; A. M. Corel, tailor ; Hammond & 



200 Anti-Slavery Rally and Pole-Raising at Caton. 



Johnson, flour and feed store ; George Thompson, stock of clothing ; 
P. J. Overacre, crockery store ; William Miller, saloon and boarding 
house; A. Sanders, clothing ; George Marshall, saloon ; B.D.Burt, 
harness shop; Hart & Colby, hardware ; Mrs. A. Tuthill, millinery ; 
Dr. Graves, office furnishings, medical library and instruments ; the 
engine house of Fire Company No. 1 ; Chaffee & Lovejoy's liquor 
store ; J. F. Smith's lumber office ; White & Adams, musical instru- 
ments, and a number of offices of professional men. 

August 21, 1856. — Paine & Olcott's foundry has been rebuilt, but 
not upon the former site. Their car shop near the New York and 
Erie Railroad depot has been converted into a machine shop, and 
another stone building, 66 by 84 feet, has been erected adjoining. 
Murray & Stafford took the job of putting up the new building, and 
in less than three weeks quarried the stone, hauled it to the ground, 
excavated for the foundation and completed the walls. 

Dr. J. B. Graves has contracted for the erection of two three- 
story stores of brick on the site of Masonic Block. 

J. A. Redfield and J. M. Wood have contracted for building three- 
story stores of brick. 

The work of rebuilding is going forward. Thirteen brick stores 
are under contract. A dozen more will be under contract soon. 

September 12, 1856, there was a pole raising at Caton Center. The 
pole was erf pine, 113 feet high from the ground. From the top 
floated a flag forty feet long bearing the names of Fremont and 
Dayton. The Lawrenceville " Jaw-Bone Band " was present. 

September 25, 1856. — ^No rain of consequence has fallen in three 
weeks. Fires have spread in the woods throughout the hill country, 
doing much damage. Thursday the wind was very high throughout 
the day, and in Hornby and Caton many persons were obliged to 
fight fire until late in the evening, when, fortunately, there was a 
heavy shower. In some places fire ran through fields as fast as a 
man could walk. In Hornby several bams with their contents and 
a number of log houses were consumed. In this village that evening 
the air was filled with smoke to a degree that was painful to the 
eyes, even in dwelling houses. 

December 25, 1856. — William Land has opened a grocery and 
provision store next door to H. Kellogg's drug store. Charles G. 
Denison, late of Tioga and well known here, is chief clerk. 



Two Feet of Snow Falls April 20th, 1857. 201 

A select school for young ladies was opened in Painted Post, on 
the 5th of February, conducted by Miss Sarah J. Swartwood, assisted 
by Miss Phebe M. Agatt. 

February 18, 1857.— H. E. Biles has purchased the interest of G. 
W. Smith in the Terrett House. Biles & Bannister continue the^ 
busines, E. Bannister remaining. 

February 22, 1857. — The company of National Guards paraded^ 
with Pier's Military Band in the lead. Following the parade dinner 
was served at the Tremont House, kept by S. L. Hillick. There was 
considerable oratory. 

Major Field has taken charge of the St. Charles Hotel at Syra- 
cuse. He also continues to direct affairs at the Dickinson House. 

March 5, 1857.— Colonel B. P. Bailey has been appointed Super- 
intendent of the Chemung Feeder, succeeding Alvah Rowley. James 
S. Robinson has been re-appointed Collector of Tolls at Coming. 

March 19, 1857.— The post office has been removed to the new 
brick building at the comer of Pine street and Tioga avenue, built 
by Charles C. B. Walker. The store in the southern section of the 
building is occupied by the George Washington Bank, 

The firm of Walker & Tumer, wholesale and retail dealers in 
hardware, has been dissolved. C. C. B. Walker, who continues the 
business, has purchased the interest of Horace Tumer. 

W. McCarty is building a saw-mill in Canada West, 70 miles 
from Toronto. B. D. Burt has gone to Califomia to locate. 

G. D. Williams & Company are erecting a planing mill near the 
engine house of the Tioga Railroad. 

Mark M. Pomeroy has purchased the Argus, a Democratic 
paper, at Horicon, Wis. 

The first issue of the Corning Democrat appeared. The owners 
and publishers are Charles Huston, Ira Brown and F. B. Brown. 

Two feet of snow fell April 20, during the day and night. 

April 30, 1857.— The melting of the snow has raised the river 
and many lumber rafts are passing down stream. 

J. N. Robinson has opened a clothing store in his new brick block. 

May 21, 1857.— The Legislature has passed and the Governor 
has signed a bill appropriating $14,000 for the erection of a State 
arsenal in the village of Corning. 

Edwin A. Jeffery and Joseph F. Moore have purchased the 
interest of their partners, Jonathan Brown and James L. Brown, in 
the Jeffery foundry and machine shops. 



202 Flood Follows Flood Causing Great Destruction. 

D. C. Noe, of New York, has taken charge of the Dickson House, 
"Major Field having resigned. Thomas Argue continues as porter. 

About 150 feet of the central section of the Canal Feeder dam^ 
between Corning and Gibson, was washed away when the ice went 
out in February. Superintendent Bailey had a temporary coffer-dam 
built around the break, enabling boats to begin service at the usual 
time. This was a notable achievement. 

Floods raged the afternoon and night of June 17, 1857, due to 
heavy rains. The villages of Corning, Painted Post, Knoxville and 
Gibson were flooded, great damage resulting. The valley was sub- 
merged from hill to hill, field crops and gardens destroyed, stock 
drowned, and numerous small buildings washed away. Along the 
Monkey Run a number of small dwellings were demolished. The 
business section of the village was covered with flood trash and 
filth and every cellar on the flat lands was filled with water. The 
coffer-dam that patched the break in the Canal Feeder dam was- 
washed away and the canal put out of commission. The tavern of 
Peter Reese, at Gibson, was carried from its foundations by the 
raging waters of Narrows Brook, and left in the Chemung Canal. 
Mr. Reese also kept a grocery; the entire stock was lost. 

Said the Journal in commenting on the flood : 

" Previous to the construction of the Erie Railroad, the high ground on 
Erie avenue prevented the passage of water from McColloch's Creek, to 
the east or west, and kept it in its course to the river. The excavation to 
secure a grade for the Erie Railroad necessarily destroyed this protection. 
Two years ago the channel under the track was filled by gravel and drift- 
wood, turning the whole current on the street. 

July 2, 1857. — The Chemung river is over its banks and there 
has been another over-flow of the Monkey Run. Westbound trains 
on the Erie were compelled to lay here for one day, on account of 
land-slides and wash-outs east and west of Addison. Among passen- 
gers detained in Corning were 160 United States soldiers on their 
way to Utah, to keep the Mormons in subjection. 

Messrs. Pickering and Terry, of Elmira, and Charles T. Davis, of 
Corning, have taken the contract to rebuild the Mansfield Classical 
Seminary. 

R. E. Robinson has obtained a verdict against the Erie Railroad 
Company for $3,935, on account of damages due to the overflow of 
McColloch's Creek at the Erie avenue bridge two years ago. 



state Commissioners Select Site For Arsenal 203 

On Monday, July 6, General B. E. Bruce and R. K VanValken- 
burg, commissioners representing the State, appointed to select a site 
for an arsenal in Coming, decided upon a location in the western part 
of the village, on the bench of the hill, about 40 rods south of the New 
York and Erie Railroad depot. The land, an entire block, about 
four acres, has been donated by the Coming Company. 

On April 29, 1857, the contract for building the arsenal was let 
to James M. Hawley, of Coming, for $12,900. 

July 23, 1857.— W. N. Howell is mnning a hack between Coming 
and Painted Post, four times a day each way. Fare one shilling. 

A. J. Gilbert has opened a livery stable. 

Misses M. N. and K. K Norton have opened a select school for 
young ladies, teaching common and higher branches and music. 

Miss C. M. Stratton teaches writing. 

William Walker has purchased the interest of his partner in the 
hat store of Couch & Walker, at 31 East Market street. 

Dr. N. R. Seeley, Homeopathist, announces that he has decided 
to make his permanent residence in Corning. 

H. Kellogg has sold his drug store to E. P. Rogers. 

September 10, 1857.— Five companies of the 60th Regiment of 
the State Militia are in camp, for general training, on the river flats 
east of Knoxville. On Thursday night a military ball was held in a 
large tent Colonel R. B. VanValkenburg is in command. 

October 8, 1857.— Owing to the panic and the chaotic conditk)n of 
business throughout the country, the lumber and coal trade of 
of this section has been nearly suspended. 

October 31st, 1857, the Tremont House was destroyed by fire. 

On Tuesday, November 10th, 1857, there was a great flood. The 
Chemung River was higher that aftemoon than ever before known. 
The waters of Monkey Run did a large amount of damage. The 
Chemung River extended like a lake from hill to hilL People were 
compelled to forsake their homes in the entire eastern section of 
the village, many taking to row-boats plied by rescuing parties. The 
embankment at the south end of the canal dam, for 100 feet, was 
washed out, as also the bulk-head and race-way of Hammond & 
Johnson's mills. The rafting chute at the Gibson end of the canal dam 
was carried out, the feeder lock was undermined, and a couple of 
breaches made in the Chemung Canal at Gibson. At Painted Post 
the entire village plot was under water. All the railroad and high- 



204 Engineer Forbes Killed in Wreck Caused By Boys. 

way bridges between Painted Post and Bath were carried away. The 
damage wrought along the Canisteo and Tioga valleys was serious. 

January I4th, 1858. — The local' company of National Guards has 
the following officers : Captain, L. Todd ; 1st Lieutenant, N. T. Colby ; 
2d Lieutenant, F. G, Wynkoop ; Orderly Sergeant, W, A. Spencer ; 
2d Sergeant, William P, Miller,' 3d Sergeant, Williani B. Rouse ; 4th 
Sergeant, Levi Rowley, 

April 1st, 1858. — This afternoon the locomotive and a dozen coal 
cars, of a train on the Tioga Railroad bound for Corning were 
derailed, due to a number of spikes having been placed on the rails: 
by two boys who had wandered away from their home at Osceola. 
The train was rounding a sharp curve about a mile and a half 
from the State Ime, in the town of Lindley, when the locomotive was 
thrown from the track and roHed down an embankment. The 
engineer, John Forbes, was caught under the engine, severely bruised 
and scalded by escaping steam. He lived about 11 hours. The 
lads who caused the disaster declared that hearing the train coming: 
they placed the spikes on the rails to see if they would be flattened. 

May 6, 1858.— Forty men of Coming have formed the " Union 
Club," organized for social purposes ; membership fee, $15 ; annual 
dues, $15 ; membership limited to 60, No games are to be played for 
mcmey ; no intoxicating liquor allowed. 

May 20, 1858,— After some years of silence the town clock 
sounds forth the hours. Isaac Wood has set it running. 

June 21, 1858,— Trains began through service between Corning^ 
and Buffalo, on the Buffalo, New York and Erie Railroad, running: 
by way of Batavia and Attica 

The fine residence of R, E. Robinson burned Sunday night. 

The annual meeting of East Genesee Annual Conference. 
Methodist Episcopal Church, opened in Corning, August 11, 1858, 
The sessions continued for a week, a large tent on the Public Square 
southeast of the Methodist Church, being used. On Tuesday after- 
noon, August 17, a largely attended meeting in the big tent was 
mterrupted by the furious ringing of all the church bells and rapid 
firing of the village cannon. Soon the village was in a state of 
extreme commotion, there was a rush of people to the business 
center, at Market and Pine streets, and expressions and manifesta- 
tions of joy were unrestrained. All this, and a big celebration that 
night, with the brass band leading, and the militia companies and 



Grist-Mill at Erie Avenue and Pine Street Bums. 205 

firemen and hundreds of citizens in line, business places and homes 
illuminated, immense bon-fires, fire- works, booming cannon and a 
clanging of bells, winding up with speech-making, was due to word 
received by telegraph from New Ytsrk that the Atlantic cable was 
a success, and messages had passed from continent to continent. 

[ However, this, the first Atlantic telegraph cable, went dead 
after brief service, and it was not until July, 1.866, that an Atlantic 
cable was put into successful operation.] 

December 16, 1858.— Hungerford and Patterson, of the George 
Washington Bank, have dissolved partnership. Mr. Patterson con- 
tinues the business. He has engaged Quincy W. Wellington as 
cashier. 

Mark M. Pomeroy is local editor of the Milwaukee Daily News. 

Sunday evening, January 2, 1859.— Mrs. Patrick Boyle and two 
children were burned to death in a fire that destroyed their home. 

January 13, 1859, early in the morning, the grist mill at Erie 
avenue and Pine street, and the block of four stores adjoining, were 
burned out, their contents being destroyed. The buildings were 
<of stone, and owned and occupied by R. E. Robinson. 

March 24, 1859.— J. N. Hungerford has opened an individual 
bank, in the stone building on Market street recently occupied by 
W. M. Mallory. S. F. Denton is cashier. 

There has been another over-flow of the Monkey Run, due to 
the Erie bridge across its channel. Cellars were flooded throughout 
the business section of the village, goods destroyed and streets badly 
washed. There is a general demand that the Erie Railway Company 
remove its trade from Erie avenue. 

April 21, 1859. — In accordance with the provisions of a law passed 
last week, by the Legislature, the Corning Union School is henceforth 
a free school, with all the advantages of an academic department. 

May 19, 1859. — Two sleeping cars were this week placed in use 
on the Erie Railroad. Price for a berth, 50 cents above regular fare. 

The Erie Railroad Company is to construct a passenger station 
on the site of the grist-mill destroyed by fire, at Erie avenue and 
Pine street. It will be of stone, from the walls of the grist-mill. 

A brick block on the west side of Pine street, extending from 
Market to the new stone depot of the Erie Railroad Company, with 
an arch over the alley, was built by R. E. (" Regulator ") Robinson in 
the Summer of 1859. 



206 Two Prominent Men Killed at Railroad Crossing. 

In July, 1859, R. E. Robinson sold his stock of dry goods and 
groceries in a double store in the Concert Block, to- Samuel C. 
Robertson and Charles S. Soule, who continuei the business. 

A railroad was extended from Blossburg to the Fall Broc^ mines. 

U. D. Hood again engages in the harness business in Coming 
after residing for two years at Tioga, Pa. 

July 30, 1859. — :A.n injunction having been obtained in behalf of 
the village, to prevent the Erie Railroad Company from doing grading 
and laying tracks near the new depot at Erie avenue and Pine 
street, the matter was argued before Justice Johnson, who dissolved 
the injunction and work was resumed. Attorney S. E. Hammond 
appeared for the village and George T. Spencer for the railroad. 

In August, 1859, R. E. Robinson sold his new brick block at 
Market and Pine streets, to Jonathan Brown. F. H. McGeorge, of 
Owego, suecceeded Dr. George Perkins as a dentist. 

All the Sabbath Schools of Cormng and near-by places united in 
a picnic, Sept. 2d, on Hammond's Island, (Xie mile east of the village. 
Eleven hundred children and several hundred adults were present. 
The superintendents of the various Sunday Schools were : Corning 
Baptist, R. Thompson ; Coming Methodist, J. M. Wood ; Coming 
Presbyterian, E. C. Adams ; East Corning Union, U. D. Hood ; Little 
Flats, H. O. Wilbur ; East Painted Post Union, George Wormley ; 
Gibson Union, William Rouse ; Centerville Union, William Stewart. 

C. and E. S. Stewart opened a dry goods and grocery store at 
No. 4, Concert Block. 

October 13, 1859. — At the annual school meeting in Coming, it 
was voted to borrow $10,000 to erect an Academy. 

In the evening there was a firemen's ball at the State Arsenal. 

At the election November 7th, 1859, the voters of the town of 
Coming authorized the erection of a highway bridge across the 
Chemung River, near Gibson. 

December 22, 1859.— This morning a cutter in which James 
Thompson, owner of a tannery at Centerville, and George Fenderson, 
were riding, on their was to Coming, way stmck by the locomotive 
of the Erie express train, at the crossing near the toll-gate, and both 
men were killed, Mr. Fenderson dealt in hardware at Painted Post- 

The tannery at Curtis Station has been sold to Fitch & Allings, 
of Rochester. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXXVII. 
Events In and About Corning — 1860-'65. 

THE EVENTS mentioned in this chapter cover the period of 
the Civil War, and mark many incidents connected with that 
war, although the story of the services rendered by men of 
Corning and vicinity, with a record of local enlistments, is reserved 
for chapters that follow. These chronicles give information gathered 
from many sources, and are the rewards of much patient research : 

January 5, 1860. — W. L. Bigelow and Charles H. Thomson have 
formed a copartnership to conduct an insurance business, deal in 
real estate and make collections. 

March 6, I860.— The following village officers were elected : Jacob 
H. Lansing, President ; Cyrus D. Sill and James B. Lower, Trustees ; 
James Clark, Police Justice ; J. Lewis Brown, Treasurer ; C. Page, 
William Hood and Jonathan Brown, Assessors ; Ezekiel L. Robinson, 
Collector ; E. C. Adams, Pound Master. 

It was voted to expend $500 for a truck and equipment to be 
used by Alliance Hook and Ladder Company. 

March 15, 1860, Major A. Field, who for some time had resided at 
Burlington, Iowa, again became landlord of the Dickinson House. 

Dr. George W. Pratt appointed Collector of Canal Tolls for the 
port of Corning. 

Agitation for the abolition of slavery increases in intensity. 

March 29, I860.— Dr. N. M. Herrington appointed Coroner, to 
succeed William W. Hayt, resigned. 

Bills to form the County of Conhocton from the Second Assem- 
bly District of Steuben County, and the County of Canisteo from the 
Third, passed in the State Senate. Both bills passed the Assembly 
and were vetoed by the Governor. 

207 



.208 An Autumn Flood Causes Great Losses. 

C. C. B. Walker and John Bulmer were awarded the contract for 
building a highway bridge across the Chemung, near Gibson, for 
$7,663 — to be located a short distance below the canal dam. 

Monday morning, May 7th, 1860, the foundry, a number of stores 
and seven dwellings, livery barns and a carpenter shop were burned 
at Painted Post. The foundry was owned by A. H. and C. H. Erwin, 
Daniel Curtis and Judge Barnes. It was valued at $50,000 ; insured 
for $12,000. The flames spread so rapidly that few articles were 
saved from any building destroyed. There was little insurance. 

May 9th, 1860, the Corning Savings Bank was organized, with 
the following officers: Stephen T. Hayt, President; Alexander 
Orcutt and C. H. Thomson, Vice Presidents ; W. L. Bigelow, Secre- 
tary and Treasurer. 

Monday evening. May 21, 1860, the nomination of Abraham 
Lincoln for President, and Hannibal Hamlin for Vice President, at the 
Chicago Convention, was celebrated by a large number of people, in 
front of the Dickinson House. There was a bon-fire, a cannon was 
fired, and brief speeches delivered by Stephen T. Hayt, (a delegate to 
the Chicago Convention); D. D. Comstock, O. N. Payne, Prof. Z. L. 
Parker and E. C. Adams. 

June 21, I860.— Cummings & Wilkins have purchased the' steam 
saw-mill at Caton Center, and are fitting it up for business. 

A feature of the parade in connection with the Fourth of July 
celebration was a fire company of small boys, in uniform, drawing a 
diminutive fire engine. The youngsters were led by a snare drum- 
mer aged five years— William E. Gorton, son of A. H. Gorton. 

July 19, 1860, Erie passenger trains began stopping at the new 
depot at Pine street and Erie avenue. 

August 1, I860.— D. A. Fuller succeeds C. C. B. Walker as post- 
master of the village of Corning. 

Friday, August 24th, 1860, the Canisteo, Tioga, Conhoction and 
Chemung valleys were flood-swept and heavy losses inflicted an 
farmers due to destruction of crops. Millions of pumpkins, washed 
from corn fields, floated past Corning, and this rise of the rivers was 
called " the pumpkin flood." A number of river booms broke and 
many saw-logs drifted by the village. There was a similar flood in 
Autumn of 1817. 



Temperance Society Organized By Rev. Peter Colgan. 209 

September 13, 1860. — The new bridge across the Chemung near 
Gibson is in use. It is a covered bridge, sided up and painted. 

Coming is to be lighted with gas in a few months. Major 
Stafford has the contract for erecting the necessary buildings. 

Saturday night, September 15, 1860, the home of Rufus Gorton, 
two miles below the village, was burned with all its contents. His 
son William, aged 20 years, was so badly injured by the flames when 
rushing from his bedroom, that he died in a few hours. He was an 
exemplary young man and a successful school teacher. 

On Friday, September 21st 1860, the comer-stone of a new 
Masonic Hall, was laid at Painted Post. It is to be a brick building, 
three stories high, with stores, offices, public hall and lodge rooms. 

Friday night, October 19, 1860, due to a succession of furious 
showers, the Monkey Run broke over its banks at the Erie Railroad, 
and flooded the flat-lands in all directions. Damages amounting to 
many thousand dollars resulted. The railroad company had placed 
a lift-bridge for the support of its track accross the channel of the 
Monkey Run put the flood got the start of the gang of trackmen 
who attempted to work the screws provided for raising the bridge. 
The creeks tributary to the Chemvmg became torrents, many 
bridges being destroyed, and the river overflowed the bottom lands. 

October 25, 1860. — Ground has been broken for a Methodist 
Church, of brick, at the northeast comer of First and Cedar streets. 

The latter part of December, 1860, Rev. Peter Colgan, for nine 
years a member of the ecclesiastical staff of St Joseph's Cathedral at 
Dunkirk, was appointed pastor of St. Mary's Church in Corning. He 
succeeded Rev. Thomas Cunningham, transferred to Batavia. 

In January, 1861, Rev. Peter Colgan organized a temperance 
society, composed of men communicants of St. Mary's Church. The 
officers: James Sloan, President; Peter Collighan, Vice President; 
Jeffrey Moran, Treasurer ; W. D. Lynahan, Secretary. Executive 
Committee : Richard Monks, Michael Rorke, Charles Ganley, James 
Carr, Michael Martin, John McCann and Michael Atchison. 

C. H. Soule, having purchased the interest of S. C. Robertson in 
the mercantile business, becomes sole proprietor. 

News from Washington indicate the coming of war, due to 
rebellion on the part of the slave states. 

February 14, 1861.— The Dickinson House, the Erie station, and 
most of the stores, shops and offices on Pine and Market streets are 
lighted with gas. The mains are being extended. 



210 Corning Quickly Responds When War Begins. 



March 11, 1861. — The following residents of Corning were 
present at the inauguration of Abraham Lincoln : Stephen T. Hayt, 
C. H. Thomson, A. T. Cochran, George W. Patterson, Jr.; also A. B. 
Dickinson, of the town of Hornby. 

March 21, 1861. — ^Attorney A. S. Kendall has moved from Jasper 
to Corning and entered into partnership with Attorney George B. 
Bradley. The name of the firm is Bradley & Kendall. 

St. Patrick's Day was observed, under the auspices of " Sons of 
Old Ireland," by a parade in the forenoon, and a festival and banquet 
at Concert Hall in the evening. The parade was led by the Corning 
Brass Band and the Emmett Guards. At the banquet the speakers 
were Rev. P. Colgan, James Gernon, D. Murphy, E. P.Rogers, George 
W. Pratt. B. B. McCabe, C. H. Thomson, W. K. Logie, W. D. Lyna- 
han, P. Callaghan and Frank B. Brown. 

April 11, 1861. — Charles H. Thomson has been appointed Post- 
master of Corning. Truman S. Pritchard has opened a grocery and 
crockery store next to J. M. Smith's store. A. Weston & Company 
have a new foundry and machine shop in operation at Painted Post. 
The members of the firm are Abijah Weston, William G. Bironson, 
C. H. Erwin and Charles H. Calkins. 

Said the Corning Journal of April 18th, 1861 : 

" The Rebels have begun the war by attacking Fort Sumter. This 
overt act of treason has aroused the people of the Free States. The State 
Legislature has passed a bill providing for the enrollment of thirty thousand 
volunteers, in response to a message from the Governor. Captain L. Todd, 
of this village, is raising a company of volunteers." 

On April 25th, 1861, the Corning Journal devoted considerable 
space to articles having reference to the Rebellion. The following, 
copied from that issue, indicates the promptness with which the men 
of Coming and vicinity responded to the sudden call to war in 
defence of the Union and the Common Rights of Man : 

" Brigadier-General R. B. VanValkenburg has been placed in charge of 
the rendezvous for troops at Elmira. Charles C. B. Walker has been 
appointed Assistant Quarter-Master-General, and upon him devolves the 
duty of making suitable provision for the volunteers who rendezvous at 
Elmira. Edward P. Graves has been appointed chief clerk in the office of 
the Assistant Quarter- Master-General at Elmira. 

" The Volunteers of this village have been drilling daily the past week. 
They are full of pluck and enthusiam. Their officers are L. Todd, Captain ; 
N. T. Colby, First Lieutenant ; William H. Jones, Second Lieutenant. 

'" At a meeting held to make provison for providing for families of 
those who enlist, the following committee was appointed to solicit and 



Captain Todd Raises Company of Volunteers. 211 

dispurse funds : J. N. Hungerford, S. Hammond, A. Olcott, Alfred Jones 
and E. W. Ross, to act in conjunction with the Supervisors of this Assembly 
District. 

" The Emmett Guards, E. Fitzpatrick, Captain, have passed resolutions 
tendering their services to their country. 

" This afternoon a volunteer company of 103 men, from Lawrenceville, 
came in on the Tioga Railroad, accompanied by a brass band. The Coming 
volunteers, with the brass band and a drum corps, met the train at the 
depot, and there was a parade, followed by speeches in front of the Dickin- 
son House. Among the volunteers we noticed Pierce Herrick, a substantial 
farmer of Caton, nearly sixty years of age, but whose patriotism would not 
allow him to remain at home when his country called. The Lawrenceville 
volunteers were on their way to Troy, Pa. 

" On Wednesday a company of volunteers from Tioga, Pa., came in on 
the Tioga Railroad by special train, on their way to Troy. They were 
given a most enthusiastic reception. They were accompanied by the Tioga 
Brass Band. Following a march through the principal streets, a halt was 
made in front of the Dickinson House, when Charles Etz, of Tioga, and 
O. N. Payne, of Coming, addressed the volunteers and citizens." 

The evening of May 4th, 1861, Captain Todd's company of 
volunteers were guests of Hirjim Pritchard, President of the village, 
at an elaborate banquet at the Dickinson House. Judge T. A. 
Johnson, of Coming, and Colonel Gabriel T. Harrower, of Lindley, 
gave patriotic addresses. At midnight a train arrived from Roches- 
ter with 180 volunteers, on their way to Elmira, who stopped off for 
supper at the Dickinson House. The order for the meal was received 
by Landlord Field, by telegraph, an hour before the train arrived. 

The members of Captain Todd's company have selected the 
following additional officers : Sergeants— Delos C. Sherwood, Henry 
Witt, W. H. Messenger and R. J. Barnard. Corporals— E. E. Crocker , 
Oscar Jones, William Miller and H. C. Howell. May 10th the Com- 
pany went into temporary quarters at the State Armory. 

Dr. R. H. Gilbert, of New York, formerly of Corning, has been 
appointed Surgeon of a New York Regiment. Dr. Horace E. Gilbert, 
of Caton, goes with him as Hospital Assistant. 

A Company of volunteers from Hornell, under the command of 
Captain Doty, is quartered at the State Arsenal. Meals for this and 
Captain Todd's Company are served at the Dickinson House. 

May 23, 1861.— A second company of Volunteers has been formed 
in Coming and is awaiting orders. The officers are : George W. 
Elwell, Captain ; Lorenzo B. Shattuck, Lieutenant ; Lynval A. Davis, 
Ensign ; John H. Babcock, J. C. Hewitt, J. L. Foster, William H. St. 
John, Sergeants; Moses B. Hill, William H. McDowell, Frank M. 
Draper, Reuben N. Garrison, Corporals. 



212 Second Company of Volunteers Soon Formed. 

A Testament and a sewing-set with needles, pins, thread, Etc., 
have been presented to each local volunteer by ladies of the village. 

Captain Todd's Company and the Homellsville Volunteers went 
to Elmira the first week in June. 

The old railroad bridge across the Chemung River near the 
foot of vSteuben Street, built by the Erie Railroad Company in 1849-'50 
and never used by that company, burned the morning of June 4, 1861. 

June 8, 1861. — William E. Erwin, of Painted Post, has raised a 
Company of 53 men, for ser\'ice in General Sickles' Brigade. 

Captain Elwell's Company is at Elmira. 

September 12, 1861. — E. P. Mulford has arrived home from 
near Mobile, Ala., where last year he erected a well-equipped saw- 
mill for a Southern firm, and had since operated it. The Rebels 
vainly endeavored to induce him to turn traitor, and exasperated at 
failure, threatened violence. He had some thrilling experiences on 
his way north. 

September 19, 1861. — Captain L. Todd, of Company D, Twenty- 
Third Regiment, New York Volunteers, has arrived from the front, 
on special service as a recruiting officer. Two hundred and fifty men 
are wanted to bring the Regiment up to full strength. Captain Todd 
says : " I want 25 good men to fill up my own Company." 

James M. Hawley, aged 43 years, died at his home in Corning, 
September 25th, 1861. He was a contractor. The Dickinson House, 
the Concert Block, and most of the , brick stores erected after the 
great fire of 1850, were built by him. He built the Arsenal. 

Following continued rains, that were unusually heavy on the 
upper drainage area of the Chemung, that river rose rapidly Friday 
night, September 27th, and Saturday morning it was over its banks. 
It continued to rise until near 4 o'clock in the afternoon, the flood 
exceeding previous records. A large amount of lumber and about 
1,200 tons of coal were washed away from the canal docks ; a long 
section of the dock, below the warehouse, was destroyed ; whole 
piles of lumber floated away from the mill-yard in the western part 
of Knoxville; dwellings in the eastern part Corning, stood in 
water from one to six feet deep ; pumpkins, shocks of com, lumber, 
logs, flood-trash, small buildings, shingles and staves floated on every 
hand. Railoads were out of service for several days. The Monkey 
Run " behaved admirably, rising just sufficiently to inspire respect." 

Sunday, November 9, 1861.— Services were held in the basement 
of the Methodist Church, being constructed at First and Cedar streets. 



The Tremendous Flood of September 28, 1861. 213 

The following advertisement of E. E. Robinson, appeared in the 
Corning Journal on October 10th, 1861 : 

" WANTED — ^A man to sell Daily Papers, who can please everybody ; 
a person to deliver Daily Papers so that every man may be served first, and 
no one last ; also a man who can tell just how many extra papers are 
wanted every day. To three such persons constant employment will be 
given. Salary, $2,500. Apply at ROBINSON'S BOOKSTORE." 

The Methodist Church was dedicated December 8th, 1861. 

December 12, 1861. — Word has been received of the death in 
camp in Virginia, of Henry E. Gilbert, aged 18 years, of the town of 
Erwin, a member of Captain Todd's Company, Twenty-Third Regt., 
N. Y. Volunteers. This was the first death in the Company. 

Ladies of Hornby have sent fifty pairs of socks to Captain Todd's 
Company and have forwarded a box of supplies for hospital use. 
Several shipments of food, including relishes, have been sent from 
Coming to Captain Lansing's and Captain Todd's Companies. 

The Steuben Rangers are encamped near Washington. 

" All quiet on the Potomac," they say, 

"Except now and then a stray picket 
Is shot, as he walks on his beat to and fro, 

By a rifleman hid in the thicket." 

Pierce Herrick, of Caton, who went to the front with the Bucktail 
Rangers, has arrived home, broken in health due to camp fever. He 
received an honorable discharge. 

The morning of December 28, 1861, Mary Gantly was burned to 
death in a fire that started in the laundry of the Dickenson House, 
a wooden building next west of the hotel. John Mallory's cabinet 
shop and the harness shop of F. & J. Ferenbaugh were destroyed. 

January 2, 1862.— Byron A. Barton, of the Fifth Regular Cavalry, 
who was severely wounded in battle, is home on furlough. 

A number of funerals of soldiers have been held in this village, 
the bodies having been brought from the front or a military hospital. 

At a meeting of citizens held the evening of January 14, 1862, 
on call of Hiram Pritcnard, President of the village. Rough and 
Ready Fire Company was re-organized. Officers chosen : Alonzo H. 
Gorton, Foreman ; Asa Ackley and W. H. Ingall, Assistant Foremen ; 
C. D. Sill, Secretary. 

Dr. H. C. May, of Coming, has assumed his duties as Assistant 
Surgeon of the Sixty-First Regt., New York Volunteers. 



214 Incorporation of Corning Fire Department. 

The evening of February 27, 1862, Rev. Thomas K. Beecher, of 
Elmira, dehvered an address at a largely attended meeting of officers 
and members of churches and Sunday Schools, held in the old 
Presbyterian Church at Knoxville. 

March 27, 1862. — ^Rev. Peter Colgan has returned to take charge 
of the Catholic Church of Coming and its extensive parish. 

Dr. Cooper, of Coopers Plains, has four sons in the army. 

Charles H. Soule has sold the stock and good will of the 
" Regulator Store " to Charles H. Maltby, of Monterey, and H. Goff, 
of Avoca, who continue the business. 

April 24, 1862. — The colored people of the village have purchased 
the small school house on the Public Square, south of the Presbyter- 
ian Church, for use as a house of worship. 

The Board of Education has purchased the old Methodist 
Church, built in 1839, and will move it so as to form an addition to the 
main part of the school house, and will fit it up for school purposes. 

Village President Pritchard gives notice that swine will no 
longer be permitted to run at large. 

In April, 1862, the Legislature passed an act to incorporate the 
Fire Department of the Village of Corning naming the following 
temporary officers : Alexander Olcott, President ; Alfred Jones, Vice 
President ; George W. Pratt, Secretary. Trustees— Alexander Olcott, 
Alfred Jones, Charles H. Thomson, John N. Hungerford, Thaddeus 
E. Hunt, Hiram Pritchard, George W. Pratt, Alonzo H. Gorton 
Cyrus D. Sill and William F. Ingle. 

Charles G. Denison has taken charge of the Canal Warehouse. 
He will sell, at wholesale or retail, salt, plaster, lime, coal, pork, 
flour and feed, and will forward produce. 

First " composition " sidewalks laid— composed of coal ashes, 
sand and gravel, with coal-tar as a binder. 

On June 23d, 1862, Captain Todd left to rejoin his Regiment, his 
health much improved. He was accompanied by a squad of recruits. 

The following members of Company C, Eighty-Sixth Regiment, 
New York Volunteers, Jacob H. Lansing, Captain, have died in the 
service : Edwin S. Coryell and William Peffier, of Coming ; Free- 
man J. Green, of Hornby; Norman P. Heath, of Big Flatts; LeRoy 
Sample, of Woodhull. 

The Fourth of July celebration was participated in by the largest 
number of persons ever gathered in the village. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Coming and Vicinity 

CHAPTER XXXVIIL 
Events In and About Corning — 1860-'65. 

CONTINUED. 

WALKER «& LATHROP.— Austin Lathrop, Jr., who has for 
several years been the head clerk in C. C. B. Walker's 
hardware store, has become a partner. He has demonstrat- 
ed an unusual capacity for the management of a large business. 

In July, 1862, change became so scarce that postage stamps were 
in common use. " Shin-plasters " were also in use, 

July 24, 1862.— Captain William Fox has enrolled a company of 
eighty Volunteers, at Painted Post. Governor Morgan has appointed 
R. V. VanValkenburg the Colonel of a Regiment of Volunteers to be 
raised in the counties oi Steuben, Chemung and Schuyler, in response 
to President Lincoln's call for " Three Hundred Thousand More." 

A largely attended and wildly enthusiastic war meeting was 
held this evening at Concert Hall. 

August 7, 1862. — The new Regiment to be commanded by Col. 
VanValkenburg has been recuited up to full strength. Captain Fox, 
of Painted Post, has 101 men enrolled. Unbounded enthusiasm 
characterized a war meeting held at Caton Center, when ten men 
were enrolled "For three years or till the end of the war." 

Nelson Cowan, of Gibson, is building five canal boats at Watkins. 

Chester S. Cole, for a number of years a conductor on the 
Buffalo, New York and Erie Railroad, has become a partner of C. H. 
Thomson in the loan and insurance business. 

August 14, 1862.— Seventy-six residents of the town of Campbell 
have enlisted. The town has less than 300 voters. 

The One Hundred and Seventh Regtiment, New York State 
Volunteers, left Elmira early this morning, for Washington, the first 
body of troops to respond to Abraham Lincoln's call for " Three 
Hundred Thousand More." E. P. Graves, of Coming, is Quarter 

215 



216 107th Regiment Leaves Elmira For Washington. 



Master of the Regiment; Henry Inscho, of Coming, is Commissary 
Sergeant; N.T.Colby, Captain of Company I, raised in Corning; 
William F. Fox, Captain of Company C, recuited at Painted Post. 

A " Soldiers' Relief Society," composed of women of the village, 
has been organized. Supplies will be forwarded for the relief of 
sick and wounded soldiers, to be distributed by a central agency. 

September 4, 1862.— Three full Regiments of Volunteers have 
been organized in this Senatorial District, (Steuben, Chemung and 
Schuyler Counties), fully recruited within six weeks. In Coming, 
the village and township, 596 men have enrolled. Charles R. Fuller 
and William K. Logie are Captains of two additional companies 
raised in Coming. 

In a battle near Sharpsburgh, September 17, 1862, the 107th N. 
Y., Vols., supported Coffin's Battery, which was charged upon seven 
times by massed forces of the enemy, each time the attacking force 
being repulsed with heavy loss. Sixty members of the 107th were 
killed or wounded. The 23d Regt. also distinguished itself in the battle. 

Q. W. Wellington & Company began the banking business in 
October, 1862, in the southeast corner of the Dickinson House. The 
members of the firm are Q. W. Wellington and Samuel Russell, Jr. 

An addition to the Dickinson House has been completed. 

St. Mary's Cemetery was consecrated October 5th, by Bishop 
Timon, of Buffalo. A large congregation moved in solomn procession 
from St. Mary's Church to the new cemetery. 

October 16, 1862. — The Coming Gas Company is extending its 
mains through various streets. The members of the company are 
S. N. Dana, of Fulton, N. Y., and Chester S. Cole and Charles H. 
Thomson, of Coming. 

November 20, 1862.— A letter just at hand from L. Baldwin, the 
senior Captain of the 107th Regt., N. Y. Vols., says : " The 107th has 
476 men and 18 line officers ready for duty, out of 1,000 and odd that 
left Elmira in August last. There are reported sick 179, and absent 
sick 156, making a total of 811 accounted for ; the rest have been 
killed, wounded, died of disease, or discharged, and some have 
deserted. This illustrates the fate of many gallant regiments." 

On account of the high price of printing paper, the scarcity of 
labor and business depression due to the war, the size of the Corning 
Journal is reduced one-half. Five Journal employes are in the army. 



Fall of Vicksburgh Causes Great Rejoicing. 217 

December 11, 1862.— H. G. Tuthill, late of this village, has been 
promoted from Captain of a Company in the 104th Regt. N. Y. Vols., 
to Lieutenant-Colonel. He has been in seven engagements and lost 
three fingers of his left hand at Antietam. 

January 22, 1863. — The Erie Railroad Company is laying a 
second track between Elmira and Corning. The railroad bridge 
west of the village is to be fitted for two tracks. 

February 28, 1863.— B. W. Payne and Hiram Pritchard have 
purchased the interests of Theodore and Alexander Olcott in the 
foundry and machine shop of Payne & Olcott, and will do business 
as Payne & Pritchard. 

Henry Sherwood and A. T. Payne, (Sherwood & Payne), have 
changed their law offices from Addison to Corning. 

Rev. Mr. Hill, former pastor of the Baptist Church in Corning, has 
purchased the interest of Hiram Middlebrook in the firm of Middle- 
brook, Morgan & More, owners of the saw-mill at Lindley and of 
extensive timber lots. Associated with A. C. Morgan and William 
More he a member of the firm of Morgan, More & Hill. 

Thomas Taylerson, furniture dealer, has purchased and is now 
landlord of the American Hotel, on West Erie avenue. 

May 2, 1863.— Officers of the Coming Fire Department chosen 
at the recent election : C. D. Sill, Chief Engineer ; W. F. Townley 
and Austin Lathrop, Jr., Assistant Engineers ; Isaac Wood, Treasurer. 

July 8, 1863.— Word that Vicksburg had been captured occasion- 
ed great rejoicing. The cannon was fired and there was a street 
parade and displays of fire-works in the evening. 

August 1, 1863. — A large reservoir has been constructed in the 
open plot in front of the Dickinson House, to store water for use in 
case of fire. It is below the surface and arched over. 

Lists of men drafted for military service in the various towns of 
Steuben County are printed in Corning, Homellsville and Bath papers. 

August 25, 1863.— The tannery at Centerville, owned by S. A. 
Campbell, of Painted Post, was destroyed by fire this morning. 

August 27, 1863.— The Corning Journal is restored to normal size, 
the price of printing paper, which was 25 cents a pound in Novem- 
ber last, when the Journal was reduced in size, having fallen to 13c. 

The draft quota of Corning has been filled with twenty to spare. 

September 10, 1863.— A preliminary survey is being made for a 
railroad from Corning to Watkins by way of Post Creek. 

C. D. Sill has opened a grocery in the new stone building on 
Pine street, across from the Erie station. 



218 Chemung Higher Than at Any Time Since 1857. 

E. P. Rogers has sold his drug store to A. A. Frazier, of Elmira. 

January 28, 1864. — Most of the companies of the 141st New York 
Regt. have been consolidated with the 107th, raising the number to 
800 effective men. 

M. T. Sergeant has opened a steam bakery in the Heath Block. 

February 18, 1864.— Among the recruits of the 10th New York 
Cavalry are C. J. Chatfield, Jr., of Painted Post, who served two 
years with the 23d New York Vols., and George Spencer, only son 
of Judge George T. Spencer, of Corning. 

Augustus T. Mills has begun the practice of medicine. 

By purchase, Charles Maltby succeeds Robertson & Soule in the 
grocery business. 

W. H. Gorton, the worthy Englishman who has been the faithful 
sexton of Hope Cemetery for a dozen years, has retired. He 
buried over 1100 persons in that period. 

April 7, 1864. — The following officers were elected at the annual 
meeting of the Monterey, Coopers Plains, Painted Post and Coming 
Plank Road Company: Directors— S. Hammond, F. E. Cooper, 
Lyman Balcom, J. B. Graves and G. R. Graves. J. B. Graves, Presi- 
dent ; Q. W. Wellington, Treasurer ; G. R. Graves, Secretary. 

Recent storms raised the Chemung and many rafts are running. 

Friday, May 13, the Monkey Run overflowed Erie avenue at the 
bridge, and poured in large volume eastward, as far as Walnut 
street, where nearly all the water passed into the underground canal 
prepared three years ago for such use, and so entered the Chemung 
instead of tearing up streets, washing away side-walks and flooding 
cellars as on former like occasions. This ditch was planned by Hiram 
Pritchard, when village President, and constructed by the Erie Rail- 
road Company on his request. It is called " Pritchard's Canal." 

Saturday at noon the Chemung River was higher than at any 
time since the big flood in November, 1857. Many dwellings in the 
eastern section of the village were so flooded that families went up 
stairs for refuge. A large amount of lumber floated away. 

A. D. Jaynes has opened a photograph gallery. 

A union meeting was held in the Methodist Church, Sunday 
evening, May 22d, in the interest of the Christian Commission. The 
church was crowded. The pastors of the Baptist, Presbyterian, 
Episcopal and Methodist churches, and Dr. W. D. Terbell, spoke. A 
collection amounting to $220 was taken for the Commission. 



Telegraph Line Built Along Tioga Railroad. 219 

June 16, 1864. — Captain J. Forrest Knox, of Company F, 107th 
Regt., N. Y. Vols., was wounded in a leg at the recent battle near 
Dallas, Ga. He died three days after, from mortification of the leg. 
He was the second son of J. P. Knox, of Campbell, and a grand-son 
of the late Judge John Knox, of Knoxville. 

June 23, 1864.— The Tioga Railroad Company and the Fall Brook 
Railroad Company are constructing a telegraph line along their 
tracks from Coming to Fall Brook. L. G. Tillottson, Superintendent 
of the Erie telegraph line, and Thomas B. Field, have the contract. 

The following officers of the Coming Fire Department have 
been elected : A. Lathrop, Jr., Chief Engineer ; W. F. Townley and 
James Gibbons, Assistants ; C. D. Sill, Treasurer. 

Tuesday forenoon, June 28, the Saengerbund held a festival at 
Stevens' Grove in the forenoon, and a ball at Concert Hall at night. 

The net receipts of a strawberry, ice-cream and cake festival, 
held the Fourth of July, by ladies of the Methodist Church, in the 
Erie depot, were $300. The general celebration was largely attended. 

President Lincoln has issued a call for 500,000 men for one year. 

July 28, 1864.— Lieutenant-Colonel J. H. Lansing, who has nearly 
recovered from a wound in the arm, has been commissioned Colonel 
of the 86th Regt., New York State Volunteers. 

Lieutenant Archie E. Baxter, who has been home for some 
weeks on account of a wound in his right hand, left to rejoin his 
Regiment. 

Coming has f umished for service in the Civil War four Colonels, 
three Lieutenant-Colonels, two Surgeons, two Adjutants, four Quar- 
ter-Masters, eight Captains, six First and six Second Lieutenants. 

The Board of Supervisors of Steuben County voted to pay a 
bounty of $200 for one-year volunteers, and $300 for three-year men. 

The Coming Gas Company has increased the price of gas to five 
dollars per thousand. 

August 18, 1864.— J. J. Orr, of Lindley, has been promoted from 
First Lieutenant to Captain of Company F, 107th Regt., N. Y. Vols. 

Citizens of Lindley have raised by subscription a fund to pay 
a bonus of $100 to each local volunteer. 

This advertisement appeared in the issue of the Corning Journal 
dated September 1st, 1864 : 

" PEW FOR SALE.— In the Presbyterian Church 
there is a desirable pew for sale. Inquire this office." 



220 The 189th Regiment Mustered Into Service. 



Joseph Conlon, of Coming, Captain of a Company in a Regiment 
•of colored men, has returned home with health broken. 

Sergeant Carlton H. Lovell, of Company D, 14th Heavy Artillery, 
arrived home September 2d, 1864, honorably discharged on account 
of a wound received at Cold Harbor, Va., June 2d. The bone of his 
right arm was shattered by a bullet, three inches above the elbow. 
The severed sections of bone have been connected by a silver joint 

Dr. William E. Rogers, formerly of Coming, is Assistant United 
States Surgeon in a hospital at Nashville, Tenn. Dr. R. H. Gilbert is 
a Medical Director at Nashville. Dr. H. C. May has charge of a 
military hospital at Nashville. 

September 12, 1864. — Prof. J. S. Slie succeeds Prof. Z. L. Parker 
as Principal of the Coming Union School. Prof. Parker had been 
master of the village school for eight years. Elijah Harmon and 
Miss Sarah L. Stilson continue as academic teachers. 

Over $16,000 has been subscribed, mainly by citizens liable to 
draft, to pay bounties to volunteers. About two-thirds of the quota 
of 100 required of the village and township have enlisted- 
September 29, 1864. — Coming has filled its quota. 

" On account of the enormous price of printing paper, it being 
three times the price before the war began," says the Journal of 
October 6, 1864, " we are obliged to raise the subscription price of 
the Corning Journal to $2.50 per year paid in advadce, or $3 if paid 
at the end of the year. Advertising rates are also advanced." 

October 13, 1864.— The 189th Regt., N. Y. Vols., composed chiefly 
of companies raised in this Congressional District, has been mustered 
into the service, at Washington, with William W. Hayt as Colonel. 

J. Walster has thrown up the job of night watchman of the 
village, " because of lack of adequate compensation." 

J. L. Scott, for three years employed by U. P. Spaulding as a 
cutter, has opened a tailor shop. 

October 23, 1864— Dr. Ores Mumford died, aged 49 years. 
Colonel William W. Hayt, of the 86th Regt., died at City Point, 
Va., November 8th, of congestion of the brain. 

Colonel S. M. Morgan, of Lindley, after being held in a rebel 
prison, was released by exchange the latter part of December, and 
returned home on parole. 

Having completed three years in the service, Lieutenant-Colonel 
J. H. Lansing, who went out as a Captain, returned to Coming the 



Poem of Hope and Prophecy by Corning Author. 221 

last week in November, 1864. He was succeeded as Lieutenant- 
Colonel of the 86th Regiment by Major Michael B. Stafford, who a 
few weeks later was struck in the side by a piece of shell and killed. 

December 29, 1864.— William H. Clark, of this village, having 
completed three years in the service, has returned home. He went 
out as a musician in the 10th Cavalry, and when his term of service 
expired was leader of the 1st Brigade Band. 

The last week in December the Board of Supervisors passed a 
resolution offering the following bounties for enlistments : One year, 
$220 ; two years, $330 ; three years, $550. The last call requires the 
Congressional District, (Allegany, Chemung and Steuben counties),, 
to furnish 2,226 men — the whole State, 61,076. 

PROGRESS. 

The following poem of faith and prophecy, written by Ephriam 
P. Rogers, a prominent citizen of Corning, was published in the 
Fall of 1864:— 

I stood by the giant river, And now with a peaceful current 

And saw, in the far depths below, It sweeps along valley and plain, 

Roll on the majestic waters, A union of kindred waters, 

With ceaseless, resistless flow. To blend in the ocean main. 

In spite of threat'ning headlands, My tho'ts were turned on the conflict 

And rocks that ripple its tide, So desperate, deadly and long, 

And islets that vainly resisting Oppressed with the demon oppressor, 

Can only an instant divide. —Of justice contending with wrong. 

On thro' the cleft of the mountain. And I felt my spirit grow stronger, 
Unblest by the Sun's loving rays, As I pondered the terrible strife, 

Contending with obdurate fragments For the tide of the noble river 
Of antediluvian days. Seemed a type of the tide of life. 

Now falling, now rising and foaming, Tho' many and dear its struggles,. 
Now surging and beating the walls The course of humanity's flood 

That narrow and deepen its channel. Is onward, to blend with the ocean 
Yet cannot retain in their thralls. Of the one Common Brotherhood. 

On, threading the devious passage. Courage, ye down-trodden millions. 
Thro' tempest and sorrowing night. And all who lead Liberty's fight ! 

Now rushes the mighty torrent, Press onward, your triumph is certain. 

To emerge again to the light. God reigns, and He favors the right. 

Be patient, and wait for the coming 

Glad Tidings of Peace and Good Will, 
When Freedom's last foe shall be vanquished 

And the tempest of war shall be still. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XXXIX. 
Events In and About Corning — 1865-'70. 

THIS CHAPTER covers the final period of the Civil War, the 
return to their homes of those who survived, and the initial 
steps taken to plant in Coming industries that have endured, 
and whose continuous growth mark the community's progress. 

February 2, 1865. — The number of prisoners of war in the camp 
at Elmira is 9,133. Of the entire number brought there, (10,732), 
1,264 have been paroled, 100 having taken the oath of allegience have 
been released, 16 tunneled out and escaped, 1,559 have died. 

Payne & Pritchard are manufacturing and shipping to the oil 
regions of Western Pennsylvania, large numbers of portable engines. 

February 18, 1865.— Colonel A. C. Morgan, in 1856 a Member of 
Assembly, died at his home in Lindley. He was a merchant, farmer 
and lumberman. 

Friday, March 17, 1865. — Extensive rains and melting snow 
which was of unusual depth, have caused the Chemung river to rise 
higher than at any previous time since this section was settled. The 
floods of 1816, 1833, 1857 and 1861 were notable events, but this one 
created a new high water mark. On the flats below the village the 
'flood was full 18 inches higher than that of May, 1833. The water 
was highest Friday forenoon. Tioga avenue was under water from 
the warehouse east. The section of the village north of the Erie 
railroad and east of Cedar street was flooded. The land west of the 
warehouse and north of the Tioga railroad was swept by a strong 
current, several building being washed away, including a shanty 
occupied by David Johnson. He was drowned. Thirty rods of the 
embankment above the south end of the canal dam disappeared, and 
through this gap a powerful current flowed. Many buildings in that 
section were carried down stream or damaged. 

222 



The Final Period of the War Between the States. 223 

On the Knoxville side of the Chemung, great damage was done, 
fences and small buildings being destroyed or joining the masses of 
drift-wood, lumber, logs and miscellaneous structures that rushed by. 
A grocery near the south entrance to the highway bridge was carried 
away, and the approaches at each end of the bridge destroyed. The 
Erie track and the fill on which it rested, from the bridge to near 
the toll-gate below Centerville, were washed out. Great damage was 
done at Centerville and Painted Post. Fox, Weston & Bronson, of 
the Gang Mills, lost logs — ^mostly white pine— valued at $30,000, and 
consibable lumber. Two of their tenement houses went down 
stream. Little remained of the section of Plank Road from the 
Knoxville bridge to the long bridge near Coopers Plains. 

Said the Corning Journal of Thursday, March 23d, 1865: — 
" No one can ever forget the interruption of communication with the 
outside world, which for nearly a week prevented the receipt of any war 
news, at this time when public expectation was aroused by the rumor of 
great events. No New York, Rochester or Elmira daily papers were receiv- 
ed last week after Wednesday. Not a word of passing affairs was heard. 
Everybody was inquiring where Sheridan was, and whether Sherman had 
met any rebel force on his approach to Raleigh. The telegraph was mute, 
its wires lying in adjacent fields or interwoven with rubbish. Saturday and 
Sunday were passed in painful ignorance. Monday evening a man arrived 
from the east, on his way to Oil City, having walked around several wash- 
outs on the Erie. He had a New York Herald of Saturday, which he would 
not sell, but permitted a citizen to read the war news to a crowd of eager 
listeners. Sunday afternoon E. E. Robinson started out after New York 
papers, finding missing bundles at Owego. He arrived in Corning on 
Tuesday afternoon, with papers of Thursday, Friday and Saturday, having 
traveled by private conveyance most of the trip, both going and coming. 

"Thefirst Erie train from the west came to Erwin switch, four miles 
above Painted Post, Sunday. The passengers, more than a hundred men, 
women and children, walked from there to this village, taking a train to 
the break two miles below the village, and then walked three miles, to 
Noyess' witch, where they were met by a train from Elmira." 

March 30, 1865.— George W. Fuller succeeds Major Field as 
landlord of the Dickinson House. 

Prof. Z. L. Parker has been engaged as principal of the Union 
School at Bath. 

Archie E. Baxter has been promoted from First Lieutenant to 
Captain of Company D, 141st Regt., N. Y. Vols. 

Monday, April 3, 1865.— The afternoon and evening were given 
to general rejoicing over the fall of Richmond. Bells rang long and 
loud, three cannon fired salutes, jubilant crowds paraded, and at 
night there were bon-fires and a general illumination. 



224 Assassination of President Abraham Lincoln. 

On Monday, April 10th, 1865, the most intense manifestions of 
joy characterized a general jubilation on receipt of news that the 
rebel General Lee had surrendered his entire force, thereby bringing 
the great conflict to a close. 

The assassination of President Lincoln, the night of April 14th, 
1865, was the saddest possible ending of a life of incomparable 
usefulness. He died a martyr to the cause of Liberty. Unbounded 
joy was followed by intense sorrow. Homes, places of business and 
churches were draped with tokens of morning. A funeral service 
for Abraham Lincoln was held at the Presbyterian Church at the 
same hour of the funeral held in the Capitol at Washington. 

The following officers of Alliance Hook and Ladder Company 
were elected May 2d, 1865 : C. H. Thomson, Foreman ; George 
Hitchcock and N. E. Waite, Assistant Foremen ; W. H. Beard, 
Secretary and Treasurer. 

About 12 o'clock Thursday night May 4th, the eastbound Erie 
Express broke through the bridge at Painted Post. Three persons 
were killed, several seriously injured, and about a dozen sustained 
minor injuries. A span of the bridge gave. The locomotive rested 
partly on the tender as it settled back on the incline formed by the 
broken truss. The baggage car and two passenger cars formed a 
pile-up on the bed of the stream. Fortunately the water was shallow. 

May 4, 1865.— Harris & Erlich, dealers in dry goods and groceries 
in the comer store of the Arcade Block, have engaged W. H. Chaphe 
as chief -clerk. 

^ May 25, 1865.— About $4,500 have been subscribed to drill for 
oil on the Packer farm, on the Caton road, two miles from this village. 
Thursday, June 1st, was observed as a day of humiliation and 
mourning, in accord with a proclamation of President Johnson, issued 
in view of the death of Abraham Lincoln. A meeting was held at 
Concert Hall at 11 o'clock in the forenoon. It was largely attended 
and the exercises characterized by extreme sorrow. An address 
was delivered by Judge George T. Spencer. 

Constant Cook, of Bath, and Henry Sherwood, of Coming, have 
jointly presented a claim of $184,320, " for bounties and hand money 
by reason of men claimed to have been enlisted by them and mus- 
tered into the service of the United States, to the credit of the County 
of Steuben, under the call of December 19th, 1864." These men 
entered into a contract with the Board of Supervisors to supply 



Large Numbers of Soldiers Return From the War. 225 

sufficient enlistments to fill the quota of Steuben County, " for $640 
for each and every man " so enlisted. Cook and Sherwood then 
went to South Carolina and Georgia and filled the quota by enrolling 
former slaves, at very small expense. The claim was finally paid, 

June 8, 1865.— C. G. Howell has sold his bakery to N. D. Rowley 
and his paper and cloth bag factory to J. C. Edwards, and gone to 
Richmond, Va, to engage in business. 

The Fall Brook and the Morris Run Coal Companies are running 
four trains of coal a day to Watkins for transfer to canal boats. 

The saw-mill of H. B. and J. S. Haradan, in the town of Hornby, 
was destroyed by fire the morning of June 15th, 1865. 
David W. Payne graduated at West Point Military Academy. 

The village authorities give notice that all stores and shops must 
close oji Sunday, and no intoxicants be sold that day. 

Soldiers are arriving home in large numbers and there are many 
happy family reunions. In other homes faith in God and love of 
Country temper sorrow and justify supreme sacrifice. 

The Corning Oil Company is drilling a test well at Gibson. 

July 27, 1865.— Captain C. R. Fuller has sold his lumber business 
to Thomas B. Field and gone to the Pennsylvania oil field. 

The population of the village of Corning is 4,060. 

The new Free Methodist Church at Gibson was dedicated Sept. 6. 

George T. Spencer is succeded by Ellsworth D. Mills as a part- 
ner of Charles H. Thompson in the practice of law. 

Dr. John Cooper, son of the late Dr. Cooper, of Coopers Plains, 
has located at Painted Post He was a surgeon in the army. 

In October, 1865, C. G. Howell established an oil refinery on 
West Erie avenue. 

Colonel Jacob H. Lansing has resumed the jewelry business. 

Attorney D. F. Brown, who was Quarter-Master of the 86th 
Regiment, has entered into partnership with attorney George R. 
Graves. Office in the Arcade Block. 

Dr. H. C. May resumed practice in Corning the latter part of 
October, 1865. He achieved notable prominence as an army surgeon. 

The Fall Brook Coal Company has constructed coal trestles on 
the hill-side, near the west city line, to be used in supplying engines 
with coal, and in transferring coal from one car to another. 



.226 Village of Painted Post Incorporated in 1866. 

December 7, 1865.— J. A. Phelps, for 16 years chief-clerk at the 
Erie freight office in Corning, appointed station agent at Penn Yan. 

At the annual election of Rescue Fire Company the following 
officers were chosen : Thomas L. Townley, Foreman ; James Austin, 
Assistant Foreman; Manly Inscho, Secretary; John Mcintosh, 
Treasurer ; Pomeroy Robinson, Foreman of Hose. 

Rev. E. P. Hammond, evangelist, conducted a series of union 
revival meetings in Corning in January, 1866. Hundreds expressed 
conversion and became church members. 

J. A. Phelps, formerly of Corning, has been appointed Erie 
Station Agent at Binghamton. 

Revival meetings of remarkable intensity are in progress at 
Painted Post, Gang Mills and Caton Centre. 

Howell & Sayles form a partnership in the mercantile business 
conducted for several years by S. B. Howell at Painted Post. Albert 
R. Sayles is the junior member of the firm. 

The village of Painted Post was incorporated in the Spring of 
1866, by a special act of the State Legislature. 

Two additional reservoirs of the catch-basin type to store water 
for fire protection, were built — one in Cedar street, between Market 
street and Erie avenue, near the look-up ; the other on East First 
street near the brewery. 

April 5, 1856.— Members of the police force of the village : W. F. 
Townley, Chief of Police ; John Haley, Thomas Argue, S. VanEtten, 
John Bray, Patrick Boylan, D. S. Powers, Fred Rothfus, Michael 
Eagan and Thomas Tracy. 

Fifty dollars has been raised by subscriptions to put the town 
clock in running order. 

Hon. Daniel S. Dickinson, one of the founders of Coming, died 
in New York city, April 12th, 1866. He was born in Connecticut. 

W. C. Bronson and A. Weston, of Painted Post, and associates in 
the lumber business, have purchased 130 square miles of timber land 
in the wilderness north of Ottawa, Canada. 

Beebe & McGrath have opened a general store in the Bronson 
Block at Painted Post. 

W. C. Bronson & Company have built and have in operation a 
large sash and blind factory, at Painted Post. 



Bishop Timon Lays Comer-Stone of St. Mary's Church. 227 

A branch of the Young Men's Christian Association has been 
organized in Coming. J. N. Hungerford is President, and E. C, 
Maltby is Secretary. Meetings are held in the reading room. 

May 10, 1866.— Samuel Jones, colored, sexton of the Methodist 
Church, has returned from Leesburgh, Va., accompanied by two 
sons, 10 and 12 years old, whom he was compelled to leave when he 
escaped from slavery nine years ago. 

Wednesday morning, May 16th, 1866, the steam saw-mill owned 
by A. C. French, on the Caton road, was destroyed by fire. 

The comer-stone of the new St. Mary's Church was laid June 10 
by Bishop Timon of Buffalo. He said that when he first came to 
Coming, soon after its settlement, he was indebted to the courtesy 
of the Methodists for a house to speak in. 

June 13, 1866. — The Union Baseball Club, of Elmira, and the 
Monitors, of Coming, played on the Southport field. Score by innings : 

Union Club 24232025 1 — 21 

Monitors, 368419291 — 43 

This game at the time was considered good baseball. Coming 
players : Cole, first base ; Hurdick, second ; Wombaugh, third ; Bum- 
ham, short-stop ; Wellington, right field ; LaBar, center ; Inscho, left ; 
Barnes, pitcher ; Bump, catcher. 

A return game played in Corning, June 22, resulted in a score of 
51 to 19 in favor of the Monitors. 

A passenger car attached to a train of coal dumps began a daily 
run between Coming and Watkins by way of Horseheads. 

September 27, 1866. — Simeon Hammond has sold his interest in 
the lumber, flouring, plaster and wool-carding mills, a short distance 
east of the village, to William Brough, of New York city, and Hiram 
W. Bostwick, Jr. Judge Johnson retains his interest. The name of 
the new firm is Johnson, Brough & Bostwick. 

Henry Sherwood has greatly improved the brick residence at 
Walnut and First streets, purchased of General Irvine. 

George W. Preston, for many years foreman of the foundry and 
machine shop of Payne & Pritchard, has purchased the English & 
Rhodes foundry, on Market street. Ephriam P. Rogers succeeds 
Mr. Preston as foreman for Payne & Pritchard. 

Six hundred men took part in the annual parade of the 106th 
Regt., N. Y. S. Guards, Colonel C. H. Thompson in command. 



228 Corning-Knoxville Bridge Goes Down Stream. 



In December, 1866, the Free Baptist Society of Gibson purchased 
the Presbyterian Church building, at the northeast corner of Pine 
and First streets, and began holding services there. 

Thursday, February 15, 1867.— A sudden rise of the Chemung 
River, due to rains and melting snow, started the ice, and a jam 
formed a short distance above the Knoxville bridge.. When the 
back-water caused the ice-jam to give, the bridge was carried off. 
One span of the bridge lodged on the river bank opposite Pine street, 
another section on the flats near the mouth of Post Creek, and the 
third, broken to pieces by the ice, passed under the Gibson bridge. 
In 1840 and 1846 Spring floods carried away Knoxville bridges. The 
Chemung was first bridged at that point in 1833. 

A ferry began use at the river crossing a few days after the 
bridge was wrecked. Blake Owen was ferry-master. 

About 130 o'clock Saturday morning, March 16, 1867, the canal 
barn owned by Patrick Mattimore, on Tioga avenue, near Cedar 
street, was discovered on fire. One of the hand-pump fire engines 
could not be used; the other drew water from the reservoir sunk in 
Cedar street near the lock-up, but was not in shape to give full 
service. The canal barn, Mattimore's grocery ^ore, the Blue Eagle 
Hotel cind grocery, a two-story building near by, a blacksmith shop 
and a dwelling, were burned to the ground. 

In April, 1867, Sayles & Sanders opened a hardware store and 
tin-shop in the eastern section of the former Owens Block, on East 
Market street, owned by Hiram Pritchard. 

Late the night of March 29th, the home of John Phenes, at 
Gibson, burned, and he, two sons and a grand-daughter perished in 
the flames. Mrs. Phenes and a daughter escaped. 

May 9th, 1867.— A Lodge of the Sons of Temperance has been 
organized. The charter members include Truman S. Pritchard, N. 
E. Waite, Rev. W. A. Niles, E. Wildman, Attorney Charles Baker, 
Charles Campbell, Captain Charles H. Freeman, Captain Archie E. 
Baxter, Dr. M. H. Wilcox and S. H. Ferenbaugh. 

The name of the Monterey, Coopers Plains, Painted Post and 
Corning Plank Road has been changed to the Conhocton Stone Road, 
which conformed better with the type of road —and with its length. 

C. G. Howell is again proprietor of the Corning Bag Factory. 

The Chemung River floods the flat-lands and a portion of the 
flow of the Monkey Run " ran the streets " for several hours. 



Pastors of the Various Corning Churches in 1868. 229 

May 16, ,1867.— George R.Brown has been appointed Superinten- 
dent of Telegraph and Train Dispatcher of the Tioga Railroad. 

In June, 1867, George Heermans purchased a part interest in the 
foundry and machine shop of George W. Preston. The business 
is conducted under the firm name of Preston & Heermans. 

June 9th the Monitors, of Coming, played the Meteors, of 
Addison, of a game of baseball on the village green in that place- 
The attendance was large and excitement ran high. The score 
was 61 to 29 in favor of Corning. 

July 18, 1867.— Walker & Lathrop have taken a contract to build 
an open wooden bridge across the Chemung at Knoxville for $14,000. 

The score of a game of baseball played at Elmira, July 26, 1867, 
between the Unions, of that place, and the Monitors, of Coming, 
was 65 to 34 in favor of the Monitors. 

In the early Fall of 1867, a large frame building, known as 
Washington Hall, opposite the Erie passenger station, was built by 
George W. Patterson, to be used for public meetings, dances and 
entertainments. The main hall was 70 by 80 feet, with gallery. 

E. Pier is leader of the newly organized band of St Mary's 
Temperance Society. 

The new Knoxville bridge was opened for travel October 16th. 

The night of November 7th, 1867, fire started in Thomas Malady's 
woodhouse, on the north side of Market street, west of Walnut, 
destroyed eight two-story wooden buildings, including the grocery 
stores of Thomas Malady and John Mangan, William Quandt's shoe 
shop and residence, and a number of dwellings. 

The new Methodist Church at Caton Center was dedicated on 
Thursday, January 16, 1868. Rev. H. Harpet was pastor. 

The new First Presbyterian Church in Corning was dedicated 
February 5th, 1868. Rev. W. A. Niles, pastor. 

The various churches in the village of Corning, at the beginning 
of the year 1868, and their pastors, were : Baptist, Rev. J. D, Barnes ; 
Christ Church, Episcopal, Rev. W. W. Montgomery ; Free Baptist, 
Rev. E. B. RoUins ; First Methodist, Rev. S. L. Congdon ; St Mary's 
Catholic, Rev. Peter Colgan. 

S. T. Hayt has purchased of Payne & Pritchard the lots on 
Market street on which their foundry formerly stood, is to erect a 
steam flouring mill, three stories high, of wood. 



230 The Beginning of Coming's Great Glass Industry. 

February 27, 1868. — ^The new Coming House, at Erie avenue and 
Pine Street, has begun business. A. M. Baley is landlord. 

Early in April, 1868, W. F. Townley began operating his new 
planing mill and building furnishings factory, at Cedar street and 
Tioga avenue. The mill is two stories in height and 50 by 70 feet. 

, May 21, 1868.— The Brooklyn Flint Glass Works has made 
arrangements to transfer its manufacturing business from that city 
to Coming. Residents of Coming invest $50,000 ; the interest of the 
owners of the Brooklyn Glass Works will be $75,000. The concern 
will be known as the Coming Glass Works. The Trustees are : 
George T. Spencer, C. D. Sill, Benjamin W. Payne, Theodore Olcott, 
Charks R. Maltby, all of Corning, and A. Houghton and A. Hough- 
ton, Jr., of Brooklyn. 

The Trustees elected the following officers: A. Houghton, 
.President ; Theodore Olcott, Secretary ; C. D. Sill, Treasurer, 

To Elias B. Hungerford is due the credit of iniating the 
hegotiations that brought the Glass Works to Coming. 

Ground was broken for the first building of the Corning Glass 
Works, on Monday morning, June 8, 1868. 

C. R. and Jerome Maltby have bought the four lots on the north 
side of Market street next to Walnut street, the former site of the 
Wheelock Hotel, and have broken ground for a block of stores. 

Recent Deaths.— Rev. S. L. Congdon, pastor of the First Metho- 
dist Church ; Rev. Ira Brown, senior editor and part owner of the 
Corning Democrat; Mrs. Eleanor Davis, wife of Charles T. Davis ; 
Mrs. Eliza Lower, wife of James B. Lower. 

The evening of August 5th, Mark M. Pomeroy addressed a 
largely attended Democratic mass meeting in front of the Dickinson 
House. Attorney George B. Bradley presided. A few weeks later 
Pomeroy began the publication of a daily paper in New York city. 

Hayt & Olcotf s new flouring mills—" The Southern Tier Mills " 
—began to grind the first week in September, 1868. 

Charles Peck has changed the Terrett House into a carriage 
factory. He has arranged to do an extensive business. 

Early Tuesday morning, September 1, 1868, the abandoned found- 
ry at Erie avenue and Wall street, burned. A portion of the building 
was the " Tabernacle," erected in 1845 by seceding members of 
the Presbyterian Church. 

A. Houghton has bought the Dr. Dartt residence on First street. 



Presbyterian Church Torn Down to Construct Barn, 231 

S. C. Campbell, formerly of Painted Post, and later in business at 
Owego, opens a dry goods store on West Market street,, near Pine. 

Joseph Fellows has erected a stone building on tfee island, west' 

of the Glass Works, where stone from local quarries will be cut 
Henry Goff has sold the stock and good will of the Regulator 

store to Newell & Owen, who continue the business- 

The week of October 15th, the 104th and 106th Regiments, State : 

Militia, camped for several days west of the Corning Arsenal- 
Robert J. Burnham succeeds A. J. Owen as general agent of the 

Fall Brook Coal Company, with offices in Coming. 

The Corning Glass Works began the manufacture of glass the 
22d of October, 1868. 

On account of failing health, due to old age, Joseph Fellows 
places his nephew John Heermans in charge of all his business aflfaira 

Rev. Peter Burghardt has become pastor of the Presbyterian 
Church at Painted Post. 

The Gas Company has reduced the price of gas to $4 per 1,000. 

November 26, 1868.— The second chimney of the Coming Glass 
Works will soon be in use. 

William A. Rowland, of Buffalo, a master printer, has taken an 
interest in the Corning Democrat printing office. 

December 3„ 1868.— Brewen, Bums & Upson succeed Forrester 
Brothers as grocers in the west store of the Pritchard Block. 

Major Field is landlord of the Park Hotel at Owego. 

December 20th, 1868.— Rev. Philip Kinsella, of Gang Mills, who 
was recently ordained a priest, celebrated Mass at St. Mary's Church.- 

A lodge of Good Templars has been organized. S.H.Ferenbaugh 
is Worthy Chief Templar ; C. C. Walster is Secretary. 

Fifteen inches of snow fell on Friday and Saturday. 

In February a velocipede was placed on exhibition at Washing- 
ton Hall and demonstrations given. Admission, 15 cents. 

In the Spring of 1869 Hiram Pritchard tore down the old Pres- 
byterian Church, near his home on West Pulteney street, and used 
the timbers and other material salvaged to constmct a bam. There 
is no organization to care for the church yard and adjacent ceme- 
tery, which are in a deplorable condition. 

P. J. Hogan & Company conduct a dry goods and notion store 
in a section of the Maltby Block, at Market and Walnut streets. 



232 Dr. A. J. Ingersoll Establishes Sanatorium. 

May 13, 1869.— Joel Parcel, formerly of Knoxville, now a resident 
of Nebraska, has sold his mortgage interest in the Methodist Chapel 
at the junction of Bridge street with Pulteney, to Hiram Pritchard, 
Mr. Pritchard will deed the groperty for the price he paid, ^bout 
$700), to any local society that will maintain religious services. 

In June, 1869, a series of horse trots and running races took 
place at Vischer's Driving Park, west of Knoxville. 

June 18th the tannery at Curtis was destroyed by fire. 

The shipments of coal from the Blossburg region during the 
month of June, 1869, over the connecting Blossburg and Corning and 
the Tioga railroads, aggregated 92,440 tons — the largest amount ever 
sent over the roads in a single month. A. H. Gorton is Superinten- 
tendent of the Fall Brook lines, and L. H. Shattuck of the road from 
the State line to Blossburg. 

July 1st, 1869, T. S. De Wolfe, of Bath, became an equal partner 
of Dr. Pratt in the Journal office and business. The firm took the 
name of Pratt & De Wolfe. 

A mastodon tooth was found in a gravel bank at Gibson. 

^e " Golden Wedding " of Mr. and Mrs. Horace G. Phelps was 
celebrated. She was Miss Hannah Cortwright, of Wilkes-Barre, Pa. 
They were among the first settlers of the village of Corning. 

William Wormley bought the John Gibson farm, paying $15,000. 

August 12, 1869.— A. T. Cochran and Lewis C. Kingsbury have 
purchased the Charles E. Peck carriage and cutter factory. 

Dr. A. J. Ingersoll has established a sanatorium in new buildings 
on the hillside, north of the village of Knoxville. 

The " Fall Meeting and Fair of the Union Agricultural and 
Mechanical Society " was held at Vischer's Driving Park, September 
28-30. Henry Goff, President ; Q. W. Wellington, Treasurer; Frank 
B. Brown, Secretary ; R. G. Wands, General Superintendent. 

Lieutenant David W. Payne, a member of the teaching staff at 
West Point Military Academy, has resigned, to become a member of 
the firm of B. W. Payne. & Sons, of Coming. 

In November, 1869, Dr. W. S. Purdy began the practice of 
medicine in Coming. 

Dr. E. S. May moved from Caton to Campbell. 

The first week in December, 1869, the Corning Journal office 
was moved from the second floor of the Pritchard Block, to the two- 
story stone building which it occupied contiuously until the publica- 
tion of the paper was suspended in the Summer of 1920. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times, 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XL. 

Corning Men Who Served in the Civil War. 

CORNING AND VICINITY was, population considered, more 
largely represented on the battle-fields of the South, and in 
other militant service, than any other section of the Empire 
State. Many of the men who went out from Corning to help save 
the Union, distinguished themselves in battle or in other meritorious 
service. Any list of names of persons who faithfully served their 
Country, on land or sea, during the War of the Rebellion, is a Roll of 
Honor. Coming's Civil War Honor Roll contains near 630 names. 

In the Spring of 1911, when the time was near at hand for 
placing matters of record in a sealed copper container to rest in 
the cement foundation of the monument at the head of Park avenue, 
the Board of Directors of the Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument 
Association requested Captain Charles Freeman and Attorney Edwin 
C. English to supply the names of Coming enlistments. These two 
veterans were especially well qualified for the important service. 
They devoted nearly two weeks to the task, and then submitted a 
list of six hundred and twenty-two names. Thirty-seven of the 
number served more than one term. A copy of this roll of honor, 
printed on enduring linen paper, was placed in the copper chest 
that is embeded in the cement block on which Coming's Civil War 
memorial stands. The names follow : — 

23d Regiment, New York State Volunteers: 

This Regiment was known as the Southern Tier Rifles. Com- 
pany D was recruited in Coming ; Luzerne Todd, Captain. 

Left the State July 5th, 1861, for two years ; mustered out May 
22d, 1863 ; the three years' men transferred to the 70th Infantry. 

Served at and near Washington ; took part in engagements at 
Falls Church, Ball's Cross Roads, Munson's Hill, Bowling Green 
Road, Orange Court House, Rappahannock River, Sulphur Springs, 

233 



234 Corning In the War Between the States. 

Gainesville, Groveton, Bull Run, Fairfax Court House, South Moun- 
tain, Antietam, Fredericksburg. The Regiment lost a total of two 
officers and 70 men. It was commanded by Qdonel H. C. Hoffinan. 
CORNING ENLISTMENTS. 

Frederick Auck, Harlow Ames, Arthur A. Brown, Jacob H, 
Brown, Henry Bedard, Stephen Blaine, Robert J. Barnard, Joseph A. 
Ball, William Bixby, William E. Barrett, William H. Brooks, Leiand 
S. Breese, Gilbert Breese, Amos Beeman, Rudolph Bucher, William 
E. Chitterling, Peter Calkins, Charles E.Clute, George M.Clute, John 
H. Ciller, Asa A. Camer, Lewis Crawford, Charles Crandall, Newton 
T. Colby, Elijah Crowfoot, William A. Cobb, Thomas Chambers, 
Charles J. Chatfield, Albert R. Davenport, Thomas J, Decker, Louis 
A. Durand, Timothy Dean, John Dunlavy, Francis C. Deere, Abrara 
Duvalle, Edwin Clark English, Jerome Gorton, John C. Gorton, 
Timothy M, Gillan, Jackson Gorton, Dennis K. Gilbert, William H, 
Gitchell. James A. Gilbert, William W. Hayt, John M. H^th, Albert 
C. Hudson, Albert H. Henderson, Herman C. Howell, Amal Hinkley, 
John W. Hall, William P. Hogarty, John Inscho, William H. Jones, 
Nelson Jones, George Johnson, Alexander L Jones, DeWitt C. John- 
son, Alexander J. Jaynes, Thomas Jones, Andrew B. Kelly, Cyrus D. 
Kellogg, William N. Luce, Herman C. Lovell, George E.Lacey, Henry 

C. Lacey, Ebenezer L. Martin, William Mott, Peter McNiel, Orazine 
May, William H. Messenger, Edward H. Miles, Jesse C. May, Isaac 
Miles, Charles H. Mance, Parker Mcintosh, Theodore Merrithew, 
William H. Minnich, Henry McCenna, WiUiam H. Marcy, Schuyler 
Mcintosh, George Piatt, Elias W. Palmer, William I. Palmer, David 
J. Perrine, Charles Quick, James O. M. Russell, John Rice, Ezra M. 
Royce, Ellis Randall, James K. Rathbone, DelosC, Sherwood, Charles 
P. Snick, David B. Salmon, George C. Seamons, Samuel H. Smith, 
Luzerne Todd, Oliver Thomas, Henry VanCampen, David VanEtten, 
Jacob H. Wolcott, Andrew J. Woodward, William Whitfords, Rufus 

D. Young. 

86th Regiment, New York State Volunteers: 

Organized at Elmira, by Colonel Benajah P. Bailey, of Coming. 
Company C, Jacob H. Lansing, Captain, and Company F, Henry G. 
narrower. Captain, were recruited at Coming. 

Left the State November 23d, 1861, for three years ; mustered 
out June 27th, 1865. 

Served in the Army of the Potomac ; was in engagements at 
Bull Rvin, Manassas Gap, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Brandy 



Corneng In the War Between the States. 235 

Station, Gettysburg, Wapping Heights, Aubarn, Kelly's Ford, Locust 
Grove, Wilderness, Spotsylvania Court House, North Anna, Totopo- 
tomoy. Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Deep Bottom, Strawberry Plains,. 
Poplar Spring, Boydton Plank Road, and in Appomattox campaign. 

Regiment lost in the service 17 officers and 310 enlisted men. 
Five enlisted men died in enemy prisons. 

Colonel Bailey was succeeded by Benjamin L. Higgins ; Captain 
Lansing in turn by Robert Barton and Samuel H. Leavitt ; Captain 
narrower by Frederick L. Rainbow. 

Men not entitled to be mustered out with the Regiment, were 
transferred to the 60th Infantry. 

CORNING ENLISTMENTS. 

Ludwig Auck, Thomas O. Allen, Henry Allen, John Briggs, 
Daniel Bettis, Robert Barton, John Baxter, Daniel F. Brown, George 
B. Baker, Benajah P. Bailey, George B. Bishop, Vincent Bishop, 
George W. Bacon, John Baxter, Levi D. Bacon, Frederick Bachle, 
Elias Bagle, Benjamin Bowers, George Bragg, George Crittenden, 
Augustus W. Canfield, Charles H. Comfort, Cornelius Crowley, David 
T. Darring, Charles T. Davis, John Dennis, Henry W. Fuller, Amasa 
L. Gorton, Calvin B. Gilman, Jacob Hallenbeck, William Herman, 
Andrew J. Hodge, John Houghtaling, Abram Herbert, Oscar F. Jones, 
Thomas J. Kibbee, Jacob H. Lansing, Walter A. Luce, Garrett Mahar, 
William McMahon, Martin Mahr, Matthew Murphy, Henry C. Oliver,. 
Thomas R. Pillott, Charles W. Pfeiffer, William E. Palmer, William 
Pfeiffer, Russell Quigley, Leander Stevens, William H. Snyder, Estes 
Sturtevant, Philip Swick, Saul Stevens, George Shaw, William 
Totten, Albert Truax, Buel Taylor, Thomas R. Tillott, Washington 
Vandewalker, William F. Vogel, Caleb Weaver, Hosea H. Williams. 

107th Regiment, New York State Volunteers: 

Organized at Elmira, by Colonel Robert B. VanValkenburgh in 
July, 1862 : mustered in for three years ; left State August 13th, 1862 ; 
part of Company I enlisted at Coming, (Newton T. Colby, Captain ); 
most of the members of Company F at Addison, (James H. Miles, 
Captain). Captain Miles was succeeded in turn by John F. Knox 
and John J. Orr ; Captain Colby by Nathaniel E. Rutter and John R. 
Lindsay. Colonel VanValkenburgh was succeeded in turn by Alex- 
ander S. Diven, of Elmira, and Nirom M. Crane, of Hornellsville. 

The Regiment served for a brief period on the defenses of 
Washington; was in engagements at Antietam, Chancellorsville, 
Gettysburg, with Sherman in the Atlanta campaign ; at Kenesaw 



.236 Corning In the War Between the States. 

Mountain ; on the " March to the Sea," and in the campaign in the 
•Carolinaa Its losses were four officers and 217 enlisted men. 
CORNING ENLISTMENTS. 

Jonathan Briggs, John M. Brown, Gideon M. Beeman, Dexter 
Berry, William H. Benjamin, WUliam Cleaver, Thomas Carmody, 
Michael Costello, Francis Clark, M. M. Coon, Theopolis Corwin, 
Howard Castor, Henry Drummond, Samuel Doolittle, John Everett, 
William Fancher, JohnF. Grant, Lansing F. Grant, Edward P. Graves, 
Warren S. Gregory, Thomas Gilmore, Gideon S. Granger, Caleb L. 
Gardner, George R. Gurnsey, John F. Grant, Lyman N. Hardenberg, 
William Harrison, William Hendricks, William Helmer, William 
Hauber, Henry Inscho, Richard Jacobs, Albert James, Tunis Kester, 
James Kennally, George Leach. James H. Morse, Samuel H. Mott, 
John Martin, Lee Mulford, Elijah C. Rowley, Samuel H. Reed, Rich- 
ard A. Rogers, Frederick Stenbeck, Theodore F. Stenbeck, Ailed N. 
Sill, Franklin Savory, Joseph Smalley, Lyman Stilison, John J, 
Shepherd, Erastus F. Thrall, Simeon J. Thrall, Adam Tomer, James 
Terrell, Harlan VanEtten, Arthur Veazie, Benjamin C. Wilson, Geo. 
H. Weeks, George Wescott, Nelson Wheeler, Washington F. Walker, 
Edward Wheeler, Benjamin C, Wilson. 

141st Regiment New York State Volunteers: 

Organized at Ehnira ; mustered in service of United States on 
11th September, 1862, for three years ; mustered out June 8th, 1865, 
and men not entitled to discharge transferred to 60th infantry. 

Company D was enrolled at Corning ; Charles R. Fuller was 
Captain, followed by William Merrill. Company E, Captain William 
K. Logie, was partly composed of Coming men ; he was succeeded 
by John A. Shults, Joseph G. Townsend and Archie R Baxter. 

Regiment served for a number of weeks in defense of Washing- 
ton ; took part in siege of Suffolk ; took part in engagements at 
Diascund Bridge, Crump's Cross Roads, Wauhatchie, Missionary 
Ridge, Resaca, Dallas, Ackworth, Kenesaw Mountain, Gulp's Farm, 
Peach Tree Creek, Atlanta, with Sherman on " March to the Sea," 
and in the battles of the Campaign of the Carolinas. 

Aggregate losses, six officers and 234 enlisted men. Ten men 
died whUe prisoners of war. 

CORNING ENLISTMENTS. 
Alfred Allen, Overton Allen, Samuel Burt, Archie E. Baxter, 
Henry C. Bonham, Henry Brown, Charles Burley, William H. Brace, 



Corning In the War Between the States. 237 

Edwin Brown, Emerson Belding, M. W. Cunningham, Henry Clark, 
James Clark, Robert Coe, William Coe, Andrew Cretsley, Francis 
Cretsley, William C. Campbell, George H. Davis, Lionel T. DeCarr, 
Darius M. Davis, William M. Doolittle, Pulaski Dekalb, John C. 
Duvall, Israel Elliott, Reuben Emory, Elisha Ellis, Charles H. Free- 
man, Edward Fitzpatrick, John J. Fowler, Abram L. Fowler, Charles 
R. Fuller, Charles E. Graham, Milo Gorton, Stephen D. Gorton, John 
Gibbons, Benjamin Gildersleeve, Frederick Gluer, Lucius L. Graham, 
James Grimes, Warren L. Hinds, Timothy Hunt, William H. Huyck, 
Harrison Howe, Francis Howe, Salmon Honness, Charles Houghton, 
Wilbur F. Hubbard, Julius S. Haradon, Myron Harrison, David A. 
Johnson, Thomas Jeffery, Jacob Kreamer, Abraham Knapp, Zalmon 
R. Loveless. Andrew Lewis, Edward B. Lewis, George H. Lindsley, 
Levi Lindsley, William A. Lindsley, William K. Logic, William N, 
Lockwood, Samuel G. Moore, Minor T. Millard, Andrew J. Merritt, 
Sylvanus W. Millard, Lewis G. Moore, Francis E.McCuUoch, Abram 
McGillvray, Isaac M. Palmer, Orville Perkins, Delos Parkhill, John 
B. Rathbone, Nicholas Reville, John B. Sherwood. Benjamin Smith, 
Henry M. Snyder, Charles Satterly, Samuel Stewart,, George E. 
Stever, Jacob Switzer, Edward Steilbeck, John A. Shults, Andrew J. 
Smith, Oscar D. Smith, Samuel A. Smith, Jeremiah Sullivan, Allen S. 
Tillinghast, John Tanner, Andrew D. Thompson, Hiram C. Turrell, 
Cassius M. Turrell, Joseph G. Townsend, Gilbert H. Tremain, Henry 
Thorp, Nathaniel Taggert, Lorenzo D. Taylor, Andrew Thompson, 
Warren H. Tremain, Richard H. Thornton, Lyman J. Tremain, Chas. 
Thomas, Cornelius Vanderworker, Lewis Weaver, William Williams, 
Alexander H. White, John Weekes, Nathaniel Wood, William I. Wil- 
son, Pulaski D. Wescott, George W. Weldon, Samuel Weldon, Peter 
Wright, Henry Woodhouse, Zina Woodhouse, Felson Wales, John R. 
Wellman, Isaac Wheeler, Henry Williams, Charles H. Webster, Geo. 
H. Watts, Nathan B. Williams, Wesley Wands, Maynard W. Wolcott, 
James H. Wessells. 

161st Regiment, New York State Volunteers: 

Organized at Elmira, by Colonel Gabriel T. Harrowor, and was 
mustered into the service for three years, October 27th, 1862 ; was 
mustered out September 20th, 1865. Company G was recruited at 
Coming ; Edward Fitzpatrick, Captain. 

The Regiment was in engagements in ^'Louisiana at Clinton 
Plank Road, Plain Store, Port Hudson, Bayou La Fourche, Cox's 



238 Corning In the War Between the States. 

Plantation, Sabine Pass (Texas), Vermillionville, Red River campaign; 
and Spanish Fort, Fort Blakeley and Mobile in Alabama. 

The Regiment lost one officer and 305 enUsted men. Thirteen 
enlisted men died in the hands of the enemy. 

Left the State December 4th, 1862, for three years ; mustered 
-out November 12th, 1865. 

CORNING ENLISTMENTS. 

Eli Ames, LeGrand G. Brandt, Henry M. Breese, Judson C. 
Beeman, Christopher Burns, Jacob Baetzel, John F. Bates, George L. 
Barker, Christopher Byrnes, Patrick Conley, Terrance Callighan, 
William Case, Thomas Dillon, Patrick Donovan, George E. Denning, 
Joseph Conlon, Arthur L. Eaton, John Emperor, Hiram Francisco, 
Walter Folnsbee, Stephen Gill, Charles L. Grant, Lewis H. Goodsell, 
William Gillis, Milo A. Hastings, Michael Harris, Albert M. Harris, 
John Hill, Richard Houcks, Michael Herrington, Charles Haik, Casper 
Krener, Frederick K. Lewis, John Lewis, Daniel Lindsay, William 
Lindsay, William V. Morrison, Abram W. McCard, George H. 
McKinney, Thomas Murphy, Henry Marshall, Michael McGivem, 
Richard Monks, Thomas McCuUough, Ezekiel Mullen, Austin 
Omellie, William Payne, Henry Reese, Thomas Riley, John Reagan, 
John Rielly, William H. Smith, William Slagel, Villours D. Starr, 
Samuel Stark, Jakob Schaffer, Andrew Sullivan, John Soles, John 
Wallace, Warren M. Williams, John S. Warren. 

188th Regiment, New York State Volunteers: 

Organized by Colonel James R. Chamberlain, succeeded by John 
McMahon ; mustered into service for one year in October, 1864 ; 
part of Company F was recruited in Corning and Hornby ; James 
T. Reilly, Captain. 

Regiment served before Petersburg, in engagements at Hatcher's 
Run and Hickford's Raid ; took part in Appomattox campnign ; was 
in battles at Five Forks and at Fall of Richmond. Lost one officer 
and 53 enlisted men ; one enlisted man died in hands of the enemy. 
CORNING ENLISTMENTS. 

Joseph E. Barber, Jefferson Burns, William A. Bronson, Andrew 
J. Butler, Jefferson Burris, Anthony Barrett, William A. Brown, 
DeWitt Gorton, Henry D. Green, Allen Lindsley, Elijah F, Mott, 
William H. Mott, Abraham Mott, William H. Martin, Gilbert Norris, 
Dennis Nash, Lewis 0. Parker, Lorenzo A. Rice, John Shaw, James 
E. Shaw, Thomas Tapper, John Thompson, Lemuel Thompson. 



Corning In the War Between the States. 239 



Men who enlisted in Corning and served in various other New 
York Regiments of Infantry, or as otherwise indicated : — 

Thirteenth Regiment, N. Y. Vols —Charles E. Macanty; 14th, 
James McGloin, Isaac K Rose, Israel VanCampen, Patrick Corcoran ; 
15th, Edward H. Smith; 20th, George M. Clark, George W. McNiel; 
25th, Charles W. Denning; 17th, William Nichols ; 21st, Edward L. 
Barnes ; 33d, Elijah Crowfoot ; 35th, S. H. Blackman, Giles B. Beebe, 
Carlton H. Lovell, Frank Matthias, Charles L. Welden, James Casey, 
Joseph F. Briggs, Martin Casey. John H. Babcock ; 33d, Albert C. 
Hudson; 37th, Adelph Goodsell ; 63, Sumner B. Sturtevant ; 71st, 
Robert J. Burham; 76th. Joseph Barbour, Jr.; 78th; John F.Brown; 
85th, James Miller, William Hemin ; 117th, James Farrer ; 160th, 
Clarkson Heath ; 150th, MyronW. Robbins ; 185th, John Stevens ; 126th, 
James A. Stall ; 189th, Andrew J. Dunham, N. W. Hubbard, Thomas 
J. Kibbee, John H. Maloney, Jesse Matteson, Chester L. Stone, Austin 
A. Swetland, Mulford R. Swetland; 108th, Chester E. Kenyon; 171st, 
Alexander Mott ; 194th, Henry Morse ; 142d, Lauren D. Voak, Charles 
S. Van Housen; 97th, Hoyt C. Bishop, Frederick Darrin, James 
Murphy, Daniel Oliphant, Eli Perry ; 2d Regiment Colored Volun- 
teers, Salem Loucks. 

Rockwell Johnson, 52d Illinois ; Walter C. Noble, 3d Ohio ; Henry 

F. Peet, 6th Pa.; Charles A. Palmer, 132d Pa.; Jeremiah Rogan, 1st 
Pa.; Lewis Rasch, 87th Pa.; George Seymour, 207th Pa.; William H. 
Lucus, 14th Rhode Island ; Frederick Grasper, 14th U, S^ James H- 
Cochran, 20th Battery; Reuben F. Hamm, 8th U. S.; Henry D. May, 
5th U. S.; Charles C. Morris, 1st Rifles ; George R. Mott, 14th U. S.; 
Peter B. Phenes, 14th U. S.; Lemuel Jacobs, Navy, 

In the Artillery Service: 

Fourteenth Heavy Artillery— Thomas Brown, Perry Blunt, John 
Brooks, John M. Bailey, Alexander Braggart, Alexander Bailey, 
Erwin Barker, Richard K. Bennett, Martin Briggs, John Brock, 
Richard Connor, Dennis Cany, Josiah A. Clark, Clark J. Cone, Nich- 
olas Courkrue, Augustus Detholf, William J. Dailey, William H. Dud- 
ley, Benjamin F. Erway, Peter Foley, George Gorton, Robert Hardy, 
Epekial Johnson, John Johnson, Allen Miller, Alonzo Mcintosh, John 
Myers, Charles E. Mulford, Charles Pennock, George Rogers, Reuben 

G. Stevens, Charles W. Smith, George H. Smith, Byron W. Thrall, 
Ashbury Townsend, Loren B. Tompkins, George Vintull, Charles 
Worden, Chauncey Webster, George Winchell, Edwin Williams. 

Sixth Artillery— Michael Acheson; 5th Artillery, Fred R. 
Berling ; 13th Artillery, Silas B. Decker, Charles W. Edger ; John 



.240 Corning In the War Between the States. 

Taylorson ; 6th Artillery, David Morrison ; 1st Artillery, John G. 
Gillan, W. Frank Gillan. 

50th Regiment, New York State Engineers: 

Left State September 20th, 1861, for three years ; mustered out 
in July, 1865 ; was originally the 50th Infantry. Charles B. Stewart 
was Colonel from August 15th, 1861, to June 3, 1863 ; William H. 
Bettes from January 1, 1864, till July 5, 1865. 

The Regiment lost two officers and 229 enlisted men. It took 
part in the following engagements : Siege of Yorktown, Seven Days' 
Battle in Virginia, Malvern Hill, Fredericksburg, Pollock's Mill 
Creek, Chancellorsville, Fredericksburg, Bank's Ford, Deep Run, 
Gettysburg (detachment), Mine Run Campaign, Wilderness, Spotsyl- 
vania Court House, North Anna, Totopotomoy, Cold Harbor, Before 
Petersburg, Deep Bottom, Appomattox Court House. 

Talma F. Averill, Buell Babcock, Jesse B. Bixby, Daniel S. 
Boardman, Isaac F. Brown, David Brundage, Isaac F. Bronson, Ber- 
nard Cowley, Benjamin F. Cooper, James S. Cole, Worden Cox, Isaac 
0. Caldwell, James B. Caulkins, Myron Davenport, John B. Fero, 
Hiram Florence, Isaac Folnsbee, Orley R. Gorton, Sylvanus T. Good- 
sell, William Morgan, Amas Miller, Charles McClusky, Joel Mid- 
daugh, Sheldon Odell, William H. Rogers, Peter J. Sincebaugh, Daniel 
Sweeny, Gorton Tobey, Nathaniel Tobey, John Telarey, Ephriam 
TuUette. 

In the Cavalry Service: 

Fifth Cavalry— Edward S. Borst, Peter H. Fero, Cornelius Gorton, 
Edward McNally, John L. UpDyke ; 1st Cavalry, Samuel Jacobs, 
Henry Traver ; 2d Cavalry, Byron A. Barton, Frank Veith ; 6th 
Cavalry, William Kemp; 10th Cavalry, William H. Clark, Albert 
Orser, Edwin Pier, George S. Spencer, William H. Slater, Thomas 
Townley, John Williams, Guy Winkoop ; 21st Cavalry, Andrew Kerr ; 
.24th Cavalry, Richard L. Hill. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XLI. 

Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 

THE MARRIAGE NOTICES presented herewith, indicate the 
blending of many of the first settler and later pioneer 
families of Corning. It is a mistake to permit the family 
name of the mother-line to disappear at the marriage altar. The 
list of marriages that follow will be perused with exceeding interest 
by those descended from the good and substantial stock, whose 
forebears planted the first colonies along the Atlantic coast, and 
whose children and children's children pressed the conquest thus 
begun, to the redemption of a Continent. Coming has a place in 
the history of the founding of the Nation of which it is a part ; a 
place as honorable as that of any sea-coast community. The first 
families of the Painted Post Section of the Genesee Country were of 
the Puritan manner of thought — they were impelled to achievement 
by the same Faith. Hence they came and possessed the land. 

These notices are a continuance of the " Domestic Roll of Honor " 
as printed on pages 163 and 164 of this book, under the topic -title of 
" Merry Wedding Bells in Pioneer Days." 

Married at the Methodist Church in Coming, February 18, 1844, 
Eleazer Perry Mulford and Sarah Jane daughter of James C. Davis. 

In Coming, August 3d, 1848, by Rev. S. B. Shearer, Miss Fannie, 
daughter of S. B. Denton, of Coming, and James H. Chapman, of 
Jefferson, [Watkins]. 

In Coming, October 22d, 1848, by B. Pew, Esq., George Camp- 
bell, of Knoxville, and Miss Emily Wedge ; also, at the same time 
and place, by the same, George Washington and Miss Julia Hardy. 

In Corning, October 19, 1848, by Rev. Mr. Gilbert, Seymour F. 
Denton and Miss Lucretia Morse, both of Coming. 

In Coming, October 19th, 1848, by Rev. H. Pattengill, Amasa J. 
Lamphere and Miss Louise Persons, all of Corning. 

241 



242 Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 

In Corning, October 31st, 1848, by Rev. J. Pierson, Darius B. 
Sturdevant, formerly of Brookfield, Conn., and Miss Mary Davis, 
■daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James C. Davis. 

In Corning, December 9th, 1848, by Rev. H. Pattengill, Charles 
Hastings and Miss Lucinda Harrison. 

In Corning, January 6th, 1849, by Jesse Clark, Jr., Esq., William 
Gilroy, of Bath, and Sarah Lewis, of Corning. 

In Corning, January 25, 1849, by Rev. Mr. Wiley, Virgil Tupper 
and Miss Juliette Parcell. 

In Gibson, March 11, 1849, by Rev. H. Pattengill, John VanEtten 
and Miss Mary Louise Lawrence. 

In Corning, April 10, 1849, by Rev. H. Pattengill, Jesse S. Clark 
and Miss Eunice Person, both of Corning. 

In Painted Post, April 19, 1849, William H. Messenger and Miss 
Charlotte Newton, both of Corning. 

In Coming, April 17, 1849, by Rev. H. Pattengill, Alvah Rowley, 
of East Painted Post, and Miss Caroline Peart, of Big Flats. 

In Corning, July 30, 1849, by Rev. H. Pattengill, Levi M. Rumsey 
and Miss Sophia Williams. 

In Coming, January 24, 1850, by Rev. A. L. Brooks, Lorenzo 
Oviatt, and Miss Mary M. Hunt, both of Corning. 

In Corning, February 17, 1850, by Rev. W. Bullard, William H. 
Cooper and Miss Mary Ann Carr, both of Corning. 

In Corning March 24, 1850, by Rev. A. L. Brooks, Sylvester 
Burton and Miss Eunice E. Clark. 

In Corning, April 4, 1850, by Rev. H. N. Seaver, D. K. Fuller, of 
Rathbone, and Miss Lycia E. Arnold, of Corning. 

In Painted Post, April 20, 1850, by B. Pew, Esq., Timothy Spen- 
cer and Miss Mary Briggs. 

In Corning, June 23, 1850, by Rev. A. L. Brooks, Oilman W. 
Perkins, of Painted Post, and Miss Mariah M. Huntley, of Corning. 

Married at Big Flats, September 4, 1850, Augustus S. Parks and 
Miss Sarah A. Shields, both of Coming. 

In Corning, October 7, 1850, Ira Hamlin and Miss Sheloneth 
Crawford, daughter of Andrew Crawford, of Caton. 

In Coming, October 10, 1850, H. B. Middaugh, of Lawrenceville, 
Pa., and Miss Julia A. Somers, of Corning. 



Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 2A3 

In Coming, October 29, 1850, George A. Wheelock and Miss 
Amelia Lyon, of Corning. 

In Corning, November 14, 1850, by Rev. A. L. Brooks, Charles H. 
Berry and Miss Frances Hubbell, of Coming. 

In Corning, November 24, 1850, James W. Parker and Miss- 
Charlotte Rice. 

January 8, 1851, by Rev. A. L. Brooks, William N. Howell, of 
Elmira, and Miss Emily Bonham, of Knoxville. 

In Coming, February 12, 1851, Brazilla Dana and Miss Ann 
Eliza Weeks. 

April 2, 1851, David S. Powers, of Coopers Plains, and Miss 
Abigal M. Bussey, of Beaver Dams. 

In Coming, May 1, 1851, by Rev. H. Pattengill, W. Douglass 
Terbell and Miss Celina N. Robinson, both of Coming. 

In Campbell, December 3, 1851, by Rev. J. C. Mallory, Edward 
Armstrong and Mary L. Wallen. 

In Corning, December 11, 1851, William T. Rigby and Marietta, 
daughter of Alvan Rowley, of East Painted Post. 

In Lindley, December 12, 1851, by Rev. S. J. McCuUough, Wm. 

E. Butts, of Helena, Ark., and Miss Catherine A. Lindsley. 

In Coming, December 30, 1851. Abner A. Bailey and Adelia 
Sanford, both of Coming. 

In Corning, December 31, 1851, George Thompson and Martha, 
daughter of Lucius Wamer. 

Married at Almond, March 10, 1852, Dr. N. M. Herrington, of 
Coming, and Julia A. Genung, of Almond. 

March 4, 1852, H. J. Lombard, of Corning, and Catherine, daugh- 
ter of Lewis Edminster, of Big Flats. 

In Albany, March 26, 1852, Erastus Dodge, of Coming, and Miss 
C. Luce, of Albany. 

In Coming, June 3, 1852, George Wilier and Matilda Briggs. 

In Corning, June 28, 1852, by Rev. J. M. Watts, James K. Newell 
and Julia A., daughter of Russell Hunt. 

In Corning, September 8, 1852, by Rev. R. E. Wilson, L. S. 
Thomas and Charlotte R. Young. 

In Coming, September 16, 1852, by Rev. R. E. Wilson, Charles 

F. Dodge, of Owego, and Matilda P. Smith, of Corning. 



244 Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 

At the Presbyterian Church, in Coming, October 5, 1852, by Rev. 
■R. E. Wilson, J. N. Robinson and Miss W. A. Barton. 

In Corning, October 6, 1852, by Rev. F. W. Graves, of Ithaca, 
LaRue P. Thompson and Martha C. daughter of Dr. J. C. Hayt. 

In Coming, October 18, 1852, Ora Kelly, of Jackson, and Sarah 
A. daughter of William A. Johnson, of Corning. 

In Caton, October 26, 1852, by Rev. Mr. Wood, N. D. Davis, of 
Coming, and Adelaide M. Westcott, of Caton. 

In Coming, December 23, 1852, by Rev. R. E. Wilson, William 
W. Hayt and Mary H. Hart, daughter of William Hart. 

In Caton, December 19, 1852, by Rev. William Jones, Andrew J. 
Roe and Lucinda Johnston. 

In Caton, December 30, 1852, Dyer Powers, of Lawrenceville, 
and Maria D. daughter of J. L. Whitney, of Caton. 

In Caton, same day, Lewis Wood and Lovina Martin. 

In Coming, January 23, 1853, William H. Drammond and Mary 
Weeks, both of Corning. 

In Centerville, February 13, 1853, by Rev. B. F. Pratt, George 
Stevens and Olive Southwick ; also, Harmon Stevens and Martha J. 
Gillett. 

In Coming, March 20, 1853, by Rev. William Jones, Nathaniel D. 
Kimball and Janette Eunison, both of Corning. 

In Knoxville, March 30, 1853, Milton J. Mallory and Laura 
Buckley, both of Knoxville. 

Aprfl 12, 1853, by Rev. C. S. Coats, I. R. Robbins, of Horseheads, 
and Catherine Brown, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, June 7, 1853, Washington Stewart and Elizabeth 
Davis, both of Coming. 

In Little York, Cortland County, June 6, 1853, John C. Phelps, of 
Coming, and Sarah C. Stevens, of Little York. 

In Gibson, June 5, 1853, Edwin Pease and Sophia P. Rouse. 
In Lawrenceville, June 7, 1853, by Rev. David Harrower, Edwards 
Williams, of New York, and Susan A. daughter of Benj. Harrower. 

In Coming, June 7, 1853, Wellington Stewart and Elizabeth 
daughter of Dexter Davis. 

In Coming, June 7, 1853, W. Towner and Harriet Lyon. 



Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 245 

In Coming, June 30, 1853, by Rev. T. McElheney, George W. 
Preston and Amanda R. West. 

In Campbell, July 3, 1853, Uri Harvey and Lucy C. Cornell. 

In Caton, July 17, 1853, Henry Russell and Elizabeth A. Gorton. 

In Coming, August 31, 1853, by Rev. J. Watts, Joseph F. Moore 
and Adele D. Clark, both of Coming. 

In Painted Post, September 7, 1853, by Rev. N. H. Seaver, Alfred 
A. Hall and Abby Jane daughter of Matthew VanGeWer. 

In Elbridge, September 14, 1853, Levi Rowley, Jr., of Coming, 
and Emma Farnham, of Elbridge. 

In Coming, October 9, 1853, by Rev. David Nutten, John D. 
Hood and Rebecca R. Crist, both of Coming. 

In Caton, October 2, 1853, Nelson Pelton and Amanda C. Gregory, 
daughter of Orlando Gregory. 

In Coming, December 20, 1853, by Rev. R. E. Wilson, Welcome 
S. Burdick and Isabella daughter of James C. Davis. 

In Coming, December 27, Damon Hodgkins, of Lisle,, and Caro- 
line L., daughter of David Mallory, of Coming. 

In Coming, January 26, 1854, Mark M. Pomeroy and Miss A. A. 
Wheeler, both of Coming. 

In Palmyra, March 2, 1854, by Rev. Horace Eaton, Charles C. B. 
Walker, of Corning, and Miss Maria D. Townsend, of Palmyra. 

In Painted Post, April 26, 1854, Thomas Barr and Miss C. Kinney. 
In Kinderhook, N. Y., May 24, 1854, William W. Robinson, of 
Coming, and Jenny Vandervoort, of Kinderhook. 

In Knoxville, June 6, 1854, John B. Record and Betsey E. Lattin. 
In Corning, June 12, 1854, Nelson A. Walker and Almira Jacobs. 

In Coming, June 22, 1854, by Rev. N. Barrows, Jarius M. Bell, of 
Athens, and Helen E. daughter of James Somers. 

In Corning, July 3, 1854, John D. Delamater and Sabrina J. Sears. 

In Corning, July 2, 1854, by Rev. D. Nutten, Oscar F. Robinson 
and Harriet A. Richtmyer, both of Coming. 

In Coming, August 7, 1854, Charles Hill and Almira Clark. 

In Lindley, James H. Middlebrook and Miss M. L. Lindsley. 

In Caton, Sept. 6, 1854, Silas R. Rhodes and Amelia A. Osborne. 



246 Btides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 

In Coming, September 20, 1854, by Rev. D. Nutten, George W. 
Thorn, of Fort Ann, N. Y., and Helen P. Bailey, of Corning. 

Same date, Jacob Krieger and Christiana D. Krener, of Corning. 

In LeRoy, Pa., October 11, 1854, John Mallory, of Corning, and 
Mrs. Lemira Holcomb, of Le Roy. 

In Corning, October 20, 1854, at Christ Church, W. L. Bigelow 
and Harriet M. daughter of Lauren Mallory. 

In Corning, October 20, 1854, by Rev. A. H. Starkweather, Carlos 
D. Robinson and Mary Dunning, both of Corning. 

At Harford, N. Y., November 22, 1854, Andrew J. Phelps, of 
Coming, and Sarah M. Ketchum, of Harford. 

In Caton, December 6, 1854, Spicer S. Berry and Olive E. Reed. 

In Coming, January 1, 1855, Charles Wolcott, 3d, and Huldah 
Jane, daughter of Aaron H. Gillett 

In Coming, March 1, 1855, RoUin Farnum and Emily L. Doud. 
In Corning, March 13, 1855, John Wolcott and Phebe Berry. 

In Painted Post, March 14, 1855, by Rev. B. F. Balcom, Alvin 
Owen and Emily Remington. 

In Thurston, March 18, 1855, by Rev. O. P. Alderman, John H. 
Goodsell and Elizabeth S. Corbitt 

In Corning, April 10, 1855, at the First Presbyterian Church, by 
Rev. R. E. Wilson, Charles G. Denison and Martha A. Land. 

In Corning, April 28, 1855, by Rev. D. Nutten, Anthony Stewart 
and Ann H. Sherwood, both of Corning. 

In Starkey, May 22, 1855, Sidney B. Howell, of Painted Post, and 
Isabel Swartwood, of Starkey. 

In Caton, July 3, 1855, Harvey Wood and Veletta Hardenburg. 

In Painted Post, September 9, 1855, Charles D. Bamard and 
Mary S. Gorton, both of Corning. 

In Hornby, September 20, 1855, Alfred Roloson and Miss Martha 
Knowlton, both of Hornby. 

In Caton, October 3, 1855, Erastus Davis and Mary Harrison. 

Nov, 1, 1855, William T. Rigby and Susan Pearce, of Corning. 

In Coming, November 13, 1855, M. S. Hubbard, of Candor, and 
Caroline M. Dodge, of Corning. 

In Coming, May 21 1856, Alexander Olcott and Catherine A. 
Mallory, both of Corning. 



Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 247 

In Lawrenceville, May 14, 1856, by Rev. E. D. Wells, Joel Park- 
hurst, of Elkland, and Mrs. Martha Steele, daughter of B. Harrower. 

In Corning, June 26, 1856, Charles Walter and Anna R. Bower. 

June 10, 1856, John Borst, of Painted Post, and Nancy VanGelder,. 
of Bath. At same time, A. E. Booth, of Mitchellville, and Susan 
Wygant, of Painted Post. 

In Corning, September 30, 1856, by Rev. C. Morton, Rev. J. C. 
Mallory, pastor of the Baptist Church at Savona, and Mary M. 
daughter of David Baker, of Corning. 

In Coming, October 2, 1856, by Rev. D. Chichester,. Theodore 
Olcott and Annie H. Maynard, of Coming. 

In Lindley, October 8, 1856, John E. Evans, of Painted Post, and 
Jane Eliza daughter of Benjamin Patterson. 

November 6, 1856, Edwin S. Kelsey, of Coming, and Nancy M. 
Harrison, of Caton. 

In Palmyra, November 19, 1856, Stephen T.. Hayt, of Coming, 
and Margaret C. daughter of Edward S. Townsend. 

In Caton, Nov. 23, 1856, George Gillett and Susan M. Hobnes. 

In Corning, December 4, 1856, John Maynard and Anna B. 
eldest daughter of Judge Thomas A. Johnson. 

In Coming, December 24, 1856, Dr. Rufus H. Gilbert and Bertha 
Maynard, daughter of the late John Maynard, of Auburn. 

In Erwin, same date, Samuel C. Erwin and Elizabeth Thompson. 

In Corning, January 15, 1857, Julius Schrimer and Mary J. 
daughter of L. Mallory. 

In the Town of Coming, Febraary 25, 1857, by Rev. W. E. Pin- 
der, George N. Ripley and Harriet E. Gardner. 

April 8, 1857, Joseph H. Gillett, of Coming, and Eliza Thomas, 
of Addison. 

In Coming, May 20, 1857, Henry G. Tuthill and Kate A. Townley. 

In Coming, May 26, 1857, by Rev. A. S. Baker, L. B. Van Scoter 
and Sarah S. daughter of Rufus Gorton. 

In Hornby, June 18, 1857. Hon. A. B. Dickinson and Mrs. 
Abagail Genung, both of Hornby. 

In Coming, July 4, 1857, by Rev. A. S. Baker, John Van Gorder, 
of Painted Post, and Sylvina Peck, of Coming. 



248 Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 

In Coming, September 18, 1857, Lorenzo D. Phelps and Mrs. 
Anna Belcher, both of Coming. 

In Corning, September 19, 1857, Albert M. Plimpton and Delia 
M. Metcalf, both of Corning. 

In Painted Post, September 27, 1857, by Rev. J. Joralemon, Syl- 
vester Young and Mary E. Zimmerman, both of Painted Post. 

In Coming, October 1, 1857, by Rev. A. S. Baker, Joseph Hollen- 
beck and Martha Fowler. 

In Coming, Oct. 17, 1857, Alonzo Parks and Mrs. Lana Morgan. 
In Lindley, Nov. 18, 1857, Dyer Power and Marion L. Seelye. 

In the Town of Erwin, December 23, 1857, James McHenry and 
Susan M. only daughter of Dr. J. Cutler of the Town of Coming. 
Jan. 1, 1858, Andrew Thompson and Susan VanEtten, of Gibson. 

In Caton, March 17, 1858, by Rev. Isaac Everitt, Julius M. Lewis 
and Mary F. Cooper, daughter"of Anson Cooper, formerly of Coming. 

In Caton, March 23, 1858, by Rev. S. M. Broakman, Augustus 
Johnson and Jane Quackenbush. 

March 27, 1858, Lyman Brown, of Caton, and Ada Eliza Luce, of 
Coming. 

At Portville, May 3, 1858, Wallace W. Weston, of the firm of 
Weston Brothers, and Harriet E. daughter of J. G. Mersereau. 

In Caton, May 11, 1858, by Rev, D, Chichester, George A. Rich- 
ards and Lucinda R. daughter of Titus Smith. 

In Coming, September 9, 1858, Martin V. Sayles and Mary M. 
daughter of Hiram Fritchard. 

In Coming, the same date, Andrew J. Miller and Almira Cole. 

In Hornby, September 15th, 1858, by Rev. Edward Z. Lewis. Isaac 
C. Haradon, of Corning, and Mary A. Dickinson. 

In Coming, October 13, 1858, James A. Parsons and Mary Land, 
daughter of Robert Land. 

In Painted Post, October 27, 1858, Francis Erwin and Helen 
Campbell, both of Painted Post. 

November 2, 1858, Chester S. Cole, of Corning, conductor on the 
Buffalo, New York and Erie Railroad, and Addie Wheat. 

In Corning, December 1, 1858, Truman S. Pritchard and Mary 
W. daughter of William McCarty. 



Brides and Grooms of the Settlement Period. 2A9 

In Coming, January 19, 1859, Charles Weeks and Lydia Gorton. 

In Caton, February 27, 1859, Simeon L. Wormley, of Coming, 
and Lucy A. Hubbard, of Caton. 

In Hornby, March 30, 1859, Daniel R. Conover and Nancy M. 
Shults, both of Hornby. 

In Rochester, May 17, 1859, John L. Wheat, of Louisville, Ky., 
{formerly of Coming), and Mary E. daughter of Rev. Nathan Fellows. 

In Caton, May 26, 1859, Dr. Horace E. Gilbert and Eunice Deyo. 

In Christ Church, Corning, Wm. Walker and Helen C. Bostwick. 

In Coming, June 23, 1859, John N. Hungerford and Mary W. 
Gansevoort, formerly of Bath. 

In Painted Post, June 22, 1859, Dr. N. R. Seeley, of Corning, and 
Mary C. Stuart, of Painted Post 

In Campbell, June 29, 1859, James G. Terbell and Frances F. 
daughter of John P. Knox. 

In Corning, August 18, 1859, by Rev. Charles Morton, Henry H. 
Greek and Elenore E. only daughter of Jacob Martin. 

In Corning, October 30, 1859, Fred S. Bragg and Mary Warner. 

In Bath, November 9, 1859, Charles R. Maltby and Eliza A. Stone. 

In Coopers Plains, November 16, 1859, Benjamin Balcom and 
Eliza Malvina Dunklee, both of CampbelL 

In Coming, December 6, 1859, A. H. Terwilliger and Martha E. 
daughter of H. G. Phelps. 

In Coming, January 2, 1860, Philo S. Drake, of Painted Post, and 
Miss Diadama A. Gillett, of Coming. 

In Coming, February 2, 1860, Horatio B. Haradon, of Hornby, 
and Frances D. Case, of Coming. 

In Painted Post February 1, 1860, W. S. Hodgman and Jennie 
daughter of Lyman Balcom. 

In the Town of Erwin, April 27, 1860, Robert B. Wilkes, of Bath, 
and Harriet M., youngest daughter of General F. E. Erwin. 

In Caton, April 3, 1860, Timothy S. Wolcott and Miss Adelia L. 
daughter of Amaziah Tobey. 

In Caton, April 17, 1860, by Rev. C. Bush, W. M. Wolcott and 
Julia E. Lewis, both of Caton. 

In Knoxville, April 26, 1860, Orlando Dewitt and Celestia King. 

In Hornby, May 24, Peleg Gorton, of Corning, and Eliza Burnap. 



250 Marriages in Coming and Vicinity, I860-' 62. 

In Caton, July 8, 1860, George E. French and Cynthia A. Davis. 

In Caton, October 3, 1860, Alonzo Deyo and Charlotte M. Cooper. 

December 24, 1860, by Rev. J. T. Arnold, George M. Clark, of 
Coming, and Minerva Mallory, of Knoxville. 

In Corning, December 25, 1860, by Rev. H. F. Hill, Henry H. 
Colby and Emma J. Barton. 

On the same day, John McBumey, Jr., and Mary A. Seaman. 

January 31, 1861, by Rev. H. F. Hill, Alvin T. Payne, of Corning, 
and Martha, daughter of Esek A. Brown, of Caton. 

February 13, 1861, O. J. Robinson, of Coming, and Carrie C. 
Fulton, of Stanley's Corners. 

February 27, 1861, David Welden and Sybil Briggs, of Corning. 

In Hornby, March 20, 1860, by Rev. R. B. Stanton, Harvey Cole, 
of Post Creek, and Elizabeth J. Humphrey, of Hornby. 

June 12, 1861, W. W. Fay, of Painted Post, and Maggie L. daugh- 
ter of H. M. Hurlburt, of Coming. 

At the Presbyterian Church in Coming, July 31, 1861. by Rev. 
W. A. Niles, George W. Preston and Electa Ann Burton. 

In Elmira, August 18, 1861, Charles H. Soule, of Coming, and 
Hattie A. Patchen, of Elmira. 

At Christ Church, Coming, September 17, 1861, by Rev. Mr. 
Ferguson, George W. Patterson, Jr., and Frances D. Todd. 

In Corning, October 10, 1861, John Wilson and Annie E. daugh- 
ter of Captain Thomas Murray. 

la Coming, Febmary 5, 1862, Mar^all G. BurtMi and Marion 
daughter of Joel Kelley. 

In Coming, April 26, 1862, William J. Hewlett and Olive Frances 
Grinnell, both of Coming. 

In Caton, May 1, 1862, Thomas H. Rhodes and Sarah Dewaters. 

In Christ Church, May 21, 1862, Ellsworth D. Mills and A. Eliza 
Wellington, sister of Quincy W. Wellington. 

In Corning, June 3, 1862, Samuel Frymire and Miss R. L. daugh- 
ter of Dr. O. Mumford. 

In Caton, June 5, 1862, Horace E. Gilbert and Jenny C. Gridley. 
In Hornby, August 21, 1862, by Rev. E. Hotchkiss, Rev. George 
C. Whiting and Catherine L. Bixby. 



Marriages in Coming and Vicinity, 1862-'65. 251 

In Buffalo, Septemba- 9, 1862, Frank B. Brown, editor of the 
Corning Democrat, and Cornelia M. DeVoe. 

In Knoxville, September 15, 1862, by Rev. H. F. Hill, W. L. 
Shearer and Miss E. A. Palmer, both of Knoxville. 

Incoming, September 28, 1862, Dr. J. M. Cutler and Miss E. A. 
Harrington, of Jamestown, N. Y. 

In Caton, December 24, 1862, Erwin Gr^ory, son of Stephen 
Gregory, and Laura Hildreth. 

In New Haven, Conn., January 20, 1863, John P. Carr, of Coming, 
and Mary Elizabeth Jeffery, daughter of E. A. Jeffery. 

In Coming, March 16, 1863, Richard L. Hill and Julia A. Havens. 

In Corning, April 23, 1863. by Rev. T. Tousey, Barton Edmister, 
of Erwin, and Eliza Rowley, of Coming. 

In Coming, July 31, R. A. Bonham and Maggie A. Tillinghast 

In Brooklyn, N. Y., September 24, 1863, Nelville E. Waite, of 
Corning, and Angle F. Badger. 

In Corning, November 12, 1863, by Rev. Ira Brown, William J. 
Oldfield and Emily Wolever, both of Post Creek. 

In Corning, January 27, 1864, George Wolcott and Amanda S. 
Ferenbaugh, both of Coming. 

In Caton, March 10, 1864, George J. Hill and Maria ScutL 

In Fairfield, Conn., September 21, 1864, Dr. Augustus T. Mills, 
of Corning, and Sarah B. daughter of Captain Charles K. Crocker. 

In Coming, Dea 7, 1864, Geo. W. Page and Martha M. Brown. 

In Coming, April 6, 1865, J. S. Slie, principal of the Coming Free 
Academy, and Martha M. Hubbard 

In Corning, July 2, 1865, Carlton H. Lovell, of Corning, and Miss 
Sarah A. Carlton, of Bath. 

In Corning, July 12, 1865, William Henry Sweetland and Emily 
Adelaide Gorton, daughter of Hiram Gorton. 

In Painted Post, July 24, 1865, by Rev. J. D. Barnes, G. A. 
Wilder, of Corning, and Alice Degroat, of the Town of Erwin. 

In Coming, August 23, 1865, by Rev. R. Hogoboom, Henry 
Becket and Amanda daughter of David Spencer. 

In Corning, September 13, 1865, John B. Burt and Miss Jennie 
E. Wormley, both of Corning. 



252 Marriages in Coming and Vicinity, 1865-'67. 

In Coming, September 17, 1865, by Rev. W. A. Niles, Horace 
Vastbinder, of Lindley, and Ethie Harrison, of Caton. 

At the Baptist Church in Coming, September 28, 1865, by Rev. 
Norman Fox, Lieutenant-Colonel William F. Fox, of Painted Post, 
and Mary A., daughter of L. H. Shattuck, Supt. Tioga Railroad. 

October 22, 1865, Harrison Howe and Melissa Gregory, of Caton. 

In New York, November 21, 1865, Lieutenant Charles H. Free- 
man and Monnie C. King, of New York. 

November 28, 1865, "William G{rff and Mary Gibbs, of Coming. 

In Corning, January 17, 1866, by Rev. J. K. Tuttle, Albert Pritch- 
ard and Nettie Bixby, of Coming. 

January 4, 1866, Julius S. Haradon, of Coming, and Miss Nellie 
Miller, daughter of John Miller, of Hornby. 

In Corning, April 10, 1866, Eugene Clark and Carrie J. Townley. 

February 22, 1866, Samuel E. Wolcott and Florence H. Smith, 
daughter of Dr. S. H. Smith, all of Caton. 

March 11, Henry C. Rowley and Harriet Williams, ol Caton. 

March 29, Byron Goodsell and Anna E. Dickinson, of Hornby.. 

March 29, O. D. Rouse and Mary Calkins, both of Gibson. 

In Coming, May 17, 1866, Dr. Charles M. Graves and Mary, only 
daughter of Blake Owen, of Coming. 

In Coming, May 16, 1866, by Rev. J. K. Tuttle, Edwin Clark 
English and Frances P. Gulliver, both of Caton. 

In Trumansburg, June 13, 1866, William H. Clark, of Corning, 
and Mary E. Chandler, of Trumansburg. 

In Coming, August 20, 1866, Eugene Jaynes and Julia F. Brown. 

InKnoxville, November 29, 1866, by Rev. W. A. Niles, Pulaski 
D. Wea:ott and Nellie A. King, both of Knoxville. 

In Hornby, Nov. 7, Peter Clovenhaven and Harriet A. Randall. 
In Perm Yan, December 18, 1866, Judge Thomas A. Johnson, of 
Corning, and Mrs. Sarah W. Parker, daughter of Hon. Henry Welles. 
In Corning, June 4, 1867, George Weeks and Anna M. Northrup. 

In Painted Post, June 13, 1867, by Rev. Dr. Wakeman, Albert R. 
Sayles and Fanny daughter of James McMuUen, of Centerville. 

August 10, 1867, Mahlon son of Henry Goff, of Coming, and Miss 
Eva Lattimer, daughter of S. V. Lattimer, of Addison. 



Marriages in Corning and Vicinity, 1867-69. 253 

In Corning, Sept. 5, 1867, Jerome B. Gorton and Mary E. Smith. 

In Centerville, September 9, 1867, by Rev. Thomas K. Beecher, 
of Elmira, John K. Ford, of Campbell, and Marilla Whitenack. 

In Painted Post, SepL 12, 1867, A. D. Jaynes and Eva Lamphere. 

At the Methodist Church in Coming, October 9, 1867, by Rev. 
F. Wildman, Benj. N. Payne and Esther A. Rounsville, of Oramel. 

In Hornby, December 8, 1867, Myrcn A. Eddy and Helen D. 
VanHusen, both of the Town of Hornby. 

At Painted Post, December 23, 1867, Edward Dickinson and Miss 
Belle Youngs, daughter of Colonel F. E. Youngs. 

In Painted Post, December 19, 1867, Dr. John Cooper and ©phelia 
daughter of A. H. Bronson. 

January 27, 1868, Nelson Jones and Kate W. Davis, of Coming. 

February 24, 1868. Samuel Patterson and Mary Cook, of Lindley. 

In Horseheads, March 12, 1868, Frank B. Brown, alitor of the 
Corning Democrat, and Marilla C. daughter of Judge Darius Bentley. 

In Lindley, April 26, 1868, George W. Snyder and Nettie Mulford. 
In Painted Post, June 22, 1868, John K. Farwell, of Chicago, 111., 
and Hattie Rose, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, July 19, 1868, Lemuel F. Lee and Sabrina Peterson. 

In St. Joseph's Cathedral, Buffalo, September 24, 1868, P. J. 
Barry, of Corning, and Miss Rebecca Reilly, of Gerard, Pa. 

In Coming, October 7, 1868, Charles G. Douglas and Mary R. 
daughter of D. F. Brown. 

In Coming, October 15, 1868, Alexander L. Ewing and Almira 
H. Lansing, daughter of General Jacob H. Eansing. 

In Coming, Oct. 21, 1868, Mark Balcom and Anna L. Campbell. 

Nov. 26, 1868, Thomas Reed and Frances L. Townley, of Coming. 

In Painted Post, April 8, 1869, Charles Iredell, Jr., and Annie 
M. daughter of Arthur H. Erwin, of Painted Post 

In Coming, March 19, 1869, K A. Kriger and Mary A. Smith. 

June 10, Cyrus D. Sill, of Coming and Mary A. Bourne, of Lyons. 

In Coming, October 20, 1869, H. N. Pond and Hattie A. Spencer. 

In Coming, December 29, 1869, by Rev. D. VanAlstine, C. C. 
Walster and Miss L. S. Conover, both of Corning. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity. 



CHAPTER XLII. 
Events In and About Corning — 1870-'75. 

EARLY IN JANUARY, 1870, the Corning post office moved into 
the new HoUenbeck Block, on East Market street ; Jonathan 
Brown broke ground for a three-story brick block on the site 
of four lots formerly occupied by the Dyer Block. 

Horace G. Phelps, one of the founders of the village of Corning, 
died Monday morning, February 21st, 1870. He moved to this 
township, then known as Painted Post, when a young man, and was 
one of the original proprietors of the " Hammond Mills." 

The Fail Brook Railroad Company in the Spring of 1870 began 
the construction a line from Lawrenceville, Pa., via Stokesdale and 
Wellsboro, to the coal mines at Antrim. 

Dr. George W. Pratt having taken a position as a clerk in the 
House of Representatives, engaged Charles M. Beecher, of Homells- 
ville, as Associate Editor of the Corning Journal. Mr. Beecher was 
a pronounced success. 

Following rain of several days' duration, there was a heavy flood 
throughout the Chemung v^ater-shed on Monday and Tuesday, April 
18th and 19th, 1870, all the tributaries of the major stream submerg- 
ing the low lands along their courses. The Knoxville flats were 
under water to a depth that caused a number of families to abandon 
their homes. Monkey Run Creek " went on a rampage," and despite 
Pritchard's Canal, washed along East Erie avenue and adjacent 
streets, tearing up sidewalks, filling cellars, and leaving mud and 
gravel on every hand. A portion of the canal dam went out. Fox, 
Weston & Bronson, proprietors of the Gang Mills, lost one million 
feet of pine timber in the log, in a drive they had started down the 
Cowanesque River for the mill. They also lost considerable lumber 
piled in the mill yard. Their total loss was near $40,000. Not a 

254 



Large Attendance at Dedication of St. Mary's Church. 255 

train over the reached Coming over the Erie for three days and the 
Blossburg road was out of commission for about a week. 

In May, 1870, Charles M. Beecher, for several months Associate 
Editor of the Coming Journal, became Editor of the Wellsville Free 
Press. 

Dr. W. S. Purdy purchased of U. D. Hood the house on Cedar 
street, next the home of Dr. Pratt, and moved there from Addison. 

May 30, 1870.— Colonel Archie E. Baxter delivered the Memorial 
Day address. The exercises were held at Hope Cemetery. 

St. Mary's Church was dedicated, Sunday, May 12, 1870. The 
attendance was large. A special train on the Erie from Elmira, 
brought twelve cars crowded with passengers. Another special 
train brought passengers from Bath and intermediate stations. 

In July, 1870, Charles E. Greenfield, for many years chief clerk 
in C. D. Sill's grocery, bought the stock and took over the business. 

The following breezy item appeared in the Corning Journal of 
July 14, 1870: 

" Taylerson & Sharpstein gave us a call on Saturday last, with their 
new hearse. It is as elegant and stylish an affair as can be found outside the 
city of New York, built to be drawn by two horses, fitted with plumes, has 
plate glass on the sides, and is trimmed with silver plate. The hangings 
are rich and beautiful. We declined their invitation to take the first ride 
in it, though if it should be our lot to start for "' over the river," theirs is 
the omnibus we should choose for the first stage of the journey." 

July 21, 1870.— The dam is fixed, there is water in the Chemung 
Canal, boats are arriving at Corning. Instead of constructing a tow- 
path from Gibson to Corning— which was seriously damaged by the 
flood last Spring — a steam tug has been provided to tow all boats 
on the Chemung River after they leave and before they reach the 
canal. Thus Corning is actually at the head of steam navigation on 
the Chemung River. 

In August, 1870, Charles B. Maltby, of the wholesale grocery 
firm of Maltby Brothers, moved to New York, to engage in buying 
and selling teas, sugars and groceries at wholesale, and to buy for 
the Coming store, in which he remains a partner. 

In September, 1870, Colonel Xrchie E. Baxter and Oscar Bump 
opened a dmg store in the new Brown Block on East Market street. 

The latter part of September, 1870, John White, of Watkins, 
former landlord of the Corning House, purchased the Dickinson 
House, for $35,000. He is to take possession January 1st. 



256 Rev. Dr. Ives "Lifts" Presbyterian Church Debt. 

On Saturday evening, November 9, 1870, Susan B. Anthony 
spoke at Washington Hall, on " Equal Rights Regardless of Sex." 
About eighty persons were present. She discussed "Women's 
Rights " in a Coming Church in 1852. 

On Sunday morning, November 20, 1870, Rev. B. I. Ives "lifted 
the debt " from the First Presbyterian Church of Coming, securing 
subscriptions that totalled $17,000. The audience was large and the 
noted Methodist " money persuadar " was at his best. Among the 
sums subscribed were, John N. Hungerford, $2,000 ; Q. W. Welling- 
ton, $1,500; William D. Terbell, $1,500 ; Stephen T. Hayt, $1,000; 
Joseph Fellows, $1,000. The following subscribed $500 each : J. M. 
Smith, L. C. Kingsbury, George B. Bradley, E. W. Ross, W. S. 
Hodgraan, A. H. Gorton and Charles C. B. Walker ; $250 each was 
contributed by Dr. Henry C. May and A. D. Dudley ; $200 each was 
contributed by J. A. Parsons, Judge George T. Spencer, Chester S. 
Cole, Ransom Pratt, L. D. Stone, C. E. Osborne, James McBurney, 
Francis A. Williams, J. F. Tomlinson, Mrs. D. S. Magee, He'nry 
Sherwood and Theodore Olcott. There were many subscriptions 
ranging from $100 to $5, and finally the collection plates were passed. 
The cost of the church and fixtures was $43,000. 

J. White having failed to make good on his deal to buy the 
Dickinson House, the latter part of November, 1870, it was purchased 
by George W. Fuller, for six years the landlord. 

Jonathan Brown, aged 73 years, died at his home in this village 
on Monday, December 19, 1870. He was born in Rhode Island. He 
settled here when there were only a few log cabins. He was a 
carpenter, invested in lands, dealt in lumber erected and sold build- 
ings, and prospered with the growth of the village. His last building 
project was the Brown Block, a of brick, on East Market street. 

David S. Powers, of Corning, has been appointed a Deputy Sheriff. 

On Saturday, December 20, 1870, B. W. Payne & Sons, foundrymen 
and machinists, presented each employe a turkey for Christmas. 

The evening of February 13, 1871, a house on Tioga avenue, 
occupied by two families, caught fire. Part of the household goods 
were removed but as the village had no fire engine company and 
no water supply was at hand, the fire pumps were not brought to 
the fire, and nothing was done to stay its progress. 

A committee of citizens appointed to investigate and report a 
plan for providing a water system for the village, at a meeting held in 



Charles G. Denison Elected President of Village. 257 

Washington Hall, the evening of March 6, 1871, reported in favor of 
a gravity system, the water to be gathered by natural flow into a 
reservoir, southwest of the village, at an evelation of 225 feet above 
the central section of Market street. The cost of the complete 
water supply system was estimated at $12,108. The members of the 
Committee on Water Supply were : Samuel C. Robertson, William 
F. Townley, A. H. Gorton and Hiram Pritchard. It was voted tO' 
hold a special election to pass on the matter. 

The following village officers were chosen at the annual election 
held March 7th : Charles G. Denison, President; Richard L. Hill 
Clerk ; James M. Robinson, Police Justice ; James Sloan and Alonzo 
H. Gorton, Trustees ; Nelson L. Somers, Thomas O'Brien and C. G. 
Howell, Assessors ; James Comer, Collector ; Loomis Fassett, Pound 
Master. A proposition to purchase a steam fire engine, at an expense 
not to exceed $6,000, received only three favorable votes. 

Citizens of Coming have subscribed for $20,000 of the stock of a 
railroad to be built up the Cowanesque valley from Lawrenceville to 
Elkland, Pa. 

In April, 1871, the Fire Department of the village was reorgan- 
ized. W. F. Townley was elected Chief Engineer ; Thomas Hawkes 
and George Hitchcock, Assistant Engineers; Q. W. Wellington, 
Treasurer. Two fire companies were formed ; one, composed of em- 
ployes of the Corning Glass Works, took charge of Rough and 
Ready Engine No. 2 and equipment. Its officers are : B. Cahill, 
Foreman ; Charles Shean and J. J. Draper, Assistants ; J. J. McGovem, 
Secretary ; Joseph J. TuUy, Treasurer ; Thomas Hawkes, Joseph J. 
Tully and Charles A. Owen, Trustees. 

Alliance Hook and Ladder Company continues in service. At a 
meeting of the members held the evening of May 2 the following 
officers were elected : Major E. P. Graves, Foreman ; John W. Brown 
and S. B. Pennett, Assistants ; W. H. Chaphe, Secretary and Treas- 
urer ; F. D. Kingsbury and William Howell, Jr., Auditors. 

M. Rosenbaum has been elected Foreman of the new Rescue 
Fire Engine Company, No. 1, and George Owens is Foreman of 
Rescue Hose Company. 

In May, 1871, the Presbyterian Society began the erection of a 
brick church in the village of Painted Post. The comer-stone was 
laid on Tuesday, June 13. Rev. P. P. Burghardt is pastor. 

Henry M. Bennett succeeds Charles H. Erwin as Postmaster at 
Painted Post. 



.'258 Factories and Other Industries of Corning in 1870. 

The following summary of manufacturing, mercantile and other 
industries in Coming, indicates the standing of the community as 
a unit in the amazing progress achieved in pioneer days. In 1833 a 
few log cabins in a wilderness ! In 1870, a well-established and 
important trade and manufacturing center, with the advantages of 
connection by highways, rivers, canals and railroads with the country 
at large ! 

The wholesale lumber trade of Walker & Lathrop is the most 
extensive on the Chemung or it tributaries. Their lumber is mostly 
sawed at their mills in Pennslyvania. Selected stock for building 
purposes is re-sawed, planed and fitted at their mills in Corning. A 
number of saw-mills in the vicinity of Corning add to the volume of 
lumber sent to market from this point. The " Wild Cat " train 
continues to bring cars of unfinished lumber from the big gang mills 
at Harrower's, Lindley Station and the State Line, and from a num- 
ber of lesser mills up the Tioga River, in addition to the out-put of 
the Walker & Lathrop operations. During the past twelve-months 
Walker & Lathrop have marketed over ten million feet of pine and 
hemlock lumber and they have over five million feet of dry pine in 
stock. Field & Hood are lumber dealers. W. F. Townley manu- 
factures doors, sash and blinds, do re-sawing and finishing and are 
general jobbers in lumber. 

The following soft coalmining companies have their headquarters 
in Corning : The Bloss Coal Mining and Railroad Company, the 
Fall Brook Coal Company, and the Morris Run Coal Company. Their 
combined coal output the past year was 738,000 tons. 

C. D. Sill manufactures brick at Mulhollan. 

Large quantities of building stone are quarried near the village. 

The Fall Brook Railroad Company has shops here. 

B. W. Payne & Sons employ 100 men in the manufacture of 
steam engines, boilers and other machinery. 

Preston & Heermans manufacture steam engines, machinery for 
saw mills, gearings generally, and iron and brass castings. 

L. C. Kingsbury & Company employ twenty-five men at their 
carriage and cutter factory. 

About 100 persons are employed at the Coming Glass Works 
and the business is extending. There the highest grade of lead glass 
is made and also ruby glass of superior quality. 

Hoare & Dailey, glass cutters and engravers, employ about 50 
men. Thomas Hawkes is superintendent of the shop. 



Factories and Other Industries of Corning in 1870. 259 

Corning is favored with carpenters, masons, building contract- 
ors, painters, paper-hangers, wagon makers, blacksmiths, cobblers, 
tinners, cabinet makers, and men who are of " the Jack of all trades " 
class, who meet the requirements of a thriving community. Its 
merchants include men who conduct trade of extensive propor- 
tions and carry stocks of goods not excelled by the larger stores of 
later days. The following business men and women of Coming, 
advertised in the Coming newspapers in 1870 : 

Smith & Waite, (J. M. Smith and Neville E. Waite), dry goods ,- 
Newell & Owen, general store established in 1850 by R. E. Robinson 
and known as " The Regulator ;" J. A. Parsons & Company, dry 
dry goods, notions and boots and shoes; A. Bernstein, dry 
goods ; C. E. Corbin, books and stationery ; W. H. Chaphe, groceries 
and crockery ; Mrs. C. M. Powers, millinery ; Guttenberg, Rosenbaum 
& Company, ready-made clothing and tailor shop for men and boys ; 
Charles E. Greenfield, groceries ; J. W. Darrin, furniture store and 
undertaking ; Campbell & Lewis, blacksmiths and jobbers in iron 
furnishings ; Arnold B. Heine, millinery and dry goods ; William D. 
Terbell & Company, druggists, wall paper and notions ; Bums & 
Seymour, groceries and crockery ; Jacob H. Lansing, clocks, watches 
and jewelry ; Pritchard, Sayles & Co., hardware ; Henry Goff, dry 
goods and notions ; Fuller & Gamman, boots and shoes ; W. S. 
Dickinson, dmgs and medicines ; Cole & Thomson, fire, life and 
accident insurance ; Walker & Lathrop, wholesale and retail dealers 
in hardware, farm implements and builders' supplies ; A. D. Dudley, 
jewelry, watches, clocks and silver ware ; C. H. Freeman, groceries ; 
Baxter & Bump, drugs and medicines ; Henry C. Perry, merchant 
tailor ; William Walker, general insurance agency ; William Hood & 
Son, grocers ; L. C. Kingsbury & Company, carriage factory ; Mrs. 
Anna Smith, millinery; Cunningham Brothers, carpenters and 
and builders ; Louis Lindner, manufacturer and dealer in boots and 
shoes ; U. D. Hood, harness shop ; Mrs. H. E. Cunningham, dress and 
and cloak making ; Stephen T. Hayt, " Southem Tier " flouring mills;. 
Mrs. A. M. Powers, millinery ; Jaynes & Cochrane, hatters ; the Q. 
W. Wellington Bank, the George Washington Bank, John N. Hunger- 
ford's Bank, the Corning Journal newspaper and job printing office ; 
the Corning Democrat newspaper and job printing office ; J. D. Ruth- 
erford, furnishings for women and children ; William Murray, fancy 
goods and ladies' furnishings ; M. P. Ansorge, clothing ; Maynard 
& Easterbrooks, musical instruments ; Charles G. Denison, flour, 



260 Trustees Close Contract for Water Supply System. 

feed, coal, salt, farm machinery ; Clendenny & Dampf , photographs ; 
' C G. Howell, kerosene and lubricating oils ; Eri Bunnell, harness 
maker and repair shop ; H. S. Rankine, dentist ; Robertson & Soule, 
'dealers in meats ; A. D. Jaynes, sewing machines ; Hees & Dwelle 
drugs and groceries. 

The landlords of the hotels are : George W. and Dwight L. 
Fuller, the Dickinson House ; Fred Rothf us, Minot House ; Smith & 
Bacon, the American Hotel ; George Archer, the Arcade ; Fred, 
Schadd, J. Mainzer, B. F. Jones and J. Furrer. 

In fighting a fire that threatened the destruction of the Arcade 
Block, at Market and Pine streets, the night of June 14, water was 
pumped by a hand engine from the Chemung River into a sunken 
reservoir in front of the Dickinson House, whence it was pumped by 
the second fire engine upon the flames. 

In July, 1871, William Lathrop purchased the interest of R, B. 
Sharpsteen in the furniture and undertaking business of Taylorson 
&. Sharpsteen and the name of the firm was changed to Taylerson 
■& Lathnop, 

August 15, 1871, the Hoffman Block, on West Market street, 
^occupied by the Hoffman Hotel and a number of stores, was burned, 
and also dwellings owned by Thomas Argue and John Fritts. 

October 5, 1871. — The village Trustees closed a contract with 
the Gloucester Iron Works, of Camden, N. J., to construct a water 
system complete for $20,000. A reservior is to be placed on the hill- 
side near the head of Pine street. 

The night of December 5, 1871, the old distillery building, in 
Knoxville, was entirely destroyed by fire. 

Thomas L. Langley, of Canisteo, has purchased a half-interest in 
the wholesale dry goods store of Henry Goff, in Corning. They do 
business as Goff & Langley. 

Wednesday evening, April 10, a saw-mill near the Coming-Caton 
highway, close by the Caton line, recently built by C. D. Barnard, 
was destroyed by fire. Loss about $4,000. No insurance. 

Early Monday morning, April 29, 1872, the Glann Hotel, at 
Painted Post, with nearly all its furnishings, was destroyed by fire- 
Loss, $5,000 ; fully insured. Solomon A. Campbell, aged 72 years, a 
leading resident of the village and prominent in business, dropped 
dead while assisting to remove furniture from the hotel. 



Forest Fires Cause Great Damage About Corning, 261 

The Corning Journal of May 9, 1872, said : " Amory Houghton is~ 
now proprietor of the Coming Glass Works. He has been here since 
they were established, having charge of the mixing. He has nO' 
superior in the United States in the manufacture of glass." 

Miss Kate L. Farrington, of Coming, has a string of buttons 31 
feet long, 2,296 in number, each having a loop-eye and no two alike. 
She made the collection. The gathering of strings of buttons was 
a fad among school girls that continued for several years, the strife 
being to see who could accumulate the greatest variety. 

George W. Patterson, of Coming, built a half-mile race track on 
his land near the Erie station at Painted Post. 

May 23, 1872.— Due to lack of rain, conditions have favored the 
spreading of forest fires, and a large amount of damage has resulted 
in this and near-by towns. Fire has swept the wood-clad hills over- 
looking the village of Coming. In Curtis Hollow, town of Campbell,, 
half a million feet of hemlock logs, belonging to D. B. Curtis, were 
destroyed by fire. In the southeastern section of the town of Lindtey 
a large amount of skidded logs and standing timber was burned up 
or rendered worthless. Many farm buildings were lost. 

Having purchased an interest in the " Regulator " store, Oliver 
A. Cary moved from Binghamton to Coming. 

Monday, July 1, 1872, water was for the first time turned into 
the newly-placed water mains. Under gravity pressure, from hose 
attached to a hydrant at Market and Pine streets, a stream of water 
was thrown over the Dickinson House. 

About two hundred men and boys are employed in the various 
departments of the Corning Glass Works. 

The planing mill and lumber-fitting shop of Walker & Lathrop 
bumed the night of July 20, 1872. Loss, $14,500 ; insurance, $6,500. 

The latter part of August, 1872, the President of the United 
States appointed Dr. George W. Pratt, Editor of the Corning Journal, 
postmaster, in place of Charles H. Thomson, for 11 years in office. 

August 8, 1872.— Walker & Lathrop have purchased of W. F. 
Townley the planing mill and wood working shops at Cedar street 
and Tioga avenue. 

A saw-mill at Osceola, Pa., with 2,000,000 of pine and 1,000,000 
feet of hemlock lumber, owned by Walker & Lathrop, were destroy- 
ed by fire the night of September 23, 1872. 

There are 1,569 persons of school age in the village of Corning. 



262 Corning Circulating Library Association Organized. 

The steam saw-mill and grist-mill at Caton Center, owned by 
Nelson Cowan, of Gibson, burned the morning of November 6. 

In December, 1872, W. S. Hodgman succeeded Henry M. Bennett 
as Postmaster at Painted Post. 

January 1, 1873. — Corning employes of the Erie Railroad present- 
ed A. T. Cochran, for 20 years station agent, a set of silver table 
service costing $200. A. H. Gorton, Superintendent of the Corning 
and Blossburg Railroad, was " remembered " with a silver tea service 
by S. T. Hayt, C. C. B. Walker, C. G. Denison and A. Lathrop, Jr. 

A. J. Owen, of Corning, was appointed Cashier of the Fall Brook 
Coal Company, with headquarters at Fall Brook. 

M. C. Higman & Company establish a bank in Corning. 

MalHon Goff succeeds J. B. Mecarg in the grocery business. 

The latter part of January, Samuel C. Robertson, of Corning, 
bought the Sly farm, of 125 acres, in Knoxville. 

At a meeting held the evening of February 25, 1873, at the law 
office of Ellsworth D. Mills, it was decided to organize a Public Cir- 
culating Library. Nelson L. Somers presided and Prof. Balcom was 
Secretary. The following temporary trustees were chosen : Charles 
H. Thomson, C. C. B. Walker, George T. Spencer, George W. Pratt, 
Q. W. Wellington, Hiram Pritchard, Dr. J. B. Graves, H. A. Balcom, 
John N. Hungerford. The next evening the trustees met and elected 
the following officers : Charles H. Thomson, President ; George W. 
Pratt, Vice-President ; H. A. Balcom, Secretary. It was decided to 
finance the project by issuing membership shares at $5 each. 

Sunday evening, February 23, 1873, fire that started in a frame 
building occupied by V. Eerenbaugh's harness shop, at Painted Post, 
destroyed the Empire Block and all other building on the south side 
of the street thence eastward to the Erie Railroad. The Empire 
Block, a frame structure, was erected in 1843. It was owned by Miss 
V. Erwin, P. D. Parkhurst and Colonel F. D. Young. Others who 
lost building or goods, or both, were : Robeson & French, hardware ; 
H. L. Badger, grocery ; J. W. Borst, hotel ; W. Stewart, barber ; Mrs. 
Carpenter, saloon and resdience; I. P. Bennett, building ; L. Gokey, 
shoe shop ; Cortright building ; R. D. Emons, saloon ; Times news- 
paper and job printing office ; J. Z. Wilder, blacksmith shop ; Henry 
Bonham, A. Owen, E. D. Bonham ; Stout & Hurd, carriage, paint 
and blacksmith shop. The Bronson Block was barely saved. The 
night was intensely cold. The Coming fire companies responded to 
the call for assistance, and members suffered from frost bites. 



Furious Rain-Storm Causes Three Deaths in Caton.. 263 

John Hoare has increased his glass cutting business in Corning 
by closing a shop on Long Island and bringing the skilM men here. 

Saturday, March 28, the river flats were flooded. The highway 
bridge at Erwin Center was washed away. All train service was 
abandoned for about twenty-four hours. 

Delos C. Sherwood has been appointed care-taker of the ArsenaK- 

James L. White, of Caton, left for Boston, April 14, 1973, to W 
the season's engagement as catcher with the Red Stocking Club. 

The gang mills, on the Tioga River in the town of Erwin, were 
destroyed by fire, Sunday night, April 20, 1873. Fox, Weston & 
Bronson, the owners, had no insurance. Loss above $12,000. 

The town clock for many years in the steeple of the former 
Presbyterian Church, has been repaired and placed in the tower of 
the new public school building. 

Joseph Fellows, aged 91 years, a member of the company that 
founded the Village of Corning, died April 28. He had for many 
years, before failing health compelled him to retire form business 
activities, successfully conducted undertakings in Coming and 
vicinity and at Scranton, Pa. Burial was at Scranton. 

The Legislature passed a special act giving the excise moneys 
of the village and town of Coming to the public library. 

The old "' Session House " of the Presbterian Society has been- 
purchased by the Corning Public Library Association, and moved 
from the Public Square to East Erie avenue, next west of the 
Corporation Office, for use as a library building. Mrs. Anna B. 
Maynard is Librarian. 

Saturday evening, August 2, 1873, a meeting of business men 
was held at the Dickinson House to consider the matter or construct- 
ing a street railroad connecting Corning and Painted Post. A com- 
mittee of thirteen members was appointed to solicit subscriptions to 
$30,000 in stock to finance the undertaking. 

The grocery store and dwelling of Warren S. Gregory, at Erwin 
Center, burned Sunday night, August 3, 1873. Partly insured. 

Stone for building the State Reformatory at Elmira is supplied 
from the Corning quarries. 

A violent rain storm deluged a section of the town of Caton, on 
Tuesday afternoon, August 12, 1873. A barn in which Mr. and Mrs. 
David Castor and an adopted daughter, aged five years, sought 



264 Formal Opening of New Free Academy Building. 

refuge, near the Corning-Caton highway, was torn to pieces by the 
waters, and Mrs. Castor and the child drowned. All the bridges on 
Caton Creek and the branch streams were washed away. Some of 
the farmers lost their cultivated crops. Mr. Castor died the follow- 
ing Monday. 

The first session of school was held in the new Free Academy on 
Monday, September 1, 1873. The building cost about $75,000. At 
the opening exercises. Rev. Anson G. Chester, pastor of the First 
Presbyterian Church, recited the Lord's Prayer, and Rev. Peter 
Colgan, pastor of St. Mary's Church, and several members of the 
School Board, made timely addresses. 

The bell in the tower of the new Academy is from the Meneely 
)foundry at West Troy, N. Y. It is 50 inches in diameter at the rim 
and weighs 2,500 pounds. 

The original school building, on the Public Square facing First 
street, was erected in 1846. Several additions were built prior to 
about 1861, when the old Methodist Church, standing a short dis- 
tance to the west, was purchased by the School Board, moved and 
joined onto the main section of the school house. After the brick 
Academy came into use, the old wooden school buildings were sold 
for $250, and torn down. 

While hunting on Mulhollan Creek, September 2, Pierce Herrick, 
of Corning, killed two deer at one shot. 

On Wednesday morning, September 17, 1873, the cutter and 
carriage factory of L. C. Kingsbury & Co., at the head of Market 
street, was destroyed by fire. New cutters valued at $3,000, 
stored on the third floor, were lost. It was a frame building, built for 
use as a hotel, and known formerly as the Terrett House. 

The latter part of August, 1873, Jeremiah Liddy and Capt. John 
O'Shea, of Elmira, purchased the State arsenal and grounds in Corn- 
ing, for $12,000. They endeavored to induce Corning business men to 
invest in a shoe factory, to be established at the arsenal, but did 
not succeed. In October, Rev. Peter Colgan bought the arsenal for 
St. Mary's Parish, and later fitted it up for use as a convent and a 
home for destitute children. 

October 26, 1873, Thomas L. Langley, member of the wholesale 
■dry goods firm of Goff & Langley, died at his home in Canisteo. 

The new Catholic Church at Campbell was dedicated Nov. 9, 1873. 

In April, 1874, Oliver A. Cary became sole proprietor of the 
" Regulator " store, having purchased the interest of J. K. Newell. 



T. 5. DeWolfe Begins Publication Corning Independent. 265 

A branch of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union was 
organized, with Mrs. Benjamin N. Payne as President. 

The latter part of June, 1874, Bishop Ryan appointed Father 
Lasher, recently ordained, Assistant Pastor of St. Mary's Parish. 

July 9, 1874.— J. H. Dampf has purchased the interest of W. D. 
Terbell in the drug store of W. D. Terbell & Company, and continues 
the business with C. G. Douglas, as C. G, Douglas & Co. 

H. S. Edson, Charles T. Skinner, M. S. Brown and Alonzo Esler, 
local telegraph operators, attended the annual re-union of operators 
of the State held at Rochester. 

July 10, 1874, Charles F. Houghton, Chester S. Cole, William 
Walker and Frank D. Kingsbury, of Corning, left New York on a 
pleasure trip to England, Ireland and Scotland. 

In the Fall of 1874 an association formed for the purpose, erected 
an all-purpose community building, near Pulteney street, on an 
extension of Bridge street, in Knoxville, opened on the Sly farm by 
S. C. Robertson. The building is of wood, one story, 35 by 80 feet. 

At a meeting of the Board of Directors of the Corning and Sodus 
Bay Railroad Company, held in Corning, October 22, 1874, a contract 
was let for building the road from Savona to Penn Yan. After the 
grading had been completed for most of the distance, and a number 
of bridges had been built across Mud Creek and minor brooks, the 
project was abandoned for lack of funds. Nevertheless, Coming and 
other towns that had issued bonds to assist the enterprise, were 
compelled by court decisions to pay in full. 

In November, 1874, Pratt & DeWolfe dissolved partnership, and 
Dr. George W. Pratt again became sole owner of the Corning Journal. 

John Mallory, aged 71 years, for 55 years a resident of Knoxville, 
died December 4th at his home in that village. He engaged in 
the manufacture and sale of furniture in Knoxville for some twenty 
years before the settlement of the village of Corning began, and later 
engaged in the same business in Corning. He also engaged in farm- 
ing and was a leader in enterprises for the promotion of the moral 
and business welfare of both Corning and Knoxville. 

Wolf Brothers, of New York, have opened a dry goods store 
in the Brown Block. 

On December 15, 1874, the first issue of the Corning Independent, 
a seven-column, four-page weekly newspaper, was issued by T. 
Scott DeWolfe, Editor and Proprietor. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity, 



CHAPTER XLIIL 
Events In and About Corning — 1875-'80. 

IN JANUARY, 1875, Charles F. Houghton, H. P. Sinclair and 
Joseph J. Tully became partners of Amory Houghton, Jr., in the 
ownership of the Coming Glass Works. 

Charles M. Beecher returns to the Corning Journal, taking the 
positions of Associate Editor and Foreman. 

On Saturday, January 23, 1875, George W. Patterson, President 
and owner of the " George Washington Bank," of Corning, made an 
assignment, to I. W. Kimble and Zera Todd. For a number of 
years the bank had paid — or " checked up " — ^interest at 6 per cent, 
encouraging deposits while doing little discounting. Mr. Patterson 
made investments that entailed heavy losses. The suspension caused 
great excitement, and it was deemed prudent for the unfortunate 
banker to seek safety in seclusion, beyond the reach of threatening 
depositors. Little was saved from the wreck. Rev. Peter Colgan, 
pastor of St. Mary's Parish, had about $17,000 of church funds on 
deposit in the bank. The liabilities were $153,727, of which amount 
Mr. Patterson individually owed $55,057, according to a sworn 
statement he made a few days after the crash. The resources were 
placed at $61,532 — much more than was realized. 

Dr. James S. Cutler, aged 87 years, who located in Knoxville in 
in 1841, coming from Vermont, died March 3. In addition to practic- 
ing his profession he engaged in farming and was a lumberman. 
Two sons survive— James E. and J. K 

C. G. Howell and George W. Newman have purchased the 
grocery and bakery of Wm. Hood & Son and continue the business. 

In March, 1875, Rufus Gorton opened a well-stocked grocery 
store on the Coming-Caton highway, near the tannery. 

W. N. King & Co. open a steam laundry on Market street. 
Many children died of diphtheria in February, March and April. 

266 



Two Newspapers Published at Painted Post. 267 



April 29, 1875.— Frederick S. Bragg, who was for 14 years a 
locomotive engineer at Fall Brook, drawing all coal trains between 
there and Somerville, has removed to Corning. He is the oldest 
engineer in the service of the Fall Brook Company. 

E. L. Dickinson & Co. conduct a steam bakery and candy shop 
in the block on the southwest corner of Market and Walnut streets. 

A large grist-mill, owned by Bemis & McKay, near the village 
of Campbell, burned the evening of May 21, 1875. Loss, $17,000. 

The annual election of officers of the Corning Fire Department, 
held in June, 1875, resulted as follows: O. Pomeroy Robinson, 
Chief Engineer; Manly Inscho and James Higgins, Assistants; 
Frank D. Kingsbury, Secretary. Sherwood . Hose Company is a 
splendid organization of volunteer firemen. 

The graduation exercises of Corning Free Academy were held 
at Washington Hall, early in June, when the following students 
received diplomas : Rosa Balcom, Kate Backus, Charles H. Baker, 
Estella A. Bissell, Mary A. Bucher, C. Glen Cole, Edward R. 
DeWolfe, Mary A. Halloran, William F. McNamara, John Mcintosh, 
Jr., Marvin Olcott, Mina Patchell, Minnie E. Robinson, Egbert 
Shoemaker, Sarah C. Tylee, Doretta Townley, Leslie W. Wellington. 

In July, 1875, Rev. Thomas Johnson, of Niagara Falls, was 
appointed Assistant Pastor of St. Mary's Church, Corning. 

J. W. Darrin is erecting a three-story brick building on West 
Market street, for use as a furniture store and cabinet shop. 

Henry Sherwood, for many years prominent in political, social 
and business affairs in Coming, died at Avon Springs, N. Y., July 24, 
1875. For several years he had been afflicted with spinal trouble. 
The funeral was held at his residence in Coming. Burial was in 
Hope Cemetery. His father, Micajah Sherwood, was a pioneer of the 
town of WoodhuU, and there Henry Sherwood was born in 1824. 

The highway bridge across the Chemung River, at Gibson, was 
destroyed by fire early Wednesday morning, August 11, 1875. 

Two weekly newspapers are exercising keen rivalry at Painted 
Post — The Times, issued for a number of years by Mr. Ferenbaugh, 
and the Gazette, a new-comer, published by O. L. C. Hughes. 

Says the Corning Journal of August 19, 1975 : 

" John Comosh, of Coming, who is not quiet twenty years old, has 
been for some years travelling with a circus company, and has performed 
in California, South America and Australia. We have before us a handbill 



268 Decide to Build Railroad From Corning to Geneva. 

announcing a " Grand Circus " at St. Thomas, West Indies, part of the bill 
being in Spanish and part in EngHsh. Comosh is evidently a star actor, 
going under the name of " John Worland," and it is announced that he will 
" distinguish himself in the astonishing double-somersault, over a pyramid 
of six men mounted on nine horses, leaping a distance of twenty-seven 
feet." John Comosh is a native of Coming, son of a worthy resident who 
is a native of Portugal, or one of the islands subject thereto. He is a 
venturous performer, and the handbill makes him the leading feature, 
heading the notice of the remarkable feat he was to perform, by this 
startling phrase, " The Terror of Art !" 

At a town meeting held September 11, 1875, it was decided to 
build an iron bridge across the Chemung River, a short distance 
below the canal dam, to replace the bridge recently burned. A few 
weeks later a contract to build the proposed bridge was let to the 
King Iron Bridge Company for $29,000. William Gibbons and A. H. 
Gorton took the contract for building the piers. 

The annual parade of the Coming Fire Department, composed 
entirely of volunteers, was held October 11, with the following 
companies in line : Alliance Hook and Ladder, Rescue Engine Com- 
pany, Rescue Hose Company, Neptune Engine Company, Neptune 
Hose Company, Sherwood Hose Company. There were visiting 
fire companies, from Horseheads and Hornellsville, in line. All the 
firemen were in uniform and the equipment gaily decorated. Pier's 
Comet Band headed the parade, and the visiting firemen were led 
by bands. Villages officials rode in carriages. Running, hose string- 
ing and ladder raising contests featured the day's program. 

F. Smead became landlord of the Coming House in October. 

At a meeting of the Board of Directors of the Coming and 
Geneva Railroad Company, held at Watkins, on December 30, 
1875, it was decided to build the proposed " Coming and Sodus Bay 
Railroad " from Coming via Post Creek, across Watkins Glen, and 
thence to Dundee and Geneva, and to abandon the section of rail- 
road already graded between Savona and Penn Yan. 

The " Old Red House," on the flats in the eastern section of the 
village, was burned to the ground the night of December 30, 1875. 
It was built about 1805, by Frederick Calkins, the first settler in this 
section of the Genesee Country, whose first dwelling was a log 
cabin, built in 1778, which stood on the bank of the Chemung River. 

January 1, 1875.— The passing of the old century and the begin- 
ning of of a new hundred years, was marked by a jollification that 
continued most of the night, reaching its climax when the town 



Contract Let for Building Geneva-Corning Railroad. 269 

clock began to strike 12. Then bells rang, locomotive and shop 
whistles joined "in chorus, a cannon was fired, bonfires lit, and street 
paraders rang hand bells, tooted horns, beat improvised drums, and 
with shouts and songs added volume to the racket. Pier's band 
led a torch-light procession through the principal streets. 

Charles M. Beecher discontinued his services as Associate Editor 
and foreman of the Corning Journal, and took the position of foreman 
in the office of the Elmira Gazette. 

On account of failing health, Robert J, Burnham resigned as 
General Agent of the Fall Brook Coal Company, with offices in Corn- 
ing. He is succeeded by H. A, Homing. 

Edward F. Davis is doing an extensive and prosperous business 
manufacturing rush-bottom chairs, for the wholesale trade, at the 
former " Pail Factory," in the southwestern part of Caton township. 

Dr. W. S. Purdy, of Coming, was elected President, and Dr. W. 
J. Bryan, was elected Secretary and Treasurer, of the Southern Tier 
Homoeopathic Society. 

F. N. Drake, of Coming, and Henry H. Cook, of Bath, sold to 
Ferrill C. Dininny, of Elmira, their interest in the Butler Colliery Com- 
pany coal mine at Pittston, Pa., and have purchased of Mr. Dininny 
his interest in the Tioga Railroad and the Amot mines. 

Vibbard, Hall & Stuart have taken a contract for building the 
Syracuse, Geneva and Coming Railroad, from Corning to Geneva, a 
distance of 57 miles. 

The Erie Railroad is building an iron bridge at Painted Post. 

March 6, 1876. — Thomas Oldfield has sold his meat-market to 
Harrison Howe and Charles D. Brown, Todd & Smith, grocers, 
have dissolved partnership. Major Todd continuing the business. 
Samuel J. Lower has become a partner of S. C. Campbell in the dry 
goods business. C. G. Howell & Company, (Mr. Newman), have 
discontinued the grocery business. Captain Charles H. Freeman has 
rented the bakery conducted by this firm, and continues the business 
in connection with his grocery. 

March 23, 1876. — Austin Lathrop, Jr., has taken a contract to 
buUd an iron bridge across the Chemung River, near the foot of 
Chestnut street, for the Syracuse, Geneva and Corning Railroad. 
William C. Gibbons is to grade six miles of the road, beginning at 
the north bank of the Chemvmg River. 



270 Thomas Lawrence Leases Village Water System. 

April 27, 1876.— Three sons of Lester S. White, of Caton, are 
professional baseball players — William H. White, engaged for the 
season with the " Cricket " baseball club of Binghamton ; James L. 
White, with the " White Stockings " of Chicago, and Melvin White, 
as an emegrency player with the " White Stockings." 

In May, 1876, Thomas Lawrence entered into a contract with 
the Board of Trustees of the Village of Corning, to take over, 
improve and maintain the village water supply system, for ten years. 
The village is to pay $500 on the purchase of rotary pumps and a 
steam engine to cost $1,200; Lawrence is to furnish without charge 
all water needed for fire purposes, the school house and other public 
buildings, and he has the right to sell water to customers and make 
reasonable charges for the service ; he is to make necessary repairs, 
the village to pay for new material required for its own service. 

A. Gaylord Slocum has been engaged as Principal of the Coming 
public schools for the coming school year, and Miss Clara A. Stock- 
well, as Preceptress. They come from Riverside Institute, Wellsville. 

The Corning Rifle Club has a target range on the flats east of 
the Magee Shops. Prizes are given the best marksmen at each 
meet. The membership is large and rivalry is keen. Those who 
qualified as marksmen by making high scores are J. W. Calkins, D. 
H. Baxter, R. J. Rowland, John Demorest, Frank Loid, L. D. Miller, 
L. Ferenbaugh, T. L. Townley, R. 0. Sly, Grove P. Miller, T. Connell, 
Charles D. Brown, John W. Brown, Archie E. Baxter, William H. 
Brown, W. Deyoe, P. W. Calkins, T. Purcell, Val Able, E. Jaynes, 
Valentine Rettig, J, Schissler and H. Loid. 

Hiram Pritchard advertised for sale the Methodist Church in 
Knoxville, which he purchased for $700 about ten years ago and had 
since permitted to be used for religious services, without charge. 
He offers to sell " the meeting house and the land attached thereto 
at a fair cash value, and ten years' credit will be given on the whole 
sum, with the interest payable semi-annually." 

On Monday evening, July 3, 1876, at 10 o'clock, while Judge 
George B. Bradley was addressing a largely attended Democratic 
mass meeting on the Public Square in front of the Dickinson House, 
the crowd rushed up Market street in response to cries of fire and 
shouts that Hayt's flouring mill was burning. It was the wagon 
shop of Henry & Dyer, a two-story frame building, a short distance 
west of Hayt's mill, that was afire. The wagon shop, several houses 



Fire Destroys Part of Corning Glass Works. 271 

and a number of small stores and a number of barns were destroyed. 
The new gravity water system prevented a sweeping fire. 

On the morning of October 4, 1876, the section of the Corning 
Glass Works occupied on the second floor by the glass engraving 
and cutting shops of John Hoare, and on the first and third floors by 
store rooms and finishing departments, was burned out. The fire 
started in the upper story. John Hoare lost about $20,000 ; the loss 
to the proprietors of the Glass Works was about $35,000. The work 
of rebuilding was talcen up with promptness. 

J. K. Newell moved his grocery and crockery store from Corning 
to Painted Post. 

The furniture factory of Hardenburg & Rutherford, at Market 
and Chemung streets, burned the night of October 2, 1877. Finished 
furniture, furniture in process of manufacture, and stock lumber 
valued at $5,000, were destroyed; 

Soon after 12 o'clock the night of January 3, 1877, the Arcade 
restaurant, on Pine street, near the Erie station, was discovered on 
fire. The fire continued from building to building along Pine street 
to Market, and was stayed at the dry goods store of Smith & Waite. 
The restaurant was conducted by C. A. Terr^'. Other losses : The 
Erie station partly destroyed ; Todd & Drake, men's furnishings ; 
J. Werner, clothing ; 0. J. Robinson, tobacco and notions ; Val Able, 
grocery ; M. Ansorge, Jr., clothing store ; Bradley & Kendall and 
Charles H. Thomson, lawyers, office furniture and part of their 
books. The Arcade Block was owned by the heirs of Jonathan 
Bro^vn, and the building occupied by Smith & Waite by William M. 
Mallory. The aggregate loss amounted to $75,000. The water 
supply failed, owing to trouble at the pmnp station, located near the 
old canal warehouse, on the bank of the Chemung River. 

January 25, 1877. — Five feet and four inches of snow has fallen 
since Winter set in, and the temperature has remained so low as to 
prevent a thaw. Country roads are show-bound on every hand. 
The roof of Zion Church, (in early days a school house), on the 
Public Square near the southeast comer of Second and Pine streets, 
gave way under a heavy weight of snow and the building was 
wrecked beyond repair. It was a house of worship for colored people. 

In the Spring of 1877, by Legislative Act, the Village of Coming 
was divided into four wards, each ward to be represented on the 
Board of Tmstees by two members. First Ward, west of Pine and 



272 Thousands Sign Murphy Temperance Pledge. 

north of First street ; Second Ward, west of Pine and South of First 
street ; Third Ward, east of Pine and South of First street ; Fourth 
Ward, east of Pine and north of First street. 

A temperance revival began in Coming the first Sunday in 
April, 1877, with a union service in a church, meetings continuing 
night after night in Washington Hall. Signing " the Murphy pledge " 
was urged, with such success that nearly four thousand pledge cards 
were " signed " at the desk of the Secretary of the meetings. The 
pledge, originated by Francis Murphy, unexcelled as a temperance 
apostle, bore his signature, and was worded as follows : 

THE NATIONAL CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE MOVE- 
MENT.—' With Malice Toward None, and Charity for All."— I, the 
Undersigned, do pledge my Word and Honor, God Helping Me, 
to abstain from all Intoxicating Liquors as a beverage, and that I 
will, by all honorable means, encourage others to abstain." 

Francis Murphy. 



Each " Signer " was presented a bit of blue ribbon to wear as an 
honor badge. Home speakers, and "Murphy Signers" from 
neighboring communities also swept by the movement, were heard 
with gladness, the most heartily welcomed being Colonel Luther 
Caldwell and " Billy " Maxwell, of Elmira ; and Attorney Horace 
(" Parson ") Bemis and Attorney Miles Hawley, of Hornellsville. 

Monday, April 2, 1877, James L. White, catcher ; William H. 
White, pitcher, and Melville White, brothers, of Caton, left for 
Boston, under engagement for the season with the Red Stocking 
Baseball Club. Melville will have charge of the ball grounds. 

In April, 1877, the Coming Gas Company reduced the price of 
gas from $4 per 1,000 feet to $3,50. 

In May, 1877, Dr. Andrew J. Ingersoll, proprietor of the " Pine- 
wood Water Cure," purchased the Coming Independent and the 
printing equipment connected therewith. He engaged Uri Mulford, 
who for nearly a year had been associate editor of the Corning 
Democrat, to edit the Independent and manage the business. The 
paper was issued twice-a-week for a year, while managed by Editor 
Mulford, when it was sold to Nelson Cowan. It was thereafter 
issued weekly for about a year, when it ceased to be. Meantime 
Uri Mulford resumed work in the former field of his newspaper 
activities, the city of Auburn, N. Y. 



First Passenger Train Comes Down Post Creek. 273 

Early Thursday morning, June 7, 1877, the Coming House was 
partly destroyed by fire. It is a brick building, owned by the Brown 
Estate. Florence Smead, landlord, owns the furnishings. 

Francis Muryhy, " Father of the Murphy Movement," spoke 
from a platform in the grove at the public park near the Court 
House, Friday evening, June 22. There was an immense audience. 

An excursion train the morning of July 4th, brought several 
hundred people from Dundee and intermediate points over the new 

Syracuse, Geneva and Coming Railroad, to participate in the Coming 
celebration. The arrival of this train was the big event of the day. 

Henry C. Bonham, of Painted Post, is running a bus between 
that village and Coming. Fare, 10 cents ; part trip, 5 cents. 

The source of the village water supply has been changed from 
a well taking water from the Chemung River near the foot of Pine 
street, to a spring in the eastern section of the village, where a pump 
station has been placed. The supply is abundant and of good 
quality, except when contaminated by surface drainage. 

S. H. Ferenbaugh has sold the Painted Post Times to Davenport 
& Covert, whose new weekly paper, the Painted Post Enterprise, was 
burned out after two numbers had been issued. 

Dr. Edward Bryan, of Ovid, has moved to Coming and become 
a partner of Dr. A. M. Gamman in the practice of medicine, in place 
of his brother Dr. W. J. Bryan, who died recently. 

The new Bronson House at Painted Post, opened for business on 
Thursday evening, October 25, 1877. A ball marked the event. 

Trains on the new railroad between Geneva and Coming began 
making regular trips on Monday, December 10, 1877. The crew of 
the first passenger train were Charles Chapman, engineer ; O. Van 
Wormer, fireman, and E. A. Krieger, conductor. 

In January, 1878, J. H. Dampf discontined the drug business ; C. 
Glenn Cole sold his interest in the news and book store of Purdy & 
Cole to his partner, William E. Purdy. 

Valentine Ferenbaugh's harness shop, at Painted Post, burned. 

The morning of March 7, 1878, houses in Knoxville owned and 
occupied by Jacob Baker, Robert Haynes and Russel Pierce bumed. 

William Douglas Terbell purchased the book store and news 
business of William E. Purdy. 



274 Editors of Village Papers "Nag" Each Other. 

Thomas Malady's grocery store and the Dricoll store and tenant 
building were destroyed by fire, and Taylorson's furniture store, on 
West Market street, badly wrecked, the morning of April 30. 

Castilla B. Mulford, generally known as Major Mulford, dropped 
dead of heart failure, June 13, 1878, while a guest of his nephew, 
Wellington E. Gregory, in the town of Caton. He was a son of Dr. 
Ezekiel Mulford, a member of the colony that settled the town of 
Lindley in June, 1790. General John E. Mulford, of Montour Falls, 
who had diarge of the exchange of prisoners during the Civil War, 
is a son of Major Mulford. 

Newspaper competition was lively in Corning during the year 
that Uri Mulford was the responsible head of the Independent, and 
he and Editor George W. Pratt, of the Journal, and Editor Frank B. 
Br&wn, of the Democrat, took frequent flings at each other, but when 
" it Was all over " and Editor Mulford had resumed newspaper work 
in Auburn, Dr. Pratt printed the following kindly editorial r 

" Mr. Mulford began his Editorial career on the Corning Independent 
thirteen months ago. His previous experience at Moravia and in Auburn 
and several months' service as general assistant on the Corning Democrat, 
made it no new work. He began with noticeable vigor and exhibited rare 
tact. He showed surprising energy, making a lively, stirring and influen- 
tial newspaper ; in creating a party in Steuben County, and making himself 
to be recognized elsewhere as a vigorous political editor. As he leaves a 
field in which he labored with great industry, remarkable pluck and sublime 
audacity, we give him only due credit in saying that it was largely due to 
his power as an organizer, and as an indefatigable worker in pushing his 
principles, that the Greenback Party of Steuben County is to-day a formid- 
able party. Speaking of him simply as an editorial writer on political 
topics, and as a racy writer on affairs or incidents of local interest, he has 
made a record that does him much credit for tact and skill in seizing capti- 
vating points, graceful descriptive power, and enthusiasm in advocating his 
opinions. He has made himself, in this brief period, a reputation of which 
he may well be proud." 

H. C. Higman & Co. discontinued the banking business in the 
Summer of 1878, and Harry C. Higman moved to St. Joseph, Mich. 

Amory Houghton, Jr., President of the Corning Glass Works, 
purchased the late residence of George W. Patterson, Jr., (the banker 
who failed), at Pine and Third streets, paying $10,000. 

Charles Barry is landlord of the new Globe Hotel, on Pine street 
near the Erie station, and Valentine Rettig of the Osborne House, at 
the northeast corner of Pine street and Erie avenue. 



Death of Rev. Joseph HoUenbeck, Itinerant Preacher. 275 

Rev. H. F. Hill, a former pastor of the First Baptist Church, died 
August 1, 1878, at his home in the town of Lindley. 

The annual meeting of Genesee Annual Conference, Methodist 
Episcopal Church, was held in Corning, early in October, 1878. 

The tannery two miles southeast of Corning, was destroyed by 
fire the night of October 26. It was owned by Githler Brothers. 

On November 21, 1878, the Chemung Canal Feeder was closed 
and permanently abandoned, after having been in service 45 years. 

In December, 1878, William J. White was appointed station agent 
at Coming for the Fall Brook and associated lines. 

December 11, 1878, due to warm weather that melted the snow, 
the Chemung River submerged the low lands. A number of families 
in Knoxville hurridly abandoned their homes. Railroads were out 
of service for a day. The Caton road was rendered impassable. 

By order of Justice Angle, of the Supreme Court, the charter of 
the Conhocton Stone Road, (formerly the Monterey, Coopers Plains, 
Painted Post and Coming Plank Road Company), was annulled and 
its toll-gates abolished. 

Rev. Joseph HoUenbeck, aged 59 years, died at his home in 
Coming, December 20. He had lived in Coming about 36 years. He 
was a stone-mason, brick-layer and builder : a rugged man of great 
activity. He was a member of the Free Baptist denomination, and 
conducted services in various back settlements as well as in Coming 
and Knoxville, never asking and rarely receiving any compensation 
for such services, which continued form early manhood till his final 
illness. He was uneducated, but ready of speech and sincere. 

William D. Todd has sold his hat store to Julian Drake and his 
interest in the tailoring business of M. Schenck & Co. to F. L. Pease. 

C. A. Rubright, of Williamsport, has established a brick yard on 
the river flats in the eastern part of Knoxville. 

The flouring mills of Stephen T. Hayt, at the northwest comer 
of Market and Walnut streets, were destroyed by fire, Saturday 
morning, February 22. The main building was four stories with a 
basement. Loss about $45,000 ; insurance, $37,000. 

An electrie fire alarm system has been intalled, the bell in the 
toyer of the Free Academy being used. 

Telephones were first put to practical use in Corning and vicinity. 



276 Revs. Benj. F. and George Balcom Die the Same Day. 

April 1, 1879, William J. White took a position in the general 
offices of the Fall Brook Coal Company at Watkins, and was succed- 
ed as station agent at Corning by V. B. Myrtle, of Wellsboro, Pa. 

The brick for the new flouring mill of Stephen T. Hayt, built in 
the Summer of 1879, were manufactured in the brick yards of 
C. A. Rubright & Co., near Knoxville. 

The latter part of July, 1879, over 100 Coming men of property 
signed an agreement " to see that the village law is enforced to 
prevent the running at large of cattle, horses, swine and geese, and 
each person promises to pay his share of all expenses in the prosecu- 
tion of owners offending after August 1st." 

The lessees of the village water works have placed a new pump 
and engine, capable of pumping over 3,000 gallons per minute at 
slight elevation, or to force water into the reservoir on the hill, 225 
feet above the intake, at the rate of 500 gallons per minute. 

In September, 1879, James Rose, a fanner living a few miles 
north of Gibson, who was noted for his success as a " bee hunter," 
located and cut down a tree that contained 170 pounds of fme honey. 
The filled honey-comb occupied 11 feet of the hollow of the tree. 

John W. Brown and Archie E. Baxter, doing business as Brown 
& Baxter, have opened law offices in Elmira. They are from Coming. 

October 24, 1879. — The population of the village of Corning is, 
nearly 5,000 ; number between 5 and 21 years of age, 1,506. 

October 31, 1879. — A telephone wire has been extended from the 
store of Walker & Lathrop to their planing mill, one square east. 

November 22, 1879. — ^L. C. Kingsbury and his son Frank D. 
Kingsbury have purchased the John Vischer farm in Knoxville. 

C. A. Rubright & Co., owners of the brick yards near Knoxville, 
have purchased the brick yards at Mulhollan, in the town of Erwin. 

Rev. Benjamin F. Balcom, aged 70 years, for 50 years a resident 
of Steuben County, an able preacher of the Baptist denomination, 
successful in business as a lumberman and owner of a fine farm, 
died Saturday, December 21, 1879, at his home in CenterviUe. 

Rev. George Balcom, a brother of Rev. Benjamin F. Balcom, and 
also a Baptist preacher, died December 21, 1879, at his home in Caw- 
ker City, Kansas. His age was 65 years. He was a gifted evan- 
gelist and successful in organizing churches. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XLIV. 
Events In and About Coming— 1880-' 85. 

FULLER BROTHERS, proprietors of the Dickinson House, in 
Coming, having leased the hotel at Crystal Springs, on Seneca 
Lake, are fitting it up and beautifying the grounds for a 
popular Summer resort. 

In February, 1880, Henry Goff sold his interest in the dry goods 
business of Goff & Robinson, in Coming, to former Sheriff H. B. 
Williams, of Bath. 

Generous contributions were collected for the relief of famine 
stricken people in Ireland. 

A no-license Excise Board having been elected, not a license to 
sell intoxicants was granted in the village or town, for a year. 

In March, 1880, the contract for building a station and offices for 
the Fall Brook Railroad Company, to replace the old frame structure 
at the southwest comer of Pine street and Tioga avenue, was let 
to Walker & Lathrop. The building is to be of brick, two-stories 
high, with attic and basement, and a freight house on the west. 

Elam Watson, a skilled and industrous blacksmith of the Town 
of Lindley, has been in office as a Justice of the Peace, with the 
exception of one term, since he was elected to the office in 1833, He 
is a trustworthy trial judge. He is 73 years old. 

March 12, 1880.— Thomas G. Hawkes, for many years foreman 
of the cut glass department of the Coming Glass Works, has opened 
a glass cutting shop on West Market street. 

Mrs. Helen M. Pratt, aged 55 years, wife of Dr. George W. Pratt, 
died Sunday aftemoon, April 4, 1880, of pneumonia, at the family 

277 



278 Death of Doctor William Terbell, a Corning Pioneer. 

home in Corning. She was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Harry Hayt, 
and was bom at Patterson, Putnam County, N. Y. Three sons and a 
daughter survive— George E., Ransom, Harry Hayt and Sophie Steel. 

After residing for two years on a homestead farm near Larned, 
Kansas, and securing title. Captain Charles H. Freeman and wife 
again reside in Corning. 

At their annual meeting in April, 1880, the Corning volunteer 
fire companies elected officers as follows : 

Pritchard Hose, No. 1 — Truman S. Pritchard, President ; A. B. 
Witt, Foreman ; James Spencer and W. A. Davis, Assistants ; Henry 
Raymond, Secretary ; C. W. Brazee, Treasurer. 

Sherwood Hose, No. 3 — T. H. Thomson, President ; Eugene 
Whitlock, Vice President ; T. W. Kriger, Foreman ; John Gunthrup, 
Assistant Foreman ; L. W. Wellington, Secretary ; R. E. Robinson, 
Treasurer. 

Alliance Hook and Ladder Company, No. 1 — ^E. P. Graves, Presi- 
dent ; Frank S. Kingsbury, Foreman ; Clark Evans and James A. 
Drake, Assistants ; E. B. Seymour, Secretary and Treasurer ; Frank 
D. Kingsbury and O. McClellan, Auditing Committee. 

Fires in the forests in the southeastern portion of the towiL of 
Lindley and the adjacent part of the town of Caton, in May, 1880, 
caused the destruction of a large amount of timber on the stump, and 
in logs, consumed stump, brush and rail fences, and set a number of 
houses and barns on fire, causing their loss. Woods fires also caused 
heavy losses near Curtis. 

Dr. William Terbell, aged 82 years, died June 3, 1880, at the 
home of his son, W. D. Terbell, in Corning. He was bom near 
Bridgehampton, Long Island; became a doctor; married Miss Abbie 
Douglas, of Shelter Island ; located for a time at Dundaflf, Pa., and in 
1836 moved to Knoxville, in the then township of Painted Post, and 
in 1840, when the settlement of the village of Coming began, was 
one of its pioneers. Here he practiced his profession and engaged 
in the drug and notions business until advanced age forbade such 
activities. In matters having to do with community welfare he was 
consistently helpful and uniformly courteous. 

Benjamin Alexander, aged 72, a Negro, bom a slave, for many 
years a resident of Painted Post, died there June 5. He was noted 
for his manliness and good nature, and as a token of respect was 



State Has the Chemung Feeder Dam Removed. 279 

accorded a public funeral, during the time of the service and burial 
every place of business in the village being closed. 

Captain Charles H. Freeman is again in the grocery business. 

Valentine Ferenbaugh, aged 77 years, who when a child came 
with his parents from Baden-Baden, Germany, died July 5, at his 
home in Painted Post Fifty-two years ago he became a resident of 
Centerville, and forty years ago opened a harness shop in Painted 
Post, continuing the business while he lived. He was one of the 17 
persons who founded the Presbyterian Church of Painted Post, in 
1839, being dismissed from the older church near Knoxville. 

July 15, 1880. — The population of the viUage of Coming is 4,803 ; 
of the entire township, 7,423. 

The former Methodist Church, at the turn of the highway in 
Knoxville, for a dozen years owned by Hiram Pritchard, was burned 
to the ground early Monday morning, July 26, 1880. 

After having remained in place standing at the roadside in the 
village of Painted Post for 52 years, a tall oak post with a sheet iron 
silhouette in the form of an Indian with an arrow fitted to a drawn 
bow, was on Saturday removed, and a larger post bearing a highly 
colored sheet iron warrior was raised in its place. Speeches were 
delivered and the Corning Band played. A large number attended. 

In September, 1880, the Chemung Feeder Canal dam, across the 
river, a short distance east of the village of Corning, was torn away, 
by direction of the Canal Commissioner of the State. 

Thomas Argue, aged 51 years, died October 1, 1880. He was 
bom in Ireland. Since 1852 he had been porter of the Dickinson 
House, and in later years also was a railroad ticket broker, and at 
times held contracts for carrying the mails between the post office 
and railroad stations and between stations .He was a member of the 
Episcopal Church and of various Masonic bodies ; a man of alert 
mind and good judgment. No resident of Coming had more friends. 

Hiram Middlebrook, aged 84 years, died October 5, 1880, at his 
home in Lindley. He had lived in Lindley for about 35 years, was 
a member of the lumber manufacturing firm of Morgan, More & 
Middlebrook, a farmer, kept a general store, was for many years the 
Postmaster, and was ever zealous in religious work. 

On Friday morning, December 10, 1880, the large machine shop 
of Preston & Heermans, at Cedar steet and Erie avenue, was burned 



280 A Primitive Telephone Exchange Established. 

to the ground, and 25 men thrown out of work. It was a wood 
building, two and a half stories high, erected in 1853 by WiUiam F. 
Townley for a furniture factory, and for 13 years was a machine shop. 
Sunday morning, December 26, the book store of E. S. Barnes, 
the Boston notion store, the E. D. Evans photograph gallery and Miss 
Alice Loundsberry's dress-making shop, occupying the former 
Hollenbeck building, on central Market street, were burned out. 

While hunting in General's Hollow, in the town of Erwin, early 
in January, John McMullen, of Centerville, shot a 16-pound wildcat. 

In February, E. P. Rogers was appointed Postmaster of Coming, 

Plans for a sewer system were submitted to the village'Trustees. 

Said the Corning Journal in the issue of February 17, 1881 : — 

" The ice went out of the Chemung River Friday morning. Owing to 
the taking away of the State dam, a mile below the village, the flats on the 
other side of the river were not flooded, which justifies the hope that in the 
future the yearly loss by such overflows will be avoided. If another trial 
confirms this expectation, that vast tract of land will not only be available, 
but desirable, for village lots. With such a prospect, the imagination can 
easily make Corning into a flourishing city. It is an important railroad 
center already, and the Delaware and Lackawanna extension adds to its 
consequence. A bridge across the river at the warehouse, street car con- 
nection with Knoxville and Painted Post, efficient water works, and a 
projected system of complete sewerage, — and what more can be wished for 
the rapid and steady growth of Corning ?" 

Heermans & Lawrence replaced their machine shop, recently 
destroyed by fire, with a substantial brick building, two stories high. 

Soule & Ridgway established a telephone exchange in Corning 
in the Spring of 1881. Annual service rates : " Bell and hand tele- 
phone, $30 ; $10 extra for use of transmitter." 

At the charter election held March 1, 1881, a proposition to issue 
$25,000 in bonds to establish a sewerage system for the village was 
lost by 113 votes, and a proposition for paid police was lost by 59. 

Sixteen inches of snow fell March 3d and 4th, 1881. 

Fuller Brothers, of the Dickinson House, have taken the Grove 
Spring Hotel, on Lake Keuka, for the season. 

"Jim" White, the ball player, has signed with Buffalo. 

Twenty-six places were licensed to sell intoxicating liquors, at a 
meeting of the town Excise Board the latter part of May— hotel, 
9 ; store, 6; ale and beer, 11. The " wets" won at town meeting. 



Rock Formations Known as The Chimneys Destroyed. 281 

In April, 1881, the following officers of the Corning Fire Depart- 
ment were elected : Frank W. Jenness, Chief Engineer ; Charles E. 
Greenfield and Miles Terrill, Assistant Engineers ; Frank D. Kings- 
bury, Treasurer. 

The latter part of April the Fall Brook railroad station and office 
building at Pine street was completed and opened for business. At 
this time H. A. Horning was General Freight and Passenger Agent ; 
Andrew Beers, General Purchasing Agent ; V. B. Myrtle, Station and 
Express Agent ; William E. Gorton, Car Accountant ; A. H. Gorton,. 
General Superintendent ; George R. Brown, Superintendent of Tele- 
graph ; John W. Lynahan and Thomas McVoy, telegraph operators ; 
Thomas Kennedy and Martin Doherty, foremen in the freight 
receiving and shipping departments. The Fall Brook Coal Company, 
the Morris Run Coal Company and the Magee Estate have offices in 
the building. The first raiload station in the Chemung valley was 
a wood structure of modest design, erected on this site in 1840, by 
Nelson L. Somers, for the Blossburg and Coming Railroad. 

Lyman Balcom, aged 80 years, died at his home in Painted Post' 
May 19, 1881. He was born in Chenango County ; in 1832 he 
settled on a farm of 1,000 acres in Erwin and engaged in buying 
and selling lands, in lumbering, and in farming. In 1852 he bought 
and moved to the fine farm in the town of Erwin south of the village 
of Painted Post, where he dwelt till death. He was an Associate Judge 
of Steuben County in 1840-'47, and in 1867 a Member of Assembly. 

The bell in the tower of St. Mary's Church, was blessed Sunday 
morning, August 14, 1881, by Bishop Ryan. It is named " Peter and 
Thomas," in honor of Rev. Thomas Cunningham, a pioneer priest of 
the parish, and Rev. Peter Colgan, the present pastor. The bell is 
of the best material and manufacture and weighs 3,066 pounds. 

Charley Barry is landlord of the " Hotel Barry," an annex of 
Washington Hall, on Erie avenue, recently completed. 

While grading the right of way for the Delaware, Lackawanna 
and Western Railroad, along the base of the hill at the bend of the 
Chemung River near the mouth of Post Creek, the famous soft-stone 
formations known as " The Chimneys," were destroyed. They were 
ancient landmarks, standing detached from the main ledge, in shape 
suggesting a group of immense smoke stacks. Hence, the narrow 
roadway at that place was in settlement days named " Chimney 
Narrows," and the nearby bay that on occasion afforded snug harbor 
for river craft and rafts, was known as " Chimney Eddy." 



282 Two Local Grand Army Posts Are Organized. 

Monday afternoon, October 13, 1881, the corner-stone of the new 
brick Presbyterian Church at Painted Post, was laid. Rev. F. Camp- 
bell, is pastor, and James Rose is President of the Board of Trustees. 

In November, 1881, Fuller Brothers, landlords of the Dickinson 
House, rented the Globe Hotel, and put Mat Mangan in charge. Its 
name was changed to the " St. James Hotel." 

January 12, 1882. — Thomas E. Tousey has sold his hardware 
store at Painted Post to George A. and Willard F. Bronson, 

Witt & Huber, Corning grocers, dissolve partnership, J. H. Huber 
continuing the business. Abel B. Witt has purchased the C. W. 
Smith grocery. Mr. Smith moves to Kansas City. 

John Heermans, bom March 27, 1814, at Hyde Park, near Scran- 
ton, Pa., died January 23, 1882, at his home in Corning. He was an 
eminent advocate of Prohibition and a prolific essayist on moral and 
business problems. He moved to Corning in .1865. 

Harry C. Heermans succeeds his father, the late John Heermans, 
as agent of the estate of John Fellows. 

March 2, 1882. — Father Bums, of Buffalo, succeeds Father Baker 
as Assistant Pastor of St. Mary's Church. The later takes charge 
of the home for boys, at Limestone Hill, near Buffalo. 

At the Charter Election the proposition to establish a system of 
sewers was defeated by 191 votes. 

In April, 1882, the Knoxville Cemetery Associaton purchased 
five acres of land on the hill-side, north of the Kingsbury farm, for 
use as a place of burial, paying $500. 

Walker & Lathrop were awarded a contract for building forty 
miles of the projected Pine Creek Railroad, their undertaking to 
begin at Stokesdale Junction. The road is to extend to Williamsport. 

A new hotel at Gibson, owned by G. P. Miller, was destroyed by 
fire, the night of April 27, 1882. 

In June a Herdic coach, drawn by a team of horses, began 
making trips between Corning and Painted Post. Fare, 10 cents ; 
three tickets for 25 cents. Between Centerville and Corning, 7 cents. 

Two Grand Army Posts were organized Tuesday evening, June 
20, 1882 — No. 176, in Corning, with General Jacob H. Lansing as 
Commander, and 177 in Knoxville with Geo. Swingle as Commander. 

June 22, 1882.— William E. Purdy has been appointed agent at 
the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad station. 



Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen Organize Branch. 283 



Erastus Corning, of Albany, son of the man for whom Corning 
was named, announced his purpose to place a clock tower, built of 
Antrim stone, on the public square at Pine and Market streets. 

September 1, 1882.— Stephen T. Hayt has completed a three- 
story brick building, west of his flouring mills, and fitted the second 
and third floors up for occupancy by the cut glass shops of T. G. 
Hawkes & Company. One hundred frames will be placed. 

In September, 1882, a branch of the Brotherhood of Locomotive 
Firemen was organized in Coming, with the following officers : O. L. 
Baker, Master ; J. L. Krebs, Vice Master ; Henry Krebs, Secretary ; 
G. R. Quick, Financier ; Jabez Orcutt, Past Master ; A. L. Golden, 
Chaplain ; M. D. Robinson, Conductor ; R. J. Brewer, Warden ; John 
Farnum, Inside Guard ; John Hart, Outside Guard ; Trustees— W. G. 
Deyo, R. J. Brewer and John Burger. 

In November, 1882, William Nicholson, of New York, came ta 
Corning and entered upon the work of Auditor of the railroads 
owned by the Fall Brook Coal Company. 

Rev. Joel Wakeman, of Painted Post, is author of a book just 
published, entitled, " The Golden Horn, or Fatal Exchange." It is a 
temperance story, an intermingling of fact and fiction. 

Rev. S. W. Pratt, pastor of the Presbyterian Church at Campbell, 
is the author of a book in similar vein, published a few years ago, 
entitled " A Summer at Peace Cottage, or Talks About Home Life." 
This story was first run as a serial in the New York Evangelist. 

Thomas LaClear, bom in Owego, in 1818, who came to Center- 
ville in youth and engaged in decorating carriages and cutters for a 
number of years, and later achieved prominence as a portrait and 
landscape artist, died in his native village November 26, 1882. 

George R. Sutherland established a bank at Campbell. 

John Patterson, aged 80 years, son of Benjamin Patterson the 
famous pathfinder and hunter of pioneer days, died at Painted Post 
on Sunday, February 3, 1883. He, too, was a famous woodsman. 

Rev. John S. Bacon, late of Niagara Falls, has become pastor of 
of the First Presbyterian Church in Coming. 

B. W. Payne & Sons announce that they are to discontinue the 
manufacture of machinery in Coming, and are tolocate in Elmira. 

Tuesday night, April 3, 1883, the new round-house of the Fall 
Brook Company, in Coming, was destroyed by fire, due to a myster- 
ious explosion. Eight locomotives were greatly damaged. 



284 First Passenger Train Over Pine Creek Railroad. 

The first through train over the new " Pine Creek " section of 
the Fall Brook lines, made the trip from Corning to Williamsport on 
Monday, May 21, 1883, carrying railroad officials and guests. The 
train returned to Corning on Tuesday, when a banquet was held at 
the Dickinson House, with General George Magee as honor guest. 

The village trustees appointed E. N. Drake, A. Houghton, C. C. B. 
Walker, S. T. Hayt and Alexander Olcott a commission to have 
charge of the Public Park on which the court house rests. 

About 1 o'clock the morning of June 7, 1883, the planing mill of 
Walker & Lathrop, at Cedar street and Tioga avenue, was discovered 
on fire. But for the gravity water system the entire plant and a 
number of near-by buildings would have burned. The main shop 
was destroyed. Loss about $17,000. 

The contract to erect a primary school building, of brick, in the 
eastern part of the village, was let to J. AUington, of Penn Yan. 

Andrew Beers, born in 1819, since 1839 a resident of Corning, 
died in Elmira, early Monday moning, June 17, 1883, when he was 
about to arise from bed. For near 25 years he was agent of the 
Morris Run Coal Company, and for five years Purchasing Agent of 
the Fall Brook Coal Company, 

W. H. Chaphe, of Coming, was appointed purchasing Agent of 
the Fall Brook Coal Company. 

A telephone line connects Bath and Coming, 

Walker & Lathrop resumed operations in their reconstructed 
planing mill and sash and blind factory in August, 1883. 

Dr. Henry A. Argue succeeds Duncan H. Baxter, druggist 

August 9, 1883. — The contract for paving Market street, with 
Medina sandstone, was let to Patrick Horan, of Medina, at $7,345. 

In the Fall of 1883 the old Presbyterian Church at Painted Post, 
a frame building, was torn down by A. W. Smith, who had purchased 
it, and the lumber and windows were put to other use. 

The morning of October 4, 1883, Henry Goff, was found dead, of 
heart failure, in bed at* his home. He was bom in Howard, in 1816. 
From early youth he was active in business, first as a carder of 
wool and finisher of cloth in his native town, then as a lumberman 
and merchant at Avoca, and since 1862, as a merchant in Coming. 
He was of brilliant mind, fine presence, and a leader in social life. 

In October, John Comosh, noted acrobat, left Corning to accom- 
pany a circus from New York for a Winter tour of Mexico. 



Ancient Presbyterian Church Destroyed by Fire. 285 

Cephas S. Piatt, aged 60 years, who for 42 years had resided in 
Painted Post, died November 24, 1883. First he taught school and 
studied law. Successful in practice as an attorney, he invested in 
farming lands and from time to sime sold at greatly advanced prices. 
He bought the charter of the Cayuga Lake Bank and moved it from 
Ithaca to Painted Post, the venture being a success. He married a 
daughter of General Francis E. Erwin, who with their two daughters 
and a son survive. He left a large estate. 

M. H. Sitgreaves sold his grocery to W.E.Vanderhoef and 
Charles A. Hungerford — (Vanderhoef & Company.) 

The new foundry of William E. Gorton & Company, on East 
Tioga avenue, began operations in December, 1883. It is devoted 
exclusively to the manufacture of railroad castings. 

A bell weighing 1,400 pounds, has been placed in the new clock 
tower, on the Public Square at Market and Pine streets. 

Mrs. Eliza Edward Townsend, aged 82 years, died at the home of 
her son Edward E. Townsend, in the town of Erwin, December 28, 
1883. Her parents were Captain Samuel Erwin and wife ; she was 
bom at Easton, Pa., and when an infant made the journey with her 
parents on horse-back to their new settlement at Painted Post. 

Eber Schofield, an early settler of the town of Lindley, where in 
his youth he taught school, died in Knoxville, January 7, 1884. He 
was a farmer and lumberman in Lindley, and repeatedly served as 
a Justice of the Peace, and six terms as Supervisor. 

In January, 1884, a large four-dial clock was placed in the new 
stone tower on the Public Square in front of the Dickinson House. 

The first meetings conducted in Coming by members of General 
Booth's Salvation Army were held, both indoors and on the streets. 

The morning of Febmary 27, 1884, the shops of the Weston 
Engine Company, at Painted Post, were destroyed by fire. The 
members of the company are Abijah Weston, W. H. Calkins and 
Edwin Armstrong. Loss about $25,000. 

Sunday evening, March 2, 1884, the old Presbyterian Church, 
on the corner of the village park, at First and Pine streets, burned 
to the ground. The. fire started in the attic. The church was built 
in 1841, seven years before the village of Corning was organized. 
When the Presbyterian society built another church, at the north- 
east corner of Pine and First street, the old house of worship was 



286 Wonderful Achievements of John Comosh, Acrobat. 

sold to the Free Baptist Church, and at the time of his death was 
owned by Rev. Joseph HoUenbeck. It had for a number of weeks 
been used by the Salvation Army. 

March 20, 1884.— John Comosh, acrobat, known professionally 
as "John Worland," has returned to Corning from a tour of Mexico 
with a circus. He will this season travel with Forepaugh's show. 

John Comosh achieved distinction as an acrobat, by being the 
only performer to successfully turn a triple somersault and land 
on his feet. He did this on five occasions, each time making a 
run and vaulting from a spring-board over the backs of a number 
of elephants and horses. First, in 1874, at St. Louis, Mo., at rehearsal 
while with John Wilson's California Circus ; second, in 1876, at St. 
Louis, Mich., with Howell's London Circus ; at Eclaire, Wis., in 1881, 
regular performance feature, Forepaugh's Shows ; fourth, at La 
Cross, Wis., two weeks later, regular performance, same show ; and, 
fifth, with Forepaugh, at New Haven, Conn., 1884. 

At a meeting of men of St. Mary's Parish, held at the church on 
Sunday afternoon, May 4, 1884, following addresses by Fathers Leo 
and Colgan, over 100 men signed the temperance pledge. Later the 
pledge signers organized by electing the following officers : John W. 
Lynahan, President ; Michael F. Kelley, Jr., Vice-President ; Thomas 
O'Brien, Secretary ; Eugene McCarthy, Assistant Secretary. The 
name chosen is "' The St. Joseph Total Abstinence Catholic Benevo- 
lent Society of Coming." 

In June, 1884, Dr. Henry A. Argue sold his drug store, on East 
Market street, to L. N. Mathews and Victor Cole, who continue the 
business, as Cole & Mathews. 

Saturday night, June 1, a burglar robbed the home of Charles C. 
B. Walker, on Walnut street, of jewelry, watches and other family 
treasures, including precious stones, valued at $5,000. 

The morning of July 7, 1884, fire destroyed the following build- 
ings at Painted Post, with most of their contents : VanOrsdale & 
Casterline's grocery, William Howell's saloon, Randall's meat market, 
Smith's store, a double house occupied by Oliyer Orr and William 
Farren, Weber's tailor shop and Borst's Hotel. 

The Weston Engine Company is re-building their foundry and 
machine shops destroyed by fire at Painted Post, in February. 

Two heavy storm clouds, one moving from the northeast and 
the other from the southeast, collided a short distance east of the 



Varied Career of Rev. and Dr. Joshua B. Graves. 287 

village of Corning, Monday afternoon, August 18, 1884. The tem- 
perature had ranged high with a cloudless sky. But a most 
furious fall of rain and hail, with shifting winds of exceeding violence, 
continued for half an hour. It was a terrifying cyclone. Some of 
the hail was of large size, and it was several inches deep when the 
storm ceased. Window glass was broken on every hand. 

Dr. Joshua B. Graves, aged 83, died August 26, 1884. Few lives 
so active and varied as his. He was aggressive and plain spoken. He 
was bom in Vermont, there studied medicine and surgery, when a 
young man praced the profession at Troy, N. Y.; took a theological 
course, was ordained a minister in the Presbyterian Church ; after 
serving as pastor in a number of other places, came to Corning in 
the Summer of 1842 as pastor of the newly organized Presbyterian 
Church. About three years later, because of his rather " liberal " 
views and refusal to be " admonished," about half the membership 
seceded and built a " Tabernacle " on East Erie avenue, where 
services were conducted for a number of years. The weakened 
church being unable to pay an adequate salary. Dr. Graves resumed 
the practice of medicine ; in 1847 was suspended by the Presbytery, 
and in the Spring of 1849 the bolters returned to the fold. As a 
surgeon Dr. Graves was eminent. He served several terms as village 
President, and was military surgeon at Elmira barracks during the 
Civil War. He was thrice married. His third wife survives. 

Large numbers patronize the new roller-skating rink. 

In September the Salvation Army dedicated new headquarters. 

After being issued for six month in two-page form, the size of 
the Corning Daily Democrat was increased to four pages, with the 
the first issue in December, 1884. The weekly edition was continued. 

Benjamin W. Payne, aged 71 years, died at his home in Coming, 
Wednesday moming, December 4. He came to Painted Post from 
Brooklyn, 45 years ago, and conducted a tinshop and stove store, 
later making iron castings. About 40 years ago he moved to Com- 
ing, having changed his place of business, and with others built up 
extensive machine shops. About a year ago the industry was taken 
to Elmira, capitalists of that city inducing the change of location. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity. 



CHAPTER XLV. 
Marriages in Corning and Vicinity, 1870-'85. 

MARRIED, In Coming. January 8, 1870, by Rev. Dr. Niles, 
William W. Adams and Frances daughter of Hiram DeWolf, 
both of Corning. 

January 28, 1870, James H. Denton and Miss Mary Grant, both 
of Painted Post. 

In Ann Arbor, Mich., January 28, 1870, Dr. Edward S. May, of 
Campbell, and Miss Tilla Woodruff. 

At the home of the bride in Little Flats, February 17, 1870, by 
Rev. C. P. Hard, David T. Calkins, of Corning, and Emma daughter 
of George Smith. 

In Corning, March 10, 1870, Geo. Gorton and Mary McConnell. 

In Owego, March 22, 1870, Prof. Henry A. Balcom, of Corning, 
and Miss Lucy Perham, daughter of L. W. Perham. 

In Corning, April 14, 1870, by Rev. C. P. Hard, Benjamin Young 
and Miss Julia Lanahan. 

In Corning, April 27, 1870, by Rev. Dr. Niles, Clark Evans and 
Miss Alice S. James. 

In Painted Post, April 20, 1870, by Rev. C. J. Bradbury, George 
H. Easterbrooks and Miss Dora Throop. 

May 12, 1870, Peter J. DeWolf and Miss Carrie E. Clark. 

In Corning, May 24, 1870, William Lathrop and Arvesta Bissell. 

At Christ Church, Corning, May 26, 1870, by Rev. Joseph Hunter, 
Jerome B. Maltby and Mary daughter of Andrew Beers. 

July 5, 1870, George Brown and Arlena Clark, of Coming. 

In Painted Post, August 4, 1870, Rev. Robert S. McArthue, pastor 
of Cavalry Baptist Church, New York, and Miss Mary E. Fox, 
daughter of the late Rev. Norman Fox. 

288 



Marriages in Coming and Vicinity, 1870-'71. 289 

In Corning, September 29, 1870, George M. Smyth and Miss 
Isabelle M. daughter of Henry Wells. 

In Caton, October 23, 1870, James A. Gilbert and Miss Julia E. 
daughter of Ephriam Hill, of Caton. 

In Coming, October 29, 1870, Chester M. Hardenburg and Miss 
Nellie M. Rutherford, both of Coming. 

In Painted Post, November 23, 1870, Frank A. Fenderson, of 
Coming, and Miss Mary H. Patchen, of Painted Post. 

In Hornby, December 21, 1870, Oren Roloson and Miss Ella E. 
daughter of Isaac Goodsell. 

In Coming, December 22, 1870, Joseph Lear and Kate Barnes. 

In Corning, February 7, 1871, by Rev. C. P. Hard, George W. son 
of I. P. Jones, and Miss Julia A. Fassett, both of Coming. 

In Coming, February 15, 1871, Sylvester Burdick and Miss 
Nancy Dickerman, Both of Coming. 

In Painted Post, March 22, 1871, Oscar E. Aldrich and Miss 
Amanda M. Densmore, both of Painted Post. 

April 6, 1871, Daniel E. Remington, of Painted Post, and Miss 
Lucy M. Harrison, of Hornby. 

In Painted Post, May 16, 1871, Louis Lindner, of Coming, and 
Miss Annie Githler, of Painted Post 

In Painted Post, May 24, 1871, by Rev. J. Jerolomon, Edward R. 
Berry, of Coming, and Miss Ida Kimble, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, June 4, 1871, Appleton L. Golden and Miss Alice 
Millard, both of Coming. 

In Hornby, June 28, 1871, Herbert J. Jimerson and Miss Bertha 
E. Hendrick, both of Hornby. 

In Knoxville, August 16, 1871, Charles Billinghurst and Miss Ida 
D. Pierce, both of Knoxville. 

In Coming, September 27. 1871, Harris C. Higman, banker, of 
Painted Post, and Miss Martha E. daughter of Rev. D. Van Alstin. 

In Coming, October 11, 1871, Elijah Rowley, of Titusville, Pa., 
and Miss Kate Thompson, of Corning. 

In Coming, October 11, 1871, Ithuel M. Johnson and Miss Louisa 
A. Morgan, both of Corning. 

In Corning, October 18, 1871, George B. Hill and Mary B. Carr. 



290 Marriages in Corning and Vicinity, 1871-'72. 

In Corning, November 2, 1871, by Rev. T. Stacey, Henry Cowan 
and Miss Sarah E. Gorton, daughter of S. D. Gorton. 

November 11, 1871, William D. Howell and Miss Olive Adams, 
both of Painted Post. 

In Lindley, November 22, 1871, by Rev. W. Cochran, George W. 
Stratton and Miss Julia A. daughter of Frederick Thurber. 

In Caton, December 5, 1871, Oscar Force and Frances J. Wolcott. 

In Corning, December 6, 1871, by Rev. Joseph Hunter, A. J. 
Owen, merchant, and Mrs. Louisa M. Wentz, both of Coming. 

In Caton, December 12, 1871, Frank L. Rowley, of Manteno, 111., 
and Miss Jane I. daughter Emerson Gregory, of Caton. 

In Lindley, December 17, 1871, C. Byron Westcott and Miss Mary 
Terwilliger, daughter of Serene Terwilliger, of Lindley. 

In Coming, December 20, 1871, Elbert B. Seymour and Miss 
Ejnma L. Todd, daughter of Major L. Todd. 

In Painted Post, Dec. 31, 1871, by J. S. Tobias, Esq., Valentine 
Remmel and Miss Augusta Quandt, both of Corning. 

In Knoxville, February 5, 1872, by Rev. D. VanAlstin, Russell E. 
Pierce and Miss Jennie K. Conover, both of Knoxville. 

In Coming, February 17, 1872, by Rev. Peter Colgan, William 
Morrison and Miss Kate McGovem. 

In Coming, Feb. 22, 1872, George Marland and Emma MarshalL 

In Coming, April 3. 1872, Edward C. Pond and Helen E. Mecarg. 

In Rochester; April 16, 1872, A. C. Steams, of Coming, and Mrs. 
A. J. Howard, of Rochester. 

At the residence of William P. Hill, father of the bride, in Catonv 
May 1, 1872, Elias B. Hungerford and Emily Hill, both of Coming. 

In Hornby, May 1,1872, by Rev. J. Easterbrooks, E.Joshua 
Easterbrooks and Miss Delinda E. Dickinson. 

In Coming, May 24, 1872, by Rev. Dr. Wakeman, J. H. Cochran, 
Coming agent of the Erie Railroad, and Miss Annie Wicks. 

In Corning, July 17, 1872, Valentine Able and Miss Anna Quandt. 

In Coming, August 14, 1872, by Rev. Anson G. Chester, David 
S. Drake and Miss Mary E. Tillotson. 

In Corning, September 14, 1872, Wm. King and Emma Baker. 

In Corning, Sept. 19, 1872, D. H. Baxter and Mina E. Somberger. 



Marriages in Corning and Vicinity, 1872-'74. 291 

In Coming, Sept 16, 1872, Chas. E. Greenfield and Julia E. Gilbert 

In Coming, October 16, 1872, by Rev. Peter Colgan, Miles H. 
Millard, master printer, and Julia C. Corcoran, both of Coming. 

In Coming, October 16, 1872, Henry Harrison, of Hornby, and 
Hannah, daughter of Thomas Tayiorson, of Coming. 

In Caton, Nov. 7, 1872, Bmce L. Gregory and Mary E. Hunt. 

In Coming, Nov. 30, 1872, Chas. E. Loveless and Sarah E. Davis. 

In Painted Post, December 24, 1872, Frank Chapman, of Corning, 
and Miss Christine Tayiorson, of Painted Post. 

In Caton, January 22, 1873, Ezra Gridley and Olive E. Johnson. 

In Knoxville, February 5, 1873, by Rev. Anson G. Chester, Rufus 

C. Palmer and Flora A. Herrick, both of Knoxvilla 

In Caton, February 4, 1873, James S. Holmes and Miss Adelaide 

D. Thompson, both of Caton. 

In Cohocton, April 9, 1873, Colonel Archie E. Baxter, of Coming, 
and Rosemond Estella, daughter of Mrs. N. J. Wheeler. 

In Coming, May 6, 1873, by Rev. Thomas Stacy, Eugene L. 
Winchester and Ella daughter of Israel P. Jones. 

In Coming, May 14, 1873, James W. Higman, of Coming, and 
Cornelia A., daughter of Valentine Ferenbaugh, of Painted Post. 

In Corning, August 25, 1873, Rev. Albert W. Hubbard, of Cam- 
eron, and Emma R. daughter of Judge George T. Spencer, of Coming. 

In Horseheads, October 28, 1873, Dr. Joshua B. Graves, of Com- 
ing, and Miss Alice Elizabeth, daughter of Judge Lyman, of Iowa. 
This was the second marriage of Dr. Graves. 

In Caton, September 3, 1873, Henry Wescott and Julia E. French. 

October 9, 1873, Dr. Frank O. Purdy, of Corning, and Julia E. 
Odell, of Addison. 

In Coming, October 30, 1873, Charles L. Fuller and Susan W. 
daughter of I. W. Kimble. 

At Plainfield, N. J., December 10, 1873, Alanson J. Fox, of Painted 
Post, and Comelia Stebbins. 

December 11, 1873, J. LeRoy Nixon and Miss Susan Cortright 
both of Caton. 

In Coming, January 6, 1874, Lovasso Field, of Homellsville, and 
Alice B. V. datighter of John Heermans, of Corning. 



292 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1874-'76. 

In Horseheads, April 7, 1874, Thomas Taylorson, of Coming, and 
Mrs. Kate Lombard, formerly of Coming. 

September 10, 1874, Augustus J. Brace, of Caton, and Miss 
Euella Emery, of Hornby. 

In Coming, October 6, 1874, Benjamin Cuddeback, of Big Flats, 
and Miss Libbie Clute, of Coming. 

In Coming, October 28, 1874, Charles C. Drake and Mary I., 
daughter of A. T. Cochran, Corning agent of Erie Railroad. 

In Coming, February 17, 1875, by Rev. A. N. Damon, James H. 
Spencer and Miss Maggie E. daughter of J. E. Wolcott. 

In Coming, April 25, 1875, Rev. F. K. Fowler, postor of the First 
Baptist Church and Miss Anna C. daughter of John Higman. 

In Painted Post, July 1, 1875, William E. Wolcott, of Coming, 
and Mary daughter of George Githler, of Painted Post. 

July 15, 1875, Frederick D. Brown, of Corning, and Lizzie daugh- 
ter of Ebenezer C. Adams, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, July 15, 1875, by Rev. A. N. Damon, Robert Clisdell 
and Mary F. daughter of the late J. Nye Robinson. 

In Corning, July 25, 1875, Frank P. Wormley and Miss Emma T. 
VanKeuren, both of Coming. 

In Centerville, October 25, 1875, by Rev. Anson G. Chester, 
Thomas S. Baxter, of Coming, and Emma A. Stickles, 

In Coming, November 16, 1875, Ira F. Foote, of Conesus, N. Y., 
and Miss Dora F. Bump, sister of O. W. Bump, of Coming. 

December 16, 1875, George E. DeWolf and Carrie S. daughter of 
Isaac M. Clute, both of the town of Coming. 

In Coming, January 5, 1876, by Rev. A. N. Damon, Charles W* 
Littlefield and Mary J. daughter of Eri Bunnell. 

In Corning, Febmary 20, 1876, Benjamin H. Thurber and Mary 
A. daughter of Frank Clark. 

In Lindley, March 27, 1876, George T. Erway and Miss Minnie 
daughter of George Wescott, Jr. 

In Coming. August 9, 1876, Harry B. Parcell and Adella M. 
daughter of Russell Mathewson. 

September 20, 1876, William E. Vanderhoef, of Corning, and 
Nellie E. daughter of Elias B. Hungerford, of Dey's Landing. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity — 1876-'77. 293 

In Coming, October 10, 1876, George Byrne and Hattie Thomas. 

In Coming, October 25, 1876, William M. Perry and Hattie B. 
daughter of Joseph W. Guernsey. 

In Coming, October 28, 1876, by Rev. Horace Eaton, James A. 
Drake and Isabelle T. daughter of C. C. B. Walker. 

In Caton, November 30, 1876, Eugene Bundy, of Coming, and 
Julia Babcock, of Caton. 

In Homby, January 10, 1877, Sylvester Roloson and Miss Mary 
Ophelia Roloson, both of Homby. 

In Painted Post. January 18, 1877, Louis Valerius, of Elmira, and 
Rachel Githler, of Painted Pbst. 

In Coming. March 1, 1877, George J. Wormley and Ophelia A. 
daughter of Erastus Knapp. 

In Catlin, March 27, 1877, Isaac N. Easterbrooks, of Coming, and 
Miss Ida N. Ostrander. 

In Coming, April 11, 1877, George R. Quick and Ella daughter 
of H. W. Lownsberry. 

In Coming, April 25, 1877, Pred D. Rockwell and Miss Dell H. 
daughter of Dr. A. D. Robbins. 

In Coming, May 24, 1877, Charles M. Hyde and Fannie Tylee. 

InKnoxville, June 5, 1877, NyeR. Hill and Miss Isabel Inscho. 

In Corning, June 11, 1877, at the residence of Dr. J. B. Graves. 
John Myers and Miss Lucy E. Graves. 

In Coming, July 12, 1877, John Gunthrop and Emma Quandt. 

In Coming, Angust 22, 1877, George A. Bronson, of Painted 
Post, and Miss Elthea D. W. daughter of Mrs. Anna Smith. 

In Campbell, August 30, 1877, Frank H. White, of Painted Post, 
and Miss Rose Balcom. 

In Coming, September 2, 1877, Ed Mulford, son of E. P. Mulford 
and Edith daughter of the late Mahlon M. Mulford. 

In Coming, October 18, 1877, David F.Fero and Miss Rose Blair. 

In Lindley, November 21, 1877. by Rev. L. D. Ayer, LoweU 
Mulford and Miss Stella T. Riffle. 

November 28, 1877, John J. Adsit and Miss Mary J. Straubinger, 
both of Corning. 



294 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1877-18. 

In SanFrancisco, Cal., December 6, 1877, Dr. Frank C. Payne, of 
Coming, and Mary E. daughter of Chauncey B. Land. 

In Knoxville, December 26, 1877, by Rev. F. K. Fowler, Isaac 
Knisely and Miss Hattie Palmer. 

In Coming, January 9, 1878, Samuel E. Quackenbush, of Caton, 
and Miss Mary E. daughter of Gershom W. Barnard, of Coming. 

In Coming, January 16, 1878, W. E. Kidder, of New York, and 
Miss Eliza A. daughter of John B. Ferenbaugh. 

In Big Flats, Febmary 14, 1878, Dr. George G. Hollenbeck, of 
Coming, and Miss S. Jennie Sleeper, 

In Hornby, February 20, 1878, Clayton Roloson and Miss Diana 
E. daughter of George Goodsell. 

In Gibson, March 28, 1878, LeRoy H. Miller, of Big Flats, and 
Mandama M. daughter of William Wormley. 

In Knoxville, April 3, 1878, Uri Mulford, of Coming, and Miss 
Mary daughter of Caleb T. Bentley. 

In Coming, April 14, 1878, William Wolcott and Julia McHenry, 

In Corning, April 23, 1878, Samuel J. Lower and Kity Townsend, 

In Corning, May 14, 1878, Dr. Alfred M. Gamman and Mrs. 
Mira T. Drake. 

In Corning, May 29, 1878, Archabald Arthur, of Brooklyn, N. Y., 
and Sarah Frances daughter of Joseph J. TuUy. 

In Painted Post, June 26, 1878, Jas. D,Orcutt and Martha Savory, 

In Coming, July 9, 1878, Clinton W. Heermans, son of John 
Heermans, and Josephine M. Woodbury. 

July 4, 1878, by Rev. Peter Colgan, Martin Mahar, of Dunkirk, 
and Bridget daughter of John J. Kelly, of Coming. 

In Corning, July 31, 1878, Walter F. Egginton and Susan Kriger, 

August 27, 1878, Eugene M. Johnson and Ella M. Tupper. 

In Coming, September 19, 1878, William J. White, chief clerk of 
the Fall Brook Coal Co., and Katie daughter of Captain John Hoare. 

September 25, 1878, Harry C. Heermans, of Coming, and Ella 
daughter of Abijah Weston, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, Oct. 10, 1878, Francis A. Erwin and Hattie D. Clute. 

In Knoxville, Oct. 13, 1878, J. O. Walter and Susie Pearow. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity — 1878-'80. 295 

October 15, 1878, Samuel Erwin and Emma A. Tupper. 

In Coming, November 27, 1878, by Rev. Peter Colgan, Patrick 
Callahan and Mary Reynolds. 

In Coming, December 11, 1878, Peter W. Caulkins and Miss 
Mary E. daughter of Wilham Christian. 

In Coming, December 18, 1878, by Rev. J. V. Benham, James 
Nye Robinson and Miss Eva Belle daughter of James Beaty. 

In Caton, December 24, 1878, Walter Wood and Carrie E. Nixon. 

In Corning, December 28, 1878, by Rev. J. V. Benham, Frank 
Thurber and Emma S. daughter of William K Brown. 

January 18, 1879, F. D. Edminster, of Big Flats, and Miss Hattie 
daughter of Thomas Taylerson, of Coming. 

In Coming, March 29, 1879, Frank E. Potter and Emma B. Thrall. 

In Corning, April 23, 1879, John H. Huber and Mary Bucher. 

In Corning, May 13, 1879, James Jennings and Kate Dormer. 

In Corning, May 30, 1879, Tobias Purcell and Annie M. Deegan. 

In Coming, August 18, 1879, by Rev. J. V. Benham, George E. 
Lacey and Agga M. E^gleston. 

In Painted Post, October 2, 1879, by Rev. T. L. Waldo, Henry 
Beck, of Coming, and Miss Matilda Githler. 

In Coming, July 21, 1879, by Rev. Dr. Pattengill, George Haradon 
and Miss Delia daughter of A. J. Gilbert 

In Knoxville. October 12, 1879, by Rev. B. F. Balcom, Andrew 
W. Easling and Anna S. daughter of E. A. SturtevanL 

In Corning, October 16, 1879, Wm. A. Buck and Isabel A. Radley. 
In Coming, November 6, 1879, by Rev. M. L. P. Hill, Cyrus S. 
Hood and Miss Mina E. daughter of Charles M. Gamman. 

At the residence of Nelson Cowan in Gibson, November 26, 1879, 
Robert F. Park and Emma B. Cowan, both of Corning. 

In Homby, December 3, 1879, by Rev. V. D. Mather, George W. 
Lane, of Beaver Dams, and Leila H. daughter of 0. L. Underwood. 

In Coming, December 31, 1879, William E. Purdy and Miss 
Helen, daughter of the late Dr. Benjamin Throop, of Palmyra. 

In Coming, March 15, 1880, John J. Fowler and Mrs. Mary Davis. 
In Painted Post, March 17, 1880, Chas. F. Wood and Ida E. Chase. 



296 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1880-'81. 

In Corning, April 21, 1880, by Rev. James P. Thorns, Charles 
Havens and Miss Sarah H. Quackenbush. 

In Coming, April 28, 1880, Schuyler VanKeuren and Hattie Smith. 
In Coming, May 10, 1880, Andrew Callahan and Julia Oakley. 
In Coming, May 31, 1880, Wm. E. Williams and Rosa B. Crane. 

In Corning, September 16, 1880, by Rev. Peter Colgan, Thomas 
E. Maloney and Mary E. Meehan. 

In Hornby, June 17, 1880, by Rev. Joseph Merring, George S. 
Sly and Anna L. daughter of John H. Ferenbaugh. 

June 10, 1880, Stephen L. Tobey, of Lindley, and Miss Addie M. 
daughter of Stephen Gregory, of Caton. 

In Corning, August 6, 1880, Henry W. Lear and Josephine Knapp. 

In Campbell, September 8, 1880, by Rev. S. W. Pratt, George R. 
Sutherland and Miss Hester A. daughter of Col. James S. McKay. 

In Corning, September 16, 1880, by Rev. J. V. Benham, William 
W. Cooper and Lottie, daughter of William Williams. 

In Corning, September 29, 1880, by Rev. S. R. Fuller, Georgje 
Bames and Miss Annie G. Marsh, recently from Burmingham, Eng. 

In Coming, October 13, 1880, Melvin P. Roloson of Homby, and 
Sarah C. daughter of Mrs. Sarah E. Tylee, of Coming. 

October 12, 1880, by Rev. Dr. Pattengill, Amos W. Howell and 
Addie M. Morgan, both of Hornby. 

In Elmira. October 14, 1880, Daniel Loid, of Coming, and Miss 
Mary D. Webber, of Big Flats. 

In Painted Post, November 3, 1880, by Rev. Abner Morrill, Ed- 
ward T. Wright and Miss Mary Kirkland, both of Painted Pbst. 

In Corning, November 8, 1880, by Rev. J. V. Benham, Frank L. 
Genimg and Jennie L. daughter of Mrs. Frank Veith. 

In Painted Post, August 4, 1880, John McBumey, of Corning, and 
Miss Rose B. Bryan, of Canandaigua. 

In Painted Post, December 25, 1880, Miller Rose and Miss Ida 
M. Howard, both of Painted Post. 

December 23, 1880, Harry S. Pitts and Miss Jennie M. Beach. 

In Knoxville, January 6, 1881, Ed Hood, of Coming, and Miss 
Jessie E. daughter of H. S. Reed. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1881-'82. 297 

In Knoxville, April 6, 1881, by Rev. J. V. Benham, Menzo Hosier 
and Ann Eliza daughter of 0. F. Adsit. 

In Coriing, April 14, 1881, by Rev. J. V. Benham, Anthony Hisch- 
er and Miss Mary R. daughter of W. H. Freeman. 

In Painted Post, May 4, 1881, Charles B. Short and Ina Smith. 

In Caton, May 15, 1881, by Rev. William Sharp, George E. Davis,, 
of Corning, and Miss Therista I. Marcy, of Caton. 

In Coming, May 25, 1881, Peter W. Caulkins and Anna Maloney.. 

In Corning, June 2, 1881, by Rev. F. K. Fowler, Comfort B. Hig- 
man, of St. Joseph, Mich., and Myra daughter of Issac M. Clute. 

In Coming, July 2, 1881, Horatio S. Knisely and Kittie Palmer. 

In Coming, August 17, 1881, Rev. P. H. Milliken, of Montgomery, 
Orange County, and Adelaide L. daughter of Charles H. Thomson. 

In Painted Post, September 7, 1881, by Rev. Dr. Wakeman, R. S., 
Davenport, Assistant Postmaster of Corning, and Alice C. Kirkland. 

In Coming, October 4, 1881, Floyd E. Crane and Amy Jones. 

In Coming, October 11, 1881, by Rev. Peter Colgan, James 
McMahon and Miss Annie O'Bryan. 

In Corning, October 18, 1881, by Rev. Peter Colgan, Frank Gre- 
gorius and Miss Mary Thomas. 

In Coming, October 31, 1881, Geo. W. James and Clara Turrill. 

In Corning, January 4, 1882, by Rev. Peter Colgan, John Hart 
and Miss Mary O'Shaughnessy. 

In Coming, March 15, 1882, by Rev. E. J. Hermans, Samuel B. 
Millard and Miss Jessie M. Egbert. 

March 23, 1882, Edgar J. Harrison and Esther Black, of Lindley. 

In Painted Post, April 5, 1882, by Rev. J. T. Canfield. Fred W. 
May, of Hornellsville, and Miss Inez M. Wood, of Painted Post. 

In Corning, April 14, 1882, Jos. J. Baxter and Catherine McGill, 

In Corning, April 25, 1882, by Rev. Peter Colgan, Joseph F. 
Schuster and Sophie daughter of M. Schenck. 

In Knoxville, May 31, 1882, by Rev. E. J. Hermans, Samuel M. 
Knisely, of Coming, and Miss Anna Conover. 

In Corning, July 2. 1882, James H. Hoffman and May Hathaway. 

In Corning, Sept, 80, 1882, James W. Fowler and Sarah Lane. 



298 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1882-'84. 

October 10. 1882, Lyman Wood and Kate E. English, of Caton. 

In Big Flats, October 11, 1882, Edmund VanEtten and Clara 
E. Bennett, both of Gibson. 

In Corning, October 26, 1882, Charles P. Hill, of Lindley, and 
Miss Anna M. daughter of Charles M. Gamman, of Corning. 

In Coming, November 16, 1882, by Rev. Rutger Dox, Alfred H. 
Baer and Miss Marion Wolcott. 

In Corning, November 28, 1882, by Rev. H. Pattengill, Robert W. 
Terbell and Miss Kate, daughter of H. G. Osborn. 

In Painted Post, December 6, 1882, Cecil J. Hubbard and Miss 
Josie N. Wood, daughter of the late Charles Wood. 

In Painted Post, December 13, 1882, by Rev. Rutger Dox, Frank 
E. Bronson and Miss Maggie D. Hastings. 

December 24, 1882, George Cady and Jennie Totten, of Knoxville. 

In Corning, January 3, 1883, by Rev. E. J. Hermans, William A. 
Davis and Ida B. daughter of Henry Wheeler. 

In Coming, Jan. 24, '83, Harry H. Hungerford and Carrie E. Mann. 

In Milton, Vermont, February 22, 1883, Julian C. Drake, of 
Corning, and Miss Helen A. Gale, of Milton. 

May 9, 1883, James M. Palmer and Miss Lodema Denison. 

In Coming, May 9, 1883, by Rev. John S. Bacon, W. K. Ingersoll 
and Kate M. daughter of C. J. Smith, of the American Hotel. 

In Corning, May 23, 1883, Richard Dwyer and Julia Cookley. 

In Coming, May 29, 1883, John Martin and Ella Sullivan. 

In Corning, May 31, 1883, Herman Richter and Diene Seidt. 

In Coming, July 18, 1883, Charles Brown and Anna Terrill. 

July 18, 1883, Samuel C. Robertson, of Corning, and Cornelia 
Stewart, of Milwaukee, Wis., formerly of Corning. 

In Corning, September 26, 1883, by Rev. E. J. Hermans, Bayard 
Tucker, of Wallace, and Fanny H. Brown, of Corning. 

October 10, 1883, Willis L. son of John D. Hamilton, of Campbell, 
and M. Elizabeth, daughter of C. F. Piatt, of Painted Post. 

February 7, 1884, John Callinan and Kate Quinn, of Corning. 

In Corning, March 12, 1884, Daniel E. Wheelock, of Corning, and 
Miss Cora G. Woodcock, of Tioga, Pa. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1884. 299 

In Coming, April 17, 1884, by Rev. Rutger Dox, William P.. 
Thomas and Mrs. Marietta Golden, both of Coming. 

April 15, 1884, Adam Rettig and Catherine Schneider, of Coming- 
in Knoxville, May 4, 1884, by Rev. E. J. Hermans, W. N. King 
and Mrs. Mary A. Sanford. 

In Painted Post, May, 1884, 7, by Rev. Dr, Wakeman, Benjamin 
Bassett and Miss Helen Lambert. 

In Coming, May 7, 1884, Samuel S. Denton and Lizzie Brown. 

May 14, 1884, Edward J. Benn and Anna M. Bennett, of Coming. - 

In Painted Post, July 4, 1884, by Rev. C. J. Bradbury, Edwin E. 
Sturtevant, of Corning, and Mary E. Orcutt, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, August 28, 1884, by Rev. Peter Cogan, John Lauter- 
bora and Miss Maggie Batty, both of Coming. 

In Corning, September 1, 1884, by Rev. E. J. Hermans, Lewis M. 
Miller and Miss Ettie C. Baker, Both of Coming. 

In Caton, September 3, 1884, by Rev. E. J. Hermans, Herbert C. 
Austin, of Coming, and Miss Sadie L. Kimball. 

In Coming, September 3, 1884, by Rev. Peter Colgan, Frank 
Hurd, of Caton, and Mary, daughter of Peter Maxner, of Corning. 

In Coming, Sept. 15, 1884, Henry Gibson and Kate Green. 

In Corning, September 18, 1884, by Rev. Peter Colgan, John 
McGannon and Miss Maggie Dwyer, both of Coming. 

In Coming, Sept. 23, 1884, Henry Krebs and Kate McGraw. 

In Coming, October 16, 1884, by Rev. E. J. Hermans, William E. 
Jones and Ida B. daughter of L. B. Manning. 

In San Francisco, Cal., October 14, 1884. J.W. Darrin, of Coming, 
and Miss May Hilton, of San Francisco. 

In Coming, October 27, 1884, by Rev. Peter Colgan, John 
Comosh, acrobat, and Miss Josephine Campbell', both of Coming, 

In Corning, November 12, 1884, by Rev. Rutger Dox, Eugene R. 
Bunnell and Ida Isabel Welden, both of Coming. 

In Coming, November 25, 1884, Chas. Ruff and Alma Quandt. 

In Homby, December 14, 1884, by Rev. H. W. Bixby, Lester 
Roloson and Miss Susie A. Gardner. 

December 24, 1884, by Rev. Abner Morrill, Henry Yewger, of 
Big Flats, and Hattie Johnson, of Coming. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XLVI. 
Events In and About Corning— 1885-'90. 

THE FALL BROOK COAL COMPANY gave wide publicity, 
at the beginning of the year 1885, that it had discontinued the 
practice of collecting bills for creditors of its railroad, shop or 
other employes ; that those who do not settle their board bills with 
reasonable promptness will, on complaint, be dismissed. 

On January 1, 1885, the Coming House was purchased by Beard 
& Chapman, and is to be remedelled and ref urmshed. 

Joseph W. Borst, landlord, opened his newly built hotel at Paint- 
ed Post, on the site of the one destroyed by fire last July. 

Heermans & Lawrence, lessees of the village water system, 
establish an office in the former Hungerford Bank, on Market street. 

Leo Branch, No. 26, Catholic Knights of America, chose the 
following officers: Edward Moran, President; Philip McDonald, 
Vice President; Thomas O'Bryan, Recording Secretary; Thomas 
Kennedy Financial Secretary and Treasurer ; Joseph Kerl, Sergeant- 
at-Arms ; John Swain, Daniel Fitzpatrick, Frank Markert, Trustees. 

Dr. Henry C. May and Dr. Thomas A. McNamara are resident 
surgeons of the Erie Railroad Company. 

January 8, 1885.— The following volunteer fire company trustees 
have been elected, to serve the current year : — 

Alliance Hook and Ladder Company — A. H. Gorton, Harry C. 
Heermans and Frank D. Kingsbury. 

Pritchard Hose Company — Truman S. Pritchard, Frank O. Baker 
and M. C. Lauterborn. 

Sherwood Hose Company — T. H. Thomson, L. W. Wellington 
and Miles T. Terrill. 

300 



Fall Brook Company Enforces Total Abstinence Rule. 301 

The officers of Pritchard Hose Company are : George A. Hen- 
derson, President; P. T. Quigley, Vice President ; William W. 
Cooper, Foreman ; M. F. Donovan, Assistant Foreman ,i Frank L- 
Clute, Secretary, and George E. Barnard, Treasurer. 

During the past thirteen months the Fall Brook Coal Company 
has discharged 166 men in railroad service, for violating " Rule One," 
which forbids the use of intoxicating liquor as a beverage. 

January 22, 1885.— While skating on the Chemung River near 
the foot of Pine street, a son of William H. Clark broke through the 
ice and would have drowned but for the assistance of Morris E.. 
Gregory, of Caton, student of the Free Academy. 

Landlords Beard & Chapman have changed the name of the 
Coming House to the Exchange Hotel. 

In February, 1885, S. E. Gilbert was appointed Postmaster at 
Painted Post and E. P. Rogers re-appointed Postmaster at Coming. 

Frank C. Payne, of Coming, died February 15, aged 31 years. 

In March, 1885, James Hoare succeeded John L. Lewis as Presi- 
dent of the village of Coming. The members of the village Board 
of Trustees are : M. Clancey, Michael McGivem, 1st Ward ; Patrick 
Callahan, John Cogan, 2d Ward ; C. H. Vorhees, John Peart, 3d 
Ward ; George Welts, Frank D. Kingsbury, 4th Ward. 

In April, 1885, W. H. Tylee resigned his position as a clerk in 
the First National Bank, and moved to Worcester, Mass., where he 
became a partner of his father-in-law in the grocery business. 

April 10, 1885, the large foundry building of the Preston &. 
Heermans machine shops, was destroyed by fire. Loss, $5,000. 

May 1, 1885.— Rawson & Thatcher have begun manufacturing 
reaping and mowning machines in the former Payne shops. 

James L. White, of Caton, signed a contract to play baseball as 
a member of the Buffalo club, at $2,500 for the season. 

For several months roller-skating has been a fad with many 
votaries, but at last is on the wane. 

The Lackawanna Railroad Company has paid the Town of 
Coming $7,500 damages for appropriating the highway along the 
" Chimney Narrows," from the mouth of Post Creek to the village of 
Gibson. When the settlement was effected, the railroad company 
had a large number of men at work grading a highway along the 
river bank, and this work of restoration was at once stopped. 



302 Elevated Railroads Invention of Dr. Rufus Gilbert. 

In the Spring of 1885 a Division of the Order of Railway Con- 
ductors was organized in Corning, with the following officers : J. A. 
Dunham, Chief Conductor ; Richard E. Maleady, Assistant Chief ; 
George Weekes, Secretary and Treasurer ; J. D. Carlton, Senior 
Conductor ; P. J. McGannon, Junior Conductor ; Levi Cowley, Inside 
Sentinel; A. E. Garrison, Outside Sentinel; William Doolittle, 
Corresponding Sentinel. 

Alfred Thomas Cochran, aged 61 years, station agent for the 
Erie in Coming since the Spring of 1851, died May 14, 1885. 

Edward Clisdell succeeded A. T. Cochran as Erie station agent. 

A creamery located on the back of the lot on Walnut street 
street occupied by the home of O. E. Cary, began business early in 
, June, 1885, with Mr. Cary as manager. 

A Tribe of the Order of Red Men has been organized in Corning 
with 112 charter members. 

The following Coming Free Academy students were graduated 
; at exercises held at the Skating Rink, June 25, 1885 : Percy Alfred 
Clisdell, Antionette Gilbert, Charles W. Hayt, Mary C. Kennedy, 
Edward F. McAuliff, Frederick F. Pfeiffer, Oscar M. Rothfuss, 
Carrie M. Rubright, Mildred M. Smith, Willard S. Way and Clark 
Benedict Williams. 

O. C. Patchell, aged 55 years, for twenty years master mechanic 
■■' of the Fall Brook Railroad Company, died July 13, of rheumatism. 
He was a master-workman of marked ability. 

July 16, 1885.— An enumeration of the inhabitants of the village 
-of Corning, just completed by George Hitchcock, shows a population 
of 6,151, including 1,867 persons of school age. There has been an 
increase of 316 in population in one year. 

Dr. Rufus H. Gilbert, aged 52 years, died at his home in New 
York. He was a son of William D. Gilbert, a pioneer of the village 
of Coming ; when a young man was a clerk in the drug store of Dr. 
Graves, with whom he studied medicine; for a number of years he 
was a resident doctor, then moved to New York ; was a surgeon in 
the Civil War; for a time following the close of that war was 
Assistant Superintendent of the Central Railroad of New Jersey; in 
1867 invented an elevated railroad for street traffic, the first road of 
the type being the " Gilbert Elevated Railroad," in Sixth and Seventh 
avenues. New York, opened in June, 1867. When the Metropolitan 
Transit Company was organized he became Directing Engineer, at a 



Corning Glass Ware For White House Service. 303 



large salary. The company paid Dr. Gilbert $100,000 as the outcome 
of a claim for damages for infringing on his original elevated railroad 
patent, and then dispensed with his services. 

Sunday afternoon, August 30, a heavy rain that continued for 
more than an hour, preceded by heavy hail, destroyed many farm 
crops in Coming and near-by towns and ruined most gardens. Many 
birds, caught while on the wing by the sudden on-sweep of the 
storm, were killed by hail. 

At the glass engraving and cutting shops of T. G. Hawkes & 
Company, in September, 1885, an order was filled for fifty dozen 
pieces of table glass-ware for the White House at Washington. The 
set included numerous examples of art-work of the highest class 
known to the craft. The order was placed by President Cleveland. 
During the administration of President Grant, an elegant set of glass- 
ware for White House service was engraved at the shops of Captain 
John Hoare. In both instances the absolutely flawless glass was 
manufactured at the Corning Glass Works. 

September 25, 1885, the books and other belongings of the 
Corning Library, conducted by a semi-public organization, were dis- 
posed of at Sheriff's sale, to Quincy W. Wellington, for $1,200. He 
announced is purpose to convey the property in trust to a new 
library association, to be organized, for maintaining a village library. 

The Public Square at Market and Pine streets, was paved with 
Medina sand-stone, in September, 1885, at $3,398 expense. 

In October 1885, Joseph J. TuUy sold, to other members of the 
concern, his interest in the Coming Glass Works. 

The amount of lumber cut at the Gang Mills, on the Tioga River, 
in Erwin, during the 27 years beginning January 1, 1858, and ending 
with December, 1884, was 205,093,000 feet. The largest cut was 
in 1869, when the output was 13,065,000, nearly all white pine. The 
first saw-mill at Gang Mills was built in 1832— a small affair with a 
single upright saw, driven by a water wheel, a dam across the stream 
furnishing the necessary head of water and creating a pond for logs. 

In October, 1885, J. S. Earl succeeded E. S. Bames in the book, 
notions and news business, with his son, Wm. J. Earl, in charge. 

November 5, 1885.— Q. W. Wellington who recently purchased 
the Coming Library, at Sheriff's sale, for the purpose of providing 
the village a circulating and reference library, has placed Harry C. 



304 Death of Gen. Lansing, Clerk of Steuben County. 

Heermans in charge. Miss Jessie Hughes is Librarian. The library 
will be open Tuesday and Friday evenings. 

At an election held in Knoxville, Tuesday, November 10, a 
proposition to incorporate the village was defeated — 105 to 92. 

General Jacob H. Lansing, aged 61 years, Clerk of Steuben 
County, died at his home in Coming, November 8, 1885. He came 
to Coming in 1847 ; engaged in the jewelry business and was skilful 
in repairing time-pieces : was active in the performance of the duties 
of citizenship ; served in the Civil War, going to the front as a Cap- 
tain and being promoted to the command of his Regiment ; was 
twice elected President of the village of Coming ; in 1866 he was 
Brigadier-General and placed in command of the 20th Brigade, New 
York State Militia. November, 1883, he was elected Clerk of the 
County of Steuben. 

In December, 1885, James L. White, of Corning, signed to play 
for two seasons with the Detroit League baseball team. 

In November, 1885, Dr. W. C. Wilbur, of Charleston, S.C, having 
purchased the dental business of Dr. F. D. Beales, located in Corning. 
Dr. Beales moved to Greenfield, Mass. 

Monday and Tuesday, January 3 and 4, 1886, due to unusually 
high temperature on Sunday followed by heavy rains during that 
night and part of Monday, the Chemung river covered the valley 
from hill to hill, flooding Painted Post, Knoxville and part of Corning. 
A number of familes fled from their homes, and others took refuge 
up stairs. Monkey Run Creek inundated streets and yards and filled 
scores of cellars along Erie avenue and Market street, and cross 
streets in the central section of the village. 

Attorney Charles H. Thompson, aged 55 years, a resident of 
Corning since 1850, died of heart failure the night of February 14, 
1886, while alone in his bedroom. He founded the Masonic Consis- 
tory in Coming in 1867, and the Corning Library in 1873. 

During the past twelve months the Fall Brook Company dis- 
charged about 150 men for violating its famous '" Rule One." 

Governor Hill appointed James A. Drake, of Corning, Clerk of 
Steuben County, to succed General Lansing, deceased. 

Hurlburt & Hunting, proprietors of a performing animal and 
acrobat show, established Winter quarters in the old Fall Brook 
foundry, where animal training is conducted and rehearsals held. 



Alonzo H. Gorton, Superintendent Fall Brook Lines. 305 



The afternoon of Febniary 4, 1886, the combined grist-mill, saw- 
mill and cider-mill at Hornby Forks, owned by Charles G. Wheat, 
was destroyed by fire. During the fire the steam boiler exploded. 

Rubright & Dorman have taken a contract to build an addition 
to School No. 3, in the eastern section of the village. 

The contract for erecting an iron bridge across the Tioga River 
at MulhoUan was let to the Iron Bridge Company, of Berlin, Conn., 
at $7,500 all complete. Length of bridge, 300 feet 

Tuesday, March 2, Hiram Pritchard, after an interval of 23 
years, was again elected President of Corning. An issue of $50,000 
in bonds to finance a system of sewers was approved— 538 to 122. 

Zera Todd sold his grocery to Welton Warner and Alexander 
Borst, and retired from business. 

April 8, following two days of rain, the Chemung River rose to 
within six inches of the flood-crest in January last 

The members of a village Sewer Commission appointed by 
President Pritchard and approved by the Trustees, are Charles C. B. 
Walker, H. P. Sinclaire, Frank D. Kingsbury, Q. W. Wellington and 
Thomas Dwyer. 

Alonzo H. Gorton, aged 58 years. Superintendent of the Fail 
Brook Coal Company's railroads, died April 26 at his home in Com- 
ing. He was bom in the town of Corning, then a part of the original 
Town of Painted Post, a son of Samuel Gorton and a grandson of 
Rufus Gorton — a pioneer settler of this gateway of the Genesee 
Country. Alonzo H. Gorton learned the trade of a carpenter, 
in 1860 began work as a pattern maker, and soon was advanced to 
the position of foreman of car building at the Fall Brook shops ; in 
1864 John Magee appointed Mr. Gorton Superintendent of the Corning 
and Blossburg Railroad, which extended from Corning to the State 
line at Lawrenceville ; and since then the main-track mileage of the 
Fall Brook lines have increased to near 250 miles. He served from 
time to time in various village offices, and with conscientious fidelity. 

George R. Brown, for 22 years connected with the train service 
of the Fall Brook Coal Company, was appointed Superintendent. 

Robert H. Canfield was appointed Assistant Superintendent 
of the Fall Brook railroad lines. 

The State Legislature enacted and the Governor signed a law 
appropriating $6,000 for building a slope wall along the south side of 
the Chemung River in Corning, to do away with the old canal docks. 



306 Alanson B. Houghton Writes Harvard Class Poem. 

Alanson B. Houghton, son of Amory Houghton, Jr., and Charles 
L. Mills, son of Ellsworth D. Mills, of Corning, were graduated at 
Harvard University in June, 1886. Alanson B. Houghton wrote and 
read the class poem. The Boston Daily Advertiser in its account of 
the commencement exercises, said : "The principal feature of Class 
Day, and one of the most notable events of the college year, was the 
presentation of the class poem. This poem is by far the strongest 
literary production written by a Harvard undergraduate for many 
years. Besides its polished form and graceful diction,, there is a 
depth of thought and feeling in it which is remarkable." 

The seventh and eighth verses of the twenty-four that compose 
the poem are here presented, an earnest of the literary merit of the 
entire production: 

Love lives in Youth ! And we may wipe the tears, 
That linger yet where memory wilT not die, 
And speed the coming of the better years, 
And pray the shadows of the past to fly. 
The past is dead. And in the coming time 
There ever dawns a vision more subHme 
Of golden promise through a cloud of fears. 
The night is gone, and mom fills all the sky. 

With hopes that echo Uke a sweet faint rhyme. 
Or waver like a wan wave on the sea, 
We stand, the last fruits of a passing time. 
The first fruits of a time that is to be. 
For as the future opens wide her ways 
Of endless glory : through the coming days 
That sing and echo like a distant chime, 
We face the presence of eternity. 

Tuesday evening, July 13, 1886, two men from Rochester held a 
conference at the Dickinson House, with men owning real estate 
along the highways between Gibson and Painted Post by way of 
Market and Pulteney streets, with a view to securing the right of 
way for a street railroad. The promoters intimated that a franchise 
for 99 years would be asked of the village. Most of those present 
favored the project, but adverse sentiment became pronounced in a 
few days and the project was dropped. 

July 29, 1886, a few minutes after 6 o'clock in the afternoon, a 
cyclonic storm burst upon Coming. "Wind, hail and rain caused 
damage to buildings, farm crops and gardens in Coming, Caton, 
Homby, Erwin, and down the Chemung valley to the vicinity of 



Editor Frank B. Brown Is Appointed Postmaster. 307 

Elmira, that amounted to near $250,000. Most of the tobacco crops 
were entirely ruined. In Erwin a large barn was moved several rods. 

In August, 1887, William E. Gorton and Robert W. Terbell 
opened a new drug store at 19 East Market street, the firm name 
being Gorton & Terbell. 

The new iron highway bridge across the Tioga River at Mul- 
hollan was thrown open for traffic on Saturday, September 11, 1886. 

In September, 1886, Rev. Father Boylan, for four years Assistant 
Pastor of St Mary's Qiurch in Corning, was appointed pastor of St. 
Vincent'^j Church, in Attica. He was succeeded by Rev. Father 
Kean, who came from Batavia. 

September 21, 1886, Mr. and Mrs. Hiram Pritchard celebrated 
their golden wedding, in the evening, entertaining a large number of 
guests. The wedding supper was served by Fuller Brothers. 

Charles C. B. Walker, of Coming, was elected Chairman of the 
Democratic State Committee. 

On Thursday, October 21, 1886, the brick church of the First 
Baptist Society, at First and Wall streets, was dedicated. Rev. R. S. 
McArthur, of New York, gave the dedication sermon. The church 
cost nearly $25,000. Rev. Norman Fox, of New York, delivered an 
address in which the history of the local society was reviewed. 

October 18, 1886, President Grover Cleveland appointed Frank B. 
Brown, editor and owner of the Corning Democrat, Postmaster of 
Corning, to succeed E. P. Rogers, who had been in office 5 1-2 years. 

r Early; in November, 1886, the Coming Glass Works and the 
cut glass department began the use of electric lights. 

General Austin Lathrop is President and C. C. Drake is Manager 
of an electric company organized in September, 1886. 

In November, 1886, Erastus S. Pier, as leader and instructor, and 
Frank B. McGeorge as manager, organized the " Fall Brook Band," 
the players being : Erastus S. Pier, Walter Egginton, John Powell, 
Joseph Hill, Patrick Quill, John Krebs, Fred A. McGeorge, H. A. 
Clark, Elmer Bachus, Fred Berlin, Charles A. Jones, Ernest Van 
Keuren, George Hunt, William H. Schonleber, D. F. Fero, Augustus 
Berlin, Frank B. McGeorge, Frank Maloney, Thomas F. Townley, 
Michael Conlon, E. A. Sturtevant, W. A. Buchanan and W. L. 
McGeorge. Morris Osborn is Drum Major. 



308 Brown Block Burns; Democrat Office Damaged. 

The former Salvation Army Barracks, on East Market street, 
purchased last Spring by Rev. Peter Colgan, pastor of St. Mary's 
parish, having been remodeled and fitted for use as a church, was 
on Sunday, November 28, consecrated. It has been named St.Patrick's 
Church, and is under the immediate care of Rev. Father Colgan. 

Three feet of snow fell during the month of November, 1886. 

The net receipts of a " Kirmess " held at Harvard Academy, the 
second week in December, to raise money for maintaining the Corn- 
ing Public Library were, $926. The event continued three evenings. 

Tuesday night, January 4, 1887, the Brown Block, on Market 
street, was destroyed by fire, and the Democrat printing office and 
contents damaged to the amount of about $4,000. The Brown Block 
was occupied by John S. Earl, book store ; Stern Brothers, dry goods ; 
Champeny Brothers, dry goods ; Mrs. T. Clark, millineryfc F. T. 
Treadwell, photographer ; Mrs. R. H. Hawkins, hair dresser ; Mrs. 
Denison, dress maker ; the post office, and the telephone exchange. 
The store building owned by Mrs. Anna Smith, of Painted Post, a 
brick structure, was wrecked, the tenants saving little. Total losses, 
$85,000. Frozen hydrants gave the blaze headway. 

January 19, 1887, Quincy W. Wellington, owner of the Coming 
Library, deeded the same to an incorporated library association, on 
condition that it be maintained for a public library " by the party of 
the second part for the period of twenty-five years," 

The past year twelve cigar factories in Coming made 581,500' 
cigars, Gustave Kretchmar leading with 310,400. 

The highway bridge across the Conhocton River at Coopers 
Plains was carried away by high water, February 9, 1887. 

March 1, 1887, John Peart was elected President of Coming. 

A committee appointed for the purpose, at a public meeting held 
to consider ways and means for erecting an opera house in Coming, 
reported early in March, 1887, that $5,000 in subscriptions had been 
pledged as a bonus for those putting the project through. 

Holland B. Williams is erecting a three-story brick block on the 
four lots on East Market street, until the recent fire occupied by the 
Brown block and two additional buildings. 

The Corning Water Works, Hermans & Lawrence lessees, has 
61 1-2 miles of mains, 360 taps, 28 meters and 61 hydrants. Daily 
consumption of water, 300,000 feet. The pressure at Market street 
is 90 pounds, which is ample for fire purposes. 



Death of Alexander Olcott, Prominent In Business. 309 

March 19, 1887, the Corning post office was moved from tempor- 
ary quarters, necessitated by the recent fire, to the Drake building, 
at the southeast corner of Pine street and Tioga avenue. 

The hemlock bark Extract Works, established in Painted Post 
in 1864, now owned by N. Spencer Thomas^ continues to do a pros- 
perous business. Since 1879 Mr. Thomas has also manufactured 
textile dyes for use by cloth and yam manufacturers. 

Snow fell for two days, at intervals, and Tuesday morning, 
April 19, 1887, eight inches of heavy snow covered the ground. 

Alexander Olcott, aged 57 years, a resident of Corning since 
1846, died April 21. He was a son of Thomas W. Olcott, of Albany, 
and from early manhood was identified with the business interests 
of the village of Coming. He was a member of the pioneer firm of 
Pa3me & Olcott, foundrymen and manufacturers of steam engines and 
other machinery. He was a Member of Assembly in 1864 and 1865. 
His widow and a son, Marvin Olcott, survive. 

Will J. McConnell, aged 37 years, of Geneva, 0., for three weeks 
conducted a temperance pledge signing campaign in Coming. Most 
of the meetings were held in the former skating rink, now Harvard 
Academy. Nearly 1,800 persons signed the temperance pledge 
during the McConnell meetings. 

General Austin Lathrop, of Coming, was appointed Superinten- 
dent of State Prisons, by Governor David B. Hill. 

In May, 1887, the Excise Board granted 45 licenses. 

The Alliance Hook and Ladder Company Baseball Club has the 
following personnel ; C. G. Cole, 3d base. Captain ; W. C. Wilbur, 
catcher ; Charles E. Drake, pitcher ; B. W. Wellington, 1st base ; C. 
L.Mills, 2d base; W. S. Wetsel, short stop : Marvin Olcott, right 
field ; Willard S. Way, center field ; H. S. Lang, left field. 

Oscar W. Bump resigned as Cashier of the First National Bank 
of Coming. He is Treasurer of the Butler Coal Company. 

May 18, 1887, M. W. Hubbard's box factory burned. Loss, $8,000. 

June 2, 1887.— A contract for constructing a system of sewers in 
the village of Coming was let to John McDougall, Son & Co., of 
Homellsville, at $46,826.19. 

Friday evening, June 17, 1887, a concert followed by a dance, for 
the benefit of the parsonage fund of the First Presbyterian Church, 
was held in James A. Drake's barn. Commenting on the event, the 



310 Mail Carriers Begin Service in Corning and Knoxville. 

Corning Journal said : "This scheme to increase the funds by making" 
dancing a part of the entertainment is certainly novel in Presbyter- 
ian Church history. Fifty years ago, or even fifteen, such a project 
would have caused intense excitement, and the effort would have 
been squelched by the pastor and the elders." 

The Free Academy graduated a class of 13, namely: Lottie V. 
Borst, Nettie M. Durand, Lizzie M. Earl, Mary Mann, Mettie M, 
Palmer, Walter J. Blair, Farrar F. Clark, Frank E. Deurlein, Fred A. 
Robinson, John M. Robinson, S. Eugene Tuthill, William F. White 
and Philip E. Young. 

The free delivery of United States mail began in Coming and 
Knoxville, July 1, 1887, with the following carriers : Daniel J. Hal- 
loran, Joseph Krebs and George A. Haradan, with Dennis Quill as 
substitute carrier. The salary of a carrier is $600 a year. 

General Francis E. Erwin, aged 81 years, died July 6, 1887, at his 
home a mile west of Painted Post. He was a son of Captain Samuel 
and a grandson of Colonel Arthur Erwin who purchased the town 
bearing the family name of Phelps and Gorham in 1790. He leaves; 
three sons and two daughters — Edward and Frank Erwin, of Painted 
Cost ; Samuel S. Erwin, of Coming ; Mrs. Robert Wilkes, of Bath, 
and Mrs. Cephas F. Piatt, of the town of Erwin. 

Market street between Cedar and Wall was paved with Medina 
sand-stone in the Sunraier of 1887. 

At a special town meeting held August 4, 1887,, it was decided 
by a vote of 363 to 14 to build an iron bridge across the Chemung 
River, to replace the old wooden bridge between Coming and Knox- 
ville, which is no longer considered safe for heavy traffic. 

September 8, 1887.— Joseph F. Moore succeeds John W. Clark, 
(transferred to Waverly), as ticket agent at the Erie station. 

The re-organized Young Men's Christian Association has a 
membership of seventy-seven. 

H. A. Horning, Traffic Manager of the Fall Brook lines, died 
September 13, 1887, at his home in Corning. 

E. F. Kreshner, of Lyons, succeeded Mr. Homing as Traffic 
Manager. J. D. Lawton, of Coming, was appointed local freight agent. 

In the Fall of 1887 the State built 1,325 of slope wall along the 
south bank of the Chemung River, east of Pine street, formerly 
occupied by canal docks. 



Death of Former Congressman Charles C. B. Walker. 311 

There were many deaths of children due to diphtheria, in Corn- 
ing, during the Fall and early Winter of 1887. In a number of 
homes every child died. 

The Williams Block, on East Market street, is completed. A 
double store is occupied by Williams & Robinson, dealers in dry 
goods, and a single store by W. S. Dickinson, druggist. 

In November, 1887, John H, Huber moved his grocery into his 
new brick block at Pine and Cedar streets. 

A newly constructed Baptist Church was dedicated December 1, 
1887. It replaces a church destroyed by fire June 15th. 

Monday, January 16, 1888, John H. Way, for 30 years a passenger 
train conductor on Fall Brook lines, took the position of Chief Clerk 
of George R. Brown, General Superintendent of these railroads. 

The new iron bridge across the Chemung River between Corn- 
ing and Knoxville, was opened for traffic January 27, 1888. 

Charles C. B. Walker, aged 64 years, died at his home in Corning 
on January 26, 1888. He was bom at Keene, New Hampshire. At 
the age of 18, with $300 which he had accumulated, he started out 
under home sanction to make his way in the world. For six years 
he was a clerk in a hardware store at Palmyra, N. Y. Then he 
tought a half-interest in a hardware store in the new village of 
Coming, and since then Coming had been his home, and much of its 
prosperity has been due to his various local business ventures. He 
was successful in all of his business undertakings — as a merchant, 
manufacturer of lumber, dealer in lands, farmer, and a stockholder 
in manufacturing concerns and transportation companies. He 
was active in political life, served in various village and town offices, 
was a member of various State commissions where his abilities were 
used to splendid purpose, and was in 1875-76 a Representative in 
Congress. He was a man of the people— courteous, vigorous, honest, 
approachable— a good neighbor. He is survived by Mrs. Walker ; by 
two daughters, Mrs. Isabel Drake and Mrs. Hattie E. Royce, and by 
two sons, Charles E. and Edwin S. Walker. 

Febmary 9, 1888.— F. N. Drake has contributed $5,000 to pay for 
the Presbyterian parsonage and clear the society from debts. 

A blizzard began Sunday, March 11, 1888, and continued for 
fifty hours, about 28 inches of snow falling during that period. Snow 
drifts closed highways and blocked railroads. The storm was of 



312 Committee Appointed to Prepare City Charter. 

wide extent. Telegraph and telephone service were shut off for a 
number of days and the first train through from New York arrived 
in Corning four days late. 

March 22, 1888.^At meetings held in the villages of Coming 
and Knoxville, it was agreed to petition the State Legislature for a 
city charter to include both communities. At a general meeting of 
citizens of the two villages, held at the Court House in Coming, on 
Monday evening, March 19, the following were appointed a commit- 
tee to prepare a city charter to be submitted to the Legislature for 
enactment : Judge George B. Bradley, F. N. Drake, Stephen T. Hayt, 
Austin Lathrop, W. N. King, E. D. Mills, Frank B. Brown, Thomas 
Dwyer and Samuel C. Robertson. 

Rev. Walter C. Roberts, coming from Ansonia, Conn., became 
Rector of Christ Episcopal Church, Corning, April 9, 1888. 

In May, 1888, Alliance Hook and Ladder Company received a 
new truck, with complete equipment. The officers of the company 
are : C. Glenn Cole, President ; Marvin Olcott, Vice-President ; Chas. 
L.Mills, Secretary and Treasurer ; Benjamin W. Wellington, Fore- 
man ; Joseph A. Banks and Willard S. Way, Assistant Foremen. 

At commencement exercises held June 28, 1888, the following 
students were graduated by Corning Free Academy : Nellie P. Carr,. 
Flora L. Cole, Luella Jane Cole, Nina Jane Gale, James F. T. 
Kennedy, Gerald F. Kinsella, Jr., Wm. J. TuUy and Addie L. Watrus. 

A post office has been established at West Caton. Samuel E. 
Quackenbush, merchant, is Postmaster. 

Because of contradictory provisions in the act granting Corning 
a city charter, due to changes made in committee at Albany, it was 
vetoed by Governor Hill, who recommended that a corrected bill be 
acted upon at the next session of the Legislature. 

A brass band organized at Hornby has purchased uniforms. 

Two additional chimneys, each 104 feet high, have been erected 
at the Corning Glass Works — ^making five. 

Sunday morning, August 13, 1888, the engine and a number of 
baggage cars of Erie Train 5, west bound, were derailed about one 
mile east of Coming. Engineer John L. Mersereau was killed. 

A convention of volunteeer firemen of Southern and Central 
New York was held in Corning, September 13, 1888. It was largely 
attended ; there was a parade and prize contests. Thirty companies 
in uniform, with fire equipment, were in line. 



Erastus Corning Presents Clock and Tower to Village. 313 

John E. Hungerford is succeeded as landlord of the Osborne 
House by Michael J. Walsh and Charles F. Hopt. 

R. 0. Moody resigned as Secretary of the Young Men's Christian 
Association of Coming, after several years of service. 

Fred E. Fletcher and A. S. Cook have purchased the stock and 
good will of the furniture and undertaking business of the late W. 
H. Robinson. J. H. McAvoy is their assistant. 

In a communication dated Albany, N. Y., February 19, 1889, 
addressed to F. D. Kingsbury, Esq., President of the village, Erastus 
Corning presented to the corporation the tower and clock on the 
Public Square at Marlcet and Pine streets, as a memorial of his 
father, for whom the village was named. The gift was accepted 
and resolutions of acknowledgement adopted by the village trustees. 

Rev. Thomas Cunningham, aged 67, died in Elmira February 4, 
1889. In 1853 he was appointed parish priest in Coming, continuing 
in charge here, at Bath, Campbell and Addison for seven years ; he 
was then tranferred to Batavia, and after building a church there, 
again became priest of SS. Peter and Paul's parish in Elmira. 

February 7, 1889.— John Comosh, Jr., having retired after 23 
years of service as an acrobat, and achieving great prominence for 
unequalled achievements in high and long distance vaulting and 
turning triple somersaults, opened a book, news and tobacco 
store, on West Market street near Pine. 

In February, 1889, F. N. Drake bought the Concert Hall Block, 
the price being $31,000. The block was erected in ]850-'51. 

March 7, 1889.— Marvin Olcott and Alanson B. Holmes have 
purched the drug store formerly owned by C. G. Douglas. 

C. G. Howell sold his oil business to the Acme Oil Company, 
receiving a substantial bonus for the " good will." 
"^ Greig Brothers, of Le Roy, opened a dry goods store in the 
Concert Block, their stock including clothing and notions. 

Dr. Joseph D. Hoare, of Corning, bought the George W. Daven- 
port dmg store at Painted Post, and began the practice of his 
profession in that village. Charles H. Moore, of Corning, opened a 
jewelery shop in the same building. 

""^March 28, 1889.— Bishop Ryan, of Buffalo, has conferred upon 
Rev. Peter Colgan, pastor of St. Mary's Parish, Corning, the honorary 
title of Dean. His church title is now Very Reverend Dean Colgan. 



314 The Greatest of Floods Does Immense Damage. 

The Lauren Mallory residence, at Tioga avenue and State street, 
(on the Elmira-Knoxville-Bath highway of settlement days,) was 
%umed to the ground the latter part of March, 1889. It was an 
imposing frame dwelling, erected in 1822, and had not been occupied 
>for a number of years. Superstitious persons believed it haunted, 
and that a ghost occasionally passed from room tp room at the 
turn of night, being actually visible to mortal eyes. 

The American Hotel, on the southwest corner of Erie avenue 
and Chestnut street, burned Saturday morning, March 30, 1889. A 
spark from this fire set fire to the roof of the Episcopal Church, one 
block to the east, and nearly all the wood- work of that structure was 
destroyed and the pipe organ ruined. The stone walls remained. 

The Coming Stove Works began the erection of brick buildings 
on the south side of Front street at State street. 

At a public meeing held at the court house in Corning, the 
evening of April 26, 1889, it was decided to organize a Co-Operative 
Saving and Loan Association. Cole & Kingsbury were authorized 
to receive subscriptions for stock in the project. 

May 1, 1889, General Austin Lathrop, having sold his interest in 
the firm of Walker & Lathrop to Charles E. and Edwin S. Walker, 
(sons of the late C. C. B. Walker), the name of the firm was changed 
to C C. B. Walker's Sons. 

The most extensive and extraordinary floods that ever occurred 
on the water-sheds of the West Branch of the Susquehanna and 
the Chemung Rivers, were the overflows and inundations of June, 
1889 — that is, greatest since the coming of the white race. In Corning 
and vicinity, the flood reached its highest point on Saturday, June 1. 
Rain had fallen since Thursday, and in unusual volume on Friday 
during the day and night. The Monkey Run early Saturday morn- 
ing flooded the village as never before, with destructive results that 
were inconceivable. Market street and Erie avenue, both east and 
west, were for most of Saturday veritable rivers, and the first floors 
of all buildings on the flat lands of the village were inundated, 
some to a depth of five feet. During Saturday forenoon, after having 
completely covered the Knoxville bottom lands, the Chemung rose at 
the rate of twelve inches an hour, causing wide-spread consternation. 
Scores of families foresook their homes ; many persons took refuge 
up stairs. Mrs. Thomas O'Brien called for help, from a widow on the 
second floor of her home, a short distance east of the south end of the 



Hause Swept From Foundation and Child Drowned, 315 



Knoxville bridge, and while she was making frantic appeals, the^ 
house was swept from its foundation and wrecked. The mother and 
two children were rescued— a little son was drowned. At 2:30 
Saturday afternoon the flood reached the highest point— several, 
inches above the " high water mark " of the great flood of 1865, as 
carefully recorded on the side of the old warehouse on the river 
bank at the foot of Pine street— and this despite the fact that the 
former Chemung Canal Feeder dam no longer obstructed the stream... 
A. Thompson, of the town of Erwin, reported that marks on a tree 
on his premises, indicated that this flood was 20 inches higher than 
the flood of 1865, and the rise above the normal level was 21 feet and 
two inches. At Painted Post this flood was 15 inches higher 
than that of 1865. Damages to crops, buildings, farm betterments,, 
drowning of stock, destruction of bridges and highways and washing 
away of railroad tracks in Coming, and within a radius of a dozen 
miles, aggregated near a million dollars. 

Nelson Cowan, aged 72 years, died June 22, 1889, at his home in 
Gibson. He came to Gibson 50 years ago, as an employe on a canal 
boat, and invested his savings in a boat ; the earnings of this boat 
was invested in an additional canal boat, and by continuing the plan 
in 1862 he owned 30 boats, and for a series of years did an extensive 
coal, lumber and merchandise carrying business. He invested in 
coal lands and with others engaged in mining. He owned a number 
of farms. He took an active part in town affairs. 

Following heavy rains, the Monkey Run was over its banks for 
several hours, July 29, 1889, holding up Erie Trains. 

September 12, 1889.— Frank L. Clute, J. O. Stearns and Charles 

E. Drake succeeded C. E. Corbin, dealer in books, papers and notions. 

The Howell Block, on Erie avenue, was built in the Fall of 1889. 

The Howell-Gerber Block, on Pine street, was built soon after. 

F. N. Drake's brick residence at Walnut and Second street was 
built in the Fall of 1889 and Winter of 1889-'90. 

Lewis C. Kingsbury, aged 73 years, died at his home in Coming, 
September 5, 1889. In early manhood he taught public schools near 
Livonia, N. Y., for two years ; became a clerk in a general store at 
Livonia ; in 1843 purchased the store ; continued the business for 
ten years, when he sold out in order to become a conductor on the 
new railroad from Coming to Rochester ; in 1854 moved to Corning ; 
was a conductor for 15 years ; engaged in manufacturing carriages 



316 "First Cast" Is Made at Corning Stove Works. 

and cutters, in farming, was one of the founders and owners of the 
Coming Gas Works, and active in village and town matters. His 
wife and a son, Frank D. Kingsbury, survive. 

Sunday, September 15, 1889, the Baptist Church at Painted Post, 
having been extensively repaired and remodeled following damages 
by fire, in June, was re-dedicated. Rev. Charles B. Perkins is pastor. 

W. J. TuUy is a law student in the office of Judge Bradley. 

On September 24, 1889, at a meeting held at the Dickinson 
House, a branch of the American Building, Loan and Investment 
Society, of Chicago, was organized with the following officers : C. K. 
Minor, President ; William L. McGeorge, Secretary ; H. A. Clark, 
Treasurer ; E. C. English, Attorney. Directors— C. A. Hungerford, 
Victor L. Cole, W. W. Adams, Arthur A. Houghton, Edward H. Gray, 
William T. Brady, John Comosh, Jr., Frank Osborn and W. S. Way. 

Cut and engraved glass valued at $6,000, from the factory of 
Thomas G. Hawkes, in Corning, were displayed at the World's 
Exposition in Paris in 1889. Mr. Hawkes was awarded the grand 
prize. News of the award caused public rejoicing in Coming. 

Walter S. Dickinson, druggist, died in Corning, October 12, 1889. 

Dr. Joseph D. Gilbert, aged 74 years, died October 27, at his 
home in Knoxville. For forty years he had practiced his profession 
in Corning and vicinity, having resided in Hornby and at Caton 
prior to 1886. His intelligence, ability as a doctor, and admirable 
sociability, won sincere and abiding friendships. 

November 7, 1889. — On account of impaired health, Edward 
Clisdell retired from the position of Erie Freight Station Agent. 

In December, 1889, the manufacture of terra cotta was first 
undertaken at the Corning Brick Works. 

HeaA^ rains that continued for several days, caused the Monkey 
Run, on November 19, 1889, to flood Erie avenue and the section of 
the village which it usually inundates when on a rampage. The 
following day the Chemung river rose to within 34 inches of the 
great June flood high water mark. All trains were held up. 

In December, 1889, the Corning Glass Works began the building 
of a sixth chimney. The blowing room was extended 54 feet 
eastward, making its total length 356 feet. 

On Monday afternoon, December 23, 1889, the " first cast " was 
made at the Corning Stove Works. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XLVIL 
Events In and About Coming— 1890-1895. 

THE TANNERY of J. D. Hamilton & Company, at CampbeB, 
ceased business in January, 1890, after having been in opera- 
tion for thirty years, because the available supply of hemlock 
bark had been exhausted. The firm continued the operation of a 
larger tannery at Emporium, Pa. 

January 16, 1890. — Thirty-five men are employed at the Coming 
Stove Works. M. D. Walker & Co., (successors of C. C. B. Walker's 
Sons as manufacturers of lumber), began the erection of a saw-mill 
in the old orchard, in the eastern section of the village, stock logs to 
be shipped from Tioga and Potter Counties, Pennsylvania. This firm 
also owns the former Walker & Lathrop hardware store. L C. G. 
Crandell has opened a furniture store and undertaking establishment. 

O. G. Egginton and H. P. Sinclaire, Jr., become partners of 
Thomas G. Hawkes in the glass cutting business — the firm name 
being T. G. Hawkes & Company. 

January 30, 1890.— Dr. A. M. Gamman purchased the interest of 
the late Holland B. Williams in the dry goods business, and became 
a partner of O. P. Robinson. Firm name : Robinson & Gamman. 

The Episcopal society resumed services in their restored church 
the first Sunday in Feburary, 1890. Rev. W. C. Roberts is rector. 

W. E. Gorton began business in a new foundry, near the Fall 
Brook shops, in February, 1890. 

In March, 1890, the erection of electric light poles and the 
stringing of wires, began, under contract between the Thomson- 
Houston Electric Company and the Corning Gas Company. 

317 



318 Corning City Charter Signed by Governor Hill. 

On March 20, 1890, Governor David B. Hill signed the Legislative 
act that created the City of Corning, merging the village of 
Coming, (incorporated in 1848), and the village of Knoxville, (first 
known as Port Barton, and never incorporated). Word of the signing 
reached Corning 3 o'clock that afternoon — then whistles sounded, 
bells clanged, and tin horns and other noise making devices gave 
expression to the delirium of joy that swept THE CITY. And then 
without any backing and filling, rival politicians started a campaign 
for the control of the new municipality. A compromise or Citizens' 
Ticket was born of the resulting confusion, and won hands down at 
the first Charter Election, held on Tuesday, April 1, 1890, as follows : 

Mayor — ^Dr. William E. Gorton ; Chamberlain — L. B. Robinson ; 
Recorder — Daniel F. Brown ; Overseer of the Poor — Thos. O'Bryan ; 
Assessors— C. G. Howell, Edward Moran, Edward W. Warner ; Seal- 
er of Weights and Measures— Thomas Barrett ; Game Constable— 
C. C. Drake ; Justices of the Peace — George Hitchcock and Francis 
C. Williams ; Constables— W. Nelson Luce and Patrick W. Boylen. 

The following were elected Aldermen : First Ward, John Peart 
and William Hunt ; Second Ward, William T. Brady and John W. 
Fedder; Third Ward, Edward Clisdell and Charles A. Rubright ; 
Fourth Ward, James McMahon and John Cogan ; Fifth Ward, 
George M. Clark and Albert Pritchard. 

The city members of the Steuben County Board of Supervisoirs 
elected were : First District, (Wards 1 and 2)— William A. Foster ; 
Second District, (Wards 3 and 4)— Peter Griffin; Third District, (the 
Fifth Ward, formerly Knoxville)— Samuel C. Robertson. 

The first meeting of the Common Council of the City of Corning 
was held Monday evening, April 7, 1890. 

Harry L. Tyler, aged 17. an apprentice at the Journal office, 
whose talents as a musician and composer of music had won public 
recognition, was happily surprised by the gift of a fine new piano. 

At a meeting of the Common Council held Thursday evening, 
April 10, 1890, Mayor Gorton submitted and the Aldermen approved 
the following appointments to city offices : Clerk, Frank L. Pease ; 
Attorney, Ellsworth D. Mills ; Street Commissioner, W.J.Hewlett; 
Excise Commissioners, Thomas Dwyer, Dr. George W. Lane and 
Jerome S. Billington ; Police Commissioners, Stephen T. Hayt, Philip 
Farley, Marvin Olcott and William Brewer ; Fire Wardens, William 
Walker, E. B. Seymour and Weston S. Squires. 



Electric Street Lights Introduced in Corning. 319 

On Thursday, April 17, President Harrison appointed Dr. George 
W. Pratt, Editor of the Journal, Postmaster of Coming, in place of 
Frank B. Brown, Editor of the Democrat. Two days later the 
nomination was confirmed by the United States Senate. 

H. O. Dorman & Company have taken a contract to build two 
additional chimneys at the Coming Glass Works — ^increasing the 
total number to eight. 

At a special meeting of the Common Council, held May 2, 1890, 
the Coming Gas Company was granted a contract for lighting the 
city streets, with electricity, for five years, at $5,000 per year. 

O. J. Robinson removed his stock of books, stationery, toys and 
notions, from the Concert Block to the new Howell Block. 

May 21 and 22, 1890, the greater part of the Fifth Ward, (former 
Knoxville), was flooded by the Chemung River, as also the "Island" 
and other low lands on the south side of the river channel. The 
Monkey Run repeated its usual antics and held up Erie trains. 

C. G. Cole and Henry Beck succeed Philip Farley and Marvin 
Olcott as Police Commissioners, and A. J. Gilbert succeeds W. J. 
Hewlett as Commissioner of Highways. 

Coming, July 10, 1890.— Corning has thirteen and one-third miles 
of sewers, built at an expense of $55,346. 

The Federal census, of July, 1890, gave the City of Coming 
8,583 population, A school census placed the population at 8,595. 

Heavy rains that continued for about twenty-four hours, over 
the upper-Chemung water-shed, caused sudden floods in the Tioga, 
Cowanesque, Canisteo and Conhoction valleys, September 10, and 
that night put the Chemung over its banks. Painted Post, Center- 
ville, and the flat lands of Coming were submerged and until 
the crest of the flood passed, the next forenoon, a state of panic 
prevailed, due to fears of a repetition of the great flood of June, 1889. 
But this flood stopped nearly five feet short of that rise. 

Charles H. Erwin, auther of " A History of Fainted Post," which 
he left in manuscript form, died at his home in Painted Post, S^t. 
6, 1890, aged 68 years. He was a son of Captain Samuel Erwin. 

In September, 1890, George W. Drake and Marvin Olcott formed 
a partnership to deal in real estate. 

In October, 1890, Wm. J. TuUy entered Columbia Law School. 



320 Steps Taken For Erection of Municipal Building. 



In October, 1890, Dr. Henry C. May was appointed an Examiner 
in the Pension Bureau at Washington, D. C. A few weeks later Dr. 
and Mrs. May moved to that city. 

In November, 1890, S. C. Robertson placed on sale 200 city lots 
in the central section of the Fifth Ward, north of Pulteney street. 

The First Congregational Church, newly organized, at a meeting 
held in the Fifth Ward Chapel, Tuesday evening, November 18, 1890, 
voted to call to its pastorate Rev. Nathan E. Fuller, of Java, N. Y. 

Attorney Warren J. Cheney, in November, 1890, moved fro m 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County, to Corning. 

In December, 1890. Manley T. Inscho was appointed agent of 
the Erie Railroad Company at Corning. 

Nearly two feet of snow fell December 17 and 18, and high 
winds caused drifts that delayed trains and blocked highways. 

John D. Hamilton, who for many years conducted a tannery at 
Campbell, died at his home in that village January 11, 1891. 

In January, 1891, Millspaugh & Drake, (L. M. Millspaugh and 
Charles E. Drake), purchased of M. D. Walker «& Company the 
hardware store founded by Charles C. B. Walker. 

In the Spring of 1891, C. S. Hood & Company erected a foundry 
and machine shop, on East Third street, for the manufacture of 
" Cheerful Home " furnaces. 

Captain Charles H. Freeman, at the State Encampantment of the 
Grand Army of the Republic, at Buffalo, was elected Commander. 

W. J. Marsh, coming from Trumansburg, established a drug 
store on Market street, a few doors east of the Journal office. 

Miss Fannie S. Jerome presented a parsonage to the Presbyterian 
Society at Painted Post. 

At a meeting of the Common Council held on Monday evening, 
March 16, 1891, petitions signed by over 600 taxpayers were present- 
ed, requesting that a building be erected for general municipal use, 
to include offices, a jail, quarters for firemen, a fire station and a 
public hall. Mayor Gorton was by resolution directed to appoint a 
committee of three Aldermen to consider the matter and report. He 
appointed Aldermen E. Clisdell, E. S. Walker and Wm. Nicholson. 

March 28, 1891, the "Hub Clothing House " began business, at 
24 East Market street, with Thomas E. Moran as manager. 

The Corning Opera House Company, in April, 1891, purchased 
for $7,000 the Major E. P. Graves house and lot on the west side of 



Sixteen Corning Men Killed in Railroad Accident. 321 

Pine street, next south of the Howell Block, and soon entered into 
contract with H. O. Dorman & Company to erect theron an Opera 
House. The contract price was $33,306. 

The Young Men's Christian Asssciation of Coming, in April, 
1891, bought two lots at the northeast corner of Market and Cedar 
streets, on which to erect a three-story Association building, of brick. 

May 7, 1891. — Ed Mott, formerly a traveling correspondent and 
sketch writer of the New York Sun, began the publication of the 
Corning Evening Chronicle — a four-page paper, five columns to the 
page. The venture was not a success. 

Rev. Dr. Joel Wakeman, aged 82 years, of Painted Post, for many 
years pastor of the Presbyterian Church in that vUlage, and Miss 
Irene Coleman, aged 67, were married at the home of the bride in 
Almond, May 19, 1891. He was pastor at Almond for 20 years. 

The following Free Academy students were graduated in June, 
1891: Lillian M. Curtiss, Sarah B. Conklin, Josie T. Foley, Glen D. 
Gorton, Cora J. Gridley, John E. Gill, Minnie I. Haischer, Joseph F. 
McAlpine, Elizabeth M. Relihan, Clara B. Tuthill, Clarence E. 
Woodward, Eloise F. Wayave and Grace E. Waite. 

The assessment roll of taxable property in the city of Coming, 
completed in June, 1891, totalled $3,300,000. 

Friday, July 3, sixteen young men of Corning, glass workers, 
were killed in in a rear-end collision at Ravenna, 0. The glass 
factory in which they had employment at Findlay, O., having shut 
down for the Summer vacation period, forty-four Coming men 
chartered a passenger car for a trip home. This car was attached 
to the rear of a fast train. A stop was made at Ravenna, on account 
of trouble with the locomotive, at 2:30 in the morning, and was run 
into by a freight train. A fog prevailed and it was densely dark. 
A number of the survivors were seriously injured The bodies were 
brought to Corning. A public funeral was held Sunday aftemoon, 
July 5, at Havard Academy, when addresses were dehvered by Rev. 
Peter Colgan, pastor of St. Mary's Church, and Rev. John S. Bacon, 
pastor of the First Presbyterian Church. Twelve of the bodies were 
placed in a plot at St. Mary's Cemetery, having been so mutulated 
by fire that identification was impossible. 

The Corning Lumber Company began business in August, 1891. 
GlodeRequa, President; George W. Foster, Secretary, and William 
H. Clark, Treasurer. Office at Erie avenue and Chestnut street. 



322 Opening of the New Coming Opera House. 

August 13, 1891. — The members of the Board of Trustees of the 
Painted Post public school are W. F. Bronson, Jeffrey Smith, F. H. 
Loomis, T. F. Minier and J. G. Webster. R. S. Stiles, of Elmira, 
has been engaged as principal for the coming year. 

M. D. Walker & Co., (the estate of C. C. B. Walker), erected a 
saw-mill in the Fifth Ward, on the Post Creek highway. Stock logs, 
brought by railroad, are rolled from cars directly into a mill-pond. 

The first number of the Corning Daily Journal was issued on 
Monday afternoon, September 7, 1891; a six-column, four-page 
paper; one cent a copy, $3 a year; George W. Pratt, Editor. 

At a meeting of the Vestry of Christ Episcopal Church, held the 
evening of September 9, 1891, it was unanimously resolved that a 
new church building be erected, provided " the necessary funds can 
be procured for the undertaking." 

A test well drilled by oil prospectors, about three miles north of 
Coming, on the Hornby highway, was a " duster." 

Thursday evening, October 8, 1891, the new Coming Opera 
House opened. The play was " Dorotha's Dilemma," with Miss Rose 
Coghlan in the title role. The house was crowded. 

Dr. Augustus T. Mills died October 14. He was bom in Corning 
in 1842, a son of Charles L. Mills, who first settled in Centerville in 
1835 and was a merchant. Dr. Mills began the practice of medicine 
in Coming in 1863. He was a skilful physician and surgeon. 

January 2, 1892.— Frank E. Sharp has purchased the real estate 
agency of Olcott & Drake. The Y. M. C. A. has 310 members. 

J. Towner Hayt was elected Chief Engineer of the Coming Fire 
Department, and Frank L. Clute was elected First Assistant. 

January 17, 1892, the following officers of Crystal City Hook and 
Ladder Campany were elected : Foreman, D. C. Hungerford; First 
Assistant, Philo Overacker ; Second, Frank Haradon. 

March 1, 1892.~The Women's Christian Temperance Union has 
opened a coffee house and lunch room, on East Market street. 

The population of the city of Corning is 10,004. The population 
of the Northside section of the city, (the Fifth Ward), is 1,973. 

The net receipts of a fair recently held by Crystal City Hook 
and Ladder Company were $697.05. 

March 11, 1892.— A heavy fall of snow, accompanied by violent 
winds, the past two days, caused drifts to form that have delayed 
the movement of railroad trains and blocked highways. 



New Young Men's Christian Association Building. 323 

The latter part of March, 1892, the Bronson Bank, at Painted 
Post, was succeeded by A. W. Weston & Co., bankers. 

The new saw-mill erected in the northern section of the Fifth 
Ward, by M. D, Walker & Company, began operations, with about 
■fifty employes. It has a capacity of 75,000 feet of lumber per day. 

Tuesday, April 26, 1892, the seventy-third anniversary of the 
founding of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was celebrated 
in Coming. Visiting Cantons, Encampments and Lodges were 
present from Knghamton and Hornellsville. There was a parade, 
in which the local fire companies and city officials took part. 

Dr. Mark S. Purdy has opened a sanitarium, nasned " Highland 
Knes," located on the hill-side near the south city line. 

In May, 1^2, Heermans & Lawrence began the construction of a 
three-story brick block at the southeast corner of Erie avenue and 
Pine street, the site of the Exchange Hotel of former days. 

In May, 1892, Christ Episcopal Church purchased the house and 
large lot, known as the J. H. Dampf property, at Cedar .aid First 
i^reets, as a site for a house of worship. 

The new Young Men's Christian Association building, at Cedar 
and Market streets, was dedicated Sunday afternoon. May 8, 1892. 
Rev. B. I. Ives, of Auburn, conducted the services. 

At a special election of taxpayers of the city of Corning, held 
May 24, 1892, band issues were authorized, of $35,000 to erect a city 
hall and $75,000 to construct dykes. The majority in favor of the 
dykes was 333 ; in favor of the city hall, 447. 

The members ^of the River Commissbn are F. D. Kingsbury, 
H. C. Heermans, S. T. Hayt, Jr., and O. W. Bump, 

Free Academy graduation exercises were held at the Opera 
House, Thursday, June 30, when the following students received 
diplomas- La^ra M. Branch, James P. Boyle, Harriet M. Bryan, Wil- 
liam A. Conlon, Edith H. Cary, John V. Cooper, Jay L. Ferenbaugh. 
Metta Hunt, Roy Heermans, Catherine F. McAlpine, Raymond V. 
Ingersoll, Elvira M. Pierson, Edith Walker, Leon J. Wayave, Jr., 
and Josephine L. Wilkinson. Dr. Slocum, for 16 years master of 
the public schook, delivered a brief farewell address, and announced 
that he would soon move to Kalamazoo, Michigan. That evening, at 
their home Dr. and Mrs Slocum were presented a set of cut glass. 

On July 1, 1892, the name of the Fall Brook Coal Company was 
changed to the Fall Brook Railroad Company. 



324 Common Council Lets Contract for City Hall. 



Charles G. Denison, aged 64 years, died at his home in Corning, 
Saturday morning, July 2, 1892. He was born in Susquehanna 
County, Pa.; come to Corning in 1848 ; was a clerk in the store of 
his uncle, G. D. Williams ; in 1855 married Miss Martha Land ; they 
moved to Tioga, Pa., where for two years he was a merchant ; then 
returned to Coming. In Coming Mr. Denison continued in business 
till his death, selling coal, wood, farm supplies, flour and feed, and 
in canal days conducted a warehouse and shipping business. He had 
been President of the village of Corning, served several terms as a 
village Tmstee, and had for over twenty years been a member of the 
Board of Education. A son, Charles L. Denison, and two daughters. 
Miss Ella Denison and Mrs. Charles W. Congdon, survive. 

July 2, 1892.--The Board of Education of School District No. 9, 
(the Southside schools of Coming), engaged Dr. Leigh R. Hunt, of 
Troy, N. Y., as successor of A. G. Slocum. Dr. Hunt had for a 
series of years been a promient factor in the schools of Troy. 

The Common Council approved plans for a City Hall. 

Dr. Nelson M. Herrington, who came to Corning in 1844 and had 
since continued in practice here, died July 23, 1892, at the home of 
his daughter, Mrs. George H. Kennedy, in Niagara Falls. 

On Friday, August 5, 1892, a convention and parade of the 
volunteer fire companies of Steuben County was held in Coming. 

August 6, 1892.— Mrs. William H. Maltby and ten children 
arrived in Corning from England, to join her husband and two older 
sons. Mr. Maltby is Superintendent of the terra cotta department 
at the local Brick, Terra Cotta and Tile Works. 

Robert W. Terbell purchased the interest of William E. Gorton 
in the drug store of Gorton & Terbell. 

September 3, 1892.— Wheeler, Bradstreet & Co., have opened a 
wholesale meat warehouse at Gibson, in a newly erected building.. 
They deal in western meats, this being an auxiliary establishment. 

October 6 the Common Council awarded a contract for erecting 
a City Hall to Thomas Bradley & Company, of Coming, at $28,579.50. 

A. Blumenthal, jeweler, purchased the Parcells building, in 
which his store is located, paying $8,000. 

November 3, 1892. — While hurrying across the Erie tracks at 
the grade crossing in Painted Post, the wife of Rev. C. J. Bradbury 
stumbled and fell, and was killed by a train. She was 72 years old. 



An Electric Street Railroad Company Organized. 325 

At a public meeting held Monday afternoon, November 21, the 
matter of constructing a street railroad, connecting Gibson and Paint- 
ed Post, by way of Market street, was considered. Incorporation 
papers were approved in which the following directors were named : 
E. B. Brown, Edward Clisdell, R H. Pratt, J, Towner Hayt, Hugh H. 
Kendall, Charles E. Greenfield, Charles A. Hungerford, George W- 
Drake and Charles A. Reynolds, all of Corning; and John A. Seeley, 
BL S. Hoyt, C. O. Baker, Jr., Frederick Swift and Harry H. Hunger- 
ford, of New York. The plan included branch lines on Bridge street 
to the Lackawanna track, and on Mill street to Brown's Crossing. 
Frank B. Brown was elected President ; Edward Clisdell, Vice-Presi- 
dent, and Charles A, Hungerford, Secretary. Capital, $100,000. 

Franklin N. Drake, aged 75 years, of Corning, died December 
28, 1892, at North Adams, Mass., where he was receiving medical 
treatment. He was born at Milton, Vermont When 15 years old 
he became clerk in a drug store at Le Roy, N. Y-; three years later 
he went west and remained a year, then clerked in a drug store in 
New York; in 1840 he returned to Le Roy, and there engaged in the 
grocery and hardware business till 1854, when he purchased a saw- 
mill and a large tract of timber land in the town of Cohocton ; in 1866 
he sold this property and was one of seven persons to purchase coal 
lands near Blossburg, Pa., and to found the village of Amot ; he 
was President of the Bloss Coal Mining and Bailroad Company that 
opened and operated the Amot mines, and constructed and operated 
a railroad thence to Blossburg ; in 1867 he moved to Corning, the 
Amot interests having been sold to the Blossburg Coal Company, 
of which Mr. Drake was made President, and also President of the 
Tioga Railroad Company— the line that extended from Blossburg to 
the State line at Lawrenceville. In 1866 a railroad was built that 
extended the Tioga line from Tioga Junction to Elmira, giving the 
Erie direct connection with the Blossburg coal fields. He established 
the First National Bank of Corning in 1882 ; was President of the 
Coming Stove Company, owned a number of business blocks in the 
«ity, and owned various tracts of farming and timber lands. Mrs. 
Drake and two sons survive— Henry and Jarties A. Drake. 

In January, after ten years of service. Rev. J. H. Bacon resigned 
the pastorate of the First Presbyterian Church, to take effect May 1. 

Rev. John J. Brady, aged 52 years, assistant pastor of St. Mary's 
Church for nearly a year, died January 21, 1893. 



326 First Methodist Church of Coming Is Dedicated. 

The Painted Post and Corning Improvement Company was 
organized in March, 1893, to purchase and develope 97 acres of land 
in the town of Coming, near the vUlage of painted post. Streets 
were graded and the land divided into building lots and placed on 
the market. Officers of the company : J. I. Stanton, President ; F. A. 
Fenderson, Secretary ; G. H. Brewster, Treasurer. 

March 3, 1893, the Common Council granted the Citizen's 
Electric Bailroad Company a franchise to construct an electric street 
railroad in Coming, to cross the Chemung river at Bridge street. 

This franchise was not accepted by the projectors of the road. 

At the services in Christ Episcopal Church on Sunday, April 
3, nearly $30,000 in subscriptions were taken on a fund to erect a 
church at Cedar and First streets. 

For three afternoons and evenings phonograph concerts were 
given at the Opera House, and were largely attended. This was the 
first exhibition of the kind in Corning. 

April 17, 1893, the new Hotel Kennedy, East Erie avenue, began 
business. Clark H. Kennedy is landlord ; Lewis Northrup is clerk. 

A report made to the Board of River Commissioners, by Palmer 
C. Rickets, Civil Engineer, of Troy, N. Y., showed that four and 
thirteen-hundredth miles of dykes would be required to protect both 
sections of the city from being flooded, and the cost of construction 
would be $126,000. An additional dyke bond issue was proposed. 

A lodge of the Knights of Pythias was organized in Coming, 
May 26, 1893, by Charles E. Greenfield. 

Charles E. Walker, aged 33 years, died June 6, 1893. He was a 
member of the State Senate, a son of Charles C. B. Walker, deceased, 
and all his life a resident of Corning. 

The Corning City Band was organized in June, 1893, with F. E. 
Weale as Director and Fred A. Smith as Drum Major. 

June 26, 1893.— H. O. Dorman & Co., began tearing down the 
First Methodist Church, at Cedar and First streets, preparatory to 
erecting on the site a larger house of worship. 

Hope Cemetery Chapel has been completed. It is a stone 
structure of excellent design, and cost $7,000. 

Dennis Cavanaugh, aged 70 years, died July 6, 1893. He was 
bom in Ireland, had resided in Corning 45 years, was employed as a 
general helper in Walker & Lathrop's hardware store for 32 years ; 



A Most Destructive Hail, Rain and Wind Storm. 327 



his cheerfulness and courtesy won him many enduring friends. 
Mrs. Cavenaugh and nine children survive, 

August 30, 1893, the resignation of Rev, C. B. Perkins, for five 
years pastor of the First Baptist Church, was accepted. 

J. Hoare & Co., of Corning, were awarded several medals at the 
World's Fair in Chicago, on cut glass exhibits. 

Thursday afternoon, September 7, 1893, a terrific storm of rain 
with intervals of hail, whirling winds blowing with destructive force, 
swept across the southeastern portion of Steuben County. For some 
ten minutes, when the storm was at its height, hail fell in a mass 
most of them larger than hickory nuts, and many above an inch in 
diamater. In Corning about 20,000 panes of window glass were 
destroyed Many plate glass windows were broken. At the Corning 
Glass Works near 1,600 panes of glass were broken ; at the Fall 
Brook shops, 2,000 ; Rowley's green-houses, 1,500 ; six stained glass 
windows in St. Mary's Church were ruined. Leaves and small 
branches were beaten from trees, and garden and fieW crops along 
the path of the storm, through the towns of Bradford, the western 
portion of Hornby, eastern Campbell, the entire towns of Coming 
and Erwin, and about half of Caton, were nearly obliterated. The 
storm came from the north and was a local disturbance. The losses 
were estimated at $350,000, No one was killed or seriously injured. 

The monument at St. Mary's Cemetery, as a memorial of the 
glass workers who were killed in the railroad disaster at Ravenna, 
O., was unveiled September 16. Attorney William F. McNamara, 
of Coming, delivered the address. Dean Colgan spoke briefly. 

Andrew J. IngersoU, aged 75 years, founder and proprietor of the 
" Pinewood " sanitarium at the junction of the Post Creek with the 
Chemung valley, died September 26, 1893. In 1876 he published a 
book, "In Health," in which he set forth theories he had developed 
in regard to the cause and cure of human infirmities. He was an 
advocate of what is commonly termed " Healing by Faith." 

September 27, 1893, Edwin H. Tenbroeck Camp, Sons of Veter- 
ans' was organized, with the following officers : C. J. Coon, Captain ; 
George Starr, First Lieutenant ; Albert Campbell, Second Lieuten- 
ant ; Camp Council— Joseph Deuel, Guy Wescott and C. H. Hall. 

The comer-stone of the Methodist Church at Cedar and First 
streets was laid Monday, October 2, 1893, by Rev. C. W. Winchester, 
Presiding Elder, and Rev. Henry C. Woods, Pastor of the church. 



328 Firemen Hold Fair In Coming's New City Hall. 

Members of the Building Committee : Truman S. Pritchard, George 
Heermans and John I. Stanton. 

October 24, 1893. — The new Hotel Kennedy was sold to H. O. 
Dorman & Co., the builders, for $15,817.14, including their lien. 

Rev. J. Frederick Calkins, aged 77 years, grandson of Frederick 
Calkins who was the first settler within the bounds of the present 
town and city of Corning, and whose father— James Calkins — ^was 
the first white child born in the township, died Nov. 2, at Geneva. 

The corner-stone of Christ Episcopal Church, at the northwest 
corner of Cedar and First streets, was placed Thursday afternoon, 
November 16, 1893, by Rev. Dr. Converse, of Geneva, assisted by 
Rev. Walter C. Roberts, the rector. 

Harry C. Heermans, City Engineer, completed a new map of the 
city of Coming, made from actual surveys. 

The City Hall building was completed in November, 1893, and 
the " house warming " was a fair and sale conducted by Pritchard 
Hose Company and the Protectives, the week of December 11-16. 

The latter part of December an electric fire alarm system was 
installed, so arranged as to sound the number of the fire-box ringing 
in, by striking the bell in the City Hall tower with a 30-lb. hammer. 

The following are officers of the Corning Fire Department for 
the year 1894 : Marvin Olcott, President ; William H. Buck, Vice- 
President, and William L. McGeorge, Secretary. 

For a consideration of $2,500, to be paid by the Coming Board of 
Trade, Thomas Appleby agreed to move his hamess factory^from 
"Bath to Coming, and to employ not less than 25 men. 

Febmary 19, 1894.— James A. Drake has purchased the planing 
and builders' supplies mills, with lumber yards and stock buildings, 
and the saw-mill of M. D. Walker & Co, and continues the business. 

Forrest & Chadwick, former proprietors of a hotel at Towanda, 
Pa., purchased the Kennedy Hotel in Coming, and in Febmary took 
possession as landlords, changing the name to Hotel Chadwick. 

In March, 1894, the city acquired by purchase of the Thomas A. 
Johnson Estate, lands that include the big spring that is the city's 
source of water supply, and lots thence to the Chemung River. 

In March, 1894, Dr. George S. Goff began practice in Coming, 
having moved to the city from Cameron Mills. 



Brother Ives Once Again Lifts Corning Church Debt. 329 

April 18, 1894, President Cleveland appointed George W. Drake 
to succeed Dr. George W. Pratt as Postmaster of Corning. 

Continued heavy rains caused a flood May 20 and 21, 1894, that 
damaged crops along the Chemung valley. The crest of the flood at 
Coming was reached Monday evening, May 21, when the rise was 
nearly four feet feet below the high water mark in June, 1889. 

The new Methodist Church, at Cedar and First streets, was 
dedicated June 10, 1894. It cost $40,000, including the pipe organ. 
Twenty-seven thousand dollars were subscribed at the dedication 
services, clearing the property of debt. The principal contributors 
were, Samuel C. Robertson, $5,000 ; George Heermans, $3,000 ; six 
persons, $1,000 each ; twenty, $500 each ; twenty, $100 each. Rev. 
B. I. Ives, of Auburn, " lifted the debt." 

A memorial monument, erected in recognition of the Indian 
tribes who dwelt in the Genesee Country before white occupancy, 
was dedicated at Painted Post on Thursday, June 21. 

Dr. William S. Purdy, aged 85 years, died at his home on Cedar 
street, Saturday evening, June 30, 1894. He practiced medicine 
successively in Lima, Penn Yan, Barrington, Dundee, Bradford, 
Addison and Corning. He was a homeopath, and prominent as a 
leader among physicians of that school. He was a likeable man. 

The saw-mill in the northern section of the city, recently sold by 
the Walker Estate to James A. Drake, was destroyed by fire, July 2. ^ 

In early days, and especially at " general trainings," and when a 
street parade was headed by a brass band, the great feature was the 
" Drum Major." Coming's brass bands have been well favored in 
this respect, but the one particular " Drum Major," in form and 
action, a six-footer of splendid form, a home product, is Major Fred 
A. Smith— who in 1921 is an even greater attraction " on parade," 
than was the case when he astounded Rochester with his wonder- 
ful exhibition of wand-manipulation on the Fourth of July, 1894. 
Said the Rochester Morning Herald in the issue of July 5, 1894 : 

" The Drum Major, clad in sailor's attire, who did the baton waving for 
Sauer's Band yesterday morning, was emphatically a daisy. The way he 
twirled his silver-tipped stick won the earnest approval of every small boy 
along the line of march, all of whom pronounced him a wonder, in a mat- 
ter truly marvelous. Hither and thither it flew from his hands, describing 
circles, arcs, spheroids and all sorts of geometrical figures, the bright 
trimming glittering in the sun in a way calculated to make one dizzy. 

"He performed his star feat amid applause on Chestnut street. 
Stretched across the roadway was a flag, probably fifty feet from the 



330 Hotel Church and Five Dwellings Burn at Gibson. 

ground. The Wonder saw the flag, and it straitway became his meat ; 
with a twirl he sent the baton spinning out of his hands. Up, up it went, 
and the folks who watched it forgot to breathe and made bets with them- 
selves that he wouldn't catch it when it came down. It continued to 
ascend until the flag was about a dozen feet below, then it began to come 
down, still whirling. The Wonder was right there to welcome it. With an 
airy, fairy Lillian style of grace he snatched the stick, and assuming a 
dignified air, strutted along as though the whole affair bored him exceed- 
ingly. The audience that greeted the exploit could be heard blocks away. 
The name of the Wonder is Fred Smith, of Corning." 

Sunday, July 8, 1894. — Bishop Ryan, of Buffalo, confirmed 200 
persons at St. Mary's Church and delivered a notable address. 

Friday afternoon, July 20, 1894. — A fire that started in a barn of 
Head's Hotel at Gibson, destroyed the hotel, two bams, the Free 
Methodist Church, the residence of the late Nelson Cowan and two 
dwellings owned by Ella M. Tupper, and two by Harvey Turvey. 

August 1, 1894. — Fralick Brothers, of Lamb's Creek, leased the 
mill site and yards occupied by the Walker saw-mill, recently 
burned, and are to erect and operate a saw-mill theron. 

William Walker died August 3, 1894. He was born in Yorkshire, 
England, in 1827 ; came to the United States in 1841 ; established a 
hat, cap, glove and fur store in Corning in 1856 ; later added life and 
fire Insurance ; in 1859 married Miss Helen Comstock Bostwick. He 
was successful in business and helpful in promoting the religious life 
and educational interests of the community. Mrs. Walker and four 
children survive — William B., Anne, Helen and Edith. 

At the Corning Opera House, the evenings of August 8-9, as a 
benefit for the Women's Christian Temperance Union, the Story of 
the Life of Luther was elaborately staged, by home talent. E. C. 
English was Emperor, Dr. C. E. Campbell was Cardinal, Fred Gluer 
was Luther, Mrs. J. L Stanton was Abbess. 

Almy & Thomas succeed W. E. Vanderhoef , grocer. 

The latter part of August there was a plague of grasshoppers. 

Mrs. Mary Schofield, deceased, widow of Eber Schofield, by will 
gave $5,000 to the Congregational Society for use in building a church. 

The remaining farm land of the Goff Estate, bounded on the 
north by Pulteney street and on the west by the Erie Railroad, has 
been sold to R. B, Rhymel, of Elmira, for $19,000— $600 per acre. It 
will be divided into building lots and placed on the market. 



Franchise Granted Corning and Painted Post Railway. 331 



At a meeting held at the rooms of the Young Men's Christian 
Association, the evening of October 17, 1894, a German Evangelical 
Church was formed, with Rev. William Stern as Pastor ; William 
Diepold, John Shafer and Alwin Siedemann, Elders ; Henry Beck, 
John Herr and Frederick Hilk, Directors ; Valentine Rettig, Charles 
A. Ruberight and Herman Richter, Trustees. 

Prof. George Hunt organized a brass band at Mossy Glen. 

November 12, 1894. — At a meeting of the Citizen's Electric Rail- 
way Company, the following directors were chosen to fill vacancies : 
Arthur A. Houghton, Benjamin W. Wellington, Colonel John Magee 
and Frank D. Kingsbury. 

The First Presbyterian Church issued a call to the pastorate to 
Rev. Dr. A. J. Hutton, of Rochester, who accepted. 

December 4, 1894, articles of incorporation were filed at Albany 
by the Corning and Painted Post Street Railway, organized to build 
and operate a trolley line from Brown's Crossing to the business 
center of Painted Post, via Market, State, Bridge and West Pulteney 
streets in Coming, with a spur line on Bridge street from Pulteney 
to the Lackawanna Railroad. The officers are : Edward W. Shedd, 
of Worcester, Mass., President ; Hosea A. Clark, Secretary ; these 
officers and the following men being Directors : John W. Clark, Frank 
H. Viele, Morris E. Gregory, C. L. B. Tylee, Dr. Edwin J. Carpenter, 
Dr. John L. Miller. This company was an new venture. 

At a meeting of the Common Council held Wednesday evening, 
December 5, 1894, applications for franchises to construct and 
operate electric railways in Coming were made by three companies, 
namely : The Citizen's Electric Street Railway, Frank B. Brown, 
President ; The Corning and Painted Post Street Railway, Edward 
W. Shedd, President, and The Coming Traction Company, organized 
by Waverly and Sayre capitalists. The Common Council voted to 
consider the applications Friday evening, December 21. 

The Coming Club purchased the lot at the northwest corner of 
Pine and First streets as a site for a club house. 

December 21, 1894, the Common Council granted a franchise to 
The Coming and Painted Post Street Railway. The vote was unan- 
imous and the action was at once approved by Mayor W. W. Adams. 
The term of the franchise was thirty years, and it was required that 
the line be in operation by October 1. 1895. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XLVIII. 
Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1885 to 1895. 

MARRIED IN CORNING, January 5. 1885, by Rev. Rutger 
Dox, Dr. John L. Miller and Miss Evalena Wilson, both of 
Corning. 

In Coming, January 12, 1885, by Rev. S. W. Lloyd, Albert T. 
Miller and Miss Stella Baker, both of Corning. 

In Corning, January 15, 1885, Frank W. Jenness and Miss Kate 
M. Smith, daughter of Justin Smith. 

In Hornby, February 11, 1885, Edward Townley, of Knoxville, 
and Miss Anna May daughter of Thomas Oldfield. 

In Hornby, February 5, 1885, Elbert S. Stanton and Miss Ida M. 
daughter of D. J. Murphy. 

In Lindley, March 19, 1885, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, George L. 
White, of Caton, and Miss Inez R. West, of Lindley. 

In Painted Post, May 1, 1885, Hiram Lewis, of Coming, and Miss 
Elizabeth A. Bennett, of the town of Erwin. 

In Corning, May 20, 1885, by Rev. P. Colgan, Comelius Lyons, 
of Big Flats, and Miss Kate McDonald, of Corning. 

In Lindley, May 26, 1885, by Rev. Rutger Dox, Frank L.Wescott 
and Miss Marion Berry. 

At the home of the bride in Hornby, June 3, 1885, Frank E. 
Easling, of Lindley, and Carrie daughter Egbert Pond. 

In Corning, June 4, 1885, by Rev. Rutger Dox, James H. Winfield 
and Miss Amelia G. Straubinger. 

In Corning, July 8, 1885, Henry Elwell and Miss Mary Sullivan. 

332 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1885-'86. 333 

Dr. Thomas A. McNamara and Miss Katherine T. Dwyer, of 
Coming, were married July 8, 1885, by Rev. P. Colgan. 

In Coming, July 13, 1885, Robert H. VanVailon, of Mansfield, Pa.,, 
and Miss Josephine Fuller, of Knoxville, town of Coming. 

In Coming, September 9, 1885, by Rev. John S. Bacon, F. Comie 
Brown, son of Frank B. Brown, and Miss Kate V. IngersoU. 

Married in Homby, October 8, 1885, Frederick L. Rogers and 
Miss Carrie M. Erwin, daughter of Samuel C. Erwin. 

Married at the First Presbyterian Church in Albany, N. Y., 
October 14, 1885, by Rev. Walter Nichols, Marvin Olcott, of Coming, 
and Fanny F. daughter of James C. Cook, of Albany. 

November 18, 1885, Joseph W. Borst, of Painted Post, and Mary 
Agnes daughter of W. E. Murphy, deceased, of Elmira. 

In St. Mary's Church, Coming, November 19, 1885, by Rev. P. 
Colgan, John J. Quigley and Miss Mary McCarthy. 

In Knoxville, November 25, 1885, Myron D. Palmer, of Wellsville, 
and Mrs. Anna E. Ketcham, of Knoxville. 

In Painted Post, December 9, 1885, by Rev. F. D. T. Bickley, 
John W. VanOrder and Miss Lottie M. Havens. 

In Coming, December 15. 1885, Andrew J. McConnell and Miss 
Flora M. BUndy. 

In Painted Post, December 22, 1885, James E. McCabe and Miss 
Kate N. Cutler. 

In Coming, December 25, 1885, by Rev. Rutger Dox, Joseph E. 
Barber, of Coming, and Miss Carrie R. Brown, of Cedar Run, Pa. 

In Coming, December 31, 1885, George Sheffield, Jr., and Fanny 
A. daughter of C. M. Reed. 

In Coming, Jan. 28, 1886, Elisha Thomas and Mrs. Jane Gibbs. 

In Knoxville, February 17, 1886, George W. Radley.of Moreland, 
and Carrie daughter of N. Viele, of Knoxville. 

In Erwin, March 17, 1886, by Rev. John S. Bacon, Harry C. 
Heermans, of Coming, and Annie L. daughter of E. E. Townsend. 

In Knoxville, April 27, 1886, by Rev. R. C. Brownlee, William F. 
Townley, Jr., and Miss Mary L. Rose, both of Knoxville. 

In Knoxville, 20, May 1886, James Travis, of Homby, and 
Miss Phoebe J. Cooper, of Painted Post. 



334 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1886-'88. 

In Caton, June 17, 1886, Osceola Gilbert and Emma Mclntyre. 

In Corning, July 14, 1886, by Rev. John S. Bacon, Charles W. 
Congdon, of Brooklyn, N. Y., and Carrie, daughter of C. G. Denison. 

At Christ Church, Coming, September 23, 1886, Benjamin W. 
Wellington, son of Q, W. Wellington, and Miss Anna B. daughter of 
William H, Robinson, were married by Rev. R. R. Converse. 

In Gibson, January 12, 1887, Robert E. Rose and Miss Ida Ellison. 

In Painted Post, February 2, 1887, by Rev. Joel Wakeman, 
Augustus H. Wood and Miss Lillian H. Palmer. 

In Corning, February 28, 1887, Arthur T. Wood, of Caton, and 
Miss Hattie McCumber, of Corning. 

In Caton, April 10, 1887, Chas. W. Weale and Nettie L. Herrick. 

In Coming,' April 11, 1887, by Rev. P. Colgan, William J. Earl 
and Miss Lizzie T. daughter of Mrs. Thomas Clark. 

In Coming, April 14, 1887, by Rev. R. R. Converse, William H. 
Sayles and Mary daughter of John Hoare. 

In Knoxville, May 11, 1887, by Rev. John S. Bacon, Danid E. 
Hungerford and Nellie M. daughter of M. Mercereau. 

In Caton, July 10, 1887, Fenton L. Sage and Myrtle J. Barber. 

In Corning, August 18, 1887, by Rev. E. N. Potter, of Geneva, the 
Rev. Rob Roy Converse and Miss Mary Amelia Howard, daughter 
of Mrs. A, C. Stearns, of Corning. 

In Painted Post, October 19. 1887, Walter H. Freeman, of St. 
Ignace, Mich., and Ada daughter of Alanson J. Fox. 

In Painted Post, October 26, 1887, by Rev. T. M. Hodgman, of 
Rochester, Richard Henry Goffe, Jr., and Mary Frances daughter of 
Warren S. Hodgman. 

In Hornell, December 31, 1887, by Rev. James Griffin, a brother 
of the bride. Attorney William F. McNamara, of Coming, and Miss 
Mary A. Griffin, of Homell. 

At Christ Church, Corning, February 9, 1888, by Rev. Rob Roy 
Converse, Francis J. Bantley and Miss Louisa M. Walz. 

In Caton, March 1, 1888, John C. Roe, of Mecklenburgh, and 
Emma daughter of Nelson D. Davis. 

In Corning, March 15, 1888, by Rev. J. S. Bacon, Benjamin W. 
Huntley and Minnie daughter of Edwin Spaulding. 



Marriages in Coming and Vicinity, 1888-'89. 335 

In Coming, April 12, 1888, Charles L. Denison and Miss Eda 
Young, daughter of Mrs. J. F. Young. 

In Coming, April 11, 1888, by Rev. C. E. Millspaugh, George R.. 
Bragg and Anna M., daughter of Henry Grove. 

In Coming, April 17, 1888, Wm. J. Young and Jennie M. Seeley. 

At the home of the bride in Millport, May 2, 1888, Frederick S. 
Bragg, Jr., of Corning, and Sarah L. Parks. 

In Knoxville, June 20, 1888, Peter H. Uhl, of Corning, and Mettie 
E. daughter of E. W. Palmer, of Knoxville. 

In Corning, July 18, 1888, Louis H. Seymour, of Corning, and 
Miss Belle Guile, of Syracuse. 

In Coming, August 25, 1888, John Shaver, of Freeville, and Miss 
Lena Palmer, of Coming. 

At St. Mary's Church, Corning, November 12, 1888, Loronzo F. 
Purtell and Louise Argue, daughter of the late Thomas Argue. 

In Caton, November 22, 1888, by Rev. H. B. Troxell, Charles W. 
Edmunds, of Elmira, and Miss Minnie M. Holmes, of Caton. 

In Coming, December 27, 1888, Mort. B. Cole and Miss Nellie 
M., daughter of Mrs. Mary E. Veith, both of Corning. 

In Coming, December 19, 1888, by Rev. J. S. Bacon, Dr. William 
C. Wilbur and Miss Eva Rose daughter of W. S. Dickinson. 

In Coming, January 18, 1889, Walter J. Blair and Miss Flora L. 
daughter of Harvey T. Cole, Sr. 

In Knoxville, April 2, 1889, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Lyman M. 
Day and Miss Luella Irwin. 

In Painted Post, April 7, Maynard Russell and Mary J. Babcock. 

In Coming, May 1, 1889, A. I. Martin and Fanny H., daughter of 
Jerome B. Maltby. 

At St. Mary's Church, Coming, May 7, 1889, by Rev. P. Colgan, 
Patrick Relihan and Miss Maggie Donnelly. 

In Addison, June 13, 1889, J. M. Greig, of Coming, and Miss 
Nettie Mitchell, daughter of the late John Mitchell. 

In Coming, September 3, 1889, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, William 
H. Sturdevant and Miss Eliza M., daughter of William Taylor. 

In Coming, September 17, 1889, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, John H. 
Marland and Miss Carrie Linford. 



336 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1889 -'90. 

In Coming, October 15, 1889, William L. McGeorge and Miss 
Caroline R. daughter of Abel B. Witt. 

In Corning, October 16, 1889, Wesley Sherwood, of Corning, and 
Miss Grace Stickler, of Painted Post. 

In Corning, October 30, 1889, William J. Buchanan and Lizzie 
daughter of Mrs. O. C. Patchell. 

In Lindley, November 20, 1889, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, Edwin S. 
Orr and Miss Josie E. Ayers, both of Lindley. 

In Corning, December 2, 1889, by Rev. J. S. Bacon, C. Glenn Cole 
and Hattie E. daughter of the late Charles C. B. Walker. 

In Corning, December 18, 1889, Dr. Harry H. Boswell, of Buffalo, 
and Leonora C. daughter of Mrs. John Heermans. 

In Coming, January 15, 1890, W. A. Morrison and Miss Lola E. 
daughter of Burton Edminster. 

In Corning, January 19, 1890, Richard Webb and Golda M. 
daughter of George Kellogg. 

In Corning, January 22, 1890, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, Frank N. 
Markell and Miss Charlotte Borst, daughter of Alexander Borst. 

In Corning, January 22, 1890, by Rev. C. E. Millspaugh, Charles 
E. Rose and Miss Effie M. daughter of Luman S. Conover, 

In Campbell, February 5, 1890, by Rev. George R. Smith, John 
D. Hamilton and Mrs. Lydia M. Bundy. 

At St. Mary's Church, Corning, April 23, 1890, by Rev. Dean 
Colgan, Charles Gregorius and Miss Mary K. Clark. 

In Coming, May 28, 1890, by Rev, C. W. Roberts, Henry P. 
Sinclaire, Sr., and Miss Annie D. Watson. 

July 2. 1890, Wilson E. Sharp, of Corning, and Miss Rosa M. 
Griswold, of Lindley. 

In Coming, July 4, 1890, William R. Devoe and May Palmer. 

July 14, 1890, LeGrand Gorton, of Gibson, and Mrs. D. H 
Thompson, of Corning, 

In Corning, August 6, 1890, by Rev. Dean Colgan, Peter McCarty 
and Miss Julia T. O'Connor. 

In Corning, August 14, 1890, Charles B. Woodward and Carrie 
A. daughter of Nelson J. Ellison. 

In Campbell, September 24, 1890, by Rev. George R. Smith, 
Daniel M. Runner and Miss Orie B. Cass, both of Campbell. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1890-'91. 337 

In Hornby, September 25, 1890, by Rev. H. W. Bixby, William 
Bedient and Miss Myrtie Taylorson. 

In Coming, October 22, 1890, Frank E. Sharp and Carrie daugh- 
ter of H. J. Frazee, both of Corning. 

In Corning, October 18, 1890, John B. Trexler, of Corning, and 
Mrs. Catharine J. Pierce, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, October 29, 1890, Herbert S. Thomas and Miss Edith 
May Haradon, daughter of H. B. Haradon. 

In Coming, November 10, 1890, Fred A. Wescott and Miss 
Maggie Blackburn. 

In Lindley, November 6, 1890, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, George G. 
Brooks, of Painted Post, and May Bell Ayers, of Lindley. 

In Campbell, February 25, 1891, by Rev. George R. Smith, Dr. 
Charles S. Smith and Miss Mary Walling, both of Campbell. 

In Corning, March 25, 1891, by Rev. J. S. Bacon, Thomas P. 
Fiske, of New York, and Martha T. daughter of Stephen T. Hayt. 

In Corning, March 31, 1891, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Joseph A. 
Banks and Susan Bertha daughter of J. P. Carr. 

In Coming, April 8, 1891, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, William 
Durant, of Geneva, and Jennie daughter of Mrs. Mary M. Sayles. 

April 26, 1891, Elmer Humphrey and Cora Rhoda, of Hornby. 

In Painted Post, April 29, 1891, by Rev. C. J. Bradbury, Carl T. 
Eastman, of Homellsville, and Miss Ella daughter of David Russell. 

In Caton, May 7, 1891, by Rev. H. F. Allen, Dr. Charles A. Carr 
and Miss Effie A. White. 

In Coming, May 19, 1891, John T. Smith and Mrs. Jane Harris. 

June 2, 1891, at St. Mary's, Martin Skelly and Miss Lizzie CuUen. 

In Coming, June 24, 1891, by Rev. J. S. Bacon, John Hoare, Jr., 
and Miss Sarah L. Ewing. 

At Christ Church, Corning, June 25, 1891, by Rev. Walter C. 
Roberts, Alanson Bigelow Houghton and Miss Adelaide Louise 
Wellington, daughter of Quincy W. Wellington. 

In Painted Post, July 25, 1891, Frank H. Brown, of Corning, and 
Mary J. McGovern, of Painted Post. 

In Corning, July 30, 1891, George L. Rogers, of Hornby, and Miss 
Edith daughter of Clark Husted, of Coming. 



338 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1891-'92. 

In Coming, August 15, 1891, Grant Roberts, of Watkins, and 
Fannie Millspaugh, of Coming. 

August 23, 1891. Geo. S. Bowers and Julia E. Ames, of Homby. 

In Coming, October 27, 1891, J. Percy Carr, Jr., and Miss Eloise 
F. daughter of Leon Wayave. 

In Elmira, October 8, 1891, Lewis R. Bennett and Emma daugh- 
ter of T. J. Presho, of Presho, town of Lindley. 

In Coming, October 31, 1891, Reuben S. Carter, of Coming, and 
Miss Ida M. daughter of Eri Bunnell, of Lawrenceville, Pa 

In Coming, November 18, 1891, John M. Owen and Alice Smith. 

In Coming, November 18, 1891, by Rev. Charles B. Perkins, Geo. 
Bamed and Miss Mabel M. VanAustin. 

In Coming, December 17, 1891, by Rev. J. S. Bacon, Ward E. 
Richards and Nellie C. daughter of J. D. Nares. 

In Coming, December 23, 1891, V. J. Barnard and Carrie Smith. 

In Coming, January 12, 1892, by Rev. H. C. Woods, William E. 
Kimball, Secretary of the Y. M. C. A., and Miss Cora Cleveland. 

In Coming, Febmary 23, 1892, by Rev. Charles B. Perkins, James. 
E. Rose and Minnie E. Youmans. 

In Coming, Febmary 29, 1892, by Rev. C.B. Perkins, William H. 
Stewart and Carrie J. daughter of Oliver P. Hamilton. 

In Coming, March 9, 1892, John S. Youmans and Emma J. Rose. 

In Homby, March 27, 1892, John B. Houlden and Grace A. Rolfe. 

In Painted Post, March 28, 1892, by Rev. J. C. Bradbury, Charles 
M. Mayo and Carrie B. VanGorder, both of Lindley. 

In Coming, April 2, 1892, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, Clarence P. 
Tremain, of Coming, and Hattie M. Silsbee, of Big Flats. 

In Coming, April 5, Edward Gibson and Charity C. Carpenter. 

April 20, 1892, W. E. Ferenbaugh, of Post Creek, and Sarah G. 
daughter of Thomas Oldfield, of Homby. 

In Coming, April 20, 1892, W. R. Bragg and Nina Goodridge. 

In Coming, April 27, 1892, George J. Frazier, of Bloomington, 111., 
and Miss Luella V. daughter of Mrs. Robert Bissell, of Coming. 

In Coming, May 17, 1892, at St. Mary's Church, Philip R. 
Kinsella, of Painted Post, and Miss Mame daughter of Levi Cowley. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity In 1892. 339 

In Corning, May 12, 1892, P. J. O'Hara and Miss Mary Natusch. 

In Corning, May 25, 1892, Wellington Bennett, of Corning, and 
Miss Nora L. Greek, of Savona. 

In Coming, June 14, 1892, William Share and Katherine Rettig. 

At Christ Church, Corning, June 16, 1892, by Rev. Walter C. 
Roberts, George Furman Smith and Miss Emma Jane daughter of 
Joseph J. TuUy. 

In Corning, June 23, 1892, Clarence Cochran and Bertha Lambert. 

In Coming, June 27, 1892. by Rev. Dean Colgan, William F. 
Nunan and Miss Bridget HoUeran, both of Coming. 

In Coming, June 28, 1892, by Rev. Dean Colgan, Curtis E. Hawk, 
of Columbus, O., and Miss Nellie D. Clark, of Coming. 

In Coming, June 29, 1892, John Lawless and Mary Gavigan. 

In Coming, July 13, 1892, by Rev. Dean Colgan, William H. 
Gallagher and Miss Kate O'Shaughnessy. 

In Corning, July 21, 1892, by Rev. Dean Colgan, William Hart 
and Lizzie daughter of Peter Burns. 

In New York, August 23, 1892, Gottlieb H. Tobias, of Coming, 
and Miss Amelia Marcussen, of New York. 

At Troy, Pa., September 5, 1892, Milton E. Holden, of Corning, 
and Miss Kittie Price, of Troy. 

In Coming, September 7, 1892, Fred Gais and Mary Keck. 

In Coming, September 8, 1892, N. L. Eaton and Miss Lillian 
Northrup, both of Post Creek. 

In Coming, September 14, 1892, by Rev. J. C. Bacon, Harry H. 
Pratt and Miss Clarissa C. daughter of George T. Spencer. 

In Coming, September 15, 1892, by Rev. J. C. Bacon, James A. 
Whitney and Maud H. Taylor. 

At Southport, September 21, 1892, Matt. S. Pratt, of Caton, and 
Sarah G. Jerram, of Southport. 

In Coming, September 27, 1892, by Rev. J. S. Bacon, Austin 
Lafevre and Miss Nettie M. Durand. 

In Coming, September 28, 1892, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Herbert 
J. Reynolds and Miss Catherine 0. daughter of Frederick Lamper. 

In Coming, October 5, 1892, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, Thomas B. 
Clark, of Corning, and Ethel E. Clark, of Franklin, Mass. 



340 Marriages In Coming and Vicinity, 1892-'93. 

At Gang Mills, October 15, 1892, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, Harvey 
VanGorder and Miss Anna Denson. 

In Elmira, October 18, 1892, Dr. Horace M. Darling, of Corning, 
and Miss Hannah M. Webb, of Southport. 

In Corning, October 30, 1892, James M. Welch and Catherine 
Cleary, both of Coming. 

In Corning, October 30, 1892, by Rev. H. C. Woods, George H. 
Beers, of Corning, and Miss Minnie M. Phillips, of Alba, Pa. 

In Coming, November 15, 1892, Joseph S. Barber and Mary Price. 

In Coming, November 30, 1892, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, George 
W. Clark, of Corning, and Carrie M. Brown, of Big Flats. 

In Coming, November 30, 1892, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, R. C. 
Armstrong and Miss Sarah Middaugh. 

In Corning, December 7, 1892, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, W. P. 
Thomas, of Elmira, and Ellen Stickles, of Corning. 

In Corning, December 8, 1892, by Rev. John S. Bacon, George H. 
Marriott and Miss Emma Louise Smith. 

In Coming, January 25, 1893, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, William 0. 
Whitney and Miss Daisy Bern, both of East Corning. 

In Coming, January 29, 1893. George C. Peterson and Miss Clara 
daughter of Mrs. H. Boehm, both of Corning. 

In Coming, February 5, 1893, John Reed and Mrs. Clara Krebs. 

In Coming, February 8, 1893, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Charles A. 
Perkins, of Corning, and Miss Alice L. Shobert, of Jersey Shore, Pa. 

In Coming, Febmary 9, 1893, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, Fred E. 
Brown, of Jersey City, (formerly of Corning), and Miss May Bradford. 

At St. Mary's Church, Corning, February 14, 1893, Thomas G. 
Burke and Miss Mary McMahon, both of Corning. 

In the town of Coming, March 5, 1893, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, 
William Custer and Mary E. Sanith. 

March 6, 1893, Wallace A. Sherwood and Hettie M. Cillie. 

In Corning, March 15, 1893, by Rev. John S. Bacon, Charles E. 
Drake and Miss Isabel W. daughter of Stephen T. Hayt. 

In Caton, March 14, 1893, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, Fred A. Burr, of 
Lindley, and Miss Hattie Hall, of Caton. 

In Corning, March 23, 1893, by Rev. J. C. Bacon, Edward N. 
Clark, of Corning, and Caroline J. White, of Painted Post. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1893. 341 

In Corning, April 5, 1893, John A. Cross and Miss Inez Day. 

April 30, 1893, by Rev. Ward Piatt, Albert VanLiew, of Hornells- 
ville, and Miss Mamie Simmons, of Corning. 

At the home of the bride, on Mead's Creek, May 3, 1893, by 
Rev. Uri Mulford, Melville Frost, of Bradford, and Mary McConnell. 

In Coming, May 10, 1893, Edwin S. Huber and Miss Ida Lehman. 

In Corning, May 15, 1893, George Stevens and Annie Wright. 

In Coming, May 24, 1893, Michael T. Cashing and Mary White. 

In Coming, May 25, 1893, by Rev. Charles B. Perkins, John J. 
Thomas, of New York, and Nora L. McCarthy, of Corning. 

June 1, 1893, Henry May, of Hornby, and Louise Githler, daugh- 
ter of Mrs. George Githler, of Centerville. 

In Corning, June 7, 1893, by Rev. Dean Colgan, John B. Dailey 
and Miss Mary T. Moran. 

In Painted Post, June 7, 1893, by Rev. Mr. Robinson, James M. 
Waite and Miss Judith Ferenbaugh. 

In Corning, June 21, 1893, Martin E. Cary and Miss Anna Snyder. 

In Lindley. June 18, 1893, Frederick Toles, of Presho, and Miss 
Hattie daughter of Mrs. Jacob Hallenbeck, of the town of Coming. 

In Coming, June 27, 1893, by Rev. J. S. Bacon, Grant L. McDou- 
gal, of Towanda, Pa., and Miss Amanda M. daughter of C. H. Jones. 

In Coming, July 1, 1893, Daniel Carr and Miss Adaline Baker. 

In Coming, July 1, 1893, John C. McGovem and Mary J. Miller. 

At St Mary's Church, Coming, July 3, 1893, William Keman 
and Mary, daughter of Thomas KeatinS. 

In Gibson, July 4, 1894, Thomas E. Mayhew and Helen E. Berzet 

In Coming, July 19, 1893, Frank J. Alverson, of Dansville, N. Y., 
and Minnie daughter of Frederick Remmel. 

In Coming, July 20, 1893, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, Ford E. Ringer 
and Charlotte F. daughter of John Tanner. 

In Corning, July 20, 1893, John E. Brown and Harriet B. Randall, 
both of Presho. 

In Coming, August 3, 1893, Fred E. Deuerlein and Lizzie Hill. 

In Trenton, N. J., August 9, 1893. Stephen T. Hayt. Jr., of Com- 
ing, and Miss Elizabeth Clark Snowden, of Jersey City. 

August 9. 1893, Peter Burgettand Lucy E. Knapp, of Lindley. 



342 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1893. 

In Corning, August 16, 1893, by Rev. Henry Clay Woods, R. H. 
I^ckwood and Mrs. Eleanor V. Warner, both of Corning. 

In Painted Post, August 23, 1897, by Rev. W. A. Allen, George E. 
Hakes, of Presho, and Eva M. Mclntyre, of Painted Post. 

In Corning, Aug. 24, 1893, Samuel K. Aldrich and Alice P. Miles. 

In Coming, August 30, 1893, by Rev. Dean Colgan, Oscar Bentley 
and Mrs. Mary Jane Smith. 

In Coming, August 30, 1893, by Rev. H. C. Woods, William G. 
Mcintosh and Miss Nancy Reeve. 

In Hornby, August 31, 1893, by Rev. H. W. Bixby, Martin B. 
Andrews, of Hornellsville, and Miss Maud Bentley, of Corning. 

In Coming, September 6, 1893, Geo. M. Miller and Minnie Dyer. 
In Corning, Sept. 6, 1893, Henry S. Fretzer and Lizzie D. Mosher. 
In Caton, September 6, 1893, Levi R. Tubbs and Myrtie Speer. 

In Painted Post, September 12, 1893, Guy Calkins, son of William 
H. Calkins, and Miss Eliza Balcom, daughter of Benjamin Balcom. 

September 12, 1893, George W. Bidell, of Jamestown. Va., and 
Miss Nettie L. daughter of George Wolcott, of Coming. 

September 13, 1893, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, Caleb C. Wright, of 
Hornby, and Mary Cook, of Coming. 

In Corning, September 14, by Rev. N. E. Fulfer, Jonah Clark and 
Mrs. Mary P. Harrington. 

In Coming, September 20, 1893, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, William 
W. Bacon and Miss Julia A. Myers, both of Corning. 

In Corning, October 3, 1893, by Rev. Dean Colgan, Michael 
Hardiman and Miss Annie McMahon. 

In Corning, October 17, 1893, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, William B. 
Walker and Miss Katherine C. daughter of Mrs. Erastus Dodge. 
In Corning, Oct. 18, Geo. W. Townsend and Elizabeth Fleming. 

In Coming, October 26, 1893, Samuel A. Dickinson and Miss 
Mary B. Mann, both of Corning. 

In Coming, October 30, 1893, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Herbert 0. 
Jenkins and Wilina M. Wilson, both of Coming. 

In Corning, November 2, 1893, by Rev. H. C. Woods, C. W. 
Sweetland, of Coming, and Miss Emma A. Stevens, of Beaver Dams. 

At Campbell, November 3, 1893, by Rev. E. P. Salmon, Elmer 
Hill, of Painted Post, and Miss Eliza Velie, of Campbell. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity, 1893-'94. 343 

In Corning, November 6, 1893, Frank M. Webster and Miss 
Minnie E. daughter of Isaac Switzer. 

At Grace Church, New York, November 11. 1893, by Rev. Dr. 
W. R. Huntington, Austin Lathrop, of Coming, and Emma F. 
WeUington, of New York. 

In Coming, Nov. 16, 1893, Charles D. Flitter and Bertha Guile. 

In Corning, Nov. 20, 1893, Charles House and Augusta DeSilva. 

In Painted Post, Nov. 23, 1893, Chas. VanGelder and Edith Owens. 

In Painted Post, Nov. 30, 1893, Burt Bumsey and Addie Randall. 

In Campbell, Dec. 6, 1893, Geo. G. Brooks and Miss Clara Viele. 

In Caton, Dec. 6, 1893, Fred Brace and Miss Cora Hamlin. 

In Coming, December 26, 1893, by Rev. H. C. Woods, G. W. 
Dunning, of Sayre, Pa., and Miss Belle daughter of Luzerne Todd. 

In Coming, Dec. 25, 1893, Chas. H. Baker and Nora E. Fort. 

In Caton, January 3, 1894, David Marcy and Mrs. Mary L. Sewell. 

In Elmira, January 4, 1894, by Rev. D. A. Radin, of New York, 
Morris Davidson, of Corning, and Miss Bertha Phillips. 

In Gibson, January 15, 1894, Wm. Bannister and Bertha Degrew. 

January 24, 1894, Orrin Hopkins and Miss Hattie Calkins. 

In Gibson, Jan. 22, 1894, Albert Newman and Kate M. Patterson. 

In Coming, Febmary 5, 1894, by Rev. Dean Colgan, Joseph 
Mangan and Miss Bridget Ryan. 

In Coming, Febmary 21, 1894, by Rev. H. C. Woods. Israel P. 
Jones and Mrs. Sarah A. Fenderson. This was the third marriage of 
Mr. Jones and the second of his bride. 

In Corning, March 1, 1894, Guy Foster and Helen C. Jenkins. 

In Corning, March 2, 1894, Chas. W. Todd and Margaret Davis. 

In Coming, March 27, 1894, by Rev. Dean Colgan, John Harrison, 
of Corning, and Miss Matilda Biggart, of Centerville. 

In Coming, April 16, 1894, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Joseph E. 
Schaurer and Mrs. Delia A. Davis. 

April 25, 1894, Frank R. Randall and Edna Bravo, of Presho. 

In Coming, May 4, 1894, Jobus Wasson and Mrs. Amelia Clark. 

In Corning, May 19, 1894, John Nilson and Miss Eda Swanson. 

At St. Mary's Church, Corning, June 6, 1894, by Rev. Dean 
Colgan, Michael J. Brann and Miss Grace G. Kane. 



344 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1894. 

In Corning, June 12, 1894, by Rev. Dean Colgan, Michael J. 
Mclnemy, of Corning, and Miss Ellen Murphy, of Painted Post 

In Painted Post, June 20, 1894, by Rev. W. A. Allen, Freeman 
B. Cowan and Miss Mabel McGrath. 

In Corning, June 27, 1894, by Rev. H. C. Woods, David D. Evans, 
of Morris Run, Pa., and Sadie daughter of John LaShure, of Coming. 

In Caton, June 27, 1894, Burt R. Howe and Miss Lena Miller. 

In Coming, July 9, 1894, by Rev. Dean Colgan, James J. O'Hara 
and Miss Josephine Leary, both of Corning. 

In Caton, July 8, 1894, Nelson C. Cotter and Miss Clara Brace. 

At St. Mary's Church, August 20, 1894, by Rev. Dean Colgan, 
Michael J. Franz, of Corning, and Miss Julia Maguire, of Gang Mills. 

In Coming, August 29, 1894, Captain John W. Fedder, merchant, 
and Miss Mary E. McGrath, both of Corning. 

In Coming, September 5, 1894, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Daniel E. 
VanEtten and Miss Bessie Moyle, both of Corning. 

In Corning, September 9, 1894, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Fred H. 
Fuller and Miss Nellie A. Allen, both of Coming. 

In Corning, September 12, 1894, by Rev. C. W. Winchester, father 
of the bride, Elbert W. DaWall and Miss Grace Winchester. 

In Coming, September 20, 1894, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, Fred A. 
Thierfeldt and Miss Hattie, daughter of A. A. King. 

October 16, 1894, John J. Franz, of Centerville, and Anna B. Lutz. 

In Corning, October 23, 1894, by Rev. Dean Colgan, Joseph 
Erhardt and Miss Millie daughter of Joseph Schaeffer. 

In Corning, November 15, 1894, H. F. Haskell and Nellie Schaff. 

In Lindley November 14, 1894, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, Charles W. 
Marcy, of Caton, and Miss Isabel Paul, of Lindley. 

In Corning, November 22, 1894, by Rev. H. C. Woods, James M. 
Robinson and Miss Minnie Shaw, both of Coming. 

In Corning, November 26, 1894, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Frank H. 
Viele and Miss Maude Mack, both of Coming. 

In the town of Corning, December 5, 1894, Charles L. Schonleber 
and Miss Luella M. Tupper. 

In Painted Post, Dec. 6, Frank Wilder and Miss Lillie Spoor. 

In Corning, Dec. 12, 1894, William Conover and Eliza Fancher. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER XLIX. 
Events In and About Corning^l895-1900. 

DAVID McQUADE, of Coming, a Fall Brook engineer, was 
killed at Middlebury, Pa., the night of January 4, 1895, when 
the locomotive he was driving was derailed and rolled over 
beside the track. He was reliable and greatly respected. 

Beginning with the new year the size of the Corning Daily 
Journal was increased to seven-columns, four-pages, and the price 
advanced to $5 per year. 

January 9, 1895.— At the annual election the following officers of 
the Coming Fire Department were chosen : Marvin Olcott, Presi- 
dent; W. H. Buck, Vice-President; Glen D. Gorton, Secretary. 
Purchasing Committee — Truman S. Pritchard, Julius Lazarus, John 
W. Deuerlein, Willard S. Way and F. O. Baker. 

January 11, 1895. — ^A freight train manned by a Coming crew, 
was caught in a slide of snow and land from a mountain side near 
Blackwells, most of the cars being completely buried. Two other 
freight trains were stalled between big slides in the same section. 

The following officers of the Mutual Vigilance Society, an 
organization for protection of members from horse-thieves, were 
elected : Dr. E. W. Bryan, President ; George Wolcott, Vice-Presi- 
dent ; Jared Pratt, Secretary ; James A. Drake, Treasurer. Managers 
—Stephen T. Hayt, John L. Lewis and C. W. Hickey. The society 
was organized in Coming several years ago, has a membership of 
nearly 400 owners of horses, (residents of five counties in New York 
and Pennsylvania), and has recovered for its owner every one of 
nearly a hundred horses stolen from members. 

January 22, 1895.— Colonel John Magee gave a car-load of coal to 
the Woman's Benevolent Associaton of Coming, for free distribution 
among the poor of the city. 

345 



346 Council Amends Trolley Franchise; Company Accepts. 

Dr. George W. Lane has sold his interest in the drug store of 
Terbell & Lane, to his partner, Robert W. Terbell. 

At a meeting of the Common Council of Corning, held the 
afternoon of February 1, 1895, after a number of minor changes had 
been made in the franchise granted the Corning and Painted Post 
Street Railway on December 21, 1894 — including the extension of 
the life of the franchise to fifty years — the company accepted the 
franchise. The acceptance was attested by Caleb L. B. Tylee, Presi- 
dent, and Hosea A. Clark, Secretary. 

Sunday morning, February 3, 1895, the new Christ Episcopal 
Church, at Cedar and First streets, was dedicated, by Rt. Rev. 
A. Cleveland Coxe, Bishop of the Diocese of Western New York, 
assisted by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, rector of the church, and a 
number of clergymen from other places. Bishop Coxe delivered 
the sermon at the dedication services and at an evening service. 

February 9, 1895. — ^Furious winds accompanied by snow falls, 
■continuing for near two days and ending this morning, blocked all 
railroads and country highways with drifts. The storm affected a 
wide extent of territory. Erie Train 3 reached Corning from New 
York 20 hours late ; a drift blocked the Fall Brook at Rock Stream 
for a full day, and a passenger train was stalled in snow near Avon. 

Orlando Gregory, aged 91 years, died in Caton, March 5, 1895. 
He was born in Norwich, N.Y., a son of Doctor Gregory, who in 1825 
settled in Caton. Orlando Gregory married Eleanor Mulford, whose 
•father was a member of the colony that settled Lindley in 1790. 

,^ March 26, 1895.— The Corning and Painted Post Railway has 
ordered steam engines for its power plant of B. W. Payne & Sons, 
of Elmira, formerly of Coming. 

The morning of April 1, 1895, two frame buildings on Market 
street, between Pine and Walnut, were destroyed by fire, with most 
of their contents— one, three stories, owned by A. R. May, confec- 
tioner ; loss $10,000 :— the other, two stories, owed by P. Callahan, 
with a saloon on the first floor, and barber shop above ; loss, $8,000. 

A cinder path, for use by bicycle riders, was in the Spring of 
1895, extended along roadsides through the town and village of 
Corning, so as to connect with similar lines east and west. The 
Corning Cinder Path Association promoted the enterprise. John S. 
Kennedy, President ; C. L Freeman, Secretary ; H. C. Way, Treasurer. 

In April, 1895, the first motorcyle appeared in Coming. 



Captain John W. Fedder Glad He Had to Surrender, 347 

At a school meeting held Tuesday evening, April 9, voters of the 
Northside Union School District authorized a bond issue of $6,000 to 
add two wings to the school house. 

At a largely attended public meeting held the evening of April 
9, 1895, to celebrate the 30th anniversary of Lee's surrender to Grant 
at Appomattox, Captain John W. Fedder, who served on the wrong 
side in the War Between the States, and had been for a number of 
years a merchant in Coming and an exemplary citizen, thrilled his 
hearers by an address vibrant with patriotic spirit, in which he said ■ 

" I, myself, standing on that historic field at Appomattox, thirty years 
ago to-day, did not dream that I would ever receive or accept an invitation 
from the victors to help celebrate an event so humiliating to us. The 
banner that we had defiantly flung to the breeze, and had carried trium- 
phantly in many a hard-fought battle, had to be surrendered to the enemy, 
to be carried in triumph through the North, or else furled and folded by us 
to disappear forever. 

"These were my feelings thirty years ago. But time changes all 
things, and to-day, in the full judgment of mature manhood, enjoying the 
liberties and privileges of an American citizen, and knowing that these 
liberties and privileges can only be enjoyed because this country is great, 
I give public expression to my feelings when I say / am glad the attempt to 
dissolve the American Union did not succeed; I am glad that when the 
banner of my country is unfolded it is the Stars and Stripes only, for that 
flag shields us all, and the American citizen can stand beneath its guarding 
folds and bid defiance to the world." 

. ' April 19, 1895.— The construction of the street car line is under 
way. Twenty car-loads of rails have been received. 
■"' — Rawson & Thatcher's shops, on West Erie avenue, are working 
full-force, making castings for the " Victor Furnace," and manufac- 
turing potato diggers and land rollers. 

At a special city election held April 30, 1895, it was decided to 
increase the amount to be expended on the construction of river 
dykes to $150,000. The vote was : For, 409 ; against, 322. 

Tuesday evening. May 13, 1895, the store at Lindley, owned by 
Dr. James McManus, with a stock of general goods, was destroyed 
by fire. Hiram Middlebrook erected the store about 1865. 

May 14, 1895.— Rev. Dr. Hutton was installed as pastor of the 
First Presbyterian Church, of Coming. 

June 10, 1895, taxpayers of Painted Post, by a vote of 44 to 23, 
rejected a proposition to establish a village water supply system. 



348 Notable Memorial Window Placed in Christ Church. 

June 21, 1895.— Rev. John J. Rogers, for six years assistant pastor 
of St. Mary's Church, has been appointed pastor of the Catholic 
church at Cuba. He is succeeded by Rev. Walter J. Lee, of Buffalo. 

The Free Methodist society of Gibson and Corning decides by 
vote to build a church on Watauga avenue, near Mill street. Coming. 

July 1, 1895. — A contract was let to T. & J. Bradley, of Corning, 
to build an addition to the Academy, for $17,700. 

In July, 1895, Mrs. Amory Houghton, Jr., had placed in Christ 
Church a window from the Tiffany studios in New York, in memory 
of her parents, Alanson and Anna Rebecca Bigelow. It was designed 
by Edward B. Sperry,; the theme is The Resurrection. 

Coming had a l^aseball team in the? Summer of 1895, that won 
most games played with nines that represented Addison, Bath, 
Elmira, Binghamton, Homellsville and WiUiamsport. Corning won 
from Williahisport 4 to 1, on the Corning diamond, July 11, 1895, 
wfth the following line-up: Cobb, catcher; Clark, right field: 
Mahoney, left field ; Goodale, 1st base ; Judson, 2d base ; Wayave, 
3d base ; Harmon, short stop ; Clute, center field ; Friel, pitcher. 

July 24 the Corning nine went to Homellsville and defeated the 
" enemy " on their home diamond, 5 to 0, and in Coming that even- 
iilg the event was uproarously celebrated with a street parade, fire- 
works, blowing of horns and ringing hand-bells. 

The assessment roll of the city of Corning in 1895 was $192,450 
personal property, and $3,128,110 real estate ; total, $3,320,560. 

August 6, 1895, Justin M. Smith sold his interest in the dry 
goods store of Smith & Waite to Frederick W. Kriger. Mr. Smith 
opened a dry goods store in Coming in 1854. 

September 17, 1895.— Colonel H. G. Tuthill and sons purchased 
the Ansorge Block, a double three-story brick building at the north- 
west corner of Market and Cedar streets, paying $18,500. 

Sunday, September 15.— The German Evangelical Church, (form- 
erly Christ Episcopal Church), was consecrated by Pastor Stem, in 
confirmity to ritualistic requirements. The society prospers. 

September 28, 1895.— The building of an overhead crossing of 
the Fall Brook Railroad tracks, for the use of pedestrians, highway 
traffic, and street cars, is under way. Rails have been laid along 
Market, Bridge and West Pulteney streets. 



First Car Over Line From Corning to Painted Post. 349 

In the Fall of 1895 the New York and Pennsylvania Telephone 
Company, (an auxiliary of the Bell toll-line system), changed its 
Corning lines from single wires to circuits and provided better tele- 
phones. Central was called by hand ringing. 

A special Lackawanna train, consisting of a locomotive and a 
Pullman car, carrying officials of the railroad, on October 4, 1895, 
ran from Buffalo to Binghamton, 199 miles, in 175 minutes. 

The night of October 12, 1895, the business section of the village 
of Campbell was fire-swept, losses on buildings and goods amounting 
to near $60,000. Eight stores, the bank building and three dwellings 
were burned to the ground. All were wooden structures. 

October 15, 1895.— Thierfeldt & Carr, (Frederick A. Thierfeldt 
and J. Percy Carr), succeed James A. Viele, grocer, on Bridge street. 

A branch of the Catholic Benevolent Legion was organized, with 
John E. Hart, President ; George Schaller, Secretary, and Michael J. 
Brann, Treasurer. It is named, " Dean Colgan Council." 

Charles M. Gamman, dealer in boots and shoes, and " findings " 
for shoe-makers, has erected a fine three-story brick block at 12 
East Market street. He is one of Coming's pioneer business men. ,- 

Thursday afternoon, October 27, 1895, a trolley car with passen- 
gers, made a trial trip over the new line, from the power house near 
the north end of the Chemung River bridge to Painted Post and 
return. Beginning the next day a round trip was made each hour 
over this section of the line. Construction of the trolley track on 
Market street has been delayed by vexatious injunctions. 

Early in November, 1895, the last of the injunctions brought by 
owners of property on West Market street, to " hold up " the con- 
struction of the trolley line, was vacated, and work proceeded. — 

Under agreement, the Fall Brook Railroad paid $8,000 toward 
the construction of the viaduct over its tracks at State street. 

The first electric car passed over the viaduct on Saturday-, 
afternoon, December 21, 1895, and proceeded down Market street. 
No circus parade ever aroused so great attention. The eastern^ 
terminus of the trolley line is at the city limits, near Hope Cemetery: 

January 1, 1896, Justice George B. Bradley, of Corning, retired 
from the bench, having reaced the age limititation. He resumed 
the practice of law. Judge Spencer retired from the law firm of 
Spencer & Mills, and the new firm of Mills & TuUy is announced. 



350 Grand Army and Relief Corps Officers in 1896. 

The following officers of William W. Hayt Post, No. 276, Grand 
Army of the Republic, were installed the evening of January 7, 1896 : 
C. A. Rubright, Commander ; F. J. Roody, Senior Vice-Commander ; 
A. S. Ashmore, Junior Vice-Commander; E. B. Lanning, Adjutant; 
0. M. Kelley, Surgeon ; Rev. Henry C. Woods, Chaplain ; I. C. G. 
Crandell, L. M.; J. M. Thurber, O. D.; Charles E. Mecanty, O. G.; 
Charles Day, S. M.; L. C. Cooper, Q. M. S.; John Hunt, G. 

At the same time and place the following officers of William W. 
Hayt Relief Corps were installed: Mrs. Anna M. Day, President; 
Mrs. Mary Lanning, Senior Vice-President ; Mrs. Helen Campbell, 
Junior Vice-President ; Mrs. Nellie Fuller, Secretary ; Mrs. Agnes G. 
Crandell, Treasurer ; Mrs. A. Russell, Chaplain ; Miss Mary E. 
Bentley, Conductor ; Miss Grace E. Crandell, Assistant Conductor ; 
Mrs. Ida Kelley, Guard ; Mrs. Louise Ashmore, Assistant Guard. 

In January, 1896, a dyke built by the State, extending the city 
dyke for 3,450 feet along the southwest bank of the Chemung River, 
below the city, was completed. It extends along farm lands of Joel 
J. Weeks, Philip Youngs, William Gorton and Mrs. Robert Park. 

C. S. Ellis succeeds Ira W. Tenbroeck as undertaker. 

The evening of January 14, 1896, the following officers of Rath- 
bun Post, No. 277, Grand Army of the Republic, were installed at 
the Post headquarters in the Fifth Ward, (formerly Knoxville): P. D. 
Haradon, Commander ; John McMuUen, Senior Vice-Commander ; 
M. D. Crane, Junior Vice-Commander; W. N. Lockwood, Adjutant; 
Charles Johnson, Surgeon ; L. O. Parker, Chaplain ; H. Hamilton, 
Quartermaster ; 0. L. Bentley, Officer of the Day ; John Root, Officer 
of the Guard ; J. C. Dutcher, Quartermaster Sergeant. 

The officers of the Coming Young Men's Christian Association 
are : John I. Stanton, President ; Cyrus S. Hood, Vice-President ; W. 
J. Heermans, Secretary ; Frank Osborne, Treasurer. 

Dr. Ahaz D. Robbins, aged 74 years, died January 17, 1896. He 
was born in Cummington, Mass., practiced medicine for a number 
of years in Tioga County, Pa., his home being near Mansfield ; in 
1868 he located in Corning, where he had since resided. He was a 
popular physician, an upright man and a worthy citizen. 

/' January 21, 1896.— Robinson & Gamman, wholesale and retail 
dealers in dry goods, having changed their place of business from 
the Williams Block to the Drake Block at the northeast corner of 
jyiarket and Pine streets, J. M. Greig moved his department store 



Hiram Pritchard Dies; a Man of Varied Activities. 351 

from Concert Hall Block to the Williams Block, and the HubCothing 
Store, (Moran Brothers), will move into the double store vacated 
by J. M. Greig— years ago occupied by " Regulator" Robinson. 

Officers of the Women's Relief Corps of Rathbone Post, Grand 
Army of the Republic, were on January 29. 1896, installed as follows: 
Mrs. Albert Pritchard, President ; Mrs. Benjamin Smith, Senior 
Vice-President ; Mrs. Harvey T. Cole, Junior Vice-President ; Mrs. C. 
L. B. Tylee, Secretary ; Mrs. E. E. Cole, Treasurer ; Mrs. A. A. 
King, Chaplain; Mrs. F. A. Thierfeldt, Conductor; Mrs. William H. 
Buck, Assistant Conductor ; Mrs. John L. Miller, Guard ; Mrs. Mary 
Reed, Assistant Guard ; Mrs. W. E. Jones, Organist. 

John T. Prince, Jr., of New Haven, Connecticut, who supervised 
the construction of the Corning and Painted Post street railway, has 
been appointed Superintendent of the hne. 

Hiram Pritchard, aged 78 years, died at his home in Coming, 
February 6, 1896. He was born in the town of Lawrence, Tioga 
County, Pa.; he was third is descent from a settler at Wyoming who 
was killed by Indians at the time of the massacre, the wife and 
children being unharmed ; Calvin Pritchard, father of Hiram, was 
a pioneer settler of the lower Cowanesque Valley ; when 17 years 
old Hiram Pritchard secured employment in a grist-mill at Factory- 
ville, now a part of Waverly, N. Y.; at the age of 18 he married Miss 
Lucinda Searles, of Flemingville, Tioga County, K Y.; in 1836* they 
moved to the little settlement known as " The Mills," on the south 
bank of the Chemung River, near the present Coming-Gibson bridge, 
where he was for a number of years employed as a miller. Taking 
advantage of opportunities of engaging in business and investing in 
lands, at mid-life he was a man of wealth, and in his declining years 
he continued to prosper. He was a man of pronounced views,, who 
stood firmly for the things that make for righteousness, and bore on 
broad shoulders a generous share of community burdens. Two sons 
survive, Truman S. and Albert. 

Michael Eagan died February 18, 1896, aged 61. He was born 
in Tipperary, Ireland, came to Coming in 1850, and for thirty-five 
years was train-announcer, care-taker and policeman at the Erie 
passenger station. He was 6 foot 2, muscular, active of mind, had 
a ready answer for everyone inclined to bandy words, and a strong 
hand for the nap of the neck of any obstreperous individual who did 
not quickly heed " Mike's " suggestion to " Go aisey, lad." He 
brought across the deep from the Emerald Isle, a brogue that 



352 Movement to Establish Public Hospital in Corning. 



was rich in tone and dominated a voice responsive to his varying 
emotions. Such men are " the salt of the earth." 

Monday, February 24, announcement was made that Morris E. 
Gregory had purchased the Corning Brick Works, and had changed 
the name of the concern to the " Corning Terra Cotta and Supply 
Company." He had been secretary of the works for five years. 

The explosion of a kerosene oil lamp the night of March 28, 
1896, in the clothing store of Julius Lazarus, in the James Hood 
building, caused a fire loss of $18,000 to that and adjoining business 
buildings and contents. Mr. Lazarus was severely burned. 

March 31, 1896, the Chemung flooded the river flats. 

The first practical movement toward establishing a city hospital 
was taken April 14, 1896, when a notice signed by twenty-one 
doctors of Corning and neighborhood, appeared in the city papers, 
announcing that a public meeting to consider the project would be 
held April 16, at 4 o'clock in the afternoon, at the Alliance Hook and 
Ladder room in the City Hall. The notice was signed as follows : 
George T. Hawley, H. M. Bourne, C. W. Hayt, George S. Goff, Mark 
S. Purdy, H. L. Sproul, W. S. Cobb, J. D. Hoare, E. W. Bryan, E. J. 
Carpenter, George W. Lane, John L. Miller, D. J. Tillotson, R. B. 
Shumway, J. N. Shumway, W. C. Wilbur, C. E. Campbell, J. G. 
Webster, W. B. Remington, Henry A. Argue, T. A. McNamara. 

About sixty persons attended the meeting. It was decided to 
form a hospital association, incorporate the same, and to raise by 
popular subscription a hospital fund of $25,000. The following com- 
mittee was appointed to act in the matter : George J. Magee, Alanson 
Houghton, Jr., Q. W. Wellington, James A. Drake, Geo. B. Bradley, 
Charles F. Houghton, Stephen T. Hayt, Jerome B. Maltby, Austin 
Lathrop, John Hoare, Frank D. Kingsbury, John Magee, Thomas G. 
Hawkes, Marvin Olcott, Harry C. Heermans, Alanson B. Houghton, 
Benjamin W. Wellington, Thomas Bradley, S. C. Robertson, Dr. 
H. M. Bourne, Dr. E. W. Bryan, F. E. Bronson and W. A. Allen. 

The following officers of the Fire Department were chosen by 
unanimous vote, at the annual election held by the firemen, April 
21, 1896 : J. Towner Hayt, Chief Engineer ; William B. Gorton, 
First Assistant Engineer ; Charles W. Hickey, Second Assistant 
Engineer ; William L. McGeorge, Treasurer. 

Attorney Ellsworth D. Mills, of Coming, a leading member of 
Steuben County bar, died April 26, 1896. He was elected District 
Attorney of Steuben County in 1874 and re-elected in 1877. 



Machine Shops at Painted Post Destroyed By Fire. 353 



In April, 1896, the Coming Gas Company reduced the price of 
gas to $1.50 per 1,000 cubic feet— a drop of fifty cents. 

May 8, 1896.— The trolley line has been extended to Brown's 
Crossing, and to-day cars began regular trips to that village. 

May 13, 1896.— The contract for building city dykes, complete, 
was awarded by the Board of River Commissioners to the Ferguson 
Contracting Company, of Harrisonburg, Va., at $78,170.50. 

At 3:30 o'clock Saturday morning, May 16, 1896, Orchestrian 
Hall, a small frame building used for amusement purposes, near the 
Bronson House, in Painted Post, was discovered on fire. Efforts to 
confine the fire to that building were futile. The Bronson House, 
the Weston machine shops, E. Bonham's livery bams, the Bronson 
Hotel bam, and the residences of T. Shannon, Oliver Orr and Mrs. 
Rose were completely destroyed. Total loss, $110,000. The pattern 
store-house of the Weston plant, a brick structure, was spared. The 
loss to the Weston Company was $80,000. Seventy men lost jobs. 

A fair held the week ending May 16, for the benefit of the 
Alliance Band, netted $1,800 ; gross receipts, near $2,600. 

Rev. Dean Colgan, pastor St. Mary's Church, died Tuesday 
evening, May 26, at the parochial residence. He was bom in Ireland 
in 1823 ; came to Buffalo in 1848 ; having completed his studies for 
the priesthood, was ordained by Bishop Timon in 1850 ; erected a 
Catholic Church in Buffalo ; in 1851 was placed in charge of a mission 
field at Dunkirk, where he built a church, then a school house and 
in 1858 an orphan asylum ; he was oppointed pastor of St. Mary's 
parish, of Coming, in 1860. Here he built St. Mary's Church, in 
in 1873 bought the old State arsenal and grounds and there establish- 
ed an asylum for orphans ; in 1886 bought the Salvation Army Chapel 
on East Market street, (which was burdened with debt), and fitted it 
up for use as a church and a school, the branch society being named 
for St. Patrick ; and in addition to nourishing the spiritual life of 
those committed to his care, he has been a safe guide in tlfeir 
material affairs. His was a life of sunshine. He sought to be of 
service to the community at large and so extended his beneficient 
achievements. When stricken with his final illness he was maturing 
plans to establish a hospital near the city. 

Captain John Hoare, of Corning, died at mid-day, June 17, 1896, 
at the Everett House in New York. He was 74 years old. He had 
been in poor health for some weeks and left home the day before on 
a recreation trip to New York and Brooklyn. Captain Hoare was 



354 Genesee Annual Conference Meets in Corning. 

founder of the cut glass industry in Coming, coming from Brooklyn 
in 1868. He was bom in Cork, Ireland ; learned the trade of glass- 
cutting in Belfast, worked for a time in cut glass works at Birm- 
ingham, and became a resident of New York in 1848. The products 
of his Coming shops were unexcelled. He was active in community 
affairs and maintained an exemplary home. Mrs. Hoare and two 
sons and two daughters survive— James Hoare, Mrs. Kate White, 
Mrs. William H. Sayles and Dr. Joseph D. Hoare. 

The Furgeson Contracting Company have 150 men at work on 
the Coming dyking project, most of them Negroes, brought from 
Virginia. These colored men live in tents, located near their work. 

July 2, 1896.— Sylvester C. Freeman and Clarence K. Wolcott 
succeed Captain Charles H. Freeman in the grocery business. 

July 6, 1896. — ^Rev. James M. Bustin, pastor of the Church of the 
Ascension, at North Tonawanda, has been appointed pastor of St. 
Mary's at Coming. 

July 27, 1896. — Harry J. Sternberg, who comes from Kankakee, 
Illinois, succeeds A. C. Arthur as manager of the Opera House. 

Professor S. W. Adams, aged 75 years, of Painted Post, died 
the evening of August 29, 1896, from injuries received that forenoon 
when a buggy in vtrhich he was riding was struck by a switch engine 
at the Chestnut street crossing of the Fall Brook railroad in Corning. 
He was a musician and for many years taught singing schools. 

In the Spring of 1896 W. W. Westcott established a printing 
office in the King Block, near Bridge and Pulteney street, and began 
the publication of the Crystal City News, issued weekly. It was not 
a financial success. The last number was issued early in September^ 

Genesee Annual Conference convened at the First Methodist 
Church in Corning, Wednesday morning, September 7, 1896, and 
held its closing session the following Monday evening. Bishop John 
F. Hurst presided. Rev. Henry C. Woods, for five years pastor 
in Coming was appointed pastor of Linwood Avenue Methodist 
Church at Buffalo ; Rev. S. A. Morse was his successor in Coming. 
Thursday morning, the second day of the Conference, Rev. Andrew 
Purdy, of Buffalo, dropped dead while walking across Market street 
at Cedar, engaged in pleasant conversation with another pastor. 

Rev. Henry C. Woods was responsible for the publicity given 
in the Corning Daily Journal during Conference week, to the following 
incident, of which he had first-hand knowledge— the two Bishops not 



Resident of Corning Robbed by Confidence Sharks. 355 



mentioned by name being Hartzell, Missionary Bishop of Africa, and 
Thoburn, Missionary Bishop of India : 

" Bishop Hurst, who presides at the Genesee Conference, yesterday 
asked Rev. Uri Mulford if he would go to Africa, to be stationed at 
Monrovia, the capital of Liberia, and take charge of the mission press and 
do missionary work. Two other Bishops were present and urged his 
acceptance. One remarked that Mr. Mulford might not cause "the 
Ethopian to change his skin." Mr. Mulford replied, " That may be so, but 
I think I could knock the spots off from some of the leopards." 

" Uri Mulford was formerly a printer and editor, and would make a 
valued church press representative in whatever field he was placed." 

The African mission press project was dropped after investiga- 
tion by Mr. Mulford demonstrated it w^ould not prove a good venture. 
He joined Genesee Conference in 1887, continued in the active 
ministry for twelve and a half years, then owing to bronchial trouble 
retired from his pastorate, and in 1903 resigned from the Conference. 

Samuel C. Erwin, aged 70 years, son of Arthur Erwin, deceased, 
fell dead Friday morning, October 15, 1896, at his home in Hornby. 

November 1, 1896, John Prince, Jr., retired from the position of 
Superintendent of the Coming and Painted Post Street Railway. He 
was succeeded by John A. Wilcox, a skilled electrical engineer. 

November 23, 1896.— S. Spicer Berry, of Coming, owner of a 
a number of farms in Caton and considerable real estate in Coming, 
was " buncoed " out of $2,800 in cash by two strangers who used a 
card game, and to get his confidence pretended to want to buy a farm. 

In December, 1896, the Corning Brake Shoe Company was incor- 
porated. Directors : Marvin Olcott. Josephus B. Terbell, James A. 
Drake, Robert W. Terbdl and William J. TuUy. The Coming Iron 
Works will manufacture car brake shoes for the new company. 

A fair for the benefit of the Coming Hospital, was held in the 
City Hall, four nights, beginning Tuesday, December 15, 1896. The 
net proceeds were $2,058.39. 

A new Baptist Church was dedicated at Coopers Plains, Wednes- 
day, January 27, 1897. Rev. T. F. Brodrick is pastor. 

Mrs. Nancy Lindsley White, aged 83 years, died January 30, 
1897, at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Helen Campbell, of Corning. 
She was a daughter of the late Jeremiah Mulford, of Lindley. 

On February 2, 1897, the total city and school bonds amounted 
to $225,500. There were $39,000 Sodus Bay Railroad bonds unpaid. 



356 Dedication of the First Congregational Church. 

The evening of February 3, 1897, the Second Methodist Episco- 
pal Church was organized, in the section of the city lying north of 
the Chemung River, with Frank H. VanKuren pastor. 

Attorney Daniel F. Brown, aged 76 years, died February 22, 
1897. He had been a resident of Coming since 1846. 

March 11, 1897. — Preston & Heermans, in business in Corning 
for thirty years, sold their machine shops to Harry C. Heermans. 

The Weston machine shops at Painted Post have been rebuilt. 
The owners are Abijah Weston, F. E. Bronson and W. A, Allen. 

April 7, 1897.— John Magee, of Watkins, aged 30 years, was 
elected President of the Fall Brook Railroad Company, as successor 
of his father, George J. Magee, who died in Nice, France, March 11. 

In Hornby, April 21, Jesse Bassage, 68 years old, a farmer, was 
surrounded by flames in a chopping he set afire and burned to death. 

The First Congregational Church of Coming, a brick structure, 
at the junction of Ontario with Bridge street, was dedicated May 13. 
It cost about $21,000 ; the auditorium will seat 1,000 persons, and is 
separated from the Sunday School room by folding doors. The 
church has a large pipe organ. The society was organized Septem- 
ber 25, 1890, by Rev. Ethan Curtis, of Syracuse, and since November 
of that year Rev. N. E. Fuller has been the pastor. The members of 
the Building Committee were : A. D. Coye, D. K. Kiff, Walter J. 
Blair, Albert Pritchard, C. E. Rose, B. W. Morse, Hosea A. Clark, 
Menzo Hosier and Rev. Nathan E. Fuller. 

At a fair held at the City Hall the third week in May, 1897, 
slightly over $1,800, was raised for the Corning Baseball Club. 

A Tiffany glass art window, in memory of the late John Hoare, 
was in June, 1897, placed in Christ Episcopal Church, Coming. The 
theme is, " The Centurian." 

The first commencement of the Northside Union School was 
held at the Congregational Church, Thursday evening, June 24, 1897. 
Three were graduated— A. Naomi Coye, Edith M. O'Brien and Mary 
E. Cole. D. L. Razey is Principal of the school. 

Members of the Class of 1897, of the Coming Free Academy, 
eight in number, were graduated at the Opera House, Thursday 
afternoon, June 24. They were, Frank D. Jennings, EHzabeth H. 
Cary, George S. Lang, George W. Lindner, Frances Hoare, William 
K. McMuUin, Anna M. Schott and Raymond C. Ross. 

June 26, 1897, Bishop Barnard J. McQuaide, of Rochester, con- 
firmeed a class of 250 at St. Mary's Catholic Church, in Coming. 



Coming Chapter Knights of Columbus Organized. 357 

In July, 1897, the Coming and Painted Post Street Railway put 
in force a total abstinence rule, applying " to all employes." 

Friday evening, August 6, 1897, Moses Edward Banks, aged 42 
years, was called from his home on Rose Hill, town of Coming, lured 
into a nearby ravine, and killed by two shots from a revolver — in the 
head and breast. The murderer, a man, was never apprehended. 

Thousands were in attendance Sunday, August 15, 1897, at a 
Methodist Camp Meeting held in a forest near the Fall Brook station 
at Presho. There were about forty tents in the camp ; the novel 
Summer outing continued for a week, with preaching services three 
times a day, each closing with an altar rally. Minor or group meet- 
ings were frequent early mornings and evenings. 

Dr. George T. Hawley, aged 34 years, died at his home in Corn- 
ing, September 4. Mrs. Hawley and two sons, Chester and Allen, 
survive. She is the only daughter of Chester S. Cole. 

Robert Jennings Sly aged 80 years, died November 3, 1897, at his 
home on West Pulteney street. He was born in the old town of 
Painted Post; John Sly was his father ; his grandfather, George Sly, 
a pioneer of the Painted Post section of the Genesee Coimtry, came 
from Maryland. Robert J. Sly leaves two sons— A. H. and George. 

The name of the Second Methodist Church, of Coming, has been 
been changed to Grace Methodist Church. The society has pur- 
chased a site on Bridge street, on which to erect a house of worship. 

Thursday evening, November 25, 1897, Corning Chapter of the 
Knights of Columbus was organized, with about sixty charter 
members. Officers : Frank S. Swain, Grand Knight ; D. C. Keefe, 
Deputy Grand Knight ; John W. Lynahan, Chancellor ; James T. 
Sullivan, Recording Secretary ; F. F. Pfeiffer, Financial Secretary; 
James E. Doyle, Treasurer ; Albert B. Cowley, Lecturer ; Joseph 
Boyle, Advocate ; James Murphy, Warden ; W. J. O'Neil, Outside 
Guard ; John M. Tracey, Inside Guard ; Rev. W. J. Lee, Organist ; 
Rev. James M. Bustin, Chaplain ; Dr. Thomas A. McNamara, Physi- 
cian. Trustees— Thomas Heffernan, Thomas McGovern, Richard 
E. Maleady, John L. Clark and William T. Moran. 

November 26, 1897, Lewis E. Gould, aged 21, died from a fracture 
of the skull, due to being kicked by a horse, in the stables of his 
father's farm— William M. Gould— on East Pulteney street. 



358 Corning Man Aboard the Mine-Wrecked Maine. 

After being closed for four years, on December 1, 1897, the 
Corning Free Library was opened, with 200 new books added. Mrs. 
Charles C. Drake is Librarian. The library is in the City Hall. 

In December, 1897, members of the Presbyterian and Methodist 
societies, at Hornby, formed a Congregational Church. 

Improvements at St. Mary's Church and the parochial residence 
costing $12,000, were completed in December, 1897. 

David T. Calkins, aged 78 years, third son of the late James 
Calkins, and a grandson of Frederick Calkins the pioneer, died at his 
home in Mossy Glen, December 12, 1897. His widow and three 
daughters survive— Mrs. Charles W. Shoens and Charlotte and 
Louise Calkins. Mrs. Calkins was a daughter of George Smith. 

January 10, 1898.— This forenoon the stock and building of the 
wholesale grocery of C. R. Maltby & Co., at Walnut street and 
Tioga avenue, were damaged by fire, smoke and water to the amount 
of $20,000. This is a branch of a New York concern. 

The frame stables and elaborately finished and furnished private 
club of James A. Drake, on West First street, burned to the ground, 
the morning of January 14, 1898. Loss $20,000; insurance, $13,000. 

Justin M. Smith, aged 80 years, who from 1854 till the Summer 
of 1895 engaged in the dry goods trade in Coming, died February 7. 

T. H. Appleby in January sold his harness factory to V. P. 
Mather and son, who continue the business. 

Thomas J. Cook, of Coming, a seaman aboard the battleship 
Maine when it was blown up at Havana, Cuba, was thrown clear of 
the ship and rescued from the water. His sustained minor injuries. 

About thirty acres of land on the hillside, above Hope Cemetery, 
to be known as Hope Cemetery Annex, have been purchased by the 
Cemetery Association. The Annex is in the town of Coming. 

The comer-stone of the new Grace Methodist Church was laid 
Thursday aftemoon, April 14, 1898, by Presiding Elder H. H. Hubbell. 

May 4, 1898.— Amaziah S. Kendall, aged 72 years, since 
1860 a resident of Coming, died following an illness of four weeks. 
He began the practice of law at Jasper in 1852. He specialized as 
a counselor and for many years was a partner of George B. Bradley. 

The city water system was during the Summer extended to 
the Northside section of the city. 

Residents of Corning and vicinity take great interest in news of 
the war with Spain and Cuban flags fly beside the Stars and Stripes. 



Rev. Joel Wakeman, Ahijah Weston and C. G. Howell. 359 

Rev. Joel Wakeman, aged 89 years, a retired Presbyterian minis- 
ter, died May 24, 1898, at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Lucian 
Clark, in the village of Campbell. He was a leader among the Presby- 
terian pastors during his days of vigor and conducted many revivals. 

Abijah Weston, aged 75, of Painted Post, died at Tonawanda, 
N. Y., June 2, 1898. He came to Painted Post in 1846, purchased 
large tracts of forests, with others engaged in lumbering, in making 
steam engines and other machinery and owned a bank. In his later 
years he extended his lumber manufacturing into Michigan, and 
at death was President of the largest lumber concern in Chicago. 

A few days after the death of Abijah Weston, the Weston Engine 
Company, of Painted Post, and the Bank of A. Weston & Company, 
also of Painted Post, both made assignments. Those directly interest- 
ed explained that the assignments were made to protect the Weston 
estate and to simplify settlements. 

The graduates of the Northside High School, Qass of 1898, are : 
Luther A. Thomas, Charles B. Lindsley, Belle A. Thompson, Stacey 
L. Oldfield, Tillie M. Green and Hope Chase. 

June 23, 1898, the Free Academy graduated ten students, namely : 
Annie E. Cadwgan, Sarah Cummings, Mary Doherty, Ethel L. 
Gorton. Katherine C. Healy, John B. Huggins, Grace IngersoU, 
Florence C. Morse, Delia H. Voorhees, Helena L. Walsh and Kathleen 
White. Mr. Huggins and Miss Cummings won scholarship prizes. 

Aug. 3, 1898, the Corning Fish and Game Club was incorporated. 

T. G. Hawkes & Company are for the third time filling an order 
for cut glass for use in the White House at Washington. 

In August, 1898, John C. Bostelmann organized the Corning 
Conservatory of Music, to open September 13. 

Early the morning of September 3, 1898, C. G. Howell, aged 76 
years, died at his home, on Pine street. He came to Corning from 
New Jersey, in the Fall of 1845, and began business as a tailor ; a 
few years later he bought a lot on the south side of Market street 
betwen Pine and Cedar and built a tailor shop; for a series of years 
engaged in manufacturing both doth and paper bags ; dealt in lubri- 
cating and illuminating oils ; established a kerosene oil refinery in 
Coming, and invested in real estate. He was a sagacious, well- 
balanced business man and a good neighbor. Mrs. Howell and two 
sons survive— Frank J. and Albert C. 



360 Three Unusually Cold Winter Nights and a Blizzard. 

The new Grace Methodist Church, on Bridge street, a frame 
structure of tasteful design and convenient arrangement, was dedi- 
cated September 18, 1898. It cost $5,000. Three thousand dollars of 
the amount was raised at the dedication day meetings, by Rev. B. I. 
Ives, of Auburn, the " debt lifter." Rev. F. H. VanKuren is pastor. 

Rev. J. D. Kimball, Wesleyan pastor at Dyke, died October 20, 
1898, leaving a widow and five children. He was 46. 

November 3, 1898.— C. R. Maltby & Co., wholesale grocers, have 
completed a substantial stone and brick warehouse at the southwest 
comer of Erie avenue and Chestnut street — the site of the American 
Hotel of former days. 

The latter part of December, 1898, the shops and contents of the 
Weston Coinpany, at Painted Post, were sold to the Rand Drill Co., 
of Tarrytown, N. Y. The shops will soon resume operations. 

Christopher D. Lewis, aged 94 years, of Caton, owner of several 
farms, died January 8, 1899. He was born at North Stonington, 
Conn., and moved to Caton in 1842. He was an exemplary citizen. 

In January, 1899, Miss Elizabeth A. McNamara established a 
short-hand and commercial school in the Howell Block. 

Fire that started in the celler of Thomas Heffernan's dry goods 
store in the Union Block, 30 East Market street, the morning of 
January 30, 1899, damaged the brick building to the amount of $6,000, 
caused a loss of $18,000 to the Heffernan stock, $4,000 to Captain 
Charles H. Freeman, grocer, and $400 to Frank Town, barber. 

Rev. Theodore Braun, for three years pastor of the German 
Evangelical Church, accepts a call from Hammond, Illinois. 

February 11, 1899.— There have been three unusually cold nights 
with early morning below zero temperatures of 16,20 and 27 degrees. 
The cold wave was followed by a blizzard that continued for two 
days causing the annulment of most freight taains. 

A co-operative grocery store has been opened at 122 East Market 
street, with J. H. Spencer, General Manager. It is doing business as 
" The Corning Workingmen's Mercantile Co-Operative Association." 

March 7, 1899.— A proposition to place in the annual city budget 
an item of $1,500 to entertain a convention of volunteer firemen of 
Steuben County, was voted down ; — Yes, 364 ; No, 474. 

T. Heffernan has discontinued business ; Waite & Krieger are 
to move their dry goods to the store vacated by Mr. Heffernan. 



Fall Brook Lines Leased by New York Central. 361 

April 3, Benjamin W. Wellington appeared at a meeting of the 
Common Council, and gave notice that the Corning Fuel and Heating 
Company accepted a franchise recently granted it by the Council. 

The men who formed this company sought to secure a supply 
of natural gas by drilling wells in the vicinity, and put down several, 
each proving a failure. Ignorance of local geology cost them heavily. 

April 27, 1899, John Magee gave formal notice that the Fall 
Brook Railroad Company has leased its lines and equipment to the 
New York Central Company for 999 years, beginning May 1. 

The Fall Brook lines from Lyons to Williamsport, with all the 
branch trackage, and the Beech Creek Railroad, in Pennsylvania, 
were consolidated as the Pennsylvania Division, and A. G. Palmer 
was promoted from Superintendent of the Beech Creek line to the 
management of the new division, with headquarters in Coming. 

George Thompson, of Jersey Shore, was appointed Superinten- 
dent of Motive Power of the Pennsylvania Division, and notice was 
given that all general car repair work would be done at Jersey Shore. 

Frank B. Brown, senior editor of the Corning Daily Democrat, 
died Sunday evening, April 30, 1899, aged 65. From early manhood 
he had been an editor of the Democrat, issued weekly prior to 1885, 
and since then daily and weekly. Pie was an aggressive Democrat. 

In May, 1899, the Elmira and Corning Electric Railroad was 
incorported, to construct and operate a line connecting the two cities. 

May 23, 1899.— The Minot House, on West Erie avenue, has 
closed, after being conducted for forty years. The successive land- 
lords were, Fred Haischer and Fred Ruthfuss as partners, then 
Fred Ruthfuss, and lastly by John M. Beck. 

Commencement exercises of the Northside High School were 
held June 20. The graduates : Oliver E. Lamb, Katherine L. Collins, 
Fred R. Lear, Nathan T. Cole and Ethel I. Oldfield. 

Twenty-three were graduated by the Corning Free Academy, 
June 22, namely : George E. Beahan, Hebe B. Canfield, Carolyne D- 
Cone, Alice N. Coye, Margaret D. Doyle, Louise H. Hill, James Paul 
Lynahan, Michael F. McCarthy, Bertha B. Moran, Katherine A. 
Purcell, Carlton H. Sears, John M. Beck, Jr., Sturges F. Cary, Blanche 
G. Conklin, Helen B. Curtin, Josephine N. Goff, Delphine Keagle, 
Roger S. McAvoy, Frances B. McClellan, Ellen M. Moran, Elsie V. 
Roberts, Myra Somers, Nelson L. Somers. 

June 25, 1899, Sunday passenger train service was introduced on 
the Pennsylvania Division of the New York Central Railroad. 



362 Corning Democrat Purchased By Underhill & Co. 

Sunday, July 9, 1899, John B. Ferenbaugh, aged 82 years, was 
struck by the locomotive of an Erie passenger train, at Cedar street, 
an so irgured that he lived but a few minutes. He was born in Ger- 
many ; when a child came to America with his parents ; they moved 
to Centerville in 1822 ; he was a harness maker and in 1852 erected 
a combination harness shop and dwelling on West Market street. 
There he continued to work at his trade until the end of his life. He 
was a splendid type of sterling manhood. 

A heavy fall of rain with an interval of hail, greatly damaged 
tobacco and other crops, the afternoon of August 10, 1899. 

Joseph F. Moore, aged 67, died August 13, at his home on East 
First street. He was born in Paisley, Scotland ; came to America in 
1849, and to Coming in 1852 ; married Adelia D. daughter of Jesse 
Clark ; by land and business investments he accumulated a large 
estate ; Mrs. Moore and a son, Joseph C, survive. 

August 30, 1899, Frank J. Bantley became Erie Ticket Agent, in 
place of Joseph F. Moore. Mr. Bantley, who had for a number of 
years been the Night Ticket Agent, was succeeded by Fred F. Peters. 

September 18, 1899, the Corning Daily Democrat equipment and 
the good will of the business, was purchased by E. S. Underhill & Co., 
proprietors of the Bath Advocate. The office of publication of the 
Corning Democrat w&s changed to Cedar street, opposite the City Hall. 

Miss Mary E. R. Sanford, late of Buffalo, began the practice of 
medicine in Corning the latter part of September, 1899. 

The new canning factory at Painted Post prospers. 

John Maloney purchased the Degler Hotel, West Market street. 

October 13, 1899. — George R. Brown, former Superintendent of 
the Fall Brook Railroad, has become Superintendent of the New York 
and Pennsylvania Railroad, with headquarters at Canisteo. 

Israel P. Jones died at his home on East Second street, November 
21, 1899. He was born in Scipio, Cayuga County, N. Y., May 14, 
1818 ; moved to the hamlet of Coming in 1840 ; was a brick and 
stone mason ; a man of energy and noted for his patriotic zeal. 

Many flint arrow heads, used by Indians, have been picked up 
in gardens and cultivated lands in and about Caton Center. In 
November, 1899, W. 0. Matteson, of Caton Center, wrote : " On 
about an acre of ground used for a garden there have been over a 
hundred Indian arrows picked up the past two years." 



Corning Men Serve in War That Liberates Cuba. 363 

The Canfield Coaster Brake Company was organized, to manu- 
facture bicycle brakes invented by Richard H. Canfield. 

December 13, 1899.— Rev. P. W. Crannell, for five years pastor 
of the First Baptist Church of Coming, tendered his resignation, in 
order to accept a call from a Baptist Church in Topeka, Kan. 

Contractor H. O. Dorman has completed a two-story brick 
addition to the T. G. Hawkes cut glass shops. 

John Wilson, for many years a passenger conductor on the Fall 
Brook Railroad, died December 27, 1899. 

" The Mikado," a benefit play for the Corning Hospital, given at 
the Corning Opera House, added $1,071 to the hospital fund. 

A test well drilled in search for natural gas by the Coming. 
Fuel and Heating Company, near Covenhoven's Hill, in the town of 
Campbell, struck salt water at 3,400 feet and was flooded. 

The war between the United States and Spain, that resulted in 
the liberation of Cuba, and the chastisement and penalizing of the 
Spanish monarchy for the unwarranted destruction of the American 
battleship Maine, was so easily won and of such short duration, that 
comparatively few men of Coming and vicinity were permitted tO' 
get into action on either land or sea. An incomplete list follows : 

Major C. C. Ballou, Major Lucien G. Berry, Howard J. Dexter 
Lewis M. Cole, Robert P. Clark, Harry J. Reynolds, Sidney B. Price, 
Robert Cunningham, Clarence E. Pier, Harry B. Fields, Joseph A. 
McGovem, Ward K. Mulford, George W. Mulford, Clifford Brown, 
A. W. Cleaver, Albert C. Bassage, William Spencer, John Gregorius, 
Walter B. Brown, Thomas Cook, Benjamin E. Calkins, Fred Peart, 
John De Wolfe, Clarence Roody, Alonzo McNeil, Frank C. Dudley, 
C. D. Brown, George EUithrope, Dennis Nolan, Patrick Doyle, James 
Mclnemey, Lieutenant D. J. Hutton, George Langendorfer, Patrick 
Conroy, Frank Luckner, A. B. Schenck, James C. Cluney (died of 
fever), Ed Robbins, Jack Wilson, Joseph Davis, H. Guy Williams, 
Theodore Sutherland, Charles McMuUen, John H. Maloney, C. F. 
Dowd. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Coming and Vicinity 



CHAPTER L. 
Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1895 to 1900. * 

MARRIED, January 7, 1895, at the home of the bride, in Gibson, 
Frank C. Piatt, of Painted Post, and Miss Jennie Faulkner. 
In Corning, January 16, 1895, Rufus S. Jaynes and Miss 
Henrietta King, both of Coming. 

In Coming, March 6, 1895, George Rose and Miss Anna O'Pelt. 

In Painted Post. March 27, 1895, by Rev. W. A. Allen, Herbert 
Lee HoUister and Miss Cora M. Wing. 

In Gibson, April 24, 1895, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Silas Gorton and 
Jennie daughter of Benjamin F. Edger. 

In Coming, April 29, 1895, Michael J. Ryan and Mary A. Scott. 

In Corning, May 18, 1895, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Durward Lenor 
Razey, Principal of the Northside schools, and Minnie Belle daughter 
of P. D. Wescott. 

At Christ Church, Corning, June 11, 1895, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, 
Frederick A. McGeorge and Miss Sarah R. Brown. 

In Gibson, June 19, Harry G. Edger and Miss Georgia Knowles. 

In Coming, June 26, 1895, William H. Goff, of East Corning, and 
Grace M. daughter of Daniel Cramer. 

In Coming, July 2, 1895, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Alvin D. Brown, 
of Plymouth, N. Y., and Miss Jennie B. Millspaugh, of Coming. 

In Coming, July 23, 1895, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Fred W. Smith, 
of Coopers Plains, and Miss Olive D. Blanchard, of Coming. 

In Corning, July 25, 1895, Thomas Maloney, of Jamestown, N. Y., 
and Margaret daughter of John Powers, of Corning. 

In Coming, Ang. 6, 1895, James Semple and Charlotte Campbell. 

364 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1895. 365 

In Corning, August 14, 1895, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Charles A. 
BuUard, of Elmira, and Marleah daughter of Dr. F. A. Fenderson. 

In Corning, August 28, 1895, Francis P. Hendy and MaBelle L. 
daughter of Mrs. C. E. Williams, of 155 Pearl street. 

In Coming, August 29, 1895, George Noke and Maggie O'Hara. 
In Coming, September 3, James W. Nolan and Miss Mary Stack- 
In Coming, September 17, 1895, William T. Pratt, of Buffalo, 
and Anna daughter of Benjamin Young, Fall Brook engineer. 

In Coming, September 19, 1895, E. W. Barnard and Jennie Howe. 

In Painted Post, Sept 22, 1895, Delos Mapes and Ida Belle Scott. 

, In Coming, September 25, 1895, by Rev. H. C. Woods, W. W. 
Childs and Lura daughter of Alvin Stillson. 

At St. Mary's Church, Coming, September 25, 1895, John Galla- 
gher, of Corning, and Miss Elizabeth Kinsella, of Painted Post. 

In Painted Post, October 15, 1895, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Edward 
B. Hodgman and Alice daughter of Samuel E. Gilbert. 

In Coming, October 16, 1895, Henry S. Maltby and Miss Lucy E. 
daughter of George Swingle. 

In Corning, October 24, 1895, by Rev. Dr. Hutton, Charles Mc- 
intosh and Sarah B. daughter of Elgin L. Conklin. 

In Corning, November 14, 1895, Rev. W. H. Soule, pastor of the 
Baptist Church at Dalton, Pa., and Lydia daughter of Charles Boehm. 

In Corning, November 14, 1895, by Rev. Dean Colgan, Daniel 
Murphy and Mrs. Kate Leonard, daughter of William O'Donnell. 

November 23, 1895, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Joel E. Cook and Miss 
Florence Winfield, both of Gibson. 

In Corning, December 22, 1895, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Charles L. 
Tobey and Miss Tessie R. Haselbauer. 

At Mossy Glen, December 18, 1895, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, Charles 
Paul, of Lindley, and Mary A. daughter of John Norris. 

December 22, 1895, Charles H. Stowell and Miss Lulu G. Humes. 

In Corning, December 31, 1895, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Franklin 
D. Hope and Delia E. daughter of E. F. VanEtten. 

In Corning, December 31, 1895, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, James 
W. Bennett and Miss Ida Stamp. 

In Coming, Dec. 31, 1895, Milo L. Erway and Martha W. Cogswell. 



366 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1896. 



In Coming, January 1, 1896, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, George 
Deuerline and Mrs. Belvia C. Pettit. 

Agnes daughter of William Gorton, of the town of Corning, and 
Thad Tannery, Erie passenger train conductor, were married Jan. 8. 

In Painted Post, February 5, 1896, by Rev. Arthur Osborn, Elmer 
Barrett and Miss Maud Manning, both of Coopers Plains. 

In Corning, February 18, 1896, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Judson D. 
Rogers, of Geneva, and Almeda D. daughter of Charles N. Church. 

In Caton, February 20, 1896, Frank Cooper and Maggie Graham. 

At St. Mary's Church, February 18, 1896, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, 
William Canfield, of Corning, and Margaret McCluskey, of Hornby. 

In Coming, March 25, 1896, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, Joseph A. 
Carson and Nettie daughter of M. D. Litts, of East Third street. 

In Corning, April 8, 1896, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Clarence M. 
Loudenslager and Miss Mamie V. Hebe. 

In Coming, April 22, 1896, Daniel Ginnan and Fannie O'Bryan. 
In Corning, April 29. 1896, Wm. H. Amey and Margaret Welsh. 
In Coming, April 29, 1896, James E. Reilly and Catherine Colgan. 
In Corning, May 5, 1896, by Rev. C. G. Dillworth, Joseph L. 
Bryan and Miss Eva J. Thompson. 

In Coming, May 20, 1896, by Rev. M. S. Babcock, Samuel Mur- 
•dock, of Caton, and Esther A. Smith, of Corning. 

May 28, 1896, Frank J. Howell and Miss Emilie A. Litschke. 

In Gibson, May 27, 1896, Chas. H. DeWolfe and Jessie D. Knapp. 

In Painted Post, June 4, 1896, at the home of the bride, Charles 
C. Lambert and Miss Mary E. Howell. 

In Gibson, June 8, 1896, Walter A. Wilson and Carrie E. Knapp. 

June 17, 1896, Sylvester C. Freeman and Miss Ida A. Wolcott. 

In Millerton, Pa., June 24, 1896, F. Cornie Brown, of Coming, 
and Miss Lena M. Tabor, of Millerton. 

In Corning, June 24, 1896, by Rev H. C. Woods, Chas. T. Boyce, 
of Rochester, and Carrie L. daughter of J. W. Caulkins. 

In Corning, July 1, 1896, Patrick Grady and Rose Murtaugh. 

In Painted Post, July 1, 1896, by Rev. A. C. Osborn, William M. 
Spoor and Cora A. Hathaway. 

In Coming, July 14, 1896, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, Robert D. 
VanAlstine and Miss Susie Hall. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1896. 367 

At Painted Post, July 15, 1896, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Archie W. 
Force and Miss Mattie M. Spoor. 

In Gibson, July 16, Augustus K. Rose and Miss Alice E. Wheeler, 

In Corning, August 16, John H. Lindsley and Miss Flora Odell. 

In Corning, Sept. 2, 1896, David S. Crane and Arell M. Hoyt. 

In Caton, September 2, 1896, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, George C. 
Straubinger, of Coming, and Miss Ella B. Cotter, of Caton. 

In Corning, September 13, 1896, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, William 
M. Yontz and Kate M. daughter of Valentine Able. 

At St. Mary's Church, Coming, September 22, 1896, by Rev. J^ 
M. Bustin, William Connelly and Annie daughter of John Callinan. 

In Corning, Sept. 22, 1896, E. C. Gardner and Miss Ella Bovier. 

In Caton, December 5, 1896, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, Frank S. Hill, 
and Edith C. daughter of John E. Westbrook, both of Corning. 

In Corning, October 6, 1896, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, John T. 
Prince, Jr., and Kate daughter of James Hoare. 

In Coming, October 14, 1896, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Arthur J. 
Fero and Mertie daughter of Frank Beyea. 

In Mossy Glen, October 15, 1896, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Louis A. 
Robbins and Ada B. daughter of Leonard Kirkendall. 

In Corning, October 21, 1896, by Rev. V. P. Mather. Reuben 
VanDerhoef and Harriet E. daughter of Phillip Fisher. 

In Coming, October 27, 1896, C. G. Andrew and Emma Maltby. 

November 1, 1896, Carlington Lovell and Miss Clara Thompson. 

At Coopers Plains, November 4, 1896, by Rev. Frank H. Van- 
Keuren, Simeon F. Remington and Maggie McLaughlin. 

In Corning, November 5, 1896, Henry J.Badgely and Maud Allen. 

In Coming, November 5, 1896, by Rev, C. W. Winchester, 
Arthur E. Underwood and Mrs. Nina V. Garlock. 

In Addison, November 18, 1896, John W. Lynahan, of Coming, 
and Miss Margaret MuUaney, of Addison. 

In Coming, November 24, 1896, John Stott and Nellie Eagan. 

In Coming, November 24, 1896, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, George 
McLaughlin and Miss Julia O'Shea, both of Hornby. 

In Coming, December 9, 1896, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Grant C. 
Parsons and Miss Nellie Parks. 



368 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1897. 

In Corning, January 12, 1897, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, Nathan S. 
Sterling and Florence daughter of Frank Higgins. 

In Corning, January 12, 1897, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Herbert A. 
Woolever and Eliza daughter of Mrs. Charlotte Goodsell. 

In Coming, February 24, 1897, Frank C. Kleckler and Nellie Olds. 

In Corning, February 27, 1897, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, George 
M. Bartlett and Elvida daughter of George W. Delaney. 

In Corning, March 2, 1897, Daniel Ryan and Mary McGrath. 

In Corning, March 10, 1897, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, George 
Tiutledge and Mary daughter of William McClellan. 

In Corning, April 14, by Rev. W. A. Allen, John A. Wilcox and 
"Mary Stewart Reed. Mr. Wilcox is Superintendent of the trolley line. 

In Coming, April 20, 1897, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Frank W. 
Tuthill, son of Col. H. T. Tuthill. and Miss Carrie Bartlett. 

In Corning, April 18, 1897, Walter Crawford and Emma Soper. 

At St. Mary's Church, Corning, May 5, 1897, by Rev. Walter J. 
Lee, James Garty and Miss Mary Poland, both of Corland. 

In Corning, May 5, 1897, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Ralph S. Heer- 
mans and Minnie Irene daughter of Victor Haischer. 

In Coming, May 10, 1897, James Merrick and Miss Eliza Lee. 

In Corning, May 12, Sherman A. Miller and Delia M. Putnam. 

In Coming, May 13, 1897, by Rev. James M. Bustin, James 
Murphy and Miss Katherine Eagler. 

At Curtis, June 1, 1897, by Rev. James Griffin, Oliver E. Dow, of 
Coming, and Lena Agnes daughter of John Mulvihill, of Curtis. 

June 9, 1897, at the home of the bride's mother, Mrs. Layton 
Powell, in Hornby, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Dr. George W. Lane, Mayor 
of Corning, and Mrs. E. Claire Banker. 

In Corning, June 16, 1897, by Rev. James M. Bustin, William C. 
Rooney and Miss Helen J. Hanley, both of Corning. 

In Coming, June 23, 1897, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, E. Floyd 
Branch and Clara B. daughter of D. B. Tuthill, of Corning. 

In Elmira, June 23, 1897, by Rev. Thomas K. Beecher, Silas B. 
Maltby, of Corning, and Adelaide Cordelia daughter of F. Bowles. 

In Elmira, June 26, 1897, Arthur C. Hutchinson, of Elmira, and 
Miss Bertha M. Cook, of Lindley. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1897-'98. 369 



In Painted Post, July 15, 1897, by Rev. C. G. Dilworth, Charles 
H. Lovell and Miss Jennie May Malona. 

In St. Mary's Church, Corning, August 11, 1897, by Rev. Walter 
J. Lee, Thomas J. Curtin and Miss Ella J. Rogers. 

In Coming, August 25, 1897, by Rev. S. A- Morse, LaFayette 
Taylor, of Philadelphia, Pa., and Ruby A. daughter of J. D. Williams. 

In Corning, September 15, 1897, by Rev. James M. Bustin, Ray- 
mond Young and Margaret Cunningham. 

In Corning, September 15, 1897, by Rev. Nathan E. Fuller, John 
J. Sheppardand Nettie M. daughter of L. S. Conover. 

In Coming, Sept. 21, 1897, Patrick J. Broderick and Nellie Deegan. 

In Corning, September 29, 1897, by Rev. C. W. Winchester, 
Bert J. Carr and Margaret daughter of George W. Jones. 

In Coming, October 8, 1897, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Elmer W. 
Brown and Lina daughter of Davis D. Moxley. 

In Corning, October 20, 1897, by Rev, A. J. Hutton. John R. 
Perry and Kate M. daughter of William W. Cowan. 

In Coming, October 20, 1897, by Rev. James M. Bustin, John 
Ryan and Miss Mary Reynolds. 

In Lindley, October 26, 1897, by Rev. Frank H. VanKuren, Miss 
Delia daughter of John C. Mulford, and Emmet Carey, of Coming. 

In Caton, October 26, 1897, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Charles B. Culp, 
of Corning, and Leonora daughter of James Thurber. 

In Coming, November 15, 1897, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Joseph E. 
Sparks and Frances daughter of John Richardson. 

In Coming, November 24, 1897, by Rev. James Bustin, Elmer 
Harrison and Anna daughter of William McLaughlin, of Hornby. 

In Painted Post, November 25, 1897, by Rev. C. G. Dilworth, 
Frank Bentley, of Coming, and Miss Hattie Johnson, of Tioga, Pa. 

In Coming, December 22, 1897, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Dean C. 
Balcom and Florence A. Daughter of George R. Brown. 

In Coming, December 25, 1897, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, William 
Edward Griffith and Susie A. daughter of George W. Richardson. 

In Coming, January 1, 1898, Wm. Allen and Catherine McAlpine. 

In Coming, January 4, 1898, J. Edward Oldrin and Mary R. Cone. 

In Coming, January 11, 1898, John Swain and Miss Agnes Dell. 



370 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1898. 

In Coming, January 10, 1898, by Rev. S. A. Morse, William 
Campbell and Miss Daisy V. Simonds. 

In the town of Erwin, January 12, 1898, by Rev. James R. Robin- 
son, W. Lewis Stanton and Mary L. daughter of Joseph Barr. 

In Coming, January 23, 1898, John H. Martin and Anna Cowan. 

In Coming, January 24, 1898, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, P. J. Canny, 
of Susquehanna, Pa;, and Miss Maria Sullivan, of Coming. 

At St. Mary's Church, Coming, February 9, 1898, by Rev. Walter 
J. Lee, Jerome Woeppel and Mrs. Mary Deneen. 

In Coming, February 9, 1898, by Rev. P. W. Crannel, Charles E. 
Wolcott and Miss Edith B. Stevens, both of Corning. 

In Coming, February 23, 1898, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, Lewis M. 
Wolfrom and Mrs. Maude E. HoUey, daughter of D. D. Hopper. 

In Corning, March 5, 1898, Elmer Welch and Jennie Parmenter. 

Married, March 6, 1898, by Rev. George J. White, James H. 
Wheeler and Miss Bessie Coumbe, both of Coming. 

In Coming. March 21, 1898, Floyd E. Buck and Mary F. Davis. 

In Painted Post, March 24, 1898, C. H. Angst, of Thurston, and 
Miss Kate C. daughter of Mrs. Mary Craig, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, April 6, 1898, Charles L. Gridley and Ava M. Tipple. 

In Corning, April 8, 1898, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Malcomb Baker 
and Miss Lillian Parmenter, both of Corning, 

In Coming, April 19, 1898, by Rev. Frank H. VanKuren, Frank 
B. Kimball and Mrs. AUce Howard, both of Coming. 

In Corning, April 20, 1898, W. B. Davies and Miss Effie Rose. 

In Corning, April 23, 1898, Albert Bradley and Miss Bertha Chase. 

In Corning, April 26, 1898, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Erwin C. 
English and Miss Margaret Kiernan. 

At Painted Post, May 7, 1898, by Rev. B. B. Knapp, George G. 
Valerious, of Centerville, and Miss Helen N. Kenyon, of Campbell. 

In East Campbell, May 7, 1898, Fred Maury, of Campbell, and 
Miss Mabel Bennett, of Corning. 

In Homby, May 26, 1898, by Rev. C. B. Smith, B. W. Fairchild, 
of Campbell, and Miss Lucinda E. Snyder, of Homby. 

In Corning, June 1, 1898, by Rev. A. J. Button, Samuel Grant 
Bloomer and Florence Isabelle daughter of Ensign S. Culver. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1898. 371 

In Coming, June 8, 1898, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Harvey Townsend 
Cole, Jr., and Anna Louise daughter of A. C. Olds. 

In Coming, June 15, 1898, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Edward J. 
Dowling and Miss Julia C. Crowley. 

In Coming, June 16, 1898, Wm. H. Burrell and Nellie Gorman. 

In Corning, June 21, 1898, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Andrew Beers 
Maltby, son of Jerome B. Maltby, and Miss Florence O. daughter of 
Edward L. Dickinson. 

In Coming, June 25, 1898. Thos. J. O'Neill and Nellie Meville. 

In Coming, June 25, 1898, by Rev. James M. Bustin, Edward 
Mayer and Helen V. daughter of Thomas McCuUough. 

In Coming, July 27, 1898, Archie Knapp and Miss Phoebe Zeak, 

July 2, 1898, Charles DeGroat and Mrs. Jennie (James) Wood. 

In Coming, July 3, 1898, Simeon McMahon and Elizabeth O'Brien. 

In Coming, August 10, 1898, Michael K. TuUy and Annie Feman. 

In Coming, August 2A, 1898, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Jesse C. 
Bullock and Miss Maude E. Weaver. 

In Coming, August 31, 1898, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Frederick W. 
Kriger and Miss Betsey Spencer. 

August 31, 1898, Julius Larson and Miss Alma Johnson. 

In Coming, September 7, 1898, by Rev. James M. Bustin, Charles 
J. Carroll and Mary A. daughter of John Vallely. 

In Corning, September 14, Thos. CuUigan and Agnes Maxner. 

In Coming, September 21, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Herman A. 
Jacoby and Miss Ida Fanny Williams. 

In Coming, Sept. 21, 1898, J. Lyman Hagar and Helen L. Gorton. 

In Caton, September 27, 1898, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, Fred E. 
Speer and Gertmde daughter of A. B. Clark. 

At the i^idence of Alanson Houghton, Jr., October 25, by Rev. 
Walter C. Roberts, William J. TuUy, son of Joseph J. Tully, and Miss 
Clara Mabel daughter of Alanson Houghton, Jr. 

In Coming, October 5, 1898, Geo. W. Lawrence and Anna Easling. 

In Coming, October 11, 1898, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Asa B. 
Priest, of Canandaigua, and Miss Helen Inscho Pier, of Coming. 

In Coming, October 11, 1898, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, David E. 
Dunkle, of Galeton, Pa., and Miss Anna M. Lindsley, of Corning. 



372 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1 898-' 99. 

In Corning, October 12, 1898, by Rev. W. C. Roberts. Archie N. 
Butler and Louise daughter of Davis B. Moxley. 

In Corning, Oct. 12, 1898, Robt. M. Gridley and AHce I. Ridley. 

In Coming, October 13, 1898, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Charles 
McCarthy and Miss Estella Shea. 

At Painted Post, October 28, 1898, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Wesley 
Gorton, of Gibson, and Miss Ella E. Dykeman, of Painted Post. 

In Corning, October 26, 1898, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Norman H. 
Palmer and Miss Grace Ethel Humes. 

In Gibson, Nov. 13, 1898, Frank B. Cortright and Maude Bennett. 

In Corning, November 16, 1898, Wm. Hilk and Margaret Gorton. 

In Bath, November 24, 1898, by Rev. Father Griffin, Dr. Henry 
Alexander Argue, of Corning, and Miss Theresa A. Bowes, of Bath. 

In Coming, December 1, 1898, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Richard 
Walton, of Homellsville, and Birdie daughter of J. A. Bishop, Coming. 

In Coming, December 21, 1898, by Rev. W. A. Allen, Arthur L. 
Kiff and Nellie M. daughter of J. L. Viele, both of Coming. 

In Coming, January 10, 1899, by Rev. James M. Bustin, Samuel 
Elwell and Miss Nellie McDonald, both of Corning. 

In Coming, January 12, 1899, by Rev. S. A. Morse, James B. 
King and Miss Sarah Bulkley, of East Campbell. 

In Corning, January 18, 1899, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, William 
Sinclaire and Miss Helen B. Walker. 

In Corning, January 25, 1899, Daniel C. Keefe and Ida L.Wallace. 

In Corning, January 28, 1899, Luke Fox and Mrs. Mary McAvoy. 

In Elmira, February 1, 1899, by Rev. Dr. McKnight, James W. 
Thompson, of Erwins, and Miss Susannah T. Sexton. 

In Painted Post, Feb. 6, 1899, by Rev. F. H. VariKuren, Edward 
C. Teetes and Miss Jessie L. White. 

In Corning, February 11, 1899, Delos Noble and Addie L. Bunnell. 

In Corning, Febmary 15, 1899, by Rev. F. H. VanKuren, of 
Painted Post, Thomas Herron and Miss Grace B. Sweet, of Corning. 

In Painted Post, March 2, 1899, by Rev. Frank H. VanKuren, 
George F. Wilson, of Painted Post, and Carrie A. Davis, of Addison. 

In Corning, March 8, 1899, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Henry B. 
Higgins and Miss Belle Louise Huber. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity In 1899. 373 



In Coming, March 15, 1899, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, James A. 
Wright and Mrs. Imogene Johnson. 

In Coming, March 22, 1899, Wm. H. Remmel and Althea Frazee. 

In East Campbell, March 23, 1899, Charles L. Reed, of Painted 
Post, and Miss Lillian Preston, of East Campbell. 

In Painted Post. April 4, 1899, John A. May and Emma Stasch. 

In Coming, April 4, 1899, S. W. Bailey and Evelina Baker. 

In Painted Post, April 9, 1899, Elijah Spear and Ella Potter. 

April 19, 1899, George F. Cole and Kate Coakley, of Coming. 

At the First Presbyterian Church, in Rutherford, N. J., April 19, 
1899, by Rev. Edwin A. Bulkley, Arthur Amory Houghton, of 
Coming, and Miss Mabel daughter of George Hollister. 

In Coming, May 16, 1899, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, Ervan 
Wetmore and Nora daughter of Milner Kemp. 

At Gang Mills, May 16, 1899, by Rev. W. K. Towner, William 
W. Marquart, of Coming, and Clara A. daughter of Frank Booth. 

In Corning, May 20, 1899, Wm. H. Vance and Miss Cora Gridley. 
In Corning, June 6, 1899, Francis Maloney and Mary T. Harris. 
In Painted Post, June 7, 1899, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Frank E. 
Waite, of Corning, and Mary L. daughter of Samoel E. Gilbert. 

In Coming, June 7, 1899, Samuel Donahue and Miss Mary Crowe. 

In Corning, June 7, 1899, John J. Haselbauer and Miss Julia Crowe. 

In Corning, June 14, 1899, by Rev. W. C. Roberts. Townsend M. 
Hawkes and Margaret M. daughter of 0. McClellan. 

In Corning, June 15, 1899, Frank M. Stickler and Ada V. Strohl. 

In Coming, June 17, 1899, Harry S. Latshawand Kathleen Layton. 

In Coming, August 22, 1899, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, James J. Mc- 
Mahon and Mary Catherine daughter of Joseph Deegan. 

In Corning, September 19, 1899, Peter Maxner, Jr., and Miss 
Catherine daughter of Mrs. C. Underiner. 

In Coming, Sept. 21, 1899, Chas. S. Colburn and Minnie Williams. 
In Corning, September 27, 1899, by Rev. James M. Bustin, Joseph 
W. Ludlow and Miss Margaret Regan. 

October 1, 1899, Arthur Mosher and Mrs. Amy Kizer. 



374 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1899. 

In Coming, October 3, 1899, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Benson D. 
Miller and Miss Florence D. VanFleet. 

In East Corning, October 11, 1899, by Rev. "Walter C. Roberts^ 
Oscar M. Rothfuss and Miss Elizabeth C. Tuttle. 

October 11, 1899, John W. Conklin, son of Elgin L. Conklin, and 
Miss May S. adopted daughter of Truman S. Pritchard. 

In Corning, October 11, 1899, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Francis C. 
Wolcott and Frances A. daughter of Peter J. DeWolfe, 

In Caton, October 18, 1899, by Rev. C. L. Shurgur, John Tobey, 
of Corning, and Clara daughter of Amos Rhodes, of Caton. 

At St. Mary's Church, in Corning, November 8, 1899, John D. 
Dowling and Miss Johanna Hanley. 

In Corning, November 8, 1899, George Black and Nellie Carroll. 

November 11, 1899, Theodore J. Hook and Clara Pond. 

In Corning, November 15, 1899, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, H. 
Docksey Jones and Amy daughter of Mrs. Hannah Broomhall. 

In Corning, November 16, 1899, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Martin E. 
Heaxt, of Elmira, and Miss Edna O. Thompson, of Corning. 

In Coming, December 20, 1899, by Rev. J. C. Mallory, Dr. Frank 
H. Starr and Fanny L. daughter of Charles A. Reynolds. 

In Coming, December 20, 1899, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Asher A. 
Bishop and Bessie daughter of Charles C. Brown. 

In Caton, December 20, 1899, by Rev. L. D. Ayers, Roderick L. 
Ayers and Miss Bessie Pease, both of Caton. 

December 25, 1899, Lewis Bravo and Agnes Deates, of Lindley. 

In Coming, December 26, 1899, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, Ray 
Edgerton, of Batavia, and Miss Anna Frances Beaty, of Corning. 

At Christ Church, Coming, December 27, 1899, by Rev. Walter 
C. Roberts, Frank H. Ferris and Fanny H. daughter of Mark Tucker. 

In Coming, December 27, 1899, by Rev. P. W. Crannell, Benja- 
min Rose and Grace daughter of Lyman Strait. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity. 



CHAPTER LI. 
Events In and About Coming— 1900 to 1905. 

THE FOLLOWING OFFICERS of William W. Hayt Post, No. 
276, Grand Army of the Republic, of Corning, were installed 
Monday evening, Jannary 1, 1900, by Captain Charles H. 
Freeman, Past Department Commander of New York State :— 

Myron W. Robbins, Commander; William C. Campbell, Senior 
Vice-Commander; T. R. Osborne, Junior Vice-Commander; Carling- 
ton A. Lovell, Surgeon ; C. J. Cone, Chaplain ; I. G. C. Crandell, 
Adjutant ; John Fowler, Quartermaster ; O. S. Ashmore, Officer of 
the Day ; John McCarty, Officer of the Guard ; J. N. Thurber, Ser- 
geant Major ; J. P. Young, Quartermaster Sergeant Relief Commit- 
tee — Edwin C. English, Charles H. Freeman and I. G. C. Crandell. 

January 3, 1900. — The Common Council granted a franchise to 
the Union Telegraph and Telephone Company, of Erie, Pa., to con- 
struct and operate a telephone exchange in Coming. 

At a meeting of the officials of the First Baptist Church of Com- 
ing, held January 17, 1900, a call was extended to Rev. A. H. C. 
Morse, who accepted and a few weeks later became pastor. 

Late the night of January 24, 1900, a round house in the New 
York Central yards, in the eastern section of the city, was partly 
destroyed by fire and several locomotives damaged. Loss, $12,000. 

January 25, 1900.— At a meeting of women of the city held to 
consider the matter of organizing a hospital association, Eckley and 
Charles H. Steams tendered the free use of their large dwelling at 
159 East First, for three years as a hospital, if the association would 
pay the taxes and for any repairs. The offer was accepted. It was 
decided to incorporate as the Corning Hospital Association. Names 

375 



376 First Officers of the Corning Hospital Association. 

of incorporators : Mrs. Q. W. Wellington, Mrs. C. C. B. Walker, 
Mrs. E. C. English, Mrs. C. F. Houghton, Mrs. J. B. Maltby, Mrs. 
James A. Drake and Miss Catherine L. Mills. 

January 28, 1900. — Mrs. Kendall Simpson, aged ninety-nine years 
and five months, died at her home in Corning. She was the mother 
of the late A. S. Kendall. She was greatly esteemed. 

Said the Corning Journal in its issue of February 16, 1900 : " The 
only block of brick pavement in the city is on Pine street. It has 
been in use about eight years ; no repairs have been made or will be 
required for years." 

The latter part of February, 1900, John Magee, of Watkins, gave 
the Corning Hospital complete equipment for an operating room. 

March 1, 1900. — During the night and the early morning sixteen 
inches of snow fell, followed by misty rain of several hours duration. 

Uri Mulford, after an absence of fifteen years, is again a resident 
of Corning. He is special agent of the New York and Pennsylvania 
Telephone and Telegraph Company, for the promotion of rural lines 
and toll and exchange service, throughout its extensive territory. 

On March 6, 1900, the Union Telephone and Telegraph Company, 
of Erie, Pa., gave notice of acceptance of the franchise granted it by 
the Common Council in January. 

Samuel C. Robertson, aged 85 years, died March 16, 1900, at his 
home on West Pulteney street. He was bom in Unadilla, N. Y.; had 
lived in Corning for fifty years, engaging in trade and in manufac- 
taring for many years, and assisted in the development of the north- 
ern section of the city. Mrs. Robertson and a son, Edward, survive. 

Wednesday, March 20, 1900, the organization of the Coming 
Hospital was completed by the election of the following officers : 
Mrs. Helen H. Houghton, President ; Mrs. R. H. Curtis, Secretary ; 
Mrs. E, P. Graves, Treasurer. 

In April, 1900, Governor Roosevelt appointed Alanson B. Hough- 
ton, of Coming, a member of the Board of Managers of the State 
Hospital at Willard, 

Daton Gilbert was appointed City Clerk, by Mayor Lane. 

A steam driven " locomobile," to be given as a prize at a fair 
to be held at the City Hall the week of April 16, by Independent Hose 
Company, appeared on Coming streets daily for a couple of weeks 
prior to the opening of the fair, attracting great attention. 



First Board of Directors of the Corning Hospital. 377 

Joseph W. Hopper, of Corning, achieved marked success, as a 
pioneer in the exhibition of moving pictures, travehng from place to 
place. His singing helped round out entertainments. 

April 28, 1900. Rev. Emery B. Rolfe, an itinerant Wesleyan 
minister, was killed by the kick of a horse, his skull being fractured. 
The was kicked while passing the stall in which the horse was 
hitched, on his farm at Pine Hill, a few miles northwest of Corning. 

In May, 1900, Uri Mulford organized a rural telephone company 
to build a line from Coming to West Caton and Caton Center, with 
branches to various farm houses. The line was soon built and 
connected with the Bell telephone exchange at Corning. Officers of 
the Caton Telephone Company : C. B. Snyder, President ; Rev. Chas. 
L. Shurger, Treasurer ; Charles E. Bower, Secretary ; Samuel E. 
Quackenbush and Wellington E. Gregory, Vice-Presidents. 

The following have been elected Directors of the Coming Hospi- 
tal : Mrs. G. L. Abbott, Mrs. George B. Bradley, Mrs. E. A. Branch, 
Mrs. Chester S. Cole, Mrs. A. S. Cook, Mrs. Richard H. Canfield, 
Mrs. James A. Drake, Mrs. Edwin C. English, Mrs. A. M. Gamman,, 
Mrs. William L. Heyniger, Mrs. Harry C. Heermans, Mrs. Amory 
Houghton, Jr., Mrs. Alanson B. Houghton, Mrs. Thomas Heffeman, 
Mrs. Frank W. Jenness, Mrs. E. A. Kriger, Mrs. Hugh H. Kendall, 
Mrs. John H. Lang, Mrs. Samuel J. Lower, Mrs. Henry R. May, Mrs. 
Jerome B. Maltby, Miss Catherine L. Mills, Mrs. Marvin Olcott, Mrs. 
H. P. Sinclaire, Mrs. John Schaffer, Mrs. John L. Scott, Mrs. Joseph 
J. Tully, Mrs. Q. W. Wellington, Mrs. Charles C. B. Walker, Mrs. 
Benjamin W. Wellington. 

May 30, 1900.— General George B. Loud, of New York, delivered 
the Memorial Day address, at the First Methodist Church. 

On Monday afternoon, June 4, 1900, the Coming Hospital was 
formally opened. Addresses were made by Rev. James M. 
Bustin and Rev. Walter C. Roberts, of Coming, and Rev. R. R. 
Converse, of Rochester. 

A street fajf promoted by the Coming Business Men's Associa- 
tion, was held on Market street and the connecting side streets, the 
week of June 4, 1900. It drew large numbers of people form nearby 
towns, but failed to promote trade, while the shows and peddlers 
that featured the fair were demoralizing. 

Friday afternoon, about 4 o'clock, a thunder storm swept over 
the city, accompanied by high winds, and hail that broke many 



378 Common Council Grants Electric Light Franchise. 

windows. Street fair decorations were torn down or destroyed and 
many goods damaged. A number of shade trees were blown down. 

At the commencement exercises of Corning Free Academy, held 
at the Opera House, Friday afternoon, June 8, the following were 
graduated : Coit C. Almy, Louise D. Calkins, Andrew C. Callahan, 
Anna M. Callahan, Mabel C. Carpenter, Wellington A. Ellison, Mar- 
garet Dean, Alice F. Garty, Nora F. Healy, Charles W. Hyde, George 
M. Hyde, Visa DeEtte Mather, Sarah B. Mitchell, Bessie Young and 
Lottie Philoma Strait. 

Monday, June 11, 1900.— At a meeting held at the town hall in 
Hornby, the Hornby Telephone Association was organized by Uri 
Mulford, and arrangements made to build rural lines to connect into 
a central switching station, and thence a toll line to the Bell 
telephone exchange in Corning. Officers of the Association : Captain 
C. C. Ballou, President ; E. H. Thomas, Vice-President ; C. C. Rolo- 
son, Treasurer ; H. T. Jimerson, Secretary. 

The Corning Journal of June 29, 1900, carried this comment:— 

" In the early settlement of the village of Corning, the hours of labor 
for carpenters and joiners were twelve per day, at least. In 1840, James M. 
Hawley, a young carpenter from Geneva, came here to become a citizen 
and help build up Coming, and was largely influential in securing the 
informal adoption of a ten-hour working standard. There was fierce 
■opposition for a time, and the old employers predicted disastrous results, 
but the ten-hour custom has never been discarded. In time not far distant 
the usual working limit will not exceed nine, and perhaps eight, diaily." 

At a special meeting of the Common Council held July 21, 1900, 
a contract was awarded to Costello & Nagle, of Elmira, to pave First 
street with brick, from Wall to Walnut street, for $12,038.96, this 
amount including curbing, cross-walks, etc. The project was com- 
pleted before Winter set in. 

August 6, 1900, the Common Coyncil, with the approval of Mayor 
Lane, granted an electric light and power franchise, for ten years, to 
Robert E. Drake, of Syracuse. Drake agreed to furnish 76 or more 
2,000 candle power arc lights, to burn all night, for $80 each per year. 
At the same meeting the Council granted a telephone exchange and 
toll line franchise to B. G. Hubbell, of Cleveland, to take the place of 
the unused franchise granted an Erie company. Mr. Hubbell said 
a Corning Telephone Company would operate under the franchise. 

Large numbers of Corning people attend the Corning District 
Methodist Camp Meeting at Presho. 



Extraordinary Rain-Fall; Monkey Run Floods Streets. 379 



In August, 1900, Robert E. Drake, for the newly organized Corn- 
ing Electric Light and Power Company, leased the power plant of 
the Corning and Painted Post Street Railway for ten years, and 
agreed to add sufficient power for both services. 

September 3, 1900, the public schools of Corning opened with 
Dr. Leigh R. Hunt at the head of the Southside schools and A. M. 
Blodgett in charge of the Northside schools. These schoolmen con- 
tinue from year to year to render splendid service. 

In October, 1900, Rev. F. P. Simmons succeeded Rev. W. A. 
Allen as pastor of Grace Methodist Church, Corning. 

Joseph H. Ryan, of Coming, a New York Central fireman, was 
killed the night of October 23, 1900, when the locomotive he was 
firing, struck a rock that had rolled down a mountain side, near 
Blackwells, Pa., and was overturned. 

The evening of October 30, 1900, the Corning Light and Power 
Company began lighting the city streets with electricity. 

November 1, 1900, A. G. Palmer retired from the position of 
Superintendent of the Pennsylvania Division of the New York Cen- 
tral Railroad. He is succeeded by Joseph E. Stewart, of Weehawken. 

During the period beginning November 24, 1900, and ending the 
26th at 9 o'clock in the morning, three and thirty-one-hundred inches 
(3.30) of rain fell in Corning. This was a greater fall of rain than 
caused the June flood of 1889 — then the precipitation was 2.92 inches. 
This last storm did not extend over so great an area. However, it 
caused the Monkey Run to flood the section of the city swept by its 
overflows, and the Chemung to rise within thirty-six inches of the 
high water mark of June, 1889. The highway between Painted Post 
and Gang Mills was under five feet of water at noon, November 26. 

The population of the city of Coming, as given by the United 
States Census Bureau, is 11,061 ; in 1892 it was 10,925 ; in 1890, 8,550. 

On December 15, 1900, rural mail delivery began on routes out 
of Coming. Carriers furnished their own conveyance. Salary, $500. 

The night of December 18, 1900, the junk warehouse of George 
M. Owens, at Painted Post, burned. He slept in the building, was 
awakened by roaring flames, and escaped in his night clothes. 

December 26, 1900.— At a meeting of Master Masons a social 
organization, known as the Ashler Club, was organized, with the 
following officers : Charles E. Greenfield, President ; Hugh H. Ken- 



380 Corning Mayor and Board of Aldermen In 1901. 

dall, Vice-President ; William M. Corbin, Secretary ; J. C. Moore, 
Treasurer. Directors— J. L. Lewis, J. C. Bostelman and G. W. Fuller. 

January 31, 1901, fire destroyed the Franz Bottling works at 
Centerville. in the town of Coming. 

Three boys and five girls were injured the evening of Feburary 
2, 1901, when double-header bob-sleds on which they were coasting 
on Pine street, ran into a livery carry-all drawn by a team of horses. 
The injured were Claude Witt, Francis Erwin, Roy Baker, Theresa 
Haley, Mary O'Brien, Kate McCluskey, Cora Busam and Eliza 
Daggett. The accident put a stop to such coasting. 

At the annual meeting of the Corning Hospital Association, held 
February 11, Miss Catherine L. Mills was elected President. 

February 15, 1901. — Heavy snow fall and drifts blocked the New 
York Central between Coming and Geneva for two days. The Pine 
Creek section was blocked for twenty-four hours. 

The Orlando Hotel, (formerly the Osborne House), was opened 
March 2, 1901, with E. A. Kitts as landlord. 

Mrs. Mary J. Schirmer, of Coming, had two additional memorial 
windows placed in Christ Episcopal Church. One portrays the 
Church Militant, and the other, the Church Triumphant. 

March 9, 1901, Thomas G. Hawkes, manufacturer of cut glass, 
purchased the former B. W. Payne foundry and machine shops, 
■which are in part occupied by the Allen Foundry Company. 

March 11, 1901. — The Common Council met in regular session, 
following the annual charter election, with the following members : 
Mayor— Dr. George W. Lane ; Aldermen— First Ward, Earnest E. 
Beales and Oliver P. Schott ; Second Ward, Frank B. Kimball and 
J. Towner Hayt; Third Ward, William W. Adams and Valentine 
Rettig ; Fourth Ward, Patrick J. Callahan and John J. Clancy ; Fifth 
Ward, Lucius L. Flower and Edward E. Magee. 

In March, 1901, taxpayers of the village of Painted Post decided 
by a vote of 54 to 3 to enlarge the school building at an expense of 
$5,500, and voted down, 48 to 46, a proposition for water works. 

April 9, 1901.— Rev. Robert M. Duff, of Waterloo, N. Y.,has been 
appointed assistant rector of Christ Episcopal Church, Corning, 

April 14, 1901.— Robert W. Terbell, the druggist, purchased and 
placed in use in Corning an automobile run by steam, which was 
generated by gasoline. The machine cost $800. 



Runs of Various New York Central Engineers. 381 

At the annual election of the Corning Fire Department held the 
evening of April 16, 1901, the following officers were chosen : Fred 
D. Rockwell, Chief Engineer ; John W. McCarthy, First Assistant 
Engineer ; Michael Grady, Second Assistant Engineer ; John W. 
Fedder, Treasurer. 

On Sunday, April 21, 1901, due to three days of rain, the Che- 
mung River flooded the flat lands above and below the city, while 
the dykes afforded ample protection. Monkey Run flooded portions 
of Erie avenue and Pine streets, and filled many cellars. 

April 23, 1901.— The Corning Gas Company and the recently 
established Corning Light and Power Company, have been purchased 
by New York capitalists and are to be consolidated. 

The coal and wood yards and hay and feed warehouse of Town- 
ley Brothers and Company, in the northeastern section of Corning, 
near Baker street, burned the night of May 7, 1901. 

The Corning Savings and Loan Association, organized in 1889, 
has $360,200 in loans outstanding, and has paid $97,711.28 in profits 
to its shareholders. Frank D. Kingsbury is President. 

May 16, 1901, official announcement was made that the main 
machine shops of the Pennsylvania Division of the New York Central 
Railroad would be located at at Oak Grove, near Jersey Shore, Pa., 
and only minor emergency repair work would be done in Corning. 

The following New York Central engineers have runs " out of 
Coming :" J. Boyle, J. Richards, George Harris, O. L. White, J. W. T. 
Patchill, A. Wheeler, C. Chapman, James May, P. P. Ready, George 
B. Walsh, W. L. Keagle, J. L. Fay, J. B. Clawson, I. Switzer, R. J. 
Brewer, M. J. O'Shaunessy, C. Keagle, W. Brewer, J. L. Bunnell, T. 
O'Neil, J. Burgey, H. Krebs, F. Jelliff, A. Husted, E. E. Beals. Corn- 
ing yard : L. B. Manning, E. J. Patchill, G. W. Famum, J. Salley, 
P. Maxner, J. Schaffer and C. Alexander. The following engineers 
have runs as assigned, with homes in Corning : Charles Beard, C. S. 
Mabin, Chauncey Kimball, Charles Shoens, Frank Torrence and 
John T. Bunnell. 

In the Summer of 1901 a new and much stronger iron bridge 
was built by the New York Central at Coming, to replace one erected 
in 1877. The change was made, and a new span added, without 
interferring with train service. 

The latter part of June, 1901, the Coming Light and Power 
Company arranged to extend its service to Painted Post. 



382 Death of President McKinky Causes Great Sorrow. 

On Monday, June 24, 1901, the Northside High School graduated 
its first class, following the granting of its charter by the State Board 
of Regents. Those graduated : F. S. Densberger, Belle Catchpole, 
Gladys Oldfield, Charles F. Baxter, Alice M. Dodge, Charlotte R. 
Wolff, Arthur E. Mayo and Gertrude E. Lovejoy. 

The Retail Grocers' Association of Corning was organized in 
June, 1901, with the following officers : Frank Osbom, President ; 
Thomas J. Amey and Beecher M. Jones, Vice Presidents ; F. H. 
Coger, Treasurer. Directors — L. K. Roloson, J. Percy Carr, Luman 
S. Conover and F. N. Markell. 

June 26, 1901, twelve students were graduated by the Corning 
Free Academy— namely : John F. Byrne, Grace A. Comfort, Anna M. 
Farrell, Grace E. Gunthrup, Mary C. Hart, Alfred G. Hood, John J. 
McCarthy, Rebecca McCloskey, Stephen V. Marsh, Joseph N. A. 
Pfeiffer, Louis H. Terrill and George H. Townsend. 

John Benger. of Coming, has taken a contract to build a passen- 
ger station, between Bridge street and Sly avenue, for the Lacka- 
wanna Railroad Company. 

July 16, 1901, while John W. Rowley and his son John, of the 
town of Corning, were at work in a field a storm came up and the son 
was killed by lightning. 

July 24, 1901.— Martin Dillon, a telephone lineman, grasped an 
electric light wire, while at work in the alley just east of the clock 
tower, and fell 30 feet to the pavement. He lived only a few minutes. 

In August, 1901, George W. Drake & Company established a 
glass cutting shop in the Hungerford building, a large two-story 
frame structure on Bridge street. G. W. Drake is President of the 
company and manager of the business. Mrs. G. W. Drake and Dr. 
A. M. Gamman are his partners. 

August 24, 1901, P. E. Cowley, of Jersey Shore, was appointed 
Superintendent of the Pennsvlvania Division of the New York Cen- 
tral Railroad, succeeding J. B. Stewart, who becomes Superintendent 
of the Boston and Albany Railroad. 

The Imperial Engine Company of Painted Post began granting 
its employes Saturday afternoons off, with no reduction in their pay. 

The death of President McKinley, murdered by an anarchist, 
caused deep sorrow in Corning, as elsewhere among civilized people. 
September 19 a union memorial service was held at the First Metho- 
dist Church, the pastor of every church in the city taking part. 



Managed Corning Section of Uunderground Railway^ 383 

At the annual meeting of Genesee Annual Conference, in Octo- 
ber, 1901, Rev. W. H. Reese was appointed pastor of the First 
Methodist Church in Coming ; Rev. F. P. Simmons was continued as 
pastor of Grace Church, and Rev. I. K. Libby was appointed pastor 
of the Methodist Church at Painted Post. 

Marcus F. Lucus, colored, born in Bath of parents who were 
bom in slavery in Virginia, died in Corning, November 14, 1901, aged' 
81 years. He had lived in this place since 1840 ; was a barber i 
for many years preceding the emancipation of the slaves was head 
of what was know as "the Corning section of the underground 
railroad," and was the means of assisting many fugitive slaves to 
escape into Canada. He was a gentleman in speech and de- 
meanor, industrious, honest, and ever willing to sacrifice and endure 
hardship for members of his race fleeing from Southern bondage. 

Samuel J. Lower, aged 53 years, died at his home in Corning, 
December 3, 1901. He was for a number of years a merchant tailor, 
and in earlier life a salesman in various dry goods stores in Coming- 
December 10, 1901.— Dry goods in the store of Mrs. Thomas 
Heffernan, at 46 East Market street, were damaged by fire early 
this morning, to the amount of $6,000. Loss covered by insurance. 

Early on Saturday afternoon, December 14, 1901, with the tem- 
perature at 64 degrees, rain fell heavily, continuing until 11 at 
night when lower temperature caused a change to snow, which 
continued until near noon on Sunday. The ground was frozen and 
did not absorb the water. The result was swollen streams ; the 
Chemung River Sunday forenoon was within 31 inches of the mark 
of the June flood in 1889 ; the dykes saved a destructive overflow of 
the flat-lands of the city ; the greater portion of Painted Post was 
flooded, and the bottom lands from hill to hill thence for half a dozen 
miles up stream were submerged. Train service was suspended for 
the day. Monkey Run Creek caused but little damage. 

Attorney Francis A. Williams died suddenly, December 21, 1901, 
at his home, just after entering the house on coming from his office 
where he had spent the morning engaged in business. He was born 
in Prattsburg in 1834 ; in 1864 began the practice of law in Coming ; 
was an able attorney, zealous as a member of the First Presbyterian 
Church, and effective in promoting educational interests. Mrs. 
Williams, two sons and three daughters survive— Miss Mary G., 
Attorney Francis C, Clark B., Jane and Elizabeth. 



384 Rising Waters Cause Night of Intense Excitement. 

Liveryman William J. McPherson runs a 'bus between the 
Lackawanna passenger station and the hotels " over town." Asked 
by a commercial traveller why the Railroad Company located its 
Corning passenger station " waS^ out in the country," " Mack," as he 
was generally known, answered his fare in all earnestness: "I 
suppose it was because they wanted it near the railroad tracks." 

January 12, 1902. — Mrs. James F. Young, aged 59, was struck 
and killed, early in the evening, by an Erie locomotive at Pine street. 

Friday, February 28, a thaw with rains, sent the Monkey Run 
pouring east and west along Erie avenue and nearby low lands. The 
next morning the Chemung was within a few inches of the high- 
water mark of the June flood in 1889, but soon began to subside. 
During the night alarm bells and whistles were sounded and men 
responding were set at work building up places in the river dykes 
where over-flows were feared. Cutler Creek washed over its dyke 
in a number of places, flooding a portion of the Northside and caus- 
ing intense excitement. For a time water flowed over the Erie 
tracks, for a distance of several rods, between the railroad bridge 
and the Centerville crossing. A number of families abandoned their 
homes in the eastern section of the city. Along the main line of the 
Erie railroad between Waverly and Hornellsville there were numer- 
ous wash-outs, and also a number along the Rochester Division 
between Painted Post and Savona. Erie and New York Central 
train service were suspended until their tracks could be repaired. 

Tuesday, March 1, 1902, Dr. John L. Miller was elected Mayor; 
George B. Pettengill, Chamberlain ; Frank J, Saxton, Recorder ; W. 
P. Gridley, Overseer of the Poor ; Jared Pratt, Assessor. 

April 1, 1902, rural mail routes out of Corning were announced 
with carriers as follows : Route 1, Robert Bonham ; 2, Benjamin E. 
Robbins ; 3, William E. Vanderhoef ; 4, Augustus J. Egginton ; 5, 
Alonzo S. Comfort. Post offices at Amorosa, Mossy Glen and Dyke 
were discontinued. Rural carriers leave Coming post office each 
morning, Sundays and holidays excepted. 

Major Richard L. Hill, aged 68 years, a veteran of the Civil War, 
died at his home in Corning, Friday evening, April 25, 1902. When a 
young man he taught school in Knoxville ; for a time was a machin- 
ist ; was severely wounded while in military service ; conducted a 
fire and life insurance business in Coming ; was a firm friend, a 
genial companion and an exemplary citizen. 



Frank D. Kingsbury's Gift to Hospital Association. 385 

At Bath, May 13, 1902, William J. Tully, of Corning, was elected 
Chairman of the Board of Supervisors of Steuben County. 

May 14, 1902. — The Common Council purchased a stone-crusher. 
Mayor Miller order strict observance of the eight-hour labor law. 

May 21, 1902.— Frank D. Kingsbury paid $6,000 for the premises 
occupied by the Coming Hospital and presented the same to the 
Coming Hospital Association, as a memorial for his mother. 

Attorney William F. McNamara, aged 42 years, died May 31, 
1902, at his home in Coming, of heart failure. His parents were 
bom in Ireland and were among the first settlers of Corning. Here 
he was bom, and reared under circumstances that compelled indus- 
try and determination to get to the fore. From early childhood he 
read and studied to a purpose; no resident of the city excelled him 
in knowledge of history ; as an orator he excelled ; as an attorney he 
prospered ; and he was an earnest advocate of a free Ireland. 

June 13, 1902, the following students were graduated at the Free 
Acacdmy : Alfred H. Abbott, Samuel S. Burgey, Maude Burgey, 
Frederick D. Carr, S. Frances Harris, Lulu Hathaway, Thomas 
Leonard, Frank Maltby, T. Paul McGannon, Margaret O'Connor, J. 
Stewart Owen, Jr., Lorenzo C. Streeter, Leon A. Townsend, Bertha 
Thurber, Verne R. Tucker and Francis Walker. 

Wing & Bostwick, proprietors of a general store at Lawrence- 
ville. Pa., and who for some months have conducted a branch store 
on Bridge street, purchased of William N. Luce land at the south- 
west comer of Bridge and Pulteney streets, on which to erect a 
concrete Mock, which they will occupy with a department store. 

Idalia Sly, Ethel B. Gifford, Edna A. Thurber and Samuel J. 
Hoffman were graduated by the Northside High School. 

Early in July two additional brick chimneys were completed at 
the Coming Glass Works. These are 116 feet high, 26 feet in diam- 
eter at the base and 8 feet at the top. 

Rains of unusual violence July 3 and 4, caused all streams of the 
Chemung water-shed to overflow, damaging or destroying crops. 
Much damage was done to gardens and dirt streets were badly 
washed in Coming. Again the dykes proved their value. 

A new pipe organ, costing $10,000, was placed in the First 
Presbyterian Church of Coming. 

The combined annual salaries of the principal and eleven other 
teachers, employed the present school year at the Northside High 



386 St. Patrick's Parish Is Set Off From St. Mary's. 

and Primary Schools, aggregate $5,300. Pupils enrolled, 612. 

July 2, 1902, rain and hail did considerable damage in Coming 
and vicinity. A number of farm building were unroofed by winds. 

In August, 1902, Bishop McQuaid, of the Diocese of Rochester, 
created St. Patrick's Parish from the eastern part of St. Mary's Parish, 
Coming, and appointed Rev. Walter J. Lee priest in charge. Father 
Lee came to Corning in 1875, as assistant pastor of St. Mary's. The 
new parish has a church building fund of $4,000, given by Rev. Dean 
Colgan, and a parish house, valued at $2,000, given by a member. 

Highland Pines Sanitarium, overlooking the city from the south, 
was formally opened Monday evening, August 11. It has twenty- 
three private rooms for patients. It is conducted by a corporation 
represented by the following officers : Dr. John L. Miller, President ; 
Dr. Thomas A. McNamara, Vice-President; Dr. W. S. Cobb, Treas- 
urer ; Dr. Herbert B. Smith, Secretary. 

September 6, 1902. — Rev. Bernard J. Gesell, of Buffalo, succeeds 
Rev. Walter J. Lee, as Assistant Pastor at St. Mary's, 

A window from the Tiffany studios in New York, has been 
placed in Christ Church; as a memorial for Mrs. Joseph J. Tully. 

September 19, 1902, the name of the Coming Daily Democrat 
was changed to The Evening Leader. 

In October, 1902, the North Baptist Church was organized, at 
the chapel on Bridge street, with Rev. George Laughton as pastor. 

Henry Purden Sinclaire, aged 68 years, died November 25, 1902; 
at his home in Corning. He was born in Belfast, Ireland ; for a time 
was an 'importer of gloves, in New York ; in 1866 became connected 
with the glass company that in 1868 moved from Brooklyn to Corn- 
ing and accompanied the concern to this place ; in 1875 became 
Secretary of the Coming Glass Works, and so continued till death. 
He was a vestryman of Christ Church. Mrs. Sinclaire and three 
sons survive — Henry P., Jr., William and Reginald. 

In December, 1902, President Roosevelt appointed John S. 
Kennedy to continue in office for a second term of four years, as 
Postmaster of Corning. The Senate confirmed the nomination. 

■-^ The James M. Greig Department Store was recently moved to 
the Drake Block, at the northeast corner of Market and Pine streets. 
It occupies the entire building. 

~^ December 19, 1902, the Board of Supervisors voted to build a 
new Court House in Corning, to cost $25,000. 



Incorporation of Steuben Glass Works, of Corning. 387 

January 6, 1903, the taxpayers of Painted Post rejected, 15 to 44, 
a proposition to issue $25,000 in bonds to construct water works. 

I. K. Blumenthal has sold his clothing and furnishing store, at 
14 East Market street, to P. White and son Frank, of Nichols, N. Y. 
Mr. Blumenthal is proprietor of a jewelry store at 40 East Market. 

The new club rooms of Coming Council, Knights of Columbus, 
in the Williams Block, were opened the evening of February 9, 1903. 

In February, 1903, the Corning Hospital Association decided to 
erect a new main building at an expense of $20,000. Frank D. 
Kingsbury contributed $4,000 of the amount. 

February 25, 1903.— Charles H. Almy and G. Edwin Thomas 
have purchased the cut glass works established a few months ago in 
the Heermans & Lawrence Building, on East Erie avenue, by the 
Knickerbocker Cut Glass Company. 

By a vote of 57 to 45 taxpayers of the town of Coming author- 
ized $15,000 in bonds to be issued to pay the town's share of the 
expense of erecting a new iron bridge across the Chemung River at 
Gibson. The city of Coming will pay an equal amount. 

At the city election, Tuesday, March 2, the following Aldermen 
were chosen : First Ward, Herman A. Jacoby ; Second, Dr. Charles 
A. Carr; Third, Valentine Rettig; Fourth, Samuel Elwell; Fifth, 
Edgar E. Magee. The Aldermen who " hold over " are, George O. 
Smith, Frank B. Kimbell, C. G. Andrew, Patrick Callahan and B. 
Lamb. Thomas J. Amey was re-elected Assessor. 

Articles of incorporation of the Steuben Glass Works were filed 
with the Secretary of State at Albany, March 9. Frederick D. 
Carder, formerly of Staffordshire, England, is head of the concern, 
which is to occupy the former Payne foundry and make art glass. 

The Wellington Hotel was reopened, with A. G. Crane and J. J. 
Finch, formerly of Geneva, as landlords. 

Warren Stone Hodgman, aged 78 years, died at his home 
in Painted Post. He came there in 1850 ; his wife, who died a 
number of years ago, was a daughter of the late Lyman Balcom. Mr. 
Hodgman was proprietor of a saw-mill and a grist-mill, and was also 
a farmer. He was successful in business and a leader in community 
affairs. The following sons and daughters survive : Edward B., of 
Galeton, Pa.; Mrs. Mary Goffe, of New York; Lyman B., Clara L. 
and Susan B., at home. 



388 Nineteen Thousand Dollars Given Corning Hospital. 

Sunday morning, March 22, 1903, the Corning Stove Works, on 
State street, was damaged by fire, the loss being $20,000. 

Caleb Clark, aged 79 years, prominent in his active days as a 
carpenter and builder, died March 25, 1903, at his home in Corning. 

Noble Hill, aged 90 years, a pioneer of the town of Caton, died at 
his home in Coming, March 26, 1903. He was a man of influence 
and much esteemed. Two sons. Earl A. and Nye R., survive. 

Rev. J. M. Bustin began the sale of the former arsenal plot, 
which had been divided into building lots, the money thus derived to 
be used for building a convent, near St. Mary's Church. 

April 7, 1903, at a special election held in Painted Post, a resolu- 
tion to issue $33,000 in bonds to construct a water supply system, 
was defeated by 14 votes— 99 against, 85 for. 

April 20, 1903, Rev. Walter J.Lee announced to the congregation 
of St. Patrick's Church, that J. W. Shea had taken a contract to 
erect a church and school building for the parish, to cost $16,894. 

Tuesday afternoon, April 21, the drying kiln and a storage room 
of the Coming Brick, Terra Cotta and Tile Works, were destroyed 
by fire. Loss, $23,000 ; partly insured. 

April 28, 1903, Bishop J. B. McQuaid, of Buffalo, confirmed two 
hundred children at St. Mary's Church, Corning. 

The net receipts of a fair and carnival, for the benefit of St. 
Patrick's Church, held at the City Hall, in April, were $7,203.10. 

May 22, 1903.— The contract for building an iron bridge across 
the Chemung River, between the city of Coming and Gibson, was 
let to the Owego Bridge Company, at $30,000. 

The Wellington Hotel was closed by a mortgage creditor. 

Sunday af temoon. May 24, Locomotive Engineer August Young- 
blute was cmshed to death, when the engine he was driving was 
derailed and overturned, at Presho. 

June 1, 1903.— Nineteen thousand dollars have been contributed 
for a new main building for the Corning Hospital. 

The city issued $90,000 in bonds to meet debts and make so- 
called permanent improvements. 

June 12, 1903, the Coming Free Academy graduated a class of 
22— namely : Edwin D. Bonham, John L. Chatfield, Alice Dean, Mary 
R. Dorman, Charles Eck, Ada A. M. Foster, Kate B. Frost, Ada R. 



Bishop McQuaid Dedicates St. Patrick's Church. 389 



Guntrup, George C. Hood, Cora I. Harris, Mabel Johnson, Frances D. 
Keating, Margaret C. Lynahan, William J. Marsh, Adrian A, Mc- 
Namara, Catherine T. MuUaney, Phillip E. Purcell, Pearl L. Ruff, 
Joseph P. Rahilly, Albert N. Smith, Francis H. Townsend and 
Edwin M. Waterbury. 

Robert 0. Hayt resigned the position and Robert H. Canfield 
was appointed City Engineer. 

Sunday, June 14, announcement was made of the appointment of 
Rev. John T. Cassidy as Assistant Pastor of St. Mary's Church, to 
succeed Rev. C. J. Gefell, who becomes Assistant Rector of the 
Catholic Church at Canandaigua. 

The corner-stone of St. Patrick's church and school, on East Erie 
avenue, was laid by Bishop McQuaid, Sunday, June 21, 1903. 

June 24, 1903, the following were graduated by the Northside 
High School : Helen Eddy, Gertrude Watson, Anna Green, Charles 
R. Hope, Rush Stevens and Raymond Schofield. 

July 1, 1903, the Coming Free Library was closed for want of 
funds. The city has given it no financial support since 1901. At its 
next meeting the Common Council voted $1,000 for the library. 

July 2, 1903, Caroline H. Lathrop and Sarah Jane Clark were 
graduated as nurses by the Coming Hospital. 

Dr. William E. Bryan sold his dmg store, at 111 Pine street, to 
A. J. Nichols, of Pulteney, who soon moved to Coming. 

The New York Central Railroad placed fifteen gigantic tandem 
compound freight engines in service on its Pennsylvania Division. 

Drake & Company were awarded the contract for building a 
[new court house, on a site given by the city, at Pine and First streets. 

Heavy rains of the " cloud-burst " type, central over the northern 
part of Hornby, the afternoon and night of August 19. 1903, caused 
Post Creek and Cutler Creek to become torrents, sweeping away 
bridges and destroying highways. About 200 feet of the Lackawan- 
na railroad bed was washed away by Cutler Creek, and there were a 
number of New York Central washouts along Post Creek. 

August 29, 1903, the Chemung River flooded the bottom lands, 
both above and below Corning, following two days of rain. 

A. Currie, as landlord, has reopened the Wellington Hotel. 

On Sunday, November 1, Bishop McQuaid dedicated the new 
church and school building of St. Patrick's Parish, in Coming. 



390 Methodist Church at Caton Destroyed by Fire. 

A. H. Woeppel in November, 1903, completed the last of five new 
greenhouses, on Park avenue, and had a formal opening. 

Saturday, July 14, Charles R. Hope, aged 20 years, son of 
Thomas Hope, of Corning, was fatally injured while playing football 
at Canisteo. He was a member of the Corning Free Academy team. 

Monday evening, November 30, 1903, Rev. Levi H. Wilcox, aged 
29, pastor of the Free Methodist Church at Lindley, dropped dead. 

' December 7, 1903, Mrs. James M. Webb purchased the building 
and lots on East Market street, formerly owned and occupied for a 
vhouse of worship and a parochial school by St. Patrick's Parish. 

The Highland Pines Sanitarium ceased business. 

Sidney B. Howell, aged 82 years, for near 60 years an influential 
citizen of Painted Post, died December 21, 1903. 

Johathan S. Hurd, aged 92, a pioneer of Caton, died Dec. 22, 1903. 

January 11, 1904. — By unanimous vote the Common Council 
granted a franchise, to continue 50 years, to Dr. George S. Goff and 
others, to pipe the city and distribute natural gas. 

A sudden flood following a few hours of sharp rain, clraired the 
Chemung river and its branches of ice early Saturday morning. 
Most of the broken ice was two feet thick and clear as crystal. 

In February, 1904, Rev. A. H. C. Morse retired from the pastor- 
ate of the First Baptist Church, of Coming, having accepted a call 
from a Baptist Church of Brooklyn. He was succeeded by Rev. 
George B. Cutten, of New Haven, Conn. 

On Sunday afternoon, February 8, the Chemung River cleared 
of ice, the crest of the flood being 15 feet above normal low water. 
A rise in temperature and rains caused the snow to melt rapidly. 
Ice gorges formed, both above and below Corning, blocking railroads. 

At the charter election held in Corning, March 1, 1904, Valentine 
Rettig was elected Mayor, by 192 plurality over William J.Buchanan. 
Daton Gilbert was elected Chamberlain ; Thomas F. Rogers, Record- 
er, and Harvey T. Cole, Sr., Overseer of the Poor. 

The Methodist Church at Caton Center was burned to the 
ground, Saturday evening, March 5, 1904. Net loss about $4,000. 

March 9, 1904, Mrs. Judeth Kirby Roloson, aged 96 years, widow 
of Peter Roloson, died at the home of her son Oren Roloson. She 
had for 72 years been a resident of Hornby. 



H. P. Sinclaire & Company Build Cut Glass Factory. 391 



A large section of Painted Post was flooded March 7, 1904, by 
waters from Cutler Creek, due to an ice-jam. 

March 22, 1904, the Elmira and Corning Short Line Railway was 
incorporated, to construct an electric line between the two cities. 

The evening of March 25 fire damaged R. H. Gethler's millinery 
store, in the Mills Block, to the extent of $19,000. Other tenants of 
the block sustained minor losses. 

March 29, 1904.— T. H. Symington & Company, of Baltimore, 
Md., manufacturers of car boxes and brake shoes, purchased the 
foundry on East Market street. Over 200 men are employed there. 

Mayor Rettig nominated and the Aldermen by unanimous vote 
confirmed the following city officers : Waldo W. Willard, City Attor- 
ney, (to succeed himself); John W. Fedder, City Clerk; Dr. Mary E. 
R. Sanford, City Physician ; William H. Clark and Dr. George W. 
Lane, Police Commissioners ; A. J. Ingersoll, M. J. Franz and O. A. 
Cary, Fire Wardens. 

Hitching rails and posts were removed from the curbs along 
Cedar street between Market street and Erie avenue,and the section 
of driveway was ordered kept clear, for use in case of fire alarm, 
by apparatus stored at the City Hall. 

A new combination chemical fire extinguisher and ladder truck, 
drawn by a team of horses, was given public tests May 12, 1904. 
The new fire fighting apparatus was approved and accepted. 

In May, 1904, H. P. Sinclaire & Company began the erection of a 
large brick factory for glass cutting, on East Market street. 

■— At the commencement exercises of Corning Free Academy, held 
June 10, 1904, the following were graduated : Olive C. Abbott, 
Florence T. Ansorge, John L. Austin, Guy W. Cheney, Francis J. 
Haughey, Maxcy J. Kelly, Ethel H. Maltby, John Leo Miller, Justin 
V. Purcell and John Chapin Tharp. 

Jason M. Gruver, of Coming, was crushed to death, near Him- 
rods, June 11, when the locomotive he was firing was derailed. 

The graduates of the Northside High School, Class of 1904, 
were : Isabel E. Wheat, Claude K Stowell, Ernest E. Whipple, Edwin 
C. Barkman, Lyla B. Woodard, Sarah L. Hammond, Asher H. Lyon, 
Sarah May Miller, May E. Sage, Lelia E. Thomas, Bertha E. Lear, 
Eliza M. Stewart and Beatrice S. Knapp. 

July 15, 1904, William F. McNamara, Jr., son of the late William 
F. McNamara, drowned while bathing in the river at Painted Post. 



392 Three Corning Men Killed in Railroad Accident. 

Bridge street was paved with brick, from the Chemung River 
bridge to Ontario street, in August-October, 1904. 

August 12, 1904— A contract has been let at $18,264.25, to con- 
struct a storm sewer, from Third street at Chemung to the river 
east of the old cemetery, with a branch of 500 feet on Mill street. 

About 10 o'clock Saturday night, August 27, 1904, while near 
home on East Second street, walking alone, Orlando J. Robinson was 
felled to the sidewalk by a blow from a large stone placed in the toe 
of a stocking. The assailant, who escaped, was bent on robbery. 
Mr. Robinson, who was past middle-life, made slow recovery. 

The Northside High School began the new school year with 
A. M. Blodgett as Principal — his eighth year, — and Miss A. Naomi 
Coye and Miss Mary E. Cole as Preceptresses. An additional school 
building or annex, has been erected, costing $16,000. 

The Crystal City Gas Company was formed, to supply Corning 
with natural gas piped from the Roulette field in Pennsylvania. The 
Directors of the company are Benjamin W. Wellington, Dr. George 
S. Goff and WiUiam S. Hunt. 

Having failed to secure a route into the city of Coming, such 
as would meet requirements, the proprieters of the Elmira and 
Corning Shortline Railroad, early in September, 1904, purchased the 
Corning and Painted Post Street Railway, paying $282,000. 

Rev. N. E. Fuller resigned the pastorate of the Congregational 
Church, of Corning, to accept a call from the First Congregational 
Church at Middletown, N. Y. 

September 22, 1904. — Announcement was made that the New 
York Central Railroad Company is to build extensive switching 
yards, with shops and round houses, in the Post Creek valley, near 
the city limits. The section was later named North Corning. 

In October, 1904, Rev. C. H. Hudson began his second year as 
pastor of the Free Methodist Church at Corning. 

In October, 1904, Rev. W. H. Reese was reappointed pastor of the 
First Methodist Church of Corning, and Rev. A. B. Strait pastor of 
Grace Methodist Church ; Rev. D. L. Pitts was assigned to the pas- 
torate of the Methodist Church at Painted Post. 

The morning of October 21, 1904, there was a head-on collision 
between two New York Central freight trains, near Geneva. One of 
the trains was hauled by two engines. Engineer Charles Ruloff, of 



Symington & Company Occupy Corning Stove Works. 393 

DeWitt, and firemen Charles D. Hickey and E. Clayton Rogers, were 
killed. The wreck was due to a mistake in operating a signal. 

October 24, 1904.— Rev. Paul R. Allen, of Cambridge. N. Y., has 
accepted a call to the pastorate of the Congregational Church. 

The following " reminder," from the pen of Dr. George W. 
Pratt, the veteran editor, is worthy of consideration. It was printed 
in the issue of the Corning Daily Journal dated October 26, 1904 :— 

" The younger residents of this section have no idea of the work done 
by the pioneers of this hill country, in providing homes for themselves and 
clearing their land. Some of the pioneers died an early death, from illness 
caused by privation, or from incessant labor. In the early days it was 
usually considerable distance to mill or to market, and the cost of living 
was a grevious burden. As one now looks over the rolling fields, free from 
stumps, and released of abundant harvest, it is hard to realize that two 
generations ago those fields were a dense forest, infested with wild animals." 

In November, 1904, ground was broken for a Salvation Army 
barracks at 112 East Market street, to cost $6,000. 

The State has expended an additional sum of $15,000 in building 
a protecting slope along the southern bank of the Chemung, in the 
eastern section of the city. The job was completed in November. 

George W. Martin, aged 81 years, a farmer of the town of Corn- 
ing, was killed by a fast train at the grade crossing of the Lackawan- 
na railroad, in Gibson, Sunday morning, November 27, 1904. 

In December, 1904, the T. H. Symington Company opened a 
branch foundry in the Corning Stove Works buildings. 

The Board of Supervisors voted $7,500 additional, for the new 
court house at Corning— making $32,500 for the project. 

John J. Clancy was appointed Alderman, by the Common 
Council, to succeed Alderman Joseph Doyle, deceased. 

"Phin" Gould, a young man of Coming, has achieved promi- 
nence as a light-weight wrestler. He won the State championship. 

The net avails of a fair for the Corning Hospital, held at the 
City Hall, the week ending December 3, 1904, were $3,646.19. 

The night of December 20, fire damaged the new glass cutting 
shop of H. P. Sinclaire & Company to the extent of $20,000. 

Rev. A. Burr Strait resigned the pastorate of Grace Methodist 
Church in Coming and resumed the practice of medicine in Hornells- 
ville. He was succeeded by Rev. Addis Albro. 

D. W. Dinan is appointed Superintendent of the Pennsylvania 
Division of the New York Central, vice P. E. Crowley, promoted. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER LIL 
Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1900 to 1905. 

MARRIED, at St. Mary's Church in Coming, February 14, 1900, 
by Rev. Walter J. Lee, William McHale and Miss Mary 
Ryan, both of Corning. 

In Lindley, March 9, 1900, by Rev. Charles L. Shergur, Myron 
Gridley, of Caton, and Mabel, daughter of Albert Grover, of Lindley. 

In Corning, April 19, 1900, by Rev. S. A. Morse, John Semple and 
Minnie E. daughter of Lewis B. Manning. 

In Corning, April 25, 1900, Michael McCarthy and Anna Burke. 

In Corning, April 25, 1900, William Rose and Alice Ludlow. 

In Coming, June 12, 1900, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Samuel B. 
Ross, of New York, and Minnie E. daughter of James Hoare. 

In Coming, June 17, 1900, Purlie J. Churcher and Anna Vanson. 

At St. Mary's Church, Coming, June 20, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, 
James Collins and Miss Margaret Ryan. 

In Corning, June 20, 1900, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Charles E. 
Curtiss and Kittie daughter of Pliny P. Laird. 

In Coming, Jime 26, 1900, Arthur W. Pitts and Emma Grey. 

In Coming, June 27, 1900, the following were married : Michael 
J. Moore and Miss Agnes B. Shea ; Frederick H. Shane and Miss 
Margaret M. Reilly ; William Rodgers, of Elkland, and Miss Mabel 
Breese, of Corning ; Charles Meyers and Miss Lulu Pearl Manier. 

At Mossy Glen, June 28, 1900, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Clare J. 
Easterbrook and Charlotte T. daughter of Mrs. David T. Calkins. 

In Corning, July 12, 1900, Henry W. son of Jerome Billington, 
and Edna daughter of Mrs. Angle B. Heath. 

394 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity In 1900. 395 

At St. Mary's Church, Corning, July 25, 1900, by Rev. Walter J. 
Lee, James S. Shannon and Miss Anna D. Cowley. 

In Coming, August 8, 1900, Jesse K. Carpenter and Clara Burns. 

At St. Mary's Church, Coming, August 28, 1900, by Rev. James 
M. Bustin, Edward M. Boyle and Miss Theresa F. Sloan. 

In Corning, September 3, 1900, Frank Lowell and Nellie Shearer. 

In Coming, September 4. 1900, Robert M. Relihan and Miss 
Kittie M. Clark. 

In Corning, September 6, 1900, Otto Volgraf and Flora E. Hall. 

At Christ Church, Coming, September 18, 1900, by Rev. Walter 

C. Roberts, Quincy W. Farr and Frances daughter of James Hoare. 

At St. Patrick's Church, Corning, September 26, 1900, by Rev. 
Walter J. Lee, Gerald F. Kinsella and Miss Katharine C. Connor. 

In Painted Post, September 25, 1900, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, 
Ferrell D. Smith and Edna lona, daughter of Samuel E. Gilbert. 

In Corning, September 27, 1900, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Harry 

D. Wheeler and Edna Pearl daughter of E. D. Fern. 

In Coming, October 3, 1900, John L. Rooney and Jennie Burns. 

In Coming, October 3, 1900, John K Conway and Agnes Rau. 

In Coming, October 10, 1900, by Rev. William Darcy, Thomas J. 
Tunney and Miss Mary L. Boyle. 

In Coming, October 10,1900, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, John J. 
Buckley and Nellie S. daughter of Thomas Gill. 

In Coming, October 17, 1900, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Burr M. 
Lyon and Fannie daughter of John McMullen. 

In Corning, October 20, 1900, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, J.Ward 
Leonard and Miss Anna Spoor. 

In Coming, October 24, 1900, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Frank E. 
Judson, of Buffalo, and Miss Anna E. Sloan, of Coming. 

In Coming, October 24, 1900, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Samuel 
Kingston, of Ithaca, and Miss Nora Mclnemey, of Coming. 

In Painted Post, October 24, 1900, by Rev. B. B. Knapp, Frank 
Howard, of Avoca, Pa., and Grace daughter of M. E. Lansing. 

In Coming, October 30, 1900, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Michael C. 
Walsh and Miss Mary A. Callahan. 

In Coming, Oct. 21, 1900, Tunis Nares and Anna G. Campbell. 



396 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1900-'01. 

In Coming, November 27, 1900, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, Win 
G. Conley and Harriet E. daughter of Henry Beck. 

In Coming, November 28, 1900, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, John J. 
McAvoy and Harriet daughter of Valentine Rettig. 

In Corning, December 24, 1900, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Charles 
D, Patterson, of Port Jervis, N. Y., and Gertrude daughter of Benja- 
min Batchelor, of Coming. 

In Corning, December 27, 1900, George E. Herr, of Clayton, 
Mass., and Ethel I. daughter of Samuel Oldfield, of Corning. 

In Coming, January 1, 1901, Eamest Ellison and Clara Cruxton. 

At Christ Church, Coming, January 17, 1901, by Rev. Walter C. 
Roberts, Edgar W. Mandeville, of Boston, Mass., and Martha C. 
daughter of Edward H. Byrne, of Corning. 

In Coming, January 23, 1901, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Richard L. 
O'Brien and Miss Nellie O'Hare. 

In Coming, January 30, 1901, Otis C. Graham and Anna L. Casey. 

In Elmira, January 30, 1901, at SS. Peter and Paul's Church, 
Thomas McMahon of Coming, and Miss Mame Maloney, of Elmira. 

In Coming, January 30, 1901, by Rev. W. A. Allen, Arthur D. 
Moore and Mrs. Alice O. Rising, both of Coming. 

In Coming, Febmary 19, 1901, by Rev. Dr. Hutton, Walter E. 
Gridley and Mrs. Mary Schuster, both of Coming. 

In East Coming, Febmary 27, 1901, Frank L. Rhinehardt and 
Miss Lela May Wormley. 

In Coming, March 13, 1901, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Bert G. Old- 
field and Mattie daughter of James H. Baker. 

In Corning, March 27, 1901, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Harry G. 
Willisford and Miss Catherine Hanrahan. 

In Elmira, March 30, 1901, Ernest Haselbauer and Miss Mabel 
Williams, both of Coming. 

In Corning, March 30, 1901, Adam Peart and Mrs. Sarah A. Force. 

At the home of the bride in Corning, April 8, 1901, by Rev. W. 
C. Roberts, Prof. Charles D. Vail, of Hobart College, and Mrs. Helen 
Hall Houghton. 

In Corning, April 24, 1901, Robert Turner and Miss Susie Blake. 

In Corning, April 26. 1901, Curtis B. Ellison, of the town of 
Corning, and Alice L. daughter of John Cruxton, of the city. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity In 1901. 397 

In Coming, April 30, 1901, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, Alfred 
Maltby and Marguerite daughter of Captain Charles H. Freeman. 

In Corning, April 30, 1901, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, John J. Gre- 
gorius and Miss Margaret A. Ryan, both of Corning. 

In Coming, April 30. 1801, Bert S. Moxley and Edna B. Rusch. 

In Coming, May 1, 1901, by Rev. A. J. Conklin, William I. Coger 
and MaBelle E. daughter of Elgin L. Conklin. 

In Coming, May 1, 1901, Fred D. Rockwell and Mae Pritchard. 

In Coming, May 8, 1901, by Rev. S. A. Morse, Edwin C. Erwin 
and Edna daughter of Victor Haischer. 

In Coming, May 23, 1901, by Rev. John H. Griffith, of Plymouth. 
Pa., Harry A. De Waters and Mary daughter of Robert Seyter. 

In Corning, May 23, 1901, Geo. G. Clark and Gertrude N. Bames. 

At St Mary's Church, June 4, 1801, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, 
Thomas E. Moran and Josephine T. daughter of Thomas J. Kennedy. 

In Coming, June 12, 1901, by Rev. J. W. Raymond, Clarence L. 
Allen and Miss Alice B. Crandall. 

In Coming, June 12, 1901, William Cassidy and Mary Kane. 

In Corning, June 18, 1901, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, Arthur W. 
Shaffer and Rose E. daughter of Mrs. Leonard Shane. 

In Corning, June 19, 1901, John L. Thomas and Nina V. Edger. 

In Coming, June 25, 1901, Frank D. Sloan and Miss Anna Welch. 

In Coming, June 26, 1901, by Rev. N. E. FuUer, Charles Wain- 
wright and Sarah A. daughter of John Richardson. 

In Corning, July 16, 1901, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Winfield C. 
Sleight and Miss Harriet L. Wilkinson, both of Coming. 

June 27, 1901, Albert F. Doran and Miss Julia L. Dennison. 

July 16, 1901, John C. Dowd and Miss Anna Campbell, of Corning. 

In Coming, August 21, 1901, William Church and Addie Davis. 

In Coming, August 29, 1901, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Walter F. 
Osbom and Miss Jennie L. Parks. 

In Corning, September 15, 1901, by Rev. S. A. Morse, John N. 
Church and Ada M. daughter of O. S. Daggett. 

In Coming, October 1, 1901, by Rev. C. B. Perkins, Francis 
Theodore Lawrence and Ina daughter of Henry Kinch. 



398 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1991-'02. 

In Coming, November 12, 1901, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, 
Charles M. Gamman and Miss Sarah S. Eaton. 

At Christ Church, Coming, November 27, 1901, by Rev. Walter C. 
Roberts, S. Luther Pickles and Mrs. Clara M. Bucher. 

In Coming, January 2, 1902, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Chester J. 
Beckwith and Miss Nellie C. McCarthy. 

In Corning, January 9, 1902, Lewis C. Gail and Ethel M. Down. 

In Painted Post, January 13, 1902, Frank M. Cutler, of Coming, 
and Miss Florence L. Bacon. 

In Coming, January 22, 1902, William Mclntyre. of Buffalo, and 
Helen T. daughter of Mrs. Bridget Skelly, of Coming. 

In Corning, Jan. 25, 1902, John M. Robinson and Grace Mulford. 

In Coming, February 5, 1902, Gilbert Welch and Grace Norwood. 

In Coming, Febmary 9, 1902, by Rev. W. H. Reese, William B. 
Borden and Miss Hattie Taylor. 

In Caton, March 6, 1902, by Rev. Mr. Marwick, William W. 
Harrison and Lulu B. daughter of A. B. Hitchcock. 

In Coming, March 12, 1902, by Rev. W. H. Reese, Rev. W. A. 
Allen, of Painted Post, and Miss Nora M. Gorton, of Corning. 

April 2, 1902, William M. Bavies, of Big Flats, and Miss Edna 
M. Foster, of Coming. 

At St. Mary's Church, in Coming, April 8, 1902, by Rev. W. J. 
Lee, Michael D. Powers and Miss Mary Preston. 

In Coming, April 15, 1902, by Rev. N. E. Fuller. William H. 
Hook, of Batavia, and Hazel daughter of David F. Fero, of Coming. 

In Coming, April 30, 1902, by Rev. W. H. Reese, Robert P. 
Clark and Miss Cora E. Dixon. 

In Mossy Glen, May 7, 1902, Israel Jacobs and Miss Lulu Gorton. 

In Coming, May 7, 1902, Bert Green and Miss Emma E. Golden. 

In Coming, May 13, 1902, by Rev. W. J. Lee, Charles Miles and 
Minnie A. daughter of Jacob Schafer. 

In Painted Post, May 20, 1902, by Rev. I. K. Libby, Fred L. 
Herron and Miss Mabel Randall. 

In Corning, June 4, 1902, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Herbert F. Beyea 
and Louise daughter of Robert A. Bonham. 

In Corning, June 11, 1902, by Rev. W. J. Lee, Walter Sweet and 
Miss Susie Higgins, both of Corning. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity In 1902. 399 

In Coming, June 18, 1902, by Rev. W. Edward Babcock, William 
B. Owens, of Painted Post, and Miss Ella V. Simons, of Coming. 

In Coming, June 18, 1902, by Rev. F. P. Simmons, John Bostwick 
and Edith Louise daughter of Lowell Mulford. 

In Coming, June 18, 1902, by Rev. W. J. Lee, James J. Hannon 
and Miss Mary C. Barenthaler. 

In Caton, June 18, 1902, Jasper Kinnan and Miss Florence Hill. 

In Painted Post, June 19, 1902, by Rev. W. A. Allen, Mather W. 
Sherwood and Miss Anna L. Allen. 

In Corning, June 24, 1902, by Rev. W. J. Lee, Simeon F. McMa- 
han and Miss Catherine Dean, both of Coming. 

In Corning, June 24, 1902, Eugene Sullivan and Anna Dougherty. 

In Corning, June 25, 1902, Louis A. Hand and Frances D. Relihan. 

In Corning, June 25, 1902, by Rev. James M. Bustin, James H. 
Frisk and Miss DeSales M. daughter of Garrett F. Kinsella. 

In Bennington, Vt., June 25, 1902, by Rev. Charles R. Sey- 
mour, Herbert A. Heminway, of Coming, N. Y., and Ella May 
daughter of John P. Daley. 

In Corning, June 29. 1902, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Edwin J. 
Easterbrook and Miss Margaret B. Harrison, both of Hornby. 

In Corning, July 2, 1902, Thomas Joy and Jennie Fuller. 

In Corning, July 24, 1902, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Robert H. Hope 
and Josephine L. daughter of John Fowler. 

In Coming, July 31, 1902, William H. Jelliff and Martha E. Tobey. 

In Coming, August 4, 1902, by Rev. W. J. Lee, William J. Hogan 
and Elizabeth A. daughter of Garrett F. Kinsella. 

In Coming, August 14, 1902, Fred A. Burt and Edith S. Lindsley. 

In Coming, August 18, 1802, Jacob Westfall and Bessie Baker. 

In Painted Post, August 20, 1902, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, William 
H. Goodale, of Cold Spring Harbor, N. Y., and Maud A. daughter of 
Adelbert E. Gokey, of Painted Post. 

In Painted Post, August 20, by Rev. Eugene V. Ostrander, Wm. 
B. Dee and Harriet daughter of Mrs. Sarah S. Blakeslee. 

In Corning, August 28, 1902, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Dr. John L. 
Ronan and Rose M. daughter of Edward Rogers. 



400 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1902. 

In Corning, September 6, 1902, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Charles 
M. Walbridge and Mrs. Annie C. Caulkins. 

In Corning, September 6, 1902, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, William L. 
JoUey and Hattie May daughter of A. S. Haggerty. 

In Corning, September 21, 1902, Arthur Erwin and Flora Cobb. 

In Coming, September 24, 1902, by Rev. W. J. Lee, Michael E. 
McMahon and Mary C. daughter of Daniel Ginnan. 

In Coming, September 24, 1902, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Charles J. 
Deneen and Miss Rosalina A. Haselbauer. 

In Coming, September 30, 1902, by Rev. John S. Bacon, Fred W. 
Lipps and Grace S. daughter of George Swingle. 

In Coming, October 5, 1902, Joseph Watson and Olive Prutsman. 

In Coming, October 7, 1902, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Tracy J. Up- 
Dyke and Delia L, Austin. 

In Corning, October 8, 1902, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Elmer A. 
Weaver and Miss Pearl M. Butler. 

In Corning, October 15, 1902, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Joseph H. 
Elwell and Miss Anna E. Ludlow, both of Corning. 

In Coming, October 15, 1902, William Castor and Nellie B. Bews, 

In Addison, October 15, 1902, by Rev. George G. Ballard, Jr., 
Arthur H. TuUy, of Corning, and Ellen T. daughter of O. B. Stratton. 

In Corning, October 22, 1902, Joseph Higgins and Mary Dunigan. 

In Corning, October 22, 1902, by Rev. W. H. Reese, Mason B. 
Coger and Miss Waity Sweetland, both of Corning. 

In Painted Post, October 25, 1902, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, 
Claude Pitts and Theodora daughter of Lionel C. Corey, 

In Coming, Oct. 29, 1902, Charles S. Larson and Harriet Jocobs. 

In Coming, November 8, 1902, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Samuel 
T. Share and and Miss Helen Riley. 

At St Patrick's Church, Coming, November 19, 1902, by Rev. 
W. J. Lee, John H. Barenthaler, of Corning, and Anna Bell, daughter 
of Florence McCarthy, of the town of Caton. 

In Corning, November 26, 1902, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Thomas 
F. Hanley and Miss Mary L. Arthur. 

In Coming, December 5, 1902, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Asher A. 
Bishop and Miss Lena Bell Rose. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1902-'03. 401 

In Rochester, December 16, 1902, L. L. Stone, of Corning, and 
Miss Sarah Hurwitz, of Rochester. 

In Corning, December 24, 1902, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Harry 
Hatton and Esther Ann daughter of John Crannage. 

In Corning, January 1, 1903, by Rev. Thomas L. Carlisle, of 
Hammondsport, William H. Insley, of Indianapolis, Ind., and Jane 
daughter of the late Francis A. Williams. 

At St. Patrick's Church, January 8, 1903, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, 
Bernard J. O'Neill and Genevieve daughter of M. J. O'Shaughnessy. 

In Painted Post, January 7, 1903, by Kev. I. K. Libby, Alonzo 
Colburn, of Baltimore, Md., and Hattie E. daughter of D. W. Orcutt 

In Coming, January 27, 1903, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, William N. 
Luce and Mrs. Mary F. Shaw, both of Coming. 

In Corning, January 28, 1903, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, John F. 
Rowe and Lulu daughter of F. A. Sheidweiler, both of Coming. 

In Campbell, January 28, 1903, Ephriam G. Dart and Ella Benson. 

In Coming, Febmary 17, 1903, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, John 
A. Sanders and Myra F. daughter of Oliver A. Gary. 

In Corning, February 18, 1903, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, John EL 
Murphy and Elizabeth M. daughter of William Cahill. 

In Coming, March 12. 1903, by Rev. C. H. Hudson, Herbert E. 
Thrall and Miss Maude E. VanKeuren, both of the town of Corning. 

In Coming, March 14, 1903, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Joseph H. 
Dickens, of Coming, and Miss Lena M. Morse, of Painted Post. 

In Coming, March 14, 1903, Clair F. Hoyt and Fanny E. Rogers. 

In Corning, March 18, 1903, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Benjamin J. 
Priest and Myrtle M. daughter of Frank V. Welch. 

In Coming, April 2, 1903, by Rev. Joseph Dennis, Thomas W. 
Jones and Mrs. Carrie T. Barnard. 

In Corning, April 8, 1903, Edward W. Cady and Grace B. Denson. 

In Corning, April 8, 1903, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, D. Harold L. 
Baldwin and Bertie V. daughter of Leonard Hillman. 

In Coming, April 11, 1903, James Share and Vanita Cameron. 

In Corning, April 14, 1903, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, William C. 
Deuel and Miss Lute daughter of Andrew Armstrong. 

In Corning, April 21, 1903, Wm. J. Dowling and Mary A. Tipping. 



402 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1903. 

In Coming, April 21, 1903, Joseph Foley and Margaret Lyons. 

In Coming, April 22, 1903, by Rev. F. H. Gates, Archer D. Smith, 
of New York, and Mabel W. daughter of Charles H. Voorhees. 

In Coming, May 2, 1903, A. Lee Carr and Ruby N. Garlinghouse. 

In Gibson, May 5. 1903, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Ernest T. Mc- 
Alpine and Miss Anna M. Sturdevent. 

In Coming, May 17, 1903, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Frank H. Wood 
and Mrs. Mabel L. Richards. 

In Coming, May 25, 1903, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Patrick H. 
Lynahan and Miss Mary E. Kennedy. 

In Corning, June 2, 1903, Joseph DeVinne and Emma Rettig. 

At Christ Church, Coming, June 9, 1903, by Rev. Walter C. 
Roberts, Dr. George F. Showers and Miss Edith Walker. 

In Coming, June 10, 1903, Dennis Murphy and Mary Hardiman. 
In Corning, June 12, 1903, Wm. A. Owen and Miss Ella M. Silas. 
In Coming, Jiuie 13, 1903, Richard L. Burgett and Grace E. Sweet. 

In Coming, June 16, 1903, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, John J. Mc- 
Carthy and Miss CeciUa E. Osbom. 

In Corning, June 17, 1903, Henry Gushing and Bertha Knaus. 

In Coming, June 17, 1903, Nelson C. Lynch and Anna O'Connell. 

In Corning, June 18, 1903, by Rev. W. H. Reese, Coit C. Almy, of 
Avoca, and Josephine N. daughter of Dr. George S. Goff, of Corning. 

In Coming, June 23, 1903, by Rev. Alfred H. C. Morse, Lee T. 
Goodridge and Miss Myria L. Keagle. 

In Corning, June 24, 1903, James J. Morris and Hannah McKenna. 

In Corning, June 24, 1903, Thomas H. Myers and Lazetta Snyder. 

In Coming, June 30, 1903, Archie Miller and Miss Matie Adsit. 

At East Campbell, July 2, 1903, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Charles B. 
Lindsley and Miss Anna Cornell. 

In Coming, July 8, 1903, Frank W. Soper and Nellie K. McCoy. 

In Corning, July 10, 1903, Henry W. Rau and KatherineL. Collins. 

At Lock Haven, Pa., July 9, 1903, H. S. Edwards, Jr., of Painted 
Post, and Miss Edith Michaels, of Lock Haven. 

In Coming, August 5, 1903, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Daniel A. 
Sheedy and Katherine daughter of Jacob Baetzel. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1903. 403 

In Coming. August 19, 1903, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Charles J. 
Wythe and Florence E. daughter of C. C. Brown. 

In Ferenbaugh, Aupust 20, 1903, by Rev. F. P. Simmons, Nathan 
T. Cole, of Coming, and Idalia daughter of Robert Sly. 

In Coming, September 8, 1903, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Arthur A. 
Humphrey and Matie daughter of William Burrell. 

In Coming, Sept. 15, 1903, Leon M. Bossard and Emily Jenkins. 

In Coming, September 16, 1903, by Rev. J. J. Cassidy, Jacob 
Kiegler and and Miss Margaret Maher. 

In Coming, Sept. 15, 1903, Harry Pachall and Udora V. Crakes. 

In Coming, Sept. 16, 1903, Henry S. Smith and Edith A. Blend. 

In Coming. Sept. 17, 1903, John A. Cross and Miss Sadie Bunnell. 

In Corning, Sept. 23, 1903, Louis S. Clark and Anna M. Bragg. 

In Corning, September 24, 1903, by Rev. C. H. Hudson, Frederick 
E. Hill and Minnie M. daughter of John J. Paul. 

In Corning, September 30, 1903, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Joseph M. 
O'Connor and Miss Eleanor E. Gainey. 

In Corning, September 30, 1903, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Thomas 
H. Conroy and Miss Mary McNally, both of Painted Post. 

In Coming, Oct. 6, 1903, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Patrick J. Cronin 
and Miss Margaret B. Kavanaugh. 

In Coming, October 14, 1903, Fred R. Able and Mary A. Bennett. 

In Corning, October 20, 1903, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Murray 
Reardon and Winifred D. daughter of Patrick Cowley. 

In Coming, October 28, 1903, by Rev. W. H. Reese, Arthur W. 
Shackelton, of New York, and Elizabeth daughter of H. O. Dorman. 

In Coming, November 25, 1903, John F. Colprice and Delia Kane. 

In Coming, Dec. 23, 1903, John C. Williams and Grace E. Stevens. 

In Presho, Dec. 25, 1903, Leon Eastman and Miss Annie Russell. 

December 29, 1903, Arthur L. Hoffman and Miss Anna Beizwan- 
ger, both of Gibson, town of Coming. 

In Corning, December 29, 1903, by Rev. A. H. C. Morse, Carl C. 
Clemens and Mrs. Jennie R. Perkins. 

December 30, 1903, Winfield C. Niver and Maud A. Gardner. 

In Coming, December 31, 1903, by Kev. A. H. C. Morse, Dorsey 
W. Curren and Lillian A. daughter of Henry R. Johnston. 



404 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1904. 

In Coming, January 6, 1904, Lorenzo Hart and Mina Ferguson. 

In Coming, January 11, 1904, Geo. T. Griswold and Sarah Ripley. 

In Coming, January 14, 1904, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, George T. 
Wolcott and Emma Belle daughter of William W. Cowan. 

In Coming, Jan. 14, 1904, J. Fred Silas and Miss Helen B. Curtin. 

In Coming, January 14, 1904, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Frederic W. 
DeWolf and Nellie E. daughter of W. L. Quinlivan. 

In Corning, March 2, 1904, Oscar Leonard and Maud E. Barber. 

In Corning, March 28, 1904, Charles R. Mills and Libbie Morse. 

In Corning, April 20, 1904, Hugh Camey and Helen Farrell. 

In Coming, April 26, 1904, Wm. J. Gillard and Julia A. Jones. 

At St. Patrick's Oiurch, April 27, 1904, by Rev. W. J. Lee, Wil- 
liam M. Killigrew and Miss Alice L. McCarthy, both of Corning. 

In Coming, April 27, 1904, Cornelius Brady and B. Agnes Burke. 

In Coming, May 9, Henry F. Walsh and Charlotte Youngblute. 

May 16, 1904, Harry Boylan and Jennie daughter of J. R. Borgus. 

In Corning, May 19, 1904, Carl S. Robinson and E. May Stillson. 

In Coming, May 24, 1904, Wm. H. Walsh and Elizabeth Henkel. 

In Coming, June 7, 1904, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Raymond S. 
Cornell and Miss Clarisa C. Hollenbeck. 

In Coming, June 12, 1904, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Wm. A. Lindsley 
and Mrs. H. Elmina Pier, of West Pulteney street. 

In Coming, June 16, 1904, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Carroll C. 
Cheney and Blanche Gertrude daughter of Elgin L. Conklin. 

In Coming, June 22, 1904, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Ossar T. Adsit 
and Marie E. daughter of William Gould. 

In Coming, June 22, 1904, Henry Beck and Catherine McCarthy. 

In Coming, June 22, 1904, John J. Roach and Catherine G. Berry. 

In Coming, June 22, 1904, John S. Suffern and Flora Mae Young. 

In Corning, June 22, 1904, by Rev. Uri Mulford, Lewis J. Rosen- 
berry and Miss Jessie G. Mulford. 

In Coming, June 28, 1904, James MuUaney and Mamie Conlon. 

In Coming, June 29, 1904, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Henry Wil- 
liams and Alice daughter of George W. Easling. 

In Coming, June 29, 1904, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Perry S. Coe 
and Jennie May daughter of Albert H. Agett. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1904. 405 

In Coming, July 12, 1904, Henry L. Ernst and Lillian Wright. 

In Coming, July 25, 1904, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Floyd L. 
AUington and Ada R. daughter of John Guntrup. 

In Coming, August 9, 1904, by Rev. Henry Sims, of Erie, Pa., 
William M. Corbin and Miss Mabel C. Copeland, both of Coming. 

In Coming, August 15, 1904, by Rev. W. A. Allen, George W. 
Jones and Mary L. daughter of James L. Viele. 

In Coming, August 16, 1904, by Rev. W. H. Reese, Harry A. 
Mulford and Miss Katherine E. Randall. 

In Coming, August 22, 1904, Thos. E. Kelly and Catherine Franz. 

At Buffalo, August 24, 1904, Dr. Harry H. Hubbell, of Corning, 
and Miss Charlotte R. Wolff, of Spokane, Wash. 

In Coming, September 6, 1904, by Rev. W. H. Reese, James W. 
Fulford, of Coming, and Miss Mabel Preston, of Coopers Plains. 

September 12, 1904, Edward R. Knapp and Miss Belle Clisdell. 

In Corning, Sept. 17, 1904, Nils Person and Miss Anna Carleson. 

In Coming, September 21, 1904, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Henry W. 
Jenkins and Jennie L. daughter of Elmer C. Schumann. 

In Coming, September 28, 1904, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Dennis 
Driscoll and Katherine Cowley. 

In Corning, Sept. 28, 1904, Edward L. Hammond and Ida Heath. 

In Coming, October 4, 1904, William Adams and Alice Myers. 

In Coming, October 5, 1904, John T. Hall and Grace A. Almey. 

In Corning, Oct. 5, 1904, Allen B. Chaphe and Nellie Thompson. 

In Coming, October 12, 1904, Robert B. Muhe and Helen J. Close. 

In Coming, October 19, 1904, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, John R. 
Murray, of Homellsville, and Miss Helen D. Higgins, of Coming. 

In Corning, November 3, 1904, Thos. Golding and Annetta Gray- 

InComing, November 30, 1904, by Rev. H. C. Woods, Edwin M. 
Beck and Metta A. daughter of Leroy White. 

In Westfield, Pa., Dec. 5, 1904, Geo. R. Brown and Mrs. S. R. Shaw. 

In Corning, December 24, 1904, by Rev. George B. Cutten, Wm 
E. Averin, of Elmira, and Miss Alice Bamhart, of Coming. 

In Corning, Dec. 25, 1904, Linn Farry and Miss Lida McNeil. 

At Tyrone, December 26, 1904, John C. Weller, of Corning, and 
Miss EHzabeth Owen, of Tyrone. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER LIIL 
Events In and About Corning — 1905 to 1910. 

IN JANUARY, 1905, the Coming Hospital received from John 
Magee, of Watkins, a gift of $10,000, as an endowment fund, m 
memory of his father, the late George J. Magee. 

The League of the Sacred Heart, of St. Mary's Church, con- 
tributes furnishings for a room in the Corning Hospital. 

On February 3, 1905, Christ Episcopal Church, of Corning, was 
consecrated, free of debt, by Bishop W. D. Walker, of Rochester. 

Sunday afternoon, February 5, the residence of Dr. George W. 
Lane, on Ontario street, was ruined by fire. 

At the annual meeting of the Corning Business Men's Associa- 
tion, held February 8, 1905, the following officers were elected : John 
E. Bong, President: James M. Greig, Vice-President; Frank J. 
Saxton, Secretary ; Robert W. Terbell, Treasurer. Directors — Ed- 
ward Preger, William T. Moran, Robert W. Terbell, James M. Greig, 
H. M. Hammond, Warren J. Cheney and John E. Bong. 

A new Methodist Church at Caton Center, to replace the church 
burned March 5, 1904, was dedicated February 8, 1905. The new 
church cost $7,000. It was dedicated free of debt, by Rev. J. W. 
Webb, of Elmira, Presiding Elder, assisted by V. W. Mattoon, pastor. 

February 14, 1905, the Common Council approved proposed 
changes in the City Charter, providing for city elections to be held 
at the time of the general election in November, creating an addi- 
tional ward on the north side of the Chemung River, creating a City 
Court, a Board of Public Works, and providing for a Board of Fire 
Commissioners. The revised charter was sent to Albany for enact- 
ment into law by ihe State Legislature. 

E. M. Welles, of Addison, sold his interest in the Hub Clothing 
House to his business associates, Wm. T. and Thos. E. Moran. 

406 



Events In Coming and the Vicinity In 1905. 407 

In February, 1905, the Hunt & Sullivan Cut Glass Company was 
incorporated ; capital, $20,000. The factory in on Sixth street ; Harry 
S. Hunt, one of the owners, is manager. 

William Wallace Weston, aged 75 years, died March 14, 1905, at 
his home in Weston's Mills, Cattaraugus County, a village which he 
founded and where he owned and operated lumber mills. He was a 
brother of the late Abijah Weston, of Painted Post, and was one of 
members of the company that established the gang mills in Erwin. 

The ice went out of the Chemung the night of March 17, due to 
rains. The next day a fall of temperature checked the flood. 

March 25, 1905, Corning Lodge of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows purchased the Wellington Hotel, a fine brick structure on 
East Erie avenue. Extensive changes were made and the building 
was richly refurnished to make headquarters for the brotherhood. 

On Monday, April 3, 1905, the price of the Corning Daily Journal 
was reduced to one cent per copy. It is a 7-column, 6-page paper. 

April 4, 1905.— The Common Council, by a vote of 7 to 3, 
approved the amended City Charter, as passed by the Legislature- 
Governor Higgins signed the measure April 6, 1905. 

The bonded indebtedness of the city of Coming in March, 1905, 
exclusive of school bonds, $308,414.57: Assessed valuation, $3,733,180. 

In April, 1905, Mayor Valentine Rettig appointed J. Towner 
Hayt and John L. Clark members of the Board of Fire Commission- 
ers ; and Frank J. Bantley and Luman S. Conover, members of the 
Board of Health of the city. 

May 1, 1905, Mayor Rettig appointed the following to serve as 
Members of the Board of Public Works: Marvin Olcott, Thomas E. 
Moran and Arthur A. Houghton. 

Samuel E. Quackenbush became a partner of Lee T. Goodridge 
in the book, stationery and notion business. 

On May 11, 1905, Robert H. Canfield, former City Engineer, was 
appointed Superintendent of Public Works. 

May 11, 1905.— Rev. Nathaniel Harris succeeds Rev. Addis Albro 
as pastor of Grace Methodist Church. 

The Annual Council of the Protestant Episcopal Diocese of 
Western New York convened in Christ Episcopal Church, in Corning, 
May 16, 1905, with Bishop William D. Walker, of Buffalo, presiding. 



408 Failure of the John L. Caven Bank at Painted Post. 

Sunday, May. 21, 1905.— At the morning service at St. Mary's 
Church, Rev. J. M. Bustin, the pastor, announced that a convent 
would be built on the plot directly south of the church, to be known 
as St. Mary's Convent. It will be a three-story brick building. 

May 27, 1905.— Crystal City Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star, 
of Corning, was formally organized, with 65 charter members. Mrs. 
Elizabeth Bennett is Worthy Matron ; Carrie Preston is Secretary. 

May 29, 1905, John L. Caven & Company, proprietors of banks 
at Painted Post and Cohocton, made a general assignment, following 
a " run " that had resulted in the withdrawal of most of the available 
deposits. These banks lost heavily a few weeks ago due to the 
failure of A. C. Wilcox & Co., New York bankers and brokers. 

The following were graduated at the commencement exercises 
of Corning Free Academy, held June 8, 1905 : — Robert L. Allison, 
Bertram C. Cram, Francis J. Erwin, Robert H. Hood, Walter E. 
Johnson, Thomas L. McNamara, Harland B. Munger, Tobias E. 
Purcell, Oscar F. Terrill, Samuel B. Voorhees, Lena L. Braveman, 
Nellie M. Greiner, Helen E. Guile, Ruth Heermans, Emma F. Hyde, 
Bessie E. Kimball, Mabel E. Maltby, Gertrude Olcott, Geraldine 
O'Shaughnessy, Joanna Quill and Cora M. Tucker. 

June 15, 1905, the Board of Public Works let a contract for pav- 
ing East Market street, with brick, from Chemung to Steuben street. 

Sunday evening, June 18, 1905, a union service was held in the 
First Methodist Church, conducted by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, pastor 
of Christ Episcopal Church and Rev. W. H. Reese, pastor of the First 
Methodist Church. The sermon was by Rev. Mr. Roberts. 

June 20, 1905, a class of ten students were graduated at the 
commencement exercises of the Northside High School, as follows :— 
Bessie Byrne, Nana B. Budd, Almira Stowell, Glen E. Bates, Ella M. 
Johnson, Alice K. Stephens, Ethel C. Eddy, Josephine Stephens, 
Roy P. McPherson, Edith Harris, Leona Carter, Willmina Baker. 

Following a succession of heavy showers, the Chemung River 
flooded the bottom lands both above and below the city, June 22 ; 
a section of the Lackawanna Railroad bed was washed away by 
Cutler Creek ; about a third of the northside section of Coming and 
part of the village '>f Painted Post were inundated. 

July 7, 1905, the Common Council, by a vote of 5 to 3, passed a 
resolution to grant the Corning and Painted Post Street Railway a 
perpetual franchise. July 10 Mayor Rettig interposed a veto. 



Harry H. Pratt Succeeds John S. Kennedy as Postmaster. 409 

The annual meeting of the Central New York Volunteer Fire- 
men's Association was held in Corning, July 25, 26 and 27, 1905. It 
was largely attended by firemen ; there was an elaborate program 
of games ; the parade was a pronounced success ; the business por- 
tion of the city and homes along the line of march richly decorated. 
A clam-bake in Williams' Grove added to the joys of the affair. 

In August, 1905, an Exempt Fireman's Association was formed 
in Coming, with Leslie W. Wellington, President ; William M. Jones, 
Secretary, and John E. Cornell, Treasurer. 

Edwin Bannister, aged 79 years, and for over fifty years a 
resident of Corning, died August 11, 1905. He was for several years 
landlord of the Terrett House, an early-times hotel that stood at the 
corner of Market and State streets ; later was landlord of the Minot 
House, near the Erie passenger station ; he served two terms as 
President of the village of Corning— being elected in 1878 and 1879. 

John S. Kennedy, of Corning, was appointed Secretary of the 
State Board of Railroad Commissioners. 

Mayor Rettig appointed the following committee to investigate 
and report as regards the water supply of the city, and to suggest to 
the Common Council plans for providing the city an adequate supply 
of water : George B. Bradley, Benjamin W. Wellington, Alanson B. 
Houghton, Charles B. Wing, John H. Lang, Francis C. Williams and 
William T. Smith. 

August 27, 1905, the residence of Dr. John L. Miller was partly 
destroyed by fire. 

The Elmira, Coming and Waverly Railway, organized to con- 
stmct and operate an electric road connecting the places named, 
was incorporated August 30, 1905. 

The new Salvation Army Citadel, on East Market street, was 
dedicated free of debt, September 3, 1905. 

September 8, 1905, Harry H. Pratt, junior editor of the Corning 
Daily Journal, received official notice that he had been appointed 
Postmaster of Coming in place of John S. Kennedy, resigned, 

September 18, 1905, Uri Mulford resigned the position he had 
held since February, 1900, as a field agent of the Bell Telephone 
Company, and became news editor of the Corning Daily Journal. 

The State census of 1905, shows a population of 13,515 in Corn- 
ing, an increase of 2,454 in five years. The population of the city of 
Hornellsville is 13,259, an increase of 1,341 in five years. 



410 Juvenile Annex of Loan Association Begins Business. 

The new main building and the remodeled annex of the Corning 
Hospital, were declared open for use, the afternoon of October 10, 
1905. Miss Catherine L. Mills is President ; Mrs. J. W. Lynahan is 
Treasurer ; Mrs. R. H. Curtis, Recording Secretary ; Miss Catherine 
Wellington, Recording Secretary. 

At the annual session of Genesee Conference, held at Wellsboro, 
Rev. John Dennis was appointed pastor of the First Methodist 
Church in Coming; Rev. Nathaniel Harris of Grace Methodist 
Church in Coming, and Rev. D. L. Pitts at Painted Post. 

November 4, 1905. — The paving with brick of East Market 
^street from Chemung to Steuben, has been completed. 

At the general election held November 7, 1905, Valentine Rettig 
was re-elected Mayor. He was nominated by the Republicans and 
endorsed by the Democrats. The votes cast for Mayor were : Valen- 
tine Rettig, 1,683; Frank E. Hewitt, Prohibition, 730; William W. 
Arland, Socialist, 115. Frank H. Hausner was elected City Judge. 

Early in the morning of November 28, 1905, the Congregational 
Church was damaged by fire $9,500, including the destruction of 
the $2,500 pipe organ, which was given by Mrs. Rachel Mecanty. 

In December, 1905, Herbert C. Bartholomey, of Sewickley, Pa., 
succeeded William E. Kimball as General Secretary of the Young 
Men's Christian Association of Corning. 

January 5, 1906. — The Board of Trustees of Painted Post granted 
a 60-years franchise to the Rochester and Elmira Trolley Company. 

January 8, 1906. — Engineer Joseph Shaffer was killed and J. J. 
Fleming had a leg broken, in a head-on collision on the New York 
Central Railroad near Geneva. Both men resided in Corning, 

January 8, 1906. — On nomination by Mayor Rettig, the Board of 
Adermen confirmed Francis C. Williams as City Attorney and Frank 
H. Ferris as City Clerk ; Dr. Mary E. R. Sandf ord as City Physician ; 
William M. DeGraff as Overseer of the Poor ; James Hoare, Dr. Geo. 
W. Lane, Henry G. Tuthill and Henry Beck, Police Commissioners. 

January 9, 1906.— Dr. John Hoare of Corning, died at the Steuben 
Sanitarium in Hornellsville. He was the youngest son of John 
Hoare ; he began the practice of medicine in Corning in 1887. 

January 9, 1906, the Juvenile Savings Annex, a new department 
of the Coming Co-Operative Savings and Loan Association, began 
business. A locked iron bank is loaned each depositor; savings are 
removed from such banks when presented for deposit. 



Common Council Favors Municipal Water Plant. 411 

Saturday, January 13, regular monthly deposit day, over 200 
children presented savings banks at the Juvenile Annex of the Loan 
Association, that the contents of the banks could be placed to their 
credit. The total amount turned in was nearly $1,000. 

January 16, 1906, John S. Suffem purchased the interest of his 
partner, Albert S. Cook, in the grocery of Cook & Suffern. 

January 15, 1906, Leon Rogers, aged 18 years, son of Ensworth 
G. Rogers, was killed by the accidental discharge of a shotgun, at 
the family home in Hornby. 

Andrew Carnegie contributed $1,250 towards the purchase of a 
new pipe organ for the First Congregational Church. 

While skating on the Chemung River, near the foot of Steuben 
street, Saturday afternoon, January 20, 1906, George Wilson, aged 19, 
son of Mrs. Charles S. Wilson, broke through the ice and drowned. 

At the annual meeting of the Corning Business Men's Associa- 
tion, held February 2, 1906, John E. Bong was re-elected President. 

The special commit on water supply, reported to the Common 
Council, recommending that on the expiration of the lease of the 
municipal water system to Heermans & Lawrence — December 31, 
1906— the city take over, extend and operate the same. The report 
was approved by unanimous vote of members of the Council. 

The State Railroad Commission granted the Elmira, Coming and 
Waverly Railway permit to construct and operate their proposed line. 

February 14, 1906.— The Common Council, by a vote of 8 to 6, 
decided to place the matter of improving the municipal water supply 
system, in charge of a Water Commission, composed of the Mayor 
and four associates and that necessary bonds be issued to finance the 
project. An Act to meet legal requirements was approved, to be 
sent to the State Legislature for adoption. 

February 26, 1906.— Dr. George W. Goff resigned as Health 
Officer of Corning, and was succeeded by Dr. E. W. Bryan, 

John Wood and Miss Rose Mattocks, while riding in a buggy 
drawn by a horse, were killed at the Centerville grade crossing of 
the Erie Railroad, the evening of March 6, 1906, by Train 8. 

The corner-stone for the North Baptist Church, at Jennings 
street and Sly avenue, was laid Saturday afternoon, March 4, 1906. 

April 7, 1906.— The Corning Automobile Club was oraanized. 
Officers : J. C. Moore, President ; J. W.Whitman, Secretary-Treasurer. 



412 Legislature Passes Act Creating Water Commission. 

The measure providing for the creation of a Water Commision 
for the city of Corning, and authorizing the issuance of $150,000 of 
water bonds, was passed by the Legislature, approved by the Council 
(8 to 6) and the Mayor as passed, and was signed by the Governor. 

The night of April 18, 1906, the main building of the East 
Market street plant of the T. H. Symington Company, was damaged 
by a fire of mysterious origin, to the extent of $27,000. 

April 20, 1906.— James C. Dowd, Night Yard Master of the New 
York Central, died this morning at the Corning Hospital, from injur- 
ies sustained last night by getting caught between two freight cars. 

Washington L. Shearer, aged 85 years, a resident of Corning 
for nearly seventy years, died April 25, 1906. 

April 30, 1906. — Mayor Rettig appointed and the Common Coun- 
cil confirmed the following as members of the Corning Water Com- 
mission, of which he, by virtue of his office, is the head : Frank D. 
Kingsbury, Benjamin W. Wellington, Calvin G. Hungerford and 
James E. Poland. 

May 1, 1906. — Fred W. Lipps was appointed to the police force. 

May 24, 1906. — Manley T. Inscho, born at Lawrenceville, Pa., in 
1847, died at his home in Corning. He had resided in Corning from 
early youth ; was employed first as a clerk by the Erie, then as 
ticket agent, and for a number of years prior to his death was its 
general agent in Corning. His social temperament gave him a large 
place in the hearts of all with whom he associated. 

June 8, 1906, the following were graduated by the Corning Free 
/Academy : — Max A. Almy, C. Glenn Bates, A. Cecelia Cunning- 
ham, Rose F. Eck, Loena E. Fenno, Julia F. Haley, Robert S. Hall, 
Hazel N. Kinch, John J. Lynahan, Mary A. McGannon and Ethel M. 
Smith. Dr. Leigh R. Hunt, Superintendent, presented the diplomas. 

June 20, 1906, the following were graduated at the Northside 
High School :— Perry F. Nichols, Alice L. Babcock, Bert H. Stowell, 
Nina McCabe, Hazel H. Shattuck, Bertha L. Gillette, Wilma Mc- 
Creery, Daniel E. Lamb, Benjamin A. Wickham, Parley W. Wheat, 
Justus Rising. Twenty-four school teachers were also graduated. 

Chester S. Cole, born in 1836, and since 1853 a resident of Corn- 
ing, died June 21, 1906. He was for a number of years a conductor, 
retiring to engage in insurance and banking, first with C. H. 
Thomson, and later with Lewis C. Kingsbury ; and was one of the 
organizers and owners of the Coming Gas Company. From 1880 to 



Death of Dr. George W. Pratt, Editor Corning Journal. 413 

1885 he was Captain of the Port of New York. In 1886-7 he was 
Chairman of the Republican State Committee. Mrs. Cole and a son 
and a daughter survive— C. Glenn Cole and Mrs. M, C. Hawley. 

The various lodges of the Independent Order of Redmen, of 
Central and Southera New York, held a general celebration and field 
day in Coming, July 4, 1906. There was an elaborate parade- 
July 6, 1906, a committee of the Business Men's Association 
secured an option on the former Hammond's Island, 31 acres, in the 
eastern part of the city, with a view to acquiring the property for a 
public park. Price, $8,400. The land is owned by the Johnson Estate. 

The new North Baptist Church, at Jennings street and Sly 
avenue, a brick structure, was dedicated July 12, 1906. 

July 19, 1906, J. F. Witmer, of Buffalo, civil engineer, was 
engaged to plan and superintend the construction of a complete 
waster supply system for the city of Coming. 

William Gorton, bom in the present town of Coming, then a 
part of the town of Painted Post, in 1822, died July 21, 1906, at his 
farm home near Gibson. He was a son of Silas Gorton. 

At a meeting of members of the German Evangelical Church of 
Coming, held August 12, 1906, it was decided to erect a church on 
East First street, near Walnut, the walls to be of cut stone. 

September 10, 1906, the Corning Business Men's Association 
purchased the former Hammond's Island for a public park. 

September 13, 1906, the running team of Crystal City Hose 
Company, volunteer firemen, of Coming, took first prize, $250, in the 
250-yards race at the State Fair, and reduced the world's time 
record by 1 and 2-5 seconds. The new record is 33 seconds, flat. 

Rev. W. E. Babcock, for two years pastor of the Baptist Church 
at Painted Post, left September 14, 1906, with his family, for Eau 
Claire, Wis., to assume a new pastorate. 

Dr. George W. Pratt, editor and owner of the Corning Daily 
Journal, died October 3, 1906. He was bom in the town of Milo, 
N. Y., April 27, 1821, a son of Joel B. and Cerinthia WoUage Pratt ; 
in 1831 the family moved to a little settlement known as The Mills, 
on the Chemung River in the township of Painted Post, a short 
distance southwest of the present Corning-Gibson bridge. There 
his father, for a dozen or more of years, ran a wool carding and 
cloth fulling mill. For a number of years George W. Pratt taught 
school ; in 1845 he graduated at the Medical College at Geneva, N.Y., 



414 Members of the Corning Common Council in 1906. 

and practiced medicine, until he became firmly established as editor 
and publisher of The Corning Weekly Journal, with which he first 
became associated in 1851. Dr. Pratt never permitted any tamper- 
ing with his conscience ; his whole life was devoted to the advocacy 
of common rights ; he was a Major Prophet ; he rejoiced with those 
who had a right to rejoice, mourned with those who mourned, and 
it was his practice to seek opportunities to extend a helping hand. 
As age advance, he came more and more to be recognized as the 
good father of the community. Mrs. Pratt died in 1880. 

The wife of Dr. Henry M. Bourne died at the family home in 
Corning, Monday, October 22, 1906, and he died two days later. They 
leave a daughter. Miss Clara E. Bourne. His age was 55 years. 

The evening of November 22, 1906, when Train 26 on the New 
York Central, a freight, was nearing the western city limits, it 
side-wiped a large pusher engine that was taking a switch. The 
locomotive of the freight train was derailed and rolled down an 
embankment into the river. Its engineer and fireman, Samuel A. 
Doolittle and Edward J. Spencer, of Corning, were killed. 

December 6, 1906, the Corning Fire Commission, by unanimous 
vote, requested the Alliance Hook and Ladder Company, and Pritch- 
ard Hose Company — volunteer organizations — to disband. The 
reason given was that the rooms at the City Hall occupied by the 
volunteers were needed by the paid firemen. The volunteers obeyed. 

In December, 1906, the section of the Centerville School District 
within the city of Corning was added to the Northside School District. 

During the Summer $2,500 were expended in improving the 
public park, bounded by First, Walnut, Second and Pine streets, 
under the supervision of R. H. Canfield, City Engineer. 

West Pulteney street was paved with brick in 1906. 

With the close of the year the Corning water system, after 
being operated for thirty years under a lease granted to Thomas 
Lawrence, was returned to the city, the Water Commission in charge. 

January 1, 1906. — The members of the Common Council are :— 
First Ward, Jacob C. Harer and Patrick T. Relihan ; Second Ward, 
Frank H. Suits and Harrie W. Pritchard ; Third Ward, Andrew B. 
Maltby and Frank M. Webster; Fourth Ward, Peter Farrell and 
James Murphy; Fifth Ward, Martin Relihan and Joseph F. McAl- 
pine ; Sixth Ward, Nelson K. Walter and Simeon P. Palmer ; Seventh 
Ward, Edgar E. Magee and Dr. Edwin J. Carpenter. 



Quality of Coming's Water Supply is Excellent. 415 

Monday, January 14, 1907, at a meeting of the members of the 
Presbyterian Church, a call to the pastorate was extended to Rev. 
John C. Ball, late President of Keuka College. 

The net profits of the Coming Co-Operative Savings and Loan 
Association for the year 1906 were $27,585.18. The 545 children 
patrons of the Annex have $8,826.87 on deposit. 

Tuesday, January 22, the frame building at the northeast comer 
of Bridge street, occupied by R. W. Terbell's drug and notion store, 
was partly destroyed by fire. Loss about $4,500. 

E. W. Vose is Secretary of the Coming Y. M. C. A. 

The St. James Hotel, newly furnished, was opened January 31, 
with Thos. F. Rogers as Proprietor, and John J. Rogers as Landlord. 

February 7, 1907, John E. Bong was re-elected President of the 
Corning Business Men's Association ; Hugh W. Darrin is Secretary. 

Eugene D. Sage, aged 54, grocer, died February 24, 1907. 

February 26, 1906. — Charles Mcintosh was appointed Assistant 
Postmaster, succeeding Louis F. Drake, who moves to Florida. 

March 4, 1907. — By unanimous vote the Common Council auth- 
orized $100,000 in water bonds to be issued. 

Thomas Lawrence, aged 58 years, for 30 years prior to January 
1. 1906, manager of the Corning water works, died March 9, 1907. 

Dwight L. Fuller, aged 59 years, one of the proprietors and 
landlords of the Dickinson House, died March 9, 1907. His father, 
the late Dwight A. Fuller, was a pioneer in the hotel business in 
Coming. A brother, George W. Fuller, survives. 

James M. Caird, of Troy, chemist and bacterologist, reports as 
the outcome of examinations, that the water supply of Corning is 
the best of any city in the State. The source is a large spring in the 
eastern section of the city ; the quanty is abundant at all times. 

March 22, 1907, Rev. T. W. Malcolm was installed as pastor of 
the First Presbyterian Church at Painted Post. 

April 1, 1907, the name of Mill street was changed to Park ave. 

The Water Commission placed Leroy C. Chowning, late of New 
York, in charge of the new municipal pump station. 

The evening of April 19, 1907, Rev. John Chester Ball was 
installed as Pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Corning. 



416 Corning Lodge Benevolent Order of Elks Instituted. 

April 22, 1907. — The former " Pinewood Sanitarium " property, 
was sold vmder foreclosure, to James O. Sebring, for $7,000. 

Corning Lodge of Elks, No. 1071, was instituted May 9, 1907. 
The following officers were installed :— Dr. Henry A. Argue, Exalted 
Ruler ; Francis C. Williams, Esteemed Leading Knight ; Charles P. 
Buskirk, Esteemed Loyal Knight ; Harry H. Pratt, Esteemed Lectur- 
ing Knight ; Joseph F. McAlpine, Secretary ; Frank M. Webster, 
Treasurer ; John F. Rolfe, Tyler. Trustees — Willard S. Reed, Robert 
W, Terbell and William J. Buchanan. 

May 14-18, 1907, an elaborate fair and sale was held at the City 
Hall, under the auspices of the Business Men's Association, to raise 
money to be used in improving the new public park, as yet not 
named. The net receipts of the fair were near $3,100. 

June 1, 1907. — William J. Fitzpatrick and Michael J. Brann, each 
for a time connected with the management of the Dickinson House, 
become its landlords, George W. Fuller, owner of the hotel, retiring 
from active business. The firm name is Fitzpatrick & Brann. 

William H. Chaphe, from 1852 a resident of Corning, died June 
4, at the home of his daughter-in-law, Mrs. Emma S. Chaphe, 130 
Cedar street. He was a skilled accountant ; beginning in 1870 owned 
and managed for many years a grocery, on Pine street ; was for 12 
years Purchasing Agent of the Fall Brook Coal Company. 

At a special school meeting, electors of the Northside School 
District, by a vote of 156 to 109, decied to provide text books free. 

Joseph J. TuUy, aged 68 years, died June 24, 1907. He had been 
a resident of Corning since the Summer of 1868, and until his health 
failed, a few years ago, was superintendent of the blowing depart- 
ment of the Corning Glass Works. He leaves two sons and three 
daughters— William J., Arthur H., Josephine, Mrs. Archibald Arthur 
and Mrs. G. Furman Smith. 

The following were graduated at the Free Academy exercises 
held June 14, 1907 :— Grace Allison, Alma L. Beard, Edward B. Clark, 
Letha M. Coger, George L. Comosh, Edith M. Costello, Mary E. Frey, 
John L. Haughey, Catherine T. Heffeman, George A. Heermans, 
Ethel H. Holmes, WiUiam C. Hooey, Fred E. Johnson, Edward J. 
Kelly, Mary E. McCarthy, Elsie W. McClellan, Glen W. Munger, 
Frances C. McNamara, Florence L. May, Elizabeth B. Mourhess, 
Joseph R. Oakden, Thomas F. O'Bryan, Hillard A. Proctor, Katherine 
G. Ryan, Marjory Sage, Carridell L. Sternberg, Henry B. Watkins. 



Death of Stephen Thurston Hayt of Corning. 417 

Amos Jewett, aged 74, of the town of Hornby, where he was 
bom, died June 12, 1907. In early Hfe he taught school ; he was a 
prosperous farmer and an influential citizen. Mrs. Jewett, who was 
Sarah Piatt, two daughters and a son survive— Mrs. Baton Gilbert, 
Mrs. J. H. Wheaton and Thomas P. Jewett. 

The 1907 graduates of the Northside High School were Helen V. 
Bennett, Verne V. Ryon, Josephene I. Whitney, Francis A. Jimerson, 
Mabel Magee and Addie M. Stephens. 

In July, 1907, the Munger Candy Company began business on 
West Market street. Dr. William E. Gorton is President. 

July 16, 1907, John S. Kennedy was appointed Secretary of the 
new State Public Service Commission. 

July 16, 1907. — Oscar W. Bump, of Corning, died of heart failure 
at Atlantic City, N. J. He was manager of extensive coal mines in 
which Amory Houghton, Jr., in Coming holds the controlling interest. 

The African Zion Methodist Church, on East Market street, 
the house of worship of a society of colored people, was dedicated 
July 21, 1907. Rev. T. H. Washington is pastor. 

August 3, 1907.— Thomas Dillon, aged 75, a veteran of the Civil 
War, died of apoplexy. He was a former Chief of Police. 

In connection with the State Firemen's Convention at Elmira, 
August 22, 1907, the Crystal City Hook and Ladder running team 
won the 200 yards sprint and the hub-and-hub hose race. 

Stephen Thurston Hayt, bom at Patterson, Putnam County, N. 
Y., June 5, 1822, died August 31, 1907, at his home in Corning. His 
father, Dr. John C. Hayt, practiced for a time at Ithaca, and moved 
from that settlement to what was then known as The Mills, now the 
northeastem section of the city of Corning, in the Spring of 1833. He 
was accompanied by James Nichols, a merchant. They formed the 
firm of Nichols & Hayt, and bought a combined saw-mill and grist- 
mill and wool-carding establishment on the present Hammond street. 
Stephen T. Hayt secured a good education, for a time clerked in a 
store at Elmira ; from 1843 to 1850 was a merchant in Coming; then 
engaged in manufacturing and shipping lumber ; in 1868, with Alex- 
ander Olcott as a partner, built and operated the " Southem Tier 
Flouring Mills," at Corning, a year later becoming sole proprietor. 
From 1859 to 1863 he was Supervisor of the town of Corning; was a 
delegate to the convention that in 1860 nominated Abraham Lincoln 
for President; in 1863 was elected State Senator ; was re-elected in 



418 Rev. N. E. Fuller Again Pastor of Congregational Church. 

1865 ; in 1876 was elected Canal Commissioner. He leaves seven 
children— Stephen T., Jr., Mrs. Martha Fiske, Robert O., Margaret 
C, Jessie K., James Towner, and Mrs. Isabelle Drake. 

September 11, 1907, the Crystal City Hook and Ladder running 
team, defeated three other teams on a 285 yards course at the State 
Fair, near Syracuse, in 38 and 2-5th seconds. 

September 15, 1907, Rev. George B. Cutten resigned the pastorate 
of the First Baptist Church, having been called to Columbus, O. 
William J. Hewlett, aged 68, coal dealer, died October 13, 1907. 
November 5, 1907, Dr. Thomas A. McNamara was elected Mayor. 

Sunday evening, November 10, Robert Keene, aged 73 years, 
was killed by a train at the Columbia street crossing of the Erie. 

George P. Nbcon, aged 83 years, a pioneer farmer of the town of 
Caton, died at his home in Corning, November 18, 1907. 

The Odd Fellows cleared $2,200 at a fair held in their temple the 
week ending November 24, 1907. 

In December, 1907, Rev. L. J. Long retired from the pastorate of 
the North Baptist Church, and later became pastor of the People's 
Gospel Tabernacle, affiliated with the Christian Missionary Alliance. 

December 12, 1907, Dr. Frank S. Swain was elected Grand 
Knight of Corning Council, Knights of Columbus. 

December 17, 1907, S. Eugene Tuthill was elected Master of the 
Corning Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. 

January 2, 1908, Rev. N. E. Fuller again became pastor of the 
First Congregational Church of Corning. 

In January, 1908, Rev. Forrest L. Eraser, of Hagerstown, Md., 
accepted a call to the First Baptist Church, of Coming. 

In February, 1908, Bradley & Nolan, of Corning, secured the 
contract to build a section of State macadem highway from the 
western part of Gibson to the Chemung County line, at Big Flats. 

February 3, 1908.— Nicholas D. Rowley, aged 85 years, died at 
his home on Park avenue. He was bom in Big Flats ; was success- 
ful as a farmer and in dealing in lands; in 1873 he established 
green houses on Park avenue. He leaves a grandchild, Mary J. Rowley. 

February 6, 1908, Dr. George F. Showers was elected President 
of the Corning Business Men's Association. 

J. B. Maltby & Company completed a large cold storage plant. 



New Recreation Grounds Named Denison Park. 419 



In February, 1908, Rev. L. B. Underwood, of Painted Post, 
became pastor of the North Baptist Church, in Corning. 

A side-walk was built on the east side of the Northside bridge. 

February 27, 1908, Robert Lambert died at Painted Post, his 
place of residence for 60 years. He was 80 years of age. 

George Tiley Spencer died March 3, 1908, at his home in Corn- 
ing. He was bom in Saybrook, Conn., November 6, 1814 ; he was a 
graduate of Yale College; studied law in Hartford, Conn., then was 
associated with an attorney at Syracuse, N. Y.; began the practice 
of law in Coming in 1841 ; was elected a Member of Assembly in 
1853, was a member of the State Constitutional Convention in 1867, 
was elected Judge of Steuben County in 1871 and served a full term 
of Six years ; owned several fine farms ; was noted for his clearness 
of mind and dependable memory. He leaves a son, George Stacy 
Spencer, and four daughters— Mrs. Harriet A. Pond, Mrs. Emma R. 
Hubbard, Mrs. Elizabeth Kriger and Mrs. Clarissa C. Pratt. 

About one mile of brick street pavements was laid in 1908, and 
East Pulteney street was macadamized for a fourth of a mile. 

The evening of March 6, 1908, James Wadsworth, Speaker of the 
State Assembly, and State Senator William J. TuUy, gave addresses 
at the annual banquet of the Coming Business Men's Association. 

In March, 1908, Orlando J. Robinson sold his news and notions 
business to William E. Kling, for a number of years his clerk. 

Three nurses were graduated at the Coming Hospital — Miss 
Rebecca Walker, Miss Genevieve Brooks, Miss Florence McMaster. 

March 18, 1908, Dr. Henry A. Argue was elected Exalted Ruler 
of Coming Lodge of Elks ; Joseph F. McAlpine is Secretary. 

In 1908 the former Christ Episcopal Church, at Walnut street 
and Erie avenue, was torn down, and the stone from its walls were 
used in the construction of the German Evangelical Church. 

The new east-side recreation grounds were named " Denison 
Park," for the late Charles G. Denison and as a recognition of gener- 
ous contributions to the park fund by his son, Charles L. Denison. 

Thursday evening, June 11, 1908, Rev. John Knox was installed 
pastor of the Presbyterian Church at Painted Post. 

Friday afternoon. May 12, 1908, the following students were 
graduated at the commencement exercises of Corning Free Academy: 
Ray C. Allen, Clarissa L. Bennett, Hazel M. Brace, Maurice Charles 
Braveman, Michael H. Cahill, Adelaide F. Colvin, William Earle 



420 Northside Electors Decide to Erect High School Building. 



Costello, Catherine M. Eaton, James F. Grady, Margaret M. Griffin, 
Francis E. Hickey, Margaret D. Keating, Leona M. Kelliher, John H. 
Keman, William A. Lynahan, Mary L. McCabe, Hazel Markell, 
Sarah E. Nares, Eva J. Peart, Helen E. Relihan, Leon F. Robbins, 
Benjamin H. Stasch, Clara H. Tupper, Victor H. Tyrasinski and 
Hazel Belle Young. 

The " Hotel Casale," (the former Minot House remodeled), was 
opened June 18, 1908. Thos. D. Casale, of Williamsport, is owner. 

Those graduated by the Northside High School, at the annual 
exercises held June 24, 1908, were Vernum M. Schoonover, 
Cedric E. Hungerford, Edgnr E. Magee, Margaret H. Monks, Alice 
M. Loghry, Amy O. Norris, Harry M. Sage, Ray W. Miller, Alice M. 
Chase and Luella Blair. 

The corner-stone of the German Evangelical Church, of Corning 
was placed Sunday afternoon, June 28, 1908. Rev. R. Vieweg is pastor. 

At a meeting of electors of Union Free School District No. 13, 
commonly known as the Northside School District, held in the First 
Congregational Church, Friday evening, July 17, 1908, it was voted, 
(208 for, 119 against), to issue not to exceed $50,000 in bonds to 
erect a High School building ; also to purchase land of the Robert- 
son estate as a site for the structure, and to enlarge the present 
school campus by the purchase of the Mecanty property. The 
officers of the meeting were : Uri Mulford, Chairman ; Harvey E. 
Cole, Jr., Clerk ; Frank E. Cortright and Wm. W. Arland, Inspectors, 

The corner-stone of the People's Gospel Tabernacle, on East 
William street, was laid July 26, 1908. 

Miss Emily Ward was killed instantly and Michael Callahan 
was seriously injured, the afternoon of July 30, 1908, when a Stand- 
ard Oil Company delivery wagon was struck by a passenger train at 
the First street grade crossing of the Erie Railroad. 

August 6, 1908, the Corning Grocers' Association held an outing 
at Hodgman's Island. The officers are : John M. Owen, President ; 
F. L. Tobey, Vice-President ; H. W. Darrin, Secretary and Treasurer. 

The members of the Northside School Board are Dr. Edwin J. 
Carpenter, E. E. Magee, W. H. Rudy, Dr. M. C. Butler, William W. 
Arland, Charles A. Reynolds and Uri Mulford. 

A local talent " Society Circus," to raise money for Denison Park, 
gave highly gratifying exhibitions at the park, the afternoons and 
evenings of August 19-20-21, 1908. John Comosh was ring-master. 



"Painted Post Chapter," Sons American Revolution. 421 

October 6.— Rev. Burton M. Clark is appointed pastor of the 
First Methodist Church in Corning, succeeding Rev. Joseph Dennis, 
and Rev. J. W. Torkington follows Rev. Nathaniel Harris as pastor of 
Grace Methodist Church. Rev. Fred E. King succeeds Rev. C. L. 
Pitts as pastor of the Methodist Church at Painted Post. 

Sixty thousand dollars of school bonds, sold by the Northside 
School District, brought $5,721 premium, October 31, 1908. 

In November, 1908, Quincy W. Farr resigned as Chief of the 
Corning Fire Department, and went to Seattle, Wash. 

The comer-stone of the new brick Northside High School build- 
ing, was placed Thursday afternoon, December 4, 1908. 

A test well drilled at Ferenbaugh, in the Post Creek valley, struck 
salt water at 3,000 feet. It was " shot " and abandoned. 

December 28, 1908, " The Painted Post Society," Sons of the 
American Revolution, was organized in Corning. Officers:— Arthur 
A. Houghton, President : Delmar M. Darrin, Vice-President ; John L. 
Chatfield, Secretary; Willard S. Reed, Treasurer ; Uri Mulford, 
Historian. Later the Society was incorporated. 

In January, 1909, the Steuben County Board of Supervisors by 
unanimous vote passed a resolution to establish a bacteriological 
laboratory, to be located at the Coming Hospital. 

George Washington Preston, aged 83 years, died April 7, 1909, at 
his home on West Pulteney street. He located in Corning in 1839, 
and was one of the founders of the settlement ; when a young man 
he became a master-machinist ; for many years he was at the head 
of a foundry and machine plant ; he was a violinist of note ; Corning 
never had a more amiable and generally agreeable resident. He 
leaves a daughter, Mrs. Charles A. Reynolds, and a son George. 

In April, 1909, the group of railroads comprised in the Pennsyl- 
vania Division of the New York Central lines, were consolidated into 
one corporation— the Geneva, Coming and Southern Railway. 

Thomas Taylor Hunt, aged 64, President of the Hunt Cut Glass 
Company, died at his home in Corning, April 14, 1909. 

In May, 1909, Dr. Leigh R. Hunt resigned as Superintendent of 
the Southside public schools. In September he was succeeded by 
Hannibal H. Chapman, of Hempstead, Long Island. The work of 
Dr. Hunt during the many years he served as "schoolmaster" in 
Coming, was excellent, and fruitful in good results. 

After two years of service as Secretary of the Young Men's 
Christian Association in Coming, Charles E. Voshall retires. 



422 Transfer of Denison Park to the City of Corning. 

The Ingersoll-Rand Company transferred its manufacturing 
from shops at Tarrytown to Painted Post, accompanied by a large 
force of skilled machinists. Painted Post is " booming." 

Friday evening, June 5, 1909, there was a joint debate at the 
City Hall in Coming, between George Kirkpatrick, of New York, an 
advocate of Socialism, and Attorney James O. Sebring, opposed. The 
audience was large and at times demonstrative. 

The State Division of the Sons of Veterans met in Coming, June 
7, 8 and 9, 1909, as guests of the local Encampment. 

The graduates of the Coming Free Academy, at the exercises 
held June 11, 1909, were Oswald C. Buchanan, John E. Durkin, Eda I. 
Haischer, Amelia M. Hollman, Whitney P. Howes, Margaret K. 
Leavy, Charles E. McManus,, Florence K. Moran, John R.F. Osborne, 
Margaret G. Relihan, Orin Pomeroy Robinson, Harry J. Suits, Mabel 
M. Stansbury, Laura B. Woodward and Myrtle M. Woodward. 

Mrs. Mary J. Schrimer, bom in Centerville, died at her home in 
Corning, June 11, 1909. Here parents were Loren and Mary Mallory. 

June 10, 1909, by a vote of 85 to 58, Painted Post decided to 
invest $25,000 in a water supply system. Wells are to be drilled. 

A class of twenty received diplomas at the graduation exercises 
of the Northside High School, June 24, 1909, as follows : — Arthur 
Burrell, Burt Morse, Florence Manning, Harvie Howie, Robert Titus, 
Fred Lane, Victor Uhl, Clayton Lane, Georgia Adams, Helen Harris, 
Ada Walden, Floyd Cortright, Beatrice Talbot, Beatrice Jennings, 
Isabel Blair, Eva Jones, Alice Marland, Anna Schutt, Bertha Rood 
and Kathryn Orr. 

Work is under way for the construction of New York 
Central yards, round houses and repair shops at North Corning. 

The new German Evangelical Church was dedicated July 11, 1909. 

July 29, 1909, subscriptions were opened to raise a fund for the 
erection of a Civil War memorial in Coming. For this use the 
Women's Relief Corps of Hayt Post has $500 on deposit. 

At a meeting of the Corning Business Men's Association held 
September 2, 1909, John Comosh announced that Charles L. Denison, 
of New York, had contributed $15,265 to enable the Association to 
transfer Denison Park free of debt to the city. On September 6 the 
transfer was made, at public exercises held in the park. Dr. George 
F. Showers, President of the Business Men's Association, made the 
address of Presentation, and Mayor Thos. A. McNamara responded. 



Association Formed to Erect Civil War Memorial. 423 

September 19, 1909.— Announcement was made at the services 
at St. Mary's Church that a parochial school is to be established on 
the Northside, as soon as a school building can be erected. 

In October, 1909, committees representing the various patriotic 
societies of Coming, met and organized " The Soldiers' and Sailors' 
Monument Association," for the purpose of raising the necessary 
fund to erect a memorial to the residents of Corning and vicinity 
who rendered service for the preservation of the Union, during the 
Civil War. Later the Association was incorporated. Officers— Chas. 
H. Freeman, President ; Dr. John L. Miller, First Vice-President ; 
Benjamin Smith, Second Vice-President ; Uri Mulford, Secretary ; 
Mrs. John J. Fowler, Treasurer. 

Rev. I. K. Libby was appointed Methodist pastor at Painted Post. 

George Hitchcock, aged 87 years, from 1859 a resident of Corn- 
ing, died October 22, 1909. He had served as a Police Justice, a 
Justice of the Peace, was for many years Secretary of the Board of 
Education, and Secretary of the Masonic bodies. 

Amory Houghton, Jr., aged 72 years, died at his home in Coming 
the evening of November 5, 1909. He was bom in Cambridge, Mass. 
In 1851 his father founded the Union Glass Company, with works at 
Somerville, Mass., and for thirteen years Amory Houghton, Jr., was 
connected with the factory at that place. In 1864 the industry was 
moved to Brooklyn, N. Y., and thence to Corning in 1868. Here he 
by the persi^ent exercise of rare judgment, built up an industry that 
has successfully mastered changing trade requirements, and is the 
leading technical glass factory of the world. Every measure for the 
advancement of a community interest has received his support He 
has been generous in his giving and has never compromised with or 
tolerated injustice. He is survived by Mrs. Houghton and the 
following sons and daughters : Alanson B., Arthur A., Annie B., and 
Clara M. (Mrs. William J. TuUy.) 

In November, 1909, Rev. Forrest R. Eraser, having resigned the 
pastorate of the First Baptist Church of Coming, became pastor of 
the Baptist Church at Penn Yan, N. Y. 

A school census taken early in December, 1909, showed 5,228 
population in tbe Northside School District. 

The evening of December 21, 1909, William J. Lynahan was 
killed by a New York Central switch-engine at Walnut street. 

William S. Heyniger, Marvin Olcott and Charles F. Pitt open a 
wholesale grocery in Corning. Firm name : Heyniger, Pitt & Co. 



Pioneer Days and Later Times 
in Corning and Vicinity 



CHAPTER LIV. 
Marriages In Corning and Vicinity — 1905 to 1910. 

MARRIED, at Mossy Glen. March 2, 1905, by Rev. S. R. Wal- 
dron, Ray G. Sweetland and Josephine daughter of George 
Hunt, both of Mossy Glen. 

In Corning, March 6, 1905, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, M. Duke 
Harris and Miss Nellie L. Conway. 

In Coming, March 7, 1905, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, George F. 
Terrill and Gertrude B. daughter of Oscar Smith. 

In Corning, April 20, 1905, by Rev. W. H. Reese, John H. Gear- 
ing, of Toledo, O., and Bessie daughter of George Coumbe. 

In Coming, May 2, 1905, by Rev. George B. Cutten, James A. 
Guernsey, of Painted Post, and Laura E. Ferenbaugh, of Coming. 

In Coming, May 2, 1905, Harry C. Crane and Mary Mocker. 

In Coming, May 23, 1905, by Rev. Alfred J. Hutton, Ross H. S. 
Bundy, of Elmira, and Miss Fanny J. Peart, of Corning. 

In Corning, June 3, 1905, John Stanton and Miss Luella Hoyt. 

In Coming, June 6, 1905, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Peter A. Eick 
and Anna daughter of Joseph Deegan. 

In Coming, June 14, 1905, Samuel Kelce and Catherine A. Dean. 

In Coming, June 21, 1905, Thos. B. O'Neill and Helen Murphy. 

In Buffalo, June 27, 1905, James F. Boyle and Miss Gertmde 
Callanan, both former residents of Corning. 

In Coming, June 28, 1905, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Henry G. 
Waters, of Buffalo, and Frances T. daughter of David S. Drake. 

At Painted Post, June 28, 1905, by Rev. I. K. Libby, W. Ray 
Dunham and Clara M. daughter of Edward Jones. 

424 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1905. 425 

July 3, 1905, Charles C. Manning and Eva M. Allen, of Coming. 

In Corning, July 6, 1905, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Hiram B. Rouse 
and Miss Clarabell Mclntyre, both of Coming. 

In Coming, July 19, 1905, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Clarence Wick- 
son and' Miss Nellie Acheson. 

In Corning, August 4, 1905, by Rev. George B. Cutten, Floyd C, 
Nares and Miss Grace A. Comfort. 

In Corning, August 9, 1905, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Timothy M. 
Murphy and Miss Mary H. McAvoy. 

In Coming, August 16, 1905, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Frank A, 
Lutz and Miss Lizzie Demuth. 

In Coming, August 17, 1905, by Rev. N. K. Harris, Guy Rose 
and Minnie E. daughter of James Hooey. 

In Corning, August 22, 1905, Timothy McCarthy and Genevieve 
daughter of Thomas O'Neill. 

In Coming, August 24, 1905, Frank E. Wydeman and AUie E. 
daughter of A. H. Agett. 

In Coming, September 5, 1905, Clyde I. Baer and Louise Jenkins. 

In Coming, September 5, 1905, Leo J. son of W. J. O'Brian and 
Mary J. daughter of Nelson Stephens, of Hornby. 

In Coming, September 19, 1905, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, 
Aider Anderson, of New York, and Lola G. Russell, of Coming. 

In Coming, September 25, 1905, by Rev. W. J. Lee, James H. 
Sheedy and Miss Margaret F. Kelley. 

In Corning, October 4, 1905, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, Peter C. 
Balcom and Miss Bemice C. Risely. 

In Coming, October 18, 1905, Alfred Grossman and Miss Mary 
E. Bentley, both of Coming. 

In Corning, October 30, 1905, by Rev. W. C: Roberts, Frederick 
0. Beck and Miss Erma N. Barber. 

In Coming, October 30, 1905, Mark Bernt and Emma M. Haar. 

In Corning, November 16, 1905, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, 
George L. Landin and Miss Martha Wenderlich. 

In Coming, November 22, 1905, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Michael A. 
Goggin and Miss Harriet V. Rector. 

In Corning, November 22, 1905, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, John P. 
Martin and Miss Mary C. Kelly. 



426 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity, 1905-'06. 

In Corning, November 22, 1905, by Rev. Paul R. Allen, Michael 
Mundy and Harriet daughter of Isaac Edminster. 

At Painted Post, December 11,1905, by Rev. W. E. Babcock, 
Lewis Rosier and Miss Grace Cutler. 

In Corning, December 20, 1905, Leslie C. Halm and Maud Mundy. 

In Corning, Jan. 1. 1906, Chas. Jimerson and Belle Catchpole. 

At St. Patrick's Church, Corning, January 17, 1906, by Rev. W.J. 
Lee, James Danahar and Miss Alice M. McQuillen. 

In Coming, February 7, 1906, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Leon J. 
Brundage and Margaret C. daughter of Patrick Arthur. 

In Corning, February 26, 1906, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Jerome 
Hovey, Jr., and Miss Susan Youngs. 

March 11, 1906, William Bixby and Maude Elliott, of, Corning. 

In Coming, March 12, 1906, Harrison Haines and Louise Hackett. 

In Painted Post, March 14, 1906, by Rev. W. E. Babcock, Don G. 
Kirkland and Miss Clara M. Daningburg. 

In Corning, May 3, 1906, by Rev. Joseph Dennis, Clair J. Good- 
year, of Horseheads, and Mary E. Jelliff, of Corning. 

In Coming, May 7, 1906, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Dr. Thomas A. 
-McNamara and Nellie daughter of Thomas Dwyer. 

At St. Patrick's Church, in Corning, June 7, 1906, Robert D. 
Shinners and Margaret V. Maxwell, both of Corning. 

In Corning, June 7, 1906, by Rev. A. J. Hutton, Lester Leroy 
Hamilton and Miss Minnie L. Klein. 

In Corning, June 19, 1906, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, James P. Barrett 
and Miss Anna M. Callahan. 

In Corning, June 19, 1906, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Thomas Cun- 
ningham, Jr., and Miss Catherine M. Dolan. 

In Corning, June 19, 1906, Frank D. Canfield and Mary A. Baker. 

At Jordan, N. Y., June 20, 1906, Richard E. Maleady. of Coming, 
and Miss Catherine Halpin, of Jordan. 

In Coming, June 20, 1906, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Willis H. Wil- 
liams and Miss Katherine A. Curtin. 

In Caton, June 23, 1906, by Rev. C. D. Smith, Benjamin Chesley 
Honness and Miss Cornelia E. Smith. 

At Coopers Plains, June 26, 1906, by Rev. W. E. Babcock, Fred 
Townsend, of Corning, and Sarah daughter of Timothy Hall. 



Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1906. 427 

In Corning, June 28, 1906, by Rev. George B. Cutten, Harlow 
Tobey and Inez A. daughter of Leonard Kirkendall. 

In Painted Post, July 1, 1906, by Rev. W. E. Babcock, William H. 
Richardson and Miss Lillian E. Wood. 

In Coming. July 12, 1906, by Rev. Paul R. Allen, George H. 
Stanford and Nina M. daughter of William E. Jones. 

In Corning, July 15, 1906, Geo. Barber and Grace A. Wheeler. 

In Corning, July 15. 1906, by Rev. Joseph Dennis, Jeremiah 
Faulkner and Miss Frances M. Warren. 

In Corning, August 5, 1906, by Rev. Calvin H. Crowl, George V. 
Quigley and Miss Alice E. Berry, both of Painted Post. 

In Coming, August 8, 1906, by Rev. Joseph Dennis, Theodore C. 
Hunt and Miss Lulu Dixon. 

In Coming, August 22, 1906, by Rev. Mr. Cole, of Cameron,. 
William S. Gage and Miss Ida LaBarron. 

In Corning, September 12, 1906, by Rev. Paul R. Allen, Benjamin 
Kenyon, of Scipio, N. Y., and Marguerite A. daughter of Wm. Curry. 

In Corning, October 4, 1906, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, Louis S. 
Jones, of Wellsboro, Pa., and Miss Mary E. Hillman, of Corning. 

In Corning, October 4, 1906, by Rev. Nathaniel Harris, Robert R. 
Huggins, of Lindley, and Effie daughter of Geo. Ellison, of Hornby. 

In Coming, October 10, 1906, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Harry W. 
Rose and Florence L. daughter of Joseph Watson. 

October 14, 1906, Joseph Snyder, of Painted Post, and Nettie 
daughter of Charles McElwee, of the town of Hornby. 

At St Mary's Church, in Coming, November 8, 1906, by Rev. J. 
T. Cassidy, John J. McMillen and Ann M. O'Connor. 

In Corning, November 7, 1906, by Rev. A. J. Button, Lyman K. 
Roloson and Miss Mabel Ecker. 

In Painted Post, November 14, 1906, by Rev. D. L. Pitts, James 
A. Troll and M. May daughter of Alexander Herron. 

In Coming, November 21, 1906, by Rev. W. J. Lee, William T. 
Collins and Miss Mary A. Cragan. 

In Caton, November 21, 1906, Arthur Niver and Ida Rogers. 

At St. Patrick's Church, in Corning, November 28, 1906, by Rev. 
Walter J. Lee, John H. Watson and Miss Anna T. McAvoy. 



428 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1906-'07. 

In Coming, December 25, 1906, Frank Rhinehart, of East Corn- 
ing, and Ida daughter of Herman Lidky, of Corning. 

In Coopers Plains, December 26, 1906, by Rev. T. F. Broderick, 
Elliott Baker and Miss Lena M. Brush. 

At Pittsburgh, Pa., December 27, 1906, Alfred Gamman Hood, of 
Corning, and Miss Sarah E. Mann, of Pittsburgh. 

In Corning, Dec. 30, 1906, Raymond Sutherland, of Corning, and 
Minnie Roblyer, of Gibson. 

In Corning, December 30, 1906, Glen A. Phelps and Anna Painter. 

In Corning, January 7, 1907, James Orr and Miss Belle Northam. 

In Jersey City, N. J., January 31, 1907, Cyrus D. Sill, of Coming, 
and Miss Amy C. Hull, of Jersey City. 

In Corning, February 6, 1907, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Edward 
Lantz and Frances M. daughter of Henry E. Krebs. 

In Corning, February 20, 1907, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, W. Glen 
Billinghursfc;and Miss Mabel C. Gorton. 

In Painted Post, February 22, 1907, by Rev. D. L. Pitts, John A. 
McElwee, of East Campbell, and Miss Ethel A. Tadder, of Hornby. 

In Coming, March 20, 1907, John M. Newman and Unola B. Pope. 

In Corning, April 7, 1907, Alfred M. Keller and Maymie Teale. 

In Corning, April 17, 1907, by Rev. James M. Bustin, Francis J. 
McLaughlin, of Hornby, and Miss Mary E. Ferns, of Corning. 

In Painted Post, May 13, 1907, by Rev. D. L. Pitts, Archie B. 
Hamilton and Miss Inez Champlain. 

In Coming, May 23, 1907, by Rev. George B. Cutten, Walter C. 
Herriman and Helen daughter of Richard D. Stubley. 

In Corning, June 1, 1907, Rush Brown and Mary L. Withy. 

At Monterey, June 5, 1907, by Rev. Mr. Wilson, Orville J. May, 
of Painted Post, and Miss Daisy B. Weller. 

In Corning, June 12, 1907, W. J. Hoyt and Miss Gracia G. Smith. 

In Corning, June 19, 1907, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, George K. 
Reynolds and Mary Ellen daughter of Charles P. McGivern. 

In Coming, June 19, 1907, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Earl S. Home, 
of Meadville, Pa., and Mary M. daughter of James Troll, of Coming. 

In Coming, June 19, 1907, Edward J. Berry and Bertha Seaman. 

In Corning, June 19, 1907, Alvah Eckert and Miss Maud Brooks. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity In 1907. 429 

In Corning, June 20, 1907, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, Abraham 
B. Jackson and Mabel F. daughter of Maurice L. Nichols. 

At St. Mary's Church, in Coming, June 25, 1907, by Rev. J. M. 
Bustin, James W. Shea and Mary D. daughter of Eugene Dean. 

In Coming. June 26, 1907, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Leroy I. Doolittle 
and Helen C. daughter of Patrick Callahan. 

In Corning, June 26, 1907, Peter Flood and Emma E. Owen. 

In Corning, June 27, 1907, by Rev. Paul R. Allen, Dr. John L. 
Miller and Miss Lulu M. Shattuck. 

In Coming, June 29, 1907, by Rev. L. J. Long, Charles A. Emer- 
son and Caroline N. Gardner, both of Coming. 

In Painted Post, June 29, 1907, by Rev. T. Walker Malcolm, 
Lewis M. Hoftrup and Miss Susan Hitchcock. 

In Coming, July 9, 1907, by Rev. Paul R. Allen, Dr. Luther A. 
Thomas, of Painted Post, and Miss Edith O'Brien, of Coming. 

In Coming, July 17, 1907, Geo. E. Beahan and Nellie M. Crane. 

July 20, 1907, George E. DeWolfe of the town of Coming, and 
Mrs. Harriet Erwin, of Elkland, Pa. 

In Elmira, August 1, 1907, William E. Kimball, of Corning, and 
Mrs. Bessie C. Smith, of Caton. 

In Coming, August 8, 1907, by Rev. L. J. Long, William B. 
Jimerson, of Dyke, and Miss Torma Lane, of Coming. 

In Corning, August 27, 1907, by Rev. G. B. Cutten, David 
Wasson and Miss Susan Colgrove. 

In Coming, September 5, 1907, by Rev. George B. Cutten, Chas. 
Glenn Bates and Amy L. daughter of Mrs. Ida Jacobs. 

In Coming, September 10, 1907, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Thomas 
Fleming and Miss Margaret Barthelme. 

In Coming, September 11, 1907, by Rev. W. C. Roberts, Robert 
M. Otis and Miss Clara E. Bourne. 

In Coming, September 17, 1907, by Rev. W. H. Reese, James H. 
Pierce and Loula daughter of Mrs. Martha A. Belding. 

In Coming, September 19, 1907, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Dennis 
L; Lyons and Anna M. daughter of John Gorges. 

In Corning, September 18, 1907, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, Samuel 
E. Barto, of Williamsport, and Agnes L. Young, of Corning. 



430 Marriages In Corning and Vicinity In 1907 -'08. 

In Corning, October 9, 1907, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, Daniel J. 
Ginnan and Miss Katheryn M. Roche. 

In Coming, October 9, 1907, Wm. R. Davies and Mary Wihn. 

In Coming, October 25, 1907, by Rev. L. J. Long, Lewis M. 
Quackenbush and Miss Bertha J. Barber. 

In Coming, October 30, 1907, by Rev. John Chester Ball, Freder- 
ick J. Townsend, of Painted Post, and Miss Belle Wicks. 

In Coming, November 27, 1907, Patrick Hunt and Mary Densen. 

In Coming, November 27, 1907, by Rev. John Chester Ball, 
Douglas Nicholson, of New York, and Miss Theodora C. Waite. 

In Coming, December 24, 1907, by Rev, L. B. Underwood, Rev. 
Linn R. Williamson and Ellen A. daughter of Charles N. Church. 

In Coming, December 26, 1907, by Rev. Walter C. Roberts, 
Christopher C. Gill and Catherine A. daughter of L. E. Tremaine. 

In Painted Post, January 22, 1908, Frank White and Jane Smith. 

In Corning, February 14, 1908, Earl Scutt and Miss Ida Flaitz. 

In Corning, March 31, 1908, Huston Harris and Miss Susie Custer. 

In Corning, April 28, 1908, Henry Huber and Loretta T. Markert. 

In Coming, April 28, 1908, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, William J. 
Fitzpatrick and Ida M. daughter of James Hoare. 

In Coming, May 4, 1908, Ernest Berry and Miss Lottie B. Canfield. 

May 17, 1908, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Claire J. Smith and Mrs. 
Grace V. Corzette, both of Painted Post. 

In Corning, May 20, 1908, by Rev. Walter J. Lee, William L. 
Gushing and Miss Anga A. Schlesier, of Elmira. 

In Corning, June 3, 1908, Patrick Murphy and Hannah Donahue. 

In Corning, June 17, 1908, by Rev. John Chester Ball, Arthur J. 
Agett and Hazel A. daughter of Henry Kinch. 

In Corning, June 23, 1908, by Rev. Joseph Dennis, Fred J. Hebe, 
of Elmira, and Edna Mae daughter of H. A. Stevens, of Coming. 

In Corning, June 24, 1908, by Rev. J. M. Bustin, Charles H. Gaiss 
and Miss Margaret McCuUoch. 

In Corning, June 30, 1908, Ezra Mack and Miss Henrietta Payne. 

In Corning, July 2, 1908, James young and Miss Viola G. Wood. 

In Corning, July 15, 1908, by Rev. J. T. Cassidy, William L. 
Sloan and Kathryn daughter of James Hand. 



Marriages In Coming and Vicinity In 1908-'09. 431 

In Coming, August 12, 1908, by Rev. N. E. Fuller, Oliver E. 
Lamb and Miss May Belle daughter of D. K. Kiff. 

In Corning, August 13, 1908, by Rev. Forrest L. Eraser, Lewis 
R. Copp and Ethel L. daughter of George Youmans. 

At Coopers